Better Business Bureau - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 3 ratings and
12 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
They Seldom Are Useful
Posted by on
In my opinion and experience, too many businesses hid behind the BBB. I should not have been surprised that BBB's job is to protect businesses. After several complaints that the businesses that offered less than adequate solutions or services, and BBB having no solution, I BELIEVE THAT YOU WASTE YOUR TIME DEALING WITH THEM- 3cents and other consumer boards is the way to go.

Are there a list of similar internet sites that one can make complaints that have better results than BBB?
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
shelly16 on 01/06/2008:
I totally agree. I have sent letters to the BBB in the past and have gotten NO responses from them...I really wasted a lot of time!!!
Anonymous on 01/06/2008:
BBB exists to protect the businesses, not the consumers. Your own state's consumer protection agency is a much better bet.
Justusryan on 01/06/2008:
They are a business that other companies pay to advertise with, they have no authoirty or power!
Slimjim on 01/07/2008:
The BBB simply reports and is just a tool to use. Many expect more from them than what they provide. Consumers will still go to a business' BBB report though before anywhere else when researching. That being said, filing a complaint will be recorded and many companies are far more likely to resolve issues with someone through the BBB than an internet smear campaign.
Anonymous on 01/07/2008:
Slim hit the nail on the head again!(BA)
Anonymous on 01/07/2008:
A few years ago they called us and said there was a complaint on file against us and the only way to clear it was to join the BBB. We did a lot of checking and found out that was a sales scam by BBB just to get companies to join. We never joined and there was NO complaint on file. I have since learned they were doing this to thousands of companies until they were caught and ended up paying fines for it.
SGTSAVAGE on 03/12/2008:
SLIMJIM AND LIDMAN-- APPARENTLY YOP KNOW HOW TO COMMUNICATE WITH BBB - why can't anyone else? TELL US HOW TO BE EFFECTIVE WITH THEM. ARE YOU ON STAFF WITH THEM?
thensider on 03/12/2008:
SGTSAVAGE: I do not work for the BBB, however my job dictates that I interact with the BBB. I answer complaints filed against my company. The BBB only serves as a liaison between business and consumer. It can be helpful when the business you are dealing with has a third party customer service. Those at a corporate level may not be aware of issues that are happining at the call center, unless consumers or BBB bring it to their attention. Why? because they have to rely on the word of the Support Center. Anyhow, the BBB cannot MAKE a business do anything. They send your complaint to the company and then the company reports back to them (or not, if they don't care) Whether or not they report back is reflected in their rating. They are also rated on whether or not they resolved the issue. Some time the issue is "resolved" even if the customer isn't satisfied (example: customer complains that company won't refund product that is two years out of warranty) If it is a legitamite complaint (example: business refuses to honor covered defect under warranty) then the Attorny General or Consumer Protection Agency is the best way to go!
Close commentsAdd reply
Utterly impotent.
Posted by on
I lodged a complaint with the BBB about Dell recently and I receive snail mail telling me that the issue is resolved. I scratch my head as my steaming pile of computer that never worked out of the box lays before me. I decide to do a bit of digging to see what exactly goes on at the BBB.

Check out the BBB page for Dell:
http://www.centraltx.bbb.org/commonreport.html?bid=41453

Of 14137 complaints (!!) to the BBB, exactly 14137 of the complaints were resolved to their satisfaction. 100% of complaints handled perfectly? A little too good to be true? Well good readers, it is too good to be true. Let's break down the numbers a bit.

Adding up numbers on the page, it seems that 2,068 times Dell made a 'reasonable offer' to the customer that was not accepted. But what is a reasonable offer anyway? There's no case by case breakdown. Many more times than that the customer didn't report back to the BBB whether or not the problem was resolved due to the onerous paperwork involved. The amount of times that both Dell AND the customer agreed that the problem was resolved is a very small fraction indeed.

Yet this company still has a 100% resolution rate for customer problems.

Weak. Impotent. Useless. Three words you should remember when dealing with the BBB.
     
Read 9 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 10/10/2006:
Nicely said abobo.
Slimjim on 10/10/2006:
The BBB is a powerless organization. They are not arbitrators and unless a company fails to respond to complaints, they will be considered satisfactory since the BBB will dare not make a judgment call. They simply are there to report how many complaints, type of complaints, and if any were unanswered. I know they make it sound like they are so much more, but here's more proof they really aren't.
Anonymous on 10/10/2006:
I have to agree with you all, the BBB is a paper tiger and has been for years. More disturbing to me is over the past couple of years the BBB has started calling my work and trying to get us to become a member. The guy who calls tries to sound like there is a complaint against us but when I was dumb enough to call back (once only once) he gave me a big sales pitch to join. To me a site like my3cents is more useful and more true, BBB was a pretty good organization in the past but lately not so much. I find the state attorney general helpful in some cases. The fact is there is no magic pill to get what is owed us as consumers, it takes persistence, follow through and sometimes some real stress and aggravation.
Doe3001 on 10/10/2006:
SOme people believe that the BBB is one of the biggest scam. They seem to be there just to collect money from companies and make people believe they are "legitimate, honest, reliable" companies. Read this report about the BBB: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/ripoff1343.htm
Sparticus on 10/10/2006:
I don't believe they are a scam. I think they are just overwhelmed and under-staffed. That is why sites like this are useful. They may not personally follow-up with the companies like the BBB, but they get the word out on the web. The companies in turn notice when they start to hear feedback about reviews read on this site or that site, etc.
Slimjim on 10/10/2006:
I don't believe they are a scam either, just not as "helpful" as some people think they can be. The Rip Off Report however, is one of the biggest scams out there. I just posted this link yesterday for someone. I believe everything on it. http://bad-business-rip-off.com/
Doe3001 on 10/10/2006:
At this point I can only trust my grandmother. The lesson: customers are on their own. The BBB is useless, other sites are scam, other "customer" sites are afraid of being sued by big companies or to stop making with ads.
This is one of the few sites that allow people to put really bad review about corporations (althougbh some "editing" exist).
So far, a search in Google or Yahoo seems to be the best source of "reviews".
abobo on 10/16/2006:
Sparctius, please do not rationalize poor performance... it merely encourages organizations to continue to suck. If I was useless at work, I'd expect to get fired - so fire this website.
Loza on 03/27/2008:
In support of abobo, please review the new My3Cents-posting, "Complaints Against the Better Business Bureau".
So glad to see that there are others out there who see the BBB for what it really is "Bad Business Bureau" and only interested in obtaining new member funds to keep the sinking ship afloat, under the false vail of protecting the consumers--Huuuh! What a laugh!
Its' only interest lyes in making an empire for itself with the "BlackMail" membership funds.
The BBB: Fair, unbias, impartial! Hummbug!
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >