[X]

Aerotek

Star Star Star Star Star
5.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
2 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarStarStarStarStar
Aerotek Recruiter - Meghan Lavender
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
COLUMBIA, MARYLAND -- Meghan Lavender was absolutely an awesome recruiter. She genuinely cares about the individual that she is working with/for. I most admire her willingness to listen, her capacity to empathize, and the desire to help when things get sticky. She is very positive, has tried to be as helpful as possible, and always provides words of encouragement. Meghan is always on top of things, cheerful, professional, sweet, and an advocates. She never give up on me and has bend over backwards to ensure that she find a good match for me efficiently; she ensure the match is based on my career, and not just my resume. I am very blessed to have Meghan as my recruiter. I cannot say enough good things about her. I hope to be able to keep in contact and hopefully have the opportunity to work within the future.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Mislead By Recruiter
Posted by on
CHAMBERSBURG, PENNSYLVANIA -- I'm going to try to keep this as clean and as short as possible. I had my resume on a job seeking site and was contacted by a recruter for Aerotek staffing in. He said I fit the criteria for a job opening for a company (1hr.45min. away from my home) I said right away that the max hourly wage for the job would not cover my overnight stay and/or per diem. Which he said he would look into. After trading contact and scheduling info, an interview was established, 2 and a half hours away. I made it clear I didn't want to waste anyones time. He called me the day before the interview and said the "client" was willing to pay a "significantly higher wage than the one posted on the add". That gave me the incentive to go to the interview, during which the "client" had no idea I was coming from so far away and that I was looking for overnight accomidations and/or per diem on top of the hourly wage posted. I was very angry and I still am since I was basically told what I wanted to hear so I would go to the interview.

The client was also misinformed but the only thing he lost was 5 minutes of his time. Figuring my time, mileage, gas and food, the trip cost me aroung $170. All because a recruter lied to me. DO NOT TRUST AEROTEK.
     
Read 15 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

goduke on 2009-06-22:
I'm not seeing how the recruiter lied. The recruiter never said the potential employer was going to be willing to pay for lodging or a per diem. The recruiter did say, however, that the potential employer was willing to pay more than was listed in the ad, so that you'd be able to pay for that yourself.

When the subject came up, rather than going into the expectation that the employer would pay to put you up in lodging, you may have been best served to say something like, "if we're able to come to an agreement, I can make it work."

Recruiters are always going to spin in order to get you and the client talking to each other. That's how they make dollars.
madconsumer on 2009-06-22:
you expected overnight accommodations for a 4 hour round trip interview? was this a management position? in our company, only time we pay for accommodations is when "we" ask the person to come interview, then it is rarely.
Anonymous on 2009-06-22:
Good question, Madc.
PepperElf on 2009-06-22:
I was job searching before I decided to go back to college

Mom asked me the same thing.... if the companies would pay my way for me to go to them for an interview.

I had a realistic outlook on it... "No. That's the kind of thing they only do for their highest level positions."
snipsntongs on 2009-06-22:
First off. I wanted overnight accommodations in the same town the jobsite was in. Not to go to the interview. I have NEVER heard of anyone commuting four hours a day. He did lie when he said the employer would pay more because when I mentioned it in the interview, the employer looked as if he had no knowledge of a higher wage. Maybe that's why the recruiter said, and I quote, "keep this between you and I." What Goduke calls "spin" I call "lying." Either way it was misleading and that is what the whole thing is about. Being mislead.
jktshff1 on 2009-06-22:
Well scooter, ya heard about it now. When I was much younger, I used to commute @ 2 hrs one way. 'Course, I made pretty good bucks doing it.
PepperElf on 2009-06-22:
snip - it's not the company's job to find you housing
unless you're at the top of the food chain it's your responsibility to find that yourself


if you check with any resume-writers or people who assist in job hunting, they'll tell you the same thing.

only the top execs and VIPs etc will get assistance in finding housing / accommodations.


JKT - and I've known guys in the military who did a 2 hour commute because they lived right across the state border (North Carolina where houses were cheaper) but worked in Norfolk.
BokiBean on 2009-06-22:
That's not exactly true. A lot of construction guys get per diem and they get set up in hotels to work far from home. Depends on the job. Depends on the company.
madconsumer on 2009-06-22:
was this an interview or actual work? if for work, I would have a different answer. I understood your issue was related to an interview.

BokiBean on 2009-06-22:
No, he was talking about whether they would pay him to stay over if he got the job..not for the interview.
PepperElf on 2009-06-23:
good point boki - but I don't think he was a displaced construction worker either.

it sounds like someone who just wants freebies from the job so he doesn't have to move.
BokiBean on 2009-06-23:
I wouldn't call per diem a freebie from an employer. Its standard industry practice for some jobs without enough bodies to hire in the area. Construction was just a quick example.

My husband gets headhunted like this several times a year. He's had offers to move anywhere from Mexico to Alaska and lately, several offers for the middle east.

Anywhere we agreed to go like this, they would move us, comp us for at least the first month getting settled in, and that's just standard, and expected. If he has to travel to a specific job, and there's distance involved, he's compensated.

He's not in construction nor is he at the top of the food chain, he's just in a very specialized field, with not enough people to go around.

And I don't think this OP is mad at the employer at all. It was the headhunter who gave him bs information to get a body down there to interview. These recruiters can make good money hooking up the right person with the right job, but this one sounds kind of like a used car salesman. A little desperate.

He was letting the recruiter know that a two hour drive both ways wouldn't work for him, and the recruiter was fudging the facts to get a body down there to interview.

The bad thing is..headhunters lie. And this OP had to find out the hard way.
snipsntongs on 2009-06-23:
let me clear this up for PepperElf. I am a twelve year veteran in the hvac sheet metal trade. I hold two certificates(2 years each). My average pay is around 40,000 a year(depending on O.T.).19-20 bucks an hour. Top wage they were offering was $18. If I were to pay my own overnight stay, which is a write off for most companies, I may as well bag groceries in my home town. Freebies from a job PepperElf? Who said anything about moving? They called ME!
PepperElf on 2009-06-23:
O wait... when you said "vet" I automatically thought military. hah.


so editing my post...


I guess it all depends on if the job is worth the move and the commute. although they called you, jobs are not as easy to come by for many people. they might not be willing to afford paying you extra for the commute or for accommodations, not if they can get someone who's willing to move.


and yes, they called you... but that doesn't mean they're automatically going to offer accommodations etc.
Anonymous on 2009-06-23:
snips you have a valid complaint. anyone with any amount of knowledge whatsoever knows there are plenty of employers out there that do indeed pay per diem as well as lodging expenses and you don't have to be a top exec to get it. heck my own son works for a survey outfit in the midwest, makes a measly 10/hr as a grunt but still gets a per diem and his lodging paid for.

this recruiter took advantage of you and wasted your time. lodge a complaint with aeortek directly if you can. (vh)
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >