Preview Review

Next Review

Account Now Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
New Card
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OHIO -- I had a relative who was trying to send me money via the Cash App. I downloaded the app only to find that my pre-paid card was not eligible for the service. I only had 1.33 in my account and was eagerly awaiting my direct deposit the next day! Later on that night, I had checked my account and saw that I only had 0.33. Where was the 1.00??? So I called AccountNow for an explanation. The representative told me that the Cash App took the dollar from my account. I had no idea that I was being charged to simply download that app - ESPECIALLY knowing now that my prepaid account was ineligible!

I told the representative that I wanted to dispute the charge. She told me that she would have to shut down my card so that they (the Cash App) would no longer have access to my account. This concerned me because again, I was expecting my paycheck the next day. When I expressed my concern, the representative told me that I could call them when I get my DD and withdraw my funds and just wait 7-10 business days for my new card.

This was odd to me - because I couldn't understand why I couldn't just dispute that charge like any other regular bank. The next day as scheduled, my DD showed up and I called as I was instructed to do. This is when I was told by the representative that he needed to stay on the phone with me while I withdrew my money because he would have to "restrict" my card afterwards.

I was about 10 minutes away from the ATM and he was on hold that long until I actually arrived. When I told him that I had made it, he told me that my limit was $500.00!!! WHAT??? I NEED my money and could not IMAGINE waiting for the "snail mail" to have access to ALL of my funds! This was new information to me and I asked him what would happen if I do not receive my card and I need more money? He then told me that I could repeat the process of calling them and they could unlock my card.

5 days later, after paying other bills, my card had not arrived and my utilities were due and my small children needed milk/diapers. I paid electronically for my utilities but what about the groceries and gas for my car?? I called customer service to have then unlock my card for access to the remainder of my paycheck - and it was THEN that I was told that there was nothing they could do; that when I withdrew my 500.00, my card was no longer "recognized" in their system!

I explained (or at least ATTEMPTED to explain because they don't listen to the customer, they are too busy reading from a script) that I was told that I could call back if I have not received my card and I need more money. The representative went on to explain their policy of the "one time access" and that I had already done that so I would have to wait for my card.

Timeline: 11/6 - Cash app authorized a hold of 1.00. 11/7 - I withdrew 500.00. 11/13 - I called to have my card unlocked. After getting the run around from 2 agents, I asked for a supervisor. I was placed on hold and then suddenly disconnected. Of COURSE I was IRATE beyond BELIEF because now, I have to borrow money for my BABIES - and that is NOT ok by me! I decided to just wait until 11/14 because my card should have definitely made it by then.

11/14 - no card. I called again and this time I was told that the card was mailed out on 11/8! And that it takes 7-10 business days! I asked for a supervisor. I waited 13 minutes for this person (Leo) to answer- he told me there was nothing he could do. I wanted to know 2 things. I am charged 1.00 fee for EVERY. SINGLE. TRANSACTION with this crooked company- so I was very confused as to HOW 1.00 could be taken out of my account with only 1.33?
Why did the agent tell me that I could call back and have my card unlocked to get money?

"Leo" told me that he would review the tape (recorded calls) and if I was given the wrong information, then they would have to work something out for me. He was going to call me back in 24 hours. 11/15- I had not received a phone call by 7:30pm. I called in- only to get the runaround from 4 different agents (2 of which were on the "escalation team"). Needless to say, I STILL do NOT have my card therefore no access to MY money!

This company should be shut down forever! The stress that I've been under trying to find a way for my babies to have what they need and to not have to beg or borrow from anyone for my own necessities like gas, food - whatever, does not even compare to the low rate, callous way in which I have been treated by this company and I have been a customer for 5+ years! They hold NO value towards their customers and hide behind the fact that they are only accessible online! The BBB will be hearing from me!

Replies
Advertisement
Frozen Account
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN RAMON, GEORGIA -- My federal income tax return was direct deposited to my bank card on 10/27/17. AccountNow froze my account for Identification verification. I submitted a copy of my driver license, social security card, and utility bill as instructed by their customer service representative. The representative told me to allow 3 business days for document review.

On 11/03/17 I was told they needed a utility bill to complete verification because they did not get it. I again uploaded my water bill via their online portal. I was told my document would be reviewed by 11/08/17. A customer service representative confirmed that all documents were reviewed but no update was made to my account by their Risk Management Department.

It is now 11/16/2017 and my account is still frozen. I have spoke to 3 customer service supervisors whom have all stated they have sent an escalation request to the Risk Management Dept. and to allow 24 hrs for a response. It's been 36 hours later and still no response and my account is still frozen. Now I am filing a complaint with the FDIC, the BBB and the bank's corporate office. This bank should be closed down. There is not a phone number for their Risk Management Dept and the customer service representatives are in Korea and cannot call the Risk Management Dept. on a customer's behalf.

Replies
If You Get This Card, Throw It Away
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BLUFFTON, INDIANA -- It is not worth having unless you want to be broke. It's a fee to load of $4.95, which is fine. What Accountnow doesn't tell you is that there is also a fee they take for putting money on the card which is $9.95 so you have to go back and add more money and take another fee of $4.95. You are better off opening a bank account. This place is a ** joke that needs to be shut down. I hope everyone looks at the reviews before deciding to use this clown company. If I could give 0 stars, that's what it would be. If you are looking for a card to add money, go to Wal-Mart and get a prepaid from there.

Replies
I Need Help
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DAYTONA, FLORIDA -- I need to know if I can transfer my money off my AccountNow card to a NetSpend card? They are not giving me my money. They keep saying I'm under review and I sent my documents to them. Please help!!! It's a lot of money they are holding.

Replies
Advertisement
To Be Honest...
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- When they asked for all 9 digits of my social security number that's when I dipped. Didn't even get past the activation part. I've had several prepaid card and even banked with Chase and neither one asked for every digit of my social security number. 🤔 Last 4, ok that's typical but my whole social? I'm very careful about who I give my information too. Next time you run into a prepaid card and they ask for your whole social, review them right away before you even continue with activation.

Replies
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY; ESPECIALLY for DIRECT DEPOSIT
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WHERE TO BEGIN!?? SO, long story short, I was the victim of fraud. More than $400 in unauthorized charges on my account. Called Account Now, was told to do a dispute, in which I did and was told they would send a replacement card which takes 5-7 business days. Well, they sent it on 9/6/16 and today is 9/15/16, something tells me it may not be in the mail when I check it today.

When I call periodically to get status, I'm told "Your card should be there no later than Tuesday." Then I call again and I'm told "no later than Wednesday". I called just now and was told "no later than Friday." Oh, and they have nothing to report on my dispute. I have since opened up an account with Bank Of America. Account now can kiss my **!!!

Replies
Account Now, Inc. Card Scam
By -

SAN RAMON, CA, CALIFORNIA -- Account Now card is a scam. I've been trying to get my money from my card but the company put a hold on my account. When I called Customer Service today (5/3/2011), the customer representative hung up on me after I demanded to get paid for the remaining balance on my card. During the call, the customer representative wanted me to get a passport and fax over a copy of that to the company as identification.

I don't have a passport, I don't need one. I'm American citizen and have a state I.D. but the representative did not want that. So near the end of the call, the ** hung up on me. Their customer service sucks!!I Have been trying for over a month calling the company to demand I get my money from my card. I can't get it from an ATM because every time I put in my pin code, it gets rejected.

I called the company about this in April and even faxed over a copy of I.D. as requested, but when I called to see if they received my fax, I was told they didn't get it. When I call for my balance, I notice that every day my balance gets lower--they are taking money from my card!! Yet they won't let me use it to get my own money from ANY ATM!!!

They are a ** scam, I can't believe how they have an A-rating with the BBB in Oakland, CA. They have more than 500 complaints against them. I don't know how to get my money from these con artists. They did not take the 'hold' off my card and I can't get any money from my own card!! How absurd this ** company is! I DON'T RECOMMEND ACCOUNT NOW, INC. Don't waste your time getting a card from them. They will keep your money and take a little from your card each day. If you have problems with this company, report them to as many people and consumer websites to get the word out.

Replies
Poor Customer Service
By -

I opened a prepaid debit account in June. In October, someone somewhere got my card number and began to make unauthorized purchases. Trying to get a hold of a live customer service representative to discuss the matter was very difficult. The only person I could talk to at 8:30 pm Eastern time was the guy who could cancel my card. No other customer service was available. I had to wait 'til the next day at 10 am in their time zone (1 pm my time zone) for anyone to be available to discuss the hold authorizations.

When I finally got a representative, I was informed that they could do absolutely nothing about the hold authorizations, and that if those companies decided to keep my money, that was just too bad. I had to call all the individual companies and tell them the purchases were unauthorized, please don't keep my money! Since I can only withdraw $300 cash in one day, I went and withdrew $300 cash to last me 'til my new card would arrive. I was told 5-7 days and I would have my new card.

It has been 7 days and no new card. I called back, and was told "oh it's still in processing" and "you should have it by the end of the week" - so actually, 5-7 days is 2 WEEKS (or more, that remains to be seen!). I wish someone would have told me it would take 2-3 days to process and then they will mail the new card and I'll have it in 2 weeks.

I would rate customer service with this company as very poor. As long as there are no problems, the card/account is fine. But, if you have a problem, it is very frustrating trying to get a representative that can help you. (Oh and I should add, if they have an e-mail address to contact their Customer Service, I can't find it. I was going to complain there but since they don't make that easily available, here I am on 3cents worth).

Replies
Advertisement
Gross Negligence
By -

DALLAS, TEXAS -- ACCOUNT NOW PREPAID CARDS, www.acountnow.net - 800 710-4802. I was supposed to receive a replacement to my expired Mastercard 11/08. Unfortunately, the card was intercepted somewhere in the mailing process. The card was activated and used for more than $1200.00 hundred dollars. This was my direct deposit account. The company was notified and aware of the situation through their system. So from day one, everybody knew it was fraud.

This could not be possible if the company had a professional and proper activation process in place. The perp could not have known my social security number, nor my birthdate, or my telephone number. So why was my card allowed to be active? The only thing the perp was knowledgeable of was my address, which was right on the mail - like they sometimes ask for a just a zip code. How ridiculous can that be? All that is right on the mail.

One ** was handling the case and I got to say, nobody at that company knows what's going on. Mind you, this is early-November we are talking about, that the process was initiated. It took them about six weeks for somebody to get back to me to detail the process and get a case started. The set of paperwork I received was terribly in-accurate. So I had to get a new set of documents. So we are starting all over again, mind you, ten business days before the first set came out, and another ten days for the right ones to finally get to me. So I lost six weeks to start the process, and twenty days in the process. It all was submitted by late Dec '08.

After a couple of months, I made several requests via email to the above mentioned individual, but no response. Well today 03.12.09, I spent almost four hours trying to speak to the department manager. Of course you have to go through the long drawn -ut automation, enter all your life history, and numbers, and questions - you know all that ridiculous stuff that you have to repeat to them again anyway.

And still got a good ten minutes to wait for somebody to put you in the right department that makes you wait again, and enter all this stupid stuff you already entered. And then you get lost or disconnected or lost in the system somewhere. I have been through this half a dozen times the last four hours, and ever call cost $2.00. I still did not get a manager.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY'S DIRECT DEPOSIT. They have no proper security in place. When you have a problem, you can't get the responsible (or irresponsible) individual to show no interest in your hard-earned money. IT'S GROSS NEGLIGENCE, AND A TOTAL DISREGARD FOR YOUR MONEY, THEIR RESPONSIBILITIES AND THE PUBLIC'S TRUST. ACCOUNT NOW is now 'ACCOUNT NEVER AGAIN' for my direct deposit. I don't know about you...

Replies
Don't Send Your Tax Refund to Account Now
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN RAMONE, CALIFORNIA -- My income tax refund was sent to my accountant's Account Now card. With my permission, on 2/8/2012 we went to the bank to take my refund out - it was in the amount of 4989, the bank would only let us take out 1800. Well actually only 800, & we had to go and get a postal MO for 1000.

The next day they suspended the account. They are keeping my refund in the amount of 3189. They keep telling us we have to fax all kinds of paperwork to the risk dept and the risk dept has to approve it. No one will talk to us and they keep saying they didn't get the paperwork. It costs to fax and I'm a senior on a fixed income. Why are they playing God with my money. The IRS approved the refund, who are they to use my money?

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Account Now Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 7 ratings and
10 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Account Now
2603 Camino Ramon
San Ramon, CA 94583
866-925-2036 (ph)
www.accountnow.com
Compare Banks