AT&T Wireless - Page 5

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 61 ratings and
212 reviews & complaints.
www.att.com


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Loyalty means nothing
Posted by on
Hi, I have been with AT&T wireless since before the buy out by Cingular. I would like to make it clear that I was the second wave of customers to join, the first being the one on the analog system. I started and am currently on a GSM plan. I pay less than customers joining today because I have nights free after 7pm with no extra charge and my overall fee is lower (a plan based on 1200 minutes, they only offer 1400 now)

so to get to the point, my service is slowly deteriorating every day, one with the customer service people and secondly the actual signal of the phone. Some may say why is your signal going down, well the reason is I am on the old computer/sim chip system and they separate me from the new customer computer system, so when I send a message my message is sent through an old computer base (slower) rather than the new ones. Meaning I receive my messages up to 5 hours later sometimes. I know this is different than other people on AT&T because I was sitting next to a person with the new plan and we used a third phone to send messages. He got his right a way, I got mine an hour later... Anyway back to the signal problem. The towers are being upgraded only to the new sim chips (I have an old one). Meaning my phone is getting less service... This is my theory and I have gotten the same impression from many mobile stores that I talked to. So you ask why don't they give me a new chip that will work, I am AT&T customer, I am entitled to their services that even they claim are better than the one I have now. Well they won't cause my plan is not in the new computer base and they refuse to put me in the new computer base at my paying price, instead they want me to switch and pay more $$. Every time I call them they tell me the new rates and talk about how it is financially better for me to switch, usually I ignore it and tell them (for my 26th time yesterday) to reset my messages cause the buildup in their old system. However on occasion I listen hoping they could tell me I could save money. After 30 minutes of worthless chatter we arrive at the same conclusion, switching makes no financial sense. So they refuse to give me the quality service they give their new customers who sign with them today and continue to hurt the ones that have been with them for over 6 years~!! At&t claims to rebuild themselves, well they have changed for the worst destroying not only their name and morality but setting a standard that it is OK for American corporations not give a sh*t about their loyal customers. In Europe my dad has been with a cell phone company that has switched ownership 7 times. He has constantly been called and thanked for staying with them and continues to save money every year getting free phones and bonus packages as he shows loyalty.

The biggest thing that upsets me the most is when I walk into an AT&T store they cannot help me because I am not in their "new" computer system. Instead I must only get help from faceless phone support. And if I wanted to get a new phone... Well AT&T won't sell me one that will work unless I switch.

I would love to hear what anyone has to think about this.
     
Read 18 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trumania on 09/20/2007:
Well first off it's not really like you say. Let me explain. ATT Wireless used a certain system, system A. Cingular Wireless used system B, they bought out/merged with ATT Wireless. When that happened they had to run both systems to support both groups of customers.

This was back in 2004, they then stopped accepting ATT Wireless contracts and you could only get Cingular wireless contracts. They've been slowly trying to fade out System A because the dwindling customer base. Most people have already switched to Cingular Wireless, which is now ATT.

It's really not that they don't want to help you, it's that they can't. They can't keep a multi-million dollar system running just for a handful of customers. They've already publicly announced that they're going to remove that system all together, in 08 or 09 I believe.

The only way to get true support on the "New" Cingular/AT&T wireless system is to have one of the Cingular/AT&T sim chips, to get on you need to get a new contract.

It's great that you've been saving money on your month to month plan but if you continue with an obsolete system that is no longer being serviced, then you're going to have reception problems until they send you the letter saying your service has been permanently canceled.

Think of it like Windows Operating system, buying Windows Me is a lot cheaper then buying Windows Vista, and Windows ME using a lot less system resources. I can still use it, sure, but... Microsoft is no longer providing security updates or even technical support for that operating system. Why? It's outdated and they want you to use the new,better, software. That's not to say I can't stop using Windows ME, but if I do I might run into more problems as newer programs come out requiring a more sophisticated operating system.

Time to upgrade to a new contract buddy. If you don't want to there is always Pay as you Go, and of course, there are other carriers. But the thing you need to remember is, you are no longer in a contract with AT&T Wireless/Cingular/AT&T. You are on a month to month plan, which means, they have no obligation to give you free stuff to keep you as a member and can decline you service at any time.

Also, perhaps you should think about getting a plan with less minutes if you cannot afford to pay a higher bill. Do you use all the minutes every month? If not, with Cingular/AT&T you benefit from rollover minutes. Meaning you can use those unused minutes for the next 12 months if you go over your monthly allotment. You sure don't get that with AT&T Wireless monthly plan.
trumania on 09/20/2007:
Oh and also, I know for a fact that every other month while I was still an AT&T wireless customer, I was receiving letters from Cingular to upgrade my account and they would give me four free phones. Presumably to offset the cost of "changing" carriers.

Of course now I'm with Cingular/AT&T so... *shrugs*
SLP on 09/21/2007:
the problem I have is not what they are leagally binded to doing but the morality of it. I signed a contract that was supposed to be good as long as I keep it. they are suppose take care of their old customers better than their new. Loyalty should be the # 1 rewarded aspect of a customer. they should just transfer my plan over, and credit me the difference.... not hurt me because I stayed with them. Its not the money, its the principle.
trumania on 09/21/2007:
I can see how you're upset, but... why would they want to keep you as a customer? I mean, you're paying LESS then what new customers are paying. Not to mention, you EXPECT coupons and gifts and what not just for being a 'loyal customer'. They're losing money off of you. But the next person who joins their carrier service, they're making more money off of them. So their incentive would be to cater to the person who is putting more dollar bills in their pockets.

You signed a contract for 1 or 2 years, after that it went month to month which can be canceled at anytime, they are not required to offer you the service "as long as you keep it".

NO corporation is "moral", they're all in it to make money, not to make you feel warm and fuzzy inside. Harsh, but true. There are no carriers out there that would allow you to do this.

And technically... you didn't even "stay with them." You were an original AT&T Wireless customer. Cingular basically adopted you, and the AT&T Mobility basically got stuck with you. It's not even the same "corporation" to speak of. And, I doubt you stayed with them because of your undying loyalty. It's more likely that you stayed with them because AT&T Wireless had the cheapest prices around, and as you've said... cheaper then ANY carrier that's around today.

For the record AT&T Wireless was gone in 2004, around this time, it's now 2007, you've been on an obsolete network for 3 years. So prices have changed dramatically.

"Loyalty should be the # 1 rewarded aspect of a customer," yea right, Have you read some of the complaints on here? People have bought dozens of products from a company and then just 1 broke outside of the warranty period, the company refuses to fix it for free and then the customer says, "Never again will I buy from this company." There is NO SUCH THING AS CUSTOMER LOYALTY in today's world.

People always expect something, if they don't get it they move on.

You said, "Its not the money, its the principle," okay, fair enough you learned several times that they will not let you keep the cheaper plan on the more advanced network, clearly with its better features and benefits. That's not fair, that's not what should "morally" be happening, whatever. Show them whose boss! Take your hard earned money to another carrier and complain to everyone you see that they wouldn't let you move from and old obsolete network to the newer advanced network even after numerous mail campaigns to offer you discounts on new phones.
SLP on 09/21/2007:
See that is the exact problem in America you except that just because they are technically are losing $$ in economic terms because they could have a higher paying customer instead of me, however they still make profit off of my bill, so they should be able to drop me. As I stated before companies should be rewarding and trying to find a way to keep customers that stay through thick and thin, 6 years!. I could easily move carriers tomorrow and AT&T would not care. my problem is that its wrong. its wrong that I am not treated better than a new custmer. If cingular did this it would be a different story, differnet company, but AT&T the compnay I started with is doing this. Look what happened to the sprint customers... they call tech support to many times and they are dropped.. yet in their contract they are promised tech support. But since these customers cost too much to maintain they are droped. right or wrong? if we want to live in a cut throat environment where the next cheapest thing will replace quality as long as it does the job then fine. But does the population really want to move down that path? its obviously cheaper to cut me off and tell us that they no longer want us, but then what stops the next company from doing the same. all I am saying it is bad business practice, and I am sure in the long run if it is not fixed then they will pay for it. When companies begin not to respect their customers the practice of good business is gone. you think it is right that AT&T store personal cannot help me,,, MY CONTRACT STILL HOLDS AND IS STILL WITH THE COMPANY. My signal is worse now then it was before.... is there no standard to keep. by febuary I was told my signal will be gone.. what then, if I sign that contract in febuary and my signal is gone are they liable/?

and btw the free phone mailing.... I get my phones for free in the first place I don't need new phones so finicially it was better not to take the phone.
squeekie on 09/21/2007:
may I suggest a go phone? You are going to find problems with most cell phone companies these days. as soon as I find a loop hole or when my contract runs out, I'm leaving sprint. you think cingular is bad, try getting thought to someone at sprint .
I used to have cingular and liked them. when they said the phones (both) were 46.00 a month that's what our bill was with sprint its 67.00 (3 phones) and by the time they add all the fees its 87.00.
my point is all companies are going to have their problems.
Anonymous on 09/21/2007:
Sprint/Nextel is the worst.
CrazyRedHead on 09/21/2007:
I agree with trumania, he explained it a lot better than I could. There is no loyalty anymore with anyone, and especially with cellular service. The loyalty thing has been abused and used so much by everyone that it doesn't really hold water anymore, especially with 95% of them would switch if something better came along. I worked as a AT&T/Cingular warranty rep and believe me the loyalty thing was so abused that no one really cared anymore. Some of us did try and take it into account and do out best, but when the people above us didn't care it did make it hard.

On the old AT&T you will have to make a decision at some point and I hope it is a good one and you are happy. If you continue with Cingular and sign a new contract, use the buyers remorse period to determine if the phone is going to work. If it doesn't don't listen to the techs, just send it back and cancel. I have learned that if it doesn't work in the beginning then it probably won't after 14/30 days and then you'll be stuck in the contract.
squeekie on 09/21/2007:
FedUp, yes they are the worst.
jenjenn on 09/21/2007:
Unfortunately, there isn't loyalty anywhere anymore! :(
Suusan B. on 09/21/2007:
Loyalty has nothing to do with this issue. All wireless carriers treat new customers better than existing customers as this is how they make money.

You are on an antiquated system that is being phased out and you need to either upgrade your phone and service or find another carrier. End of story.

Oh - - and while we're at it - - you had better check your TV set as starting in 2/09 your going to have to go digital or lose your signal.
Anonymous on 09/21/2007:
Nextel customer service gave me DIARRHEA, also known as the Nextel squirts...
blkjeeptj on 10/15/2007:
I'm sure that antiquated equipment is a valid issue. However, I have a brand new V3xx and ever since the switch back to "AT&T" my signal in most areas has gotten weaker and weaker. I used to be able to use my cell at my house with no problem and now I have to go upstairs on the third floor and step out on the balcony to be able to make a call. I've checked with many people in my area and they all say the same thing. Signal strength is weaker here and non-existent in other areas that I used to be able to use my phone. Leads me to believe that AT&T is cutting costs by decreasing service.
Spuds on 10/22/2007:
Get this, I just switched to ATT and they have the worst signal and service ever! Its been 45 days and they basically tell me that I am screwed and they cannot do anything about it. Customer loyalty, I don't think they care.
still on 10/27/2007:
They're going thought the process of changing the codes being sent to the phones through the towers. The receiving messages slowly is partially due to a bad phone, not necessarily the service. If your phone is 2-3 years old, you have to take into consideration the antenna within it was built 2 years prior to it.
EbayNoMore on 11/08/2007:
I had service with att when it was the analog system (BellSouth mobility)... I also had a grandfathered plan which I was able to keep with no hassles and no issues with my phone or service. I did notice more dropped call in the last 6 months or so of having their service. We cancelled att after being told we could not renew with a one year contract (paying more for the phone). We had 2 lines that were still under contract and should have been charged the enormous early cancellation fees... They waived those fees because we had been loyal, on-time customers for so many years... I do like my Verizon service much better but thanked att for waiving the fees...
Bohizzle on 11/09/2008:
Someone mentioned that AT&T doesn't have loyalty and I agree 100%. I been with Cingular ( AT&T ) probably for at least 2 years but maybe 3 years.

My current 2 year contract ends on March 8th, 2009. I went into their retail store to see what offers were available to me and to see if I could upgrade early because sometimes cellphone companies let you.

The retail representative in the store was not interested in my business. She said I could upgrade early but it had to be on November 18th. Fair enough but I told her that since we were talking a few weeks couldn't I do it now and she said no and was uninterested.

I said if I call the 800# customer service or even go online do you think they would let me and she said no and said it had to be on the 18th.

So acourse I left disappointed and with a bad taste in my mouth because its not like they said I had to wait to the end of my contract but she was so adamant on November 18th.

Long story short I went to T-Mobile got my Blackberry phone that I coveted, got more minutes per month, unlimited internet and texting including pictures and since I'm a state employee I get 15% off my entire bill which means ...

I have 1,000 minutues family plan compared to 700 minutes with AT&T. Unlimited text and picture text compared to 200 texts and picture for $4.99 on each phone with AT&T and unlimited internet compared to $9.99 per month with AT&T plus with my 15% monthly discount I will be paying the same amount for the T-Mobile plan at $103 per month with a brand new blackberry with all the bells and whistle. My wife has a brand new phone and customer service is way better than AT&T.

I think AT&T charges more for their plans because they are the largest cellphone provider at the moment ( AT&T, Verizon, Sprint ) but they kiss my business goodbye but I know it won't be missed.

AT&T is not hurting or struggling like Sprint but at least my wife and I are happier with our phones and plans.
Billywilly on 01/05/2009:
I have been in the same boat as you...and agree 100% with you. At&t cingular has been trying to convert me to new plans that cost at least 50% more for the same exact features/minutes I have now with their old At&t wireless plan. Service is getting degraded and they are now saying that my sim card is going bad and they cannot give me a new one without me switching to their 'new' plans...what a rip-off and what a way to treat a loyal customer ...
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
AT&T is evil and #0403 Casey the supervisor needs the boot
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- The absolute worst company to worst company to every deal with. I had a pay go account for over 12 years with AT&T. Their poor connectivity and outrageous prices caused me to switch carriers. Because it was a pre-paid account I was told there will be no refunds so wait till the end of the pay period before you cancel. I did however before the period ended they recharged the balance $60+ I immediately called customer service to explain to them what happened. I was refereed to a supervisor

#0403 Casey.

Casey was so rude he wouldn't even answer my questions. I was very pleasant and calm, didn't use harsh language. And he pretty much told me "HAHA we got your money now HAHA" and hung up on me.

I will never ever go back to AT&T I have Uverse and I'm going to cancel that as well.

EVIL PURE EVIL

Avoid at all cost!!!!!
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
AT&T Is the Worst When It Comes to Hidden Fees
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MIAMI, FLORIDA -- I went to a store to upgrade my phone and not only did I get charged $199 for the iPhone 5s, but I lost my discount of $25/month because I signed a new contract. So basically I did not get my phone cheaper as I thought, I am actually paying $800 for the phone instead of the regular price of $ 649.
I can't believe that they offer savings to customers that do not renew but then penalize the customers that are loyal. This is the last straw and I am honestly considering, after 4 years to leave AT&T. They should be ashamed of themselves.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Allowed My Husband To Steal My Phone
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
AUSTIN, TEXAS -- My husband and I have a joint account but have been separated since November 2013. I started a transfer of service for my iPhone 4S and then my husband reported my iPhone as stolen. So, it was cut off and blacklisted. I have the proof the phone was purchased by my company under my name from Fry’s and shows I activated it under AT&T the same day it was purchased. Again… MY NAME. MY COMPANY CARD with MY NAME. RECEIPT with matching IMEI number in MY NAME. Despite the fact the IMEI number on the receipt and the iPhone matches and despite that the receipt shows I personally activated it on AT&T, they absolutely refuse to un-blacklist the phone. Effectively allowing my husband to steal property that does not belong to him while telling me they can’t do anything about it.

This is supposed to be a feature that protects people from REAL thieves… but it is actually allowing someone to steal from me and AT&T just shrugs and says “oh, well”?!?!?! So, not only did they used to benefit financially from stolen phones (check for the lawsuit), they now make it legal for the morally inept to steal your phone. That is what I call customer care.

I have been an AT&T customer for almost 10 years. After this, I will never use AT&T again unless they do the right thing.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible Customer Service And Follow Through.
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ILLINOIS -- DO NOT GET AT&T INTERNET! I have had cell service with AT&T for over 4 years and have been very satisfied. About 2 years ago when I switched from cable to satellite, I signed up for AT&T internet. I had a $14 a month internet contract for 1 year with a option to keep the same price for a second year. All was OK the first year but my internet went up to $43 after the first year and they refused to honor their offer.

This February they offered me a deal for home phone and Internet for a lower price than just Internet. Even though I didn't need a home phone, I accepted. That's when it all went downhill fast. Before that I had my cell service, DirecTV, and Internet bundled. They unbundled my accounts and to make a very long story short, I ended up having to pay 2 months worth of bills in one month.

When I called customer service, they gave me the runaround and transferred me several times. After being on the phone several hours I was given a credit on my internet of 2 months and given a confirmation number. All was great until 2 weeks later when they shut off my service.

They had never credited my account. Round two of several hours of being on hold and they said the credit was on my account and restored service. I called the next day again because the credit was not there. After being transferred several times, I said I would hold for a supervisor. They sent me to the disconnect dept.... So while I was on hold, I signed up for Comcast Internet and provided to cancel my internet with AT&T.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Customer Service Sucks
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
HOUSTON, TEXAS -- Your customer service sucks everyone from your technicians to your call centers and just your overall service sucks big time! Every time you call their customer service you get into an argument with the negative types of individuals whom gravitate to customer service positions. And you can tell just by their tone which one will help you and the ones whom loves to argue because they have to speak to you and waste their precious time on their eight hour schedule. Take my advice and get yourself another job perhaps flipping burgers and asking the most famous question: Do you want some fries with your burger? Instead of handling the issue, they become the problem.

Take my advice, and continue doing what you do best, and collect your lousy paycheck which does not seem to pay your monthly bills!

You cannot get more insulting than this level!
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Lied To, Treated Poorly by Supervisors and Hung Up On
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
RIDGEWAY, SOUTH CAROLINA -- On 1/7/14 I tried to make a partial payment until my paycheck landed on 1/17/14 and due to a system error was unable to make the 85 dollar payment. Service was suspended on 1/8/14 and upon calling customer service and speaking to supervisor my payment of 85 dollars was put through and I also received an adjustment of 110 because my plan was set up to get over on my wallet. Service reinstated and the original agreement of 1/17/14 was set up for the remainder of 86 dollars. Needless to say today is 1/13/14 and my service is suspended for the 86 dollars we agreed to pay on the 17th and after several calls no one is willing to rectify the mistake AT&T and its employees made in the handling of this matter this is beyond an outrage because all the information I am stating here is noted on my account and upon asking to speak to someone higher up I was hung up on twice by floor managers or supervisors as they would call it. Canceled service AT&T will not get any money from me due to a breach in our verbal agreement to keep my service on until 1/17/14. I have a pregnant wife and two year old son I need to look after via mobile phone due to my travels with my work and look at the outcome of switching to at&? My advice stick with the prepaid services
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Incapable Employees Cost Me Hundreds
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
DEDHAM, MASSACHUSETTS -- I have had 3 cell phone lines with AT&T for 13 years you would think they would be a little more helpful when I called to report some issues last week.

First my elderly mother goes into the dedham MA store and says she needs a cell hers is broken. There is a free upgrade available on our account. You would think the employee would try to gig eyer what is a good deal or the obvious choice. No he tells her about this new program where she pays full price for a iPhone 4s, 440 dollars. The upgrade and phone should have cost 1 dollar. He scammed my mother who is elderly and told her she was paying 20 dollars for it. More like 20 dollars a month till the 440 is paid off. When I call to complain they say its too late you only have a 30 days to return. Nice customer service huh?
I call just yesterday to upgrade my phone when I go to pick my data package it isn't listed. I was grandfather clauses in for an unlimited plan for 30 dollars a month. Turns out at my last upgrade the representative changed my data plan without my permission. I would never have given up my unlimited data. What does customer service say? Sorry you only had 90 days to get it back we can't help you. Canceling plan is going to be easy.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Rude AT&T Staff
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
COLUMBUS, OHIO -- Last week I was going to purchase a mobile plan for me and my wife from Polaris Parkway Mal Columbus OH AT&T store.

Unfortunately, a very rude AT&T staff called MARK H. as it is written in my receipt came to us and answered us with a very rude and impolite behavior that I didn't expect from AT&T stuff, when I asked him if there any special offer for the plan I am looking for.

Without any answer I had to purchase the regular plan in Christmas time, but just after that I checked Best Buy, they had AT&T special offer for the exact plan I was looking for, but after I came AT&T to have the same offer $370 less. Mark H. rudely told me there is no offer, you charged for $35 for each cell phone means $70.

I saw it again better, so I returned the plan, but after I went to Best Buy to purchase the same plan, AT&T asked me for about $450 deposit for each device.

This story has made me so upset, and I really asked AT&T do something about these kinds of behaviors. I am not interested in being your customer anymore with rude behaviors from your staff.

I have changed my plan to another operator.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
May I Call It Crime If Deposits Are Gone With The Wind?
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS -- For a brand new company I signed contracts for 2 lines 7 months ago. The very friendly guys checked all and called AT&T support center and told me that I've to pay 1 grant each as deposit for 6 months. Later I went to the AT&T store in Corpus Christi for several questions and was again told that every deposit will be refunded after 6 months. Now that the time is over and nothing happened I walked into the shop and was told that there must have been any misunderstanding as the deposit time regularly is 12 months. What's on with ATT? My company now has some 30 employees and will have some 400 by end of next year. Today I wanted to sign contracts for 10 lines - so the trouble hits me the right time.
Maybe AT&T needs that money for investments or management bonuses. They should have ask for a credit before stealing the money. As AT&T seems to be short with money I decided to switch to any reliable carrier.

Sure all invoices have been paid in time but they still want to charge early termination fee and refund the deposit after deducting that fee and whatever they want. Gosh what kind of crooks.
     
Add reply
Top of Page | Next Page >