Preview Review

Next Review

1-800-Flowers.com Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
I'm Recipient of 2 Doz Roses Delivered 2/13/17 for Valentines; 1/2 Dead Within Day or Two; Rest Dead by Day 5...
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

2 doz roses were received 2/13/17 for Valentines Day; box + vase were intact; but obviously roses were old as 1/2 were dead or clearly dying the day they arrived and the rest died by day 5; sending customer called 2/15 or 2/16 + agent said these roses were sent from Calif florist to recipient in Wash state! Half were obviously old when they left the shop and to send all the way to Wash state!! How ridiculous to have any florist send roses from such a great distance!! No wonder they were dead!

When customer sender called company 2/15 or 2/16, agent refunded HALF so sender essentially paid half for garbage flowers! In spite of crediting half, agent told customer replacements would be sent asap FROM A FLORIST NEAR RECIPIENTS HOME but none came. By 2/23 he called company again, agent this time said no replacements were being sent -- even though first agent said they were. His reason was that customer was given half refund!

Site says satisfaction guaranteed?!?! So exactly how is that satisfaction guaranteed??? This is the definition of total ripoff. Not only are very inferior products sent which is insulting to the recipient, but the sender had to PAY PARTIALLY -- no replacement was sent even though promised and a special day was ruined! You do not have good products and don't give satisfaction guarantees! TOTAL RIPOFF!

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I made the mistake of ordering flowers for Mother's Day from this disreputable company. I ordered them (at an outrageous price for the record) to be delivered on the Thursday before mother's day to my mom's work. They did not arrive on Thursday. Thursday evening I called and they apologized and agreed to have them delivered to her home on Friday since she was not working on that day. It should come as no surprise that they are not being delivered Friday either.

After 7 phone calls. Yes 7. The florist at first claimed that they had to delay the order to Sat because the address changed. (Because THEY DID NOT DELIVER WHEN THEY PROMISED THEY WOULD). Then a manager called them and come to find out they didn't have the flowers needed for the arrangement. And I could choose a new bouquet, but no way to happen before Sat.

I now have no flowers, and I have to wait 3-7 days for my money to come back to me. That was all the money I budgeted for Mother's Day. Now I have no money to get her a gift at all. I will never buy flowers from this company again. They do not communicate with the florists, they do not verify and they certainly do NOT keep their word.

Replies
Mother's Day Flowers Never Delivered
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- On Tues, May 5th, 2015 I placed an online order with 1800FLOWERS.com for Mother's Day May 10, 2015. The flowers were scheduled to be delivered on Sat, May 9th. The cost for order was $80.00. I received an email from 1800Flowers.com on Sat, May 9th stating that the flowers had been delivered. I called my mother at 7:30am on Mother's Day to ask her how she liked her flowers and she responded that she has not receive any flowers. I was in shock and mad.

I hung up with my mother and immediately called the customer service # 1-800-716-4851. I spoke with a representative who states her name was Amy. I informed Amy of my situation and she stated that she would call the florist. She put me on hold for 10 minutes and then returned and told me that they were closed and to call them (1800FLOWERS) back in 20 minutes (???). Shouldn't you call me back and let me know what is going on with my delivery.....

I called back @ 9:04 am and spoke with a male who stated his name was "Bruce". Again explained the situation with the flowers not being delivered the day before and he just kept stating that according to the florist documentation that they had been delivered (So I am just wasting time on my Mother's Day to call and complain about nothing). I assured him that they had not been delivered and asked can they be delivered today. He also tried calling the florist and informed me that they were closed at the moment and he would call me back within the hour with an update regarding my situation.

As of 1:22PM I had not received a call back from 1800FLOWERS.com. Again, for the 3rd time I called them. At 1:22PM I spoke with Meme and again explained my situation for the 3rd time. She also kept saying, "I am sorry" but offered no resolution. I had to ask her, "When will my flowers be delivered?" She put me on hold for 15 minutes, came back to the line and informed me that she had located another florist who was willing to deliver the flowers today but my order would change from pink roses to red roses. I told her that was fine I just wanted my paid order delivered today. She assured me that they would be delivered today. I was happy and thanked her.

At 2:32pm I listen to a voicemail from 1800FLOWERS. I was informed that the florist was overwhelmed with orders and that my order would not be delivered today or ever. They were refunding me my money and it reflect in my account in 5-7 days. WHAT??? They did not even attempt to deliver the next day. This was totally unacceptable to me so I called again. This time I spoke to a representative who told me her name was "Lenny". I explained the situation about the non-delivery and told her that I lived in RI and my mother resides in GA. I wanted these flowers delivered to her.

She also put me on hold for about 15 minutes before returning to the line to tell me because it was so late in the day the flowers would be delivered on Monday, May 11th but I had to select another bouquet because the florist would not be able to complete my previous order. I then selected the "Expressions of Pink" bouquet. She again put me on hold to speak with the florist regarding my order. I was informed that the florist would not be able to complete this order because of the pink roses.

The representative also informed me that she see that I was given a refund that should reflect in my account in about 5-7 business days and that this delivery might be may be a problem (???). I just hung up. I was frustrated, mad and sad that my mother did not receive her flowers on Mother's Day. I placed this order with 1800FLOWERS on Tuesday May 5th and they had no problem taking my money on that day but on May 10th they had a problem fulfilling the order that a florist they pick did not deliver.

I will never do business with this company ever again. I have informed my husband that from now on we will call 1800PROFLOWERS and we place order at least 4-5 times a year. I will inform my friends, relatives and co-workers of this incident and request that they also only do business with 1800PROFLOWERS.

Several years ago I saw an episode of Undercover Boss that featured CEO, James McCann and his brother Christopher McCann. In this episode they spoke of how they grew their company into a million dollar company by listening to their customers. I do not believe that your customers informed you to give them "terrible" service by not making deliveries nor not caring about them. I am talking about Mother's Day. If your company can't complete orders for Mother's day then your company should not be in business.

This is one of the most important days for a mother. To be shown appreciation and gratitude and to say thank you with pretty bouquet of flowers. This is what I had aimed to do for my mother on this Mother's Day. I just want to thank you for absolutely "nothing" and ruining it for my mother. I will never deal with this company again.

Replies
Ruined Mother's Day
By -

CARLE PLACE, NEW YORK -- Figuring there might be problems with deliveries on Mother's Day (5/8/11), I thought I'd try to get ahead of the rush. On May 5, 2011 I placed an order with 1800Flowers.com for two identical items, one going to my mother and one to my daughter-in-law. Both of these individuals live in the same county, in the same state. The order confirmation I received at 10:05 AM indicated normal delivery hours were 9 AM to 7 PM - I figured great, that gives them roughly 9 hours - shouldn't be any problem getting them delivered.

I got a delivery confirmation for one of the orders later that night (5/5) but nothing regarding the second order. The next day (5/6) I used the 'Track Orders' option on the 1800Flowers.com website and saw there wasn't delivery information for order number two. I noticed a note on the webpage that indicated sometimes the independent florists do not notify them quickly so there could be a delay in the information shown. Fair enough.

I called the 1800Flowers.com customer service number at 11 AM and spoke to ** in customer service. After being on hold for 10 minutes, ** came back online and told me they could not get in touch with the florist to either confirm delivery or let me know the order hadn't been delivered. I explained to ** how frustrating this was and now the only thing I could do was contact either my son or daughter-in-law to find out if delivery was made.

I contacted my son and he let me know there had been no delivery as of 1:30 PM on 5/6. I sent an email to customer service via their 'Contact Us' page and explained all the details and posted a 'not-so-nice' comment on their Facebook page. Someone named ** with the company sent me a private message on Facebook asking for the details and said she would try to help me.

After some back and forth she apologized and said delivery would happen Saturday (5/7) and they would give me a 50% credit for the delivery - not great but... okay. The flowers would get there by Mother's Day at least. She could not tell me A) Why the flowers were not delivered on 5/5 or B) Why the flowers were not going to be delivered that day (5/6).

Later that evening I received an email from a ** with 1800Flowers.com customer service who apologized (so that's 3 people telling me how sorry they are but no resolution....) and that the florist had been contacted and delivery WOULD happen on Saturday 5/7.

Guess what?!?! As of 8:45 PM on 5/7 - there's NO FLOWERS! I immediately called customer service and got another ** who was, not surprisingly, the 4th person to apologize and put me on hold to check on the order. When he came back online, he informed me again that he was sorry for the inconvenience and proceeded to tell me the delivery would be scheduled for TUESDAY, MAY 10TH! Almost 1 WEEK after the original SAME-DAY delivery order was placed on MAY 5TH!!

By this time I am furious and tell him this is unacceptable and to just cancel the order and refund the charge. He says he understands and can cancel the order and I "should", NOT WILL but "should" see a credit in 5-7 business days. Really? REALLY?? When the order was placed on 5/5, my card was hit on 5/5 for the order and NOW he's saying it "should" be refunded in over a week???

Moral of the story is, I will NEVER use this company again and I will make sure my family, friends and colleagues understand just what type of service 1800Flowers.com provides. I'll be spending my Mother's Day disputing the charge... joy! (sarcasm/rant!)

Replies
Advertisement
Mail the CEO with your complaints! I did!
By -

CARLE PLACE, NEW YORK -- Picture this. Your 81 year old mother sits home alone on her birthday in anticipation of the flowers her children send her annually. She waits all day. And waits, and waits. Nothing comes. She feels her children have forgotten her birthday. Her heart is broken. That is exactly what just happened (again!) this week.

Can't relate to an elderly mother? How angry would be feel if you personally ordered flowers for your wife on Valentine's Day and nothing showed until 2-3 days later? How would she feel? This is what happens when your company cannot deliver what it promises.

I know as a company reaching a billion dollars in revenues, you probably don't care about this situation, but rather revenues, profitability and shareholder satisfaction. But I do, so please read on. In order to assure our mother would receive her flowers ON her birthday, I ordered them the morning of 4/14/2011, for a delivery on 4/15/2011, as you will see from my confirmation and the (useless and erroneous) "tracking" page your company sends out.

The tracking page states the order status as "Delivery on Truck", which was a blatant lie. I called this morning, 4/16/2011 at 9:00 am and asked if the representative could contact the florist, as your policy prohibits your customer from actually speaking to them. I was placed on hold for roughly ten minutes, and when the representative came back on, I was told the flowers would be delivered by noon today, a day AFTER her birthday and the order delivery date. AGAIN, THEY WERE NOT!

I emailed your customer service dept and explained this situation, and basically, the only response was that they could not give out the florist's info for me to personally contact. They NEVER EVEN ADDRESSED THE ISSUE OF NON-DELIVERY! Is that what your company considers "customer service"? (I've included this ridiculous correspondence as well.)

I called, yet again, at noon and spoke with another rep, who told me he is seeing the delivery date as 4/16/2011 again, erroneous by all counts, as the enclosed documentation states. The earlier representative must have changed the delivery date. Either way, I asked the second customer "service" representative to call the florist again, to verify that they were at least in route. When the representative came back on, I was now told they could have them delivered by 3:00pm.

Let's sum this up: I ordered the flowers at about 11:00am (CST) on Thursday for a Friday Delivery. By Friday afternoon at 3:19pm (CST), the status stated "Delivery on Truck". Friday came and went. NO DELIVERY. Saturday morning 9:00am (CST) I speak with a "customer service" representative who tells me the order, albeit already a day late, will be delivered by noon. My mother would not be home after 12:30, as I explained to the first representative. I emailed customer service, and nothing about the order was even addressed, just the protection of the florist's identity and the canned, scripted email I've attached.

I called at around 11:30am (CST) and was now told they would be thereby 3:00pm, which was now, too late. Furious at how inept your system, process and communication (or lack of) is, I canceled the order. Do you see how absolutely ridiculous the process is? Do you have enough heart, compassion and understanding to realize how missed dates of your product deliveries effect loved ones? I have ordered from your company for many, many years, but this was the last straw. I don't care at all about the "refund" that was supposed to placate me. I care about the emotions of my elderly mother.

Again, I doubt you even care about this, but if you Google "1800Flowers suck", you will see countless opinion boards with stories of this happening daily! And each story affected someone's feelings. Are you even aware of how many "customers" feel this way? Your business practice is an absolute shame, and I just had to share my experience and opinions with you.

Enjoy your wealth and success, Mr. McCann. But know that while you may get it right once and a while, you are doing it very wrong way too often, and it affects people's feelings and relationships, which I truly doubt is any concern for you or things would be much, much different. Disappointed beyond belief.

Replies
Wrong Flowers
By -

I had ordered flowers from the 1-800-FLOWERS website on July 13, 2011 for the funeral of my husband's grandmother. Though I was limited in time, I was careful to look at all the arrangements to find the right one for her personality and to express my husband's love for her memory and deliberately did not choose anything under the "Sympathy" category.

I chose their "Classic Elegance" arrangement because it did not look like a typical funeral basket, but more like someone gathered flowers from their garden AND the predominant color was pink, her favorite. Also, because the only viewing would only be 3 hours, I wanted the white basket it came in to be something my mother-in-law could take home later that day and have to keep.

When we arrived at the funeral home, I was stunned to see the arrangement that was delivered was a typical funeral basket. The flowers were all green -- NO pink, or any other color, for that matter. And, they were in a plastic bucket, not the white basket shown in the picture.

I understand that sometimes substitutions are necessary in flower types. That would have been fine. I am disappointed that the arrangement was nothing even similar to the "Classic Elegance" picture. Instead of taking the time to choose what my husband would have wanted for his grandmother, I could have simply said pick anything you feel like making and send it, because I feel that is what the florist did.

When I made my disappointment known on their Customer Service site I requested that a representative reach me at the phone number I provided, explaining that I usually have no access to a computer. No one ever called me, but when I finally did get on-line again I found an e-Mail telling me they would give me 5% off my next order. I did not get what I paid for. If they had called like I requested and offered me at least a 50% refund I would have been satisfied and given them another chance. But, five percent.

And, while it is a minor issue, I did not know there was a handling fee or shipping service charge until after the on-order was finalized. In the end, I really didn't save anything because the same "Classic Elegance" arrangement was available through a local florist's website at the same price I ended up paying after adding everything together. In fact, the insulting 5% on my next order wouldn't even cover those charges. There will never be another order from me or anyone else who was at the funeral. And, I have been telling everyone I cannot to use them.

Replies
Thanks 1-800-Flowers For Ruining Another Gift!
By -

My husband buys me flowers on a regular basis and has used 1800FLOWERS.COM for several years. It had always been a great experience UNTIL 2-14-09. He'd ordered me roses and a box of chocolate. I had been out all day and when I got home there the flowers were leaning against the door where they had been for several hours in the cold. They were wilting and turning brown AND there was NO chocolates. I called to get it taken care of and the guy was really nice and handled it immediately (full refund & $20 GC). But then I was wary of them.

So for Mothers Day a friend sent me an arrangement (I got it 5-7-09) Some flowers looked good others were turning brown. THEN my husband again sends me an arrangement (5-9-09) and because of the last time not getting everything I checked his confirmation email..... only to find that they sent a totally different arrangement that cost a lot less! I spent over 1 1/2 hours on hold, got disconnected and had to wait again, talked to 3 people who couldn't care less and who tried to say they'd call me back instead of dealing with the issue and then offered 5% back... which did NOT cover the price difference!

And to top it off most of the flowers were wilted and the ones that weren't were roses that were only the circumference of a little bigger than a quarter! PLUS what they listed on the sheet I signed when they dropped it off STILL wasn't what I received! They had substituted cheaper flowers and left out the really nice ones! Thanks 1800flowers.com for screwing up 2 holidays worth of gifts from my husband!

Oh and how they resolve this one... I can have a redelivery & give them the crap ones back but do I have confidence these will be better? Hell no! And after going through all of this they took a nice gesture from my husband and turn it into something I will look back on with anger. I will now and forever tell anyone and everyone I know to stay away from this company!

Replies
This is why your 1-800-Flowers are so awful
By -

NATIONWIDE -- 1-800-Flowers and Bloomnet.com (same company, different names to deliberately throw you off) are the worst of the worst of the worst of floral wire services. You can be assured that when you order from them, somewhere in the town you are sending your floral gift to there is a florist who is about to be taken advantage of - right after they get done picking your pocket.

This is how that wonderful company works. First, they underprice their products to attract you to their website. Next, they sell you the flowers for a cheap price and tack on a very high "service fee" which you, the customer, thinks is a deliver fee. Ha! How wrong you are. Then they add in special fees for same day delivery, timed deliveries, etc.

At this point you're feeling pretty good about your purchase. Let's say you spent $39.99 on an arrangement, plus $13.99 "service fee" and an extra $9.99 for same day delivery. Your credit card is happily charged for the entire amount and you think "hey, I just spent $63 on flowers for my girl. I know they will be so nice"

The florist in Anytown USA receives the order from 1-800-Flowers/Bloomnet.com but they only get the $39.99. The entire arrangement has to be made AND delivered for that price. The "service fee" and any extra fees do not go to the filling florist. Naw, they never even know you paid them.

But wait - there's more! The local florist will fill your order to the full $39.99 value less $7.00 which is allotted for a delivery fee. Now your arrangement, originally undervalued at $39.99 is being filled at $32.99. Sound too good to be true? Well, it gets even better. Somewhere between 20 and 45 days after your flowers are delivered in Anytown, USA, the local florist will be paid approximately 70% of that original $39.99. That's right - he/she will get a big fat check for $27.99 which is to include the flowers, the vase, the accessories, the delivery fee and all of his or her overhead.

Think about it. You paid $63 for those flowers and the company who actually fills your order only gets to keep $28 of it. What happens to the rest of your money? Where does the other $35 go? Why to 1-800-Flowers, of course, to pay for that excellent customer service you never get once they get your credit card.

Want to have a better shot at getting pretty flowers for a fair price? Make sure you always order from a local florist. You'll receive full value for your order and if you have a problem with the flowers they'll do their best to fix it. To a local florist, customers are everything. To the big national wire services, customers are just numbers. Don't believe me? Ask your local florist.

Replies
Advertisement
Another Failed Delivery
By -

I have had my third horrible experience with this company and I honestly think it may be the worst I have ever dealt with. Today was the second time I have ordered flowers and the order was canceled when it was too late for me to place an order with a different company. The order was accepted and there was plenty of time to notify me if it could not be fulfilled. Instead, they waited until it was too late and completely ruined the experience. I ordered flowers the same day with Proflowers for a different recipient because the 1800Flowers said they could not cover that area and she received them on time.

It is inexcusable to accept an order, have a customer rely on your acceptance and then not communicate with the customer until it is too late to rectify the situation. The last time I used this company the flowers were the worst I have ever seen delivered. I will never use this company again and will certainly tell everyone I know how horrible the service has been.

Replies
Smooth Delivery
By -

I ordered flowers for a friend who had recently gotten into an automobile accident and was admitted into the hospital's trauma unit. The flowers appeared exactly as depicted, and I received prompt e-mail updates regarding the status of my order (order received/order being prepared/order delivered).

I was even a bit worried since she had been moved to a different location in the hospital not long after placing my order, and the flowers were scheduled for next-day delivery. Fortunately, they made it to her updated location without an issue (the florist had called the hospital to verify the information I submitted with the order, which is when they realized that her room number had been changed). All in all, pretty good service on this end!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

1-800-Flowers.com Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 4 ratings and
41 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
1-800-Flowers.com
One Old Country Road, Suite 500
Carle Place, NY 11514
1-800-356-9377 (ph)
www.1800flowers.com
Compare General Consumer Companies