Preview Review

Next Review

Ashley Furniture Couches and Sofas Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor Quality and Scam the Consumer. Beware.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SUNRISE, FLORIDA -- We purchased the Power Recliner and Power Sofa at the end of Sept. 2015. Took delivery and after the holidays noticed the you would sink down lower in the recliner than the sofa, also the right "arm" pad was flat. We contacted them as we bought the extended home service plan. They looked at the pictures we sent them and they sent out a service tech.

The tech had told my wife and I that the recliner looked like it was a manufacturer's defect... He called his findings and the woman on the other end told my wife and I they were not going to do anything it was a wear condition? So $2200.00 plus the $200.00 plus on the warranty and you get 4 months use out of your furniture. Do not go to this store... Very bad business.

Replies
Advertisement
They sell junk even when bought brand new!!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EVANSVILLE, INDIANA -- I bought a matching couch & love seat combination w/ 4 built in recliners not even 6 months ago. Only 4 months after purchase a hole was in the love seat. It took more than a month for them to come to my house to just look at it, then another month after that to repair it. I had to keep calling to get results done several times. Now, the frame on the love seat has broken. Had to call 2 times to get a time set up for someone to just come to my house just to look at it, having to wait 2 weeks for that who knows how long until it'll actually be fixed.

The people involved have been very rude, seems to not care about my anger over this & very unprofessional. I know one thing, I will NEVER buy another thing from Ashley furniture & I know I won't EVER recommend them, not even to anyone, if I hated someone, I don't, but I'd not even tell that person(s) about them. I regret ever hearing about them, let alone buying something from them!!!

Replies
Poor Service, Cannot Deliver Product
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOUISVILLE, KENTUCKY -- I purchased a couch and recliner almost 2 months ago and left excited about new furniture. We were given a delivery date only to have Ashley Furniture call the day of to tell me that the furniture was on back order. The new delivery date would be another 3 weeks. My thoughts, no sweat, things happen. On the new delivery date they didn't even bother to call. My wife stayed home all day and once the time was close, she called to find out the furniture was still on back order.

After being given the runaround, she was able to speak with the highest ranking customer service representative (I use this term loosely) and he offered us $130 in store credit and told us that the new delivery date "should be" July 11th, but fell short of guaranteeing.

Customer service was rude and condescending and not once took any ownership of doing anything wrong. An "I'm sorry" goes a long way and I have yet to receive that. Additionally, they initially tried telling me they could not refund money back to my card that I put down as a deposit and would just apply anything to my existing credit. Only one that benefits it them. So now instead of being able to cancel my order over the phone, I have to actually go to the store to cancel the order. They were unwilling to fix the problem and unwilling to apply and adequate credit to my purchase.

Replies
Couch Peeling Like a Person With Bad Sunburn
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BEL AIR, MARYLAND -- February 16, 2012 I purchased a Durablend Black Reclining Sofa "**" and Also purchased The Durablend Black Reclining Loveseat w/ console "**", and Purchased the 5-year Extended Warranty "**". The seating surfaces on the couch are peeling off life like a person who had bad sunburn. The recliner is broke and had gouged my wood flooring badly. I called to file a claim "**" and was informed these issues are not covered. I really loved the looks of the set and when told about the extended warranty I could get which would cover anything that could go wrong with it in the next five years I was sold!

Now I'm having these problems I told "oh well the warranty doesn't cover "DuraBlend". It also doesn't cover the reclining mechanism." If it doesn't cover the Durablend why was I sold the warranty? I was told this warranty covered everything. Now I'm stuck with a Horrible looking piece of furniture, that's broke and has ruined my wood floor. BUYERS BEWARE!!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Warranty Is a Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a leather sofa along with the warranty. A few months before the warranty ran out the seat cushions started to peel and flake off in big pieces. We took one of the cushions into the Joplin, MO store from where we had purchased the sofa. They gave us contact info for the warranty dept. We were told that we would have to have the serial # for the sofa and were told where to find it on the sofa; however, there was not a serial # there.

We have been denied the claim even though we still have the receipt. When we asked about just paying for new cushions we were told that there are no replacement parts for sofas. I'm really disappointed in Ashley and will not buy from there again.

Replies
Ashley Furniture and Warranty Are Useless, Staff Not Much Better
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We purchased a sofa set in July of 2010 knowing that we were only going to be in Mesa, AZ for 1 year so we specifically asked if the extended 5-year warranty was transferable anywhere and purchased it when we were assured that it was. The couches were beautiful, we moved to Cincinnati, OH as planned and have been here for 3 years.

About a month ago I started seeing some light scuffing but nothing I was concerned about and then about a week ago the couch started peeling, and I mean huge flakes coming off on the seams of the seat cushions where the cushions rub together when you sit and stand back up, the seams of the back cushions, the folds where the back cushions push into the seat cushions, the arm rest and all that is underneath is foam - FOAM (yellow to boot)!

I called Ashley Furniture here in Cincinnati and the representative was very nice but informed me that he couldn't do anything and maybe call Mesa to see if there was anything they could do like release their records to them so they could further assist me.

So I called Mesa and the representative there said that the peeling was normal wear and tear and wasn't covered. I told her that was ridiculous as I have a couch falling apart and the salesman told me the warranty covered anything that diminished from the finished look of the couch. She said it didn't matter anyway as we had moved out of the warranty coverage area and had voided the warranty. I told her that didn't make sense and the salesman had told us that it would travel with us anywhere in the U.S. Her response was that it wasn't her fault we moved. Nice.

I asked her what we could do and her response was nothing. We are planning on going out to visit this summer so I asked if we brought them back with us if they would look at them (I know what you are thinking, that sounds crazy. I knew it sounded crazy at the time and the logistics didn't add up. We weren't going to do it but I am making a point here, stay with me) her response was that I would be outside of the reporting time for a problem and it didn't matter because by moving initially I had voided the warranty. Basically it doesn't matter what the situation was, they weren't going to do a blasted thing about it.

I looked online and it said that if you or your retailer moved to call a number in WI so I did that and spoke with a woman who said that she couldn't help me as they didn't cover extended warranties and to try calling Guardian. So I asked if she had the number, you guessed it, she didn't. So I got grumpy said I would never buy Ashley again, both times had been a headache and the company was incompetent and she transfers me to consumer affairs.

I explain to ** at Consumer Affairs that I am frustrated and the situation and he says that they are a factory and they can't do anything. I asked him why the website gave me the number to a factory under the "moved" option and he said they only handle the basic warranties. I told him that the website needed work and the company he worked for was inept and his response was "Thank you."

I get that this isn't really their problem but I am so frustrated with sleazy salesmen who will say anything they have to and don't care about the consequences for those they are taking advantage of and the greater company who doesn't care either. I am never buying Ashley Furniture again and will warn anyone I can from the same. Maybe next time I will get taken advantage of by a company whose furniture will last longer than four years.

Replies
Terrible Product
By -

VERNON HILLS, ILLINOIS -- On 02/02/08 my husband and I had two sofa delivered after picking them out in the Vernon Hills store. It has been just under two years since we have owned them and the bigger couch is so uncomfortable that none of us can bare to sit on it. Sure, the cushion is worn down from normal use (a measly two years) but it's what's underneath the worn cushion that makes it so uncomfortable; a big piece of hard wood.

We have been discussing filing a complaint for a while and we are doing so today after I plopped down on the couch the other day and hurt myself! I didn't jump on it, I was tired, I plopped down and I managed to plop right onto that board and now have a bruise on my back from the couch! We need a warning sign that says "sit down carefully, or you may get hurt".

We are not sure if it is the cushion that was made so cheaply and therefore flattened so quickly or if the furniture was made poorly all around. All we know is that if someone would have told us that we were paying $1700 for leather couches that will be so uncomfortable that they will induce pain either by sitting down on it or sitting for a period of time due to lack of cushion and hard blocks of wood underneath the lack of cushion, we would have run to La-Z-Boy furniture.

I called Ashley furniture today and they said their store manager will be in tomorrow. We are filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and never stepping foot in a Ashley Furniture store again. We did buy an extended warranty but never received any information. Plus I looked on their website and the store "does not have extended warranties". Meaning you threw your money in the toilet unless you actually have physical damage to the furniture that needs repair.

We have taken excellent care of the furniture, there is no damage other than it is junk in itself. I remember my parents having a couch for 15 years and it was so still comfortable. We didn't even get two years out this cardboard couch. We feel we have been ripped off and the only way to remedy this is to add cushion which I am sure a store that sells this poorly constructed furniture is not going to do such a thing.

Replies
Defective Furniture
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- On March 30th, 2016, I purchased several pieces of furniture from Ashley Furniture Store on Broad Street, in Richmond, Virginia. The first time we sat on the furniture, the foot of the sofa broke off, rendering the sofa unsafe for use. I communicated this to the Manager of Customer Service, Ms. **, and was told that the sofa would have to be checked and repaired.

I did not pay for refurbished furniture, and the cash that I paid was not defective. I requested an exchange, which was denied. I took out a Warrant in debt to request a refund; however, you must file the claim in Fredericksburg, an hour and a half away, and I have to contact an attorney to find out who is accountable. The Ashley Furniture chains seems to be in the business of defrauding the public, and with the assistance of the legal system, it is impossible to resolve an issue or get a refund.

Replies
Advertisement
Incompetent Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BURBANK -- I purchased a couch, loveseat, and ottoman from Ashley Furniture. Before the one year warranty on my furniture had terminated, the seams on the cushions of the furniture were tearing away. After trying to get in contact with customer service numerous times, I was finally able to get a hold of someone after waiting 30 to 40 minutes in the phone. The representatives were rude and rushed me to get off the phone.

They proceeded to send me replacement parts but did not send all the parts. When the first worker came to replace the parts, he realized that the entire order had not been shipped. Once again, I had to call and tell them to send the rest of the parts, of which I remained on the phone for 30 to 40 minutes just to talk to someone.

When they sent a second person to replace the furniture parts, the worker came without tools just to tell me that the company had scheduled the work for 30 minutes but in actuality about 3 hours of labor was required. Therefore, the worker did not do anything but came all the way to tell me that the work could not be done and that I had to call in and reschedule again. This would be the fourth time.

Apart from the low quality of the furniture, it is evident that both the customer service and the independent workers who come to fix the products are incompetent and just wasting people's time. I am deeply disappointed in the service and will not consider shopping with this company again.

Replies
Durablend couch - Stay Clear!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CONROE, TEXAS -- I've had my Durablend couch I spent almost 2k for and I've only owned it for 3 years and it's falling apart. I contacted the warranty company 2 months ago and they haven't responded after I spent time taking pictures and writing up a report on the issue. Very low-class company - STAY AWAY!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Ashley Furniture Couches and Sofas Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.8 out of 5, based on 60 ratings and
129 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Ashley Furniture
One Ashley Way
Arcadia, WI 54512
608-323-3377 (ph)
www.ashleyfurniture.com
customerservice@ashleyfurniture.com
Product/Services
Compare Furniture Stores