Preview Review

Next Review

American Home Shield - Page 3

Star Star Star Half star Empty star
3.3 out of 5, based on 214 ratings and
238 reviews & complaints.
American Home Shield is the founder of the home warranty industry and remains the industry leader with over 40 years of experience. With a national contractor network made up of over 11,000 independent home service contractors and 45,000 service technicians, AHS® services nearly 1.5 million customers across 49 states.
Company Profile
American Home Shield
889 Ridge Lake Blvd.
Memphis, TN 38120
(855) 816-0658 (ph)
www.ahs.com
Compare Home Insurance Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Home Warranty Plan
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Please regard this as a warning to anyone considering entering into a contract with this company. In January 2015 I signed up for 12 month protection plans for two properties. During the 12 on this of these contracts, service was simply terrible.

Almost without exception, this company hires contractors who are in most cases incapable of repairing anything and in many cases come and collect their service fees and never actually complete the work. This situation got so bad that I simply stopped using them for repairs and paid other people to do the work as there was no point in paying the service fee to them when I was going to have to hire someone else to complete needed repairs.

Beginning in July 2015 I began to make complaints to AHS about the quality of their service. The phone reps were always extremely friendly and I am sure they wanted to assist, but sending a second incompetent contractor was anything but helpful.

From July to November I spoke to numerous AHS reps and send numerous emails to them indicating I did not want to renew my contract. In addition I made a formal complaint with the Better Business Bureau against AHS for their business practices. In November I actually got two new contracts in the mail thanking me for renewing. At that point I sent yet another email message emphasizing that I did not want to renew.

On 28 November 2015 I received an acknowledgement from them regarding my desire to not renew. Because I did not trust them, I contacted my credit card company to make them aware of the problem and initiated a block on charges from them beginning in January 2016. Upon returning from an overseas trip in February, I noted that I had been charged premiums for both properties in January. I immediately contacted my credit card company who applied credits to my account and informed me that although they did have a block against AHS, that it was not a 100% guarantee because companies had ways of getting around the blocks.

On 20 February, I received two email messages from AHS that my accounts were past due and that I needed to immediately make a payment or they would take collection action. I responded to them that I had not renewed my contracts and had correspondence from them acknowledging that from back in November. I also initiated another complaint against them with the BBB. This morning I received the same message I had received in November 2015 acknowledging that I had noticed them of my desire to cancel. I followed that up with a phone call to them (20 minutes on hold) and was assured that both contacts had been cancelled.

Please do not enter to any contract with these people. If you do, you will end up paying other people to either complete repairs or in some cases to undo damage done by their contractors. You will spend hours on hold waiting to talk to someone who while friendly will not be able to help you. And in the end, when you have had enough and try to cancel your contract, they will harass you and threaten you. If reading this saves even one person the aggravation of dealing with AHS, it will have been worth the time I spent writing it.

Replies
Home Warranty company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

As a new customer of American Home Shield (AHS), I am extremely disappointed in the quality of service I have received from my very first claim. I own two properties and have contracts for both with AHS. My first repair was a dishwasher which required three visits from two different vendors and was finally repaired after I contacted AHS and complained that it had not been repaired satisfactorily the first time.

More recently, I have experienced an air conditioning malfunction which the technician indicated was only a need to clear the line and then who actually failed to clear it which resulted in the unit overflowing and severely damaging the ceiling below the unit which I then had to pay to replace. This deficiency was reported to AHS who indicated that they would report it to their vendor relations office.

Sadly, service has only gotten worse. On 31 May I initiated a service request for a refrigerator that had stopped cooling. The dispatched vendor (A Superior Appliance) was not able to come look at it until five days later, which was disappointing. The technician inspected the refrigerator and indicated that the automatic defroster needed replacing and that it was a simple repair which required ordering a part but that the repair should be completed in 5 to 10 days max.

After 3 weeks passed, we started attempting to contact the vendor. After leaving numerous messages which were never responded to, we finally actually got someone on the phone who indicated the part was on back order and we would be contacted when the part came in. We never heard back and after numerous additional calls, they finally returned with the part to complete the repair. The technician stayed 5 minutes and indicated that the wrong part had been ordered.

We once again contacted AHS and expressed our concern at the length of time it was taking and the difficulty we were experiencing contacting the vendor. We received a message from AHS indicating the part was due in no more than 7 business days and that if we didn't hear from the vendor we should contact them directly. Again we heard nothing by that date, we attempted to contact the vendor and got a message that the number was not taking calls.

At this point I called AHS and spent 56 minutes waiting to talk to a customer service representative. She also attempted to contact the vendor and was unable to contact them or leave a message for them. Within an hour, I received a call from a different repair company to schedule a service call to look at the refrigerator and determine what repairs needed to be done. Note that by the time they come, more than 7 weeks will have passed for a non-functioning refrigerator!

On 16 June I contacted AHS requesting a plumber to clear a shower drain that was draining slowly. The vendor (Milburn Plumbing) was dispatched on 18 June and when they arrived they put chemicals into the drain and waited. Once it became clear that the drain was still draining slowly, they indicated that they needed to access the roof to clear the drain and that they were not qualified or equipped to do that and also that AHS did not cover that work. Because I am not a plumber, I accepted that and contacted another plumber who came by within an hour and snaked the drain.

Note that they did not need to access the roof and indicated that there was no need to do so, and completed the work in less than 15 minutes. Clearly, I paid a qualified plumber to do work that a vendor sent by AHS was either unqualified or simply unwilling to do. The Milburn technician indicated no need for a service fee since they had not completed the necessary drain clearing and perhaps that is because they were aware that it was work they should have easily been able to complete.

I am most certainly displeased to on numerous occasions have paid other contractors for work that should be covered under my AHS Home Warranty plan and was surprised to receive an invoice for $125.00 marked as past due for Milburn Plumbing. Especially since the Milburn representative had indicated that there would be no charge and gave us no paperwork and obtained no signature from us.

It has become obvious that AHS is not a very reputable company in that they have vendors who are not qualified to do the work covered under the warranty plans and yet customers are expected to pay them even when they are unable to do the work.

Please note that because I desire to limit contact with AHS until my current contract expires and which I will most certainly not be renewing, I have paid the invoice in the amount of $125.00. I am however, formally requesting that AHS refund to me the amount I paid to Rapid Rooter for drain cleaning that should have been easily completed by Milburn Plumbing.

Additionally, on 1 July I requested a plumber to repair a shower that was running full blast and could not be shut off. The vendor (ASAP PLUMBING SERVICE #2) did not contact me, so I contacted them to find out when the earliest they could come by would be. They indicated that it would be at least four days! So much for ASAP. Once again, I had to contact and pay for another plumber who responded within hours, not several days. I am now wondering if I am going to end up getting an invoice even though ASAP never contacted me and never actually scheduled an appointment.

Also on Friday, 17 July (morning) I completed a service request via the AHS website to have someone come and look at my air conditioning which had stopped cooling. I received a message that the request had been dispatched and that I would hear from the vendor within normal business hours. I assumed that I would not hear from them until Monday and waited until Monday afternoon to contact them since I didn't hear from them. They verified my address and indicated that they would send a technician out on Wednesday and would contact me Tuesday to let me know a time window.

I did not hear back from them so once again called them Wednesday morning to verify that they were, as promised, planning on sending someone out that day. I was informed that one of their technicians had a family emergency and that we had been rescheduled for Thursday. They also informed me that the technician would contact me Thursday morning and let me know the approximate time. Once again, the morning passed and we heard nothing.

We again contacted them and were told the same technician family emergency story and that they might be sending someone out tomorrow. Here it is, a week later and the vendor has not contacted me a single time and there is currently no confirmed timeframe which I can expect to, IAW the warranty I am paying for, actually have someone come and fix my air conditioning. This is Texas in July and I am a senior citizen and the temperature is between 95-100 degrees. Before I made the mistake of signing up with AHS, I could have paid a technician to come by the SAME DAY!

My experience with this company has been frustrating and completely unsatisfactory. The only exception has been the customer service representatives who while clearly working at a disadvantage of trying to provide service to customers for a company that appears to care little for the quality of work they perform, but also for their reputation as a company, have consistency been friendly and courteous.

Replies
Home Shield and HVAC Systems
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

SUGAR LAND, TEXAS -- We had an AC problem in April 2015. The vendor said it was the capacitor, he quickly fixed it and left. Six weeks later, we had relatives in from out of town and the AC stopped working. No one could come out, they wouldn't even call us or return our calls. Five days later, someone came out and put a new capacitor on.

This vendor informed us that the last vendor spent $0.10 on the part and he said these parts don't cost anything to begin with so he could've spent a couple dollars more and gotten one that were lasted for years and everyone in the industry knows the part will not last and no one uses them. So had the right part been put on to begin with and there were some kind of check and balances with home Shield. The consumer would not deal with this issue.

Now it's 2016 and we're in the heat of the summer. I'm in Texas. And the same AC isn't working again. The vendor comes out and we notice it's the same vendor put on the cheap part that lasted only six weeks. He was in our attic not even a minute and gave us a list of things that we needed that were out of code and it was gonna be another thousand dollars at our expense. Mind you, the problem we were having had nothing to do with anything that had to do with codes and there's never been a problem with codes ever since I lived in the home.

We protested about the vendor and his skinny practices and requested another vendor. We had to go round and round with home shopping day send someone else out. Now we had no code issues but we need a new coil and of course we were going to need freon which we understood would be at our expense. What was all said and done, this gentle and found some code updates they were completely different than the first vendor's code updates.

We found out that Home Shield only pays each AC and heating vendor a flat rate of like $220 or $240 something like that I forget the exact amount now. So if there's some major problems they still just get their flat rate so to make up the difference you pay for code updates. Hope she is aware of this and they perpetuate it and they tell you have to have codes updated.

Well now we had a few cold days of winter and a vendor comes out and finds that we need a new heater which is covered under our plan. He informs us that the vendor who fixed the AC did a ** job and took out the transition in our AC which is a really big deal and took it completely out which made our AC bill go way up because it wasn't doing the job right. On top of that they disconnected the over flow switches.

So they charged us for code updates while they deliberately put us in code violations. And did I mention the installers that put in the coil that was messed up didn't understand any English? I can guarantee you they did not have a license to be doing AC work. The heat guy said they fix the heater, they'll have to fix all the things that this AC guy messed us. Then I get a letter from Home Shield with all the things that the first guy messed up as an extra expense to us to pay for.

So somehow we had nothing to do with him messing up our OC and taking out a huge piece to the AC unit and turning off all of the switches. For now thanks, affect us to pay to have all that put back together correctly even though it was their fault they send a vendor to us that wasn't competent and a fraud. And I'm saying fraud because American Home Shield is very aware that these vendors are scamming the homeowner and they don't care. Their loyalty is to the vendor. I am skipping the Better Business Bureau and going directly to the Attorney General.

Replies
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

NOTTINGHAM, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- Submitting a claim with American Home Shield always runs very smoothly and they react very quickly. In fact, my last claim was in the repair stages within 24 hours. It was for the pressure gauge and holding tank on my well pump. However, they did not have a representative in this area who could do that kind of work and I have somebody, because I've lived here for a lot of years.

So I got my own contractor to do the work and paid $1,250 for their service. I called AHS to get reimbursed and the AHS representative spoke to the contractor while he was here and got the story on what happened. Unfortunately, and this is nobody's fault, the rep had to write it down because all of the computer systems were down and that was on a Friday. She told me that when the techs finished doing what they had to do, she was going to call their office and speak to them again.

I told her that I had an issue with that because the contractor already got the money. And if the AHS rep will call them later on and get voicemails, the contractor's not going to call her back. If it was AHS' people that they have a contract with, that's a different story because they have an agreement but they had none with the people that did the work for me. However, I knew it's policy and it had to be done. I was also trying to give her some feedback on this but I knew it was not going any further. She was not rude but she just doesn't care.

The thing that really stinks about it all is that the work wasn't covered which I have a problem with. Especially, since I paid extra to have my well pump covered, because we have our own well. It is kind of ridiculous because without the pressure gauge and holding tank, I have no water. Those are the brains of the well pump and that's exactly how the plumber described it to me. Moreover, the pressure regulator is not something that breaks a lot because it's covered undercoating and lasts for a really long time.

Also, this is a brand new house for us but when we bought our own policy, it's not looked at like a new house even though we bought the policy the month we bought the house. However, if the previous owner had bought the policy, they take into consideration that the new owner inherited some broken things without realizing it. We've only been here since fall and the well pump had to be broken when we got here. It just took that long for it to finally wear out and die. That's been going on for years for it to get to the point that it did.

I've had two other claims for my washing machine and dishwasher. Those experiences went fine but their policy was to repair something until they can repair it which resulted in them spending more money. I could have bought a new washing machine and dishwasher for what they had to pay to repair those items, which is silly. Especially with my washing machine, I really went back and forth with them on it because it is 30 years old. It's been fixed now but I know it's going to break again because of its age. But in talking to the contractors, they said that's pretty typical.

Replies
Customer for 11 years - refusing to fix AC unit
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILTON, IOWA -- In the beginning of Aug., 2015 my AC unit quit working. I have been a customer of AHS for 11 years. I knew this was covered, so I called them. They sent out a vendor who replaced the motor. When temps soared into the 90's and 100's my unit WOULD NOT cool the house. I called AHS again and they set up an appt. with the same vendor. After 3 appointments that were no shows after I took off work each time to meet them, I called AHS again to send out someone who would show up. They sent a second vendor that stated the outside unit and coil in the inside unit needed to be replaced. He contacted AHS and stated, "They said to replace the entire unit".

Then someone from AHS called me and stated the vendor would be setting up and install date. I had to buy a window ac unit to be able to live in my home with the temps outside. After 2 weeks and no call, I started calling the vendor and AHS to see what the problem was. The vendor kept telling me they had not received approval from AHS and AHS kept telling me they did not receive the paperwork from the vendor. This went on until October, after I was calling every 2-3 days.

Then at the beginning of Oct. a third vendor called to set up an appt. for a "SECOND OPINION" not on replacement as promised, but repair. This 3rd vendor stated the unit was cooling. It was now 68 degrees outside, of course the unit would keep my house at 72!! He recommended minor repairs- clean the coil- not even replace it and fix a piece of ducting!!

I then filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and Consumer Affairs. As I filed my complaint I noticed they had thousands of complaints about the same thing I was complaining of. This new vendor stated he wouldn't know if his repair worked until the next hot day, which may be 6-8 months from now.

I then got my own THIRD opinion, which agreed with the second vendor that the unit and coil need replaced. I posted a complaint on their Facebook page and it was deleted and I was blocked!! I saw they did this to another person also! I am now wondering if I should continue to renew my contract and wait until next summer for them to maybe repair my or cut my losses and cancel the service and replace it myself?? Very dishonest company!!! I heard through other complaints that sometimes these dishonest vendors get a bonus for not giving a proper diagnosis!

Replies
Home Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

YARDLEY, PENNSYLVANIA -- I requested repairs through my warranty company, American Home Shield. They put me in contact with the repair shop. The repair shop called to set the appointment and said they would be at my house tomorrow between 10 and 1. Perfect. That was easy. Or so I thought. They didn't show. I called to see where they were and the ignorant ** on the phone said she meant to say Saturday not Thursday. They came out Saturday and did some work to my central air. It cost me $305. The air stopped working again Saturday night.

I called the repair shop, no answer. I called the warranty company Sunday and after a 45 min wait I was told that the repair shop has 48 hours to get to my house for a re-call. Nobody called me Monday to confirm so I called the service shop. They told me Wed or Thurs for an appointment. I called the warranty company back, waited another 45 minutes to talk to someone. They told me again, the policy is 48 hours for re-calls. I said I need another repair shop because the last one can't get out until Wednesday or Thursday.

The warranty company tried to explain to me that when they say 48 hours, they mean 48 business hours. Meaning there are 8 business hours in a day and they had 48 hours of business to come back out. I almost fell off of my chair. 2 business days now means 6 real days because there are only 8 hours of business hours in a day. WTF? This woman was the supervisor and she was seriously trying to convince me that a business day isn't Monday-Friday, it's 8 hours of Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. 24 hours = 1 business day.

They said they would send another service company but I would have to pay my deductible again. Obviously that's not happening. They said based on their crazy made up "business day hours model" the repair shop was following guidelines. As I'm speaking to the supervisor, I searched reviews for the company they sent out. I asked if they took feedback from their customers before considering calling the services they provide preferred. She said "We don't listen to reviews." There were nothing but bad reviews and a 1-star rating for this company.

One review describe a man that was squared up and ready to punch a woman while holding a baby. Ironically it was the same guy who came to my house. If this company uses these types of people/criminals to do service, I think I'll pass. I have canceled my warranty. I recommend you do the same and or avoid them and do your research first.

Replies
Delays in Service So Long - Toxic Black Mold Formed From Leaks in the Air-Handler in Attic
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HUNTSVILLE, ALABAMA -- Called American Home Shield on 4-29-14 and requested service for both upstairs and downstairs air-conditioning that were thirty years old. First contractor didn't come and then second contractor came but determined that it required electrician. Electrician came and said it was an ac unit issue. Second contractor came back and we waited for parts for another month. Finally, late in July the repair was made. It lasted less than 30 days. The second contractor was about to come back to the house when I learned from the local building inspection supervisor that the second contractor's license to do business within Huntsville had been "put on hold."

The third contractor came out and he agreed that the unit had other issues, but of course the delays continued. I finally called and got a independent opinion. The independent source and three other HVAC contractors felt that the units had to be replaced because the parts were no longer available. I demanded replacement. AHS refused. Finally, I just replaced the damn units myself after giving them 30 days notice that I would sue them if they didn't replace them. After filing suit, I had the house inspected due to the leaks in a hall closet where the upstairs ac unit had leaked into my linen closet by an AHS contractor and a certified industrial hygienist.

AHS sent the first contractor to my house who walked up the attic stairs, charged me $75 and walked down and told me I did not have any mold in my house due to the air-conditioner leaks. The Certified Industrial Hygienist tested the house and sent the results to a lab and determined that I have TOXIC BLACK MOLD in my house from all the delays and from the failure of the contractors to even check the air-handlers that were leaking and the drain pans that had holes in them in the attic. I dismissed the small claims suit and I am looking for an attorney that will sue them. If you know someone, please have them contact me. This needs to be public.

Update 08/13/2015:

The Alabama Department of Public Health has advised that the mold is dangerous and should be removed. My physician has advised the mold is dangerous and should be removed.

And of course, AHS, who states that it doesn't exist has given notice that it should be preserved.

This is the most messed up Service Warranty Company ever.

Update 05/21/2016:

AHS use of Myers continues and therefore both work hand in hand to deny services.

If you live in Alabama contact the Attorney General and ask him to investigate the company and there use of unlicensed contractors that collaborate in denying services.

Replies
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

FRISCO, TEXAS -- I recently filed a claim with American Home Shield for my pool. They had to replace the electronics that burned out. It was the most difficult claim I had as it took 90 days for it to get repaired due to the incompetence of the vendor. They kept getting a part and telling me the part was bad. It took three weeks each time to get the new part, and they went through three different sets of parts before they realized that it was something else. They finally brought all the connectors and detectors out, which they should have done early on.

They found out that it wasn't the transformer, but the circuit board that had gone bad. They kept telling me that they'd be out in a couple of days. It was 30 days later when they finally came out and fixed it, and then the repair they did was shoddy at best. I ended up having to remove things and remount stuff because it was so poorly done. Now, the equipment is fine. They wanted me to sign off on it, and I told them I'm not signing off until it runs for 48 hours after waiting 90 days. I also asked them to show me every single component and how each works before they leave. They weren't happy about that and said it wasn't their job.

Everything is in working order. I was a little miffed that it is not a like-for-like replacement. The system I had before was much more complex and involved, and this one is about as bare bones minimum as I can get. In fact, I contacted Home Shield a couple of times and they asked if I wanted them to get me another vendor but I didn't want toi start all over again.

Normally, the vendors would come out, find the problem, and fix it. We had a couple of air-conditioning work calls this year. The guys came out in a day or two and everything was fine. It was exactly what we would expect. The claim for the pool was ridiculous.

It's too much trouble to get a service. We have been in the sense of dropping the service because of these types of issues. Sometimes, when I call, a contractor comes out after four or five days. We don't like it but understand that as long as they're confident and can identify the problem right away, that's all we care about. That's what all we expect out of any contractor that comes out.

Replies
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

CLAYMONT, DELAWARE -- I had a faucet leak in my bathtub and submitted a claim with American Home Shield. AHS assigns the claim to a particular provider, and I don't wait for the providers to call me, I always call them. So, I called the one that is assigned immediately as soon as I got AHS's email, and they came right away. The response was quick. My husband was at the house when the guy came out. The tech knew exactly what was wrong with it. He went to Home Depot, which is around the corner from our house, picked up the part, came back, and put the part in. The faucet has been perfect since then.

Everything was great. The only thing about American Home Shield is that they put a claim in the computer and get whichever provider comes up. What I would like is that once I like the work of the provider that comes out, I would like to request for that provider whenever I put in a claim versus the system picking somebody else the next time. I had that happen before for a claim that I had on an AC unit. They wanted to send me someone that I knew had a bad reputation, and I wanted the guy that I had before. As long as the person that I'm requesting is on their network, I don't see why that should be a problem.

In that particular case, the system automatically assigned someone and I called AHS back and told them I didn't want this person since I've heard of their reputation and don't want them coming to touch my unit. The AHS rep said they can't do it. I then told the rep to cancel the request. Later on, a supervisor called me back. I appreciate that a supervisor called me back within an hour, and said they were going to change the service provider. So it was a good experience.

Replies
Home warranty AC
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- We live in Phoenix, AZ and our AC went out in May. It is almost mid-July and our unit is still not working. When I called to place the work order with their customer service back in May, the girl that took my call was completely incompetent and failed to answer my questions. During a 30 minute call, I spent about 25 of those minutes on hold for her to come back with a one or two word response to my questions. She finally dispatched All Star Refrigerant to my home.

The contractor with this company called me to set up an appointment for the following day but then did not show up. When he finally arrived he indicated that my unit needed refrigerant and charged me $350 with the impression that everything would be fine. And because we were in the middle of construction on our home, he told us that we needed to get up on the roof to clean the coils once we were done.

Less than a month goes by and my unit is again not working properly. I have made several attempts to contact American Home Shield, their automated system indicated it was a ten minute hold when in reality it was 30 to 40 minutes before I eventually hung up. I eventually called the contractor that came to my home hoping that he could help me. He agreed to come to my home the following day to assess the situation. Well, you can guess it, he didn't show up.

Four days went by (Monday night at 10 pm) before I got an email from him asking if he could come on Wednesday. I agreed. He showed up on Tuesday without notice or calling anyone to advise he was coming and then called me Wednesday night (at 9 pm) to say he got on my roof and that the unit is working just fine and that was what he would be reporting to the home warranty company. Part of his report indicated that the unit was cooling the house properly, which in my opinion is difficult to report when he didn't even enter my home.

We are out $350 and nothing has been fixed. In addition, my hot water heater stopped working and they sent a technician out (charged me 75 dollars) to say that he couldn't help me because lighting it was a safety hazard. They also indicated that nothing would be covered because parts were missing from the water heater.

The hot water heater was in that condition when we bought the house (in March). He quoted me $1,100 to replace the "400 gallon water heater" for my 962 sq foot house. We ended up eating the bill for a brand new hot water heater. Overall their contractors are unprofessional and flaky. It is so good to be a new home owner and know that I am protected by my Coldwell Banker recommended home warranty.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >