Barts Auto Sales

1 reviews & complaints.

Sold car out from under me
Posted by on
For 3 years we have looked for a new vehicle we finally found one we want we went to the dealership filled out the application for a loan and asked to put a deposit on it so no one else would buy it they had it for several weeks they knew we were trying to get it I was in there 6 times they were supposed to call me when it came through instead they went ahead and sold the vehicle to someone else instead of telling thoses people it may be sold and they need to wait and see if it was approved and maybe see if the other people would like another vehicle they sold the one we wanted I think this is bad business when you know someone is wanting a certain vehicle and even want to put a deposit on it to hold it and you go ahead and sell it to someone else
     
Read 13 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
momsey on 07/11/2011:
I'm inferring from this that you did not put a deposit down on the car, although you wanted to.

This actually sounds like good business on the dealer's part. They might have lost you as a customer, but they sold that car. If it takes you several weeks to line up financing for a car, you might not get financing. They don't want to hold a car for weeks and weeks and possibly not sell it when they can sell it now.
jktshff1 on 07/11/2011:
man with the green gets the machine...
trmn8r on 07/11/2011:
I wouldn't expect a dealer to hold a car for more than a few days. With a deposit? Maybe a week tops.

I can't believe you have been looking for a car for 3 years. They are for sale everywhere. Good luck.
MRM on 07/11/2011:
You should only go to a dealership when you have saved a lot of money for a vehicle.
madconsumer on 07/11/2011:
they knew the car would be picked up, yet they still sold it to someone else.

hopefully you can find another vehicle at a different dealership.

review very helpful!!
Skye on 07/11/2011:
That's what a deposit is for, to hold something that you are interested in. Shame on them.

Did you get your deposit back?
trmn8r on 07/11/2011:
There was no deposit put on the vehicle Skye. You've been skimming lately - what's with that?

In all fairness, I believe this was edited. Originally it was a bit more obvious there was no deposit left.
Skye on 07/11/2011:
I thought they said they put a deposit. I guess I was not able to follow their review.
trmn8r on 07/11/2011:
I would suggest a reason why that might be the case, but I would be slapped like a wayward child in Catholic school.

It is now implied in the last sentence. I admit the only reason I have a better understanding is that I read the review unedited.
Skye on 07/11/2011:
See Trm, I knew this review is different from the first time I read it!

Don't worry, I'll spank you instead of slapping you :)
jktshff1 on 07/11/2011:
spank him till it feels good!!
Whiteduck on 07/12/2011:
Lets' see, no deposit, can't get financed in weeks... upset that dealer sells car to someone with money. Not really a justifiable complaint here.

I'd think someone with such poor credit wouldn't be quite so fussy about their car that it takes 3 years to find one.
chemman on 07/12/2011:
Sorry to hear the car you wanted got sold. In the future, I would suggest getting pre-approved for a car loan through your bank or credit union before setting foot in the dealer. That way, when you finally find the car to meet your needs you will have the laon all ready to go, it will just need to be processed.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >