[X]

Better Business Bureau

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
12 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Sides With These Thieves Of A Companies
Posted by Ladybirda2 on 08/08/2013
HOUSTON, TEXAS -- The BBB, they basically decides with these companies that are doing the consumers in justice.

What ever the companies write as a response back to the BBB, the BBB will accept.

Even if it is a liar!!!

The companies still will remain with a satisfactory history with the BBB.

I think the BBB is a waste of time writing for assistant for help on these companies.

The file is put on a shelf to collect spider webs and these companies continues with robbing the consumers.

***It is sad, that the consumers do not have no one to protect them.

***The attorney general office is no better either, because you never hear back from the attorney general office.
     
Add reply


StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bad Business Protection Bureau
Posted by Jerrycollette on 07/30/2013
I dealt with a business that was operating in clear violation of BBB rules, but was rated an A+ member. I filed a complaint. The business admitted the facts in my complaint but did nothing to fix its ongoing bad practices. The BBB closed the case and left the company as A+, without addressing the underlying practices that are in a clear violation of its rules.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Old Timer on 2013-07-30:
When a business ponies up money to be a "member", they are almost guaranteed a A . It's a common practice with rating and review companies. Ed at the RipOff Report will take a company run by a bunch of criminals under FBI investigation and give them glowing reports and bury their bad reports. All for an extortion fee of course. The BBB calls it a "membership", the RipOff Report calls it the "Corporate Advocacy Program". They all have a name for it. Bottom line, pay and you get great reports.

The LA branch of the BBB was so corrupt and selling high grades to the point the national BBB shut them down and took their license away.
Posted by Weedwhacked on 2013-07-31:
As long as they pay the BBB they keep their A status no matter what.
Posted by Jay on 2013-07-31:
You need to understand there are two ways to obtain an A rating with the BBB...1) Earn it by reputation ...or...2) Buy it.
Posted by trmn8r on 2013-07-31:
The BBB rating is only valid, as odd as this sounds, for companies that are NOT members. Repeat, the BBB rating for member companies is worthless. It is like they get an outstanding rating just for paying dues.

This really saddens me - the BBB is an old organization, and I used to trust them. I have used them successfully in disputes with NONmember companies. Never tried to with member companies, but have found in multiple cases a member company has an A or A it doesn't deserve.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Pay to Play Is the Order of the Day
Posted by Trmn8r on 07/07/2012
I used the BBB on a few occasions to resolve complaints, and as a result I got refunds of almost $1000 I was due. My thoughts at the time were "wow, the BBB is great." The two businesses involved were *not* "BBB Accredited". A representative at one company told me, as she was issuing my refund, "I hate it when they call." If only this were true for accredited businesses.

What I subsequently learned, by researching the BBB ratings of several companies, is that companies that pay "dues" and thus become "accredited", have earned an A- rating just for paying! A few people have tested this - one didn't even supply a valid address for his alleged "business", and the following day he had an A-. Time after time, when I review a business that is accredited, I see a rating of A to A+, even if it has a slew of complaints against it. I've never seen an accredited business with a rating below A-, but in contrast I have seen many non accredited ones with B through F ratings, even those who have only a few complaints can have a C. New businesses that haven't earned a rating yet that aren't accredited are given a "No rating" rating, but the new ones that are accredited are bestowed with an A-.

Connecticut Attorney General Blumenthal threatened to sue the BBB in 2010 after conducting an investigation regarding what he called "Pay to Play" in connection with this practice. Only 10 days later it was announced he had reached "an agreement", but the practice appears to continue today. The BBB did make a few changes such as not awarding points in its ratings system just because dues were paid.

At my auto repair facility, which consists of only the owner and two employees, I noted the BBB plaque on the wall with surprise. The owner told me that he is called incessantly by BBB telemarketers if he doesn't pay for membership in the BBB, and this is the *only* reason he pays "a few hundred dollars" a year. At a large company, the dues are probably several thousand dollars a year.

There is a bunch of mumbo jumbo on the BBB's mission statement about trust between companies and consumers, not being biased, etc. After reading numerous complaints about a few accredited companies, and seeing they have A or A+ ratings despite numerous complaints in their BBB file, I have no faith whatsoever in this rating system and I feel it is in fact biased. This is a sad state of affairs, and my gut feeling (not based on hidden camera interviews or a scientific poll) is there is much more rehabilitation to be done to make the ratings meaningful. As it stands, when I see "AAA accredited" it is a warning to treat a business with an eye of suspicion, which is extremely ironic.
     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by jktshff1 on 2012-07-07:
Bbb, IMHO, is one of the most worthless entities there is.
Posted by madconsumer on 2012-07-07:
what is the source of this?
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2012-07-07:
Just seeing Empire flooring sport an A+ rating casts a dark shadow over the BBB.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-07-07:
I never really thing much about checking the BBB for anything.

Great info as always 8er, 8er!!!
Posted by ok4now on 2012-07-07:
Excellent post, you exposed them for the "pay for play" scam artists that they are.
Posted by onlooker on 2012-07-07:
I also know of BBB - finding a non-profit and listing them for free -with some other really beneficial donated materials to help support the non-profit. Until reading this site had not heard of any other BBB 'work'.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-07-08:
I can't really say anything bad about them. I got a full refund because of them from defective furniture I got.

It does sound deceiving but they also do good work in my opinion. With out them i'd be out a few hundred bucks.
Posted by madconsumer on 2012-07-08:
very helpful comment Wally86!!
Posted by MRM on 2012-07-08:
DB, I too, dont check with BBB for any services. I just read the customers reviews.
Posted by raven2010 on 2012-07-08:
I use Angie's List. Companies cannot pay to be included. Members pay and we write reviews that are quite detailed with many categories.

I found my local movers there ( Integrity Moving) and I was THRILLED with them---will write a review on them here soon.
Close commentsAdd reply

No Follow Through
Posted by Huh..weird on 03/10/2011
Where is the Better Business Bureau's grade?? Our company worked on complying with their requests, we respond to any complaint with a valid and quick response and at the end of the day we are told "Your type of business automatically receives an (F) rating".. no consideration for anything, just an "F".
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Weedwhacked on 2011-03-10:
That's because you haven't paid them. Companies actually pay them to get their ratings. Google it, you'll see its true.
Posted by saj80 on 2011-03-10:
What they didn't tell you is that your company may continue receiving an "F" until you start paying dues to the BBB. 60 Minutes did a story a few months ago regarding this, and had many examples where businesses received failing grades until they joined the BBB and started paying dues. As with the AARP, the BBB is now an organization mainly concerned with collecting fees and not representing what their original charter entailed.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-03-10:
The website tells you what the rating is based on, when you look up a company name. Click on Ratings Explanation.

Then it tells you what raised the rating and what lowered the rating. Examples of the latter are Length of Time the Business has been Operating and Number of Complaints. I have never seen "automatically receives this rating" as an explanation, because that isn't an explanation.

It is NOT true that is means you haven't paid them. I am currently following a company that has very poor business practices. They started with an "F" (which they deserve), and they have risen to a "C" by the grace of time they have been operating and reponding to a few more complaints (they started with no responses to complaints). They are not members of the BBB, and have never been.
Posted by Slimjim on 2011-03-10:
You can't pay them to remove an "F". Paying them means becoming a member/accredited, and you can only do that if you have a "B" grade or better. I've heard of instances where certain industries are graded poorly, but never an F automatically. Maybe you started low by default and those complaints made it worse.
Posted by leet60 on 2011-03-10:
I am curious about what "type of business" the OP is referring to?
Close commentsAdd reply


BBB.org and Better Business Bureau is a SCAM and Consumers should not trust
Posted by Ncconcernedcitizen on 02/09/2011
RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- The Better Business Bureau or BBB. ORG is a Scam. They are a non-profit organization where their income comes from having businesses pay a "membership" fee. This means that businesses are the BBB's source of income (even though they don't report income). If a business pays a membership fee, then their rating is an A or A+ rating. Business that refuse to "join" their club have a B to F rating. Especially if the business disagrees with the BBB information.

In researching the BBB, businesses that pay for a membership receive an A or A+ rating no matter the number of complaints. There are businesses that have over 30 complaints in 12 months with A+ ratings because they paid a membership. Where a similar business with 22 complaints in 12 months that does not pay a membership fee has an F rating.

The BBB is just like the mafia. They strong arm, they extort, and they make you pay to play. The State and Local goverment needs to step end and stop the BBB they should not be rating any business what so ever...

One final irony: if you have a complaint against the Better Business Bureau, you can't file it with the Better Business Bureau. The Better Business Bureau is not a member of its own organization. However there are numerous State Attorney General offices that are now investigating their practices. North Carolina Attorney General needs to investigate the NC BBBs practies too. They are shady and false advertising and misleading consumers and damaging NC businesses that do not pay for a membership.

Maybe it's all a big joke? But unfortunately consumers think the BBB is an honest organization, when actually they can cause great damage to a business who refuses to pay their income.

Look at the Better Business Bureau 20/20 Investigation: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yo8kfV9kONw

Other videos on the BBB scam:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ndQ2zYB1vE&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UT_BfidEBdM&feature=relmfu
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKEMDzma1b4&feature=related
http://www.Ripoffreport.com/directory/better-business-bureau.aspx?p=5
http://www.thebluesmokeband.com/bbb. php
     
Read 11 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by madconsumer on 2011-02-09:
the bbb really does noting anymore. they are no longer what they used to be.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-02-09:
I have used the BBB twice, and both times the pressure put on the company in question resulted in my complaints being resolved.

I'm not saying it is perfect, but it is one arrow in the consumer's quiver.

I'd ask if you had a problem with the BBB, and what it was.
Posted by ok4now on 2011-02-09:
Interesting information. Sounds like another pay to play scam. If you grease the right palm you're in on this one sided game. Sounds like the same trick that politicians pull (campaign donations) to get re-elected. Make that donation and get that tax break. What a corrupt world we live in. The big players get away with it and the working guy gets screwed.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-10:
the BBB is definitely not what they say they are. Its sad. All about money.
Posted by Alain on 2011-02-10:
About $10,000 will buy any business an A+ rating with BBB.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-10:
How is this not illegal and how did they get so trustworthy when its all just a facade?
Posted by Slimjim on 2011-02-10:
Let me correct the errors you have placed in your complaint:

Scam has certain declinations, non of which the BBB can really be accused of. Even your accounts of what you perceive happens, do not indicate anyone is "scammed".

Being a non-profit does not mean they have no source of income. It means they show no profit at years end, with all income being spent on salaries, rent, utilities etc. Non-profits are run by a board, without specific ownership, hence there is no year end profit or stock to be collected as dividends to any individual(s).

The BBB mandates that their members (now know as being accredited by), maintain a B or higher rating, based on their algorithm of many factors within a grading scale. You don't get an A for being a member, you simply have to have that grade (B actually) already to be able to join. You do get, I believe, a half grade bump for joining, so in theory, no "member" would carry a B grade, as it automatically would bump to a B+ for joining. That's the "official" benefit of accreditation.

You are not penalized for not joining in grading. I have seen businesses carry As and A+s, while still not being members/accredited.
Being graded from B to F is all based on many combined things. Length of time in business, number of complaints, # of complaints compared to size, seriousness of complaints, etc.

While I agree many times I find inconsistencies and questionably between the grading of different businesses, at least present it as it is.
I personally feel they have no business grading businesses myself, as I don't think they do the best job of it. That being said, they do try to do a decent job. I've know many that are more than willing to join the BBB but the charter refuses them, and their money, based on their grade. Yeah, I think some favors may be done on a small scale, but not on any conspiracy level.
Posted by Disaster Worker on 2011-02-10:
Great post and very accurate.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-10:
The BBB is not what it used to be. Years ago, they proactively called on my behalf and helped resolve a complaint I had against a car dealership. Not so anymore. They won't make calls, investigate, etc...They simply accept your complaint and place it on file. Times have changed my friends.
Posted by Skye on 2011-02-11:
I've been saying this for years. The BBB is not there for the consumers. All they care about are paying memberships.
Posted by PepperElf on 2011-02-11:
I am not surprised.

One fake business named itself HAMAS (after the terrorist group) and paid the $425 membership fee. Even though there was no actual data about the company, they received an A-minus rating.

http://ctwatchdog.com/2010/07/19/better-business-bureau-gives-hamas-terrorist-organization-accreditation-and-a-rating

also check out
http://bbbroundup.com/LeadStory.html
http://bbbroundup.com/


Basically, the BBB has been accused of being disorganized and... well subject to giving out good ratings based on bribery.
Close commentsAdd reply

BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU IS USELESS
Posted by Sandrahale on 04/28/2010
DENVER, COLORADO -- Better Business Bureau is totally useless. Its such a waste of time to use these people because they exist for the businesses that join and pay dues to them. No matter what the complaint, or the response from the business, they consider tt satisfied and closed. They don't even address the issue, they just take the complaint, forward it to the business and do nothing. They even tell you, they can't do anything, its totally up to the business whether they want to respond or not, and if they do respond, the BBB considers that a satisfied complaint and does not register your complaint as unsatisfactory. I complained that Cricket had False advertisement for one free month cell phone service. Cricket explained they had a 21 day billing cycle and bill ten days in advance. So one month to Cricket is eleven days. You do the math. You are paying thirty to forty dollars a month for eleven days of service. Cricket and the BBB refused to address this complaint and instead gave me a credit of six dollars xx for the one free month service. This is ridiculous. They can't re-define a month and say eleven days is a month when a calendar month is thirty days (at least). And, they didn't advertise one free billing cycle instead of one free month. Instead of changing the rules, they just re-define the definitions to get away with this and its still illegal. Chase couldn't do it with their credit card billing and neither can Cricket. Apparently no one has figured this scam out yet or addressed it.
     
Add reply

BBB/Better Business Bureau is not what it is cracked-up to be! 1,972 complaints and an A+ grade on Conn's???
Posted by Mth105 on 05/05/2009
This all started with a repair issue on my oven, see my other reviews. Well, once I filed a complaint with the Texas Attorney General and the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation (they deal with warranty issues) my stove was magically fixed the following day. People need to file complaints with state and/or federal organizations, these entities work off of numbers and unless the public registers complaints they never know there is an issue to be investigated. The real kicker is that it took 5 minutes, yes 1, 2,3,4,5 whole minutes for the part to be replaced and the oven to once again work. Conn’s is so messed-up that they called 3 days later to schedule a repair person.

However, now what is most concerning is that the BBB actually sent me a response from Conn's that was 2 sentences. The stove was fixed on 4/20 and we are sorry for the inconvenience.

In my BBB complaint I specifically requested an explanation of why it took so long, what would be done to improve customer service, and a full apology from Conn’s. I obviously rejected the BBB letter as settling the matter and stated I wanted what I requested along with an explanation from the BBB as to why Conn's still has an A+ rating with 1,972 complaints in the last 36 months as of 5/5, see http://www.bbb.org/southeast-Texas/business-reviews/appliances-major-dealers/conns-in-beaumont-tx-10010889 and why the BBB would accept such an unbelievably weak response from Conn’s on my complaint.

I requested this explanation from the BBB on 4/18 in a separate e-mail to the BBB of Southeast Texas and in my rejection letter on 4/22 to the BBB. I have yet to receive an acknowledgment of my request for an explanation from the BBB, much less an explanation. I will wait a full month for a response from the BBB and then I will file a report with the Federal Trade Commission for deceptive practices and contact one of the local news stations.

All I can say is do not trust the reports on the BBB and look-up complaints on the BBB; once you do you will see that there are many legitimate complaints on the organization! People need to be educated on what a scam the BBB really is!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-05:
BBB is in business to make a buck. If Conn pays them, they are going to give them a good rating. That's what they do. Their business model is pretty much the same as Ripoff Report: pay us and you'll never get a bad review.
Close commentsAdd reply

Complaints Against the Better Business Bureau
Posted by Loza on 03/27/2008
PORTLAND, OREGON -- Since the BBB is not ran by the Federal or State government, is it privately owned?

And since the BBB operates, in large, off of funds from its members (Contractors or Business), how can it be bias free from a consumer complaint against its own member(s)?

I have a friend who experienced alarming and costly damages from a contractor who is a member of the BBB. My friend performed the preliminary steps on a claim against the contractor and a follow up report against the contractor to the BBB.

However, when my friend and I called the BBB (under alias names) posing as potential customers who wanted to know if their were any past and/or present complaints on this same contractor, the BBB responded with a "NO" and gave complimentary responses about this particular contractor whom my friend made a claim against.

First, this is how I am viewing the BBB:
If a contractor, bad or good, is a member of the BBB, and since the BBB largely operates off the funds from its members, it would stand to reason that the BBB could not be impartial and unbiased to a consumer's complaint and would most likely be supportive of its own member, as we, my friend and I have experienced.

Secondly, consider this: When a consumer calls the BBB complaining against a contractor who is NOT a member of the BBB.... in short, it is my understanding that the BBB would follow up on the consumer's complaint by contacting the contractor, encouraging the contractor to become a member; and if the contractor refuses, only then will the BBB take the steps in reporting this contractor to the proper agencies, and file a negative report about this contractor within the BBB.

Now, with this in mind, isn't this a form of BLACKMAIL to get contractors to join the BBB?

And isn't the BBB a far cry away from its' historical origins "TRUTH IN ADVERTISING" and it's purpose of protecting the consumers?

Would anyone like to comment on this WITH FACTS AND YOUR OWN EXPERIENCES?
     
Read 12 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-03-28:
This pretty much sums up the BBB.
Posted by yoke on 2008-03-28:
The BBB is USELESS! They are there to protect the scammers.
Posted by thensider on 2008-03-28:
The BBB cant help you anyway, so it relly doesnt matter. Even if they WANTED to, they CANT. What is the REAL problem, i.e., with the contractor? Maybe I can help point you in the right direction to get results?
Posted by Loza on 2008-03-28:
Dear "thensider", after doing some research on contractors in my state, I discovered the real problem with bad contractors IS THE STATE.

The state is basically giving away contractor license to anyone. Sure, there are some small fees involved to become a licensed contrator, but taking the tests from the state's contractor's board is a joke, basically an open book test, and eliminating proof of actual hours spent in learning each phase of the contracting jobs (excluding electrical & plumbing).

Oregon and Washington are terrible about this.

Plus, the state provides the contractor with insurance bonds. This too is another problem, as they will attempt every means possible in protecting their insurance funds, resulting in protecting the contractor and leaving the injured consumer to the way-side.

The BBB and the State's Contractor's Board, boy...what a joke!
But I'm all ears if you feel you have other alternatives to receive better results. Thanks
Posted by yoke on 2008-03-28:
Loza, CT is just as bad. We had our driveway done 2 years ago. When we checked the license the state said it was clear of any problems. We hired them and had problems. Within a month the state was bombarded with complaints from this company (East Coast Paving). Their license was up for renewal and even with the complaints it was renewed. Come to find out this company was in a different name just before they did our job, the state never bothered to tell us that when we called to check the license. Never told us that it was a new issue.
Posted by Loza on 2008-03-29:
More comments about the BBB...go to links below:

http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/001/ripoff0001343.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Better_Business_Bureau
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-03-29:
I believe the BBB is a scam. They protect their members more diligently than the mob protects its bag men. Essentially, when a business joins the BBB, consumer complaints seem to vanish. It is the small business equivalent of a good ole boys club.
Posted by Loza on 2008-03-30:
Well Folks! It seems like the votes and comments on the BBB are unanimous; a FRAUDULANT Buisness that is allowed to continue it's operations and decieve the public.
Posted by Loza on 2008-03-30:
Dear Yoke,
There are soooooo MANY Tricks that follow behind BAD Contractors. Not that I'm broad brushing all contractors, I'm only focusing on the bad ones that are allowed to continue operating. However, the bigger picture here is not so much about the bad contractor in so much that the state which allows these devious, problamatic contractors to continue operating.
But this is a whole different complaint issue that folks could write books on.

There are obvious flaws in our state laws that allow such buisness & bad contractors to continue operating while others continue to be victimized by this ongoing problem.
Posted by Goldy on 2008-05-27:
Hi guy,

I don't need to add any further comments to the ones already mentioned by others about the BBB. Suffice it to say that they are useless and implicitly conflicted (with the businesses).

The next question is that beyond suing a company, what other options do consumers have if they have been wronged by a business or company. The press? Government agency? Inquiring minds need to know. Thanks.
Posted by Hatewamu on 2008-08-02:
I just wanted to say that until your complaint has been completed it will not register as a complaint. That is why when you called it said that the business had no complaints. The BBB has to investigate a complaint before it can be recorded as such. Anyone with a complaint against a contractor, would need to go to the Contractors Registration Board in that State. The State is suppose to go out and actually look at the damage done by a contractor.
Posted by Loza on 2009-01-29:
Dear Hatewamu, in ref to your comments, did you NOT read and truly understand the comments above ? i.e.
"Loza Mar 27th thru 30th",
"thensider Mar 28th"
and "Yoke Mar 28th".

You are "ASSUMING" that these complaints did not take its full course.

And when the word "STATE" is mentioned in the above postings, it "IMPLIES" the state's Contractors Registration Board. Therefore, implying that the preliminary steps of processing a complaint to the Contractors Board was completed. How else could a person convey his/her experience after the fact?

It may be difficult to accept the hard truths of other peoples experiences that contradicts our false-beliefs in the BBB or the State's Contractors Board; but if you're still not convinced, read the following reports "Is the BBB Too Cozy With the Firms It Monitors?", "Fraud, violation of Colorado law (the CO MVRA and CCPA), Grand Theft Auto, Perjury, and Obstruction of Justice are the charges against the Denver BBB", "The BBB Council Headquarters has refused to answer these charges". View these reports at:

http://www.smartmoney.com/Investing/Economy/Investigating-the-Better-Business-Bureau-23879/
Close commentsAdd reply


What to do
Posted by Thensider on 03/13/2008
I just wanted to write a quick note to answer a few questions about the BBB. Part of my job is answering BBB complaints against my company and I have learned a few things.

First: When sending a complaint to the BBB, it is a good idea to make sure that you are filing with the right state. If you file your complaint in your state of residence vs. the state the company is headquartered in, it will take longer for you to get a response. Why? Lets say you live in TX and the company is in MO. TX has to forward the complaint to MO, usually in a paper letter, via USPS, this takes about 5 days. Then the MO BBB forwards it to the company, also 5 days. Company responds to MO BBB. They have 30 days to do this. I usually answer ours in 3-5 days. For the sake of this example, let’s say they take 15 days. MO BBB sends it back to TX, USPS, and another 5 days. That is a total of 45 days. Not including the length of time it takes TX to send the info to you. If you have to respond, you could double this time frame. If you had filed with MO in the first place, generally companies can respond electronically, and that info will be emailed to you, so you’re looking at about 5 days total.

Second: The BBB is simply put, a third party to help you with communicating with a company. They have no power to MAKE a company respond or act on your complaint. The company is given 30 days to respond. If they do not, it goes on their record that way. Of course, other consumers can see this info and make judgments on the company, but that isn’t going to help YOU.

Third: Because of reason number 2, the best way to get results is through either your states attorney general or consumer protection agency. These bodies actually have the power to MAKE a company act.
Hope it helps!
     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Slimjim on 2008-03-13:
You're correct, it is vital to complain to the area BBB where the company is located, not the complainant. In the case of an Attorney General complaint, I think doing both may be most effective. This way both offices can decipher if any laws a broken in each of their respective states.
Posted by MSCANTBEWRONG on 2008-03-13:
Thanks Insider. Good information. (VH)
Posted by Principissa on 2008-03-13:
I agree Slim. I have never had to complain to either, but this is very helpful to know. Thank you for posting this. :)
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-03-13:
Good Post...thanks!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-03-13:
Thanks for the insight. I don't care for the BBB to much. They called us once and said we had a complaint. We knew it was a scam because they send letters and never call. It was a guy that claimed if we joined the BBB we could then see and answer the complaint. This was a few years ago and the BBB got busted for pulling it on thousands of business's.

We have never had a BBB complaint but filed one on them with the FTC along with hundreds of others. We never herd from them again and the BBB was fined for shady biz practices.
Posted by thensider on 2008-03-14:
Well, thats horrible! I dont think my company is a "member", but I still have online access to our complaints, that i check every 2 days, so they get answered quickly!
Posted by Rosse on 2008-03-21:
So far I gave the BBB two complaints on two seperate incidents. And in both the answer was... we do not deal with complaints about professional (dentist) and the other was we do not deal with complaints about customer service. I am confused. I was told one time that... if any problems with anything contact your local BBB.
Posted by forcomplaintsonly on 2008-03-21:
The reason the BBB doesn't want to take on doctors, is they knwo they can not win, the doctor's seem to have unlimited resources to fight things like this.
Posted by jer2 on 2008-04-11:
Good info. I found out the BBB doesn't help at all. My BBB in Denver doesn't even give it any effort. If you file a complaint and the company you complain about answers then the case gets a administrative close. It does not matter what the complaint is about or what the company says in the answer. All the company needs to do is answer and the case is closed. My feeling is this is because the BBB is more interested in selling memberships to companies then consumer protection. If they truly were there to help consumers they would not be selling memberships to companies. Its a conflict of interest.
That is my experience with the Denver BBB.
Posted by Not happy1 on 2008-04-21:
I currently have complaint with a BBB. I asked them at what point do you contact necessary authorities of a company scamming people, etc. I was told they do not contact any authorities even if they are aware of this.
Close commentsAdd reply

They Seldom Are Useful
Posted by SGTSAVAGE on 01/06/2008
In my opinion and experience, too many businesses hid behind the BBB. I should not have been surprised that BBB's job is to protect businesses. After several complaints that the businesses that offered less than adequate solutions or services, and BBB having no solution, I BELIEVE THAT YOU WASTE YOUR TIME DEALING WITH THEM- 3cents and other consumer boards is the way to go.

Are there a list of similar internet sites that one can make complaints that have better results than BBB?
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by shelly16 on 2008-01-06:
I totally agree. I have sent letters to the BBB in the past and have gotten NO responses from them...I really wasted a lot of time!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-06:
BBB exists to protect the businesses, not the consumers. Your own state's consumer protection agency is a much better bet.
Posted by Justusryan on 2008-01-06:
They are a business that other companies pay to advertise with, they have no authoirty or power!
Posted by Slimjim on 2008-01-07:
The BBB simply reports and is just a tool to use. Many expect more from them than what they provide. Consumers will still go to a business' BBB report though before anywhere else when researching. That being said, filing a complaint will be recorded and many companies are far more likely to resolve issues with someone through the BBB than an internet smear campaign.
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-07:
Slim hit the nail on the head again!(BA)
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-07:
A few years ago they called us and said there was a complaint on file against us and the only way to clear it was to join the BBB. We did a lot of checking and found out that was a sales scam by BBB just to get companies to join. We never joined and there was NO complaint on file. I have since learned they were doing this to thousands of companies until they were caught and ended up paying fines for it.
Posted by SGTSAVAGE on 2008-03-12:
SLIMJIM AND LIDMAN-- APPARENTLY YOP KNOW HOW TO COMMUNICATE WITH BBB - why can't anyone else? TELL US HOW TO BE EFFECTIVE WITH THEM. ARE YOU ON STAFF WITH THEM?
Posted by thensider on 2008-03-12:
SGTSAVAGE: I do not work for the BBB, however my job dictates that I interact with the BBB. I answer complaints filed against my company. The BBB only serves as a liason between business and consumer. It can be helpful when the business you are dealing with has a third party customer service. Those at a corprate level may not be aware of issues that are happining at the call center, unless consumers or BBB bring it to their attention. Why? because they have to rely on the word of the Support Center. Anyhow, the BBB cannot MAKE a business do anything. They send your complaint to the company and then the company reports back to them (or not, if they dont care) Whether or not they report back is reflected in their rating. They are also rated on whether or not they resolved the issue. Some time the issue is "resolved" even if the customer isnt satisfied (example: customer complains that company wont refund product that is two years out of warranty) If it is a legitamite complaint (example: business refuses to honor covered defect under warranty) then the Attorny General or Consumer Protection Agency is the best way to go!
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >