Preview Review

Next Review

Alltel Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Ripped Off
By -

HELENA, MONTANTA -- About July 25, 2005 I stopped into the Alltel store in Helena Montana. My sales person was **. I told him I might not be staying in Helena and might be relocating back to Everett WA. I asked ** that if I did move out of Montana if I could get a local number. He told me yes. Thus I purchased a phone and had to enter into a two-year contract. When my home sold and was closing at the end of July 2006 my cell phone would not hook up to the car charger. Since I was going to be traveling through seven states for 4 weeks on vacation and would be leaving Montana on July 28, 2006, I stopped back into the store to see about getting a new car charger.

I took the phone in with me and ** pointed out the piece that holds the charger in was missing from the phone. The good news was that I had a one year warranty on the phone. Beau told me they would give me a loaner phone. I asked if it came with a car charger and was told no I would have to buy one. He asked where I wanted the repaired phone mailed to. I told him my address in Everett WA and again asked about getting a local number when I was through with my travels. He told me to just call when I needed the new number.

** told me I would have to return the loaner phone back to the Helena office when my phone was repaired. I told him this could leave me without a phone for part of my trip. That was not acceptable to me. I asked him about purchasing a new phone and he told me I would have to pay the rack rate. I felt like I was in between a rock and a hard spot. I did not want to travel without a phone and according to ** I would have to mail the phone back when mine was fixed. So I purchased a new phone for just under $200.00. I figured I would still be able to use it when I got to Washington State.

When I returned to Washington I called Alltel customer service for my local number. I was informed that they did not have local numbers for Washington State and basically was called a liar. Your customer service rep told me I was promised coverage not a local number. I don't recall her being with me when I purchased the first phone. She also said if I terminated the contract I would have to buy my way out for $200.00. I sell real estate in WA and needed the phone for business. I even called a second time and tried to this resolved and was told the same thing.

Had I had a properly trained rep I would have been told when I stopped in the store to get the phone repaired in July 2006 not to purchase a new phone as it would be useless to me in a month and I should have been released from the contract period. This was the first time to right a wrong. I was told to call the local store in Helena. Well I did call that number over and over and over. No answer.

I had to make a trip back to Helena to get my belongings out of a storage unit. I arrived in Helena on the 27 of September. Since I could not get this store to answer the phone. I was told from the rep at the store that that they don't answer the phone. I stopped into the store and walked up to the first available sales agent and said "I was told that I could get a local number for Washington State". The sales rep said “you can, when you get there just call for a local number". I said no "I can't" and he said for a second time that I could. At that point I saw another sales rep start shaking his head no.

I then said thank you for telling me twice that I could because that makes four times I was told by two reps that I could get a local number in Everett WA. Long story short the manager said they would release me from the contract and I would not have to pay the additional $200.00 to buy my way out. I asked about getting reimbursed for the phone I purchased at the store before my trip. I was told no. At this point the reps in the store were now aware of what was said to me and I'm sure it was discussed. This was the second time to right a wrong.

When I returned home I called Alltel and asked about getting my money back on the phone. The customer service rep was very nice and said that she would try and get my money back for a phone that was useless to me and one I never would have purchased in the first place had I known that I could not use it in a month. She came back on the line and said that the final word was that since I had the phone for over 14 days that I could not return it.

This is so asinine that it is almost funny. How would I know that I could not get a local number until I called back four weeks later when I returned to WA. This was the third time to right a wrong. It appears that Alltel will never admit to a mistake and will go to the end of the earth to avoid doing the right thing.

Replies
Advertisement
SCAMS & LIES!!!
By -

CHANDLER, ARIZONA -- I've been an Alltel customer for years on end. My problems with this company and their lack of cooperation seems endless. I've had problems in the past with roaming charges showing up on my bill. When I pointed out that I had not been in those areas of my state making calls, I was told the signal will jump to the next closest tower if the one in my area is not available. I chased them for 3 months trying to receive credits that I was promised but was unable to make any progress.

NOW, I activated a second line on my account and tried to cancel the other because it was used for a business that I had recently sold. I was told I would be charged a $200 cancellation fee for the original line unless I waited until June. So I paid $50 per month for 3 months on a line I wasn't using. When June came, I called to cancel and was told that I needed to cancel on the exact day of the month I signed up on 12 years prior which I had missed by 3 days. Since I missed that day, my contract on that line was automatically renewed for 2 more years. They refused to help and gave me the # of an office Manager.

I called and left 7 messages over 3 weeks and never received a return call to this day. I tried to cancel the second line as a result and was told I would have to pay $200 to cancel that one also. So now I'm up to $400 in cancellation fees if I cancel or change companies within 2 years!! While trying to straighten this out, I was told that since I bought a new Razor phone with a rebate, I HAD to sign up for a new more expensive service plan or face being charged outrages prices by the minute rather than continuing on my Unlimited Plan because my new phone was not compatible with my old plan??

I went into a location in Chandler AZ and found an employee that told me "off the record" that I was being lied to by the Rep. because he was probably seeking a commission and not to worry about it. I called again in August to once again try to cancel the second line I wasn't using and was told there was nothing he could do and to continue to try to call the Manager that wouldn't return my calls! THEN, he started in with the same story of how I needed to sign up for a new more expensive plan because my new phone wasn't compatible!!!

I explained I was never told any of this when I bought the phone, he offered a half-assed apology, refused to cancel my other line without a $200 fee and continued to try to get me to agree to convert to a more expensive plan!

I'm done! I'll be cancelling it all when I get back into town. This company needs a good old fashioned class action lawsuit!! It should be illegal to be lied to, given misinformation and to renew contracts without consent, explanation, notification or signatures. Now, I have to choose between being raped financially or destroying my credit. I'm warning everyone I cannot to use this company!!! THEY NEED TO BE PUT OUT OF BUSINESS!

Replies
Screwed by Alltel
By -

I purchased a 2-year contract with Alltel from one of their reps who was standing under an Alltel sign at a Wal-Mart in the Pacific Northwest. I told him I was moving in 2 weeks to the West coast and although I was being assigned an area code - there, where I purchased the phone and service - that I'd need a local area code and number upon arriving on the West coast. He said fine. No problem.

Once on the West Coast I called to get my number changed. Was told, "Alltel doesn't have area codes were you are." I told 3 separate customer service people the same story. That I was promised a local number. No one would help me. I said, "OK, then I want to cancel the contract." Alltel said, "OK, that will be a $200 penalty." So I tried to call corporate and some woman at that number said that corporate NO LONGER accepts calls from consumers (Really.).

So I emailed corporate and, of course, got no response. Yesterday the cell phone died. I've had it all of a month. So I called Alltel and they suggested they cancel my service and that I track down the minimum wage guy from Wal-Mart who sold me this bogus plan to begin with. See where I'm going with this? Currently I have no phone service and it is left to me to get the Wal-Mart/Alltel guy to confirm that he not only promised me what he probably KNEW he couldn't give me... but I have to get this guy to refund my $200. We all know that isn't going to happen.

I am outraged. One of my least favorite Alltel conversations was when a phone customer service rep told me that Alltel has NO control over what these Alltel reps say. NO CONTROL??? I know I'm going to be billed immediately for the $200 and I'm stuck with their very dead cell phone. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH ALLTEL.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service, Called Me a Liar
By -

My husband was with Alltel for years and never had a problem. When we got married, I was added to his plan. They were running a deal on a data card, no start up fees, no cost, $40 a month. We added it to our plan for my brother. They charged me $81 at the store the day I bought it! They called me up 30 minutes later and told me to come back in they made a mistake and will refund me. The manager said that instead of me coming back, they can just get a credit to our bill. It took almost 3 months of my nagging to get anything back, and we still ended up paying $25 out of pocket.

The manager was extremely rude and more interested in helping the "young pretty" crowd than the normal people. For the next 6 months, none of our bills were correct. Every single one of them had something wrong and while they were fixing one bill, our phones were shut off! Apparently they didn't note the account they were crediting us and the bill was late, so they shut us down forcing us to pay reactivation fees.

Cancelling was a nightmare as well. When they switched over to AT&T we took the chance to get out of there. We were billed over $80 for a partial month of service on just the data card (we switched our phones to Sprint a few weeks prior to this). We had to pay AT&T a bill and Alltel, almost $140.

When I called Alltel to find out what was going on, the manager stated "I can guarantee you no one said that to you." She called me a liar! Instead of helping me try to figure out what was wrong she was accusing me of lying and making up stories. She wouldn't help us at all. I finally paid all the bills and will NEVER work with them again. If anyone tells me they are going to sign up for them, I will force them to walk the other way.

Replies
Advertisement
Waiting... still waiting... waiting some more!
-

FARMINGTON, NEW MEXICO -- I have an issue with a particular location in Farmington, NM. They are located at 3554 E. Main Street. I went to buy my daughter a new cell phone and a rate/plan. I walked in and was told to sign-in. There was at least 8-10 other names. I figured I'd be in for a little bit of a wait to say the least. Kind of reminded me of signing in to get my hair cut. So I waited, and waited, and waited some more. At this point, I've invested 1-hr & 15-minutes, and I was reaching my breaking point. Some have greater thresholds for pain, but this is where mine starts to taper off.

What irritated me the most, was the fact that not all of the agents were busy. Some were just standing next to their monitors/desks and chit-chatting amongst each other. So I decide to get a little cute and call the store itself, knowing full well that there were at least 4-5 unoccupied employees to answer my call. I dialed and it rang, and rang, and rang some more. Nothing. No one would bother to pick up the phone. I called the corporate 800 number and they said they'd log the complaint. Yeah, and store it with the other 465,000 complaints stuffed away in some dusty warehouse of imaginary complaints. Good luck with that angle!

So I walk towards the back and attempt to open what looks like a backroom door/break room. An employee rushes up to me and informs me that I cannot go in there. I said, "And if I do"? She tells me that she'll have to get the manager. I said, "Great, that's who I want to talk to anyway"! A few minutes later a manager appears and asks what the problem is. I tell him that I've been waiting in line for over an hour, and haven't even been asked how I can be helped. I then explained the lack of people answering the phones, at which time he accused me of over-exaggerating.

I dialed the store # in front of his presence, and it rang, and rang, and rang some more. He walked over to one of his associates and asked why they weren't answering the phone. They just kind of shrugged and mumbled something to the effect that they thought someone else was going to answer it. The manager apologized for the behavior of his workers, but not for accusing me of embellishing the facts. I said "thanks for talking to your workers, but after everything I've went through, I think I'll take my money and my business elsewhere." Commission lost.

Replies
Alltel Family Finder Service by WaveMarket
By -

This problem started over a month ago. After verifying with Alltel that a spare KRZR phone was compatible with the Alltel Family Finder service, I activated the phone for my 11-year-old. The application would not download and trouble tickets were opened. To date, no response from those trouble tickets has been received. After a couple of weeks the local Alltel manager suggested the best solution was to buy a new phone with a new contract. I downloaded the application while in the store. Now, the Alltel Family Finder website gives an error message stating it doesn't recognize my phone number or Alltel account number. More trouble tickets are opened and escalated.

I discovered using Google that a California company named WaveMarket is the third party responsible for the Alltel Family Finder application. I've attempted to use WaveMarket's help forum but have not received a reply. The forum appears to be abandoned and is littered with spam messages for various drugs.

I've followed up with Alltel several times but they claim there is nothing more they can do until WaveMarket's Alltel Family Finder engineers answer the trouble tickets. The WaveMarket website lists the corporate officers. The WaveMarket CEO has a Facebook account found through google. He replied promptly and has passed my contact information to someone within the company.

EDIT/UPDATE: I did hear back from WaveMarket as promised. They are aware that the KRZR is not compatible with this service and should be removed from the compatible list. They are also aware that some Alltel Family Finder customers are not able to register for the service. As Alltel has been bought and sold again, it will not likely be fixed for these customers. Happy with WaveMarket's response but Alltel is a lost cause with its customers in limbo until AT&T or Verizon pick them up.

Replies
Overcharging /Poor Customer Service
By -

After years of service with Alltel and the past couple of years' not happy ones we are planning to move over to AT&T. We have been overcharged for our service for over a year that we know of and we are looking into all the past bills. A little over a month ago we upgraded to 3 smartphones (we have 7 lines one is an internet card). When we got the smartphones we were informed that the bill would be lower than what we were paying, oh yea, this is when we found out that the air card was less a month than I had been paying.

After a couple of hrs trying to get the account set up correct we left thinking wow that is great. The bill was less than it had been in a while. That is until the bill came in TWICE as much as it had been. So, I take the bill to the Alltel store and wait a couple of hrs and finally the representative was really nice and about a hr. or so later she had the bill all straight (or so we thought). I came home with instruction to bring my payment into the office so that it would be entered into the system correctly. This we did and everything was OK. A week later I receive another bill. I took this to the store and again waited a couple of hrs to get this fixed.

Everything was supposed to be fixed again and I paid the bill while I was there. A week later my phone is shut off. I called customer service again and they tell me that all that money has been applied to three of the lines and that I have a credit but I would have to pay the amount due which is what the entire bill is supposed to be before service will be back on. So, again I call the store and talk to the representative who has been helping me all along, she goes to her supervisor and in less than 30 min my phone is back on. Then last night my phone got cut off again.

Why can't these people get this right? They expect me to come up with another payment and let them credit my account with the extra money. I work hard for my money I cannot afford to just let them hold my money. I have placed a call to the store and I am waiting for a return.

Replies
Alltel Fiends
By -

LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS -- IF YOU ARE MISTAKENLY THINKING OF GOING WITH ALLTEL, FOUR WORDS FOR YOU--NO WAY IN H_LL!! In April our daughter's cell phone was lost/stolen at her Prom. We tried calling Alltel, there was nothing in the voice menu about lost/stolen phones and their 'customer service' was closed at that time of night. After looking on the internet, I called the Alltel phone insurance number and filed a claim. During the call I asked several times if the phone can be disabled so no one could use it, activate it, or run any unusual charges on it. I was assured several times that would be the case.

Several days later we received the replacement phone. When the May bill came out it was over three times what it should have been and had a lot of extra charges on it (GPS and ringtones). We called Alltel and were told these charges began the day after we had been assured by Alltel personnel that it wouldn't be possible. We were told by the CSR (customer service rep) that she couldn't do anything about it only a supervisor. I called back and after a heated discussion (we didn't understand why we should have to pay when they could access the tape of the call to their incompetent or untruthful insurance person) she agreed to reverse the charges.

She gave us a corrected balance to be paid which was still a little high but we were tired of having to explain and ask everything at least three times because of the mix of their personnel's language issues (all our calls except one went to people with English as a distant second at best-language) or denseness. I paid the balance given. Today, a couple weeks later, our service is suspended because of the excessive unpaid balance.

Morals of the story: Alltel's personnel seem to be perfectly comfortable lying and giving false, bad, and misleading information. Apparently whatever it takes to get you off the phone NOTHING TO DO WITH DEALING WITH THE PROBLEM. It seems as though Alltel's call center is either located in a country and staffed with people with poor English skills or just staffed with people with poor English skills. Bad news.

The customer service and business practices of Alltel is so horrid that you should not use their service even if it were the only game in town!!! Just imagine how thrilled my wife is that I talked her into switching from AT&T (bad phone service but great customer service) to Alltel with their nightmare customer service!

Replies
Advertisement
Customer Service? - Not
By -

MIDLAND, TEXAS -- I have been a customer of Alltel Wireless beginning in late 2000 under the Cellular One Co, which was taken over by Alltel. They have now been taken over by Verizon. Through my entire history with the company, I have never been late with a payment as it was set up from the beginning as an auto pay account. I have stuck to my plan minutes and never had over charges or complaints. In short, I have been an easy customer to have on their list. In late March, 2009, the company texted me that my plan minutes had been way overused. They then called me offering a larger plan.

On explaining to first one person on the phone then another, I went to the local office to straighten out the problem. March 20, 2009, I dealt with an associate at the local store who added a supplemental plan, at a cost, to my bill to handle overused data minutes and told me he couldn't do anything else until I had my bill. I never received a bill. April 17, they charged my account $392 more than my usual bill. I went back to the local office and was told there wasn't a supervisor present, the associate couldn't do anything but issue a credit which would take several days to weeks to reach me. I don't know about you but I don't have that kind of money just lying around.

I have talked to several people at the local office and by phone and have received nothing but run-around from all of them. A wireless company set up to take money from my account wirelessly will snail mail a refund when they get around to tending to that minor detail! Needless to say, I am not a satisfied customer nor will I be a customer one minute after my "contract" finishes. I wanted to send an email to the company about this treatment and what I intend to do.

Lo and behold, there is no such thing as contact information on their website. When the "Contact Us" button is clicked, you are routed to a log-in screen. OK fine, I logged in again and clicked the contact button again. Guess what, I was routed to the log-in screen. Totally unacceptable customer service!

Replies
The Entire Remaining Balance On My Pre-Paid Account Was Confiscated!
By -

BOCA RATON, FLORIDA -- I have been an Alltel prepaid wireless customer since November 2008, and after checking the balance on my account the other day, I noticed that the entire remaining balance of $27.15 was missing from my account. After calling Alltel customer service and waiting on hold for almost 20 minutes, I was told by a customer service representative that Alltel had "confiscated" my remaining balance because that I had what they considered to be "excessive use of roaming". It seems that I live just outside of an Alltel cell tower, and whenever I make or receive calls at my home, I am using another carrier's cell tower, and therefore considered to be "roaming"!

Since I was assured that my home was in Alltel's home service area when I established service, I asked that the amount that was "confiscated" be credited back into my account, but they told me that they couldn't do that. I then asked them to refund the amount in the form of a paper check, and they said that they couldn't do that either. It seems that the "confiscated" funds have been forfeited, and I will not be receiving one dime back from Alltel! They told me that if I want to continue to use my Alltel prepaid wireless service in the future, I will have to deposit more money into my account with no guarantee that this money won't also be "confiscated"!

Does Alltel Wireless think that I'm an idiot? NO WAY AM I GOING TO DEPOSIT ANY MORE MONEY INTO THIS ACCOUNT! I intend on porting my cell phone number to another wireless carrier so I can keep my number while ending my relationship with these deceitful thieves. I will also write a letter to the head honcho at Alltel Wireless detailing my recent experiences, and if they still refuse to give me my money back, I will file a case in my local small claims court. I'd like to advise anyone contemplating becoming a customer of this company to heed my advice: TAKE YOUR BUSINESS ELSEWHERE. ALLTEL WIRELESS ARE A BUNCH OF TWO-BIT THIEVES!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Alltel Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
87 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Alltel
1 Allied Dr.
Little Rock, AR 72202
501-905-8000 (ph)
501-905-5444 (fax)
www.att.com
Compare Phone/Mobile Services