Preview Review

Next Review

AT&T Wireless Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
U-verse Billing Practices
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I was a subscriber to AT&T's U-verse TV & internet services for 7 years and finally had to drop them because of a continued onslaught of billing errors in the form of slamming, cramming, and jamming bogus charges into my monthly bill (every month for 8 months until I finally dropped them). It started in earnest in March 2015 and continued for every month until I dropped them in October 2015. Here it is November and I still have another 3 hour call I need to make to AT&T to protest the obscene final bill they sent me.

Every month with AT&T involved a minimum phone call of at least 3 hours to straighten-out the mess that was my monthly AT&T bill. Some months the phone call was longer than the usual 3 hours. By the end of these calls I was always able to get my correct charges for the month separated from all their bogus charges, but it always cost me at least 3 hours of my life to get it straight! So, if you're contemplating a deal with AT&T, just remember AT&T is a monster of a company and the people they serve will soon be but a convenient snack for their massive appetite for profit and greed.

Replies
Advertisement
They Just Find Things to Charge You for and Never Let You Talk With a Manager.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- Never use AT&T! I can't tell you enough! COX, DirecTV, Time Warner are far better than AT&T. You may pay 10-20$ more, but you get amazing customer service and commitment to customers. I recently moved 4 months ago and went against my gut instincts, and went for the "cheapest" service. It was just "basic" internet right? WRONG!

I signed on for a year with AT&T. I thought I was paying a monthly fee for the modem equipment that had to be installed because there was not a hookup. That was a 150$ fee. I began my first 3 months paying 88$ for a 54$ service. This month, I forgot to pay my bill and the day after the bill was due, they canceled the service and slapped me with a 50$ re-instating fee and a late payment! I've paid over 400$ of what should be a 54$ service for "basic" internet!

I'm calling today to get the re-instating fee removed, but I've called before and they won't send you to a manager, and all they ever say is, "you're really getting the best service for the price". No I'm not! I'm so angry at myself for signing on with them. If they don't take off the last fee, I'll cancel with them, and take the beating of the cancellation fee. It would be better than having to call these people ever again.

I'm surprised they're still in business after all these years, and their loss of customers after the merge with SBC all those years ago, when I first left their services because they did the same thing 12 years ago. I hope someone sues the crap out of these people one day. It should be a crime to manipulate and play with people the way this company does.

Replies
Very misleading company that dosent "get" service aspect
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA -- We changed to Cricket wireless (they use AT&T towers and cost 1/2 the price) and were told that my husband's phone was paid off. We were making installment payments with interest as there was NO CHOICE to pay for it without "installment payments" with interest! That should be illegal!

When we changed the service over, we were told that the bill was paid off. I then had two more bills sent to me, saying that the bills were NOT paid off. I disputed it through my credit card company and did get the money back. However, beware, if you cancel one day into your month they will charge you for a full month (when only using one day service) without telling you! It should be illegal!

Replies
AT&T Made Me Jump Through Hoops to Cancel AT&T Internet Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

CAROL STREAM, ILLINOIS -- AT&T is happy to take my credit card information to pay for my internet bill, but they make cancelling my own account a difficult and lengthy process. I called AT&T to cancel my internet service today. The AT&T automated answer system repeatedly hung up on me. I then had to connect to a different department to speak to an actual person to be transferred to the right department (after 20 minutes of waiting).

Unfortunately, I was then unable to cancel my account because I could not verify my account using one of AT&T's three verification methods. My only other option was to call my husband at work to get his assistance (to have him call the customer service department and verify my identity). In total, I was on the phone with AT&T for over 49 minutes to cancel my account.

I am surprised that AT&T is willing to take my money, but unwilling to allow me to cancel my own account. They need to review their cancellation policy and include more options for identity verification in addition to their current policy (current policy is: remembering a four digit pin, answering a security question, or by phoning in on the original phone number).

The customer service department with AT&T is very difficult to work with and the manager I spoke with had even negatively commented on my marriage relationship in regards to why I was not wanting to call my husband at work to bother him to cancel our internet account. Very disappointing since we have been loyal and paying customers for over three years.

Replies
Advertisement
Deceptive Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

My husband called AT&T because our youngest daughter kept going over her data. He just wanted to add more data to her number. The lady on the phone talked him into a shared family data plan. My older daughter and I had unlimited data. She did not tell him that our unlimited plan would be cancelled. We have been careful to keep our unlimited plan for years… now it is gone. We called back within the hour, but they said it was too late! I have always felt loyal to AT&T, but I no longer trust them. Beware of their tactics!!! They will do anything possible to get you off unlimited.

Replies
Scam Alert at AT&T: 3 Times Square, Manhattan, NYC
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MANHATTAN, NEW YORK -- "SCAM ALERT" at AT&T: 3 Times Square, Manhattan, NYC. During the month of February, AT&T was running a promotion...if you upgrade your phone, you will get a tablet. Actually, the tablet is "free", according to AT&T Customer services but the store on 3 Times Square in NYC is telling its customers that it cost a $100. The store will also lie to you, by saying, they will give you a headphone or any other equipment for free but actually, they are charging you for the equipment. Check your receipt before you leave the store...

The Sale Reps are working on commission, even though they are being paid hourly by AT&T. If you ever been to the store at: 3 Times Square in NYC, check your receipt to see what you are being charged for... They are running a "scam". And especially, watch out for the store manager **. He's rude, a bully, and have no customer service skills. AT&T is doing an investigation.

Replies
Worst Service Imaginable.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- This company is just awful! The service itself is hands down the worst cable and internet provider there is. The technical support staff have no idea what they are talking about. The bills they send are consistently incorrect. (Always higher than you were promised, with no explanation.) The customer service representatives never have any idea what's going on and are defensive and rude. No problems are ever resolved the way they are promised. Plan on paying almost double what you planned and having service around 30 percent of the time. In the small of time your service is operational it was be very poor.

Replies
Duped Into Getting a "Free" Hot Spot.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OVIEDO, FLORIDA -- I am writing regarding the above number associated with the "free" hot spot I was practically forced to take home with me when I upgraded from my trustworthy flip phone to the Samsung Galaxy S4 last summer.

When I bought the upgrade I was told the phone "came with a free hot spot." I told the salesperson I did not even know what a hot spot was and did not want it. The salesperson, eventually aided by a second, insisted that I could not possibly turn down such a wonderful device, especially when I got it for free. They asked me if I had children and I said yes. They made it sound like I would be nominated for parent of the year if I had no use for it and passed it down to them. I kept declining and they kept insisting. It was basically implied (using all that good salesmanship training from AT&T) that I would be a fool not to take it. Who turns down a free gift like that?

And a fool I was. My bills kept getting higher and I kept getting tagged $15 every time the hot spot's usage went over the GBs included in my plan. At first I did not pay much attention (even after I realized there was a $20 monthly fee associated with the device which I also had not been made aware of). But then it really started to get out of control. In order to keep up with the little monster (the hot spot) I had to upgrade my plan 1, 2 maybe 3 times with more GBs until I finally could not pay my bill. I told my daughter I was sorry, I was canceling it, and assumed it was a matter of disabling the thing and changing to a cheaper plan just for my phone.

You are very, very smart. That is why you are making millions and I had to file for bankruptcy last week, not that you would care. I stuck my neck out to defend you whenever friends and acquaintances mentioned in passing you were the worst, most corrupt wireless company (or should I say spineless).

Two weeks ago I called AT&T to ask that they suspend immediately any services associated with the little monster, only to be told that I had signed a 2-year contract for my "free gift," (you know, the small print). Nobody told me during all that haggling that I was signing a 2-year contract for the hot spot. What was really important for them was that I, your customer of 10+ years, walked out of that store with the little monster. "For free."

I escalated my phone call three times until I reached a manager called **. All he did for me, in order to not incur a $99 penalty for breaking the contract, was to adjust my bill so I would only have to pay $10 instead of $20 for being the proud owner of the little monster (without using it).

Again, I am sure you do not care about the amount of financial stress I have been under lately but I conceded, lowered my plan to 2 GBs and left it at that. I had bigger problems. Now that my bigger problems are behind me, I decided to contact you to inform you of the following: I will not pay $10 a month for the deactivated hot spot. I will subtract $10 from every bill you send me from now on.

Let me know how you will punish me, harass me, sue me or otherwise try to make my life difficult. Bring it on. I know people with the same plan I have (different providers) who pay $30 a month. I hope you will extend me the courtesy of a reply, preferably in writing.

TO THIS DATE 10/20/2014 I HAVE NOT HEARD FROM AT&T OR RECEIVED THE REQUESTED WRITTEN REPLY.

Replies
Advertisement
Living A Nightmare With AT&T: Worst Business Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I would have never imagined in my wildest dreams that I would be as disappointed and dissatisfied as a consumer with ANY business as I have been with AT&T. I have had issues from the time of my contract inception in December, and have called at least 10-20 times a month since to address billing errors and discrepancies, service failures and even dishonest statements that were presented by AT&T representatives. Will explain the dishonesty, rudeness, service issues and manipulation with a few of the anecdotes that I've come along with my 4 month experience with AT&T:

Before I signed up with AT&T, I obviously compared the plan rates to my provider at the time, T-Mobile. To have my corporate discount applied, I was told I would need a code from my employer. I retrieved this code and provided it to both the AT&T representative at the Radio Shack I purchased the service from along with an AT&T representative on the phone who both explicitly stated that I would get 19% my bill.

The AT&T representative at Radio Shack calculated my phone bill with this 19% applied to the bill so that I could compare it to the deal that I was getting with AT&T. Yes, it was approximately $10 more than what I was paying with T-Mobile, but I was intrigued by the mobile to any mobile feature that I thought it was worth the go. They mentioned to me that the corporate discount would only be applied on the second cycle.

When the second cycle rolled around, there was not a 19% discount applied to my plan, but rather to a certain portion of it- leaving a discount of peanuts vs. the information I was given. I was lied to and was stuck with a significantly larger bill than what I had been promised. To make matters worse, I had to wait for the second cycle to see this manipulation take place-and by that time, your 30 day grace period is over and you're totally locked into your contract, leaving you persecuted with termination fees should you feel it's in your best interest to leave with the faulty and misleading information they have provided you with and has left you victimized.

Mind you, I had specifically asked both representatives HOW the discount would be applied and they both said on the entire bill-the representative calculated as such as well on a rough paper. Then there was issues of the signal and customer service: The signal was unbelievably poor within my home. Though I was getting signal in various other places where I use my phone, there were places I did not get good service and my home was unfortunately one of them.

I had called to complain of this issue weeks of service initiation and before I left to go overseas, but I was then introduced to the issue that somehow there was an additional line that was on my account and I spent the rest of that phone call having it addressed. After I returned, I found myself having to address this issue again and the representative I spoke to said there was nothing they could do because I was out of my 30 day grace period. It was also apparently written nowhere on the notes that I had been on the phone with a representatives for at least 20 minutes explaining the poor coverage that I was getting.

They choose what they want to write and what they don't want to write apparently, and you're left to being screwed as such. I couldn't believe the unprofessionalism I was getting with AT&T especially at this point. They did not even try to honor regarding my issue, saying that "that's too bad." They didn't even mention that there was a MicroCell available-something I was only told about as I had pursued. (Way to go, AT&T Customer Service-not only was their representatives rude but ignorant about the services they are able to provide. Guess they are well accustomed to dissatisfied customers and choose to leave it at that).

As I was fed up and just ready to cancel my service, a customer relations representative suggested that I try this MicroCell (that I had to pinch money out of my pockets for) and gave me a small discount to compensate for my trouble. I figured that if my reception issues at home were resolved, I could probably make some sort of peace with what's been going on. So wrong.

The "discounts" that I was to be provided were never reflected on my bill and I've had to call twice without any indication of it. Today, I've finally reached my threshold. Weeks after buying the MicroCell device for $299, I find myself without any sort of service at home. As a med school student, I depend on my phone at the late hours of the nights studying and discussing material with other students in various locations. Not only was I not able to do that, I was tossed around customer service till I was sent to the right one and he couldn't resolve my problem.

That's not all. There is no one to resolve my issue till Monday. From Thursday to Monday with the idea that I might be without service, and they have no concern to address it till then. So it's pretty much no one's concern that I'm lied to, screwed over, have no service, no safety net and am not in any way compensated for all the garbage that AT&T has put me through.

I feel violated on so many fronts with AT&T-they have blatantly lied to me, been rude to me, and have conned me into being locked into my contract in TWO ways. I'm so fed up and without a doubt do I believe that AT&T should release me from my contract for all the bull that they have made me endure. I'm definitely going to do all that I can to ensure that consumers are aware of this nonsense so that they think twice about signing their cell phone service away for two years.

I'm VERY regretful that I've strayed away from my cell phone provider that had been nothing but good to me. I will be contacting my congressional representatives to further detail the misleading methods in which AT&T had deceived and manipulated my situation in locking me into their contract.

Replies
AT&T Has Horrible Customer Service
By -

I am writing this email to illustrate the events that have taken place with AT&T since November of 2009. In November of 2009 I decided to change my internet service provider to AT&T for a few reasons. AT&T costs less than my previous provider. I could take advantage of the "€œBundle Package" which would bundle the two costs of my internet service and cell phone service and I would receive a 10% discount on the bill.

It would be much easier for me to manage one account rather two separate accounts with AT&T and had set up the "€œAutomatic Bill Pay," i.e. The payments were to automatically be withdrawn from my bank account on a monthly basis. Hence, no worries / or headaches.

In early December I was contacted by an AT&T customer representative. She stated to me that my bill hasn'€™t been paid and I could be charged a late fee if I don'€™t pay immediately. I explained to her that that'€™s impossible since I am signed up for the "€œAutomatic Bill Pay"€. Why would the money not be taken out of my checking account? She stated in return that I wasn'€™t signed up for the "€œAutomatic Bill Pay"€ but she could sign me up right now.

In return I gave her my debit card account number which was to be used for now on. Secondly, I asked her if everything was taken care of because I do not want to have to have another phone call from AT&T saying my bill hasn'€™t been paid. Problem solved.

February comes and while at work my cell phone is shut off. Why the heck would my cell phone be turned off??? I've taken care of the "Automatic Bill Pay", have the "€œBundle Package"€, and have spoken to the individual in customer service in December who set up my automatic withdraw.

A short walk later I am at the AT&T store located at the K Street mall In Sacramento, CA. One of the individuals who worked at the store did some research. It turns out that I hadn€'t been given the "Bundle Package". It turns out that if I did get the "œBundle Package"€ I would forfeit the 15% discount that I currently have and only receive a 10% discount. This was completely understandable but EXTREMELY frustrating because it was never communicated to me until that day. NEVER!

For this reason, my cell phone hadn'€™t been paid for 3-4 months. The individual who set up my "Automatic Bill Pay"€ set it up for my Internet account. Not the "€œBundle Package"€ as I understood. While speaking with one of the individuals at the K Street AT&T store he identified my problem. However, when on the phone with the customer service representative I was told "€œSorry, but there is nothing we can do." In fact numerous times I was told "€œSorry, but there is nothing we can do. In order for you to get your phone turned on today you will have to pay at least $245 out of the $468 phone bill and then the additional $218."€

Agreed, I definitely agree that when I have a bill I need to pay it. I understood that I owe AT&T money. However, for the customer service department not to take responsibility for the mistakes made by the individuals working for their company is absolutely ridiculous, i.e. Not setting up the "Bundle Package"€ as agreed, not communicating to me why the "€œBundle Package"€ wasn'€™t established (15% discount vs.10% discount,€“ which would have been understood), and not setting up the "Automatic Bill Pay"€ which was supposed to be established.

To add more fuel to the fire my internet was turned off on March 16th. After a lengthy conversation with the customer service representative at the 1-800-288-2020. It was established ONCE AGAIN that my bill hadn'€™t been paid and my internet was shut off for lack of payment. Let's refer to the conversation that took place with an AT&T representative in December.

€œIn early December I was contacted by an AT&T customer representative. She stated to me that my bill hasn'€™t been paid and I could be charged a late fee if I don'€™t pay immediately. I explained to her that that'€™s impossible since I am signed up for the "Automatic Bill Pay"€. Why would the money not be taken out of my checking account? She stated in return that I wasn'€™t signed up for the "Automatic Bill Pay"€ but she could sign me up right now.

In return I gave her my debit card account number which was to be used for now on. Secondly, I asked her if everything was taken care of because I do not want to have to have another phone call from AT&T saying my bill hasn'€™t been paid. Problem solved.

Well apparently the problem hadn'€™t been solved ONCE AGAIN! I contacted AT&T at their 1-800-288-2020 number to establish what had happened. The following occurred: The individual could not verify my account even though I supplied him with my name, my address, cell phone number, last 4 digits of my SS#, they even have my Drivers License on file. That information was not good enough to verify my account and "€œHe could not help me"€ without the account number.

After asking to speak to his supervisor ** he had no problem pulling up my account and informed me that my non-payment was for $35. I asked to pay for it, he informed me that I couldn'€™t pay for it through him I would have to go through a different department. I was subsequently transferred and while on hold my phone call was dropped. Which leads me to another complaint I will get to later.

I tried to contact ** again since this was the individual I was working with and the individual had no idea who ** was and that the Customer Service department is huge and ** may be within a different location which was extremely frustrating. (Try explaining this situation twenty five times to twenty five different individuals and not one of them has a history of my previous conversations or prior contacts).

After getting off of the phone with the customer service representative at 1-800-288-2020 the next day I made the/ a payment of $35 (I'€™m not sure what it went to because apparently it still didn'€™t cover my existing balance), re-established my account to be hooked up with a scheduled date of 03/23/2010. Frustrating that I would have to wait, since as mentioned before "Automatic Bill Pay" was supposed to be established in both November and December and apparently it wasn'€™t.

Next I get a phone call on the morning of 03/23/2010 from an AT&T customer service representative saying they would have to reschedule to have my internet service hooked up on 03/26/2010. I told her that that was not good enough, explained to her what had happened (i.e. Everything above) and was once again told that "€œThere is nothing I can do."

This was the last straw. I was absolutely tired of having problems with AT&T, tired of hearing "€œI'€™m very sorry but there is nothing that I can do€.." etc. At this point I went to the AT&T store and explain to them how extremely frustrated I was with the customer service that I was receiving and had received in the past. I worked with ** and another individual by the name of **. Each one of them were very helpful and tried their hardest to resolve my problem. After spending approximately an hour with them I had to return to work.

** said that he would continue to work on it and get back to me as soon as he could. Which he did and I was very grateful for that however, they too were having a difficult time pulling up my internet account. (I definitely believe them but I do not understand why since they too work for AT&T). A couple of hours later I receive a phone call from ** and he had explained that my outstanding balance for internet service was for $205 for three months of non-payment.

Once again, lets refer to the "€œAutomatic Bill Pay" which was supposed to take place in both November and December. Not to mention that my bill is supposed to only be $35 a month and maybe some additional taxes. Now let's do the math: $35 x 3 = $105. If this is the case where is the additional $100 coming from? You got me???

I would like you to understand I signed up for the AT&T internet service in November. There is a higher start up cost due to having to purchase the Modem of around one hundred and something dollars. It would be illogical for me to purchase the modem just to not pay my bill and have it turned off a few months later.

In conclusion, I want you to know how extremely frustrated I am with AT&T'€™s service. The time, effort, frustration, and the stress associate with the lack of communication, customer service, and hearing "€œI'€™m sorry, there is nothing I can do", "€œI can'™t verify your account"€, "€œI can'€™t pull up your account"€ and lack of follow through with AT&T'€™s employees have made me completely upset. Can you tell?! I wouldn'€™t spend the time and effort writing this email if I was not.

I would like this letter to be sent to the following: Sacramento'€™s District Leader / Regional Manager; A 1-800-288-2020 Customer Service Representative Manager or higher (higher preferred), i.e. Someone who is going to be able to answer questions with more than "€œI'€™m sorry, but there is nothing that I can do."

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

AT&T Wireless Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 78 ratings and
222 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
AT&T Wireless
7277 164th Ave. NE
Redmond, WA 98052
800-888-7600 (ph)
www.att.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services