Barnes and Noble

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
2.0 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
26 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
After 30 years in store and on-line adios knuckleheads
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Two weeks before a visit to the US, I ordered a book online. One book at less than 35.00. When order was first placed the credit dept could not handle... what... the difference in mail to and ship to address??? Amazon does, most places do.... I needed to call to have some 'voice' in NYC tell me that this was for my protection... yeah right, I'm not shipping to Nigeria or China.... it cost me some time - OK I wanted the book... and money on the more expensive call back ' for my protection' but I thought no problem, it is all OK now. My mistake.

The order is 'approved' and then not shipped... no notice no nothing, just a 'canceled order email' and when I call to check why, a bogus answer was given. I called to find out why B&N again screwed up an order I placed - yup 2nd time on 3cents for this company. I was given a totally bogus excuse as to why this order was cancelled: 'USPS returned the box after 15 days.' Oh really.

The post office that handles the mail to that specific address knew there was a death in the family - they confirmed they would handle the extra volume of mail and keep it for us. Knows the specific family with that address and holds all mail 30 days especially as it is a school and gets much mail. This Post office serves a rural vacation area and does not return mail for the year round population within 30 days. The customer service person passed on a BS excuse that was patently false.

So I still need the book and reorder. Well what a surprise, expedited shipment (provided free from B&N as a result of the prior cancellation) direct ship from B&N warehouse service can't ship in 4 days.... But wait, the offer is made: pay for a NOT B&N warehouse shipment which surprise... costs more and what a surprise their regular mail ships faster than expedited B&N warehouse - it isn't free and it isn't B&N.

That is NOT service. That is crap. That is supplier lies, B&N own warehouse expedited shipping and 'service' that has no meaning. Pretty sad when an outside shipper's regular shipping is faster than B&N's own expedited shipping is. Don't worry when my new order with foreign ship to address gets messed up - and in my experience it will. I will not need B&N Knucklehead protection.

I have shopped and ordered with B&N for over 30 years, I wanted to work with the Amazon alternative. No longer. My future orders will be with Amazon. The B&N organization has finally messed up to the point that I will no longer order with them. Amazon and Kindle here I come. B&N dipsticks have lost a more than 30 year customer. Knuckleheads.

     
Replies
Canceled Order
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

Preordered a signed copy of Anne Rice's newest vampire novel. Got an email 10/7/14 saying my credit card had expired and I needed to update my info within 3 days. Called them on 10/10/14, clearly within the 3 day time limit they set, and was told that my order had been canceled. I asked how they could cancel an order when I clearly followed their specifications to keep it from being canceled, and was informed that "the computer system takes care of orders, there's nothing I can do for you."

I have been a Barnes and Noble customer for years. I refused to buy competitors' e-readers, stubbornly holding on to my Nook and only buying books through Barnes and Noble. Clearly, they don't appreciate their customers' support, and feel that treating them terribly is a good way to do business.

     
Replies
Misrepresentation for the Nook Notebook
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I was given the Nook for Christmas with a $25.00 B&N gift card. When I tried to purchase nook books with my gift card, it was declined. B&N states you must have a credit card on file in order to download a nook book using my B&N gift card. I find this to be misleading and misrepresenting the Nook. Many people don't have credit cards nor do I want one. The crazy thing is that it's their own gift card and one should be able to buy anything at B&N whether online or in the store. Barnes and Noble have a big problem if they can't handle their own gift card with their customers regarding purchasing the nook books.

If they don't change this requirement then I don't think they're going to have a long future with the nook especially in competing with the Kindle.

     
Replies
Barnes & Noble refuses to repair their own product
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

GLASTONBURY, CONNECTICUT -- A year ago last Christmas, (12-25-11), I received a "NOOK Color" as a gift. Two weeks ago, the speaker stopped working. I called their tech support line and was told that, since it was no longer under warranty, that they could not repair the unit. They said that if it had still been under warranty, they would have sent me a "Refurbished" unit and I would have to send back my broken one. I asked why they couldn't just fix mine and bill me for parts (a speaker) and labor. (about 15 min. worth).

It's amazing how these companies, either accidentally or purposefully, confuse the words "can't" and "won't". I used to be an electronics "bench tech", repairing caller I. D. boxes and we did both warranty work and direct customer repair work. The fact that they REFUSE to repair one of their products says a lot about Barnes and Noble.

They think that this is the best way to get me to cough up over $300 for one of their new "NOOK H. D." units. (The NOOK color is no longer available.) Also, In the NOOK H. D, the 8g memory card, the kind that fits into many cameras and costs only $40 has been replaced with an 8g, (same amount of memory), disc that costs $90.

     
Replies
Mold on Bargain Book
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

BRIGHTON, MICHIGAN -- I have been sick for two days now after picking up a book at the store, opening it up to find the pages seemed a bit bent. Closed it and began having asthma problems.... clear sign of mold on the book. The clerk, when I reported it, said "What do you want ME to do about it?" I would think she would have informed a manager but no, she said well you never know where these books come from. I'd like to know. And I think anyone else who is allergic to mold and may venture into that store and pick up that book would also like to know.

     
Replies
Barnes and Noble have kept a customer
By -

First order completed, confirmed to me, but I found no record 3 days later when I checked on the status of my order. (approx 400US$ order) I was an unhappy customer as time was lost and I needed the books. They were to be used during an extended trip. Second - reorder completed, confirmed to me, again no record when I then checked on the status of the reorder. (approx 400US$ order)

After checking with customer service, who had no records of the orders, leaving both sides perplexed: first and second orders were cancelled. I got confirmation of cancellations. Customer service was notified by me of all numbers involved in order and cancellations. They had no other records from their system?? Guess I found the bug in the system.

I was an irate customer when over an 11 days later, B&N later confirmed that both orders were found and were to be shipped to me. (I was traveling at the time.) After more emails with B&N, orders were stopped. A more senior service representative confirmed all was cancelled and that any and all charges were to be credited on my credit card - one or two charge cycles at most.

Then an email arrived, 'we note problems, and cancellations with your orders, but one book was shipped' just return in 15 days blah blah blah. I went ballistic. Feckless service person who had not read the chain of mails, sent in response to that email, provided a bland just send it back and we will credit you email. I went ballistic again. And little mr feckless has not responded to any follow up.

(These emails occurred during even more exciting than planned travel due to Irene, can't fly anywhere but emails arrived.) Today the credit card bill came and it is reported that the credit is there. So, I will purchase from B&N again. My time constraint was part of the problem, traveling was an issue, and non-US banking/credit card systems that do not challenge problem billing was another issue. B&N resolved the issue in one month.

Moral of the story - check on your orders, contact customer service at first sign of a problem, and do not waste time with staff that do not know the issues - dog them until you work with someone who has the ability to resolve the issues.

     
Replies
Missing Order
By -

A once great company for books, cd's and DVD's and noted for its exemplary shipping is now at the bottom when it comes to customer fulfillment. As a loyal customer, I've spent over $1,285.00 in the past 18 months. And now, once I get the long-awaited remaining order it will be the final one. I plan to never visit your website again.

Here is a reason (but not the only one) why: 12-06-10: placed an order with 10 items that ALL “Usually ship within 24 hours”. 12-12-10: Left warehouse (120+ business hours since order was placed). 12-12-10: Arrived at 3rd party intermediary vendor (ARGIX Direct) location. 12-14-10: ARGIX Direct logs that they delivered the package to the USPS in Philadelphia, PA. 12-14-10: USPS in Philadelphia, PA log that they received an electronic notification to expect my package for mailing. 12-20-10: USPS has not logged that they have received my package. 12-20-10: It's now 11 business days since I placed my order and I still do not have my package.

I don't see this as a ARGIX Direct problem, nor do I see this as a USPS problem. I see this as a Barnes And Noble problem. I did contact a B&N customer service representative. She told me that I could expect my package today. When I told her that USPS has not logged receipt of my package she said that they sometimes don't update their system. It was either wishful thinking on her part or I was getting a blow-off. Which do you think it was? However, I did contact USPS and their automated response said that my package has not been received.

In closing, would you buy from an online vendor that provided this level of service? On a final note: do you have children? The package that I'm expecting from you contains the major part of my son's Christmas presents. Please imagine how you would feel.

     
Replies
HP Touchpad incompetence
By -

Recently I purchased an HP Touchpad from Barnes and Nobel. I received confirmation that the sale had gone through and that I was billed on my Visa Account. The HP was listed at a good price and since I received confirmation of the product, I did not think I had to place other orders and other stores. 2 days later after the product was sold out on other web sites, I received a letter from B&N saying that because of the demand, they could not place my order, which in my view was a done deal. This shows a real problem with their billing department and computer department. Buyer beware if dealing with Barnes and Nobel.

     
Replies
Wouldn't Allow Me To Cancel Order.
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I purchased my order on a Sunday morning. I had an emergency, so I wanted to cancel my order after midnight. They ignored me till Monday evening, saying my order couldn't be cancelled because it was already shipped Sunday. There are no deliveries Sundays. I still had the option to cancel it. They even sent me a review of my order saying I could cancel. My bank disputed it. I also contacted the Better Business Bureau, the federal trade center, and the internet crime complaint center (ic3.)The bank did give me my money back.

Better business bureau did investigate. Barnes and Noble never did send me my 2 books. I wanted to take these people to court. This isn't a respectable website like a lot of people think it is. Thank you.

     
Replies
Still a Traditional Bookstore
By -

HOMESTEAD, PENNSYLVANIA -- This afternoon my wife and I are making yet another trip down to our local Barnes and Noble. We like their selection, service and environment. It's a quiet store with comfortable seats so I can start reading my selections while my wife (who takes a bit longer in picking her books than I do) browses. After we've checked out, which is an easy process since our store keeps an eye on the register to make sure the line doesn't get too long, we grab a seat in the in store Starbucks and take a few minutes to enjoy some coffee and share a pastry. It has the feel of a good old fashioned bookstore and it makes for a very relaxing afternoon.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >