Preview Review

Next Review

AAMCO Transmissions, Inc. Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Waste of Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPRINGFIELD, VIRGINIA -- WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY... I brought my car in because the check engine light was on and the code was for torque converter. I have no problems with my transmission, but it is due for inspection so wanted to get everything fixed before I brought it in. I checked out all the reviews and the reviews for Woodbridge Aamco were not the greatest and I should have listened.

I started by calling the Woodbridge Aamco the gentleman that answered the phone was very rude. He told me if I brought my car in on Friday they would not get a chance to look at until Monday, since they were closed for the weekends. I was OK with that, but then when I said "Well I can just bring it in on Sunday," he said "We will not get a chance to look at it until Wednesday maybe Thursday if you do that." There was no logic in that, why would I want my car to sit there over the weekend.

At the end of the conversation I said I was still calling around. He told me "Good luck with that. We are the only ones in Woodbridge that do transmission work." I was very unhappy with his attitude throughout the conversation. If you read the post for Woodbridge you will see that others felt the same way about Woodbridge customer service.

So after that experience I looked into Springfield thinking that maybe they had better service. The gentleman on the phone was a lot nicer so I decided to give it a try. I told him it was right before Christmas so I wasn't sure if I was going to get it done now or later, I just wanted to know how much it would cost. They get my car and tell me "Yes something definitely wrong with the transmission." I ask how much to fix, they say they can't tell until they pull the transmission out and figure out exactly what is wrong with it. I ask, "How much will that cost?" He says $850. I am hesitant but he says that money will goes toward the repair.

I let them move forward with pulling the transmission out. When we speak again he tells me that I need to pretty much replace everything in my transmission and it will cost $4980. Now I have called around and found the price of new transmission and they were cheaper. So I get upset and tell him that I can get a new transmission for cheaper than that. He says "Well that is the price from all parts from the dealer. Let me call around and give you a call back." He calls me back and gives me a price of $3745 and that comes with 1800 or 18 month warranty. He was like much better.

Then I am started to feel scammed. So I ask, "How much to just replace the torque converter?" He pauses and tells me to hold on. He comes back with a price of $450. He says several times that does not come with a warranty. So when I tell him that I want to move forward with just the torque converter, he gets upset and tells me that there is no guarantee that my vehicle will work after and there is no warranty. I should've just went and got my car then, but I was already $850 in the hole.

So I asked "What do mean it won't work, just because I don't get the full transmission redone my car won't work after? That is crazy. You telling me that you don't care if my car works or not." He tried to talk his way out of it, told me I was putting my feelings into this and guaranteed that my car will work the same way it did when I brought it in maybe even better, but the check engine light may still be on. By then I was really upset, but let them proceed.

I get my car back and it does run almost the same as it did, shifts a little harder now. The check engine light is still on. I begin to wonder if they did any work or were just trying to get my money. Be aware of this place. I thought I wouldn't fall victim like others did in Woodbridge reviews but I did.

Replies
Advertisement
They Are BIG FAT SCAMMERS! Beware!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FAIRVIEW HEIGHTS, ILLINOIS -- Fairview Heights, ILLINOIS. April 1, 2016 - I was 100 miles from St. Louis, MO when my transmission failed. Eventually, my car was towed to AAMCO Transmissions in Fairview Heights, IL on April 2. I get there on Monday, Apr 4, and asked about my options. After the diagnostic they told me that the transmission needs to be replaced. "How is that?" I asked. "You are a transmission company, can you just repair it?" And you know what? No! They cannot repair! They can only rebuilt it! And rebuilding will cost $3500. And they told me, that it would be better just to put in a used transmission. "Ok. Do you have one?" asked I.

They told me that they will find a used transmission for me. After few hours of waiting they told me that they've got a used transmission for $1100. I asked about the warranty on this transmission and this Kevin the manager told me that it is 90 days parts and labor warranty. I thought it was a very great deal and I agreed. He made a photocopy of my credit card information.

As I stuck in Fairview Heights with my wife and child, I had not much options to choose from. I left my car there at AAMCO and asked my friend to pick us up. And that day, 04-04-16, we left for our home in Omaha, NE. On 04-06-16 my card was charged for $1100 for a transmission. The next day Kevin called me to tell the car is ready but they cannot charge my card because of some issues. I told him that I will be there on Friday, Apr 8, and pay in person. I took a bus to get to St. Louis and then an Uber to get to Fairview Heights.

Everything seemed to be good, I paid $900 for labor in cash, except I noticed that in AAMCO receipt there is not a single word about the transmission itself. I asked this Kevin about it and after that he gave me an invoice for this transmission assembly from Something Auto Parts to Kevin's and AAMCO name. After that I managed to drive back safely to Omaha. In two weeks this transmission failed. I brought the car to local AAMCO in Omaha with all the papers from Fairview Heights AAMCO and left.

The next day they called me and told that Fairview Heights AAMCO refused to pay for this warranty repair because I HAD BOUGHT THE TRANSMISSION MYSELF and THERE IS NO WARRANTY FOR THE LABOR!!! I tried to explain that I didn't bought anything by myself, I ordered a comprehensive transmission service. But all was useless! The local AAMCO manager said he doesn't care about anything! It is my problem to solve with Fairview Heights AAMCO shop! I tried to call Fairview Heights AAMCO several times. And the only thing I hear that I bought it myself and it's my problem now!

This AAMCO shop just scams people by installing crappy parts, taking money for labor, and then reinstalling them again and again! Taking money for labor again and again! That's quite a business! And you know what they include to their "parts and labor warranty?" WARRANTY FOR TRANS. OIL AND OIL FILTER!!!

And when I decided to get my car back from local AAMCO shop, manager told me that I got what I deserve because didn't want to rebuild my transmission and just wanted to save some money! THEY ARE JUST BIG FAT scammers!!! Filing a claim to the court.

Replies
Reimbursement for Loss of 2 Days Pay Due to Their Negligence and They Refuse to Pay.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WASHINTON TOWNSHIP, NEW JERSEY -- On 10/27/2015 I took my car to AAMCO on Turnersville, NJ for transmission problem leaving my car in their care. On 10/29/2015 AAMCO received a summons against my car for illegally parking my car in a handicap parking space. On 11/7/2015 I received a summons to appear in court on 11/17/2015, having to take a day off work losing my pay for that day. Then I had to go back to court a 2nd time losing another day's pay, that made a lost of two days pay due to their negligence.

The case was dismissed because I do have a handicap plaque but it was not in my car at the time the complaint was made. I saved AAMCO but, they walked away free and cleared. When I told Mr. Roth owner of AAMCO to reimburse me for my 2 days of lost pay he said "Take it up with the customer who issued the complaint against me and your car. I'm not giving you anything, but thank you for saving my butt. Have a nice day." I was dumbfounded. Now I need to take legal action to get my lost wages.

Replies
Worst Experience With Car Care
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEBSTER, TEXAS -- We took my car to this location to have the transmission rebuilt. It took them over a week to "fix it". We had to take it back because it was leaking transmission fluid. They said that was normal, topped it off and sent us on our way. The next day the leak was so bad I could not drive my car and there was a puddle underneath it. Took it to the shop, they said a seal was not properly installed, they "fixed it". Next day still leaking, took it in, they've "fixed it" again, only now my radio doesn't work, the screen won't come on nor the music.

They gave me hogwash about how nothing they would've done with the transmission would affect the radio, told me to take it to the dealership. I was so mad I left, brought it home and come to find out it was a blown fuse, which I completely suspect they did. My husband fixed the fuse!! And guess what? My car is still leaking fluid!!

Replies
Advertisement
AAMCO Transmission Tried to Steal My Car
By -

GAINESVILLE, FLORIDA -- In January 2009, my 2003 VW Beetle had transmission problems and required repairs. I contacted several companies in the US that had wrecked or rebuilt transmission that would work in my car. The quotes were anywhere from $2900 to $3200 plus labor to install (this also ranged from $300-500). I also contacted AAMCO Transmission in Gainesville, FL for a quote on rebuilding the original transmission.

They told me over the phone that the quote would be $2700 for a rebuilt transmission for my car. He did say that this was for “soft parts” only. I told him this could not turn into a $5000 repair job. He stated that the most it would cost over the quote would be $489 and that was only if they had to replace the torque converter. He promised me it would not go any higher. All of this conversation was injected with honey, sweetheart, we would never do that to you…

After AAMCO started the work on my car, I didn't hear back from them for over 5 days. I called on Tuesday, Feb. 2, 2009 and asked how things were going with my car. They said, “Oh, bad news.” Now the quote for the repairs was for over $4700. I told them I could not pay that. He told me it was too late-the work had already been done and there was no going back. I asked what options I had at that time and he said “None”. AAMCO stated that I had authorized the work on my car based on the fact that I gave my father's first name **. My father's name was **.

I received a certified letter on April 9, 2009 from AAMCO with their intentions to auction my car on May 7, 2009 for $4182.30. They were also charging me $50 a day storage since whenever they decided to start charging me even more money so that I would be unable to get my car back. I consulted a lawyer and after hearing my story, he told me to file a civil suit in small claims court and tell the judge exactly what you told me. He said that since they refused to provide me with a written quote and the quote was changed after the work began, that they could not legally take my car.

I called the manager AAMCO and I asked him to please do not auction my car. I told him the case had been reopened by Consumer Services and that I had filed for an emergency hearing at the Clerk of Courts. I had also called Consumer Services that day and he said to call AAMCO and try to work out a deal with them. He said he had no power to stop the auction. When I spoke with AAMCO at AAMCO, he told me he didn't care what Consumer Services said, he would do as he pleased. He also stated that I file all the civil suits I wanted, he would sell the car if he wanted to.

I also asked him could I please have my personal belonging from the car. He said no I could not. Everything in the car belonged to him now. I said are you telling me I can't have my personal belonging and he then backtracked and said that the car was in another location and when and if it were auctioned, I would maybe get my personal effects.

On May 25, 2009, my daughter and I were driving around looking for a used car for her. She is in school at the University of West Florida and her car recently had a timing belt break which in turn ruined the engine. The car was old (Honda 1989 CRX) so we sold it for scrap and we were out looking for another older car. We drove by AAMCO on Main Street and I told Jessica “There's the place that stole my car” as we drove by. She said “I see it. It's parked in the back.” I couldn't believe it was there since I was told it was elsewhere.

We drove over to the car and found a note left by Detective Quirk. The note stated that the vehicle was unlawfully entered. A witness observed the suspect and called 911. Officers located and arrested the suspect but were unable to contact me. I was so upset. AAMCO had left my car unlocked-both doors. The car is keyless entry only. The back window was partially down and the back floorboard carpets were standing in about 2 inches of water.

My vehicle registration and insurance card were laying on the passenger seat. The glove box was destroyed and would not open. I'm not sure what all was taken since it has been so long since I have seen my car. I made a decision at that time to take my car back. I called a friend and he came and towed the car to his garage. He has since looked at the car. The transmission and all the mountings for the transmission are missing.

I was contacted (May 26) by the Gainesville police in reference to both the break in on Sunday and they also informed me that AAMCO had reported the car as stolen. I told them it was not stolen. She said that AAMCO stated they held title to my car. I said they do not hold title to my car, I hold the title to my car. Then she corrected herself and stated that AAMCO had filed for title to my car. It is my understanding of the law that AAMCO is attempting to obtain title to my car by illegal means.

Also, I would not disclose the location of my car to the Gainesville police because I feared that AAMCO would try to steal it. The police stated that this was a civil matter and they would not pursue it. I paid $30,000.00 for my 2003 Turbo Charged, fully loaded VW Beetle Convertible. For 5 years, I paid payments of $575 each month. I finally paid the car off on January 9, 2009 when I received my first paycheck in 6 months.

I got several quotes, selected the Lowest, and expected the repair shop to be honest in dealing with me. They have been everything but honest with me. Everything AAMCO has told me thus far has been a lie. I also find it very dishonest to refuse to provide me with a written quote despite how many times I asked. Yes, I finally got the quotes on Feb. 10, 2009, but by then it was too late, according to AAMCO. The work had been done.

Replies
Breakdown After AAMCO "Fixed It"
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AURORA, COLORADO -- AAMCO transmissions on 14871 E Colfax Ave was not fair to me as a customer. On 11/26/2015 I took my car to these so called "total care experts" and had the shifter cable in my car replaced, the work to four days to complete. Four months later, one month after the fantastic 90 day warranty my car suffered another breakdown. The shifter cable was not working again and AAMCO's "failure of the assemblies due to defective material and or workmanship" was then to blame.

I called to get my rightfully reimbursement and I could not due to the 90 day warranty. Because of this experience I would not call AAMCO a "total care (expert)", in fact I would not recommend anyone to go to AAMCO and expect to encounter "total care experts". In fact I will never be going back to AAMCO for any total care needs because of this 90 day warranty.

Replies
Bad or Dishonest Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DOVER, DELAWARE -- Originally I was told by Goodyear that my transmission line was leaking and it was a 189.00 dollar repair. I took it to Aamco in Dover Delaware only because we were referred by someone my husband trusted and he knew the manager "big Brandon" at Aamco. So I took my car in and instead of a leaking transmission line they told me I needed my water pump replace for 500.00. So I am like ok. I pay it and take my car home. It is not still leaking some fluid!!! I try to call them, they do not return my calls. Only after I get aggressive and threaten a lawsuit do they call my husband and not me who pay for and is the owner of the car!

Ladies do not go here, big Brandon don't like or want to talk to females. I am bringing my car to Heirtrech to get a second opinion on additional car repairs because they are honest and tell me only what needs to be replaced and not additional stuff to line their pockets. If my car has to have a transmission line replaced like Goodyear originally said and I was charged 500.00 I will be going to small claims court with this business.

Replies
Transmission Still Not Properly Fixed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PASADENA, TEXAS -- Brought my truck in at AAMCO on Red Bluff Rd in Pasadena, TX for what I thought was my transmission slipping intermittently and noise in transfer case. I was told they would take the tranny apart and advise. They said once they figured out what was wrong if anything they would give me a price. If I did not want to have the job done they would charge $600 to put the tranny back together. They quoted $6k for rebuilding the tranny. I chose to opt out of the repairs due to the age of the truck and repairs cost.

When advised to put the tranny back together for the $600, they basically refused stating it would probably not run (There were no damaged parts in the transmission). Had them do the work, unfortunately they misdiagnosed the whole thing as the same issues kept reoccurring. Took the truck back three times. First time they wanted to charge for parts which I refused to pay for. Second time I don't think they even looked at the truck, and the third time they kept my truck for two weeks blaming their supplier for sending the wrong parts over and over.

Got my truck back after threatening to go the legal route and I am still experiencing the same exact slipping feeling. Cost me over $600 in rental car (they had my truck for a total of 30 days). Never will I support AAMCO again, their technicians lack expertise and training, the advisors give you the runaround. Also... never given the "damaged" parts.

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Transmission Installed
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- I took my 2002 Jeep Liberty in for service based on recommended advice from the mechanic. I took it to AAmco to have trans checked. They determined that the trans needed replace. I paid the bill and left. Two days later, I was driving to Florida when 5 hours into trip the check engine light appeared. Thinking it was the exhaust I continued driving to Florida. Upon arrival in Florida, I went to a AAA approved shop where they scanned it and determined it was the trans. Went to AAmco in Florida and they scanned it. Yes, it was the trans. I said I have a warranty and made three different appointments.

Before the third appointment, the engine misfired and caused the piston to go thru the engine. AAmco in Florida confirmed that the trans was bad before the engine blew. Pittsburgh AAmco was informed and I was told they would replace trans. but I have no engine to put it in because AAmco did not scan it, otherwise the scanner would have read 300 which is engine and 700 is transmission. AAmco Florida scanned it again and told me after the fact that the engine was misfiring. Nobody scanned this car until the engine went. Now I'm having a hard time just to get the owner to hear my case. It is still ongoing.

Replies
Warranty Repair
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CENTERPOINT, ALABAMA -- My vehicle was towed to AAMCO February 24th, 2014. The transmission had been rebuilt by AAMCO In January 2013. The car stopped pulling, it is still under warranty until March 11 2014. The car Sat there for 2 weeks. Finally someone called to say they have lost the keys to the car. I would need to deliver them a new set of keys. Thankfully I had a set of spare keys to the car so I dropped them off the next day. One day passed I did not hear anything. The next day the same person ** called and advised me the mileage on the paperwork for the warranty (that they filled out) had incorrect mileage on it and that I had apparently rolled the miles back on the car.

I called corporate to try to locate the owner of the AAMCO. Corporate was quick to respond I will say they provided the Owner's information. I spoke with the owner and was advised he would meet with shop manager the following day. At 3:00 the following day the owner called and advised me that I had rolled the miles back on the car, and in fact the transmission in the car is not the transmission they put in the car. He also went on to say he wanted the car off his lot by Monday.

I have never experienced any business that operates in this manner. The transmission is under warranty and the owner is apparently willing to say anything to avoid making this good. I would advise anyone needing transmission work not to use AAMCO EVER...

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

AAMCO Transmissions, Inc. Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 34 ratings and
81 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
AAMCO Transmissions, Inc.
One Presidential Boulevard
Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004-1034
1-800-292-8500 (ph)
610-668-1308 (fax)
awright@AAMCO.com
Compare Auto Repair Shops