AAMCO Transmissions, Inc. - Page 2

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.9 out of 5, based on 29 ratings and
76 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
AAMCO Transmissions, Inc.
One Presidential Boulevard
Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004-1034
1-800-292-8500 (ph)
610-668-1308 (fax)
Compare Auto Repair Shops
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Aamco Is a Ripoff
By -

TITUSVILLE, FLORIDA -- Had my vehicle towed to Aamco in Titusville Fl. They wanted 2700.00 to rebuild transmission. Had it done and didn't get 25 miles out of town an hour later (had been on trip when incident occurred and so still had to complete my trip home) when all the same bells and whistles came back that my transmission needed to checked, my ABS wasn't working, etc.

Got to Jacksonville and the transmission overheated warning came on so I stopped at the Aamco in Jacksonville. They confirmed the work had to be redone and that it would take a few days. I wasn't prepared to camp out in Jacksonville after being camped out for 15 days in Titusville so I declined and made it home.

I don't have an Aamco dealer in my town, but I was headed to Ft Lauderdale the next week and took it in there. Dealer checked it out and gave me the same report the Jacksonville dealer had given me, but then refused to take it in. My wife and I had rented a car to get around in Ft Lauderdale and so we were prepared to leave it all week. Guy just said he couldn't take it in.

On way back from Ft Lauderdale, now 3 weeks after the initial repair, transmission seals blew again and hot fluid set fire under vehicle. Little town of Hartwell Ga had to send volunteer fire department out on rural SR77 to extinguish blaze. Thanks Aamco.

Fort Walton Beach Aamco Scam!
By -

FORT WALTON BEACH, FLORIDA -- Beware of the Aamco transmission shop in FWB! This place is a full-fledged scam that will make up repairs that your vehicle is in need of and then make excuses for why the original problem still exists all the while still expecting payment for the unnecessary fix. We brought in our Expedition for rear end clunking, our warranty company told us that Aamco will accept the warranty company's payment amount. So we think great no out of pocket costs...think again. Aamco said that the rear end needed to be rebuilt and received approval from our warranty company for the work ($1200).

The work done and Aamco paid in full, the rear end still clunks and now it whines like crazy too. We bring it back in again for another diagnostic and they say nothing is wrong w/ the truck and that we need to bring it back in at 5K miles to have rear end fluid changed and the whining will go away... but it still clunks? They now say that this is "normal" transmission double down shifting and does not require repair. Now we are confused because you rebuilt the rear end, which was supposed to be the clunking issue fix and now that isn't a problem at all?

So why did the rear end get rebuilt? No answer... so fast forward to 5K miles later and we bring in the truck for our appointment for the oil to be changed and wait for a full 2 hours after our appointment for the truck to even be taken back for service. We meet w/ the service guy after the oil change and he says it is still whining. We ask why, he says he doesn't know, but it should get better. He goes on to tell us that maybe the rear end has additional issues and that is why it is whining. We tell him that it did not whine before they touched it only clunked, now it is whining and clunking.

At this point he says that he noticed uneven wear on our rear tires, this is the most astounding thing about this situation because our tires are brand new with a total of 30 miles on them (yes 30 miles). We tell him that the tires are brand new and cannot possibly show uneven wear after only 30 miles to which he has no reply and simply stumbles over his words. At this point we realize that he is simply trying to get us to once again have an unnecessary repair done at their shop! Once he recovers a little bit from the tires he hits us w/ the total bill for the oil change is $137!

I was dumbfounded. We were under the impression that this needed to be done and was a part of the original rebuild costs. He informs us that no it is not and says that he can do away with the labor costs and that we will only be required to pay $67 for the oil. We have been waiting for several days for the shop manager to return our calls about getting the oil charge refunded to us. The service guy said that it would likely be refunded and yet no one calls us. Please avoid this shop at all costs or you will probably be in for a nightmare of paying for something that isn't necessary.

A Total Ripoff
By -

NEW BRUNSWICK, NEW JERSEY -- IS IT POSSIBLE TO GIVE A MINUS 4 STAR REVIEW? My check engine light was on, so I decided to take advantage of Aamco's advertised "free" check engine diagnostic. I took my car to the Aamco on Rte. 27 in New Brunswick, NJ. After the experience that I had, I can only say that if my car broke down directly in front of that Aamco, I would immediately have it towed to almost any other mechanic. I received a call telling me that there were 2 codes, and the only way they could determine what was wrong was to do a deeper diagnostic.

They told me that driving the car would result in additional damage to the engine, so I allowed them to find out what was wrong. Meanwhile, I rented a car to get to and from work. A few days later, they told me that they had had to pull the heads to diagnose the problem and that I needed a new engine. They gave me an estimate of $6,500.00 to replace mine. I told them to put the car back together so that I could pick it up. My car is a 2002 Toyota Celica with approximately 160,000 miles on it. The Kelly Blue Book trade in value is $ 4,100.00. Clearly it make no sense to install a new engine!!

I called several times trying to get my car, and a printout of the diagnostic. I asked to speak to the mgr, and was put on hold and then cut off. I called back and was told that the mgr was on another phone and he would call me back. I waited more than 1/2 hour and called again, and was told that the reason it was taking so long was that they were trying to find a more affordable repair alternative. I asked, "Did I ask you to find an alternative repair?" The person who had answered the phone said, "Well if you're going to be nasty..." and hung up on me.

It took a call to Aamco corporate headquarters to get a call back, and the Customer relations person there assured me that the dealer had promised to give me an itemized bill and the diagnostic. My daughter-in-law picked the car up for me and was presented with a bill @ $518.00. She was told that to determine exactly what was wrong, they would have had to take the engine apart. (Isn't that what they said they had done?). What purported to be a detailed diagnostic said: Best guess is a cracked piston; and the itemized bill just said: Labor..$518.00.

I have since checked with two other mechanics. They both immediately said that: 1) There is no need to take the heads off to diagnose the problem, and that they would NEVER take the heads off of an engine of that age and mileage to diagnose a problem because it would be almost impossible to put it back together without actually repairing it. and, 2) The normal cost of a "check engine light" diagnostic is at most $ 79.00.

My regular mechanic now has the car. He says it DOES NOT appear that Aamco took the heads off. They most likely just did the "check engine light" diagnostic which is supposed to be FREE! New Brunswick Aamco charged me $518.00 for absolutely nothing! If you value your check book and your car, STAY AWAY FROM AAMCO!!

Charged for Repair That Wasn't Needed
By -

ORLANDO,, FLORIDA -- My name is ** from Orlando, Florida and I need help. I took my car to AAMCO Transmission on 5527 W. Colonial Dr. Orlando, FL. 32808 on 02/18/11 for jerking problems when I put my car in drive and reverse. ** the representative for this location called me back on the 18th and told me it was my transmission and it needed to be rebuilt. I specially asked ** will this fix the jerking problem and he said yes. So I told him to go ahead and fix the problem and ** told me the total out the door would be $2,193.08 (not knowing that he works on commission).

I then picked up my car on the 02/23/11 and was told by ** that the car would do a little jerking, for most of the soft and hard parts were replaced. He also told me to bring it back in 10 to 15 days to get it rechecked. On Friday just two days later my car started the same exact jerking that it was doing when I first took it in. I immediately called ** and he said to bring it in. I took my car in on 03/01/11 and a few hours later I called ** for him to tell me it's not my transmission and that it is natural for it to jerk or that it could my engine at this point but he wasn't sure.

I explain to ** that my car is not supposed to jerk and that if it was not my transmission then did you so call rebuild it? And if was my engine why didn't you fix my engine. I took my car to them for jerking problems and not transmission problems. ** then got irate with me and told me that my transmission was going bad anyway and that I would need one rebuilt and or replaced soon. ** stated that my transmission was slipping and when they drove it was slipping in third gear. How would they know that as to my car shifts into third gear at about 80 miles! Did they ride my car down Colonial drive going 80?

So I went to get my car that evening of the 1st and I showed ** and the mechanic the jerking and ** then tells me "Oh that is a problem and we will fix it." So ** said for me to bring my car back on 03/02/11 and they would fix it. I took my car back on 03/02/11 @ about 9:15 am. So from that point I called corporate and spoke with ** the consumer support manager on 03/02/11 and explain to him what was going on and he stated that he would call them and call me back.

** did call me right back at about 10:15 am and told me that they were working on my car and would find and fix the problem. From that point I didn't hear from the shop so I called at 12:30 pm and ** told me that they were still trying to find the problem and that he would call me back. I explain to ** that I didn't have any other source of transportation and what was I supposed to do. ** told me to let them find the problem and that he would call me back.

As of 4:00 pm I didn't hear from them so I called ** back and he ask had I heard from them and I told him know I haven't and I told ** again what was I supposed to do without a car and out of $2,193.08 dollars. ** told me that he didn't know. ** said that he would call them and call me back. I have disputed the charge, put in a claim with BBB. What else can I do? Can you please help me?

My Three Week Transmission Repair in Dover Delaware
By -

DOVER, DELAWARE -- Aamco visit number 1. (One day) after reading the check engine light code which stated my transmission was failing, I was quoted it would cost 1,600 to 2,000 dollars. I choose to go to Aamco because it was a well known name. After first visit and trans. repair my bill was 2,700 dollars. When I asked about the difference in price they said that there was more wrong than they thought, trusting the name from the constant commercials I've seen on TV I said OK. After I drove about two miles my check engine light came on. Then turn around and took it back and was told they forgot to reset that light so they did that.

About 5 miles after I left this time it came on again. Went back and was told they didn't have time to investigate the problem but would discount the light and was told it would be fine and to bring it back later. Knowing that some auto repairs can be tricky I agreed and said OK. Visit number 2 (3 hours). They switched some bushing because they said maybe the rebuilt ones they had put may have been bad. After waiting 3 hours I was told "opps" that they were also bad cause the problem still was not fixed.

They then told me they would order new ones so I would have to come back when they got them in and mentioned that now "the fine jewels” in my cat. converter needed to settle because they have probably been disturbed. Trip number three (one day). All was good for a week then transmission started same thing it was doing in the beginning and check engine light is on again. Aamco trip number four (four days) now I'm being told nothing is wrong cause it's not messing up for them even after 5 of my friends have taken it for a ride and it messed up on all of them. I was just trying to get some input.

Also, they say the check engine light is a code for the cat. converter. Which now ** is saying they never touched it even he already told me they did. I will tell everyone I ever see, and working in two restaurants that's a lot, never, never, never go to Aamco if they don't fix this. 1,600 to now what could be over 4,000 and now 6 days of unpaid work. Regretfully for choosing.

Bad Mechanics Bad Business
By -

WEST PALM BEACH, FLORIDA -- I took my 99 Mazda 626 in for transmission repairs on 9/25/09 at which time the shop performed a total rebuild for $2000. Not even 2 months later, the car had problems at which time I took the car back and they again spent 2 days repairing the transmission because they had failed to replace a part that they were 'unsure' needed repair the first time. Luckily, they did not charge me. Now, less than 10 months later the car again has transmission problems. In fact, my nanny was left stranded on an open highway unable to drive more than 50 miles from home.

AAMCO of West Palm towed the car 50 miles to its location from Weston, FL only to tell me, “Oh we just looked into and you are out of warranty.” I had driven 13,770 miles since the transmission was originally done on the 25th, but less than 12,000 when they fixed it the second time. They called me to offer me 'another deal' of not charging me more than $1600 for the third repair in less than a year and they would go ahead and throw in an extended warranty for 18 months this time. Yeah right like I am going to give them another dime.

They have no idea what they are doing there and ** who has only been working there for the last week, says that he wasn't the one that did the repairs so I wasn't giving him very much room to argue. Unbelievable. Buyer beware at this joke of an establishment. They are piss-poor mechanics. Never take your car to a place even that has a national brand identity. AAMCO is a franchise so each guy is out there to make money as cheaply as possible. Take your car to a real mechanic and never trust anything they tell you!! 845!!

Two Transmissions, Two Pieces of Junk
By -

Transmission #1: Mini Van. We took it to AAMCO north of Atlanta and they said they would rebuild it back to "Factory Spec" for $1800. They did the work and when we got it back, at a stop sign or stop light it would shift out of gear and when we pressed the gas to take off it would slam into gear and take off. They said they had to replace a piece that was not replaced during a rebuild. That's code for "We don't rebuild the transmission, we replace the bad parts. If your transmission had 180,000 miles on it, most of the parts probably still have that many miles on them except for those ones that were keeping if from working when you took it in."

The transmission also whinnied so loud that we could hear it over the radio. Took it back to them and they said that it was probably the torque converter needing to be replaced, again. Get it back and they "adjusted" something inside and it was a little more quiet but we could still hear it from inside the van. (My brother made fun of us because we pulled up to a restaurant, where he was waiting for us on the sidewalk, and he said it sounded like we were strangling someone).

Transmission #2: work truck. The automatic transmission on my work truck would only work in 2nd gear. We took it to AAMCO in South Atlanta and they said they could put it back to "Factory Spec" (there's that phrase again) for about $1900. They did the work and when I got it back, guess what it was doing.. Yep, shifting out of gear at a stop and slamming back into gear when I went to take off. Took it back to them and they charged us to replace a part that wasn't covered in a rebuild (wasn't a bad part until I drove it a day). That transmission lasted a whole 20,000 miles (1 1/2 years).

I took it back to them to look at the transmission because when it shifted into overdrive it would whine loudly (only in overdrive). They told me that it was the rear end and they could fix it for $1300. I took it to another transmission shop and the OWNER of that shop went for a ride with me, and he diagnosed the problem as the transmission (I know, your shocked). I let him REBUILD the transmission and it works great. He replaced ALL the parts inside (gears, bearings and everything else) for less than AAMCO. He put another torque converter in because the one that AAMCO used was the cheapest thing around.

If you need work done, DON'T TAKE IT TO AAMCO, unless you have money to have it redone later. My suggestion is to go to a place where the owner's name is on the sign out front. I didn't put the shop's name in this review because I don't want you to think I'm trying to promote someone. Also, get a second opinion, it saved me about $1300+.

Very Poor Repair
By -

SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA -- Somewhat in their defense I had my transmission rebuilt at another shop several months prior (moved to new city). When I first called the shop on Arden I was told there was a policy about having to take it back to the original shop if it was less than 50 miles. I then found my original receipt and it did not say anything like that. I called the Arden shop back and was told to go ahead and bring it in. On October 29 I brought the car in. After they looked at it I was told that they were going to send the transmission back to Yuba City for them to work on and that it would be a couple days.

Things kept getting delayed until I finally picked up the car on Monday November 10th. I was informed that the delay was because that they consider the car an exotic and only one guy could put it back together and he was out. Nov 14th, 2008. Drove Subaru to work, approximately 2 blocks from work I felt the transmission slipping and then there was a popping type of sound and smoke started to come out the back of the car. I pulled over in an alley across from my work. The car was smoking and flames were seen underneath the transmission/engine area. I ran inside the office and grabbed a fire extinguisher to put out the flames.

Shortly after 8 am I called the AAMCO on Arden way and talked to Dave. I told him what happened and asked him what he was going to do about it. He informed me that he was not responsible that he only installed the transmission which was rebuilt at the AAMCO dealer in Yuba City. I informed him I did not think that was fair because he was the last one to deal with it. He then informed me he is an independent owner and not affiliated with other shops. He then told me I could call AAMCO Headquarters and talk to them.

I called AAMCO headquarters and was put through to an automated system and was instructed to leave a message about my complaint. I did so. I also sent them an e-mail. I then called the Yuba City AAMCO and told them what happened and they told me they were not responsible because they did not know if the Arden shop put it in correctly. ** informed me they have a policy which says the last shop to deal with it is responsible for 30 or 90 days (he was not sure which).

I then called the Arden shop back and asked what he was going to do again. He then asked me how I knew if it was the transmission. I informed him it seemed intuitively obvious if I just had the transmission put back in for the 2nd time and the transmission went out and then leaked transmission fluid on the exhaust that it was the transmission. He informed me that he could not know that and it could be anything. He then asked if it was leaking prior. I told him no it was not since I just picked it up 4 days ago.

He acted like it was a total coincidence of problems and not his fault in any way. I then said I wanted it fixed and could he have it towed back to his shop. He said he would call the Yuba City shop back and get back to me. I did not hear back from him.

At 3:30 I called the Yuba City shop and talked with **. ** said he had been talking to ** at the Arden shop and he thought they were going to have it towed back to the Arden shop. I told him I have not heard from them, he said he would call and call me back. He never called me back. Monday November 17, waited until 10:30 and then called HQ again, they said customer service was at lunch (which is funny because it is just a recording for customer service anyway). I sent another e-mail because it had been past 24 hours and I still had not heard back from customer service like it says on the recording.

At around 11:30 I called the Arden shop and spoke with **. He apologized and said he forgot and that he would send a tow truck over to get the car. Around 12:30 the tow truck showed up and took the car. At that time ** from HQ called and I went over stuff with her. Not much help, still no answers as to who was responsible. I called the Arden shop to request that all parts be saved. ** was not in so I left a message with **. Finally got the car back and was told one of the hoses had leaked transmission fluid on the exhaust. I was shown the hose with a cut in it.

Seemed funny how a perfect knife type cut got on the hose. He said he put new hoses in it for me. A few weeks later the car starts acting up and not shifting, the check light comes on. This time we took it to Subaru who informed me the wrong size hoses had been installed.

Not one step in the whole process did anyone of the two shops properly fix the problem. I was just offered excuse after excuse. I did learn that as soon as there is a problem they are not AAMCO but an independent shop. So my lesson is they are not good enough to operate as an independent shop but use the franchise name to get business. Never again with AAMCO. I just remembered the original estimate I was given over the phone went up once it was a part at the original shop.

Horrible Customer Service Lost My Business
By -

LEMON GROVE, CALIFORNIA -- The "Customer Service Manager" **, was rude and obnoxious when he learned that I would be declining their services and have my vehicle repaired elsewhere. First of all, it took two days to tell me it would be $800 for them to remove my transmission to know what's wrong. I was told it was an 8 hour job to take my transmission out and put it back in. It took another two days for them to remove my transmission, then I was given a quote for $3300. I returned to the shop the next day around 4:25 P.M. after shopping around and reviewing their BBB complaints. I informed him I just wanted my car, I would pay for the work they had done, $400.

I don't want anything else done & they did not have to put my transmission back in. I would have it towed. A tow truck had already been to get my vehicle and he didn't tell me they had come. After calling the tow truck a second time and asking him if it was O.K for the tow truck to arrive a little after 5, which he agreed and O.K.'d. Never once mentioned I would not be able to get my car that day. The tow truck arrived @ 4:40 and was waiting because my car was still up on the rack. I asked one of the mechanics if he could get my car ready and my transmission because I was taking my car, which he was not informed.

** finally decides to ask after the tow truck had been waiting a good ten minutes, and I had been standing around waiting on him to talk on the phone, punch on the computer and greet his personal guests, if I could come back tomorrow? I refused and told him no, that I wanted my car today and I've had to call a tow truck twice because of his lollygagging and I just want to pay what I owe and get my car! Well, he said it's not going to happen and that I had to come back tomorrow because they close @ 5 and my vehicle needed to be reassembled and it would take at least an hour and he wasn't going to pay his guy's overtime.

The police were called and he lied in my face and said we did not ask him about the tow truck which at that point made me very uncomfortable about leaving my car if he could lie dead in my face! I returned the next day to pick up vehicle & asked him where was my transmission so that I could take pictures of the parts. He told me it was outside in a box.

I asked what belonged to me and are they going to put it in my car he told me "No you can do that yourself!” And I told him, “This is **! I am paying you guys for taking my transmission out and you are gonna tell me that I have to carry all this and put it in the car myself. No I'm not and whenever you lose your attitude what I'm asking is not unreasonable especially for $400!”

The mechanic did it & the tow truck hooked the car up. Go to pay and he says they don't take checks, there is no sign stating this. I had to have the tow truck unhook my car so I could go to the bank and would have to recall once I returned with the cash! He intentionally had me waiting & I had to call a tow 4x before I got my vehicle.

The Worst Customer Service Experience of My Life
By -

WINSTON-SALEM, NORTH CAROLINA -- Last spring, I was having trouble with my vehicle skipping and jerking when it took off. I took it to the Aamco Transmissions shop on University Parkway in Winston-Salem, NC for to have a “free” diagnostic test done. Manager ** contacted me later that day and informed me that I had some “internal transmission problems.” He said he needed to do an internal diagnostic test to be sure what exactly these illusive problems entailed. The internal test cost nearly $500 and required the transmission to be removed from the car. In my naivety, I trusted the manager's words and agreed to have the work performed.

** advised me that he would help me negotiate the warranty for the car to have the work covered. This was a Friday afternoon. I asked if I could come and pick the car up and bring it back the following Monday, as the shop was closed on the weekends, but ** said he couldn't promise it would be covered by the warranty if driven off the lot, and strongly advised me not to move it. Around closing time that evening, we discovered that my car was not covered under warranty and I made the decision to have the internal diagnostic test done. I was told that work might begin as early as the next day.

Upon leaving the shop that evening, it took one phone call for me to encounter someone who had had a negative experience with the very same shop. I was cautioned not to trust the company, and to recover my car right away. I immediately called the shop--this was about 10 minutes after I had left. My call was forwarded to a voicemail (the manager and owner take turns answering calls after hours). I left a message rescinding my permission to repair the car and imploring the recipient, whom I later discovered was **, the owner of the establishment, to return the call. Subsequent phone calls yielded no response.

The next morning around 8:00 a.m., I traveled to the shop in hopes of encountering a mechanic who could release my vehicle. When I found no one on the premises, I again called the shop number, this time getting ** in the flesh. ** apologized profusely, saying that ** was out of town and he was not sure he would be able to get in touch with him. While ** told me he “wished he could help” me, his hands were tied, he said. There was nothing he could do. He promised to keep calling ** and leaving voice messages. I wrote two notes to the mechanics at the shop and posted them on the front and bay doors, as advised by ** (when pressed).

I returned to the shop later that afternoon and observed that my car had been moved on the risers; my notes had obviously been ignored. That Monday morning, I called the shop only to learn that my transmission had been removed, despite my pleas to suspend its service. I was told by ** that no one had seen my notes. Desperate to recover my car and avoid incurring any further costs, I agreed to pay the exorbitant amount of $400 in labor fees that ** said he could not avoid charging me. No internal diagnostic test had been performed, I was told, and so in essence, I paid $400 for the right to take my car back.

Feeling unsettled by the way the whole situation occurred and by the way that ** virtually begged me to leave the car in his care, I drove straight to a mechanic that I trusted to have it checked out. Within minutes, my mechanic discovered that the shifter cable on my transmission had been snapped and was replaced with plastic zip ties. Furious, I returned to the shop to confront ** who was unmoved by my anger and seemed largely unsurprised by my findings. He goaded me and told me to “sue him” if I saw fit. He said that he would fix the part, but I no longer trusted his word or the work of his mechanics.

After much investigation, I tracked ** down and discovered that he was the owner of the shop. ** never apologized for what happened to me and offered little assistance or concern, saying only that he would “talk to” **. I later called the corporate office, only to find them equally unhelpful. Weeks of phone calls to every conceivable person led only to the conclusion I had reached on my own: my only option was to allow the shop to replace the part.

The part has been on back order since February and I am still awaiting my repair. I later learned that my all my transmission needed was a $12 gasket, which my non-mechanic boyfriend discovered by simply crawling underneath the car and looking. This is the worst customer service experience I have ever had, by far. I am not a wealthy woman, and this experience has been the source of great emotional strain and angst for me. I have lost my faith in businesses and still get a sick feeling in my stomach every time I pass the shop. It is my hope that sharing my story will spare some other trusting soul the unrest I still endure.

Top of Page | Next Page >