Preview Review

Next Review

Belle Tire Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Can't Seem to Fix Anything Correctly
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LIVONIA, MICHIGAN -- Each time we visit they only partially fix our car. We have to return 2-3 additional times to get it FULLY fixed. Avoid Belle Tire, Livonia MI, Middlebelt Road.

Replies
Advertisement
Don't Go Here!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROYAL OAK, MICHIGAN -- Do not go to Bell Tire if you care about your car or your safety!!! I brought my car in for them to check when it was hiccuping and jolting strangely. I knew nothing about cars and trusted them to diagnose and take care of it. They looked it over and gave a diagnosis. They charged me $450 to change plugs and wires that they quoted, then another $75 to turn off my check engine light, which they simply added on without asking me prior. They didn't check the oil before resting the light. Within 5 days my engine blew.

Apparently because of two errors on their part, as I have learned since: Gas got into my oil when the car was misfiring causing poor viscosity and the oil was low. The combination blew my lifter, thus my engine. When I came back to this location complaining that they turned off the light and didn't check the oil, they towed my car to their "friendly trans shop" with the Bell guys, manager included, all saying it "sounded like the transmission" to them. Their trans shop agreed with my other two diagnoses, blown lifter due to low oil and gas in oil. I'm a single mom, working 3 jobs and a grad student and they wouldn't take any responsibility.

I'm basically broke and this was a very big deal for me and my little boy. I had to sell my car on Craigslist "as is with blown engine", 5K less than it was worth prior to Bell touching it, and borrow down payment money to lease another car. This was after spending almost 2K at Bell Tire earlier in the month on Ball Joints, U-Joints, and then plugs +. I feel very used and thrown to the curb by their neglect and lack of accountability when I trusted them with the smallest detail of checking the oil.

Thanks for absolutely nothing Bell Tire, when I asked you to take responsibility for your mistake and you have insurance for errors like this. Shame on you guys, you took advantage of a single mom who trusted you, knowing very little about cars. All potential customers consider your self-forewarned, this could be you.

Replies
Belle Tire certainly does a great job in advertising-too bad it's all FALSE!
By -

19601 LIVONIA, MI, MICHIGAN -- In Feb 2009, I hit one of Michigan's lovely pot holes and yes, immediately had a flat tire on the right front. I took the car to Belle Tire, Livonia (Middlebelt Road) and they advised me that actually both front right tires had been impacted. They didn't have my original tires, Michelin's in stock so they recommended Goodyear Assurance. Put two tires on walked out $500 poorer. September 2009, I decided it was time to replace the 2 other tires and went back to Belle Tire, Livonia, again another $500 poorer, but thinking hey, I have another 50K of tires on my car, felt OK. I was surprised in November, when my drivers side tire went flat, gee, had a bulge in it.

Took it back to Belle Tire, showed warranty papers, blah, blah, and yes, even under warranty they charged me $96.
Jan 2010, car is shaking, vibrating, all the crap associated with balancing and alignment. Took my car this time to the deal, surprise, needed balancing in the worst way and again, there was a leak in one of the tires. My dealership did the leak fix for free, umm... and charged me 1/2 of what they usually do for a balance. April 2010, Car is vibrating, gas mileage ridiculous. Take it to a friend, who looks and says, umm, both front tires (the new ones -from Sept) have serious bulges and I don't know how you even drove here! Very dangerous situation.

So, now, I won't deal with Belle Tire, because they are not standing by the tires they sell, they wanted another $65 to fix the one and about $90 to fix the other. NEVER AGAIN - I hate these tires, but for now, I went direct to Goodyear and purchased the tire I needed directly from them. It cost me $200, but believe me, I'd rather deal with that then the stupidity and lack of customer service at Belle Tire. I probably wouldn't recommend Goodyear Assurance either, if I had an extra $1000, I'd go back to my original tires, Michelin's' -that were GREAT!.

Replies
Over 2 years of runaround
By -

ALLEN PARK, MICHIGAN -- My problem with Belle Tire began over two years ago. I purchased my Kelly-Springfield tires from Belle Tire store #63 (White Lake) in September 2007. I have gone to considerable expense, inconvenience and aggravation (over $700) to replace many parts on my vehicle that did NOT need repair or replacement at the recommendation of Belle Tire employees. Throughout my experience with the company, it became increasingly apparent their diagnosis was to avoid replacing their tires and/or to avoid honoring the warranty that was purchased with the tires.

Each subsequent repair provided no relief of the problem I have experienced since November of 2007; a considerable “radial pull”. At this point, it is my opinion, as well as the professional opinion of multiple outside documented sources, INCLUDING the manufacturer (Kelly Goodyear), that these tires are indeed defective. That being the case Belle Tire's position of pro-rating the replacement cost is absolutely ridiculous; these tires have been bad since the beginning of their service life! Their position basically amounts to paying twice for the same product.

Even with almost 30 pages of documentation to support my position, the stores, the regional managers, and even the corporate offices say the only thing they can do is pro-rate my tires. This is absolutely terrible customer service!!! With the winter driving season forcefully upon us here in Metro Detroit, I am concerned and uncomfortable with tires that perform so poorly as well as create severe problems with the proper steering/driving capabilities of my vehicle.

At this time, I'm concerned not only for my own safety, but for that of any other driver on the road should these tires fail. Some of my best friends are in upper management and responsible for employee training programs. This story will be told over and over to hundreds of individuals to make an example of exactly how NOT to provide customer service in ANY industry.

Replies
Advertisement
Unsatisfied - Pissed - Lost All My Business
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TAYLOR, MICHIGAN -- Let me start off with I have been going to this business around 17 years for all my vehicles needs. I bought a set of Toyo open country tires for my truck from them and also had an alignment done at the same time. After they were installed and I left the parking lot I immediately noticed the truck was extremely difficult to drive and maintain lanes. I went home (around 3 miles away) and checked the tire pressures and the front tires were 28 and 30 pounds (way under pressure) and the rear tires were at 82 and 84 pounds (way over pressure). I then called the Belle Tire and explained what happened and they said bring it back.

In my driveway I personally inflated the tires to the correct pressure front and back. I went to drive the truck again and my truck felt like it was on ice or driving on a bed of marbles. I could not control the truck properly. I then took the truck back to Belle Tire Taylor and Rick (the manager) took my vehicle for a drive and came back and pulled it directly into the alignment bay. It stayed there for about 15 minutes and then RICK came out to the waiting room to tell me he thought the truck drove fine. Then Rick decided to tell me I need new shocks.

So I left the business and ordered BILLSTEIN SHOCKS (top of the line shocks)for all 4 shocks plus I ordered a new BILLSTEIN steering damper shock. I installed all 5 shocks and the truck still was all over the road. Mind you my truck handled perfect before the new tires were installed. I took the truck back up to Belle Tire Taylor and told RICK I wanted to get new tires installed under the TOYO 500-mile 45-day guarantee. I knew it was a bad set of tires but Rick kept telling me its not the Toyo tires - he has sold thousands of tires with no problems. We got into a small argument and I left the store.

I drove down to Belle Tire Southgate and explained the situation to the assistant manager RICK and they warranted all 4 tires with no problems. I got all new tires put on the truck at no cost to me. I thanked the assistant manager Rick and drove the truck home. The truck drove perfect as soon as the new tires were installed. No weaving or swaying. Now I will give all my business to the Belle tire in Southgate Michigan. I have 3 vehicles that Belle Tire Taylor will never see again. The Taylor stores sales people have all been nice and courteous to me except RICK (the manager). Thanks to Rick he lost all my business.

Replies
Unsafe Tire
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JACKSON -- About two years ago I purchased two front tires for my Chevy truck and had an alignment done at the same time. The drivers side front tire had worn very much on the inside and this concerned me as I also noticed a bumping noise from the drivers side front when driving. I took my truck to the Belle tire store where I purchased the tires and explained the problem to a man at the front desk. I should mention the passenger side front tire did not show the same wear problem. The man at the front desk said they would be happy to check the alignment and tire.

They did and the man from the front desk told me the alignment was off but not enough to be a problem and that the extreme wear was caused by not rotating the tires. I was also told that as my truck was a 4 wheel drive they could only sell me a set of four tires. I did not have the money for four new tires so I left the store. When I got home I decided to rotate the two front tires. When I removed the tire I had complained to Belle tire about it had two bulbs on it and the cords were showing through.

My complaint is that if Belle tire did inspect the tire and check the alignment why was I not informed of the unsafe condition of the driver side front tire. Myself and my family's safety was endangered due to their lying or their failure to do what they said they did. This is not over, I am going to return to Belle tire with the tire in question and see what their reaction to this problem will be. I will return here and describe what happens.

Resolution Update 07/16/2013:

Belle tire acted quickly and resolved the issue I had with them Good company, will buy more tires there.

Company Response 07/01/2013:

Good Morning,

Thank you for bringing your recent experience to our attention.

I would like to review your invoice with our team and follow up with you. Could you please send an email with the name and phone number associated with your account to CustomerService@BelleTire.com?

Thank you in advance for your assistance. I look forward to working with you to resolve this issue.

Best,

Kelsey Ruder
Belle Tire

Replies
Belle Tire = Never Again
By -

MICHIGAN -- Here are a few of my bad experiences with Belle Tire in Sterling Heights, MI. I brought my '95 Ram 3500 dually in for a vibration at higher speeds. They tried telling me ALL 6 of my wheels (steel) were bent. After replacing a boat load of parts myself, the majority of the vibration went away when I changed the rear axle in the truck, so, I am led to believe they were just trying to sell me a new set of wheels. I had brought in my '96 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 (extended cab/shortbed) for an alignment a long time ago (7-8 years) to the same location. They aligned the truck & I went on my way. This past winter I brought my other truck in for an alignment.

It was the same truck (extended cab, shortbox, 1500, 4x4) as the '96 only instead it was a '95. After sitting & waiting for an hour & a half, they finally tell me that my truck won't fit on their alignment rack... what? It fit before! My mother's '98 Ram quad cab 2wd has also been aligned there numerous times & it's nearly the same wheelbase. I think somebody just didn't want to do their job that day. The 'manager' apologized & referred me to another Belle Tire 4 miles away & offered a discount. So, I decided to waste more time & go to that location.

They told me I would have at least an hour wait, so I said the hell with it & drove it to an independent shop & got the alignment done. Final story... I brought a Dodge Diplomat in for a wobble... I didn't notice until after I got home but one of the rear tires had a BIG blister in it. I guess Belle Tire didn't even check the rear tires as they just wrote up an estimate for a new steering gearbox & assorted other front end parts to the tune of $800+. I told them no way & went home - where I discovered the bulged tire.

I do know my way around my own vehicles to an extent & I do all my own work whenever I can. But, this place WILL try to take advantage of anybody. I have also heard of complaints from other independent shops about Belle Tire & that they will try telling customers such & such is wrong or broken on their car when nothing is wrong. I will never go back to Belle Tire again.

Replies
Do not buy from Belle Tire
By -

KALAMAZOO, MICHIGAN -- We bought 4 new tires in July 2006 from Belle Tire. We started having vibration problems shortly after. In July 2007 they replaced 2 of the tires for being defective because I had bought the lifetime warranty and while we were there told me that I needed new shocks and struts on the van and it was dangerous to drive. We borrowed a car for our trip the next day then we took the van to 2 different dealers to get another opinion and both said that nothing was wrong with either the shocks or struts and gave me the computer printout of where it was on the diagnostics machine. The tech had quoted me $600 for the struts to be put on.

Needless to say we did nothing. The tires were still vibrating and we took it back several more times. Finally they replaced the other 2 tires and charged us $150 because the warranty is prorated based on mileage. It is not a true lifetime warranty even though the technician said they were faulty. This still did not fix the problem and went back a few more times.

The manager finally talked with another manager at a different store and they decided that the Honda Odyssey was not designed to have the Kelly Springfield tires that their sales person originally sold me because of a load and speed rating on the tires. They then said they would put on 4 new tires, but would charge me $96. A total of $622 in 1 1/2 years.

The problem is fixed now, but I filed a complaint with the BBB and one of the corporate managers called me and was very rude to me and told me that the 2nd set of tires should not last 40,000 miles and that it was a wear problem and not a defective problem.

After telling him what his managers said he informed me that he had never heard of such a thing. I told him that they obviously have a training and communication issue in their company then he got more rude and mean. I told him I did not want the original money I paid for the tires back, but wanted the extra $250 and was not arguing anymore. According to him it will be up to the BBB if they find them at fault. So we will see what happens, but we will NEVER buy from Belle Tire again.

Replies
Advertisement
Brand New Parts and They Still Tried to Scam Me!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUBURN HILLS AND MACOMB, MICHIGAN -- First stop. Macomb store. Needed front end alignment. Had $20 coupon. Just had major front end work done. Just needed the finishing touch. "Mechanic" at Macomb said bad ball joint, he would not do front end alignment without new ball joint. OK, I leave. Some young punk, thinking what does he really know. Experience that is what he lacks.

So, on to the Auburn Hills store. Coupon in hand again. This monkey tells me that maybe my tires are bad. They are still 75% tread. Just had them balance. Wrong answer. Then monkey says, no, they look OK. He proceeds. Now says "your control arm is bad. I can't get it quite straight. Needs new control arm to make straight. Will pull to left slightly." He says he tried to break bolt apart to adjust, but it was ceased. He tried spraying it with spray. No luck. Seized.

Needless to say, I've just had it, got to pay and what is going on, 6 employees all behind counter surfing the net. No wonder the lies about repairs, Belle Tire has to support the internet habits of their bad employees! And to top it off, when I got home, there was no spray on this bolt, it was not seized. I got it loose, and it was just tightened a few days ago when the other front end work was done... Belle Tire is a total scam. You can have all new parts, and they still try to stick you. I bet their dumpster is full of worn/used parts that are still good, that their "mechanics" tell the gullible are bad. Shame shame shame. I will never step foot into another Belle Tire again, even if they paid me...

Replies
Incompetent Service/ Extort Money From Customers For Unneeded Services
By -

REDFORD/DETROIT, MICHIGAN -- We took our SUV in their to have the windshield repaired or so we thought... We get a call that the ball bearing and other front end work needed to be done for $600.00. I did not authorize the work. We have a warranty through a dealership and they agreed to pay for part of it. We paid our deductible and an extra 90.00. The dealership is supposed to pay the rest. The dealership did not pay them on Monday and told them they will get their payment on Thursday. Belle Tire agreed to this arrangement. My daughter received a phone call this afternoon (WED) where they were very rude and said they were filing a police report on her for non-payment.

She called me very upset. I spoke with the dealership again. I called Belle Tire and told them they are getting their payment tomorrow and quit threatening teenagers with police reports. It's not her fault the dealership did not pay them yet. This would have NEVER happened if they would have checked with me to do the repairs in the first place and did things the honest way instead of doing unauthorized repairs and demanding payment!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Belle Tire Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 18 ratings and
39 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Belle Tire
1000 Enterprise Drive
Allen Park, MI 48101
1-888-462-3553 (ph)
www.belletire.com
Compare Auto Repair Shops