Preview Review

Next Review

AAMCO Transmissions, Inc. Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Warranty Repair
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CENTERPOINT, ALABAMA -- My vehicle was towed to AAMCO February 24th, 2014. The transmission had been rebuilt by AAMCO In January 2013. The car stopped pulling, it is still under warranty until March 11 2014. The car Sat there for 2 weeks. Finally someone called to say they have lost the keys to the car. I would need to deliver them a new set of keys. Thankfully I had a set of spare keys to the car so I dropped them off the next day. One day passed I did not hear anything. The next day the same person ** called and advised me the mileage on the paperwork for the warranty (that they filled out) had incorrect mileage on it and that I had apparently rolled the miles back on the car.

I called corporate to try to locate the owner of the AAMCO. Corporate was quick to respond I will say they provided the Owner's information. I spoke with the owner and was advised he would meet with shop manager the following day. At 3:00 the following day the owner called and advised me that I had rolled the miles back on the car, and in fact the transmission in the car is not the transmission they put in the car. He also went on to say he wanted the car off his lot by Monday.

I have never experienced any business that operates in this manner. The transmission is under warranty and the owner is apparently willing to say anything to avoid making this good. I would advise anyone needing transmission work not to use AAMCO EVER...

Replies
Advertisement
Dismantled My Engine, Took It Apart and Would Not Put It Back Together
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHMOND, CALIFORNIA -- Aamco #21150 (John R. Copenhaven 12158 san pablo, ave richmond, ca. 94805 510-2351865). I took my 2001 pt cruiser in to have the water pump changed. They pulled the motor to change the pump and timing belt, that took about three weeks for them to do to me. It look like another engine when I took car home the oil was very black so I changed the oil. In the past when I changed the oil and changed the oil filter it took five and a half qts to fill to max, this time it took seven qts. I called owner about this, he said that was OK, then my car engine started to make knocking sound. I was told to bring car in, owner of aamco took it for a test drive.

The car stop running so he had it tow back to shop. I was told that they would get to it in a day or two. They call me to tell me that two of my four cylinders were not working. I told them to put it back together and I would come and get it. They would not. I was told that they would chain it up so I could have it towed. They put parts in the back seat and a head that do not go with the engine. I paid these people $1500.00 and I have nothing, no engine in my car, parts everywhere. I would like someone from your company to come to my home to look at what these people sent me home with my name is **. I hope to hear from you. Thank you very much.

Replies
Just Flat Wrong - Free Diagnostic
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NAMPA, IDAHO -- I took 3 cars in for a check engine light on. We knew what the code was on each. The first one was to be done in 2 hours so we left the truck at 12:30pm. At the end of the day they wanted to keep it over night they said they wanted to test in the cold weather. We later found out they did not get to it at all. MAF was all it was and needed to be cleaned. They told us it was the intake gasket, sensors and PVC. It was to cost us over 1400.00. The second car we took in we knew it was the gas cap. They told us 4 hour later it was the intake gasket once again and would cost us 1300.00. The 3rd car was the same. Intake gasket, 1300.00.

I will tell you if I had a business that performed this way to customers they would be fired. I see you have many complaints with BBB and others. I will never go back and I will let everyone I know what happened. I will call the radio station and let them know what they are telling their audience to do is wrong. This is like taking a baby for care in a doctors hands and finding out they are not qualified to do so and charge you much more than they did. I have reported this to the BBB, state attorney and the Sec of state. It is sad times when a business tries to rip you off.

Replies
Do Not Trust What They Tell You
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPRINGDALE, ARKANSAS -- I had a problem with my Lincoln, the transmission at times would shift erratically. The transmission would do this occasionally. I took it to Aamco because they were a national company and I assumed they were trustworthy and did good work, boy was I surprised. The guy drove my car into the shop, popped the hood, pulled the transmission dipstick, looked at it, and put it back. He then started the car worked the shift lever up and down, he turned the car off and shut the hood. He then went off to another part of the shop, after about 10 minutes he came back backed the car out and parked it.

Another man came into the waiting area and told me my transmission " was fried." I asked him what had they found. He said they put it on the computer analyzer and it needed to be replaced because it was fried. I asked what that cost and he said 2,000.00. He didn't look up anything in the computer or check any kind of resource, he just said 2,000.00. I told him I didn't believe the transmission was bad and asked for some kind of printout or something from his analyzer which he didn't have. He had nothing to back up his claim. Being that a analyzer was never hooked up to my car, a report from the analyzer didn't exist.

Liars and cons are all these people are. I am going to make sure I inform everyone I know about this place. The thing is I went to another local owned transmission shop and was told a solenoid was bad. They replaced the solenoid and my car runs like brand new. This repair cost less than $100.00. So there you go.

Replies
Advertisement
Liars, Scam Artist, Ripoffs, False Advertisement
By -

I am very disappointed in the service that this "so called business" provided or did not provide in that matter. On July 2, 2011 which was a Saturday I called this location to see if I can get an estimate or idea to see roughly how much a repair to a transmission would run. I spoke to **. He stated that he could not provide a price over the phone and that he would like for me to come in and bring the vehicle so he can see what the issue with the transmission is. We brought the car in on Tuesday July 6th at 8am like he asked. ** said that he would not charge us to look at the vehicle and he would give us a price the next business day.

The next business day we called and ** said he was would get back to us but he did not. We made several phone calls and got the runaround. On Friday when we called back we spoke to ** who claims to be the manager of the establishment. He stated that they didn't even look at the car because they were very backed up and the car wasn't even looked at. I was upset and ** assured us that the car would be done on Monday. On Monday we called and ** specifically said that the cost to do the work is no more than $2,500.00 and that they would call us when the car is completed to pick up.

A week passed by and we called on Monday July 18th to see the status of the vehicle then to find out that the car hasn't even been touch. At this point very frustrated I wanted to pick up the vehicle. ** apologized and said he would call us back with some news. ** called back and said the cost of the vehicle is $3,800.00. At this point I'm irate. Arguing back and forth with ** he asked ** what was the price. He told me and he stated that he indeed say $2,500.00. ** tried arguing the fact that he didn't know why ** said that the price that price is incorrect (by the way ** is supposedly the owner).

At this point I didn't want to do the car. I said "I will be there to pick it up." We got a song and a dance about we still have to pay $750.00 because they spent 12 Hours of labor. No work was done to the transmission and ** said it was FREE to look at the car. ** called several times today 7/20/2011 harassing me and pleading for us to do the car with them and that it's not smart to go anywhere else etc etc. He literally called 5 times to try to convince me to do the car.

When I put my foot down and refused he said and I quote: "Well, come pick up this damn car and you're not getting it without paying my $750.00” and hung up. I decided to write this so no one else goes through this again. I see many complaints about Aamco on various different sites and they need to be shut down. I will be taking them to court. I do appreciate the time you took to read this.

Replies
The Worst Customer Service Experience of My Life
By -

WINSTON-SALEM, NORTH CAROLINA -- Last spring, I was having trouble with my vehicle skipping and jerking when it took off. I took it to the Aamco Transmissions shop on University Parkway in Winston-Salem, NC for to have a “free” diagnostic test done. Manager ** contacted me later that day and informed me that I had some “internal transmission problems.” He said he needed to do an internal diagnostic test to be sure what exactly these illusive problems entailed. The internal test cost nearly $500 and required the transmission to be removed from the car. In my naivety, I trusted the manager's words and agreed to have the work performed.

** advised me that he would help me negotiate the warranty for the car to have the work covered. This was a Friday afternoon. I asked if I could come and pick the car up and bring it back the following Monday, as the shop was closed on the weekends, but ** said he couldn't promise it would be covered by the warranty if driven off the lot, and strongly advised me not to move it. Around closing time that evening, we discovered that my car was not covered under warranty and I made the decision to have the internal diagnostic test done. I was told that work might begin as early as the next day.

Upon leaving the shop that evening, it took one phone call for me to encounter someone who had had a negative experience with the very same shop. I was cautioned not to trust the company, and to recover my car right away. I immediately called the shop--this was about 10 minutes after I had left. My call was forwarded to a voicemail (the manager and owner take turns answering calls after hours). I left a message rescinding my permission to repair the car and imploring the recipient, whom I later discovered was **, the owner of the establishment, to return the call. Subsequent phone calls yielded no response.

The next morning around 8:00 a.m., I traveled to the shop in hopes of encountering a mechanic who could release my vehicle. When I found no one on the premises, I again called the shop number, this time getting ** in the flesh. ** apologized profusely, saying that ** was out of town and he was not sure he would be able to get in touch with him. While ** told me he “wished he could help” me, his hands were tied, he said. There was nothing he could do. He promised to keep calling ** and leaving voice messages. I wrote two notes to the mechanics at the shop and posted them on the front and bay doors, as advised by ** (when pressed).

I returned to the shop later that afternoon and observed that my car had been moved on the risers; my notes had obviously been ignored. That Monday morning, I called the shop only to learn that my transmission had been removed, despite my pleas to suspend its service. I was told by ** that no one had seen my notes. Desperate to recover my car and avoid incurring any further costs, I agreed to pay the exorbitant amount of $400 in labor fees that ** said he could not avoid charging me. No internal diagnostic test had been performed, I was told, and so in essence, I paid $400 for the right to take my car back.

Feeling unsettled by the way the whole situation occurred and by the way that ** virtually begged me to leave the car in his care, I drove straight to a mechanic that I trusted to have it checked out. Within minutes, my mechanic discovered that the shifter cable on my transmission had been snapped and was replaced with plastic zip ties. Furious, I returned to the shop to confront ** who was unmoved by my anger and seemed largely unsurprised by my findings. He goaded me and told me to “sue him” if I saw fit. He said that he would fix the part, but I no longer trusted his word or the work of his mechanics.

After much investigation, I tracked ** down and discovered that he was the owner of the shop. ** never apologized for what happened to me and offered little assistance or concern, saying only that he would “talk to” **. I later called the corporate office, only to find them equally unhelpful. Weeks of phone calls to every conceivable person led only to the conclusion I had reached on my own: my only option was to allow the shop to replace the part.

The part has been on back order since February and I am still awaiting my repair. I later learned that my all my transmission needed was a $12 gasket, which my non-mechanic boyfriend discovered by simply crawling underneath the car and looking. This is the worst customer service experience I have ever had, by far. I am not a wealthy woman, and this experience has been the source of great emotional strain and angst for me. I have lost my faith in businesses and still get a sick feeling in my stomach every time I pass the shop. It is my hope that sharing my story will spare some other trusting soul the unrest I still endure.

Replies
Soldier Down
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

OLMYPIA, WASHINGTON -- On AUG 7 2012, I took my Ford F150 super crew triton 5.4 4x4 truck into Aamco for a transmission diagnosis, because I believed the trans was slipping. Any work needed for trans repairs would be covered under warranty. I was relieved to discover there was nothing wrong with my transmission or engine. The manager ** informed me that the real problem was I needed a tune up, their diagnosis of my power train came back positive, no problems at all. He informed me the issue was a needed tune up, and the cost for a full tune up. I immediately replied that I was unable to produce the funds needed, because of my recent family problems, debt and current situation.

I was under the impression my insurance would cover any damage that my trans was in. Tune up was the last thing on my mind. After informing ** that I was broke at the moment and that after a few months I would return with my truck and tune up money. He warned me about using shade tree part time mechanics, by telling me the risk of rookies pulling spark plugs and breaking them off into the engine. He told me that Aamco would give me a tune up and allow pay period, payments of anywhere between 20 to 30 bucks every 1st and 15th until paid in full. I accepted after he convinced me it was a great deal, the price quoted was very low compared to competitors.

While the mechanic was abstracting the spark plugs he broke one off. This was a major problem cause they were unable to remove the broken spark plug for three days. At first they were holding me responsible for something the Ford manufacturer made by attempting to charge me to pull my heads in order to abstract the broken plug. I was told that the cost was around $1000 or more for repairs. They said that they might have to pull my engine out to get the plugs out. After speaking to the manager a couple of times, who was very respectful and understanding, I was turned over to the owner who also was very understanding and respectful.

They decided that, base on the fact I was not properly informed of the risk involved, the fact that I am an active duty Soldier and due to my financial status, they would do the job completely free of charge. I must admit I was feeling really down about my recent run of bad luck. Aamco of Olympia, has shown with actions that they really do support the troops by taking care of my repairs. They even called me yesterday and said they wanted to keep my truck over the weekend for an additional two days to thoroughly go over my truck. The manager said he wanted to take extra precautions with preventive cleaning of the spark plug holes.

I am supposed to get my vehicle back in tip top shape on Monday Augusta 13, 2012 around 10:30 in the morning free of charge, according to the manager **. I will return with an update after receiving my beautiful black F150. My leaders are aware of my current situation, and are paying for a full inspection on my vehicle upon return to be sure all is well. My update will be following those results. I know this sounds too good to be true. If all goes as promised by Aamco in Olympia, this business will definitely be the best auto car care center I have ever dealt with. Thank you Aamco.

Replies
Fort Walton Beach Aamco Scam!
By -

FORT WALTON BEACH, FLORIDA -- Beware of the Aamco transmission shop in FWB! This place is a full-fledged scam that will make up repairs that your vehicle is in need of and then make excuses for why the original problem still exists all the while still expecting payment for the unnecessary fix. We brought in our Expedition for rear end clunking, our warranty company told us that Aamco will accept the warranty company's payment amount. So we think great no out of pocket costs... think again. Aamco said that the rear end needed to be rebuilt and received approval from our warranty company for the work ($1200).

The work done and Aamco paid in full, the rear end still clunks and now it whines like crazy too. We bring it back in again for another diagnostic and they say nothing is wrong w/ the truck and that we need to bring it back in at 5K miles to have rear end fluid changed and the whining will go away... but it still clunks? They now say that this is "normal" transmission double down shifting and does not require repair. Now we are confused because you rebuilt the rear end, which was supposed to be the clunking issue fix and now that isn't a problem at all?

So why did the rear end get rebuilt? No answer... so fast forward to 5K miles later and we bring in the truck for our appointment for the oil to be changed and wait for a full 2 hours after our appointment for the truck to even be taken back for service. We meet w/ the service guy after the oil change and he says it is still whining. We ask why, he says he doesn't know, but it should get better. He goes on to tell us that maybe the rear end has additional issues and that is why it is whining. We tell him that it did not whine before they touched it only clunked, now it is whining and clunking.

At this point he says that he noticed uneven wear on our rear tires, this is the most astounding thing about this situation because our tires are brand new with a total of 30 miles on them (yes 30 miles). We tell him that the tires are brand new and cannot possibly show uneven wear after only 30 miles to which he has no reply and simply stumbles over his words. At this point we realize that he is simply trying to get us to once again have an unnecessary repair done at their shop! Once he recovers a little bit from the tires he hits us w/ the total bill for the oil change is $137!

I was dumbfounded. We were under the impression that this needed to be done and was a part of the original rebuild costs. He informs us that no it is not and says that he can do away with the labor costs and that we will only be required to pay $67 for the oil. We have been waiting for several days for the shop manager to return our calls about getting the oil charge refunded to us. The service guy said that it would likely be refunded and yet no one calls us. Please avoid this shop at all costs or you will probably be in for a nightmare of paying for something that isn't necessary.

Replies
Advertisement
A Total Ripoff
By -

NEW BRUNSWICK, NEW JERSEY -- IS IT POSSIBLE TO GIVE A MINUS 4 STAR REVIEW? My check engine light was on, so I decided to take advantage of Aamco's advertised "free" check engine diagnostic. I took my car to the Aamco on Rte. 27 in New Brunswick, NJ. After the experience that I had, I can only say that if my car broke down directly in front of that Aamco, I would immediately have it towed to almost any other mechanic. I received a call telling me that there were 2 codes, and the only way they could determine what was wrong was to do a deeper diagnostic.

They told me that driving the car would result in additional damage to the engine, so I allowed them to find out what was wrong. Meanwhile, I rented a car to get to and from work. A few days later, they told me that they had had to pull the heads to diagnose the problem and that I needed a new engine. They gave me an estimate of $6,500.00 to replace mine. I told them to put the car back together so that I could pick it up. My car is a 2002 Toyota Celica with approximately 160,000 miles on it. The Kelley Blue Book trade in value is $ 4,100.00. Clearly it make no sense to install a new engine!!

I called several times trying to get my car, and a printout of the diagnostic. I asked to speak to the mgr, and was put on hold and then cut off. I called back and was told that the mgr was on another phone and he would call me back. I waited more than 1/2 hour and called again, and was told that the reason it was taking so long was that they were trying to find a more affordable repair alternative. I asked, "Did I ask you to find an alternative repair?" The person who had answered the phone said, "Well if you're going to be nasty..." and hung up on me.

It took a call to Aamco corporate headquarters to get a call back, and the Customer relations person there assured me that the dealer had promised to give me an itemized bill and the diagnostic. My daughter-in-law picked the car up for me and was presented with a bill @ $518.00. She was told that to determine exactly what was wrong, they would have had to take the engine apart. (Isn't that what they said they had done?). What purported to be a detailed diagnostic said: Best guess is a cracked piston; and the itemized bill just said: Labor..$518.00.

I have since checked with two other mechanics. They both immediately said that: 1) There is no need to take the heads off to diagnose the problem, and that they would NEVER take the heads off of an engine of that age and mileage to diagnose a problem because it would be almost impossible to put it back together without actually repairing it. and, 2) The normal cost of a "check engine light" diagnostic is at most $79.00.

My regular mechanic now has the car. He says it DOES NOT appear that Aamco took the heads off. They most likely just did the "check engine light" diagnostic which is supposed to be FREE! New Brunswick Aamco charged me $518.00 for absolutely nothing! If you value your check book and your car, STAY AWAY FROM AAMCO!!

Replies
Charged for Repair That Wasn't Needed
By -

ORLANDO,, FLORIDA -- My name is ** from Orlando, Florida and I need help. I took my car to AAMCO Transmission on 5527 W. Colonial Dr. Orlando, FL. 32808 on 02/18/11 for jerking problems when I put my car in drive and reverse. ** the representative for this location called me back on the 18th and told me it was my transmission and it needed to be rebuilt. I specially asked ** will this fix the jerking problem and he said yes. So I told him to go ahead and fix the problem and ** told me the total out the door would be $2,193.08 (not knowing that he works on commission).

I then picked up my car on the 02/23/11 and was told by ** that the car would do a little jerking, for most of the soft and hard parts were replaced. He also told me to bring it back in 10 to 15 days to get it rechecked. On Friday just two days later my car started the same exact jerking that it was doing when I first took it in. I immediately called ** and he said to bring it in. I took my car in on 03/01/11 and a few hours later I called ** for him to tell me it's not my transmission and that it is natural for it to jerk or that it could my engine at this point but he wasn't sure.

I explain to ** that my car is not supposed to jerk and that if it was not my transmission then did you so call rebuild it? And if was my engine why didn't you fix my engine. I took my car to them for jerking problems and not transmission problems. ** then got irate with me and told me that my transmission was going bad anyway and that I would need one rebuilt and or replaced soon. ** stated that my transmission was slipping and when they drove it was slipping in third gear. How would they know that as to my car shifts into third gear at about 80 miles! Did they ride my car down Colonial drive going 80?

So I went to get my car that evening of the 1st and I showed ** and the mechanic the jerking and ** then tells me "Oh that is a problem and we will fix it." So ** said for me to bring my car back on 03/02/11 and they would fix it. I took my car back on 03/02/11 @ about 9:15 am. So from that point I called corporate and spoke with ** the consumer support manager on 03/02/11 and explain to him what was going on and he stated that he would call them and call me back.

** did call me right back at about 10:15 am and told me that they were working on my car and would find and fix the problem. From that point I didn't hear from the shop so I called at 12:30 pm and ** told me that they were still trying to find the problem and that he would call me back. I explain to ** that I didn't have any other source of transportation and what was I supposed to do. ** told me to let them find the problem and that he would call me back.

As of 4:00 pm I didn't hear from them so I called ** back and he ask had I heard from them and I told him know I haven't and I told ** again what was I supposed to do without a car and out of $2,193.08 dollars. ** told me that he didn't know. ** said that he would call them and call me back. I have disputed the charge, put in a claim with BBB. What else can I do? Can you please help me?

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

AAMCO Transmissions, Inc. Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 34 ratings and
81 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
AAMCO Transmissions, Inc.
One Presidential Boulevard
Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004-1034
1-800-292-8500 (ph)
610-668-1308 (fax)
awright@AAMCO.com
Compare Auto Repair Shops