Ashley Furniture - Page 4

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.9 out of 5, based on 169 ratings and
629 reviews & complaints.
customerservice@ashleyfurniture.com


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Horror Story - Experience With Ashley Furniture
Posted by on
WESLEY CHAPEL, FLORIDA -- On November 9, 2008 my husband and I decided that we needed a new bedroom set. Our bedroom set was 33 years old! It was time. And we decided to go to Ashley Furniture. They had a beautiful bedroom set that I fell in love with immediately. Well they ran our credit and we were not approved but they said they would get us approved via Rent-a-Center. We would end up paying more for the bedroom set but I loved it so much my husband did not mine. After all the paperwork was arranged and we made the necessary down payments a delivery date was scheduled. On November 25, 2008 the furniture arrived. It was in boxes and had to be assembled. Imagine our excitement we finally were able to get a new bedroom set. The three delivery men were in a hurry to unload and assemble. Most of the bedroom set was left with plastic still wrapped around it.

My husband is 69 years old. He was rushed to sign the delivery receipt and he felt that since the furniture was new there would be no problem. Wrong! My husband treated them with the utmost respect, served them refreshments and even tipped them. He then proceeded to take off the plastic and turn on the LCD lights when the lights would not turn on. He noticed scratches, dents, uneven doors and lights that were dimming on their own. He immediately called the delivery men who bluntly stated "sorry that is not our problem now" you need to call rent-a-center. That is rent a centers problem now. I arrived 10 minutes after they left and I went ballistic. The furniture was a disaster.

I immediately called the manager at rent a center who was very apologetic and sent a representative to look at the furniture. They were very upset to see the condition the furniture was in. They made arrangements to pick up the furniture and have it "repaired". In the mean time I was given a loaner from rent a center.

Can you imagine having to pay for a "new" bedroom set and have to get it repaired. And missing parts. After many calls to rent a center they were able to get the bed wall mirrors and pier replaced and were going to deliver to me when they noticed that the footboards for the bed was not sent. Again I was told they could not bring my bedroom set. I have contacted the district manager of the wesley chapel store who "issued us a credit for our February payment" but now it is March 8, 2009 and I have no bedroom set and my March payment is due March 9th. I called rent a center this week and was told that the armoire was in and they wanted me to look at it before they would deliver it. It was back from the repair shop. Well I was horrified the doors were lop-sided and I had to force it closed and it had more scratches than the first time when it was first delivered. I was so upset. The store representative could not believe his eyes when he himself unwrapped the "repaired armoire" I cannot believe that it is now 4 months and I am forced to pay for a bedroom set that I do not have in my home.

I am going to report my story to the local TV stations and every agency I can think of. We waited 34 years for a new bedroom set and I am praying we do not have to wait another 34 years. This is sad that Ashley Furniture can get away with this.

     
Replies
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- The customer service at the store is great when purchasing my items but when it comes to delivery. It's horrible. I ordered a mattress, couch and love seat that was supposed to be delivered within 3-4 weeks. At the third week mark I call just to get an update and I'm told that they are waiting for my love seat to come in and that it wouldn't be there until the week of Dec 18 which would put my order 5 weeks out at that point. So I ask if my mattress could be delivered sooner because I was sleeping on an air mattress which was killing my back. The customer service representative set up for delivery to be that following Wed which would have been Nov 10. The morning before they called to let me know what time the delivery would be there. Then that afternoon they called to tell me that my mattress was damaged while loading it in the truck and that they couldn't deliver it. So I had to wait for them to order a new one and then send that down and that someone from the store would call me later that day to give me the new date and time. Did I get a call, no. At this point I'm pissed. Not only did I not get a courtesy call to let me know it would be longer than 4 weeks but when I called later that afternoon on Nov 9 to find out when it would be delivered I kept getting the run around. When I asked to speak to a manager the young lady told me a manager wouldn't be in until that Thursday. When I told her that was unacceptable she told me she would look into my order and call me back. Did she? No. So I go to the store and low and behold, a manager is working. Now I'm extremely mad because she lied to me. The manager looked my info up and told me that my mattress would not be shipped to the store until Dec. 15. It is Now Dec 16, I called to check on my status and my delivery will not make it to the store until this weekend and they won't be able to deliver my stuff until Dec. 24. I have a brand new house that I've not been able to live in because I don't have a bed to sleep in because of the crap I've had to deal with from the delivery department. At this point by the time I get my stuff it will be a month that I've not been able to live in my home AND it will be 6 weeks total that I've been waiting on my stuff.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Dishonest Sales People
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
GREENSBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- Just purchased over $6000 of product on my sons bedroom suite and our bed. Our Sons furniture was not correct when it finally arrived and we sent back. Sales lady (Angela) on first day we were there was very slick and told us what we wanted to hear "you have 90 days to bring back" on a TEMPUR-PEDIC and moving base, we purchased and gave it 2 weeks and figured out that for sure we could not sleep on it at all. Called Ashley back they said "well give it 2 more weeks and lets see if you get use to it" so we did, still can't sleep on it. So we went in to the Ashley store, Then they tell us the $1500 base is not refundable! So after I almost ripped their head off for not telling me that when I purchased it we picked out a regular mattress that we both liked that was cheaper, ($1200) then they told us that the exchange had to be at the same price! Then we were very ticked off so talked to a manager (Nicholas Vega) he was no help at all told us however we could pick what ever out and he would exchange, costing us $300 to exchange the $2600 mattress! We agreed and waited until the day before the deliver date and called to find out that no order was made to deliver anything! My wife and I both got on different phones and both called at the same time, She was told that our sons bedroom suite was now cheaper than we paid, (we were also told while signing financing papers that we could call and get sale price within the first 30 days!) The lady on the phone gave the call to someone else that explained that because we financed we could not get the sales price! Would they really give us a sale price after purchase if we bought in cash? So do they give cash back to a customer when they have a sale on the same item they just purchased days before? I doubt it My call was the 2nd call in the same day talked to the same guy (John) that told me he would find out and call back, waited 7 hours and called again and then he says he will get the manager to call me. So no new mattress for us just a over priced sponge on a motorized base that we can't sleep on. Don't be surprised if Ashley Furniture closes in Greensboro, I will do my part in making that happen! If it was legal I would burn the building down!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bad Experience - Ashley Furniture
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
NAPERVILLE -- Today I got my $50 Black Friday coupon for Ashley Furniture. When I was shopping at Ashley Furniture, I found table lamp (list $69.99) that was interesting to my daughter. So I asked a sale person that I want to get one. He said he can give me 30% off for it and if I buy a pair, he can give me 40% off. I said I only need one. So he took me to Kathleen and told her that the lamp is for $49.99. After she puts in the order and asked how I want to pay for it, I showed her the $50 coupon and she seems upset and asked me if I want the 30% off or use the coupon, I said I want to use the coupon. She asked a manager to fix the order. At the same time, I overheard that she said to the manager," that he would get the lamp free if use the coupon then..." Anyway, the new order came up and I asked if she applied 30% off, she said 30% off on after the $50 coupon, not on the price of the item! So $69.99 - $50.00 (coupon) = $19.99, then 30% off on $19.99 = $6 off. I just did not feel that is right, it should be on the $69.99, not after the deduction of $50 cash coupon.

So now, I need to pay $15 for the lamp. She also said I could not return the item either since it is a sale. I don’t have the lamp yet since it is at the Wisconsin warehouse. I will pick it up when it the store call. The thing I'm upset about this is not really the price, although I did not feel the way they applied the discount was right, rather it is the attitude of the sale representative I got the feeling that she just did not want me to get anything using the coupon. That coupon is not free, I have to woke up very early in a cold morning, waiting at a long line to get it, and that was not necessary 100% able to get one. This is the first time I ever shop at Ashley and very much be the last time.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible Experience, Keep Delivering Damaged Furniture
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
NAPLES, FLORIDA -- I ordered an entire bedroom set from Ashley/City Furniture, and spent around $2,000 on it, plus $130 for shipping. The sales representative told me if I ordered the storage trundle, I don't need to buy a box spring for the mattress. She didn't have the storage trundle, only the trundle bed, but told me it was identical, just with drawers instead of an extra bed, and it ran the length and width of the bed. The day they delivered the set, I noticed several damages on every single piece. I sent everything back. They redelivered the following week, and again, everything was damaged. The third time, I received a dresser, the bed was damaged, but I had to keep it because we needed a bed, and the nightstand, and chest were damaged, and got sent back. I was told someone would come out to repair the bed the next day. Nobody showed up.

I called, and they told me that no appointment was set, and I would have to wait at least a week. They also damaged my hardwood floors in four different areas, by moving the bed around. I was told they would repair that as well (I'm doubtful). The trundle I had ordered was not what had been described to me... it looked nothing like the one I had seen, and was maybe a quarter of the size it was supposed to be. I had also been lied to about not needing the box spring. The three narrow slat would never be able to hold a mattress, so I sent the trundle back, along with the other pieces, and still had no bed to sleep in. The fourth time, they sent a boxspring, but the furniture was damaged, so I sent it back. The fifth time, I received a night stand, but the chest was damaged, so I sent that back.

Today was the sixth delivery, for the chest. It was damaged, I sent it back. The customer service supervisors refuse to discount anything, or even remove the delivery charge for my order. I paid full price for this garbage. Their only solution was for me to send everything back, and shop somewhere else for furniture. They have been so horrible to me, they will not do anything to fix the problem, they just continue to send me damaged pieces. BIG damages too... I don't understand how nobody notices theses things before bringing it to my house! I will never ever use them again!!!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
“Sometimes You Just Have to Pay a PRICE for Being a LOYAL CUSTOMER”
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MINNESOTA -- “Sometimes you just have to pay a PRICE for being a LOYAL CUSTOMER”
YES. I paid a PRICE for being a LOYAL CUSTOMER. I have always choose ASHLEY for every single furniture need. I used ASHLEY as a synonym of furniture. I never thought twice before buying the stuff from ASHLEY. If I liked any stuff from other furniture stores (Bakers, Slumber land and other online stores), I made sure to check with ASHLEY to see if they have the stuff available and if they don’t have one I used to buy the closest match available in ASHLEY. I recently brought a house, MY FIRST HOUSE. It may not be beautiful house but it’s still my dream house and the house where I can see myself getting old with my family. I decided to choose ASHLEY and make it a part of my dream house. I brought all my furniture from ASHLEY. The sales person helping me was a wonderful man and NO DOUBT the furniture were great. It’s not that I didn’t get the better deal for same furniture from other furniture stores but I didn’t want to trade my loyalty for some money that I would have saved going to different vendor. Finally the delivery was schedule for Feb 1st . I was really excited but this excitement was not able to last longer when only 50% of my furniture was delivered because the other furniture were not is good shape (Chipped/ broken). It was completely understood. NO BIG DEAL. I didn’t make a big deal out of it. So we again rescheduled for Feb 5th. Not to forget you have to be in your house when your furniture is delivered so I took half day off came home so that I can get my furniture. Guess what?? One of my furniture was still missing. I still understood the situation (after all I am so called Loyal customer) so I went to the store and I told them that I needed the remaining furniture by Feb 15 because I had some guest coming over. So finally Feb 15 I was getting ready for the party. I still didn’t get a call from ASHLEY regarding the delivery so I called them back and GUESS WHAT????? They told me there was some issue/error and my remaining furniture is scheduled to deliver for March 15. Isn’t that GREAT and INTERESTING???? Not to forget I live a mile away from the store. NOW I FEEL LIKE Sometimes you just have to pay a PRICE for being a LOYAL CUSTOMER

Thanks
Loyal Customer
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Very Poor Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
BLACKWOOD NJ, NEW JERSEY -- Extremely Poor Customer Service Experience at the Ashley Furniture store located at 5851 Rt-42, #17, Blackwood, NJ 08012

My experience with Ashley furniture is somewhat bitter sweet. Walking around the showroom and dealing with the salesperson was a very pleasant, if not enjoyable experience, however, my follow up experience with the manager” MANNIE” has been deplorable, to say the least.

I had purchased an entire living room set and was informed that my furniture would be delivered before the Christmas holiday and everything was in stock and ready for delivery. A few days after the purchase, we get a call from the salesperson who now informs me that there is a delay with one piece of furniture and it running a day later than expected but will definitely be there before the Christmas holiday. A few more days go by and I get yet another call now informing me that they are still missing one piece of furniture and it now won't be delivered until AFTER the holiday.

The sales person was trying everything in her power to come up with solutions to the problem however she couldn’t make the final decision and transferred me the so called manager of the store “MANNIE” Well, “MANNIE” had more excuses for not being able to resolve the problem and treated me as if it was not his problem and that the policies of the store were followed and there was “ NOTHING” he could do to change things. He never apologized for the inconvenience or tried to offer something for the inconvenience that Ashley had caused. All I have left to say is “ MANNIE” is not qualified for the position he is in and needs to learn how to serve the customer (the person with the $$$ )., I couldn't care less about their policies., My policy is that I don’t do business with companies that don’t treat me with respect and give me value for my money., If something doesn’t work, then just fix it.,Stop making excuses!! If you don’t know – then say “I don’t know, but let me find out for you.”, Companies are run by humans and humans make mistakes.,

I don’t judge them badly because they make a mistake., It’s how they resolve the mistake that matters. Lesson to be learned “MANNIE THE MANAGER”!!! FYI.. I canceled my $6,000.00 order and went to Raymour and Flannigan. Also, so that this doesn’t happen to anyone else, I will be posting this review everywhere I can until I get a response from Ashley Furniture for the way “MANNIE THE MANAGER” treats the customer..
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible Long Delivery Process
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MADISON, TENNESSEE -- My husband and made final decision on furniture. We decide on Ashley Furniture. We ordered furniture we were told it would be in at 2 weeks. Our salesmen had told us to call if we had any problems. Here goes....I call the salesmen to let him no I haven't heard or received any calls about my furniture. He put me on hold called the ware house in MS some pieces of our furniture were on back order. He told me what the pieces were. A week later a get a call from ware house to set up delivery.

After talking to representative there they never looked at my sales ticket. They were going to set up delivery only on bedroom furniture. I asked about my living room furniture they didn't even know I had ordered any or dining furniture. I asked about my back order furniture I was told it was still on back order. I asked could they deliver the stuff they had I was told no even after speaking to manager. I was told we don't do split deliveries. I called my salesman back to let him no of situation. He spoke to his manager. They called warehouse and told them to deliver what they had. I set up delivery. After long thinking a few days later I called warehouse back in MS they could not even tell me when I was going to be able to get furniture on back order. I called my salesman to see if he could find out I was told production would not start until January 6. When they have orders on furniture that a lot of customers doesn't order they have to have a certain amount of orders to make it.

So just because we were the only ones who had ordered this in particular piece. We had to wait for at least 3 more customers to order it before the warehouse could start production on making it.....REALLY!!! I called my salesmen back and talked to and then manager and told them I wanted another table to replace the one its taking so long to get they were compliant and then had the nerve to tell me if it cost more than the one we purchased I had to pay difference....I said I DON'T THINK SO. It's been 1 month and week. And I'm looking forward to a new table no matter the price and getting my delivery charge waived. NEVER AGAIN WILL WE DEAL WITH THESE PEOPLE AGAIN NOR WILL I RECOMMEND ANYONE TO THEM!!!!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
The Worst Customer Service EVER!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
DOVER, DELAWARE -- I was going to buy a bed from Ashley Furniture in Dover, De the sales lady was new but she assured me she could help me. I was interested in an 800 dollar bed. I asked if there was any loans or ways of financing available... the sales lady said she could run my credit to see if I would be approved. After she ran my credit I was approved for more than the bed was worth. But the sales lady then told me I had to pay 20% of the bed so that would be 160 dollars up front!!! This was only mentioned after she ran my credit I told her I wasn't interested in the loan then. She then told me its not a loan you will get a credit card in 7 to 10 days!!!! I was so upset because I thought she was just running my credit to see if I would be approved but I never wanted a credit card!!!

After all of this I left and called the manager who was also clueless and she wouldn't give me her name! At this point I was frustrated because my credit was going to be affected by this new credit card I didn't want. I later find out that I could have no interest for 12 months which was also not mentioned to me. The manager said she was new and the employees were not her responsibility!!! She then hung up on me. I called back and a Beth answered who proceeded to give me a fake managers name and she told me if I called again she would call the police on me! I then called the police myself to escort me into there building because I wanted a copy of my application for my records. The declined and wouldn't give me a thing! Then I contacted the owner a few days later to let him know my experience.

A Mr Bogus whom Is the owner said I was wrong and told me they would do nothing for me. I then called a Maryland department of Ashley furniture who gave me the same unprofessional attitude. Its very clear they only care about there money and scamming ppl. I will now contact the better business Bureau! I wish I read the reviews on this store before going in it!!! I haven't seen one good review yet and hope in the near future this store is shut down!!! I have never seen a company so horrible in my life! And yet there is nothing I can do.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Ashley Furniture Is a Total Waste of Money -AVOID
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MESA, ARIZONA -- We bought 2 leather/faux leather rocker recliners and leather/faux recliner couch - a matched set in burgundy on July 3, 2010. It is just my husband and I and the furniture hasn't been sat on much. We are in our 60s and the furniture has been treated well and cared for using their instructions for care of leather/faux leather furniture. On one chair that has been sat on, the color is completely worn off the head resting area of the chair - side seams, and back and has developed a tear on the front off to the right. It looks like the chair is about 10 or more years old. Worn out. This started about 2 years ago or earlier than that. The couch has color loss on the corners and shows rubbing. Ashley furniture is junk. Don't buy it. I will never buy another piece of furniture from them ever - never ever. This set cost us $2235.22 (69.00 of which was for delivery ). Ashley only gives one year of warranty, and if you sit on the furniture that is all it will last you, a year or a few more months after that, so you will have spent all that money to use the furniture just a little bit for one year. They should be ashamed of themselves for selling such shoddy furniture. If they sold quality furniture their warranty would be longer than a year. No, we have not called. Why waste my time. The warranty says not covered. Hmmm, wonder why they don't tell you this when you are buying the furniture. It is up to the consumer to ask, how long is the warranty? Ask. If it is only a year etc., and there are a lot of complaints, go somewhere else.The only way I would be happy is if we received a complete refund, or a complete replacement-with furniture that will hold up. It is very easy to make leather furniture to last. Fully saturate the color, put a protective coat on it, and use material in a faux leather, that will also hold up. I do believe this is a problem with leather furniture being made in China. Sorry China, this is not the first of furniture made in your country that hasn't lasted. We have wasted so much money on furniture, it is ridiculous.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >