Aunt Jemima

1 reviews & complaints.

Bland Cinnamon Oatmeal
Posted by on
I went to my local Bashas yesterday and noticed that they had Aunt Jemima oatmeal for $1 for 4 packets. Good deal, I thought to myself. They had maple flavored and cinnamon flavored. I chose the cinnamon flavor.

I eat oatmeal every morning and always buy the Quaker Oats brand. That kind wasn't on sale so I decided to branch out of my comfort zone and try the Aunt Jemima brand.

I tried some this morning, and it was very bland. The cinnamon flavor was barely noticeable. The Quaker Oats cinnamon oatmeal is just bursting with cinnamon flavor. I also noticed that it didn't fill me up the same way as the Quaker Oats oatmeal does.

Good thing I only spent $1. I will finish the box, but I will have to add more cinnamon sugar to it. I will stick to buying Quaker Oats oatmeal from now on.
     
Read 44 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Inat on 2011-04-11:
this review makes me want to buy some Aunt jemima oats :) I cannot stand Quaker anymore - too much artificial flavor - it's like eating a Glade scented candle.
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
The Quaker brands are still pretty good to me.
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
I'll stick to Quaker
Nohandle on 2011-04-11:
If it isn't any good it doesn't matter what you paid. I gather this is instant oatmeal. I still buy the Quaker "Old Fashioned" oatmeal in that familiar container. It really doesn't take that long to cook and makes fine oatmeal cookies as well. I reserve Aunt Jemima for pancakes and waffles only. Talk about a comfort zone. LOL
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
The OP is referring to the instant.
I haven't seen the Old Fashioned Oatmeal in years! Brings back memories.
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
I use Old Fashioned Quaker Oats, not the Quick kind. I REALLY don't care for the Instant ones because they are too sweet. I undercook them a bit because I like them to have a little bit of snap to them. I didn't know AJ was getting into the oatmeal game. I will heed your wise advice and skip her.
Nohandle on 2011-04-11:
It's still made. Trust me. Same photo on the front that I remember from my childhood. Some things don't change that much. You might have to look on the bottom shelf to find it.
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
Yes this is the instant kind. I prefer instant because I'm always in a hurry in the mornings. I thought the oatmeal would be good because I love other Aunt Jemima products. I guess I'll stick to their pancakes and syrup
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
I'll look for it next time, NH.
I never could master the art of cooking it in the past (lumpy).

Yaya: Do you use milk or water?
DebtorBasher on 2011-04-11:
I like to add brown sugar to my oatmeal...yummy!
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
Butter?
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
I have never tried the Aunt Jemima brand oatmeal. I stick to the Quaker Oats, both instant and stove top. And after a quality review like this, I don't think I'll start anytime soon.
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
Quaker Oats, milk, raisins...Mmmmmm:)
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
Dirm, variety is the spice of life you know?
You may like the AJ brand.
You and I differed on WingStop, correct?
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
I too eat oatmeal almost every morning although I eat the old fashion and not the instant. I eat mine with raisins, craisins or dried blue berries and a little butter. My wife calls it my kibble.

littleshorty, its amazing how much you and I have in common. Excellent review!
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
Fruity hot cereal never appealed to me.
As a kid I would put banana or strawberry slices in my cold cereal but never the hot. I had a Cousin that would put pieces of bacon in his oatmeal.
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
Lsal> I pretty much a stickler for my Quaker Oats, the old fashioned kind in the tall cardboard cylinder. I do tend to buy the Aunt Jemima pancake syrup though.
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
Thanks for the review!
Nohandle on 2011-04-11:
Shorty, one morning I ended up with enough oatmeal to feed the neighbors and actually put the cooked oatmeal, pot and all in the refrigerator because I didn't have time to clean up. By golly the next morning I added a little water, heated it up and it was as good as the day before. I would think one could put the leftovers in a container and heat in the microwave the next morning. I don't think I'd do it for numerous days but the next day it's just as tasty and just as easy as the instant appears to be.
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
Lsal, I add water before I cook it and then add milk. Sometimes I add fruit, like bananas.

Nohandle, I didn't know oatmeal kept like that in the fridge.
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
It gets rubbery but you can doctor it up.
We never had enough to save so we tossed ours.
Leftover Grits? Forget about it!!
jktshff1 on 2011-04-11:
Aunt Jemima needs to stick to syrup.
VH review.
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
Aunt Jemima has no business getting into the oatmeal business. Reminds me of the government...
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
Apparently, AJ agrees when it comes to recipes with oatmeal in it.

http://www.auntjemima.com/aj_recipes/recipesToppings/recipe.cfm?recipeID=554
Nohandle on 2011-04-11:
LS, one can fry leftover grits by letting them cool and then slice and fry. I've never tried it because I would just as soon be beaten with a yardstick as to cook grits to begin with. They are too messy and it takes forever to clean the pot. Leftover mashed potatoes are wonderful fried. They need to be stiff to begin with, not runny, and spread in a flat square container and refrigerated until cold and completely firm, probably better overnight. Cut them into squares, flour both sides and fry in a little oil until browned on both sides. Delicious.
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
Thanks NH! I will try the spuds for sure!
Grits are very messy.
I Like Cookies 2 on 2011-04-11:
I think she needs to stick to the pancakes. They rock!
Starlord on 2011-04-11:
Shorty, I just recently started eating oatmeal after refusing it for more years than a lot of you have been alive. I use the Weight Control flavored oatmeal (Quaker, of course), and add a teaspoon of cinnamon to it. A teaspoon or two of cinnamon a day is highly recommended for diabetics, as it does help with blood glucose readings. I have cut my readings approximately in half with adding some cinnamon to my diet daily. Good review.
Anonymous on 2011-04-11:
Star, I eat oatmeal because my cholesterol is slightly high. I'm a pretty healthy eater, but high cholesterol runs in my family. I've heard that cinnamon helps with diabetes. That's great to hear that it's helped you so much
Venice09 on 2011-04-12:
Yaya, my husband came home with the same boxes, $1.00 for 4 packets. He got one Cinnamon and one French Toast. Both were exactly how you described. Bland and not as filling. I looked at the nutritional value, and they have less fiber than Quaker.

Quaker is better than store brands and worth the extra money. Target makes a low sugar version (maple brown sugar, I think) that is very good, and about half the price of Quaker. If you're looking to save some money, I recommend the Target brand.

I like to put walnuts and/or apples and cinnomon in my oatmeal. I never thought of bacon, but that sounds good!
Alain on 2011-04-12:
I'll stick to Quaker and just use Aunt J for pancakes. Thanks, Shorty!
Venice09 on 2011-04-12:
Oh, yaya. I saw a commercial for those cinnamon Cheerios you mentioned. They're called Cinnamon Burst. I'm going to buy them when I go shopping this week. You're right, they are not the apple cinnamon ones. Cinnamon Burst is new.
Anonymous on 2011-04-12:
Venice, the Cinnamon Cheerios are the best! I'm sure you will love them. I didn't notice there was less fiber in the AJ oatmeal. No wonder I was hungry an hour later. I did notice there was more sugar in the AJ brand (I like the lower sugar Quaker Oats kind), but the oatmeal is still bland.
Venice09 on 2011-04-12:
I'm definitely buying Cinnamon Burst Cheerios this week. I hope my store has them. I was never a fan of Cheerios, but all these new flavors are a lot more tasty!
Anonymous on 2011-04-12:
The local stores here had the Cinnamon Cheerios on sale for 2 boxes for $3
Venice09 on 2011-04-12:
Cheerios are on sale in my supermarket too this week. But I don't know if they have Cinnamon Burst. I don't remember seeing it when I bought the Banana Nut ones. But there were so many kinds, I might have missed it. Now I know exactly what I'm looking for because I saw them on television.
Anonymous on 2011-04-12:
The box is smaller and yellow. I'm almost out, but they aren't on sale this week
Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
Yaya, on your recommendation, I went ahead and bought four boxes of Cinnamon Burst. They were on sale, I had coupons, and I also got a free gallon of milk!

The verdict?.. Delicious!! And even better mixed with Banana Nut. Cheerios has reinvented one of the oldest names in cereals. I love every one I've tried so far.
Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
I knew you'd like them, Venice. I will have to try the Banana Nut kind. I'll buy a box next time I see Cheerios on sale
Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
I hope you like them. I usually mix cereals so it's less boring. I love Chocolate Cheerios with Banana Nut. I'm not sure about cinnamon and chocolate, but maybe I'll get brave and try it. Multi Grain Cheerios can be mixed with anything. Cinnamon Burst would be good with Honey Nut, too!

So many Cheerios, so little time.
Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
I really like the Cheerios with the oat clusters. And the Frosted Cheerios are good too
Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
Oat clusters? How come you know about these varieties before I do? I've had Frosted Cheerios, but I've never seen oat clusters. That's another one I'll have to try. Cheerios is going to need its own aisle if this keeps up.
Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
The oat cluster Cheerios are soooo good! They were my favorite until I discovered the Cinnamon Burst Cheerios. I agree that Cheerios sure have come a long way. But I still like regular Cheerios, with banana slices
Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
I never liked original Cheerios, but I am definitely hooked on some of the new varieties. I wonder what they'll come up with next.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >