Ashley Furniture - Page 2

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.8 out of 5, based on 181 ratings and
641 reviews & complaints.
customerservice@ashleyfurniture.com
Product/Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Don't Bother With This Crappy Store in Central Park, Fredericksburg
By -

VIRGINIA -- When we first purchased our home in '09, it was in need of lots of furniture. We went to Ashley Furniture in Central Park, Fredericksburg, VA, with hopes of getting some nice pieces to fill our home. After paying down on one layaway, we were left with one final suit for our master bedroom. The store manager at the time ** was wonderful with assisting us with our previous purchases. He had assisted us in changing out some pieces that were not really our style for more contemporary pieces.

With this in mind, we trusted him to come through for us once more when we needed that same done for the bedroom suit. We were told that they would take care of the switch out for us. We looked forward to it being done right, being that we were familiar faces in the store, and walked out without the new receipt with the made changes in hand.

On January 2011 we walked into the store to take one last look and to make a payment on the suit. We were greeted by the same sales representative that dealt with us, Mr. **. He began to tell us that one of the items in our suit was no longer available. After speaking with him for a while, we discovered that the suit he was talking about was the one that was supposed to have been swapped out for the other that was more of our style.

He then began to tell us that the suit was now more expensive than we originally anticipated, because it was a few months from the last promotion, which would have kept it the same price. Now we had to pay out an additional $599 for a night stand. I was highly upset to say the least because it was an error on their part for not doing the switch out as promised when the prices were still going to be the same. Now my husband and I had to pay extra for something that was their mistake.

I tried to get it resolved with the new store manager. But after seeing his people skills upon yelling with a couple on the sales floor, we knew it would be challenging. When we told him about the issue, we told him that we would like to take off the $1000 mattress and just pay for the suit, because the mattress was simply too expensive and that we could not afford that price at this time. We even told him that we saw one for $650 and needed to know a. s.a. p. to take advantage of the other promotion. He told us he would let us know by Tuesday, February 1, 2011.

Needless to say he never called us at all. It's now June 22, 2011 and we have yet to ever get a call from this joke of a manager. After contacting their Customer Service Dept. many times, no one has once tried to contact us within these five months to have this matter of the mattress and the price change for the extra night stand resolved.

On a weekly basis, I have been contacting the Customer Service Manager named ** to find out the status of this matter. The issues I have here is that she herself never calls when she says she will, or tells me that she will have the General manager or store owner get in contact with me which they never had, and that she will escalate the situation to the necessary people to have me satisfied. Upon my last conversation with ** on June 4, 2011, she told me that she had sent my information to **, one of the Regional Managers and that he would call me and if not, that she would call.

On June 5, 2011, my husband and I went into the store to make a payment. The following Sat., June 11, 2011 we went back into the store to have the canopy bed switched out with the regular bed due to a new ceiling fan being installed in the master suit. The manager ** began to cover himself with riddles of deception and lies by stating that he had just called us this past Friday and left a message for us to call him back. I immediately knew this was a lie because the phone number was disconnected and not in service. I challenged him by asking him why he did not use the number that was provided when I left messages there several times.

He stated that he just went off of the numbers on the ticket. Then he asked us if that was a good number to use. We told him no and that the number, which I gave to **, a store rep., was the most suitable number. We did not know it at first, but once we had the changes made to the bed and walked out with our receipt, we realized that he had placed inaccurate, deceptive and misleading information on our ticket about him leaving us messages on the old number.

I was infuriated with all his incompetence, ineffectiveness as a manager and shenanigans that he was up to, because when we were in the store the previous week, our ticket stated no such notes about him leaving messages. The following Tuesday, June 14, 2011 and June 21, 2011, I left a message for **; I have yet to hear back from her.

Needless to say, this matter that is five months in the making has ineffective, inept and incompetent people working in a customer service oriented field with obviously, no ability of how to rectify such a simple matter. My deepest wish is to replace the joke of a manager at the Fredericksburg store with a more qualified candidate, because ** will eventually cause this store to loose more and more customers daily.

I on the other hand, will do all within my power to post every negative review on the web about this experience, because of the inability to have this matter resolved in such a long time. The General Manager ** and the store owner should be embarrassed to have such dissatisfied customers as myself and to lose us to their competitors. The Ashley Furniture store at Carl D. Silver, Fredericksburg, VA reminds me of a Brooklyn fish market, all hype but no true quality.

Replies
Flee From This Company. Do Not Buy Anything From Them or You Will Be Sorry!! Never Again Will I Waste My Time or Money
By -

MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- Oh Lord, where do I begin? First the good stuff. My daughter and I went in there and all the sales people hang around the front door and rush you when you walk in, you don't get a chance to look around, obviously there to sell you something and make a commission, like piranha. But I have to admit our sales lady was very nice, helpful, polite and did come down on some prices, even with a sale going on.

My problems came in after they got my money as I paid them that day for my 4 grand of stuff. Being promised the whole time "oh it will be there in 2-3 weeks delivered to your house," 4 weeks at the very most if they have any problems. I told them I was remodeling my home, and I also had company coming in from California for a month to visit. "Oh no problem it will be there" blah, blah. They would sell you a bucket with a hole in the bottom while you were up to your neck in a fire, and tell you there's no hole in the bucket. You need to bail water faster.

I just got my last item from my order. I had to pick up about 40 miles each way that was ordered January 1, 2009, and was paid for to be delivered with the rest of my stuff, that came well after that 3-4 weeks I was promised and after my company came and stayed a month - after that 2-3-4-week period it was promised to be delivered, it came the day after my company left. After they slept in the floor because we didn't have any living room furniture, no dining room furniture etc, we had beds.

I eventually went to Walmart and bought a 60 dollar inflatable bed for them to sit and sleep on in the empty living room. I was never so embarrassed in my life. I think my company got the feeling I did not want them using my new furniture and had it delivered the day after they left - sure made me look like crap. I had to take them out to dinner almost every night as we had no dining room table and chairs as we took Ashley so called professionals at their word that we would have our furniture in 2-3 weeks.

So being Disabled, I had to get removal help when I could to get my old stuff out to make room for my new stuff. That was not a good thing. If Ashley was going to take that long they should have told me to leave my stuff in the house as I told them my situation and they could have taken it out, and I would have had something for myself, kids and company to sit and eat on for the last almost 3 months.

My $700.00 oriental run did not make the original delivery, everything was paid for completely from January 1st, and I was assured by the delivery people it would be along shortly and they would call me about it. I never heard another word from Ashley.

Being a patient man, single dad with children I'm raising while I'm physically disabled also, I have learned about patience. So I waited and waited until I was beginning to fear I would forget about my rug and remember it 6 months from now and Ashley of course would say, "you got your rug pal 6 months ago, don't try pulling that." So since my phone was not ringing off the hook I call them one day. And I get someone on the phone who can't find my order, looks up my name sees who my saleslady is and I hear them talking about what, where it could be, why didn't I get it yet etc.

Total confusion on the other end, so she comes back on the phone and says "oh, we are going to have to call you back in a little bit on that, and yes sir it's been a very long time. Most people are yelling and screaming by now when we deal with them like this," I said "I'm a very patient man but, I want my rug I paid for months ago." So I'm left expecting a call back shortly telling me the status of my rug (but I did also overhear that my rug had come in over a month earlier and why had no one called me but they could not find it anywhere).

So I sat home all day long waiting for that call, I got it about 7 or 8 hours later telling me they had it but actually didn't have it, they had to find it somewhere in there warehouse, and they would call me. Several days later I got a message on my answering machine telling me my rug was down there and I could come and pick it up anytime.

At this point it's almost comical, like dealing with the three stooges, but I think they would have even had the common sense to deliver it since I had paid for it already to be delivered and it says that on the paperwork I took off the rug when I got home with it. Apparently they also do not read down there. I'm sure it was on the computer order as it was printed out from a computer on the attached delivery sheet on my rug.

Needless to say I drove 80 miles plus round trip to get a rug I already had paid to have delivered and to top that off, everyone was sitting around the front doors swarming potential customers as they walked in. I got by that and went to the back counter where the 3 people sitting back there looked like I was inconveniencing them because I had to interrupt their conversation to find out where my paid for rug was. So after she pulls up my name after I tell her the ordeal I have been going through for the last few months, and she says "oh your rug is over there," and points to a rack of them rolled up.

So I'm like "oh OK." Being surprised by the lack of interest and effort I went over and she got up and headed over there and said "there it is," and I said "Ma'am, I'm disabled is it really heavy?" "I don't know, I can't pick it up," she says. So it's not a huge rug so I figure maybe I can get it and I was able to slip it out of the race and drag it out of the store as all the sales people watched me, and not a single one offered to help, by then I was ready to leave that place.

As I was walking away from the back counter the girl says "maybe I can find someone to help you." By then the hard part was over the lifting, I could drag it to the car and she could have helped me but choose to stand and watch me after I told her I was injured. Thank God for my pain meds, later on, I sure needed a good dose of them, after that dose wore off.

I never saw such an unhelpful bunch of people in my life, except for my original sales lady she would have and did carry the first rug I bought out to my truck for me. God bless her, I have nothing bad to say about her and I think she would not have allowed that to go on had she been working that day. She knew I was Disabled and would not allow me to help her carry the first one out, and none of those other lazy salespeople would lift a finger to help her carry it through the store and to my truck back in January.

And when I took my rug home yesterday, I walked right through the middle of them all gathered there. Not a single one offered to help a customer carry a rug out, much less question me as to where I was going with it and did I have a receipt for it, no one checked my id or asked me any questions, like my address. They just took my word for whom I was and allowed me to walk out with a rug, not signing anything, showing them anything like identification.

I was shocked at the lack of security and the could careless attitude. I could have walked out with the safe and no one would have said a thing, long as it was not there safe. Had I been a crook I could have just looked on one of those other rugs, and sent someone in and told them to say "I'm ** and I'm here to get my rug," and they could have just walked out with an $800.00 rug, then when ** showed up I'm sure they would have told him he got his rug two days ago. Most likely where my rug went in Jan, when I didn't get it.

If I owned that business, I'd be reaming some butt over that, lack of concern, seems everyone down there is worried about sales and commissions rather than anything else. In the thirty some years I have been in business locally in the same area. I have dealt with all kinds of thieve and professional thieves in my time. And I'll tell you what, one of the thieves that was not any good at it most likely has there whole house full of Ashley furniture, rugs and anything else they can just pick up and walk out the door with unchallenged.

I could have backed my truck up to the front doors and loaded it up and no one would have said a thing, nor did they when I took my rug out of there. The only person that had any idea what I was doing in there was that girl at the back counter of the store. If those idiots were smart they would have a customer service counter up front to catch the disgruntled people as they walked out, rather than a bunch of sales people sitting on their butts loitering waiting on customers to bring them money in the front door. Personally I like to look around a little then find someone to help me.

Replies
Bad Furniture Please Don't Buy From Them
By -

1516 US HWY 41, INDIANA -- Key Town wall unit Model #W668-26. The floor model was very nice, what they deliver to me was pure garbage!!! DUSTY!! Sections were not stained, dented, scratches, door had 1 screw in each hinge, door did not line up, glass shelves were scratched and cracked, lights did not work! They sent a repairman and he damages the front with his tool belt causing a noticeable scrap. He tried to adjust the door, HE HAD to have noticed the screws missing but did nothing or say anything about it.

The store then sent out another unit and it was worse than the first. The whole top of the crown molding on the unit was not stained and it was so dusty and looked like 100 people touched it. Fingerprints were so prominent that a CSI agent would have found 100 criminals. They finally agreed to refund the purchase and tax but not the delivery. I am now fighting to have that refunded. If you have any questions about my experience email me at **. Had I known that the furniture was not made here in the USA I would have never entered the store, another lie by this company. Please beware!!!

Replies
Cinnamon Larson Sectional Corner Chair
By -

CANADA -- Sectional is beautiful and will stay like it if you don't sit on it. We bought it January 27th and the corner chair cushion has lost it's shape and the cushion is all smashed a week after we bought it and the fabric is all stretched and loose and looked old only 1 month later. The cushion is smashed and won't take its shape. The other pieces are okay since we rarely sit on them. We can't even flip the big cushion of the corner chair around since there is black thin polyester fabric underneath and velcro. Stay away from this nice looking sectional. Unless you don't plan to sit on it!!!

Replies
Bad Experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN -- Purchased Dura Blend Sectional from Ashley Furniture in 2012 and the furniture is peeling really bad such a waste of money.

Replies
Great Experience Over All
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

NEWNAN, GEORGIA -- Loved the experience and the customer service was great. I loved it and will recommend it to my family and friends, great service. Love my new set of couches, great quality overall.

Replies
Shop Elsewhere!! Save Yourself the Heartache!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GREENWOOD, INDIANA -- The absolute worst experience I have ever had with buying anything! So disappointed and still have no furniture. Our orders - yes, two of them, were placed on 11/9/14 and today - 1/13/15 I still have no living room furniture and the issue with our mattress/base has not been resolved. Ashley didn't have a problem cashing or taking the cashier's check for payment immediately. The people who have answers and can get things done never call back and make empty promises. No one has consistent information or can give us a true timeline. We get nothing but lies and delays, more of them every day.

We ordered a mattress and adjustable base. They scheduled delivery for a Saturday, my husband took the day off of his commissioned job on the busiest day of the week. Only to have them never call back or show up. After multiple phone calls to the warehouse, customer service and the store, and a trip back to the store - we did end up with delivery around 6 pm that day, only to get the wrong mattress! Ultra FIRM as opposed to the ultra PLUSH we ordered.

Long story short, we ended up sleeping on what felt like a board for a full week before we ended up going into the store and taking a FLOOR MODEL just so we could alleviate the unbelievable back and neck pain my husband and I were experiencing by this time. Still, we do not have the updated invoice or information for this transaction. Though customer service calls at least once a week to deliver the mattress and base that they brought now 6 weeks ago. The wrong mattress by the way.

Every time they call I ask for the status of our living room furniture. And every time they check I get a different ready or estimated date. I've been told every time that most pieces are in stock, but one or two were not in yet. I've been given no less than 6 different estimated delivery dates. Then on 1/6 I received another call to schedule delivery of our wrong mattress. When I asked them to check on our sectional again, and the lady said "well it is all ready to be scheduled, let's schedule for 1/13/15." Skeptically, I agreed. I received an automated confirmation call on 1/9/15 confirming delivery for 1/13 at 12:30. Then it came.

They call on 1/12 to let me know that they would be delivering everything except for the end piece with the left arm. This is a sectional! I do not want part of it, it does me no good. Yet another trip to the store… for the manager to assure us that it will be unloaded and it will arrive with the rest of the pieces. That he will confirm this and then call us first thing in the morning, prior to delivery. So here we are, still waiting, not really expecting a phone call at 10 am.

I am so over this, and now just thinking that every time I look at this furniture, I am going to think about nothing but all the headache it has been to get it. I am disgusted and feel like I have been taken advantage of in the worst way. We were promised that these pieces were made to order - all at the same time so they would be made from the same leather and stitching, etc. Clearly a lie. We were told our delivery should be around 12/8 "but we will put 12/23 on the paperwork just to be safe and make sure you get it before Christmas". We were told so many things, all lies. Spent several thousand dollars. For nothing. And still no furniture.

Replies
Worst Buying Experience Ever!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- If you call Ashley's corporate number you will hear… The cornerstone of Ashley… "We strive to give our very best to retailers, to give exceptional customer service, to offer quality and value, and give quick deliveries." HA! What a lie! I experienced absolutely NONE of those things in my buying experience at Ashley Furniture store.

Aug 20 - I spent $2800 buying a bedroom set, sofa and matching chair. My salesperson was nice. My furniture was set for delivery on Sept 4. Sept 4 - I received the wrong color sofa and chair. The delivery guys took it back. My nightstand and dresser both had big scratches in them and the bed foot board had the corner bashed up so much raw wood was showing. I took pictures and headed to the store to show them the damages. My salesperson looked at them then handed me a brochure with a customer service number on the back and told me they didn't handle this stuff in the store that I needed to call that number and they would take care of everything.

Sept 5 - I received a call from a man saying he was the store manager and he wanted to clarify the color of green I wanted in my sofa and chair. I tell him the color should be cream NOT green. Sept 6 - My salesperson calls me saying he doesn't understand what color green I mean… I say C.R.E.A.M not green. Cream! I admit at this point I'm losing my patience and I call the store to speak with the store manager. He tells me he's been doing this 26 years and this kind of thing happens all the time and their furniture repair people can "work magic" in fixing the damaged items and I should just accept this is how it is on the sofa mix up.

I leave work, drive to the store, and this guy says "there is no pleasing you" when I tell him he needs to fix this or give my money back and proceeds to cancelling everything in the system. Turns out though, he is the Sales Manager NOT the Store Manager. She remembered me from the day I bought everything and says if I give her a chance she will make everything right. She gave me her number and said to call her if there are any problems. I agreed to give her and Ashley's a chance. In hindsight, not my smartest decision. We clarify the numbers for the cream sofa set with a delivery date of Sept 20. The repair person is still set for Sept. 27.

Sept. 18 - I received a phone call saying there is a problem with the manufacturer and my sofa set won't be here until Oct 1 but that they will deliver it to me the next day. I call ** the store manager. It seems we are back to too bad, so sad again. She tells me I have three options - 1) she says I can come in and pick out another set but I need to make sure it's in the system otherwise it will probably take just as long for delivery as the original one I ordered, 2) If I really like the cream set I can just wait for that one, or 3) I can come in and get my money back. Not quite what I would call the let me make this right options.

Today, Sept 27 - My repairman shows up, looks at my furniture and says there is nothing he do to fix it. I quote, "It's a matte finish, matte finishes have scratches. It's the packing it sent that scratches it. I can put a gloss finish on it" and "I have let them know I can't fix it and they will order you another dresser and nightstand." Huh? Who believes I'll see that before the second coming of Christ??? Not me!!

I called Ashley Corporate office and spoke with a man there who is going to pass this along to the representative that services the Ashley store at Decatur and 215. He says they're privately owned… or franchised I would call it, either way they are representing Ashley's name! I called the local customer service number. The girls there are sweet as can be but it doesn't seem like there is much they can do since they only handle repairs and deliveries but she, too, is supposed to call me back.

In the meantime. Hello Better Business Bureau where I posted a review. Hello Social Media and every review site I can find where I have or will be posting reviews until this is resolved. Hello to every single person I meet for the rest of my life who even hints they may be looking at or shopping for furniture. I will tell them DO NOT SHOP AT ASHLEY! EVER! They will nice until they get your money and then you don't exist for them.

Replies
Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILMINGTON, DELAWARE -- On the 28th of August I purchased a media chest from Ashley Furniture 4130 Concord Pike, Wilmington DE 19803. On my receipt was a tentative delivery date that had been crossed out with a black marker (I was able to see the date which was 8/31/13). After two (2) weeks I called the store to inquire about my delivery, I was placed on hold and then given another phone number to call regarding the delivery. I called 302-533-6139 and spoke with ** and a delivery date was set for the 18th of September.

On the 18th I called at 11:55 a.m. to see if they could give me an estimated time of delivery, I was told there was some problem with their truck and they called me to tell me of the delay but did not receive an answer, I gave them two (2) contact numbers! ** explained to me that it was her fault for not calling and letting me know, I took the day off from work for nothing! The delivery was rescheduled for the 23rd of September. I called at 4:00 p.m. to find out what time my merchandise was going to arrive and was told soon, I was the 8th delivery of the day and the delivery truck was on the 4th delivery.

I called again at 7:30 p.m. and no one answered the phone no voicemail or answering service, at 8:00 p.m. I called the store 302-543-6407, ** answered and placed me on hold to check with the delivery truck. ** came back on the line and told me I would be receiving my furniture in a couple of hours. Received a call at 8:36 p.m. from 302-256-6507, it was the delivery driver to inform me that they were having a problem with the truck, but said he was going to deliver my furniture. I did not receive my furniture on the 23rd of September!

The next day, the 24th of September, I called the store at 8:37 a.m. and was able to leave a message same number as the night before when the phone kept ringing and I was not able to leave a message! At 10:07 a.m. the delivery driver called me and wanted to know if he could deliver my furniture. They arrived at 10:30 a.m. I watched them unload the chest from the truck and was surprised it did not have any packing material around it nor was it wrapped in any type of protective blanket.

The driver told me it was wrapped up inside the truck, guess he didn't realize I watched them pull up and unload it! The chest has a dark spot on the top of it and the delivery guy told me that was from the blankets and I could clean it off! Brand new furniture that needs to be cleaned! The furniture is poor quality and I do not see it lasting a long time. I would have cancelled the order but Ashley Furniture charges a 40% restocking fee! That was my first and last experience with Ashley furniture I will never buy furniture from them again!

Replies
Never Buy Furniture From Ashley's
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PARAMUS, NEW JERSEY -- I don't even know where to begin with this nutjob they call a company... When looking for furniture with my boyfriend, out of all our options, Ashley in Paramus, NJ 'appeared' to be the friendliest company as well as where we were getting the 'better' deal. Worst Purchase Ever! We decided to buy a California King Bed Frame as well as a Memory Foam Mattress in June 2013.

Neither one of us was able to be there day of delivery (we had to ask family to be at our home to accept it for us). I really wish we would have been there ourselves because when we got home, not only were the wooden legs of our frame bending, but our mattress had a large horizontal dent from one end to the other!!!

Thinking that the dent was possibly from it being bent while in the delivery truck, we decided to let time pass to see if the dent would fluff back… and it never did! It is now about a month and a half after the delivery and the dent is still there, as well as the legs from the frame bending in.

After speaking with the Extremely Rude Customer Care Reps in Edison, NJ, they asked if we had the bed sitting on a hardwood floor, and we stated that it was. So their expert advice was for us to purchase a rug so that the wooden legs did not shift. Are You Serious?! That's really the best that you can do? How about you give us a rug free of charge so that we can fix your mistakes for you!!!

As far as the mattress is concerned, we scheduled for a technician (**) to come by our house to inspect it. We were told that the time frame of his arrival would be between the hours of 3:30-5:30 PM. After calling him ourselves Twice, he then proceeded to call us to tell us he was running late. At this point it was 6:30 PM. He did not show until 7:30 PM. He stayed for 5 minutes and suggested that we allow even more time to pass to allow for the mattress to "fluff back up." You've got to be kidding me!

On their website, they mention that "In less than 10 years, Ashley Furniture HomeStores has become the No. 1 selling furniture store brand in the world and the No. 1 retailer of furniture and bedding..." This must be because their product is so overpriced/marked up and they do not accept returns of any product that is financed... so you're basically stuck with it.

High sales do not always define great product. Their high sales are due to persuasive, manipulative sales associates who sucker you into buying their crappy product. Thanks!!! All in all, if you're a fan of extremely poor product on top of horrible customer service who do not give a ** about satisfying their customers, then Ashley is the perfect place for you. =D

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >