21st Century Auto Group

Star Star Star Star Half star
4.5 out of 5, based on 35 ratings and
55 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
No Authentic Mats- Replaced and Fully Satisfied
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
SPRINGFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- Since I began working in a corporate job, I have always believed in having a reliable car and so I have always trusted Mercedes Benz and have owned some in the past.

I came to this dealership about two weeks ago looking to purchase a newer Mercedes then the current one I have because it is not 4 wheel drive and I wanted a 4matic for the colder seasons coming. I was helped out by a gentleman named Manny and he was really a pleasure to work with. Manny's attention to accommodate my needs and answer all of my questions is exactly the type of employee I would expect to work for a dealership that understands how important customers are.

I looked at several vehicles and really ended up finding exactly what I wanted and purchased it with this dealership. I compliment this dealership on their professionalism, the dealership itself is very clean and nice and the inventory is excellent. My Mercedes E-class has everything I was looking for including a rare panoramic roof top. It has low miles and the price was great. My only complaint was that the mats were not the authentic Mercedes Benz ones (with the silver metal strip that has the brand). Call it whatever you want but those small details really matter to me.

I called the dealership and spoke to the secretary, she took my message and had Manny give me a call back. Manny seemed attentive to my problem and told me he would speak to someone and see if they could get me the authentic mats. A few days later, Manny called me back and asked me to stop by the dealership, they had my mats and wanted to replace them. I was really happy and stopped by a day after on my way to work. The mats where either brand new or really well taken care of. I was fully satisfied and very happy with the manner in which they made my small problem a priority and resolved it.

This is exactly the kind of business and customer service that gets a great rating from myself. Sometimes is the simple things that mean the most to customers! Would definitely recommend this dealership and the great staff!
     
Add reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Lots of Staff- Fantastic C.S
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
SPRINGFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- Our trip to this dealership was not planned, it just sort of happened while driving home one day.

My wife and I are newlyweds and have been sharing the same vehicle as the circumstances didn't permit us to splurge on another car until recently. While on our drive home one day, we saw 21 Century Auto Group- their big dealership logo is hard to miss for anyone driving by. We decided to stop in and take a look and very grateful we did so.

Diego was our sales representative. He was very professional and had a very charismatic way of handling all of our questions and concerns. We looked at so many cars and finally found one we felt was exactly what we wanted. Diego helped guide us through the whole process until we drove out of the dealership.

Working in the customer service field, I understand how important a customer is to any business and this dealership did not disappoint us. The vehicle we chose was in great condition, a beautiful white BMW 2008. My wife fell in love, probably faster than she ever did with me with this car! ha ha! The car was priced at a fantastic deal and we were so excited to find something so unexpected.

The only real complaint we have was that when we first arrived, the second we got out of the car, too many salesmen quickly rushed to offer their assistance, this was a tad bit overwhelming for both of us but I suppose it is better to have plenty of staff, then to be short on it. Sometimes for new customers, this can scare them away but all of the gentlemen (including one woman) they were all very polite and gave us our space.

We are very pleased with our purchase and very pleased with the selections they have. This dealership is really nice inside and the team they have put together is fantastic. Sometimes its the small details that make a customer truly satisfied.

Would recommend without hesitation!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 08/07/2012:
Lots of staff = lots of overhead = higher prices in my opinion. I prefer to deal with smaller outfits. Those flashy high pressure highway dealerships leave me a bit cold.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Thank you 21st Century Auto Group !!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
SPRINGFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- Ready for a nice family car...it was time to shop around!!!I love to shop BUT car shopping can get so stressful when you deal with the wrong people.

The car I would be getting needed to be a family vehicle. As a teenager, everyone had a dream car, mine was a sports car but I guess after having children, it gets difficult to fit a car seat into the back of a sports car so, I wanted a nice SUV or crossover. I've always liked the older Infiniti QX56, it has great room and its definitely a nice car for a family, I feel the newer one looks a little too rounded in the front, like a marshmellow haha!

We went car shopping together, that includes my husband, my son and daughter and of course, myself. Car shopping with children can sometimes be aggrivating on its own but it all depends on the customer service they have as well.

Once in 21st Century, a sales representative came over and quickly offered his assistance. My children were asked if they wanted something to drink and to my astonishment spent most of the time sipping on sodas while playing video games on the comfy couches they have all over the place. My husband and I walked around with Earnest and inspected a car that would fit our budget and our accommodations. When I expressed to Earnest that my dream vehicle would be a QX56, he brought us over to an area where a gray 2005 Infiniti QX56 was located...it was beautiful and best...THE PRICE WAS AMAZING!

To wrap this up, we purchased the truck and couldn't be any happier!!! The price was excellent and although it's not a brand new SUV, it is in amazing condition.

21st Century Auto Group has Great customer service, patient individuals, plenty of different cars and best of all...if you get the right rep, he will work with you on the price!!! Would def. Purchase a car here again. Thank you!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Skye on 03/01/2012:
Great review. Glad you had a positive experience, and took the time to complement this auto dealership!
jktshff1 on 03/01/2012:
Great review.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Top Customer Service and Pricing, This Dealership Excelled With All My Expectations.
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
SPRINGFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- My expectations from a top quality dealership were met and excelled at the 21 Century dealership. I came across this dealership while searching for vehicles online. I called to check if the vehicle had been sold and because it hadn’t, I set up an appointment to meet with a staff member and look into a further purchase. My appointment was taken right on time and my salesman, Jeff was fantastic. A very polite young gentleman, never pushy and very easy to work with overall. The dealership itself is large and has beautiful inventory. Everything Is clean and the waiting area is very nice, with beverages and lots of TVs. Although the most important thing to me was the price and the car, it was nice to see that this dealership cares about its customers enough to accommodate them nicely. It didn’t take very much for me to realize that this was a great opportunity and that the price was unbeatable. I purchased a BMW 3 series 2007 for less than $16,000! I have mentioned this dealership to other women already who have asked me where I purchased my car and I would recommend it to others immediately.
     
Add reply
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Nice Dealership, Great Variety, Honest Staff
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
SPRINGFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- I just wanted to take a moment to compliment this dealership for the great service they offer. I worked with Walter, he is a polite and courteous salesman and deserves to be recognized for his outstanding service during my car deal. Walter worked with me throughout the entire process and it didn't even take as long as I thought it would. I purchased a pre-owned BMW 2009i and I am really thrilled to be driving my dream car. 21 Century offered the best price with the best details and the car was in mint condition. I am really happy with the overall service I received and wouldn't hesitate to work with this dealership or recommend it to others. Thanks guys.
     
Add reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Great Service/repair
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
SPRINGFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- I purchased a car at this dealership about 6 months ago. The car was fine but while on a very long trip to see my daughter in Florida, I began to have problems with the sensor. Once back in NJ, I called the dealership and spoke to my salesman Manny. Manny was really understanding and helped set up an appointment so I could take the car to the mechanic at the dealership to have it looked at. The entire time, thinking it was the sensor, it was actually a couple of leaks due to nails in my tires. Sam (the mechanic) worked on my car and had it fixed up in no time. No hassle, no questions, just another reason why I love this dealership and the great staff they have.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
onlooker on 07/17/2012:
nice - glad you had a good experience. Some people can not say the same.
Close commentsAdd reply
The Worst Dishonest Dealer!!! Please Don't step foot in this Dealership!!!!
Posted by on
SPRINGFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- I called and also have an email confirmation on April 5th from a sales manager stating they had the specific vehicle that I wanted in stock and I can come to look at it. The very next morning I called before my 2 hour drive to verify that the vehicle was still in stock. They said yes..drive all the way from Philly grt there and they told me that it was sold. Was disappointed but I thought since I was up there I might as well look at other cars. I brought a BMW 545 for a reasonable price. When we went to test drive it wouldn't start so they had to charge the battery (something should have told me then to just don't buy it and leave) but they came up with the excuse of it sitting in the showroom and customers opening the doors, leaving the lights on, etc..(which I brought because it sounded like a valid excuse. On the way home we stopped at a gas station and the car would not start. The very next morning we had to buy a battery because it was completely dead. The battery was $180.00, as of today I have not received reimbursement not to mention my tags/plates or my warranty information. I'm driving around with expired temporary tags every time I call to get a status on it they place me on hold, tell me they will call me back (which they never do) or transfer me to a voicemail that's full. I called the DMV and that don't even have any info on me or my vin (so my car is not even registered) I been calling them since I got the car about the battery, plates, warranty, etc.....they either place me on hold, transfer me to a VM that's full. I asked several times to speak with a manager and they literally had me on hold for 33 minutes and then hung up. After not being able to get a resolution over the phone I drove back up on 4/25/11 to the dealer and Joe Perna assured me that I will receive my tags by this week and that I had a warranty and that he would fax me the warranty information the very next day which was 4/26.As of today I have not been able to get any one on the phone and I'm not able to leave a voicemail because the mailbox is full. After the horrible experience I decided to look at Reviews to see if there were other complaints and boy were there and its the same pattern with this dealership. And also they are F rated with the BBB. Me not receiving my tags alone is an issue because I can't enjoy and my new car and drive around comfortably. this is definitely a lesson learned and I did not have to travel 2hours to buy a car but I did only because they told me the one I was interested in was in stock. Please take all the review you read about this dealership seriously because its the truth!!!!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Whiteduck on 05/11/2011:
I wouldn't have done business with someone that let me drive 2 hours to see a car and then sold it before I got there. That should have been a sign of their customer service policies right there...
Anonymous on 05/11/2011:
I would of turned around and left after giving the my piece of mind.
Close commentsAdd reply
21 Century Auto Dealer at Springfield NJ
Posted by on
SPRINGFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- I have the first hand experience. Look at the justification 21st century employee gave... they just insult the customers if you don't agree with them and make them rich, just by paying what they demand. By the way, what they demand has nothing to do with what they advertise. They themselves say that its 'just an advertisement' to attract people and pull them to their shop.

As I dint want to take a chance, I took the printouts from their website, not for one car, but 4 different cars. As one of their customer mentioned in my3cents dot com, they just played the game that they don't know where 2 of the cars went! They couldn't find their own car on their own lot. Then they shows me their costliest cars, I insisted on seeing only the ones I had the printout for. Then he showed the costliest one and he said he is busy (but I couldn't find anyone else waiting for his time). After checking the car, he wanted me to sit with him to talk 'numbers'.

When I asked him about the price of the car, as I saw in their site as $26,000, he just dint respond, but kept on asking how much I can make as a down payment and what's my monthly payment can be. I dint understand what that has to do with the price of the car, no matter what the down payment or monthly payment is. Anyway, I said it can be between 5-10 grand and $500-700 per month. I agree that if you need a financing then you may need to know these details. But the dirtiest catch of these rude company is that you have to take the financing from them. We innocent customers will think, what's wrong with financing?

The sales representative goes to his manager then and talks for a while. He comes back with the highest numbers you mentioned. So the down payment becomes $10,000 and monthly payment becomes $700. Then he asked, are you happy. I was OK, then I asked about how long are the terms for. Now comes the shocking news, its for 60 months!!! Which inturn means, I will pay $10000 + (60 x 700) = 10000+42000 = $52,000!!! I dint understand, why would I pay double the amount of the car by the end of 5 year term. The explanation was they usually ask customers to pay in 48 months, ie 4 years that amount! So it was showing a very high APR in 2 figures. I said as you demanded, I have over 740 credit score, still why should I pay 11+ APR, my bank offers 2.9% APR, I can understand if you ask for 4 or 5% APR. They sarcastically replied saying, if your score was not above 740, then the APR would have been over 20% !!!

I told them then don't worry about financing, I will get my own or I can pay them in cash the entire $26,000. At that time, they called their manager an irritating short guy, comes and rudely, I mean very rudely said they are not running charity, but a business and they will charge what they want, whether its 15% or 25%, we customers don't have to know that. If you want the advertised price, you have to take their APR whatever they say. Or they won't sell the car. I was just shocked, so they have a number and they want that much, no matter what they advertise for. They could even say $15,000 for a car and still get $35,000 through their APR. That's just ridiculous!!! They are just frauds and cheats, take a look at their BBB rating, its just 'F' which in turn shows their reputation. I think as customers we should be able to do something against these crooks.

Readers, do not get tricked by 21st Century Auto dealer. Do not buy anything from them or visit them. At least ask them upfront what the price of the car and the APR they can commit for your credit score. Also record the same while talking to them over the phone. We can file a suit against them later, when they came up with their dirty tricks !

If you want to go through a very bad experience or if you are a masochist just visit this dealer !!!!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
tnchuck100 on 04/17/2010:
Forget about filing a lawsuit. There is no basis.

I will agree they are being very deceptive, underhanded, sneaky and downright scum bags. But even at that they are not doing anything illegal. They can try to coerce anyone into signing one of their sales contracts. Granted, there are many, many fools that get caught by their tactics. Obviously they are successful at it.

More people should do exactly as you did. Know what you want BEFORE ever setting foot on the lot and don't let them BS you into something you don't want. ALWAYS, in any car deal, be ready to walk if it starts to smell!

One more point, 99% of the time your own financing will be better than a car dealer's.
ed pritchard on 11/24/2013:
19000 advertised but wind up paying 35000. I even traded in an x5 plus 530i for a 2011 g25x. we need to get an antorney. 862 223 9345
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Thank You 21st Century
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
SPRINGFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- I usually detest car dealerships. The typical car sales process makes me cringe. Used cars sales are the worst. No more! I just wish I had found 21st Century Auto Group years ago. It has a huge inventory and many cars to select from. Along with amazing and helpful staff in every department, who have learned how to make car shopping an enjoyable and rewarding experience for their customers. They specialize in used cars and their lot is well-stocked with every luxury car you could dream of. Despite their price range are all in very good condition. Prices are quite fair and are in line with recommendations at Edmunds and KBB. They have an on-site mechanic that can ensure their cars are in the best running condition possible, and they provide all of the financing, warranty, and other related services that the "bigs" provide. But their specialty is cars in that specific price range, and the real differentiator is their philosophy and style of helping buyers find the car they want. They listen. They provide opinions when asked. They show the cars that meet the requirements the buyer describes. And they are just plain enjoyable to work with. If they ever get "discovered" they are going to be swamped with business. As it is, the biggest challenge is just finding them. I happened across them at the Cars.com site and from there went to the 21st Century Auto Group site.

A few minutes on the phone with Steve and I knew this would be a dealership I could work with. My son and I found a Mercedes that he is quite pleased with. If I need a new car, I'll go to a new car dealer. If I need a used car, I'll look forward to the opportunity to work with Steve and Jeff again. I still detest car dealerships - just not this one.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Paul on 03/31/2014:
Car dealerships are all the same in the fact that they need to make money. 21st is no different.

With used cars, you run a risk. No used car dealer is going to go looking for things to fix before they sell, because they will never make money. That is true at 21st - there are plenty of comments that mention things failing shortly after purchase.

The only way personally I would buy a nice used car is if it is certified preowned. CPO cars are gone through somewhat carefully, or at least there is a checklist. Then you know you have the manufacturer behind you. I bought a CPO car, and it has no issues at all for 3 years. Good luck.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Info of Online Vehicle- Communication Is Key
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
SPRINGFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- Three weeks ago my wife and I decided to expand our search of a new car by looking online instead of stopping by all these dealerships. We came across the 21 Century Auto Group web page by a search of dealerships within a 30 mile radius of the house, their dealership popped up.

I don't want to make this review too long but basically, we found an Infiniti SUV we really liked 09' with 21,000 miles. With the details given online, we were really interested in this specific car. I called the dealership and spoke to a polite young lady who transferred me to a car salesman. When I expressed to this gentleman which car I was calling to inquire about, he told me it wasn't available any more. I have to admit I was a little upset because we had really found something we wanted and had placed the rest of the vehicles previous to this one on the back burner, only to find out it had been sold.

I expressed to this gentleman that they should update their site more often and when he noticed I was a bit upset, he didn't hesitate to understand my position and asked me if I was interested in the dealership trying to find a vehicle just alike, with maybe only minor differences. He explained that they update their inventory often and because of the misleading information, they would try and help us find something just as good if not better.

A few day ago, we got the call and Arthur sent us pictures of the vehicle they had found to see if it caught our interest. Believe it or not, this might sound crazy but, this one was even better because it was an Infiniti 09' 22,000 miles with a tan interior (which we wanted but the other didn't have) a panoramic sky roof and it was silver, which in my opinion is better than white like the prior one. We ended up purchasing with this dealership and couldn't be happier with the service we received and the very professional manner in which they dealt with our minor problem. Communication is key!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 09/11/2012:
As you said it does sound crazy.

If I were shopping for a car, and found a dealer's website was out of date, I would keep shopping. I don't have time for that. I'm glad you found what you were looking for.

So many of the reviews for this company mention some problem that arose, yet the company came through and a wonderful sale was made. It is weird - of all the cars I have bought there was never an issue that I can remember. There always seems to be one at 21st Century.
alex.roberts349 on 09/12/2012:
Trav, I can agree with trmn8R, its a responsibility for a dealership to keep their inventory updated. Although there is a possibility that that vehicle could have been sold the same day and that is why the page didn't have it registered as it showed.

I have read plenty of reviews on this dealership to see what other customers besides myself thought and I think at the end of the day, this is an honest dealership that just happens to have issues here and there. I'm happy that they accommodated you and you found something worth the while that shows that they have a commitment to their customers you know? and that is what is most important. Wishing you luck!
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >