[X]

AJRichies

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
4 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
BUYER BEWARE if buying from Ajrichies.com
Posted by Mich216 on 01/25/2012
BROOKLYN, NEW YORK -- "UPDATE; January 31th,2012
After posting this review, I received an email from Gene,... says he is the manager and was inquiring about the negative review and wanted to see if there was anything he could do to make things right. He said he would be willing to issue an $85.00 credit to my credit card if I would revise my previous review while he had me on line. I asked for a confirmation email regarding the credit and here is what he sent along with a Confirmation number:

** As per our conversation we will credit you $85 immediately.
Gene **
After I wrote this review and filed a complaint against Ajrichies.com at; http://www.resellerratings.com/store/AjRichard
they were willing to work with me to resolve part of the issue.
This review is being submitted pending receipt of an $85.00 credit that they,(Ajrichies.com (Formerly: Ajrichard.com) have promised to reimburse me. At least that will cover half of my loss. mich216
--------------------------------------------------------------------Do NOT purchase anything from Ajrichies.com (formerly: Ajrichard.com) "BUYER BEWARE!!! Proceed with caution!! These folks are scam artists and need reported to the New York State Attorney Generals Office for fraudulent business practices! This type of practice should be illegal! There was no easy way for me to explain to my husband how I got so dooped/scammed, so badly by the Ajrichies customer service dept!! If you just HAVE to be foolish enough to place an order with them,.. Proceed with caution and do NOT call them until your order has been shipped!! PLEASE DO YOUR RESEARCH FIRST!!
I wish I would have checked reviews on this retailer first. I now see that other people have had similar complaints about them.
Just go to
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/AjRichard
to see other customers reviews on this business.
This was my first purchase at Ajrichies.com,(formerly: Ajrichard.com) The only reason I bought the item there and not Amazon.com or BestBuy was Ajrichies had the item on sale and I thought I could save 20.00. Anyways, I went through the checkout. My credit card charge had been approved ''INSTANTLY'' and then several days later Ajrichies sent me an e-mail stating that if I did NOT contact them to confirm my order that my order would be canceled. Needless to say I made my second mistake by calling them to confirm my order. Their customer/sales representative was a very deceptive sales person!! He convinced me that I NEEDED additional and special items for this camera that I would NOT be able to purchase at Walmart or BestBuy. I ended up being SCAMMED and deceived into buying an additional $161.00 worth of items/accessories that I did NOT need. There was no easy way for me to explain to my husband how I got so dooped/scammed, so badly by the Ajrichies customer service dept!! I feel sooo stupid to have fallen for his lying sales pich! I will never again purchase from this retailer and can NOT ever recommend them! SAD. Very deceptive way to run a business,... they will not be in operation much longer if this is how they continue to run their business!
I will post bad reviews for this company,... EVERWHERE!!! "

     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Alain on 2012-01-27:
This company does have mixed reviews. There doesn't seem to be any middle ground. People either really dislike them or recommend them. They also seem to be associated with a site called 'ibuydigital'. Using them with caution sounds reasonable.
Posted by mich216 on 2012-01-31:
"UPDATE; January 31th,2012
After posting this review, I received an email from Gene,... says he is the manager and was inquiring about the negative review and wanted to see if there was anything he could do to make things right. He said he would be willing to issue an $85.00 credit to my credit card if I would revise my previous review while he had me on line. I asked for a confirmation email regarding the credit and here is what he sent along with a Confirmation number:

** As per our conversation we will credit you $85 immediately.
Gene **
After I wrote this review and filed a complaint against Ajrichies.com at; http://www.resellerratings.com/store/AjRichard
they were willing to work with me to resolve part of the issue.
This review is being submitted pending receipt of an $85.00 credit that they,(Ajrichies.com (Formerly: Ajrichard.com) have promised to reimburse me. At least that will cover half of my loss. mich216
Posted by Alain on 2012-01-31:
Thank you for the update! It sounds like they worked with you to resolve the problem. A lot of companies don't bother to respond and fewer seek a compatible solution. It speaks well for Ajrichies.com that they noticed your review and took positive action.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2012-01-31:
yea, thanks for coming back. Makes the review worth a lot more.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-01-31:
Mich216> Thanks for taking the time to do a follow-up for the dedicated members to this site. Perhaps, you would like to stick around My3cents and offer your own advice to other reviews as well. And if time permits, stop by the Community section just to shoot the breeze about everyday topics.
Posted by Michael Hreha on 2012-02-10:
I have run into a similar problem with them only now they will NOT give me any information on the item I ordered only that they don't know when they will be getting it and I turned down all of the extras they tried to sell me! After reading about the hundreds of people this has happened to I will probably cancel my order and order from someone that actually has the product however I will be reporting them and I will be posting my reviews on their business practice as well.
Posted by Scott on 2013-02-13:
I got a call from Roger asking me why I had given them such a poor rating. Well, I did not find out the total of what I had "ordered" until I check my Credit Card on line, the nearest I could figure out, in addition to the $50.00 for two $10.00 batteries, I was getting charged $60.00 for their free shipping. Talking with customer service (yes, I actually got through) I was basically told that is what I should have expected, and when I asked to cancel the order, I was told that it was already shipping. Tough luck! That is when I wrote my 1 star negative review.

The next day Roger called, and after considerable discussion about my concerns, he offered to drop the price from $384.00 down to $309.00. I agreed to, but did not fully withdraw all my review complaints.

I checked my CC statement online on Sunday night, and they had refunded everything. I was surprised first, and then elated. I still am keeping an eye on my account inc ase they pull something stupid.

Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Overcharged by $700 and 15% Restocking Fee After Shipment Return
Posted by Zsbartell on 11/26/2013
BROOKLYN, NEW YORK -- AjRichies is an unscrupulous business that conducts deceptive business practices. Numerous complaints appear on several consumer-watch websites. Similar complaints have been reported by many customers. Do not do business with them!!! If you are taken in, don’t waste your time trying to deal with them. File a complaint with your bank’s consumer claims department and request a full refund for your credit card transaction. Since phone calls and e-mails are routinely not returned, it is unlikely that they will successfully dispute a customer claim when a bank attempts to investigate a sale and negotiate a settlement.

AjRichies conceals unfavorable terms and conditions of sales on their website. They charge a 15% restocking fee and a 10% fee for refused shipments. A common complaint is that sales people call back customers after an initial sale is made to upsell accessories that are exorbitantly priced. If this is not accomplished, deliveries are long delayed or do not occur at all. All sorts of excuses are made. Customers who thought they were getting a deal wind up being charged more than advertised prices or get wrong products.

The history of my purchase is revealing in many ways. Over the phone, I was persuaded to purchase a $3,000 “package deal” for a camera body, 2 lenses, accessories, and extended warranties. I naively agreed to the sale without an itemization of prices. An e-mail with a confirmation of the sale and a tracking number was promised, but it was never received. Unlike many other customers, I actually received my shipment in a few days. The shipment enclosed a sales invoice which did not show any unit prices for the ordered items. In fine print at the bottom of the receipt was a 15% restocking fee policy. Another policy was absent that states that incorrect and missing items are replaced, but no refunds are allowed.

At the time of purchase, I was never informed orally or in writing of the restocking fee policy and other terms and conditions of sales that are buried in the website. When the restocking fee for a phone sale was questioned, the policy was justified by explaining that the policy appeared on the website. However, when one looks carefully at the language on the website, it explicitly states that the sales policies apply to website orders. There is no mention of phone transactions.

Several of the delivered items were lacking. The camera and lenses were defective in packaging and were missing items. The camera and lenses were missing original manufacturer’s certificates of warranty. This placed in doubt whether the items were new products and US warrantied. It was evident that the camera body was restocked merchandise that had been resold. Manuals and accessories were missing from the box. Extended warranties that were purchased were not what they were purported to be. Insured replacement and repair costs were limited in amount and accidental damage was explicitly excluded contrary to the representations of the sales person.

I called the company and obtained the unit prices for my order. After accounting for the actual prices of the order and the prices of comparable products on the internet, I determined that I had been overcharged by $700. When I complained that I had been overcharged, an offer was made to adjust the sales price by $700. This was a clear acknowledgement of an overcharge. I refused the offer to the surprise of the sales person. I was intent on not doing business with AjRichies and getting a full refund of my money. I returned the entire shipment and bought identical equipment from Amazon companies to my satisfaction.

When I received a Return for Refund form enclosed with a returned merchandise RMA , I was charged $450 for a 15% restocking fee based on the original inflated price of $3,000 and not the offered adjusted price of $2,300. Interestingly, the language of the form contradicted some of the return policies on the internet. It stated that items that were incorrect or missing things would not be charged a restocking fee. When I last contacted AjRichies on October 29th, they surprisingly promised me a full refund by November 1st. However, I never received it. I then contacted my bank to file a claim.

In the case AjRichies planned to object to my bank’s credit card claim, I sent the bank a 7 page memo with various attachments and 4 unanswered e-mails to document the circumstances of my purchase. My bank credited me immediately after doing an “investigation” on the day I made the claim. I am sure that they had no better luck than I had in attempting to reach AjRichies when I repeatedly called them on different days and was placed on hold for one and half hours before I gave up.

The lesson I learned is always to investigate the reputation of a company before making a purchase. I feel quite safe making purchases on Amazon. They have very good customer support, and they back the sales of the companies that do business on their site.

My wish is that someone would warn all potential customers and shut down AjRichies. AjRichies’s business address is not the place where they actually do business. It’s a storefront in an apartment building in Brooklyn. It can be viewed on Google Maps. The location is obviously used only for shipments to conceal the true business address of the company. This prevents frustrated customers from serving legal papers on the company. An enterprising person in New York would do a great service to many dissatisfied customers by staking out the storefront and following shipment carriers to the actual location where shipments are processed and hopefully where the sales office exists. I am angry that so many people have been hurt by AjRichies.
     
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Scam
Posted by Tony.bone1 on 01/08/2013
NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- After many weeks of searching I decided to buy a Canon T4i DSLR body from AJRitchies. I was directed to their web site by a reputable web reseller I regularly purchase from.

Price was good, $529.99, and promised delivery - not bad. Before they shipped my order I received a phone call late one evening from a guy (think his 'name' was Tom), purporting to check the delivery address. That was not the purpose of his call. He was hard-selling accessories. Batteries, memory cards and extended warranties. I refused to accept the warranty but agreed to purchase 2 batteries (1 Free) and one 'special' memory card. Cost approx $50.

The order arrived on January 2nd. Canon body, only one battery and an 8GB memory card. OK, looked fine until I checked the accompanying Invoice/Delivery note. I was dumbstruck - the figure on my document was $699.99. I was therefore paying $170 for two items with a value of $30, and I am being generous by suggesting that figure. All my attempts to contact them, telephone and emails have proved fruitless. I am now directing my dispute through the card division of my bank.

I have since researched AJRichies on the internet and discovered many buyers complaining about the service, lack of, and overcharging activities of this company. Wish I knew who to contact so I can have them closed.

Do not buy anything from this company.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by At Your Service on 2013-01-09:
Have you discussed the differences within what you thought you were going to pay and what you were actually charged?

With respect to your approximations, an LP-E8 battery for this camera is around $80 by itself.

Buying something like this mail order can be extremely risky. We see a lot of complaints here that come from that very fact. Luckily, you have a functioning camera.

Let us know if the dispute actually does win out for your side. It sounds as if you were just charged more than what you expected. With you having the product and no proof to pricing, it sounds like you're likely to be stuck with the higher price.

Best of luck.
Posted by Scott on 2013-02-13:
As someone who was almost ripped off by these guys, OEM LP-E8 batteries are going for less than $40.00, and the generics sold by Ajrichies are going for $8.00. They are SCAM artists galore.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Questionable Sales Practices
Posted by Nwphant0m on 05/23/2012
I was considering purchasing a camera from this company until I found a significant number of complaints about this company on the Internet. Before ordering from this company I thought it advisable to contact the sales department by email and ask for written confirmation that the camera they had advertised was new, unused, undamaged and in its original packaging. I also asked for confirmation that the camera had a 1 year manufacturer's warranty, could be registered with the manufacturer, and had all the accessories shipped by the manufacturer with the camera.

When I did not get a response from the sales department I sent the same message to their customer services department. Still no replay. I decided not to buy the camera rather than risk a runaround after placing the order, which seems to be the normal order of business for this company.

     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by onlooker on 2012-05-24:
The questions you asked are pretty routine. If they were unable to answer those questions, I believe you were very smart to leave the deal alone. If they can not be nice to you before they get your money, you can be sure that they will not be nice to you after they get your money.
Good info.
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-05-24:
I would not deal with this company for one simple reason. I just looked at the website, and in the very first few lines, there are multiple grammar errors. An example: "Our phone line are open".

Sounds like the rines are crossed to me... if they don't have the common sense to have someone with decent English skills proofread the website, I would question their ability to handle anything related to customer service. And it may be worse than that.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-05-24:
The OP did something a vast majority of consumers don't usually do...research. Instead of buying on impulse, they took an educated approach of asking questions before committing to a product. Good review!
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >