[X]

Advantage Car Rental

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
33 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Beware of their online
Posted by Mazy on 11/18/2007
DALLAS, TEXAS -- Amazingly disappointing experience - Have been a long time renter and this was the first time to see such an absurd scam to rip off the poor customers - BEWARE OF ADVANTAGE CAR RENTAL (Specially if you're smart enough to shop around and use search engines for best rates).

As always, we used CarRentals.com for best rates for a 3-day trip to Dallas, and Advantage came out with a $90 rate to pick up at 10 am on Nov 15 and drop by 5 pm on Nov 17. Our flight was departing around 3 pm, but we always rent for a few extra hours to avoid any possible late fees due to delay, etc. Anyways, we dropped the car with full tank and everything around 1 pm and were shocked to see that they are charging us for more than $120!!! The reason: "YOU RETURNED THE CARE EARLY!" (like 4 hours early!!) and they charged us based on a totally different rate schedule (2 days plus 1 hour extra at an outrageously high rate) and came up with the $120 figure. When we complained to the so-called "manager" (which of course was very rude and even tried to grab and destroy our initial receipt showing the estimated $90 cost with our pick-up and drop-off times), he said that basically that's what they do and there is no thing we could do.

I asked him that the receipt says the car should be dropped "by 5" not "at 5" and hence, we were being charged extra, he said that it should be "At 5", and when I asked him to define how soon is considered "early" for them to use it as a pretext to rip off the costumers, he refused to explain. I guess even if we were to return the car at "4:59", they were going to consider it "early" since it wasn't 5 sharp!!

Very disappointed. Surely the last time I do business with them and will advise everyone against doing business with them too.

Just beware of the prices they claim to lure the costumers to their business and away from other car rentals. Then, when you have made the grave mistake of getting into their trap, they will charge you way more than what they initially claimed as bait and much more than others. Just beware!!

     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by FoggyOne on 2007-11-18:
From their Website: Some discount rate plans may have special terms and conditions related to car class, date/time of pickup, date/time of return or location.

But I agree 100% with Mazy. It is stupid to charge because the vehicle is returned early. That only means they can clean it and get it rented again before it was to be returned originally. Sounds like a real scam to watch for at Advantage.
Posted by Ponie on 2007-11-18:
Although I think it's a dippy way of doing business, I think FoggyOne explained it by quoting from their website. They getcha comin' and goin'.' I think it's ridiculous, but anything to play gotcha.
Posted by Nohandle on 2007-11-18:
Who would have thought one would be penalized for an early return? You weren’t expecting some sort of compensation for unused days. It's the first I've heard of this. In addition to taking photos of the car to prove no damage on our part and filling the tank I suppose we need to hire a driver to drop us off at the airport and return the car on the dot. Oops, forgot you are the only one allowed to operate the vehicle, so forget that one. Thanks for the heads up.
Posted by Mazy on 2007-11-18:
Thanks for the comments guys. Just one thing that I can say in response to their policy on date/time of return and rates:
If you rent a car for, say, a week at a special rate of $140 (i.e. $20 per day) and return the car early on the 6th day, you can't ask the rental company to charge you for 6x20= $120. We all understand this and it makes sense. However, if you return the car on the 6th day, you should still be able to pay the pre-agreed $140 without any issues. This is the global practice of all reputable care rentals. The clause on early returns is valid as long as it is applying to this situation, but if you return the car on the date it was supposed to be returned but only a few hours earlier, it shouldn't frist and foremost be considered an early return, and even if so, it shouldn't be used as a pretext to violate the intial agreement and charge using another (un-advertized) rates. The whole idea behind early returns for special rates is that no matter how early you drop the car, you are going to pay the whole amount agreed upon earlier, not less. In fact, many times I needed a car for only 4-5 days and car rental staff themselves suggested me to rent for the whole week and just return the car on the 4th or 5th day to save more money...
Again, while my experience with Advantage might have been an isolated incidence, I consider this a very serious issue. I am a very careful costumer and I don't usually fall for all sorts of marketing or business traps. I always shop around and check the ratings. I read all the contracts and try my best to get all the details before commititng myself to anything. If, then, I was ripped off like this, then I'm afraid, there are a whole lot of people out there that are being constantly ripped off by Advantage car rental all the time, without even knowing it! Just be careful out there...
Posted by tanque on 2009-01-14:
It is not a rip off if you're aware of the issue before hand and still sign the contract and if you were not aware of this in advance, ignorance on the part of a customer is of no importance to a company. When you complain to a company about an extra charge, the "I didn't know I would be charged for that" line, doesn't fly often or at all for that matter with many companies. The simple fact of the matter is that when you make a reservation for a certain amount of days, at times you may be given what's considered a "special rate" that applies only to the dates entered at the time of booking. By meeting certain criteria that "special rate" only applies to the days entered at the time of confirmation and each contract clearly states, not in fine print, that the "special rate" only applies if the vehicle is kept for "x" amount of days. If the vehicle is returned early or kept past "x" amount of days then the daily rate which at times may be a much higher rate than the "special rate", will be charged. This information is clearly printed on the same rental agreement that each customer signs. Neglet on the customers part to read terms of aggrement before signing a legal binding contract is not ripping off customers, it's ignorance on the customers part. Furthermore, I understand plans may change that require a customer to return their vehicle early, however, if a company can rent a vehicle at a higher rate to customer A who request (3) days at $30 plus tax per day but offered customer B who request (6) days at $20 plus tax per day because customer B requested more days on rental then customer B decided to bring vehicle in after only 3 days on rent and the company still only charges the customer $20 per day, then the company would lose out because they may have very well rented to customer A @ $30 per day for the same 3 days. If this is the case then everyone would book for a week and be offered a "special rate" and then return early. This is common business practice not only with Advantage Rent a Car but in the car rental business, period. As a matter of fact, Hotel Industry works very similarly. When you're offered a WEEKLY rate, companies do not divide the WEEKLY rate by seven and figure that amount as your daily rate, the daily rate is usually higher than the weekly rate, however, you are given that special rate for renting on a "WEEKLY" basis. Kinda like buying in bulk, you know, shopping at COSTCO or SAMS club, you are given special prices for buying in bulk. Special rates for weekly rentals but if you buy/rent individually you're usually charged more per item/day... Understand what I am trying to say?

Hope this information will help clarify things for everyone and help you all understand the way these types of businesses work. It is not a scam if the information is printed on legal binding contracts that are signed by you, the customer. It may not seem right but you always still have the option to rent or not to rent. My advice to all, READ BEFORE YOU SIGN ANYTHING. This not only goes for renting a vehicle but IN LIFE. Commone sense folks
Posted by Mazy on 2009-01-28:
Dear Tangue, unfortunately, it seems that you ignored to read my post carefully. I did business with them once and that was it. I just wanted to give others heads-up to avoid being ripped off by them.
Please go back to my post and read it carefully before talking about ignorance and not reading the fine prints. I am fully aware that special rates are for the specified terms and duration. However, what you are ignoring is that you can always (apparently unless you are dealing with Advantage Car Rental) rent a car for a weekly rate, return it sooner, and pay the full weekly rate. This is the reasonable and conventional practice of the car rental business. I can tell from my personal experience that I have done it with a dozen car rentals (both big, nationwide and small, local ones) with no problem whatsoever.
What you are saying is wrong: I never said that one should go and get a car for a special weekly rate (say $140) and then return the car on the 5th day and expect to only pay $100 (5x20), as you are suggesting. What I was saying (and it's happening everyday with reputable rentals) is that you go and rent a car for the $140 weekly rate, return it on the 5th day, and pay the full $140, which is perfectly fine and acceptable. The phrase about the duration of the rental exists on all rental agreements, and the purpose of it is to prevent people from pro rating a special package. I firmly stand by my opinion that interpreting this phrase the way Advantage Car Rental did is wrong and it constitutes a rip-off. Please go back and read my post before making baseless comments.
Unfortunately, it seems that when dealing with Advantage Care Rental, even if you read the fine print (as I did), you won't be protected yet, as you still will be left at the mercy of the deceitful staff with their own interpretation of the agreement. Obviously, they can continue doing so since nobody has the time to bring a court case against them to force them to either stop their interpretation of the agreement, or write out their own interpretation in the agreement with clear words, but it doesn't change the fact that what they did was wrong and miles away from good business practice.
I repeat myself time and again that the best way to protect yourself against their deceitful practice is to avoid them at all, until they change and correct it.

Posted by bruce2954 on 2014-02-25:
If the paperwork said that the car had to be returned by 5 and they're legally obligated to honor it. If it was supposed to say at 5, but didn't, they're stuck with it.
Close commentsAdd reply


HORRIBLE company-stay away
Posted by JACKATOA on 07/17/2005
Worst experience I've had in 20 years of travel and as a part of the travel industry.

Cars are terrible, mine broke down after a 40-mile drive, had to leave the car, spent several hours on hold and talking to several people trying to resolve.

Customer service and follow-through is atrocious
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by truckin21 on 2007-03-12:
Be glad you didn't rent a U-Haul. They charge Miles and Days you never use and they DON'T GIVE REFUNDS!!!!!
Close commentsAdd reply

Advantage Car Rental WILL take advantage
Posted by James150 on 02/17/2008
PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- My wife and I just returned from our bi-annual trip to southern Arizona, where we rented a car from Advantage for the first time. We had received the 'best rate' through Travelocity, but when we arrived at the Advantage counter in Sky Harbor Airport, the woman at the counter refused to honor the price given to us by Travelocity, rudely telling me that there were "taxes that Travelocity could not compute", because the company was not familiar with the local taxes. When asked to speak to a manager, the woman at the counter responded by saying that "a manager won't come up here for this", and refused to call the manager. When we went downstairs to pick up our rental car, my wife asked the fellow behind the counter if he could remedy the error made by the woman upstairs. He looked at the paperwork and made a face, saying that he 'knew what happened'. When she pressed him further he quietly said that the employees often add charges to the rental for additional insurance, without asking the customer. He corrected the paperwork to reflect what we had been originally been quoted.

Although I am grateful to this young man for correcting this, his confession and this experience on the whole left a bitter taste in our mouths. We will certainly never rent from Advantage again.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by FoggyOne on 2008-02-18:
Thanks. Something to watch for at all car rentals.
Posted by Ponie on 2008-02-18:
For your sake, I hope this 'correction' was made on all forms covering this rental. If only on one, I could see the rental company denying the correction.

I always do my rentals with the company direct since I don't put too much trust in these 'one size fits all' websites. In defense of what the gal told you about Advantage not knowing local taxes, I can agree with that. Seems at Detroit's (DTW) airport, every month or so they seem to tack on additional taxes. Once it's for expansion of downtown's Cobo Hall (that's a bigee), another time it's for repaving the parking lots at DTW, etc. After these so-called improvements are made, I've never heard of the tax being rescinded. Probably the next new tax will be so the honorable mayor gets help with his legal fees.
Posted by goldenlab on 2008-02-20:
We go to Las for events at least 2x per year. Our experience is that all car rentals use their sales pitch..That specific car is unavailable, buy insurance etc etc. The price quoted at reservation is usually NOT the same. It is usually 3x more. Watch them!
Posted by Overchargeded on 2008-04-17:
contact travelocity and they are supposed to make it right
Close commentsAdd reply

Overcharge
Posted by Beepo on 07/04/2007
TORONTO -- Do NOT ever rent a car from Autowise, an affiliate of Advantage car rental in Canada. I was quoted a price of $274 and ended up paying close to $500. Autowise slaps a mandatory $8.95 mandatory insurance liability charge for everyday of your rental. This is not explained when you rent the car even though you sign a waiver saying you do not want insurance and they assure you that you do not have insurance. On returning the car, they say that you had waived collision insurance but not the mandatory liability insurance that the company requires.

It's a scam and all the customers who came in to return their cars were shocked and upset at having to pay this hidden cost.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by poppapia on 2007-07-05:
How many days did you rent the car? If the only additional charge was the $8.95 "mandatory" insurance, then that means you would have had the car for 25 days.
Posted by Orange on 2007-07-10:
They call themselves advantage car rental or autowisecarrentals. Eveb though they are offsite from Pearson airport they still charge you the very expensive airport tax. I also got nailed with the "obligatory" 8.95/day insurance even though I paid with my credit card that already covers insurance. Overall miserable experience and I will never rent from them again.
Close commentsAdd reply


Failure to honor contract
Posted by B.M. on 06/08/2006
SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- I made a reservation for an economy car with Advantage for my trip with my oldest son to Salt Lake City. (We were going to Zion and Bryce Canyon and so were going to do a lot of travelling and I wanted to economize on gasoline.) I received a confirmed reservation with Advantage for an economy car when I arrived in SLC on May 23rd at 1:30 pm. I was told summarily and quite coldly that only SUVs or vans were available. I could have one of those at the same price, but nothing in between. This, friends, is a classic bait-and-switch maneuver and one that doesn't bode well for any company wanting to continue doing business.

SUVs and vans are notorious gas-guzzlers and I was planning to travel many hundreds of miles. Worse, though, was that Advantage's "contract" was what they wanted it to be when they wanted it.

The stone faced, unfriendly, and very unhelpful clerk-attendant told me that I would have to accept an SUV, a van, or nothing. He was not in any way constructive, sympathetic, or even human. (I might almost say he was instructed by management to employ this shoddy tactic.)

I wanted nothing more to do with them: the principle of the thing really bothered me and I was irate. I cancelled that reservation and made another with another car rental agency on the spot. When I went out to the garage, I looked around at what Advantage had, and they had plenty of economy and compact cars. So much for their credibility and good faith.

Not only did Advantage lose a customer for the day - as I say, I gave business immediately to another company on the basis of that treatment - but forever. I don't honor companies that do such shoddy, unprinciple, unethical and, in fact, quite a bit less than what I expect of an American company. Indeed, I have rented many cars, but have never ever been treated this badly. Advantage is the WORST car rental company I have EVER dealt with from top to bottom.

DON'T DO BUSINESS WITH THEM. YOU'LL REGRET IT.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by dmjar863 on 2006-06-08:
This is the type of post I like to read on My3cents. Because of this post I am less likely to use Advantage car rental. It is not one of those I screwed up and its someone else fault post.
Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2006-06-08:
I would be more likely to use them. They obviously over-booked their compact cars, or perhaps some people kept the cars out longer than planned. In any case, they were willing to upgrade this person to a better class of car at no additional charge.
Posted by Anonymous on 2006-06-08:
I travel to SLC for business all the time. We use to have a corp contract with Advantage and I agree they are the worst. When I used them they were off airport and it was like a Hungarian flea market - I've been put into everything from micro subcompacts to 12 seater transport vans. Our policy is mid-size but seldom to never were those provided. They tried to bill our company for minor chips or cracked windshields when our travelers signed affidavits to the contrary. If you arrive monday morning it takes forever just to get a car. There are very few companies I hate worst then this one. Thanks for the bad memories.
Posted by rhondam718732 on 2006-06-08:
NOT a case of bait n switch! They didn't try to make you pay more for something else...they offered you a better car for the same price. Completely understandable about your wanting to conserve on gas but that $ dorsn't go in their pocket. They should have made good on giving you a sedan and I would be upset too.
Posted by Doc J on 2006-06-09:
I love "robo-clerks", like the one the poster describes, they have a real future in government service positions (particularly Medicare). I swear, if you pulled off the back of their heads...you'd see blinking lights and servo-motors. If I find myself in SLC...I'll avoid Advantage.
Posted by truckin21 on 2007-03-12:
Like the commercials say: "Who do you think we are? HERTZ!!?!! Hugh Jorgen missed your post completely. I just love to see these people answer posts that were never written. They weren't "willing to UP GRADE. All they wanted to do was screw you. They cannot rent the SUV's or Vans because in this age of HIGH PRICED fuel every one wants/needs an economy vehicle. They wind up with all these expensive vehicles sitting around costing them money and not making any so they try to "force" them on people. Stick to your "guns". They either give you what you ordered or you go some place where they will.
Posted by cavaor on 2008-04-27:
Horrible doesnt begin to describe my experience. I had originally reserved a compact car online for the KC Airport. Casey at the service desk informed me that they did not have any cars in this class left (at noon). HOWEVER, for an additional $30/d I could receive what they did have remaining. I rejected the offer and was informed I would have to wait, potentially hours until the next size came in. I chose to wait. In the mean time, I was told I would have to pay $10/d for an additional driver tho the website indicates a military rental would have no added charge for this feature. As I continued to wait, Casey made no attempt to remedy the situation, rather disappearing apparently for break and clearly avoiding the situation. As I was flying on military orders, I did not have the time to play around with this ridiculous situation. In the meantime, I had my husband search online for the available car pricing and found that I could get it for $10 additional for the entire week rental. I then spoke to Hussein who indicated that I would have to pay double the original quote for the next available size rental (which is a different rate than Casey quoted). When I indicated the website quoted a different price, he said I should go ahead and book it, "If its really that cheap". Offended but stranded in Kansas City, I had no other choice. My husband booked the reservation and I promptly left with a rental. Having never rented from Advantage before, I found the customer service non-existent and staff unwilling to try to work with my circumstances. If this is the level of customer service that advantage finds acceptable, its a company I will chose to avoid. Additionally, I will make sure all that I know hear about this experience so that they too may avoid such an unpleasant circumstance.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Deposit Fee of $200.00 Not Returned
Posted by Lemills1699 on 01/30/2013
The car rental agency did not return the $200.00 deposit as promised. When given the information from representatives of my bank, the company gave me the runaround. And this is not the way other companies operate. To date, after 11 days, I have yet to receive the 200.00 deposit back.

Larry
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by trmn8r on 2013-01-31:
Was this a debit card? It could take up to a few weeks to get that back.

One of the advantages of using a credit card is not having to give up your cash for deposits.
Posted by leet60 on 2013-01-31:
Having worked for many companies, in which a deposit or credit needed to be returned to a customer's bank account or debit card, I can say that most often the delay is on the part of your bank or card issuer. 3-5 business days is normally the maximium amount of time it takes a company to forward the funds to your bank, a bank, however, will often hold the funds for an additional period before you receive a credit.
Posted by CrazyRedHead on 2013-01-31:
I voted this helpful cause I don't rent cars from an airport, but now if I ever do I'll know to use my CC and not my DC.
Posted by Gary on 2013-02-11:
I have rented from Advantage before, as they seem to be the most competitive. This time, my receipt states $48.37, but my bill is $248.37. I called their customer service line. The gentleman told me they were associated with Hertz, but as of 1/1/2013, they are not. They now take $200 deposit even with a credit card, and refund in 5 days. This $200 service charge is new, and makes one think twice about using this company. For a couple dollars a day, it seems not to be worth it. I've filed a dispute with my credit card company.
Posted by DL on 2013-08-28:
Just got back from a trip to Dallas, TX. Gary was right. They did charge me $200 for deposit even though I used my credit card to pay for the rental. Let's see how long they refund the deposit...
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Advantage Car Rental = Poor Service
Posted by Astratton3 on 12/23/2012
I made the mistake of choosing Advantage Car Rental. They do everything possible to avoid giving you a receipt when your rental is complete, and their website is deliberately deceptive. They are dishonest and make it difficult to find out the most basic information about your rental.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by hcordAusTX on 2013-05-05:
Not cool to screw with your customers Advantage! Getting a receipt is impossible with your company. I spent 6 phone calls to your Hobby office getting no where with your service agents. I finally had to call into your call center and request a supervisor, Frank. He finally instructed me to send an email to receipts@advantage.com. Why couldn't your company instruct me to do this from the beginning??? I am business traveler and rent every week. I thought I would give Advantage a try but now understand why your company is third-rate rental company.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
False Reports of Car Damage From Advantage
Posted by Bonnieh on 05/30/2012
CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA -- On 01/13/12 we rented a car from Advantage in Charlotte, NC. Had reserved online but when we arrived they tried to charge more than the reservation quote. I insisted that we would pay the reserved costs and was given an upgrade and the correct price. We returned the car on 01/15/012 with 33 miles put on. We had our inspection done and was given the receipt. About 6 wks later we received a call stating that there was damaged done all along the right side and the entire right panels had to be replaced.

When we said we had been checked at the time of return and there was no damage the person thanked us and hung up. In May of 2012 we received a packet in the mail with colored picture, reports and paperwork stating there was a claim for damage of $807 that needed paying immediately. Also in the packet was an incident report that had hand written on the bottom "did not want to sign damage report". THIS WAS A BLATANT LIE. No such thing happened.

After reading the paperwork and looking at the pictures of the odometer, I noticed that the odometer had 35 more miles than when we returned the car. After pointing this out to the person in the claims dept, I was told that they must have needed the car so rented it out before having the repairs made. Lo and behold, after I produced my Advantage check out slip (car returned-no damage) the claimed was closed! I just wonder how many more people does this happen to??? Needless to say, we will never use Advantage again
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by trmn8r on 2012-05-30:
Interesting. "Panels replaced along the right side" to me should cost more than $807.

This story has a happy ending, as I read it. You showed proof of a satisfactory inspection. Most excellent!

The next time I rent a car from anyone, I'm going to be triple-dog careful to have evidence of satisfactory return.
Close commentsAdd reply


I love Advantage Rental Car!!
Posted by Chrissiann on 12/09/2010
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- I made a reservation online for car rental for the best price of $181 for 10 days for an economy car. I copied what I thought was the most pertinent information and printed it out, when I should have printed out exactly what Advantage gave me online and in email. When I printed out my own truncated version, I did not realize that I did not put the name, logo or phone number. I realize how dumb that was of me later.

When we got to our destination at McCarran airport in Las Vegas, we took the free shuttle to the rent a cars place. Lo and behold there were several rent a car places, and when I looked at my printout, I didn't have on there which one I was supposed to go to. So I decided to go to Dollar rent a car.

When I arrived at Dollar counter, I asked if my reservation was with them. They said no, but they can accommodate me with an economy car. They said it would be $350 for 10 days. I said "what? the quote I have from this company is $181!" The Dollar representative said "Well $350 is a good price. I can give you a free upgrade if you like." What do I need a free upgrade for? to pay more gas? So I declined. Then I decided to just check my email and found out it was Advantage who sent me my itinerary.

So I went to the Advantage line, and they had quite a lot of customers in line compared to the other places. I waited in line, and was helped by a very professional and helpful lady. She explained everything to me, asked me if I wanted to pay additional $20 up front so that I don't have to refill the tank when I turn it in. I said OK. (Plus, paying the $20 extra is cheaper than having to pay for a full tank of gas at the end, and I don't have to have the hassle of worrying about filling the tank.)

The Toyota economy car they gave me was beautiful! We had an awesome vacation, beautiful ride, and turning it back in was easy. So the total charge (including the full tank of gas) was about $200 for 10 days rental.

I had such a great experience with Advantage from the ease of making reservation, helpfulness and friendliness of employees from checking out to checking in, and the great price!

I definitely plan to use Advantage again when I need to rent a car, and I will recommend them to everybody!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-12-10:
I am happy to hear you had a great experience, and welcome back, btw.
Posted by kim on 2013-06-04:
i had the same experience and their loss damage waiver is the cheapest in that facility. im happy to hear many ppl are having the same result.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
It Should Be Called Disadvantage
Posted by Debfoxresearch on 02/24/2014
FT. LAUDERDALE AIRPORT, FLORIDA -- We made a reservation to rent a car at Ft. Lauderdale airport last week. We only needed the car to get us to my brother's house and back to the airport. there were 2 cars at the house waiting for us, so we didn't need much. I had reserved a mid-size. When we got to the counter we had to wait for the agent to finish with someone ahead of us. When we got to the counter, he told us he had logged out and the person taking over ran to the restroom. It was late at night and we waited a good 5 minutes for him to return. When he returned, he suggested we upgrade for $10 to an Impala. We said we would upgrade but did not want an Impala.

My dad drove an Impala and had passed away 2 years before that very week, I just didn't want an Impala. At which point, the agent said he did not have a car for us. He said I should have prepaid if I wanted a specific car. I told him I tried to pre-pay but was told it wasn't an option. He called Payless and told us to go upstairs and rent from them. We went upstairs and did rent from Payless and the first car they gave us had a tire problem, so we had to go back to the counter for another car. We had our 2 kids with us and it was late and it took 1 1/2 hours to get a car. The Payless car was fine and we did use it during our stay.

I called Advantage to complain and to be honest they could not have cared less. They said we should have been given an apology coupon and they would have someone contact me and I never heard from them. It is great to have the internet to warn others to avoid Advantage, so they are not at a disadvantage too.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by FoDaddy19 on 2014-02-24:
Did they not have the original mid-sized car you reserved? The way I'm reading this it sounds like they had two cars available. The mid-sized car you reserved and the Impala. In which case they would've had two cars for you to chose from, which is what they were supposed to have in the first place. I don't see how they could've foreseen your aversion to the Impala, and therefore you can't really hold that against them.
Posted by Cwazychicken on 2014-02-26:
In that case, i would've just taken a taxi instead of a rent a car both ways (depending on distance though) or had family help get me there and back.....rent a cars are in it to sucker people it seems.....i would never use one..
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >