Air Wick

1 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Vehicle Interior Damage Caused By An Air Freshener? Oh Yes...It's True.
Posted by on
I couldn't make this a complaint against Air Wick because admittedly, the wrapper on the Air Wick car freshener I purchased a few days ago does state to not let the air freshener come in contact with your dashboard. I just didn't read it until after the fact...go figure.

I have enough things hanging from the rear view mirror, so I hung the car freshener on one of the music adjustment knobs and thought nothing of it. It wasn't until today that I noticed it caused a plastic part of my vehicle's interior to shrivel up and look somewhat like a burn mark.

It's even in the shape of the leaf!! Kind of cute, huh?

Not.

Beware!! Read the directions on everything!

At least my car smells nice =D
     
Read 39 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
tnchuck100 on 09/13/2010:
Flexanimous Fellow: Good review.

Admin: Please get a handle on these ridiculous picture sizes that screw up the format!

Venice09 on 09/13/2010:
There's another product that completely ruins dashboards. I've read a lot of complaints about it, but I don't remember the name. It as oil in it that leaks.

I'm surprised the product in the picture did so much damage. It looks harmless. Good advice about always reading directions.
MRM on 09/13/2010:
Thank you, Flex, for alerting your readers about this innocent looking freshner!
Anonymous on 09/13/2010:
What a horribly expensive lesson to learn. Thanks for the warning, Flex.
rockfishing on 09/13/2010:
I wonder what that stuff does to your lungs. Anything that eats your dashboard can't be good.
Anonymous on 09/13/2010:
True, rock! I never use air fresheners that aren't made of natural substances for that very reason!
Anonymous on 09/13/2010:
Ah! I never even though of that, Rockfishing!

GenuineNerd on 09/13/2010:
Those car deodorizers that look like pine trees can do this as well.
Anonymous on 09/13/2010:
Wow.
I have always used the canned scents or the "pine trees" but would never have them come in contact with the upohlstery of the car or where they would be in direct contact with sunlight.
Thanks for the warning.
Anonymous on 09/13/2010:
I use dryer sheets as an air freshener for my car
Anonymous on 09/13/2010:
That is a good idea. By the air vents on the floor I presume?
CrazyRedHead on 09/13/2010:
I know that the size can be a bit annoying, especially when it does mess up the format, but I think this picture does what the op is saying justice. It shows in good detail the problem. Either that or I'm just getting old and blind.

Also having a lot of stuff hanging from your rear view mirror is considered a distraction.
momsey on 09/13/2010:
Same thing happened to our fairly new truck, when my husband put one of the tree air fresheners leaning against a plastic part of the car. Makes me mad every time I see it. But I'm mad at my husband, not really at the company that made the air freshener. I know it's just chemicals and he should have known better!

yaya, my mom used to do the same thing.
MRM on 09/13/2010:
Putting a freshner in trucks or Jeeps is not very manly at all.
Anonymous on 09/13/2010:
Out here you can get a ticket for "Driving With An Obtructed View" for having an object hanging from the mirror.
Anonymous on 09/13/2010:
Okay, why do people need air freshener's in their cars?
Anonymous on 09/13/2010:
Singsing, you must be reading my mind. Good question.
momsey on 09/13/2010:
LOL, MRM. It's not really a truck, it's a Ford Escape Hybrid. Can't say that's a very manly car.

singsing and Dryad...we have a two year old and two dogs. The car can get that "not so fresh" smell to it.
Anonymous on 09/13/2010:
What a bummer..thanks for the info!
Anonymous on 09/13/2010:
Okay, momsey, that's a good reason. But, when my kids were young and we had our golden retriever in the car (who always smelled), we still didn't use one. I never even though of it. No wonder no one wanted to ride in our car, lol.
Anonymous on 09/13/2010:
People smoke in my car. That's why I need air freshner.
jktshff1 on 09/13/2010:
singsing...old fart's maybe? lol
Anonymous on 09/13/2010:
No smoking is allowed in my car or in my house. It's just not healthy to breathe that stuff. Plus, it does ruin your upholstery and carpets. Just say no.
Anonymous on 09/13/2010:
jkt, lol. I say open the windows and air that thing out!
Anonymous on 09/13/2010:
In AZ, the heat can also make the inside of your car smell weird
Lifemates on 09/13/2010:
That picture really gets the point across. It makes me wounder what kind of chemicals they put in that thing to begin with. I mean if it can cause such damage to the car, do you really want to be breathing that stuff in. It might make the car smell good but what about health. It must have some really nasty stuff in there and consumers are breathing it in each time that they enter their car.
Venice09 on 09/13/2010:
Sing, smoking is not allowed in my car or house either. Once that smell gets into things, you never get rid of it.

I have never used air freshener, but I understand why people do. My son doesn't smoke but his car has a mixture of smells that I can't even identify. A forest of Little Trees wouldn't even make a dent!
Skye on 09/13/2010:
Years ago, I hung a seashell air freshener in my car, on the door handle, and it also left a seashell pattern on the door panel. I always thought it happened from the heat and humidity of Long Island.

Good review.
ok4now on 09/13/2010:
Who actually reads the warning label on an air freshener? I would have done the same thing and just hung it up. Good Review.
papajoe on 09/14/2010:
rockfish makes a good point by wondering what it does to your lungs. The molecular structure of plastic and human tissue are fairly close. Don't believe me? - ask a chemist.
Anonymous on 09/14/2010:
I believe!
MRM on 09/14/2010:
I'm glad I stuck to my motto by saying that putting air freshners in trucks and Jeeps is not very manly!
Anonymous on 09/14/2010:
Yes, MRM, stick to your convictions! And, as a bonus, you also won't damage your lungs.
CrazyRedHead on 09/14/2010:
Manly men also smell, especially when doing manly things. Old Spice, baby!
heliot52 on 09/15/2010:
LOL! For those who don't know why anyone would need an airfreshener in their car, just take a ride with my son when he has his hockey gear loaded in it.
wickedoff2 on 08/04/2012:
Hi I just presently purchased the Air Wick car plug in to the air vents and the same happened started to leak and burnt all dash they clearly picture were to fix too, so they should have more warnings as I definitely wouldn't of bought this due to mess it has made. :-(
Vickie on 05/25/2013:
I had the same issue in my new car except I had it attached to the air vents as stated, it leaked out and ruined the buttons on my CD changer. I am so angry that I plan on posting this everywhere I can...
MrsGekko on 08/12/2013:
Have just experienced this with my car, have sent estimate to manufacturer of air freshener, will let you know if they will pay for the damage. Nothing on the packaging to say it could cause any damage.
joe on 10/10/2013:
I used pine trees for years, my truck is 2011 2500 duromax ,NOT CHEAP two parts of my dash are ruined I'm boiling mad whos paying for that ,oh let me guess ,ME ,sept 10 2013
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >