Preview Review

Next Review

Abercrombie & Fitch Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Overpowering and Offensive Smell Made Us Ill
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

THE WOODLANDS, TEXAS -- Let me preface this by saying I almost never complain and something has to be truly offensive in nature for me to want to speak out. I shopped this week with my eight year old son at the Abercrombie and Fitch store in The Woodlands Mall located in The Woodlands, TX. I am writing this because the cologne smell in the store was so horrifically overpowering and sickening that I was worried I would have an asthma attack on the spot.

When I walked into the store, there was a young lady at the door, and when I told her that I thought the odor was offensive, she went to get her spray bottle and started to spray more cologne on the clothing all around me. Had I not had to buy a gift, I would have exited the store immediately, and when I finally completed my transaction and did exit, both mine and my son's eyes were burning. My son's nose was also red.

I placed the bag in my backseat and actually had to pull over on the drive home at a gas station to use my inhaler and also to place the bag in the trunk. Why do they do this? What in the world is this outrageous store policy. The employees can come down with cancers later in life from strong smells. Also, not everyone likes this scent... My nephew, who was the recipient of the gifts I bought that day had to wash the clothing twice before he could wear them.

I don't understand this policy. Maybe if others who feel the same would share their experiences, someone in corporate will listen. Needless to say, I will never step foot in that store again, and I may possibly never again buy the brand as well.

Replies
Advertisement
Cancellation of Abercrombie Ruehl Hollister Online Orders
By -

I have been a customer of A&F Co. since I used to live in the United States back in 1993. Moving back to Europe in 1998, I kept indulging myself to your casual luxury. Gradually, my interest expanded to all the brands of your company, including the infamous Ruehl. Being extremely upset, especially after learning many people share my feelings via forums and internet blogs, I quote the following excerpt: [Ruehl Initiated Order Cancellation: Although it is rare that it would be necessary for Ruehl to cancel an order...].

Concerning the above, I would like to inform you that Ruehl is highly motivated when it comes to cancelling orders of unsuspected clients. Mass order cancellations have occurred the past few months without the slightest notification. Not to mention that Ruehl_Orderservice@Ruehl.com never replied to my related enquiry. Regarding the use of credit card, since all my orders have been unreasonably cancelled by your company, I was infuriated to find out that "authorization holds" remained in my account for 15 days for each order, whereas you define 3 to five business days!!

Since I work in the bank sector, I know what that means... Ruehl policies concerning fraud are well respected. However, it seems that Ruehl manipulates those policies in an attempt to size down the online orders and considers that all customers are suspects or potential criminals.

22nd century management and marketing rules don't comply with that. If the company wishes to restrict the shipping policies, maybe you should consider excluding overseas orders once and for all. Otherwise, reinventing your company as "Rude" might give you the competitive "edge" in a market that values concept. Be sure that your current "marketing" concept and customer treatment are forming a negative public image.

Replies
Racism
By -

Abercrombie, a brand loved by all teens, old and young, is racist. There are many better clothing stores than Abercrombie, with better style. In 2002, Abercrombie & Fitch sold a shirt that featured the slogan "Wong Brothers Laundry Service - Two Wongs Can Make It White" with smiling figures in conical straw hats, a depiction of early Chinese immigrants.

The company discontinued the designs and apologized after a boycott started by an Asian American student group at Stanford University. That same year, Abercrombie Kids removed a line of thong underwear sold for girls in pre-teen children's sizes after parents mounted nationwide storefront protests. The underwear included phrases like "Eye Candy" and "Wink Wink" printed on the front.

More t-shirt controversies occurred twice in 2004. The first incident involved a shirt featuring the phrase, "It's All Relative in West Virginia", a jab at alleged incest relations in rural America. West Virginia governor Bob Wise spoke out against the company for depicting "an unfounded, negative stereotype of West Virginia", but the shirts were not removed. Later, another t-shirt that said "L is for Loser" next to a picture of a male gymnast on the rings gathered publicity. The company stopped selling the shirt in October 2004 after USA Gymnastics president Bob Colarossi announced a boycott of Abercrombie & Fitch for mocking the sport.

In 2005, the Women and Girls Foundation of Southwest Pennsylvania launched a "girlcott" of the store for selling T-shirts that read, "Who needs brains when you have these?", "Available for parties", and "I had a nightmare I was a brunette." The campaign received national coverage on The Today Show, and the company pulled the shirts from stores on November 5, 2005.

Bob Jones University and its affiliated pre-collegiate schools along with other Christian schools have prohibited Abercrombie & Fitch clothing from being "worn, carried, or displayed" on its campuses because of "an unusual degree of antagonism to the name of Christ and an unusual display of wickedness" in the company's promotions. After Abercrombie & Fitch raised its price points in 2004, its products have been described as overpriced.

After the company opened its flagship in London, the brand was criticized in the UK because the merchandise that was offered to the customers cost double (or even a direct $/£ swap) the prices found in the United States. Who wants to wear Abercrombie when you can wear things that do not promote sex, violence, or racism!?

Replies
Bad Customer Service
By -

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- I placed an order w/ Abercrombie and Fitch (A&F) through their website back in Jan 2009. Price of one of the items I purchased was reduced before I received the shipment. Since there is no written store/online policy indicating that price adjustment cannot be made for on sale items, I contacted A&F for a price adjustment. A&F replied that...

"We are happy to process a price adjustment if your item (the same color and size) has been reduced within 14 days of the original purchase date. We only offer a price adjustment for merchandise purchased at the original price (items originally purchased from the Clearance section are not eligible for price adjustments). Unfortunately, since your Alexandra was not purchased at its original full price, we would be unable to offer an adjustment."

My request to A&F for a price adjustment was unsuccessful so I contacted American Express, my credit card company for advice. American Express advised that they will investigate the incident. If A&F is unable to provide a store policy for declining price adjustment on sale items then American Express will deduct the adjustment from our payment to A&F. After investigation, American Express decided that our claim was legitimate and gave us $20 credits for the price adjustment.

Since this incident, I have attempted to place 6 other orders online with A&F between Jan-Jun 2009, and they declined every single order I placed. I inquired A&F via email to find out why my orders have been canceled. A&F replied on 06/12/09... "Our records indicate that you have disputed a charge with us in the past. We reserve the right to decline further transactions related to the disputed charge."

Yet before I received A&F's reply on 06/12/09, I successfully made a purchase at their Valley Fair, San Jose store on 06/11/09 using my American Express card, the card that I have been using to place my online orders in the past 6 months and got declined by their on line operation.

I believed A&F has an unfair business practice at their online operation that is not in accordance to their store policy. The Company does not put their price adjustment policy in writing on their website. The Company failed to address to their client's legitimate request of price adjustment. The Company failed to provide proof of company price adjustment policy to credit card company but decline client's orders as a result of credit card company's decision.

Replies
Advertisement
Pretty But Clueless Employees
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RIVERCHASE GALLERIA, ALABAMA -- The first was an exchange on the same exact jeans except for size. I'm thinking no problem, even exchange, just need 1 size up. Wrong!!! I bought the jeans on sale so the girl said I would have to PAY the difference of sale price and regular price!!!! I tried telling her no, it's an even exchange, but she didn't listen. I returned them and left the store without the jeans.

Well I decided to read the return & exchange policy and sure enough I was right. I had to explain the policy to the employee. She had it backwards, if I had paid full price and they went on sale, depending on length of time determined & receipt becomes a factor in the difference. After much explaining I was finally able to make the even exchange.

Now that was in the boys dept. I also had to make an exchange in the men's. The girl helped pick out more jean for my older son - different jeans, different price so not a problem. Unfortunately they still didn't fit right so my son was just going to return them. It had been a few weeks but within the 60 days and he had the receipt. Well they told him it was credit and said they had to have the credit card so he drove back home and got my credit card. He returned only for them to say it wasn't on that card.

Well the only other card I had was my debit card and after researching had long since cleared. The employee should have given cash back (which they refused to do) - debit card is same as cash. Needless to say I will have to go back for the 4th time to get credit. I read how they hire pretty people but geez could they have brains too, or maybe turn the music down just a tad so you're not having to Shout over it. Fed up!!!

Replies
Company Accused Customers Of Fraud!
By -

A&F has accused me of FRAUD, saying that I am selling their items online. I have never and would never want to sell clothes online, but they seem to think I do. I lost 45 pounds this year (2011) and it was nice to get into some nice clothes. NOW, I would not buy a button from them. I purchased over $2000 in clothes and because it was over a 3 month period, they assumed I was selling the items online.

I have never been so insulted in my life. I had to buy all new clothes. They were not the only ones getting my money (which they never will again). I was purchasing several good deals online over those months with a few different online stores. I cannot believe that this can happen. However, this has not ended; I am pursuing this issue and filing as many complaints online that I can about my situation as well as having a few clients investigating the company's policies and hiring standards for both domestic and international production.

What has happened to our world, that you are guilty before you even had a chance to explain your situation? OH and try to explain or EVEN FIND someone to explain what has happened to you. EVERY SINGLE PERSON I talked to on the phone or online, could not help me and seemed to not even want to. This has to be one of the WORST companies I have ever come across and to think they have been around for so many years, it's sad.

Also, if you want to purchase these clothes, I found out a lot about where they come from, which I did not know when I bought them, or I would not have done so. They come from just about every corner of the world BUT the United States of America, so think about that when you purchase your next muscle shirt or $180 pair of jeans.

This will only be the beginning of you what will hear in the next year about this company because I have made it my yearly goal to expose this company and its horrible service, products and the lack of contribution to the USA. This company is on the top 10 list of contributors to sweatshops throughout the world. This I know is a very long entry, but I feel it's all necessary to make my point. Thank you.

Replies
Abercrombie & Fitch Accuses Customers Of Fraud Daily
By -

A&F has accused me of FRAUD, saying that I am selling their items online. I have never and would never want to sell clothes online, but they seem to think I do. I lost 45 pounds this year (2011) and it was nice to get into some nice clothes. NOW, I would not buy a button from them. I purchased over $2000 in clothes and because it was over a 3 month period, they assumed I was selling the items online.

I have never been so insulted in my life. I had to buy all new clothes. They were not the only ones getting my money (which they never will again). I was purchasing several good deals online over those months with a few different online stores. I cannot believe that this can happen. However, this has not ended; I am pursuing this issue and filing as many complaints online that I can about my situation as well as having a few clients investigating the company's policies and hiring standards for both domestic and international production.

What has happened to our world, that you are guilty before you even had a chance to explain your situation? OH and try to explain or EVEN FIND someone to explain what has happened to you. EVERY SINGLE PERSON I talked to on the phone or online, could not help me and seemed to not even want to. This has to be one of the WORST companies I have ever come across and to think they have been around for so many years, it's sad.

Also, if you want to purchase these clothes, I found out a lot about where they come from, which I did not know when I bought them, or I would not have done so. They come from just about every corner of the world BUT the United States of America, so think about that when you purchase your next muscle shirt or $180 pair of jeans. This will only be the beginning of you what will hear in the next year about this company because I have made it my yearly goal to expose this company and its horrible service, products and the lack of contribution to the USA.

This company is on the top 10 list of contributors to sweatshops throughout the world. Not only that, recently my partner and I ran a test on them to see who they would randomly exclude from purchasing from their online store. They canceled his order just because we are at the same address. He had only purchased once prior to this and they canceled his order without notice, just as they did me. This I know is a very long entry, but I feel it's all necessary to make my point. Thank you.

Replies
Customer Service - Lack thereof
By -

It seems that their customer service is just a superficial as their models... I had placed 2 orders from your online store: #** totaling $289.76, #** totaling $77.07. On Sunday evening (March 20th at approx. 6pm). On Tuesday morning (March 22nd) I received 2 email blasts for 25% discount on my purchases. I called your customer service at 11am to see if I would be able to adjust my current orders to reflect the discount.

The gentlemen who took my call was not very helpful, rude and was not able to help me understand how I would be able to go about applying this discount or even suggesting that I cancel my orders and reorder them. I then proceed to replace my orders so that I could get my discount which I was able to do with success.

When I called your customer service to cancel my previous orders the first person that I spoke to was a lady who informed me that the items had not yet shipped and were being packed and there was nothing that could be done. When asked as to why if an item that has yet to be shipped why can it not be cancelled? Her response was "That is just the way it is!" I found this not very helpful and I found her to be extremely rude and when I asked her to not speak me in such a rude demeaning tone she got more offensive and then hung up on me.

I called back a 3rd time and spoke a gentlemen who was more polite and again gave the same answer - that an order that has yet to be shipped still cannot be cancelled. When asked to speak to a supervisor I was informed that Supervisors do not take calls no matter the situation. It was suggested that I could return my items to the store for a refund minus the shipping and handling charges.

Needless to say I am very frustrated with the lack of customer service that I have received from your company and I would like a full refund including the shipping and handling charges. Just before I wrote this email, I noticed that Abercrombie & Fitch in the last 36 months has had over 380 complaints through the Better Business Bureau and is listed at 259th out of 383 companies for customer service. I would like to have this resolved quickly and efficiently.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Customer Service
By -

CHEEKTOWAGA, NEW YORK -- I went to Abercrombie tonight to return my sons blue, 2 week old coat that had a broken zipper. I have the receipt. I left with nothing, not even my sons broken coat. They kept it... Yes, they did. They gave us a new blue one in exchange for the broken one and my son decided he wanted red instead. We put the new blue coat on the shelf and took a red one, after getting a employees OK to swap them.

On our way out of the store they wanted to know what we did with the blue one they gave us and we told them we put it back on the shelf... Needless to say they didn't believe us (after we spent another $380 there) and said they couldn't let us take the red one until we proved that the blue exchange coat was still in the store. They questioned me about my other son who had on a navy blue coat (got a receipt for that one too) and more or less said we were leaving with NO coat.

I not only spent $380 in there tonight but I lost $167 for a coat that I PAID for 2 weeks ago that broke (keep in mind with receipt in hand). I called the police. Yes I did, and the police said it was a civil matter. Tomorrow its on to corporate and if I get nowhere... I will be seeing them in court when I file a lawsuit. I have never been treated like a thief and a liar, especially after spending so much money in a store. AND then for them to imply my other son may have a coat that belongs to them on?

They are ridiculous...and to make matters worse, I had to go and buy my son a coat or he wouldn't have had one to wear to school tomorrow. Can you believe that? The police actually watched videos with them and said they don't want to press charges. They would just like me to leave. Of course, they CANNOT press charges because I was returning an item with a receipt. I am the one that called the police on THEM, because they STOLE from me ($167.00) and I am the one without my merchandise now. I will be seeing them in court alright... Mark my words.

Replies
Needs to Improve Customer Service and Item Availability
By -

MASSACHUSETTS -- Company need to practice better customer service and merchandise availability. I understand a high demand for popular seasonal items such as skirts, scarves, sweaters, etc. However, when shopping the store several times in the last 18 months, the mannequin displays are generally dressed in the same clothes since the last visit. Yes, they update some with the latest accessories and such, but when a customer inquires about a certain item, the sales representative always has the same answer: "I'm so sorry. We just ran out of those!" Yet, there are dozens of displayed scarves, for instance, hanging at an arms reach that are not for sale.

Walk in 3 weeks later, and you'll see the same displays with the same clothes/accessories. You then inquire, "Will you please point me to where those scarves on display are located?" Answer: "Oh I'm so sorry. We just ran out of those!" My reaction: "How about the items on that mannequin, may I see that sweater?" Answer: "We don't have that either, and we aren't expecting anymore... Those are discontinued." My reaction: "I understand, but I was told that about a month ago, so why do they remain on display?"

Answer: The first few times I was told this, I brushed it off thinking that the young teenage kids who work there really don't know what's going on. However, after visiting several different stores I've noticed this same pattern. 18 months later I still see the same skirts and shirts on a mannequin they don't sell.

Could you imagine walking into a restaurant and the menu displayed outside or at the Hostess desk had lots of good salads and entrees, but once you're seated and ready to place your order, your waiter announces, "I'm so sorry, but we don't carry that anymore; our menus just say we do because those are great selling items."

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Abercrombie & Fitch Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.9 out of 5, based on 14 ratings and
96 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Abercrombie & Fitch
4 Limited Parkway East
Reynoldsburg, OH 43068
614-577-6500 (ph)
614-577-6980 (fax)
www.abercrombie.com
Compare Clothing Stores