Preview Review

Next Review

A & E Factory Service Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Improper Service Repair
By -

GRAND RAPIDS, MICHIGAN -- Filed against A&E Factory Service, 3099 28th St SE, Grand Rapids MI 49512-1667. Complaint description: I had A&E come out to my home to repair a dishwasher. The dishwasher was making a grinding noise 1 1/2 hours into the cycle. The repair guy came out and said we needed a new pump. We authorized the pump and he replaced it. Paid $335.77 total for repair. That night we ran the dishwasher. The same thing - 1 1/2 hours into the cycle the washer began grinding. NO CHANGE. I was furious. I called the company and they rescheduled to come back out over a week later.

Meanwhile I had Apex Appliance repair come out and check my dishwasher the next day. They tested the pump and found that it was not NOT BAD. They said they could not figure out what was wrong with the unit and they did not charge me for the visit. I then put a stop payment on the check after finding out the pump was not bad. Then the second service tech from A&E came out a week later and aplogized for the problem. He determined that the dishwasher needed a new circuit board. I said OK. He ordered the circuit board from my home and told me they would settle up on the billing when they returned to install the circuit board.

The circuit board showed up about a week later. I called and rescheduled for the board to be installed. Then a few days later the THIRD tech from A&E showed up to install the board. His name was **. He determined very quickly that the circuit board was likely not the problem. He said that he could install the board but that it would not make a difference. He said that the drain on our dishwasher did not have a vent and that the water was siphoning out of the washer when it should be holding water.

I told him that I stopped the check from the original pump repair because the pump was not the problem and I offered to pay for the service call for him to determine the drain problem. He said "that this issue should have been resolved by the last two techs from A&E and he would go back to the office to tell them both what the problem was." He also said he was not going to collect for the service call because that it should have been diagnosed the first time a tech was thereby them and that we had waited long enough to have this resolved. He took both the pump and the circuit board back with him and I thought the whole matter was resolved.

That night I installed the vent in the dishwasher drain line and ran the dishwasher and wallah! NO MORE GRINDING! Problem solved!! Now, I am getting collection calls everyday from TRS recovery trying to collect on the stop payment check. Everyday two and three times a day!!! I had called A&E multiple times and they would not call me back to resolve. The collection company won't drop the issue unless A&E drops the issue. I feel that being charged for a repair that was not needed is consumer fraud. I feel that I am also being harassed by a collection company that has no business in this matter. I don't know what else to do.

Your desired resolution: I would like the A&E to follow through on what their last technician said he would do. He said that he would take care of this matter and that there would not be any charges. I also would like the collection company to respond by sending me a confirmation that this matter is resolved.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Business Practices, Delinquent Refund, Gross Overcharge
By -

DOWNEY, CALIFORNIA -- In mid-January I called Whirlpool and requested the name and telephone number of an authorized repair service for my two year old Whirlpool Cabrio Automatic Washer (an $1,000. top-of-the-line washer, the one year factory warranty had expired and the lights were flashing, it would not complete a cycle, etc.). Note: I have learned the local neighbor repairmen are not normally trained to service these computerized appliances. Further, the trained technicians don'€™t appear to have much experience since the appliances are fairly new to the market.

I was referred to A&E Factory Service. The first service call was on 1/17/09. The technician was friendly, had his laptop and all the impressive toys. After inspecting the washer, attempting to run a cycle, reading the manual, calling his in-house technician, he determined it needed a new interface control board ($337 part and labor). He ordered the part to be delivered to my home and scheduled a return visit to install the part. (I also signed up for a 3-year extended warranty after his scary stories of all the things that could go wrong with the appliance = $172, it would not become effective until after the machine was repaired)

Within 4 days a $414 charge was billed against my Vista, balance due upon repair. Upon A&E Service'€™s return visit on 1/27/09 I notified their technician I wanted to keep the part he was going to remove and replace. He said "they"€™ want the part returned. I asked who "€˜they"€™ were. He hesitated and responded, "Whirlpool." I stated, I paid for the part when I purchased the machine. If "€˜they"€™ want it back, "they" can make me an offer. He said he would check his computer he see if the part was required to be returned. We didn'€™t discuss the return of the part again.

He installed the part, there was no improvement in the machine'€™s operation. The technician then determined the initial part was not the problem, rather a part costing more than twice as much was required. I was not willing to invest $557.49 (part and labor) in a two year old washer which is not extensively used (it'€™s only a two person household). I expressed my concern to the technician. He subsequently called his supervisor. A refund of $344.32 was authorized. I was required to pay for a $70 service call. The technician took all parts and packaging.

I was concerned with the quality of my Whirlpool washer and called Whirlpool on 1/28/09 to express my disappointment that a two year old washer would require a $557.49 repair. I learned the part their authorized dealer (A&E Service) was charging $362.58 (plus $29.91 tax) for listed for $161.81 (if Whirlpool retails the part for $161. I assume their authorized dealers would be able to purchase it at a reduced cost (does that mean, A&E Service marks up their parts over 400%). Whirlpool called A&E Service to confirm the part number I had been given was correct. It was!

I also told Whirlpool about the "they"€™ want the used part back story. The Whirlpool person I spoke to was unaware of the policy. I called A&E Service to further inquire about the cost of the part. The only telephone number I had was the number I used to schedule the service. They could provide NO information. I called directory assistance and requested a number based on the business card given to me by the technician -€“ no number was listed. I requested a number based on the address on their receipts - no number was listed. They didn't exist!

I called Whirlpool back and requested the number they had used to verify the part number. On 1/28/09 using the new number I spoke to a couple of people and finally to **, supervisor (**), to no avail. She said she would request a customer relations representative call me (I never received a call back so I still don'€™t know if the price was a mistake or if they inflated the price because I had purchased an extended warranty and they knew this was their last chance for three years to get more money from me. I can'€™t get anyone to discuss the situation with me). During my conversation with **, she did confirm a refund of $344.32 was being processed.

I called again in early February to confirm the refund was being processed - it was confirmed. On 2/25/09 I called A&E Service and ** confirmed the refund was being processed. She did say the hold-up may be that I never called to give them my credit card number. I responded I had given my credit card to their technician on 1/17/09 and 1/27/09, there had been no delay in billing the initial $414.32, how would I know I had to call? They must have the number and if they didn'€™t, why wasn'€™t the number requested in earlier conversations or why didn'€™t they call me? She said she would request a Billing Department representative call me.

On 2/26/09 I spoke to **, A&E Service, Billing Dept. (**). She requested my Visa number. I asked all the "why"€™ questions again,€“ to no avail. I gave her the number and she stated the credit may be posted as early as 2/28/09 to my Visa account. On 3/3/09, after no action from A&E Service, I filed a billing dispute with Visa against A&E Service. A&E Service finally credited my account on 3/6/09 (38 days after the refund was authorized, after several calls initiated by me and I don'€™t know if Visa took any action -€“ Visa'€™s policy allows merchants to take up to 30 days to credit a customer after the refund is authorized).

Good News: When I initially called Whirlpool, they immediately offered me the needed part 50% off their list price (approximately $80 with a no return policy). They were very helpful and courteous to work with. I requested additional authorized service dealers in my area. I was given Dockstader Service, Whittier, CA (562-696-1184). I called and requested the price of a control board.

I was quoted $161.81 - great, an honest repair service! He asked how I knew that was the part I needed. I shared my story. He suggested I obtain the part from Whirlpool at a lesser price and he would come out and install the part for just the cost of the service call $74 since it would only take minutes to install. I called Whirlpool back and after talking to several persons, I was transferred to **, Consumer Relations. I explained my experience with their authorized dealer, A&E Service who I considered a Whirlpool representative since they referred me to them. The fact I had paid $70 and still had a non-functional two year old top-of-the-line washer.

The first part A&E Service said I needed didn'€™t work -€“ how did I know their second suggested part would work, if I paid $80 to Whirlpool for the non-refundable second part and $74 to have it installed, I could be out $224 and still need a new washer. I requested Whirlpool to give me the control board at no cost based on my frustration level and the fact I had spent one complete day on the phone attempting to resolve this situation. ** generously agreed to immediately ship me the part at no cost. I received it within a couple of days. Dockstader Service immediately came out and installed the part for a mere $74. THANK YOU Whirlpool and Dockstader.

Replies
Terrible Customer Service, Stay Away From!!
By -

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- My problems start with buying Maytag products, but ends with their preferred appliance repair company, A&E Factory Service. My complete overall dissatisfaction of how A&E Factory Service treats their customers. Having problems with your appliances is acceptable, their service and attitude towards customers is completely unacceptable behavior. I bought these appliances on Maytag's name alone and though they make a great washers and dryers, their presence in the kitchen appliance department leaves a lot of room for improvement.

I find it in these tough economy times, that Maytag and their preferred service A&E Factory Service (Sears?) can stay in business with the service that they provide. In 2004, I bought all new kitchen appliances from Maytag, right from the beginning the appliances started to break down, mainly with the range and the dishwasher. Somewhere in the range of 3 times each. Dishwasher is now on its 3rd main brain. I now can diagnose the problem better than some of their own techs. I was treated unfairly and rudely, not only by numerous agents, but the supervisors as well. I never wanted anything for free, just wanted them to stand behind your products.

Finally with no help from Maytag, I turned to their “preferred” appliance repair company - A&E Factory Service. I have had nothing but problems with these people and a month later, I am seeking another company to come in and take care of my appliance. Fortunately for me, there are plenty of companies in the appliance business willing to help me out. For this, I am grateful. A&E Factory is now in possession of $158.00 of my money, like a idiot, I paid them up front, thinking they were a reputable business. (Maytag recommended them.) I will try through the court system to get this back.

In closing, buying Maytag has cost me a lot of time, money and frustration. It's not so much about appliances breaking down, it's how their company deals with it. A&E Factory Service is one of the most anti customer service companies I have ever dealt with. Their agents are rude, uncaring, out right lie, never show up for their appointments and from agents, techs, supervisors, just don't give a damn.

What's ironic is after I decided to have someone else come in and fix my problem. A&E Factory Service immediately sent someone over to pick up the part (Maytag had paid for this, not them). The only time I could get them to do something is when it involved their money. I'm still out $158.00! LOL. I would never allow anyone in my house that acted like this. They are bullies and I will deal with them in court. I can only hope for potential new customers, Maytag does the right thing and stand behind their products, but at all cost, stay away from A&E Factory Service, believe me, only head aches and frustration will prevail!!!!

Replies
Worst Service
By -

DES MOINES, IOWA -- I am writing this review as I am unable to locate a website for the company itself. This has to be the worst service I have ever experienced. My elderly mother has an electric Roper stove. Approx 5 weeks ago while she was cleaning her oven she burnt her hand. The element was heating up though the oven was off. After speaking with customer service @ Whirlpool (the makers of Roper) they set up to have a service technician come out at their cost. This was great. The service tech from A&E came out on Saturday Oct. 13th. Well, he was not a stove guy. He worked on washers.

After a couple of calls he was able to determine that it was the element that was bad. The cost of the part was $54... labor to replace $180. Seeing as though it was just a couple of screws & clipping a couple of wires on to the element I could handle this myself. One week later got the part & I installed it. The oven still would not work. I assumed we just got a bad part so I contacted A&E and they set up for another tech to come out at their cost. On Oct 27th another tech came out and found the problem to be a box, I would assume the "brain" of the stove was burnt out. We did not need the element, however since it was their error the part and labor to replace was no charge.

The tech said he would order the part on emergency & rescheduled for himself to come out the following Wednesday. The part did not arrive until Wednesday afternoon so we had to reschedule for the next day. At this point not really a big problem. Thursday comes and they are to be there between 8-12 (large 4 hr window). At 1:30 my mother gets a call that he is 30 minutes away. She waits. At 2:45 she calls the service department to find out what happened and they tell her she was not on the schedule, she was just being worked in & they do not know what happened to that tech but they will have another tech there by the name of ** by 5pm.

5 comes and no tech. She calls back and is told there is no tech by that name she would have to reschedule for Saturday. Of course she is upset and hangs up on them. I call within 5 minutes to schedule the appointment for Saturday. They can not do Saturday would have to be Monday November 5th between 8-12. A tech would call before coming and she must answer or they will not come. Well here we are, my mother waiting for a phone call. At 10AM she opens the curtains on her sliding door to find a note that says "sorry we missed you. We were here at 10AM." No phone call to her or myself (I am the one they were to call for now on).

I contact the service center to get the excuse that she was first on his route and they do not call the first appointment. They did not tell us this, if they had I would have told them they need to call because she may not hear anyone knocking on the door. 10am is their first appointment!

Why tell us between 8-12? Well after 3 request for a supervisor I get a "lead". She tells me she will contact the tech who is at his 2nd appointment, though it has only be 10 minutes since he left the note, to see if he could go back after that appointment instead of end of the day. She will call me right back to let me know what she found out. That was 1hr 45 minutes ago. This has to be the worst service company ever!!! What is a person to do?

Replies
Advertisement
WORST Customer Service EVER
By -

ROUND ROCK, TEXAS -- Less than 3 years ago we purchased appliances at Lowe's (washer and dryer). We also purchased the extended warranty offered. On July 2nd, my dryer quit heating so I called the company on the brochure to submit a request for repair. I was told that the next available appointment wasn't until July 12th so I scheduled for the 8-12 time slot. Having a family of 5, I wasn't thrilled with the idea of going so long without a dryer and having to haul my 8 month old BABY to the dirty laundromat but I didn't have any other options..

July 12th, the technician finally shows up at my house shortly before noon. I had to run and pick up my son from swimming lessons and when I returned the tech said that he had figured out the problem - it was indeed the heating element. I thought "well duh" - THEN he proceeds to tell me that he has to order the part!!!! When I questioned him as to why they wouldn't carry the parts with them he said that the "company" doesn't want to spend the money to ship the parts until they know what part they are going to need because if it wasn't the heating element, the "company" would have to spend the money to return the part!

The poor guy probably feared for his life at this point, he said that he "emergency ordered" the part and that it would ship directly to me in 2 days or perhaps 1 week... he didn't know. THEN he told me that the next available appointment in our area wasn't until August 2nd. This would mean that I will be without a dryer for an entire month. Are you kidding me???

He told me that I would have to call the "company" to try to get the date moved up. He also indicated that A&E Factory Service is actually owned by Sears... so on the days he works on a product purchased at Lowe's, he wears his A&E uniform and hands out those business cards, but when he works on Sears items, he wears that uniform/business cards.

After he left, I called the number on the A&E card. Spoke with three different people (repeating my story three times) about my disappointing situation... the final person being a "manager" at some call center in who-knows-where who basically told me that there was no way to speed up the process, track the part, etc. I mean seriously, these people could not care less. I then find out that the part (remember the "emergency order"?) won't be here until maybe July 20th. Maybe before but no guarantees.... Ugh! I'm so frustrated by this point.

The lady tells me that she can't even schedule my appointment until tomorrow (July 13th) and that I would have to call back then. I asked her if there was a way I could contact her again so that I didn't have to go through the agony of explaining my situation another 5 or 6 times. No of course not. So today (July 13th) I have spent a great portion of my day trying to get somewhere with these crooks. I have called Sears, and then they transferred me to A&E because I'm sure they got tired of listening to me complain and ask such pesky questions about the service I paid for but wasn't getting... A&E (call center again) was no help either.

Meanwhile, the laundry piles up and I have to make another trip to the laundromat. As I read other reviews about this company I'm just saddened by the fact that we as consumers are being ripped off by these huge companies like Sears and Lowe's. We go there because they offer a better deal than the smaller hometown guy but we end up paying MORE in the long run because these big companies don't CARE about us.

The absurdity of the situation is insane. I have no idea where the technician had to drive from because we live in outstate Minnesota (rural) but how efficient is it for him to have to make this journey TWICE? I'm guessing that it would have been cheaper to pay the shipping for the part and then they'd actually have a slightly-less-offended customer. I really can't say enough about how disappointed I am by this company's service. I should add that in defense of the technician... he was very nice and professional. It's not his fault that these companies have no idea what they are doing.

Replies
Worst Customer Service You Will Ever Get
By -

(To start I have way more disappointment with A&E customer support than I do with the techs that installed the broken tub while being watched and timed by a QC lady. I would never use this service again since they feel no need to correct problems they make.)

Called for service because our front-load washing machine was making noises and is under warranty. A&E shows up a week later and said they needed to order a new half tub & new basket to replace bearings. Parts showed up at my house 3 days later. Called A&E to let them know parts are here and they made us wait almost another week to send the guys out to repair the washer. Day after the techs leave we turn on the washer to find out the thing is dumping water all over the floor. Called A&E again and was told it was just a loose connection they would send a tech out next week to look at it.

I pulled off the front cover to see if it was a loose connection just to find ground wires hanging, they never hooked back up and the side of the NEW half tub they put in had a chunk missing along with big cracks. (No pieces in the washer so it was broke when they installed it.) Called A&E again and told them what the problem was and the lady got very rude and said it was not the techs problem if the parts were broke out of the box. (They installed them & this is no small piece or crack.) They set up another day for 1 week later after I requested a different tech they sent out the same guy again. He looked at the washer said "I'll order more parts" and left again.

Next day we get parts I called A&E again and was told they would send someone out in a week to repair the washer. I then asked the lady why it was that A&E's repair people took my washing machine from making a little noise to not working at all and it's taking them weeks to fix it? Without missing a beat she asked if there was any other appliances I would like them to repair when they came back to fix the washing machine they put broken parts in. I told her I would never use there service again.

I have also called Maytag about this and was told once I purchased the machine it was not Maytag's problem but the warranty service provider's problem. (Spent $1000.00 for a washer that's always broke.) The lady at Maytag told me they make a very good product and when I pointed out the 1,000's of complaints on the Internet I was told "that's just people opinions and has nothing to do with the quality of Maytag".

All I can say is think twice before you ever buy Maytag or use A&E repair. The customer service at both places is just simple pathetic and it makes no since that A&E can install parts that even the customer can see is broken and they don't feel the need to get the issue resolved without taking 2 more weeks to do so.

Replies
Avoid A&E Factory Service Like The Plague - Tell Maytag You Will Not Get Warranty Service From This Company
By -

The newly renovated home I purchased in September, 2009 came equipped with a brand-new Maytag side-by-side stainless steel refrigerator with water & ice dispenser. Several weeks ago, I contacted Maytag to report that the water line to the ice maker was leaking, spreading ice throughout my freezer. Even with the leak, however, the icemaker was working well, producing and dispensing a great deal of ice. The polite customer service representative scheduled me for an appointment with A&E factory service, with an 8-hour service window on a weekday.

I agreed to the appointment and took time off to meet the technician on the date of the appointment. The technician performed the repair and explained that the icemaker was out of alignment, causing the leak. By the next morning, no ice had been made, nor has there for almost three weeks.

Since then, I attempted to call the technician back on the cell phone numerous times and he has not called me back. I spoke daily with A&E customer service to have the technician call me and fix the icemaker. I booked another appointment with the technician agreed to come by my home to check on the problem at my home at 5PM. At 3:53 PM, the technician called me to tell me he was "done" for the day. I told him that I was in my office and that we had agreed, that day, to meet merely one hour from then. He said "€œwell, I'm done so I'€™ll just order another icemaker and bring it over next Saturday"€ (a week and a half following that date).

I called ** at A&E escalations and complained about the unprofessional nature of the technician, and said that the icemaker had been working before the initial service appointment. A week and a half later, after daily calls with A&E customer service and taking yet another ½ day from work, the original technician (against my request) was sent to my home and changed out the icemaker which has still not produced any ice.

They then called to say I was scheduled between 8 and 5 (9 HOURS!!!) the next day for service and despite my numerous requests to respect my busy work schedule (how else does one afford to buy new appliances?), a technician who DID NOT SPEAK ENGLISH called me at 10 AM on a Wednesday to tell me he would be at my home in a few minutes. I was in a meeting and could not run home to accommodate this man, so I had to call back the escalations department in Texas to reschedule for Friday. At the time of my writing this, this simple repair has still not been fixed.

I cannot begin express my displeasure with A&E factory service, who took a relatively routine repair and caused a complete malfunction of an almost brand-new icemaker. Furthermore, I am extremely disappointed with the professionalism and lack of communication displayed by the local unit here in the Philadelphia area in showing less respect then the cable company in scheduling appointments. I suggest everyone refuse to be serviced by A&E when calling Maytag/Whirlpool, so that may be they can stop contracting with these total wastes of space.

FOLLOW-UP: Maytag corporate and I had a long conversation and extended my warranty as well as sending a locally owned company to make the repair this week. They told me that the A&E contract was expiring soon and they may be "nailing their own coffin" (a direct quote). Coincidentally, ** from A&E contacted me through my post on the Complaints Board website soon after my post and said she'd have someone from the local unit call me (something I had requested through their escalation department over 5 times with no response).

Then, someone from A&E (only identifying herself as being from A&E, not giving her name, called from **), proceeded to got my name wrong twice, and proceeded to get in an argument with me as she took exception with my apparently calling her non-English speaking technician "stupid" while on the phone with their escalations department in Texas. She then told me it was good that Maytag assigned another company to perform the job (why would anyone in this economy want to work?) because she didn't want to call me anyway and hung up on me.

In a time where people are out there looking for work and looking to do a quality job, it's a shame that companies like this can get major contracts. Stay away - they are absolutely terrible.

Replies
A&E Service Complaint
By -

MEMPHIS, TENNESSEE -- This has to be the worst service I have ever experienced. I have a Maytag refrigerator. I recent had both a warranty call as well as a product recall scheduled. The warranty call was scheduled by Maytag who unfortunately uses A&E service. The recall I scheduled through the number given for the Maytag recall. The recall was totally automated and you can not talk to a human and it does not give you a number to call. Both calls were scheduled for the same day. The automated call to confirm the two separate calls was done and confirm to by in the 8 to noon time range.

At one o'clock I called and complained that no one has showed up. The call tech then cancelled the first call and supposedly called the repair person to contact me and put me higher in the later schedule. Two hours later I called again since I had not been contacted. Now they only show the warranty call and try to tell me I was wrong. I again requested to be contacted and still no call. Finally showed up as last run of the day and no parts for the warranty work which show have had a tech follow up call. Next week again and we only got the recall item fixed first 8 hours I waited.

After speaking with customer service @ Whirlpool (the makers of Roper) they set up to have a service technician come out at their cost. This was great. The service tech from A&E came out on Saturday Oct. 13th. Well, he was not a stove guy. He worked on washers. After a couple of calls he was able to determine that it was the element that was bad. The cost of the part was $54... labor to replace $180. Seeing as though it was just a couple of screws & clipping a couple of wires on to the element I could handle this myself. One week later got the part & I installed it. The oven still would not work.

I assumed we just got a bad part so I contacted A&E and they set up for another tech to come out at their cost. On Oct 27th another tech came out and found the problem to be a box, I would assume the "brain" of the stove was burnt out. We did not need the element, however since it was their error the part and labor to replace was no charge. The tech said he would order the part on emergency & rescheduled for himself to come out the following Wednesday. The part did not arrive until Wednesday afternoon so we had to reschedule for the next day. At this point not really a big problem. Thursday comes and they are to be there between 8-12 (large 4 hr window).

At 1:30 my mother gets a call that he is 30 minutes away. She waits. At 2:45 she calls the service department to find out what happened and they tell her she was not on the schedule, she was just being worked in & they do not know what happened to that tech but they will have another tech thereby the name of ** by 5pm.

Replies
Advertisement
The Complete Saga
By -

CHATTANOOGA, TENNESSEE -- Originally posted on 4/21/2009. I purchased a new oven at HHGregg. When it was delivered to my house on April 1, it was delivered with a broken control panel. This means I have not been able to set the clock or control the cooking temperature on my oven for 20 days. The only assistance they have offered is a minimal refund and A&E repair service. I invite you to read my review of their service!

This is the worst company I have dealt within customer relations. April 7 a technician came to my house to repair an oven that had been delivered on April 1 by HHGregg. The technician took pictures of the model and serial numbers of our oven and used that to order a part. He told my husband that he would return the following Tuesday.

So on Tuesday, April 14 we received a call asking if we had our part yet. My husband said no and they rescheduled our appointment. When UPS finally delivered the part that evening at 5:30 it was the wrong part. So I called the 800 number to attempt to talk with someone. After speaking with 2 people I was finally able to talk with someone who said he was going to have the parts department send the correct part and that it would arrive in 7 days.

Later in the evening, around 8 pm, the rescheduling department called me and wanted to reschedule. The lady on the phone told me that her job was to call and reschedule missed appointments and that she could not answer any of my questions. Two days later I was contacted by the company wanting to send another tech to my house to take another picture of my oven so that they could reorder the part. So I called the 800 number again. Again after talking with 2 different people, I was finally able to speak with someone who helped me. However, the most help she was able to offer me was to have a local manager in my area call me.

The manager finally returned my call. She couldn't accept that we had the wrong part. I finally said "the control panel you ordered has tactile buttons and my over is a touch screen. The panel you ordered only has 6 buttons and mine has 28, and you ordered a Maytag and my oven is a Samsung." So at this point she finally realized that I was correct, but I still had to convince her that she had the necessary information in her office to order the part without the need to send another tech to my house.

This was Thursday, April 16. She ordered the part to be expedited to me through UPS and scheduled for a Saturday appointment that I had been told earlier in the week was not available in my area. Yesterday, Monday, April 20, there still had not been a part delivered to my house. I called the 800 number and was told that it had been "shipped" according to their system, but there is no way to track it. I then called my local manager back who also could not track the part that she claimed she had ordered to be delivered within 3 business days. She told me she would have an answer for me by 9:30 the next day.

I am still waiting and it is past 9:30. In fact, I called her and left a message at 9:30 and still have not heard anything. I guess this is going to be day 21 of having a brand new oven sitting in my house that does not work. My advice is to stay away from HHGregg and A&E.

Since my post I have been yelled at on the phone by the local manager for asking too many questions regarding the delivery of my part, I have spoken with her supervisor's assistant in Nashville, I have spoken with One Source, and the customer information Team (CIT) at the A&E 800 number. None of which have been able to tell me anything or do anything to help me other than to confirm that my part was shipped today (rather than yesterday as I was told by **, the local manager, last night), and that my part will be delivered Thursday! All I want is a little understanding and someone to make this experience better.

Originally posted 4/24/2009 (modified version here): Here we go! On Tuesday I was told that my oven part would come on Thursday, and this is Friday... no part! On Wednesday I called the Bax Global company based in Atlanta, GA that was responsible for the shipping of my part. The lady I spoke with on the phone had no clue what was going on because she couldn't find the tracking number I had been given in her computer. Odd, I thought. But, I let it go.

So yesterday I anxiously awaited for UPS to drive by, but before they did my phone rings. It was ** from the Nashville, TN office of A&E. He was giving me a courtesy call to let me know that there was a mishap with my part. He says "the part missed the truck in LA and will not arrive to your house until tomorrow". His only response to the torture this company has put me through was "this is the shipping company's fault not ours ma'am and I apologize for your inconvenience." His mother should have taught him how to properly apologize because I assure you I was not feeling empathy or sympathy from him.

And as we as humans know an apology is meaningless unless there is sincerity expressed. As I hung up the phone with him my other phone rang. It was the owner of Bax Global calling. This is great!!! He was calling to let me know that "there was some miscommunication with your freight. It was mistakenly shipped to Texas. We are going to do our best to have it delivered to our distribution center in your area tomorrow." However, this did not tell me when the distribution center would be able to deliver the part or when we would be able to reschedule a technician to come to our house to completely remedy this problem.

So that is when I began trying to call HHGregg again, and I called Samsung. Samsung offered to have the oven fixed by a local company and began the process for this. So I called my friend ** to let her know that I would not be needing her service after all and I canceled my work order with her company.

I will keep updating until the oven is working. So far the new company and Samsung have been exceptional to work with. Within 5 minutes of ending my phone call with ** I received an email confirming my problem and their solution. The email even included ALL of the contact information for **, Samsung, and our repair company. Who knew you could work with customers so well!!!

Wait!!! I forgot something hilarious. The technician showed up while I was on the phone with **. He actually told my husband that the wrong part was ordered on April 7 because the tech didn't look up the correct part number. He said, "he has had to order a bunch of those for ovens so he thought that he knew the number and didn't look it up before he ordered it". What quality service technicians this company offers! So the moral of the story is consumer beware of companies that lack honesty, integrity, and humanity.

Replies
Appliance Service
By -

ALEXANDRIA, VIRGINIA -- I completely agree. A&E and Sears/Whirlpool are a complete disaster. We're on week four for our service request on a Whirlpool Duet dryer that is only six months old. The short story is A&E came in to fix one thing on our dryer and blew out our heating element and that part is six weeks away according to A&E. So between October 1st and mid-December we will be without a dryer. (Keep these stories in mind when Whirlpool asks you if you want to extend your warranty for $100+ a year...their service stinks and it's worth the frustration.)

End result is still to come...but we got tired of the run around and ordered the parts from Sears Direct (which is where A&E Sears gets their parts) and it should be here tomorrow, not December. There is a big difference between October 30th and December 15th when you're waiting for a part to fix your dryer.

Full story: our dryer broke with an F25 Thermistor error and it took a week to get A&E Service (Sears and Whirlpool) to our house between 8 am and 12 pm (arriving at 3:30 pm). They told us we needed X, Y, Z parts. The parts took a week to arrive and they were shipped from a place that was only 20 miles away (but we're not allowed to pick them up and they won't pick them up for us either).

Then another week for them to come back to fix the machine (week 3). In week three they finally showed up at 3:00 pm (for a 8 am -12 pm window) and a different technician said "These are all the wrong parts. The person that ordered these didn't know what he was doing."

This guy said that all that was broken was a safety switch and that he could permanently bypass the switch so we never have the problem again. I asked if it was safe to bypass this and he said that as long as I keep an eye on the dryer and make sure it doesn't get too hot, it would be fine. I expressed my desire to keep my house from burning down and would prefer he just fix the part. After he tried to convince (bully) me for a few minutes, he finally gave up and said he could fix it a different way and replaced our thermal fuse. I now know that this was a temporary fix for him to get out the door.

The dryer worked for two loads and then died again...A & E came back a week later...yet again a different guy and he said "the previous guy didn't ground your machine properly and blew out your heating element." This heating element is out of stock and won't be available until mid-December.

HERE IS THE FUN PART: After complaining to A&E (owned by SEARS) for breaking everything...we calmed down and did some research. I figured out who they order parts from - SEARS Parts and SEARS Parts Direct (.com). I called SEARS and they can ship the part the same day and even overnight it to us, but A&E will only talk to FSP Appliance Parts (also owned by SEARS) and A&E says they don't have a phone number for FSP Parts.

So I found the address for FSP and did some web research...figured out that the number for FSP Parts (AKA Sears Roebuck Parts Dept.) in Glen Burnie, MD and called them. The part can be shipped from Texas and arrive in 7-10 days. Still a long time, but much better than A&E six weeks + one week to get a technician to come.

End result is still to come...but we got tired of the run around and ordered the parts from Sears Direct. It should be here tomorrow. There is a big difference between October 30th and December 15th when you're waiting for a part to fix your dryer.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

A & E Factory Service Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 38 ratings and
92 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
A & E Factory Service
1300 Louis Henna Blvd
Round Rock, TX 78665
1-800-905-9505 (ph)
www.aefactoryservice.com
Compare Warranty Services