[X]

Avis - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 16 ratings and
109 reviews & complaints.
www.avis.com

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Avis running a racket with their new EZ Fuel "program"
Posted by on
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- If I could give the Las Vegas Avis Rental center 0 stars I would.

Their latest "program" charges you $13.99 for 0-75miles driven--we specifically were asked during check-in whether we wanted to opt out of the program, so naturally we said yes. The woman was very rude, but made it clear that we had to decide there because it was an opt-in/out program.

We refilled the tank to full as usual, and noted upon return that we were charged a $18 fee (after taxes). We immediately turned around to inquire about the additional charge and were told this was for the $13.99 EZFuel program (or whatever it was called). We made the mistake of paying the $8.05 in gas in cash (we're in vegas after all, cash dealings is almost the norm), so we did not have a receipt to provide to "waive" the fee.

We got the manager out--a youngish guy--extremely rude and poor customer service (none at all really). The contract specifically states that yes, a fee will be charged "if rental is returned with less fuel than originally rented". There's also one line after that that says "00-75 miles will be charged $13.99, present receipt to waive". Based on our questions and experience during checkin, we had every reason to believe that this was an opt-in program. Our mistake on not getting a receipt, but it's clear the tank is full--how can anyone justify charging $13.99 for returning a car with a full tank?

Apparently Avis can run this kind of racket. The manager even had the nerve to counter, and I quote, "How do I know you didn't just drive 20miles and didn't refill the tank? You could do that and the meter would still show full." Excuse me? That's your customer service? Snarky comments? Our odometer readings checking out and back in clearly shows we drove 64 miles.

They would gouge you out of $18 of hard-earned money and lose the business of us and all our friends (we're spreading this around to everyone we know) because they can justify charging for a full tank in their fine print, and misleading instructions.

The manager by the way, offered no help at all in terms of retrieving a receipt. They could've called the gas station, refunded us the 8.05 once confirmed, or let us take another car out to retrieve the receipt (gas station was 2 blocks away). But no, nothing. No concession.

This is a new program, we've not seen it before mind you. But based on the nature of this program and the misleading directions by Avis's personnel and non-existent customer service, I suggest everyone rent elsewhere.

Enterprise, Thirfty are other options we've had no problems with. Give your hard-earned money to honest companies that earn it.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

goduke on 2009-08-31:
Anyone who has ever rented a car knows that if you don't have the receipt with you, even without the Avis 75 mile rule, you are in risk of getting hit with a fuel fee. You absolutely have to be able to show them you bought gas, even if it's only 1/2 gallon.

Probably should have taken a cab to the strip. It's a lot cheaper than renting a car.
Anonymous on 2009-08-31:
Well I've had at least 12 rentals this year alone and I sure didn't know about the 75 mile rule. In fact I'd like to personally thank the OP for enlightening me on this subject. I pulled out my rental agreement from last week and sure enough it says, '00-74 miles $13.99 fuel fee added. To remove show receipt' then holy cow there's the 'SL' initials next to it. I DID NOT READ IT.

Well I for one think that stinks. I can't tell you how many times I've picked up a rental car when the tank wasn't completely full and heck sometimes it was actually below the 'F'. It's been my experience they sure don't top those tanks off at the rental place but I guess they're going to charge as if they do. Dirty pool.

It is indeed reviews like this one that educates some of us less sophisticated travelers to the slick ways of the travel industry. Good review!
dan gordon on 2009-08-31:
same thing in Tucson and other airports I've rented a car in. You need to get a receipt. Even if they checked you in full some companies bill you later and you still need the receipt to prove your innocence. I know its reverse logic but car rental firms are desperate for more revenue so they have added many more rules than before.
snoozypanda on 2009-08-31:
Well one thing I'd like to add is that we have rented numerous times before and this has never been an issue. This particular case was also interesting because at the time we returned the car, the guy didn't even ask--he just presented us with the $18 charge and sent us on our way. We had 10min to spare so we looked at the receipt and asked specifically at the desk.

So by this logic, you apparently also have to manually go and wrangle with them to remove the charge (I guess they charge first, waive later). Maybe that's just the vegas rental center, but even assuming we had a receipt--if we hadn't stopped to ask, we would still be hit with the fee.
goduke on 2009-08-31:
Snoozy: if you show them the receipt as you check in, they take it off right then. I've done it in McCarran about 15 times in the last year.
Close commentsAdd reply
First and Last Avis Experience
Posted by on
TAMPA, FLORIDA -- On August 7 we arrived in Tampa for short three day visit for a wedding. After checking without issue we drove off to enjoy our weekend. Our trouble began when we dropped off the vehicle.

Upon entering the drop off area at 7:00 A.M. on August 9 we were hurried through the check in process due to a couple of other vehicles coming in at the same time. After quickly grabbing our things we received our receipt and headed to the airport. Upon takeoff I realized that in the rush I had left my GPS in attached to the front window below the rear view mirror. Our flight was only two hours long. When we landed I immediately contacted the Tampa Avis office alerting them to the fact I had left my GPS unit in their car. This was at 11:00 A.M. I was assured it would be set aside and someone would contact me shortly.

After not receiving a return call, I called the office back that afternoon and was told I would be contacted Monday morning, after the person who handles these things matched up the items with the calls. Monday came and went without a call. I called again and again left my number. I again called the office after 11:30 A.M. Tuesday only to be told the woman was out to lunch. I again left my phone number requesting a call back as soon as possible. At 5:30 I called again only to be told this time the lady had left, but they would be happy to take my name and number and make sure she called the next day. After numerous calls such as these I was finally able to connect with her after calling the corporate customer service number and them tracking her down on Wednesday, August 12.

According to Avis, my GPS was not in the vehicle, and the vehicle had been rented out at noon the same day. I was told they had contacted the rental office where the vehicle had been dropped off that day, but they did not have the GPS either. When I brought up the fact that it was Sunday when I first called, AND I had called an hour prior to the vehicle being rented again, I was told there was nothing that could be done.

Several emails to Avis only resulted in a quote from the contract stating Avis was not responsible for any personal items left behind. I realize I was at fault for not letting myself be rushed at check in and making sure I had everything. However, the fact the vehicle was on their lot for an hour after I called and before they rented it out leads me to believe the unit was either stolen by the Avis associate who cleaned the vehicle, or they never bothered to even check the vehicle after I called and it was taken by whomever rented it at noon.

Obviously, Avis does NOT "Try Harder". If they truly did try harder I cannot help but to believe I would have my GPS unit back by now. This was the first time I have ever used Avis and it will be the last. Oh, and good luck finding any phone number or email to anyone in the corporate offices to take your complaints to a higher level.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

MSCANTBEWRONG on 2009-08-27:
Name: Avis Rent a Car
Phone: (918) 624-4210
Address: P.O. 699000

Tulsa, OK 74169
Ms. Connie Crawley, Manager
Anonymous on 2009-08-27:
You'll see it soon on Ebay.
PepperElf on 2009-08-27:
sounds like the person who rented the car picked up a free GPS

not sure how you'll get the other customer to give it up now though.
cos they can always lie and say "no we bought this a while ago" or they can say "what gps?"
Close commentsAdd reply
Avis Still Has Not Resolved This Serious Problem
Posted by on
PANAMA CITY, PANAMA -- We have been on the telephone for hours over the past two days with Avis in the US and Panama and am getting nowhere.

We rented a car in Panama last Tuesday, 24 March at 1045 in the morning. We returned the car Friday, 27 March at 1600, at the same location: Marcos A Gelabert Airport (PT2).

When requesting a receipt on the Avis web site we were advised on the website that the car was never returned!

We were supposed to pick up the car at 0815. When we went to the Avis rental counter at the airport there was no one at the counter, no telephone at the counter, and they did not answer their posted telephone numbers. Another rental car company finally helped us contact Avis. They kept promising to be there in a few minutes. We waited from 0815 until 1030 for a man to show up with the car. He spoke no English and had a Spanish-only rental agreement to sign. With the help of a bilingual passerby we finally signed the paperwork and received the car keys. The airport office was supposed to be open from 0800 to 1700 daily. There was NEVER anyone there and no one to contact.

Per the Avis Panamanian representative's instructions (via the volunteer translator) we left the car in the airport parking lot and dropped the keys into the "drop box" (hole) in the Avis counter.

Avis still continues to charge us a daily/hourly rate for a car we turned in. We also pre-ordered a GPS unit and it was not delivered with the car. We are apparently being charged for it, too.

We returned the car with a full tank of gas. The mileage was 89729.4 kilometers. The time was 1600 local time on Friday, 27 March.

I suspect the car is still sitting in the parking lot, or by now has been stolen. I am curious and apprehensive as to how long before the arrest warrant for us is issued.

It is particularly frustrating that we cannot contact anyone with Avis in Panama City, Panama. It took many calls and hours on hold before we finally reached someone at Avis Customer Service that was even willing to take some ownership of the issues. While Avis USA customer support has rendered some assistance, they also were unable to contact anyone in Panama who could speak English. Finally, Avis USA supposedly sent a fax and asked us to wait another 48 hours. Avis has not replied to any of our emails.

I personally feel that the Avis operation in Panama City needs a complete evaluation of its operational and management practices. As a long-time Preferred Avis customer this has been a terrible experience; and still has not been resolved!

The worst financial impact is that we are still being charged for the rental of a car that we turned in last week. Additional costs are in fruitless telephone calls to Panama and much wasted time on hold on the telephone.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Soaring Consumer on 2009-04-01:
This is indeed a serious problem, which needs serious troubleshooting.

I recommend contacting Christopher Elliott, the CNN Travel Troubleshooter and the ombudsman for the National Geographic Traveller magazine. His email address is celliott@ngs.org.
Close commentsAdd reply
Avis Customer Service Is Severely Lacking
Posted by on
BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- I have to vent on the horrible experience I had recently with Avis out of Boston Mass. I am a premier member with Avis and had no real complaints prior to this. I rented a car at Boston Airport. Upon arrival, I had to stand in line for well over 30 minutes just to get my car. There were 2 people working the desk and for some reason, they did not have my name listed on the premier list. I got a disgruntled clerk. The car they set me up with was a stripped down PT Cruiser. I drove from the airport to my hotel, about 35 minutes away. After checking in, I was told that they would be expecting snow in the next few days and asked if I had a scraper for my car (at the hotel, mind you)or if I needed one.

I went to the car and decided that I better check the wipers. Well, lo and behold, the wipers were non-functional. The wiper arms moved, but the blades were not wiping anything. I called Avis and was told to either buy a replacement set or bring the car back. I drive back to the airport and stand in another line, to get a replacement car. I waited a total of an hour to get the replacement car because a midsize car, which I rented, was not ready. Fine. After an hour, I complained that I was tired of waiting and the clerk upgraded me to an impala (I don't know what size that was). When I got in the car and started it, the power steering made a grinding noise. I walked back in to the clerk and told them about it.

They came to check it out, but of course, the noise was not there. Fine. I figured it was just the cold. I drove back to the hotel. 2 days later, after a snow storm, I go to get in my car after a long meeting offsite. The power steering makes that same noise again and it would not work at all. It was like driving a 1966 car with no power steering. As I go to drive out of the lot, I notice that the tire is making noises. I pull over to check and find a flat tire. Great. It's probably 15 degrees out and I have to change a tire.

I go to the trunk and there is no spare tire. The place where it belonged was empty! I called the 800 number and was told that all they could do was tow a replacement car to me but it would be 2 to 3 hours from the airport!! WoW!! No repair trucks with tires?? I waited in the car for 2 hours before the replacement car showed up. The driver tells me that he did not have a replacement contract because the computers were down at the Avis place. OK. Fine. I drive away in my Hyundai beater and prayed that nothing else happened. Well, nothing else happened to car but when I went to return it a week later, they couldn't find the contract on the car because no one ever put one in when they replaced it. Wait another 45 minutes and I am finally out the door to my flight. I wrote Avis twice with the complaints, via their website and I have yet to receive a response. This was over a week ago.

I am so disappointed with their customer service and lack of care about their customers that I am going to start using a different car service. I know that I am just a little fish but I think that renting around 12 weeks a year would at least get me a "We're sorry about your experience, we value our business and here's something to make up for it". Heck, even a free upgrade would have been nice. It's nice that Avis is not suffering financially like the rest of the world and they can afford to alienate loyal customer. It's a good thing my manager runs the travel dept at work too. Maybe if I get the word out to 1500 travelers where I work, it might cause Avis to think twice about their customers' needs.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

AJ80015 on 2009-07-10:
Um, if you really were an avid Avis renter, you would know the 'premier' program you speak of is called preferred, which is A TOTALLY FREE PROGAM. I have a preferred membership to Albertson's, does that mean I get to skip the line, AND get HUGE discounts on my milk? NO, it does not. Most of the time, the referred progam is great, as you stated that you had no complaints before this....get over it!!!
Close commentsAdd reply
Don't Work For Avis As An Agency Operator
Posted by on
OHIO -- I am currently an agency operator for Avis in the state of Ohio, which means Avis pays me a certain amount of money every month to run a location. When I first started I was so excited, and the people that I spoke to in the management field hyped the company up, so I Dove right in, big, huge mistake. The location I run is dirty because my supervisor whom I am supposed to contact to fix things, who also works for Avis doesn't fix the place and the carpet is filthy it has been stained for years. I have had so many customers tell me that my location is disgusting, and yet when I contact my supervisor about it he says well, there's no money to fix anything, blah blah blah.

And they don't even do any advertising for my company, but if I don't get a certain amount of rentals I get a phone call, and the supervisor says we'll maybe I need to get a new operator or maybe this business isn't for you.

So please whatever you do don't become an agency operator for Avis, they have no respect for you, your customers, as an agency operator you are representing yourself and Avis, and the fact that Avis would treat their operators like this, it's horrible.

This is not how a company should be run, I tried to locate an email address to get the situation taken care of, and there isn't one.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2008-07-15:
How can you not know who to contact if you're an Agency Operator?
yourname on 2008-07-18:
you have a ladder of people to contact which is a total of 4, with the fourth person, being the main head honcho, and no they will not let you contact headquarters, and I've already tried, there's nothing
mozymarr on 2010-02-20:
I just got out of being an agency operator for Avis for over 3 years. My advice DON'T DO IT. It's a lot of work and hours for NO MONEY and the people who are supposed to be helping you ie district managers etc.. are a joke they no squat about running a business and if one day your insurance sales or car rentals on down you get the threatening phone call. It's BullS**t and if by chance you do happen to grow the business and be OK guess what they can tell you the game is up and you're out of a job with no unemployment insurance so you grew THEIR business for nothing. Don't be fooled by the "this is your business" bull it isn't it's theres and they can get rid of you anytime. F this company and this Agency Operator program, Avis bites.
island gurl on 2012-01-12:
Avis, can be cheap when it comes to repairs on a facility. you'd never believe they are a multi billion dollar company the way they avoid or delay fixing anything over $100. Being an operator does however provide a decent living if you put in the hours yourself to reduce overhead.I do get the feeling though that the TPM's and DM's sometimes resent the money you can make as an operator and try to stick to us in other ways. There's operator's in CA making in excess of 100k per year and then some. Since most operator's all make more than a TPM, I think they try to have the upper hand by letting you know you are expendable. Just jealously if you ask me. I know TPM's that were miserable operators once upon a time and got a job with corportate. They like to keep you on edge as mentioned earlier by poor sales numbers or low revenue, the people training you either steal tactics from competitors or put their own BS touch on it. the fact is , theres no magic technique, it's just about numbers. the more rentals, the more chances.




























































Close commentsAdd reply
Avis Anchorage - Don't Use Them If You Don't Have To
Posted by on
ANCHORAGE, ALASKA -- I recently rented a car from Avis in Anchorage.

I am a frequent flier and am a 1K on United and a Diamond with Hilton. You can imagine that when I say that I had my worst rental car experience ever in Avis Anchorage - that means something.

I met a very unfriendly and unhelpful counter person named James who was the renting agent behind the counter. Don't go to him if you can possibly avoid it.

I was initially helped by an agent called Jessi, who offered me an upgrade to a Toyota Highlander for an extra $15 a day. I pointed out that I had rented a mid-sized SUV that should sit 5 (per the Avis website) but Jessi said that there was nothing should could do about it. She suggested that I check out the vehicle first and come back.

After my group loaded the luggage into the vehicle we found the vehicle to be too small. I was also not pleased with the coffee stain near the gear box, the bent license plate and the 2 scratches that I found on the car.

When I returned, Jessi was gone and James was there. I made my case with him again about the size of the SUV and asked for a better option given that Avis had not delivered on what they had promised. James was very unhelpful and told me that was all that they had and went on to say that the class of vehicle that I rented was a Rav 4 - but that they were out of that.

When I asked to be upgraded to the Toyota Highlander that Jessi had offered me, he told me that I would have to pay for it. Given that I had no choice, I agreed to pay for the upgrade. This leads me to my second disappointment. James goes ahead and processes the upgrade and tells me that I have to pay $500 more for the 10 day rental. When I pointed out that it was more than 3X more than the initial $15 upgrade which I felt that I should not have had to pay for - he shrugs his shoulders and tells me to take it or leave it. At this point I inform James that he was neither being very helpful nor providing much customer service - to which he responded that it was not his problem. When I asked him the reason for the 3X increase in price, James said that the contract was already concluded and that the price had changed in the 10 minutes that it took to load my luggage into the vehicle prior to driving off the lot.

My third disappointment is that when I asked to speak to the manager, about the bait and switch tactics going on and the poor service that I was receiving, James tells me that the manager is not available. I made the request again and told him that it was important that I get in touch with his manager. He gave me exactly the same response - with a look that challenged me to do something about it. There was never an attempt to get my number or to even reach the station manager at his after-hours telephone number. Fortunately the card of Bob Livingston the Anchorage Station Manager was on the counter and I took a copy of it and I told James that I would certainly be in touch. His response to me at that point was that he would talk to the Station Manager first.

Please avoid Avis Anchorage at all costs. This is a poorly run operation. You don’t want to spoil a business trip or vacation by dealing with the incompetence of some of the members of the customer service team at this location.


     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Lack Of Customer Service & Professionalism
Posted by on
NEWARK AIRPOR, NEW JERSEY -- This past weekend my company was scheduled to do some charity work for a local organization in Jersey City and I was tasked to rent 2 passenger vans. Three weeks before the event I made reservations by telephone for 2 passenger vans to be picked up at Avis's Newark Airport location. When my colleague and I arrived the reservations agent was quite polite and helpful and then their Manager, Mr. [snip] approached us and informed us that there were no passenger vans available at this time. As you could imagine,we were disappointed and asked what could be done and we were told that they had an expedition that seats 8 people instead of two 15 passenger vans. I told him that was unacceptable and the Manager was not helpful or sympathetic and provoked my anger and irritability with a grin. I asked him what the purpose of making reservations and he said that reservations were based upon availability, which is absolutely ludicrous. Who ever heard of making a reservation and being told that it is based upon availability..quite the contradiction.

In any event, [snip] was not helpful and my patience wore thin and I asked the customers behind me what the definition of a reservation was and [snip] threatened to call the Port Authority Police to remove me from the premises. I asked to see his manager and he asked me to wait outside and I refused. The reservation agent who was helpful found us 2 passenger vans and [snip] refused to rent these vehicles to us and once again threatened to call the police. Words were exchanged and we left the premises to National Car Rental where they were sympathetic and very helpful and rented us two 15 passenger vans with no reservations or hassles, especially when they heard it was for a charity event. I asked my associate to return to the Avis Counter and pick up his business card so I can write a letter of complaint.

My colleague was greeted by the District Manager, [snip] who was helpful as compared to the Manager. He apologized and asked what he could do to help us. He said he had two 15 passenger vans ready for us and [snip] had the audacity to tell my associate that all we had to do is wait for the vans. My associate told him he was a liar and that he had previously said there were no passenger vans available. He then raised his voice and temper which exhibited why this person should not be allowed to interact with the public let alone manage people. I placed a call to the District Manager as he requested and he never returned my call as I expected. In the 25 years of my business experience, I have never met anyone this rude and uneducated as to customer service and have lost my respect for Avis because of their poor choice of managers and poor training. Whatever happened to the customer is always right. In any event, this interaction took 3 hours. Would you be charged if you brought a rental car back 3 hours late. The same courtesy should be extended to a customer who waits 3 hours. What is the sense of reservations?

In any event, I will never recommend the rental of any vehicle from Avis...so much for we try harder... because they don't even try at all.

On the other hand National Car Rental should be commended at Newark Airport for accommodating our request and being considerate and generous for a charity event. We will definitely work with National again.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2008-04-01:
You were poorly handled by Avis. Then, anger took hold of all parties involved. Going back for a business card was like poking a mean dog with a stick. What did you hope to accomplish...except to worsen a bad situation. You did the right thing by voting with your feet and going to National. Simply write your complaint to Avis, giving the date and time of the altercation...they will (if they care) be able to piece who is accountable. Glad you got your vans!
Close commentsAdd reply
Bogus damage claim by Avis
Posted by on
In August 2005 I rented a car from Avis in Casper WY. I submitted a car diagram of all existing damage to the car to the Avis agent before leaving the rental lot. Upon returning the car to the Casper Airport Avis lot at 5:30 am on our Sunday departure date I checked the car over for any signs of additional damage and saw none so I left the keys and rental agreement in the drop box as instructed. Due to the early morning hour there was no agent on duty at the time of the rental return.

A week after returning home I received a notice from Avis stating that due to damage to the windshield they were billing me nearly $400 for the "necessary replacement" of the windshield PLUS 2 days rental fee for the time the car was not at their disposal to rent. If the chips were so small and insignificant that they were not visible upon inspection, could they not have simply been repaired, rather than replacing the entire windshield?

I disputed the charges with Avis and noted to them that I dropped the car off at 5:30 AM and their cleaning crew reported the damage at 5:00 PM - 12 hours after I had returned the car. Furthermore, I pointed out that I was not responsible for what happens in their parking lot. Their reply, after supposed "careful consideration", was that "windshield chips do not occur in parking lots" and I was therefore being held liable.

My husband and I are still disputing the charges. My husband is one of their Preferred Customers due to his repeated use of their services for business travel over the past 25 years, but I for one will never rent from them again. They seem to stick these outrageous charges to anyone who did not take out any and all additional insurance policies from them.

Pooh on Avis. National seems to have better overall ratings.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

SuZQ on 2005-12-02:
First of all, if you just leave the car there and drop the keys off and whatnot (which is called an after hours return) You are 100% responsible for any damages that happen in the parking lot, UNTIL they check in the vehicle. They don't have to check in the vehicle when they open either because they may be busy. This will happen to you at any car rental company. So in other words, next time, drop it off when they are open and there won't be that problem.
poster on 2006-08-06:
Same thing happened to me. See . It makes no sense to me that they offer a courtesy drop-off and charge the customer for damages after the car is dropped off. In my case, they provided no evidence of said damage even when I requested it. When I asked a few more times they pretty much ignored me. It boggles my mind to pay for damage they cannot even substantiate. What a racket.
poster on 2006-08-06:
The link for my comment did not come through. See http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=15234
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Scammed for 1500 Euros by AVIS
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
FRANKFURT -- We are a U.S. expatriate family so we have been using AVIS for years in
the UK and US. Over our families Spring Break we rented from AVIS at
Frankfurt Airport. We drove to Saas-Fee and parked the vehicle in the
garage for the week since it is a carless village. We then drove it back
to the airport and parked it. The man working at the AVIS desk in the
garage waved us off without checking the car. We however had looked
over the vehicle and it was in perfect condition. Later we were charge
1500 Euros for imaginary damage that absolutely wasn't there. We now
realize looking back it was a scam because they purposely waved us away
without inspection. AVIS says we can get a lawyer!! Seriously !! How
much would that cost ?!?! You can read about the other Avis Frankfurt
scams on Trip Advisor. I will be posting on all travel sites and blogs
to let everyone know that AVIS has an office that will scam families and
take money from hard working teachers and government servants.
Erika
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Peter on 2014-05-29:
Get a lawyer to write a letter to say he/she is representing you and their claims will have to be fully substantiated before he/she will even consider having the client pay for anything more. Also, dispute it on your credit card immediately. Easy to say now, take pictures before you drive it off the lot and when you drive it on the lot.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Car Rental Insurance Lie
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SAN JOSE, COSTA RICA -- I pre-paid for a rental from Avis in San Jose, Costa Rica for 10 days. It was a little over $600. They specifically told me when I booked & pre-paid that mandatory insurance had to be purchased at the time of pick up and that it would cost me about $9/day...about $100. When I pick the car up they said it would cost $59.99 day...over $600...as much as the car rental itself. I had no choice and two other customers who were picking up their rental cars at the same time were also in complete shock. We had all been lied to and, being in a foreign country ready to pick up our cars with no other choice, we had to pay the requested fee. I could have paid as little as $24.95 for 42 consecutive days of insurance coverage through American Express and similar inexpensive premiums for rental cars through other independent insurers. Avis totally screwed me and others I observed when we picked up our vehicles. We were all in complete shock with no options. Be smart and don't fall for this trap. Get your insurance if you are renting a car in another country, (especially Central or South America), through American Express or other company and avoid getting grossly over charged.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >