Preview Review

Next Review

Abercrombie & Fitch Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Bad Customer Service
By -

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- I placed an order w/ Abercrombie and Fitch (A&F) through their website back in Jan 2009. Price of one of the items I purchased was reduced before I received the shipment. Since there is no written store/online policy indicating that price adjustment cannot be made for on sale items, I contacted A&F for a price adjustment. A&F replied that...

"We are happy to process a price adjustment if your item (the same color and size) has been reduced within 14 days of the original purchase date. We only offer a price adjustment for merchandise purchased at the original price (items originally purchased from the Clearance section are not eligible for price adjustments). Unfortunately, since your Alexandra was not purchased at its original full price, we would be unable to offer an adjustment."

My request to A&F for a price adjustment was unsuccessful so I contacted American Express, my credit card company for advice. American Express advised that they will investigate the incident. If A&F is unable to provide a store policy for declining price adjustment on sale items then American Express will deduct the adjustment from our payment to A&F. After investigation, American Express decided that our claim was legitimate and gave us $20 credits for the price adjustment.

Since this incident, I have attempted to place 6 other orders online with A&F between Jan-Jun 2009, and they declined every single order I placed. I inquired A&F via email to find out why my orders have been canceled. A&F replied on 06/12/09... "Our records indicate that you have disputed a charge with us in the past. We reserve the right to decline further transactions related to the disputed charge."

Yet before I received A&F's reply on 06/12/09, I successfully made a purchase at their Valley Fair, San Jose store on 06/11/09 using my American Express card, the card that I have been using to place my online orders in the past 6 months and got declined by their on line operation.

I believed A&F has an unfair business practice at their online operation that is not in accordance to their store policy. The Company does not put their price adjustment policy in writing on their website. The Company failed to address to their client's legitimate request of price adjustment. The Company failed to provide proof of company price adjustment policy to credit card company but decline client's orders as a result of credit card company's decision.

Replies
Advertisement
Valley Fair Store Abercrombie
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- Complaint: Store 10402, Complaint against: Store Manager. I was having coupon with 15% discount to be offered during 12th till Dec – 19th Dec on $75 USD purchase. I selected full item price fragrance $74 dollar & clearance item. After standing 15 min in billing line, the billing executive told that only full item price would be allowed for discount, hence he asked me to select another item and be in line again for billing.

After 1 hour of search in whole showroom, we were unable to find single item on full price, because today 12/17/2013 the whole showroom was offering 50% discount on every item. I came in to line again, waited for another 15 min to get to billing person & asked him to bill only item selected from clearance and asked him details about the coupon. He mentioned that coupon is not valid on clearance or sale 50% off item. I told him that then what is the fun of giving coupons to customers of specific date when on that date store would be offering 50% discount.

This means none of the coupon will work and make no sense to offer coupons to customers. He said he doesn't know and would not be able to answer anything. Then store manager pitched in and she said it's all company policies and they will not be able to do anything and these offers come from company and not from store. She had the same view of coupon not working because entire store is on 50% off. Then another sale executive came in and told this may work on 50% off. They asked me to select 50% off item now.

This was another waste of time to select another item which is 50% off and be in line again. I asked manager to give this in written to me. I have written version from manager and also coupons still intact. This was complete waste of my time and complete dissatisfaction. I will take this to legal department as I have written statement from the store manager.

Replies
Pretty But Clueless Employees
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RIVERCHASE GALLERIA, ALABAMA -- The first was an exchange on the same exact jeans except for size. I'm thinking no problem, even exchange, just need 1 size up. Wrong!!! I bought the jeans on sale so the girl said I would have to PAY the difference of sale price and regular price!!!! I tried telling her no, it's an even exchange, but she didn't listen. I returned them and left the store without the jeans.

Well I decided to read the return & exchange policy and sure enough I was right. I had to explain the policy to the employee. She had it backwards, if I had paid full price and they went on sale, depending on length of time determined & receipt becomes a factor in the difference. After much explaining I was finally able to make the even exchange.

Now that was in the boys dept. I also had to make an exchange in the men's. The girl helped pick out more jean for my older son - different jeans, different price so not a problem. Unfortunately they still didn't fit right so my son was just going to return them. It had been a few weeks but within the 60 days and he had the receipt. Well they told him it was credit and said they had to have the credit card so he drove back home and got my credit card. He returned only for them to say it wasn't on that card.

Well the only other card I had was my debit card and after researching had long since cleared. The employee should have given cash back (which they refused to do) - debit card is same as cash. Needless to say I will have to go back for the 4th time to get credit. I read how they hire pretty people but geez could they have brains too, or maybe turn the music down just a tad so you're not having to Shout over it. Fed up!!!

Replies
Company Accused Customers Of Fraud!
By -

A&F has accused me of FRAUD, saying that I am selling their items online. I have never and would never want to sell clothes online, but they seem to think I do. I lost 45 pounds this year (2011) and it was nice to get into some nice clothes. NOW, I would not buy a button from them. I purchased over $2000 in clothes and because it was over a 3 month period, they assumed I was selling the items online.

I have never been so insulted in my life. I had to buy all new clothes. They were not the only ones getting my money (which they never will again). I was purchasing several good deals online over those months with a few different online stores. I cannot believe that this can happen. However, this has not ended; I am pursuing this issue and filing as many complaints online that I can about my situation as well as having a few clients investigating the company's policies and hiring standards for both domestic and international production.

What has happened to our world, that you are guilty before you even had a chance to explain your situation? OH and try to explain or EVEN FIND someone to explain what has happened to you. EVERY SINGLE PERSON I talked to on the phone or online, could not help me and seemed to not even want to. This has to be one of the WORST companies I have ever come across and to think they have been around for so many years, it's sad.

Also, if you want to purchase these clothes, I found out a lot about where they come from, which I did not know when I bought them, or I would not have done so. They come from just about every corner of the world BUT the United States of America, so think about that when you purchase your next muscle shirt or $180 pair of jeans.

This will only be the beginning of you what will hear in the next year about this company because I have made it my yearly goal to expose this company and its horrible service, products and the lack of contribution to the USA. This company is on the top 10 list of contributors to sweatshops throughout the world. This I know is a very long entry, but I feel it's all necessary to make my point. Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Abercrombie & Fitch Accuses Customers Of Fraud Daily
By -

A&F has accused me of FRAUD, saying that I am selling their items online. I have never and would never want to sell clothes online, but they seem to think I do. I lost 45 pounds this year (2011) and it was nice to get into some nice clothes. NOW, I would not buy a button from them. I purchased over $2000 in clothes and because it was over a 3 month period, they assumed I was selling the items online.

I have never been so insulted in my life. I had to buy all new clothes. They were not the only ones getting my money (which they never will again). I was purchasing several good deals online over those months with a few different online stores. I cannot believe that this can happen. However, this has not ended; I am pursuing this issue and filing as many complaints online that I can about my situation as well as having a few clients investigating the company's policies and hiring standards for both domestic and international production.

What has happened to our world, that you are guilty before you even had a chance to explain your situation? OH and try to explain or EVEN FIND someone to explain what has happened to you. EVERY SINGLE PERSON I talked to on the phone or online, could not help me and seemed to not even want to. This has to be one of the WORST companies I have ever come across and to think they have been around for so many years, it's sad.

Also, if you want to purchase these clothes, I found out a lot about where they come from, which I did not know when I bought them, or I would not have done so. They come from just about every corner of the world BUT the United States of America, so think about that when you purchase your next muscle shirt or $180 pair of jeans. This will only be the beginning of you what will hear in the next year about this company because I have made it my yearly goal to expose this company and its horrible service, products and the lack of contribution to the USA.

This company is on the top 10 list of contributors to sweatshops throughout the world. Not only that, recently my partner and I ran a test on them to see who they would randomly exclude from purchasing from their online store. They canceled his order just because we are at the same address. He had only purchased once prior to this and they canceled his order without notice, just as they did me. This I know is a very long entry, but I feel it's all necessary to make my point. Thank you.

Replies
Customer Service - Lack thereof
By -

It seems that their customer service is just a superficial as their models... I had placed 2 orders from your online store: #** totaling $289.76, #** totaling $77.07. On Sunday evening (March 20th at approx. 6pm). On Tuesday morning (March 22nd) I received 2 email blasts for 25% discount on my purchases. I called your customer service at 11am to see if I would be able to adjust my current orders to reflect the discount.

The gentlemen who took my call was not very helpful, rude and was not able to help me understand how I would be able to go about applying this discount or even suggesting that I cancel my orders and reorder them. I then proceed to replace my orders so that I could get my discount which I was able to do with success.

When I called your customer service to cancel my previous orders the first person that I spoke to was a lady who informed me that the items had not yet shipped and were being packed and there was nothing that could be done. When asked as to why if an item that has yet to be shipped why can it not be cancelled? Her response was "That is just the way it is!" I found this not very helpful and I found her to be extremely rude and when I asked her to not speak me in such a rude demeaning tone she got more offensive and then hung up on me.

I called back a 3rd time and spoke a gentlemen who was more polite and again gave the same answer - that an order that has yet to be shipped still cannot be cancelled. When asked to speak to a supervisor I was informed that Supervisors do not take calls no matter the situation. It was suggested that I could return my items to the store for a refund minus the shipping and handling charges.

Needless to say I am very frustrated with the lack of customer service that I have received from your company and I would like a full refund including the shipping and handling charges. Just before I wrote this email, I noticed that Abercrombie & Fitch in the last 36 months has had over 380 complaints through the Better Business Bureau and is listed at 259th out of 383 companies for customer service. I would like to have this resolved quickly and efficiently.

Replies
Worst Customer Service
By -

CHEEKTOWAGA, NEW YORK -- I went to Abercrombie tonight to return my sons blue, 2 week old coat that had a broken zipper. I have the receipt. I left with nothing, not even my sons broken coat. They kept it... Yes, they did. They gave us a new blue one in exchange for the broken one and my son decided he wanted red instead. We put the new blue coat on the shelf and took a red one, after getting a employees OK to swap them.

On our way out of the store they wanted to know what we did with the blue one they gave us and we told them we put it back on the shelf... Needless to say they didn't believe us (after we spent another $380 there) and said they couldn't let us take the red one until we proved that the blue exchange coat was still in the store. They questioned me about my other son who had on a navy blue coat (got a receipt for that one too) and more or less said we were leaving with NO coat.

I not only spent $380 in there tonight but I lost $167 for a coat that I PAID for 2 weeks ago that broke (keep in mind with receipt in hand). I called the police. Yes I did, and the police said it was a civil matter. Tomorrow its on to corporate and if I get nowhere... I will be seeing them in court when I file a lawsuit. I have never been treated like a thief and a liar, especially after spending so much money in a store. AND then for them to imply my other son may have a coat that belongs to them on?

They are ridiculous...and to make matters worse, I had to go and buy my son a coat or he wouldn't have had one to wear to school tomorrow. Can you believe that? The police actually watched videos with them and said they don't want to press charges. They would just like me to leave. Of course, they CANNOT press charges because I was returning an item with a receipt. I am the one that called the police on THEM, because they STOLE from me ($167.00) and I am the one without my merchandise now. I will be seeing them in court alright... Mark my words.

Replies
Needs to Improve Customer Service and Item Availability
By -

MASSACHUSETTS -- Company need to practice better customer service and merchandise availability. I understand a high demand for popular seasonal items such as skirts, scarves, sweaters, etc. However, when shopping the store several times in the last 18 months, the mannequin displays are generally dressed in the same clothes since the last visit. Yes, they update some with the latest accessories and such, but when a customer inquires about a certain item, the sales representative always has the same answer: "I'm so sorry. We just ran out of those!" Yet, there are dozens of displayed scarves, for instance, hanging at an arms reach that are not for sale.

Walk in 3 weeks later, and you'll see the same displays with the same clothes/accessories. You then inquire, "Will you please point me to where those scarves on display are located?" Answer: "Oh I'm so sorry. We just ran out of those!" My reaction: "How about the items on that mannequin, may I see that sweater?" Answer: "We don't have that either, and we aren't expecting anymore... Those are discontinued." My reaction: "I understand, but I was told that about a month ago, so why do they remain on display?"

Answer: The first few times I was told this, I brushed it off thinking that the young teenage kids who work there really don't know what's going on. However, after visiting several different stores I've noticed this same pattern. 18 months later I still see the same skirts and shirts on a mannequin they don't sell.

Could you imagine walking into a restaurant and the menu displayed outside or at the Hostess desk had lots of good salads and entrees, but once you're seated and ready to place your order, your waiter announces, "I'm so sorry, but we don't carry that anymore; our menus just say we do because those are great selling items."

Replies
Advertisement
Refund Policy
By -

I have been purchasing A&F clothing for my kids for ten years. On Dec. 6th 2009 we had our first return ever with Abercrombie. My son's grandmother purchased two coats online for him and they were the largest size Abercrombie makes XXL. After ten years wearing Abercrombie my son finally has reached a point in growth and he pumps iron for football that he no longer fits their XXL size.

When we came in with the receipt and asked for a refund in cash we discovered that with Abercrombie per their policy once you spend money in their store you virtually can never receive a refund for cash, never! You are bound to a store credit or exchange. In fact unless you use cash money for your purchase which in today's world is almost non-existent, everyone uses debit or credit or sometimes old fashion cash. This especially presents a problem when you receive a gift.

Even though we had a receipt we were told that we would literally have to drive 200 miles and pick up the actual card used by grandma and bring it to the store and they would credit the card. Or we could pay $7.00 fee mail the stuff back receive no credit for the original shipping, wait fro grandma's card to be credited back. Then work it out with grandma later to replace his gift. We called before driving 200 miles to the nearest Abercrombie store and were told that with the receipt we could be refunded, but when we arrived at the store everything changed and we were treated rudely by the store manager.

Also all other customers in line behind us were made to wait and watch this complicated situation while four other Abercrombie employees stood around folding clothing and listening to the heated exchange while offering no help to the other customers waiting. It was truly pitiful.

After 10 years and thousands of dollars spent on Abercrombie merchandise I will never ever give them my business again never! Abercrombie needs to change their policy and get with the real world. Their return policy is specifically designed to trap all customers needing a return for cash into never receiving a fair transaction. Their policy is specifically designed to force a customer to only repurchase from them via the form of store credit or exchange. Forget about gift receipts also, still you can not ever get your money back.

I am sure that this policy ensures Abercrombie of profits guaranteed as most people out of pure frustration give up and rather than spend more money using the mail return and being treated like a criminal by the store themself for being unfortunate enough to receive a gift from someone else that cannot be used and being forced to shop only with Abercrombie via store credit! Bottom line once they have your money you will never get it back whatever your reason for return is!

Replies
A Response To Many Negative Opinions
-

I am presently a GM for Hollister Co. which is owned by Abercrombie and Fitch. I personally take customer service issues seriously but have found that parents (especially moms) expect me to return anything and everything due to their status of being a gift from god.

As a company we lose millions of dollars a year in damaged/returned merchandise due to invalid returns. 99% of these Moms that come in are immediately rude and create demands which is not the way to approach any professional young or old. I have heard the snide "young man" innuendo countless times which is very degrading and obnoxious. This also immediately gives me or any manager the right to deny your return because none of us want to be talked down to.

The return policy clearly states that we have the right to deny any return or exchange for ANY reason. Customer service has no control over what we do as store/general managers. We have no direct communication with customer service and when they call we educate them in policies they are not aware of. Trust me this is just as annoying for us as it is YOU the consumer.

The education or lack thereof in store operations for those individuals working on the customer service side is a huge oversight.Obviously if the return is valid you will not have a problem returning the merchandise. When you bring in merchandise that is washed, worn and stained don't expect to be taken seriously. No customer should ever be treated unfairly or spoken to in a rude manner and I can completely agree with that complaint being a consumer myself. Feel free to exercise your right to call customer service and log a complaint, be specific and it will be emailed to all of the DM's Within that region.

If a store receives 2 legitimate customer service complaints within a 1 month period they get put on something that is called bottom 10. This is an extremely embarrassing list that is issued to all stores within the company listing who cannot 'obviously' provide quality customer service. Trust me when I tell you that this list is not something a store manager or general manager ever wants to be on.

Keep in mind... treat the manager with a little respect. They work 10+ hours a day and a minimum of 45 hours a week. The managers are not stupid or uneducated. Everyone is required to have a 4 year degree which is more education than 95% of the customers we deal with whom accuse us of being uneducated (18% of Americans have a BA and 38% have not completed High School). Most of us are career driven individuals who strive to provide YOU the customer with the best experience possible. Be respectful!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Abercrombie & Fitch Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.8 out of 5, based on 15 ratings and
97 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Abercrombie & Fitch
4 Limited Parkway East
Reynoldsburg, OH 43068
614-577-6500 (ph)
614-577-6980 (fax)
www.abercrombie.com
Compare Clothing Stores