Preview Review

Next Review

Ashley Furniture Couches and Sofas Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor Quality and Scam the Consumer. Beware.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SUNRISE, FLORIDA -- We purchased the Power Recliner and Power Sofa at the end of Sept. 2015. Took delivery and after the holidays noticed the you would sink down lower in the recliner than the sofa, also the right "arm" pad was flat. We contacted them as we bought the extended home service plan. They looked at the pictures we sent them and they sent out a service tech.

The tech had told my wife and I that the recliner looked like it was a manufacturer's defect... He called his findings and the woman on the other end told my wife and I they were not going to do anything it was a wear condition? So $2200.00 plus the $200.00 plus on the warranty and you get 4 months use out of your furniture. Do not go to this store... Very bad business.

Replies
Advertisement
They sell junk even when bought brand new!!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EVANSVILLE, INDIANA -- I bought a matching couch & love seat combination w/ 4 built in recliners not even 6 months ago. Only 4 months after purchase a hole was in the love seat. It took more than a month for them to come to my house to just look at it, then another month after that to repair it. I had to keep calling to get results done several times. Now, the frame on the love seat has broken. Had to call 2 times to get a time set up for someone to just come to my house just to look at it, having to wait 2 weeks for that who knows how long until it'll actually be fixed.

The people involved have been very rude, seems to not care about my anger over this & very unprofessional. I know one thing, I will NEVER buy another thing from Ashley furniture & I know I won't EVER recommend them, not even to anyone, if I hated someone, I don't, but I'd not even tell that person(s) about them. I regret ever hearing about them, let alone buying something from them!!!

Replies
Poor Service, Cannot Deliver Product
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOUISVILLE, KENTUCKY -- I purchased a couch and recliner almost 2 months ago and left excited about new furniture. We were given a delivery date only to have Ashley Furniture call the day of to tell me that the furniture was on back order. The new delivery date would be another 3 weeks. My thoughts, no sweat, things happen. On the new delivery date they didn't even bother to call. My wife stayed home all day and once the time was close, she called to find out the furniture was still on back order.

After being given the runaround, she was able to speak with the highest ranking customer service representative (I use this term loosely) and he offered us $130 in store credit and told us that the new delivery date "should be" July 11th, but fell short of guaranteeing.

Customer service was rude and condescending and not once took any ownership of doing anything wrong. An "I'm sorry" goes a long way and I have yet to receive that. Additionally, they initially tried telling me they could not refund money back to my card that I put down as a deposit and would just apply anything to my existing credit. Only one that benefits it them. So now instead of being able to cancel my order over the phone, I have to actually go to the store to cancel the order. They were unwilling to fix the problem and unwilling to apply and adequate credit to my purchase.

Replies
Ashley Furniture and Warranty Are Useless, Staff Not Much Better
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We purchased a sofa set in July of 2010 knowing that we were only going to be in Mesa, AZ for 1 year so we specifically asked if the extended 5-year warranty was transferable anywhere and purchased it when we were assured that it was. The couches were beautiful, we moved to Cincinnati, OH as planned and have been here for 3 years.

About a month ago I started seeing some light scuffing but nothing I was concerned about and then about a week ago the couch started peeling, and I mean huge flakes coming off on the seams of the seat cushions where the cushions rub together when you sit and stand back up, the seams of the back cushions, the folds where the back cushions push into the seat cushions, the arm rest and all that is underneath is foam - FOAM (yellow to boot)!

I called Ashley Furniture here in Cincinnati and the representative was very nice but informed me that he couldn't do anything and maybe call Mesa to see if there was anything they could do like release their records to them so they could further assist me.

So I called Mesa and the representative there said that the peeling was normal wear and tear and wasn't covered. I told her that was ridiculous as I have a couch falling apart and the salesman told me the warranty covered anything that diminished from the finished look of the couch. She said it didn't matter anyway as we had moved out of the warranty coverage area and had voided the warranty. I told her that didn't make sense and the salesman had told us that it would travel with us anywhere in the U.S. Her response was that it wasn't her fault we moved. Nice.

I asked her what we could do and her response was nothing. We are planning on going out to visit this summer so I asked if we brought them back with us if they would look at them (I know what you are thinking, that sounds crazy. I knew it sounded crazy at the time and the logistics didn't add up. We weren't going to do it but I am making a point here, stay with me) her response was that I would be outside of the reporting time for a problem and it didn't matter because by moving initially I had voided the warranty. Basically it doesn't matter what the situation was, they weren't going to do a blasted thing about it.

I looked online and it said that if you or your retailer moved to call a number in WI so I did that and spoke with a woman who said that she couldn't help me as they didn't cover extended warranties and to try calling Guardian. So I asked if she had the number, you guessed it, she didn't. So I got grumpy said I would never buy Ashley again, both times had been a headache and the company was incompetent and she transfers me to consumer affairs.

I explain to ** at Consumer Affairs that I am frustrated and the situation and he says that they are a factory and they can't do anything. I asked him why the website gave me the number to a factory under the "moved" option and he said they only handle the basic warranties. I told him that the website needed work and the company he worked for was inept and his response was "Thank you."

I get that this isn't really their problem but I am so frustrated with sleazy salesmen who will say anything they have to and don't care about the consequences for those they are taking advantage of and the greater company who doesn't care either. I am never buying Ashley Furniture again and will warn anyone I can from the same. Maybe next time I will get taken advantage of by a company whose furniture will last longer than four years.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Product
By -

VERNON HILLS, ILLINOIS -- On 02/02/08 my husband and I had two sofa delivered after picking them out in the Vernon Hills store. It has been just under two years since we have owned them and the bigger couch is so uncomfortable that none of us can bare to sit on it. Sure, the cushion is worn down from normal use (a measly two years) but it's what's underneath the worn cushion that makes it so uncomfortable; a big piece of hard wood.

We have been discussing filing a complaint for a while and we are doing so today after I plopped down on the couch the other day and hurt myself! I didn't jump on it, I was tired, I plopped down and I managed to plop right onto that board and now have a bruise on my back from the couch! We need a warning sign that says "sit down carefully, or you may get hurt".

We are not sure if it is the cushion that was made so cheaply and therefore flattened so quickly or if the furniture was made poorly all around. All we know is that if someone would have told us that we were paying $1700 for leather couches that will be so uncomfortable that they will induce pain either by sitting down on it or sitting for a period of time due to lack of cushion and hard blocks of wood underneath the lack of cushion, we would have run to La-Z-Boy furniture.

I called Ashley furniture today and they said their store manager will be in tomorrow. We are filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and never stepping foot in a Ashley Furniture store again. We did buy an extended warranty but never received any information. Plus I looked on their website and the store "does not have extended warranties". Meaning you threw your money in the toilet unless you actually have physical damage to the furniture that needs repair.

We have taken excellent care of the furniture, there is no damage other than it is junk in itself. I remember my parents having a couch for 15 years and it was so still comfortable. We didn't even get two years out this cardboard couch. We feel we have been ripped off and the only way to remedy this is to add cushion which I am sure a store that sells this poorly constructed furniture is not going to do such a thing.

Replies
Defective Furniture
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- On March 30th, 2016, I purchased several pieces of furniture from Ashley Furniture Store on Broad Street, in Richmond, Virginia. The first time we sat on the furniture, the foot of the sofa broke off, rendering the sofa unsafe for use. I communicated this to the Manager of Customer Service, Ms. **, and was told that the sofa would have to be checked and repaired.

I did not pay for refurbished furniture, and the cash that I paid was not defective. I requested an exchange, which was denied. I took out a Warrant in debt to request a refund; however, you must file the claim in Fredericksburg, an hour and a half away, and I have to contact an attorney to find out who is accountable. The Ashley Furniture chains seems to be in the business of defrauding the public, and with the assistance of the legal system, it is impossible to resolve an issue or get a refund.

Replies
Incompetent Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BURBANK -- I purchased a couch, loveseat, and ottoman from Ashley Furniture. Before the one year warranty on my furniture had terminated, the seams on the cushions of the furniture were tearing away. After trying to get in contact with customer service numerous times, I was finally able to get a hold of someone after waiting 30 to 40 minutes in the phone. The representatives were rude and rushed me to get off the phone.

They proceeded to send me replacement parts but did not send all the parts. When the first worker came to replace the parts, he realized that the entire order had not been shipped. Once again, I had to call and tell them to send the rest of the parts, of which I remained on the phone for 30 to 40 minutes just to talk to someone.

When they sent a second person to replace the furniture parts, the worker came without tools just to tell me that the company had scheduled the work for 30 minutes but in actuality about 3 hours of labor was required. Therefore, the worker did not do anything but came all the way to tell me that the work could not be done and that I had to call in and reschedule again. This would be the fourth time.

Apart from the low quality of the furniture, it is evident that both the customer service and the independent workers who come to fix the products are incompetent and just wasting people's time. I am deeply disappointed in the service and will not consider shopping with this company again.

Replies
Durablend couch - Stay Clear!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CONROE, TEXAS -- I've had my Durablend couch I spent almost 2k for and I've only owned it for 3 years and it's falling apart. I contacted the warranty company 2 months ago and they haven't responded after I spent time taking pictures and writing up a report on the issue. Very low-class company - STAY AWAY!

Replies
Advertisement
Cheap Product, Cheaply Made - Never Ever Buy Ashley Furniture No Matter How Good the Product May Look
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW ROPCHELLE, CONNECTICUT -- Cheap product, cheaply made. Never ever buy Ashley furniture no matter how good the product may look or the deal may sound. I thought I was dealing with a genuine furniture company only to realize I was not. While passing by an Ashley store in New Rochelle we thought of doing some window shopping and ended up buying two sofas though we already had a beautiful leather sofa set. The salesperson one Mr. ** who was an excellent person very professional and helpful, who closed the deal - he even sold us on the extra 5 year warranty making a special mention that ASHLEY FURNITURE STANDS BEHIND ALL ITS PRODUCT.

As we did not need the sofas right away we stored them in our basement for nearly five to six months. When we were getting guests visiting from India we brought the sofas to the living room. To cut the story short the sofas were nothing but a cheap product. Every time one sat on it the lumber of the frame would start creaking and the seats would come out of its place, this would happen even if my three year old grandchild sat on it.

The creaking was bearable but the shifting of the seats was a pain. Every time anyone sat on it the seats would move out of its place - a sheer embarrassment in front of guests. One of them even commented “this is what happens when you buy cheap stuff from cheap outfits, GO OUT AND BUY SOME REAL FURNITURE”.

I called up and complained at the store. Mr. ** being a professional, he apologized for the inconvenience and told me to call the warranty number. When I called them I was told the complaint of mine is not covered as that sounds like a manufacturing defect and that I should call the company customer service or the store.

Since I had tried the latter I called the Customer service and after many back and forth questioning with different individuals on several occasions, I was told to take Velcro and stick it on the seat and the frame, which sounded ridiculous to me after having purchased the sofas and being told that the company stands behind its product, is this what they really meant USING VELCRO?

When I insisted for a solution to this problem I was told by one of the CS ladies they have had several similar complaints. When I told her to send me an e-mail to referring to what she had just told me she said she would but that e-mail never came. I called up Mr. ** again and he sounded genuinely concerned but I do not think the salespeople have any leverage at the store level.

I had given up on the whole sofa issue as a foolish decision where I was stupid to buy without doing my homework, when one of my guests who visited my house recently and who experienced the problem first suggested that I should put the issue in the store reviews so that other people do not fall into the same trap I did.

Remember I started my complaints within the first six seven months of my purchase and now have been living with it for 2 years. I even invited Mr. ** to visit my house and see the problem first hand but that did not happen (maybe company policy). But in short stay away from Ashley furniture. The furniture stinks, their customer support stinks (not at all professional - very rude – talking down at you attitude). The only silver lining are the salespeople but that I think goes with the territory. ASHLEY STORE, I AM SORRY I VISITED YOU.

Replies
Poor Customer Service. They Delivered the Wrong Sofa. My Boyfriend and I Saw One Sofa and Chose Only the One, Yet They Delivered
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- On June 16, I had gone to Ashley Furniture on San Felipe St. The salesman was **. I spent a lengthy time with him and had told him my boyfriend and I were interested in a couch, the only thing that was in debate whether to make it into a sofa bed. ** took me the walked me to where the sofa's were and which one could be turned into a sofa bed. The first sofa he showed me I liked immediately, the color, the price. The only thing I did not like was the additional price for a sofa bed.

As I told ** I was going to take a picture of it and send via message to my boyfriend **. In front of him I took the picture. Directly in front of the couch sits a sales table where the salespeople draw up the paper work. However that day I did not buy. I wanted my boyfriend to see it first, he would be in town the following weekend.

I gave ** my home number in the event the couch would go on sale; he had already indicated that there was currently a sale however there would be another one next week that would effect this couch. He wrote the name of the couch on a business card, not his personal he had no business cards yet. However he insisted that I ask for him when I make the purchase. He as well gave me his personal cell number.

** would call me twice informing me that the sofa was on sale with the reminder to ask for him. On July 1st ** called me again, to let me know the sofa had gone down considerably due to a 4th of July sale. The next day ** and I went to the store asked for ** as promised. He immediately wrote up the ticket as both ** and I both sat on the couch we were purchasing.

On July 13th the couch was delivered to my home, it was wrapped. As the delivery guy unwrapped it, I immediately addressed the concern that it did not like, this one had puffy seats, and I do not recall brass buttons on the stems of the arms. The delivery man said once you break it in by sitting on it, the seats will go down, and maybe you just do not recall the couch to have buttons - after all you bought it 11 days ago. If it's wrong call the store.

I did and spoke to several including calling ** whom had denied even recalling me. He did however add insult to injury by saying you initialed a check off list, I demanded to see what the check off list was. The paper form reads on the Ashley Customer Courtesy Checklist my address info and a seven digit reference #?? A mere reference number, now what could that mean to me a customer or any customer? Soon after ** would go hide.

I made 2 different attempts in trying to get the sofa we had bought. I showed the Manager ** the picture of the couch I had bought, and assured I had not looked at any other. The battle would be over my acceptance of the couch, and the cost of the couch we wanted was more, and then another charge for delivery of $69.00. I had refused to give Ashley any more money. So, they ask me to choose another sofa. I did but because it was not the same it was cheaper I could not get.

Finally several hours and several managers we came to an agreement, Ashley would cover the cost of delivery and half the cost in the difference between the couch I had and the one I originally bought but did not. I should have read the reviews, but I see they are not known for customer service. I do not believe I will ever buy anything from Ashley again and as for **, quick to make the sale, but he is as dishonest as he treated this situation, he will one day find out if has not already that honesty is best. Hope he will have his job secured.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Ashley Furniture Couches and Sofas Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.8 out of 5, based on 60 ratings and
130 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Ashley Furniture
One Ashley Way
Arcadia, WI 54512
608-323-3377 (ph)
www.ashleyfurniture.com
customerservice@ashleyfurniture.com
Product/Services
Compare Furniture Stores