ACN - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 32 ratings and
53 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Cheating, Scam of a Company
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
PLAINSFIELD, INDIANA -- My son-in-law just started on the side(and was told all this money he would make in commission). He asked me if I would like to try ACN that I would save money on my phone bill each month and all I would need to do is pay $21.19 to sign up. Well I felt it was okay. I was told when I received the equipment to connect to my adapter that I had with Xfinity. But I noticed that They had me with a new telephone number, of which I didn't feel I could connect at that time due to my husband just passing away and I would be receiving quiet a number of calls and it would be impossible for me to contact people with this change. Therefore, I did not connect this adapter at that time. It was on 12/22/14 this equipment was shipped to me and it was received on 12/26/14. It was 1/6/15 my phones were cut off by Xfinity. I called and they told me there was a request that my phones were changing. I had not contacted Xfinity, but ACN had requested this change without my knowing. The end result was I was without any phone service at all. It was at this time I requested Xfinity to reconnect my phones since I had not authorized ACN to have them to disconnect since I was not using their equipment. I called ACN to let them know I wanted to cancel. I had already been charged $21.19 on 12/22/14, $35.45 on 12/27/14 and on 1/6/15 $133.35 cancellation fee. They informed me I could not return the unused equipment. Furthermore, as of today 1/26/15 they have the nerve to display a charge of $3.00 in pending status until further charges have been applied. I have no idea what this means since I was unable to talk with a person due to high call volume. I had already canceled service and they charged me $133.35 for early cancellation fee and it had not even been thirty days. I don't see how they can do this since I was originally told by my son-in-law (who was also new at this) that if it did not work out I could get my money back. I am not blaming him because they pretty much did him the same way. He didn't get his commission check they promised. I am so tired of dealing with these people who think they can do whatever they want and get away with it. Is there anything one can do to stop this type of business from going on. I am sure I am not the only one this has happened to. I did not even have 30 days to decide if this was for my situation. Come to find out they were more expensive than Comcast. I am disappointed that we have people who will take advantage of older adults, especially when just lost my husband. I tried to explain my situation, but they made no exceptions. I feel taken advantage of. This seems to be dishonest. And I would like to make anyone who has been or is approached by a salesperson from ACN to beware and know that if you sign up for their service you will be charged a sign up fee, $21.19, a monthly fee $35.45, and because I canceled service, early cancellation fee $133.35 all totaling $159.99. As of today 1/26/15 another charge of $3.00 is in pending status on my credit card of which there is no explanation. Unable to reach by phone due to high call volume.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible to Work for and Horrible Services
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
EAGLE MOUNTAIN, UTAH -- I am not going to write much about paying to be a part of the company. I will say that they do not disclose everything before you pay. They tell you that you will make your money back and then some in the first year. They don't tell you that you have to get so many services in your home and out of your home to get it along with using a self pity tactic to get services. I am a nurse not a sales person, They said I wouldn't be selling anything but asking my family and friends to help me with services they already have. Another thing, the services are more expensive going through ACN than the way my family gets them. When I brought this up they said your loved ones should get the service through you even if it is more expensive because they love you. WHAT?

Now on the services. I signed up for TV, dig phone, and cell. The TV company was great. The dig phone service bill was going up every month very subtly. Last month they got my service mixed up with another customer. They turned off my phone and charged my account 91 dollars. At first they argued with me that I cancelled it or someone else did. I told them I would know if I cancelled my own account. I also told them that I was the only one on the account so no one else should be able to cancel it. I was so frustrated with them arguing with me that I cancelled the service and asked for a refund. They told me I would get my money back the next billing cycle. I just called them because I have not received the refund and it's 6 days after the billing cycle. They just told me that I would get it the next billing cycle. I told them I want it now, it's already been a month. They said they will put a request in for 3 days.

I also had cell service with them. The phone I received was broken when I received it. The touch tone face was halfway off. My husbands and my phone had problems calling out 2 weeks after getting them. They also would call people randomly while sitting on the counter. My husband is a firefighter/paramedic and needs GPS to find addresses to his calls. His GPS would glitch and would send him to another place or say it could not find the address.

So I would say don't sign up to "own your own company" with ACN and do not get their services. If you are with Verizon you can get a better deal with Costco and they have great return policy. This is the same with any of the services. When the guy came out to set up our TV he said he hates dealing with ACN people because they never tell their customers exactly what they are getting into.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Cell Phone Drama
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CALIFORNIA -- I purchased a cell phone through ACN to help out a family member that just signed up with them. I should have known in the beginning there was going to be problems but I overlooked it. When I first ordered my phone I wanted to make sure that I could transfer my current number to the phone I was told yes that wouldn't be a problem so I ordered the phone. It was about 3 weeks since I placed my order and I hadn't received the phone. I went through the email where is my order and received no response. So after another week which ended up being a month total I called them just for them to tell me that they no longer carried that phone and I needed to choose a different one. I was bothered why nobody called me and tried to cancel at that time but was told I already paid for the phone. So now at this point I am feeling forced to buy the phone. There prices had changed at this point and since I was giving them anymore money I had to settle for a galaxy 4 mini. When I received the phone I called to get my number transferred and was told that I couldn't because when I buy the phone it already comes with a number. I told them I was told I could change the number and I was told that if I changed my number I would be charged for making changes to my account in the first 90 days.

I then asked why I was being charged separate from my phone bill for my insurance and they told me that's how it is. Moving forward 8 months later I lost my phone I called to figure out what I need to do to replace it just to find out my phone was not covered because the insurance company they had went out of business. No one ever called me to let me know there was an issue with the insurance and I gave permission for the payments to be taken out automatically monthly. When trying to figure out what needs to be done every number that I called for ACN said it was not their problem they would give me another number two of the numbers that they gave me were bogus....Long story short I ended up having to pay full price to get a phone because I couldn't cancel my contract with the carrier that was separate. My advice is don't use ACN they are misleading and their customer service is awful.....
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
ACN Is Another Amway, Quixtar Type of Company
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CONCORD, NORTH CAROLINA -- For all you folks considering joining ACN, please don't do it. At the least, you stand to lose $500, at the most, your friends, family, your job and all your savings. The average person in Montana who joined ACN as an IBO lost $15000.

A few days ago, I was suckered into attending an ACN meeting and narrowly escaped with my $500 still intact. The "business opportunity" is quite simple and enticing when you look at it from afar. But on closer examination, it's quite obvious that this is just another type of MLM pyramid scheme similar to the likes of Amway and Quixtar.

You, the IBO, are the customer. The product they are selling is quite simply the $500 sign-up fee, the $150 annual fee, the $40 monthly fee and the fees your pay for all those conferences. You are bringing other IBO's (customers) in who will also pay most, if not all of those same fees. None of you will make money enough to even break even.

In Canada, ACN is required to disclose the “average” income of ACN sales reps. The ACN Canadian website reports the average of just the “active” reps to be only $9 a week. That’s exponentially less than the cost of joining and actively participating.

You have been warned. If you have an intelligence whatsoever, please read other reports on Ripoffreport and even a simple Google search for the company's financials will give you all you need to make an informed decision.

Here is some objective information from eHow about ACN's financials:

A 2008 legal document released by Montana's State Office of the Auditor indicates that the average ACN representative earns less than the $499 fee required to join ACN. In 2008, 91 citizens of Montana paid a total of $61,741 in joining fees to ACN. Only two of these individuals earned more than $500 in income, with one earning $700 and the other earning $696 for the year. These 91 ACN reps earned a combined total of $783 in 2008 in commissions, with all remaining earnings tied to referring other reps.

In 2009, 312 people in Montana paid more than $230,000 in fees to ACN. These 312 people combined earned a total of $16,615 for the year, with just $900 of this amount paid as commission for sales. The rest of this income came from referrals.

Based on this information, the state of Montana filed a temporary cease and desist against ACN within the state in 2008. These filings accuse ACN of functioning as an illegal pyramid scheme.

Read more: http://www.ehow.com/info_8731646_average-yearly-income-acn-rep.html#ixzz2j8D6NcdA
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Only Initiated the Set Up and I'm Already Through!!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
TORONTO, NEW YORK -- My sister is an ACN representative My family and I tried from the very beginning to warn her to stay clear of pyramid schemes. I even went to one they're meetings with her to check it out and hopefully persuade it her not to sign because I knew what it was going to be from the beginning. Cult like organizations claiming to help you start a business so you can have more free time blah blah. I couldn't't even sit through the whole meeting and had to leave due to all the theatrics and hypocrites in the place.

But she signed up! Paid her $499 and is now trying to get our whole family to switch they're services to ACN. We live together so of course she decided our services will change. Home phone and Internet. Which was previously with Bell working fine providing quality service etc. we were paying $50 for Internet and $25 for our home phone with Bell. She arranged ACN to come in and change things.

First of all the first guy that came in had no clue what he was doing, but he was wearing a Bell t shirt so I must assume he's a professional technician that works for Bell (ya right) he asked where do I find some connections related to the phone. I don't know you're the technician, look around. He put some tag on our power box and left, then another ACN guy came to bring our modem. Mind you the modem is different from our Bell modem and also looks ancient!! All I know I came home that day and our phone was cut off and will be for a WHOLE WEEK. Our Internet has been OFF for 2 days now. Just the setup alone has me ready to rip the cords out of the wall.

We apparently have 30 days but 2 days have already elapsed and we don't even have service. I want it out but I want to prove her wrong. I don't want any of my other family members to experience this. Now I can't even talk to my sister she's so on edge because nothing is working out and she knows I want to say I told you so. But I won't I will wait it out since she will be paying the bill

I don't care if its $29 each service I was receiving a product before ACN that worked fine and to my liking! And whenever I called Bell or even Rogers in the past to come and fix our services they always knew exactly what to do. I will always pay for quality and so far I don't see any quality in there product or they're customer service! Has anyone else had these same problems?
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Huge Financial Cost to Trust ACN Marketing
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- A good friend of mine took me to a meeting organized by ACN marketing. When I was in the meeting, my friend was there with me. He recruited me. After their fantastic propaganda, I signed up and paid $500 for owning a license. I also chose ACN digital phone service and zoom gas. I was told I can use ACN website to get better deals for telecommunication, TV, and other services for my new customers. After I take a look at the deals on their website, I realized the terms for those deals are so restricted.

For example, a great deal from Comcast was only for new customers and only good for 1/2 yr. Comcast directly gives this kind of deal or even better deal to every new customer. Since new customer can get the same or even better deal from Comcast, why should they buy the deal through ACN representatives? If a customer does buy a deal from ACN representative. After the promotion period( 1/2 yr), price goes back to normal. There is no advantage doing this through ACN representatives. If a ACN representatives tell you that after promotion period, he/she can negotiate better deals for you. God knows!

After figuring out all this, I decide to stop doing this long before my one year period license expire. I stopped ACN digital phone service which I subscribed. They charged me $50 plus taxes for terminating this service. This is the first time I was charged for terminating a phone service in my life. When I signed the phone contract, I did not really read it because a few marketing people and my friend were around me. I was very distracted by friendly, and also professional atmosphere. Well, When I subscribed the service, I was charged with $30 activation fee too. That was clearly stated.

I am going to cancel my contract when my one year license expire. I have yet to see if I am charged because I terminate the contract. I lost $500 license fee. I choose to lose my friendship with the friend who recruited me.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
ACN
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
OAK PARK, MICHIGAN -- I have been trying to cancel my internet services from them for how many months now and they keep giving me the run around as to why it is taking so long for them to cancel it. Every representative I talked to had different excuses as to why it is taking so long. They keep telling it takes so and so business days before they can do it. Every time I check to see what is going on, they have different reasons as to why they can't do it yet. I really want to get this resolves and just leave ACN.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Hate ACN
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
QUEBEC -- I have been dealing with ACN for about a year now - sometimes late with payments and yes that is not good but MOST companies will work with clients especially if you speak to them and not just leave it. ACN WILL NOT budge - there are no payment plans period. The customer service is brutal to get through to them and get an answer and if you are not happy with whom you are dealing with - there are no managers to speak of! Seriously? Every company has a tier of staff and someone in charge that you can speak to and that person usually has some kind of power...not in this case.

ACN cut told me they didn't want to continue with service for us even though I had paid my account in FULL. They got the payment and then sent me a letter saying they no longer were going to provide service...I figure good, done with you then...oh no! Then I get a letter saying because I didn't finish out my year with them I owed them a cancellation fee of $150!!! Are you kidding me...you cancel me and then charge me for cancelling - they cancelled me April 24 and my one year was May 4...hmmmm do you think they did that timing on purpose? My services when I paid them in full were paid up to May 22 so technically I did finish my one year commitment would you agree??

I finally got hold of supervisor and guess what, there is nothing they can do about the charge but they should not have disconnected me since I paid so if I sign up with rogers or telus with an account for ACN they will waive the $150 fee - WHAT A LOAD OF CRAP!!@!@
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
ACN STINKS! Customer Service and Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- ACN is like quicksand! If you fall into a contract, with the promise that if it isn't to your liking, you can get out, it is such a lie. Just after we signed up and were hooked up, the service was not good at all. They use Qwest lines for their internet, and because of where we live, (had I realized that I wouldn't have signed on) the lines are too far from our home because we live at the base of a mountain. The internet is sooooooooo slow!! And the phone service isn't great either.

The representatives have been extremely unhelpful, and I will bad mouth this company until the cows come home, as they would say. As far as our salesperson goes, they couldn't even help. So, don't believe what they say, and stay as far away from this company as you can. We are stuck, unless I get a lawyer involved, which is next on my list.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Trying to Get a Refund
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LONDON -- Here's my experience with ACN.

I recently checked out ACN, it is a "Multi Level Marketing" scheme, very similar to pyramid selling.

Although it's not a scam, looking at how the business works, you can definitely make money, but it is not as easy as they make out.

It all basically relies on you selling a couple services then recruiting other sellers to recruit others and so on and so on.. From all the information I looked at, it can make money, but requires a lot of recruiting.

My issues are, that they try to get you to purchase a SIM card contract, a weight loss package and gas and electric or broadband, a long distance call box, this is basically so you become "qualified" immediately then you can recruit other sellers and get them to do the same and for them to recruit other sellers under them.

Also this is the BIG ISSUE, I quickly cancelled my membership within the 7 days, so they should not have debited the "trainer fee" money of £390.
They have debited the money, even though their reply to my cancellation request states:

"Please be assured that the cancellation request date will be from the date that a valid cancellation is received by ACN and not the date on which it is processed."

And also

"If your Cancellation was sent within the trial period (7 calendar days from the agreements’ effective date) the Success System Team Trainer fee will not be processed by us."

They still deducted the fee.

The email addresses (they have multiple email addresses) get no response and also the phone number just leads to various options of automated messages. I am still yet to speak to a representative.

I am waiting to see if they refund the amount they should have never debited, but I am not sure what will happen.

So please be aware of the no charge within 7 days cancellation.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >