Preview Review

Next Review

AT&T Wireless Consumer Reviews - Page 5

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
AT&T Has Horrible Customer Service
By -

I am writing this email to illustrate the events that have taken place with AT&T since November of 2009. In November of 2009 I decided to change my internet service provider to AT&T for a few reasons. AT&T costs less than my previous provider. I could take advantage of the "€œBundle Package" which would bundle the two costs of my internet service and cell phone service and I would receive a 10% discount on the bill.

It would be much easier for me to manage one account rather two separate accounts with AT&T and had set up the "€œAutomatic Bill Pay," i.e. The payments were to automatically be withdrawn from my bank account on a monthly basis. Hence, no worries / or headaches.

In early December I was contacted by an AT&T customer representative. She stated to me that my bill hasn'€™t been paid and I could be charged a late fee if I don'€™t pay immediately. I explained to her that that'€™s impossible since I am signed up for the "€œAutomatic Bill Pay"€. Why would the money not be taken out of my checking account? She stated in return that I wasn'€™t signed up for the "€œAutomatic Bill Pay"€ but she could sign me up right now.

In return I gave her my debit card account number which was to be used for now on. Secondly, I asked her if everything was taken care of because I do not want to have to have another phone call from AT&T saying my bill hasn'€™t been paid. Problem solved.

February comes and while at work my cell phone is shut off. Why the heck would my cell phone be turned off??? I've taken care of the "Automatic Bill Pay", have the "€œBundle Package"€, and have spoken to the individual in customer service in December who set up my automatic withdraw.

A short walk later I am at the AT&T store located at the K Street mall In Sacramento, CA. One of the individuals who worked at the store did some research. It turns out that I hadn€'t been given the "Bundle Package". It turns out that if I did get the "œBundle Package"€ I would forfeit the 15% discount that I currently have and only receive a 10% discount. This was completely understandable but EXTREMELY frustrating because it was never communicated to me until that day. NEVER!

For this reason, my cell phone hadn'€™t been paid for 3-4 months. The individual who set up my "Automatic Bill Pay"€ set it up for my Internet account. Not the "€œBundle Package"€ as I understood. While speaking with one of the individuals at the K Street AT&T store he identified my problem. However, when on the phone with the customer service representative I was told "€œSorry, but there is nothing we can do." In fact numerous times I was told "€œSorry, but there is nothing we can do. In order for you to get your phone turned on today you will have to pay at least $245 out of the $468 phone bill and then the additional $218."€

Agreed, I definitely agree that when I have a bill I need to pay it. I understood that I owe AT&T money. However, for the customer service department not to take responsibility for the mistakes made by the individuals working for their company is absolutely ridiculous, i.e. Not setting up the "Bundle Package"€ as agreed, not communicating to me why the "€œBundle Package"€ wasn'€™t established (15% discount vs.10% discount,€“ which would have been understood), and not setting up the "Automatic Bill Pay"€ which was supposed to be established.

To add more fuel to the fire my internet was turned off on March 16th. After a lengthy conversation with the customer service representative at the 1-800-288-2020. It was established ONCE AGAIN that my bill hadn'€™t been paid and my internet was shut off for lack of payment. Let's refer to the conversation that took place with an AT&T representative in December.

€œIn early December I was contacted by an AT&T customer representative. She stated to me that my bill hasn'€™t been paid and I could be charged a late fee if I don'€™t pay immediately. I explained to her that that'€™s impossible since I am signed up for the "Automatic Bill Pay"€. Why would the money not be taken out of my checking account? She stated in return that I wasn'€™t signed up for the "Automatic Bill Pay"€ but she could sign me up right now.

In return I gave her my debit card account number which was to be used for now on. Secondly, I asked her if everything was taken care of because I do not want to have to have another phone call from AT&T saying my bill hasn'€™t been paid. Problem solved.

Well apparently the problem hadn'€™t been solved ONCE AGAIN! I contacted AT&T at their 1-800-288-2020 number to establish what had happened. The following occurred: The individual could not verify my account even though I supplied him with my name, my address, cell phone number, last 4 digits of my SS#, they even have my Drivers License on file. That information was not good enough to verify my account and "€œHe could not help me"€ without the account number.

After asking to speak to his supervisor ** he had no problem pulling up my account and informed me that my non-payment was for $35. I asked to pay for it, he informed me that I couldn'€™t pay for it through him I would have to go through a different department. I was subsequently transferred and while on hold my phone call was dropped. Which leads me to another complaint I will get to later.

I tried to contact ** again since this was the individual I was working with and the individual had no idea who ** was and that the Customer Service department is huge and ** may be within a different location which was extremely frustrating. (Try explaining this situation twenty five times to twenty five different individuals and not one of them has a history of my previous conversations or prior contacts).

After getting off of the phone with the customer service representative at 1-800-288-2020 the next day I made the/ a payment of $35 (I'€™m not sure what it went to because apparently it still didn'€™t cover my existing balance), re-established my account to be hooked up with a scheduled date of 03/23/2010. Frustrating that I would have to wait, since as mentioned before "Automatic Bill Pay" was supposed to be established in both November and December and apparently it wasn'€™t.

Next I get a phone call on the morning of 03/23/2010 from an AT&T customer service representative saying they would have to reschedule to have my internet service hooked up on 03/26/2010. I told her that that was not good enough, explained to her what had happened (i.e. Everything above) and was once again told that "€œThere is nothing I can do."

This was the last straw. I was absolutely tired of having problems with AT&T, tired of hearing "€œI'€™m very sorry but there is nothing that I can do€.." etc. At this point I went to the AT&T store and explain to them how extremely frustrated I was with the customer service that I was receiving and had received in the past. I worked with ** and another individual by the name of **. Each one of them were very helpful and tried their hardest to resolve my problem. After spending approximately an hour with them I had to return to work.

** said that he would continue to work on it and get back to me as soon as he could. Which he did and I was very grateful for that however, they too were having a difficult time pulling up my internet account. (I definitely believe them but I do not understand why since they too work for AT&T). A couple of hours later I receive a phone call from ** and he had explained that my outstanding balance for internet service was for $205 for three months of non-payment.

Once again, lets refer to the "€œAutomatic Bill Pay" which was supposed to take place in both November and December. Not to mention that my bill is supposed to only be $35 a month and maybe some additional taxes. Now let's do the math: $35 x 3 = $105. If this is the case where is the additional $100 coming from? You got me???

I would like you to understand I signed up for the AT&T internet service in November. There is a higher start up cost due to having to purchase the Modem of around one hundred and something dollars. It would be illogical for me to purchase the modem just to not pay my bill and have it turned off a few months later.

In conclusion, I want you to know how extremely frustrated I am with AT&T'€™s service. The time, effort, frustration, and the stress associate with the lack of communication, customer service, and hearing "€œI'€™m sorry, there is nothing I can do", "€œI can'™t verify your account"€, "€œI can'€™t pull up your account"€ and lack of follow through with AT&T'€™s employees have made me completely upset. Can you tell?! I wouldn'€™t spend the time and effort writing this email if I was not.

I would like this letter to be sent to the following: Sacramento'€™s District Leader / Regional Manager; A 1-800-288-2020 Customer Service Representative Manager or higher (higher preferred), i.e. Someone who is going to be able to answer questions with more than "€œI'€™m sorry, but there is nothing that I can do."

Replies
Advertisement
AT&T Premier Customer Service runaround phoneline
By -

I have been an AT&T customer for about ten years now. I put in a pre-order for the new iPhone 3GS on the AT&T Premier website through my dad's corporate website. I understood would have a backlog. I didn't mind the backlog because that meant I would get the new phone without the hassle of going to the AT&T or Apple store. What I don't understand is the statement that was put on my order that I would receive the phone in 7-14 days when that is not even close to the truth.

I put my order in on June 15, 2009. The phone was not to be released until June 19, 2009. I called on June 25, 2009 to find out the order of the status. I just wanted to know if I could expect the phone in the next two months. I wanted to just get an idea of the backlog time. After being on hold for almost an hour, I spoke to a representative on the Premier line and they put me on hold to speak to a supervisor. I was on hold for over an hour and I gave up at that point.

This was in the evening. I found out the next day that the line closes at 9PM or at least according to representative that I spoke to but there was no indication on the hold music or recording that representatives were no longer available after 9PM.

So the next day, June 26, 2009. I got on the phone after being on hold for about a half hour I spoke to the representative **. He told me that my order was "processed" on June 25, 2009. Now this made no sense to me since my order was put in on June 15th and the phone came out on June 19th. He got his supervisor on the phone immediately, **. She told me that the 7-14 day statement that is made when you put your order in for the phone, is from the day the phone was released. According to her, I should expect my phone by July 3, 2009.

July 3, 2009 came and went and I really couldn't find time in my day to aggravate myself and spend hours on the phone. Finally on July 17, 2009 I made the dreaded call to AT&T Premier to find our the status of my phone. I immediately asked for ** the supervisor I spoke to on June 26th. He told me that he couldn't get to her because she's in a different office. I was shocked because I thought in 2009 there are company directories and office extensions. He did tell me that he could get me another supervisor so I was put on hold. AGAIN.

After 45 minutes I picked up another phone and called the AT&T Premier line again. I got the representative Hooper Mills. He told me that he would take my number and have a supervisor call me. I am still waiting for that call. The other line I had on hold waiting for a supervisor went dead after an hour and half. So I called the AT&T Premier line again.

This time I spoke to **. I immediately told her I wanted to speak to a supervisor so I could get back in the queue. She said she had to look up my status order. She looked it up and told me that my order for the iPhone 3GS had been canceled!!! So that's where I am right now. Does anyone have any advice on how to handle this situation with AT&T Premier? I feel like a prisoner to them right now after waiting a month for a phone I could have gotten weeks ago at a store.

Replies
Utilize Your Right To Go To Federal Court And Seek A Declaratory Judgment Against The Individual Employee
By -

I worked for a federal law enforcement agency and some of the thing I have used against AT&T was to find out if you live in a two party or a one party notification state and record their phone calls when you deal with them and over the phone. Always get the full name of the party on tape. Always make them give you an estimated cost of the services each time you enter in to a new agreement with.

And for those people that they steal money from for services that you did not request let the individual know that they have to disclose every service they are providing you at the time they send you the estimated cost for your services, and if that is not in the proposed services you asked for when the place charges on your monthly bill hat you are not aware of then sue the person that gave you the estimated cost of the bill.

I had the same problem with them this week and that is a breach of contract. Also if you start suing the people for lying to you you do have that problem. Another problem I had was with Sprint last year was being double billed for text messages, and when I became aware of it they tried to tell me that If I did not catch them stealing from me for the first 90 days they were allowed to keep the money. The best tactic that I had in my favor was that I always dealt with criminals and I went after these people for what they were doing, and treated them the way they acted if you live in a one party notification state (Georgia) where I did not have to tell them that they were being recorded.

Another thing I found out was that if they tell you at the beginning of your call that they are recording their calls for training purposes then that opens the door for you to record these statements. Also, you have the fact that you always speak to a different person. That is how you can show these people are lying. Another problem I had was that I spoke to them several weeks ago about the cost of PDA service and decided not to pay for the service. The only thing I did was configured the phone which was my second phone and would only use it when I went out of town.

The next thing I found out was that while I was sitting down in my office on the internet they were sending out alerts to my phone and even though I specifically entered in to the phone that I did not want to receive email alerts they sent me about $120.00 in one day. When I noticed it I called them up and told them what was happening. They said that they would stop it and they continued to do it when I told the worker that I was not going to pay the $200.00 cost for this service at the end of the month.

She tried to lie to me and say that I was the only one with the phone. I reminded her that they had locked media net into my phone and they used this feature to access my phone which I bought from someone else and the phone was not a phone that I owed them for and it is a violation of my privacy for them to intrude on my life.

Maybe some of you can remember that at one time the state of Virginia was confiscating radar detectors and I believe now that they have stopped (I have heard several different stories) I believe that this had to do with taking private property.

I know for a fact that these tactics are taught to AT&T employees when they are in training. I asked the worker that I was speaking to remove the charges because I was going to seek a declaratory judgment against her and her boss in Federal District court for being involved in an ongoing criminal conspiracy to defraud me and furthermore I mentioned RICO. She did not know who he was but after I told her who he was she reduced a $600.00 bill to about 235.00 because I told her that I was only going to pay was the amount of the estimated bill that they had given me three months ago.

I know the a lot of people don't want to take them to court because they don't know what to expect. However, realized that I had to learn about going to Federal court because they have to be made to account for their actions. I have realized that you need to treat these criminals just like what they are "CRIMINALS" because before I let them make me spend a couple of hundred dollars on services I don't use I go to federal court and let these individual employees spend some of their money defending themselves.

Frankly if I have to pay the money to them for what they don't do I would rather take my chances in federal court. The only thing you let them know we are all going to take our chances on an equal playing field. Check out this book by James publishing. It's called preparing for trial in federal court (800-440-4780, or 714--751-2709). A lot of people say you shouldn't practice law without a degree. The only thing I know is that I got just as much right to be there as any one else. That's the American way.

I don't have no problems sleeping at night I admit that at first I had a few problems getting into court but once I obtained the federal rules of civil procedure and followed the law a lot of these people realize that they can lose their freedom for running a criminal enterprise. They will be more thoughtful when they can lose the same things that they are trying to take from you. They will be more thoughtful.

Replies
AT&T Customer Service
By -

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- I attempted to order an iPhone from AT&T Wireless through a special portal they have for large corporate customers where they give discounts. There is a special group that handles these types of orders. I was told the iPhone would be shipped within 3 to 5 business days. I had also requested my current phone number be ported.

After my order status was still in pending after 7 business days I called in. This was on a Friday and was told that there had been an internal error with their software placing the order on hold but it had been resolved that day and it would be shipped the following Monday. The following Monday, I called to check that it had been shipped and it had not and I was told again that the order was on hold due to and internal software error.

No one could give status on the order, that was all the information they had. No one could tell me when it would be resolved. I requested to cancel my order immediately right then and was told they could not cancel the order since it was on hold. I requested to speak to a manager to see if I could get a resolution to my issues.

I was transferred to an escalation queue where I waited for over 30 minutes but ultimately had to hang up for a business call. I called back into the customer service again the next day and again was told my order was still on hold and no ETA on a resolution to their software errors. I again requested my order be cancelled and this time to the name of the person who said they would cancel my order and also requested to be transferred into the escalation queue.

I waited over 2 hours on hold. Finally I called the support number from my cellphone and told the person that I was on the other line waiting on the escalation queue, explained it had been over 2 hours and while he put me on hold, someone picked up the escalation line and hung up on me. After I told the gentleman on the phone that they hung up on me from the escalation queue, he informed his "floor manager". She told him to tell me that they would be transferring me back into the escalation queue.

I explained that I did not want to go back into the escalation queue at the end of the line and that I expected a call back from someone. I asked this same gentleman to confirm for me that my order had been cancelled and when he checked on it, it had not, it was still showing on hold. I asked him again to cancel it - this was my third request. Finally, while I was on the phone with him I received a confirmation note that my order had been cancelled.

As much as I want this iPhone and it would really help me to do my job remotely - I will not give AT&T my business after being treated by these customer service reps so horribly. Then to add insult to injury I attempted to contact them via their website at this URL: https://www.wireless.att.com/business/contacts/ I believe you have to have a valid corporate email address to get to that URL but I'm not 100% positive. After I submitted a complaint on that website - I received the following delivery failure:

Delivery Failure Report
Your message: Site Experience Feedback
was not delivered to: icare@cingular.com
because: 550 Invalid recipient (#5.1.1)

I guess AT&T doesn't care about responding to customers at all since even their website seems to go to a bit bucket. Lovely.

Replies
Advertisement
Loyalty Means Nothing
By -

I have been with AT&T wireless since before the buy out by Cingular. I would like to make it clear that I was the second wave of customers to join, the first being the one on the analog system. I started and am currently on a GSM plan. I pay less than customers joining today because I have nights free after 7pm with no extra charge and my overall fee is lower (a plan based on 1200 minutes, they only offer 1400 now).

So to get to the point, my service is slowly deteriorating every day, one with the customer service people and secondly the actual signal of the phone. Some may say why is your signal going down, well the reason is I am on the old computer/sim chip system and they separate me from the new customer computer system, so when I send a message my message is sent through an old computer base (slower) rather than the new ones. Meaning I receive my messages up to 5 hours later sometimes.

I know this is different than other people on AT&T because I was sitting next to a person with the new plan and we used a third phone to send messages. He got his right a way, I got mine an hour later... Anyway back to the signal problem. The towers are being upgraded only to the new sim chips (I have an old one). Meaning my phone is getting less service... This is my theory and I have gotten the same impression from many mobile stores that I talked to.

So you ask why don't they give me a new chip that will work, I am AT&T customer, I am entitled to their services that even they claim are better than the one I have now. Well they won't cause my plan is not in the new computer base and they refuse to put me in the new computer base at my paying price, instead they want me to switch and pay more $$. Every time I call them they tell me the new rates and talk about how it is financially better for me to switch, usually I ignore it and tell them (for my 26th time yesterday) to reset my messages cause the buildup in their old system.

However on occasion I listen hoping they could tell me I could save money. After 30 minutes of worthless chatter we arrive at the same conclusion, switching makes no financial sense. So they refuse to give me the quality service they give their new customers who sign with them today and continue to hurt the ones that have been with them for over 6 years!! AT&T claims to rebuild themselves. Well they have changed for the worst destroying not only their name and morality but setting a standard that it is OK for American corporations not give a ** about their loyal customers.

In Europe my dad has been with a cell phone company that has switched ownership 7 times. He has constantly been called and thanked for staying with them and continues to save money every year getting free phones and bonus packages as he shows loyalty.

The biggest thing that upsets me the most is when I walk into an AT&T store they cannot help me because I am not in their "new" computer system. Instead I must only get help from faceless phone support. And if I wanted to get a new phone... Well AT&T won't sell me one that will work unless I switch. I would love to hear what anyone has to think about this.

Replies
Over Charging
By -

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- I have been a customer of Sprint for as long as I can remember. However, I travel abroad often and the GSM technology most convenient for my purpose is not offered through Sprint, therefore I switched companies to the "New AT&T" that's when my cell phone nightmare began. I shopped around on the internet and found the phone that best suited my and my family needs. Instead of accepting the discounted offers offered over the internet, I called the AT&T customer sales department.

The sales representative was very friendly and seemed at the time very knowledgeable of the products and services I was requesting. We talked a little more than 2.5 hours. We discussed the plans and options that were better suited for me; one of which was a data plan. He explained that because I was purchasing 2 PDA phones (one for me and one for my wife) that a data plan was a requirement. The data plans were 29.95 per phone per month which I accepted as it was “a requirement”, but had he not told me, I'd have purchased one just the same because that was the purpose of the phone.

I'll take this opportunity to say that I also purchased my daughter a phone (rzar). She knows not to go on the internet, but I know how she likes to text message, therefore I purchased the unlimited text message plan for her (same as I had with Sprint). Better yet I purchased the unlimited family text message plan which I later found out is not necessary if you purchase the unlimited data plan which I did for the PDAs. I also purchased the 1400 minutes not that we ever use that many, but as a precautionary measure. I purchased the nights and weekend package to start at 7:00 pm for an extra fee, I think around $10.00.

There's no way to make this long story short; dreams are short; nightmares last forever. Upon receiving my phone I called the number in order to activate the phone as instructed by the sales person and as included in the instructions received and started using my phone. About two weeks into the service my wife decided that the phone was too bulky and complicated for her and thought that she'd return it before the 30 trial period expired. We called customer service and they told us that we could take it in to a corporate store and they gave us three convenient locations.

About a week later we took the phone in and they gladly exchanged it. During the exchange the sales person asked if we wanted any options on our phones re, data plan, nights & weekends, text messaging, etc. I told them that we'd just keep the options we had and at a later date we would change it if we needed additional or less services. He then told me that we had NOTHING on our plan just the 1400 minutes. I asked him about the current charges but he told me that there was nothing he could do but he could add options at that time and we could call customer service once the bill arrived to make the necessary adjustments.

Had I known at that time what customer service's response and reaction was going to be I'd have returned all the phones right then and there as the 30 day trial had not expired. But a week later I received a bill a whopping $957.00. OK no problem; because I know there's a mistake so I called customer service as instructed and I seem to have gone through the same routine that all the other complaints have voiced. I was bounced around from one customer service rep (CSR) to another. Two CSRs had no idea that a data plan was a requirement when purchasing a PDA and told me that it must have been a promotion or some sort.

I requested to speak to a supervisor but during my 2.5 hour hold/conversation time I had my wife get the local AT&T store on the land line. They told me they too require a 3 month activation of a data plan upon the purchase of a PDA. Only now does the supervisor conveniently remember the policy. OK, but now she insults me by saying that she can “give me a $200.00 credit.” Like I'd rather pay a $700.00 phone bill.

Secondly, I don't want her to give me anything. What I want is to be accurately charged from day 1 of with the services and options that I requested. It's only obvious that if the first phone salesman failed to apply the required data plan then he more than likely forgot to add the rest of the options that were requested upon purchase. After a long drawn out discussion the supervisor has one other option and that is to file a case. But in order to do that she would have to remove the credit “She so graciously gave me."

So I'm on hold for another hour from this point as she sums up her account of what's happened to me ummm. She returns to the phone gives me the case number and notifies me that someone would be calling me within some specified time period, but at this time I'm really not hearing what she has to say. The very next day (while I'm at work) I receive a call from someone that wants to give me a $416.00 dollar credit.

Again, I had to explain to him that's not what I'm looking for. I want to be charged according to what I've used and in accordance to the options I've purchased. He then got very argumentative and if I weren't at work I'd probably have argued back, but instead I told him I was not going to pay as a result of AT&T's incompetent and under trained staff. He further stated what proof I had that I ordered any options.

Well let me see; is it a requirement that the data plan be applied to the account upon the purchase of a PDA? Was it there? Now what proof do you have that I didn't? I further want to say that AT&T if this is one of your ploys to detain customers; it's not working. Why be so greedy up front? I was hoping we'd have long-lasting relationship. And don't you know I was even thinking about dropping Time Warner (stupid me)?

For one, I don't have the means to pay this amount and wouldn't pay it if I did. If anyone wants to contact me or has a similar story my number is ** that is until “The New AT&T” cuts me off for not paying this outrageous bill. If they do cut me off you can reach me a **. SPRINT, I sincerely apologize, but I have a feeling I'll be back soon.

Replies
Service Did Not Get Cancelled After Several Calls and Got Billed for Additional Services
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- March 5th 2012, I saw an online offer from AT&T and I wished to add home phone line service to my existing internet account. I placed online order and after receiving the email confirmation, I wanted to check the order status online but couldn't login with the code provided. I called AT&T to inquire about it and was told that due to an error in the order, it didn't get processed and she would be happy to place the order via phone.

On further discussion it turned out that I will not get the benefit of the order that I was trying to sign up for. Frustrated by their deceptive advertising, I decided to cancel the order on which the representative said that since it didn't go through the first time, there is no need to cancel. Next day I decided to cancel my internet service as well and called to cancel it and insisted that I want an email confirmation of the cancellation. The service representative promised to send the email and after few hours, I received an email THANKING me for placing an order with AT&T.

Appalled and frustrated, I called again to inform about my cancellation request and was promised once again that an email will be sent and the order has been cancelled. There was never a cancellation email sent but instead, I received a phone call that someone wants to come to my residence to install the phone line. I informed the caller that I do not have a service request and he needs to straighten it out with AT&T and his response was “I am just told to go and install the service, you have to call for cancellation".

I called the 3rd time, and whoever is familiar with AT&T knows that each call lasts more than half hour including wait and transfers from one department to another. I explained the whole situation to the account department and also got fraud department contact to tell them that someone is ordering on my behalf. I once again asked for cancellation email that never came in spite of the promise. I never made time to call the fraud department.

In the meantime, my husband placed order under his name and got his services up and running on the same residence. I didn't get another phone call or email but today, on April 7th, one month since that drama, I receive a bill for $75.15 for the new internet and home phone service.

For having such a large customer base and a big name in domestic services, AT&T should be ashamed of using such unethical and fraudulent methods to rip off people's money and valuable time. Not only I do not wish to pay a single cent for services that I never ordered or used, I want AT&T to pay for my time that I have spent on fixing it's issues and dealing with corrupt, incompetent and clueless customer service staff who does not understand the difference between Cancellation and Activation.

Replies
How Many Others Have Been Sold a Service/Product Which Does Not Exist?
By -

MIAMI BEACH, FLORIDA -- For the past five years, yes, 5 years, I have paid for 6x DSL service, promoted by AT&T as the fastest DSL speed which can be used by a small business or privately owned computer. So for 5 years I paid the bill in spite of problems which were 'solved' by sending out a replacement router/modem, unlimited number of hours wasted on the phone while the DSL technician went through AT&T standard procedures to repair the problem with beginner instructions to open here and type there, then again it was declared a modem problem, and so on for 5 long years.

At the end I was determined to drop the service and return to dial-up. It was at this time a high ranking employee came to find the 'internal' problem, repair it, and charge me for the repair. The good man spent almost 3 hrs. in total, dutifully running tests on my computer and when that failed he began moving furniture to get to jack and test them to find the problem. None was found. So the AT&T DSL staffer said to me he had to report this to a higher up, my home was blameless.

An hour or so later a phone call came in, this person introduced herself as a high ranking AT&T employee who was coming to look at the wiring as she could see why there was a complaint. I had been dropped 12 times the previous evening *at best I was dropped 3 times a night* and she'd be in touch. A knock at the door came an hour and a half later. She introduced herself, I invited her in, she sat at the computer as well, she stood to leave and a short conversation over the problem began.

AT&T had sent, at no cost to me, one of their best, a person with an unblemished 30 year record. I could see she did not like defeat. She chatted more and in the middle of a sentence she stopped herself and asked to see my bill. I handed it to her and I can laugh at her first comment - "Oh, look at all the ads they put on them"- and I watched quietly as she read it to herself, then she turned it over to read the rules of service on the back of the bill. She cried out - "I know why you're having problems, it's right here on the bill; you've been signed up for 6x DSL service and there is no fiber optics line in this place, it's all copper."

So you can't get 6x and what it's been doing is interfering and cutting you off. You need the lowest speed DSL and even that might give you problems. SUMMARY: for 5 yrs I paid more than $3.000 for an non-existing service. ADVICE from others who've had this experience, who got more than the standard 3 month reimbursement policy and have been reimbursed, please share with myself and others how to proceed. Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Installation Nightmare, will it also be a billing nightmare?
By -

GREENSBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- A door to door salesman came around my neighborhood trying to sell U-verse products since they recently invested in a new line through my neighborhood. The price for internet and U-verse 300 was $100. I asked if it was introductory or if there was a contract. He claimed no to both. Also, we could try it out for free for 30 days. My husband set up the service and had to choose an installation date three weeks later because they were so busy. Ok. No problem.

Three weeks later on the night before the appointment, we have a service technician visit the outside of the house to set up the line. He took three hours. Then, he said he wasn't done, so someone would come out in the morning to finish the job before the appointment. No one comes. The technician for the inside installation came thirty minutes earlier than the appointment. He said the line wasn't set up and he'd have to put in another request for someone to come out. I asked when he would be back, but he said it would depend on when the line was set up.

Three hours later a technician sets up the line, but can't tell us when they'd be here to set up the inside. We wait until night. At 7pm, I decide to call customer service since when we checked on the order online it said it would be installed in the year 2036. The first person I got said it would be another three weeks. Oh! Forget that! I asked for the supervisor, but the supervisor had to call me back. We waited an hour with no call back. I called again and spoke with another representative at another call center. She could not give a better date than three days later than the three week date.

No way! I asked for her supervisor and she refused to get him or her on the phone. I had to settle with this date or "none at all." I hung up. I went to gethuman.com and called a different customer service number. This person was awesome! Read all the notes on my account aloud, but had to connect me with a more local customer service since they were out of california. The next person allowed to me talk directly with dispatch and they got me the next available, which was 3 days way. Great!

Not done. No one came. I took off of work. I called and I would have to set up another appointment. I was so mad. I couldn't speak. Then I looked at the contract we signed to see if it was worth it. That $100 price is listed as introductory with a contract in very small print. I haven't called them back because we have to decide whether we even want this mess anymore. It's not worth it. I think we should just stay with the Hulu, Netflix and Earthlink internet (run by Time Warner) services we have. All together it's less than $60. Why did we even want to try this out?

Replies
Uverse Package Out For 4 Days
By -

On MONDAY 6-6-11 my Uverse went out, and it includes all three services. It was approx: 2:00 pm, and I called immediately. I talked to a person in I'm sure some other country, and was advised that there was nothing available for today. I understood this, and set up an appointment for 6-7-11 between 12:00 pm and 4:00 pm. Approx an hour later I received a voice mail stating that my problem was due to an outage and should be resolved soon, and my appointment was placed on hold.

The next day I called to verify the original appointment, and was advised that the appointment was all set, no problems, and this was at 12:00 pm. Knowing that things go wrong I called at 2:00 pm, and was advised for some unknown reason that my appointment was cancelled without explanation. I was advised by an unknown person they were very sorry, and they would try to fix the situation. Well I was called back and advised there was nothing they could do, and I would have to set up another appointment. I set up an appointment between 12:00 pm and 4:00 pm again, and the next day I again called at 12:00 pm and was told that everything was all set.

I waited and heard nothing by 2:00 pm so I called again, and was advised that my appointment had been cancelled again for an unknown reason. This time I was very upset, but I knew that the person on the other line had nothing to do with the situation so I remained calm, and she said she would do whatever she could to rectify the situation.

A supervisor came on the line named KATHERINE, and she said she would do whatever she could to get me taken care of today. She then called back later, and stated that there was nothing she could do for today, but would personally handle my situation, and guarantee that I would be taken care of on Thursday between 12:00 pm and 4:00 pm.

I was a police officer for a very large city for 30 years so I knew that KATHERINE had nothing to do with the whole situation, but I vented. I said, "if I was late with my payment every month would AT&T let me slide?" and she said, "no" and the way the situation has been handled was highly unprofessional, and that I would be complaining to someone. She stated that she was taking the days off my bill. Big deal, I'm 60 years old and I don't need the drama, and that 4 days off the bill would not even come close to compensating for my time, and having me stay at home for 4 days straight.

The next day I received numerous calls confirming my appointment, and at 3:20 pm my saviour PHILLIP showed up I almost kissed him. It took him 10 minutes to fix the problem, and all of the services were up and going. Well I will get off my soap box for now, and thanks for the forum to vent my frustration.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

AT&T Wireless Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 64 ratings and
215 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
AT&T Wireless
7277 164th Ave. NE
Redmond, WA 98052
800-888-7600 (ph)
www.att.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services