Preview Review

Next Review

Best Buy Consumer Reviews - Page 5

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Worst Customer Service Ever!
By -

I am having a problem with Best Buy as well. I submitted a claim at the end of July because the HDMI port on my Panasonic DLP failed and the bulb is starting to flicker. First, I called in to get my TV inspected and they did not have an appointment until 8/18. I told them that was too far out and they said they could send out a 3rd party vendor and they would call back to set it up. I called them back 2 days later because I never got a call. They said, "sorry" and that they would call back with someone.

3 days later they still had not called so I called them and they said "sorry" again and that they would call back with someone. 2 days later I get a call from a vendor that advised me that they do not work on Panasonic's! I called them back and demanded that the Geek Squad come out to my house. Now it was after 8/18 anyway! They said that they would. 3 days later I get a call from another 3rd party vendor who says that they were dispatched to repair my TV! At that point I just wanted it done.

I told them the problem and they only had the HDMI issue listed, not the bulb, but they said that they would take care of it anyway. They called Best Buy back and started to search for the part. They called and told the Repair Lady that the part did not exist because Panasonic did not make them anymore. Now, the main issue was because Best Buy did not keep track of what they were doing, Best Buy had to search for the part 3 times because they never documented that they already did it.

Finally, last week the repair person got an e-mail from Best Buy confirming that they could not get the part and they were going to send the request to the review dept (this was after the 3rd attempt to order the part) to replace my TV. I would probably end up with a voucher to replace the TV. She advised me that the process would take 3-5 business days. I was fine with that because that would mean that I would get the voucher before the labor day sales and I started to look for a new TV. But, of course, Best Buy didn't document it again!

So this week, we find out that they have to reorder the part again! I called and ask why they have to do it a fourth time when we have an e-mail confirming that they have already done it and they say that they just have to. They won't accept the e-mail from their own company as documentation. They advised that they will have to go through the process again, and that once they verify the part is not in, the review will take 3-5 days.

I raise hell and get a supervisor, **, on the phone. He tells me that he will just get it over to the review dept, but it will still take 3-5 days. I still raise hell and says he will get it reviewed in 4 hours. That was today at 8am. I waited until 3pm and there was no callback. I called and left a voice mail for him and still did not get a callback. I called on my way home from work and got another supervisor, ** on the phone. All he would tell me was that there was no such thing as a 4-hour turn around and that the first sup told me "misinformation".

He continued to quote me 3-5 days and said that the department that handled the review of the replacement did not take incoming calls. I asked him to call them and he refused. I asked him to e-mail them to assist me and he refused. The most he would do was e-mail them to get them to call me, which I doubt they will do. I asked for a customer complaint line and he refused to give me one. He also refused to give me his manager and refused to transfer me to another sup. I advised him that it seemed like they were looking out for their own interests more than mine as their customer and reminded him that we had a contract together.

He refused to do anything that would assist me in any way shape or form other than quote me 3-5 business days for the turn around on the review of my claim. I ended up calling back and got the corporate complaint line and spoke to **. I told her the issue and advised her that I was going to be out the sales on labor day because of their mistakes. I asked her to assist and advised that I just wanted this to be resolved. I advised that I wanted assistance to expedite the process on the review. She started to argue with me! Talk about customer service!

The only time I was hearing anything about good customer service from Best Buy was on their recordings when I was on hold! ** went on to advise me that the 3-5 days was the expedited time frame! I said that this was not as everyone before her said that this was the standard time. She said that it was not and that there was nothing that she or anyone else could do. I asked for the name of the CEO and at first she said that she could not release it as it was confidential. I had to remind her that it was public info and she finally advised me in an extremely rude fashion and we disconnected.

This entire experience has been one of the worst customer service experiences of my life! Every action has been prompted by me, I will be losing out monetarily because of their inaction and poor handling. All I want is my TV and my time back!

Replies
Advertisement
Review of experience buying a refrigerator.
By -

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- Prior to visiting the stores in Houston and Katy, TX area we checked numerous store web sites, consumer reports, and internet reviews. Based on our research, design of our kitchen, and personal requirements we decided on an LG refrigerator. Specifically LFX21975ST, because this is the only refrigerator that is Counter Depth with oversized ice/water dispenser, as well it has an internal design that we liked.

Friday, July 3rd 2009: My wife and I shopped around at 5 major electronics/appliance/home improvement stores in Houston area for a refrigerator. After physical comparison we agreed that this is the refrigerator that we want. Now was a matter of getting the best price, considering all the specials during this holiday weekend.

Saturday, July 4th 2009: Best Buy salesman was able to match the price of a competitor, also considering the 36 months no interest financing and free delivery, this was the best deal for us. Salesman explained that because this is counter depth unit it can only be special ordered and most likely it would take 2 to 3 weeks to get it. Competitor had it in a warehouse, but BB still had a better deal and we had no problem with waiting because we were moving into our new home on July 25th (exactly in 3 weeks). We set the delivery date on the 25th and completed the purchase.

Friday, July 24th, 2009: Received a call from BB delivery that this unit is on backorder, and they need to push our delivery to August 3rd. (1 more week) I was disappointed and called the store. Discussed this with a customer service rep, he apologized but did not offer any solutions. So without a solution I asked for compensation, he offered $100 refund to our account, I requested 10% (considering the overpriced cost of this fridge especially when compared to the bigger not counter depth model).

Surprisingly, he agreed, and I felt this was fair. The refund would help me manage with the ice I have to buy for the stuff from my previous home that is still in the coolers, the time I have to spend doing this, and additional "€œeating-out"€ my wife and I not planned to do.

Saturday August 1st, 2009: Received another call from BB delivery the unit is still on backorder, and now they need to push delivery 2 more weeks to August 17th. So now we will be 3 weeks without a refrigerator. At this point I really needed something as a temporary solution which does not require refilling ice and eating out all the time. I called the store again hoping they could assist me to find a solution without me spending anymore money.

The customer service manager offered a $25 gift card. That was like an insult to me. I held myself together. At the end the only option that was available to us is to buy another regular cheap refrigerator as a temporary and return it when our original one comes in. So about $700 later the earliest delivery date for a refrigerator that was standing in the store was Thursday August 6th (5 days from purchase). We asked that since that it's the soonest available date that they deliver it after 5 pm so we don't have to take time from work. They said that they can'€™t promise, but they can put it in the notes and gave us the $25 gift card, woohoo!

Wednesday August 5th, 2009: I think BB delivery by now has my number on speed dial. I received another call from them. They said that they can deliver the temp fridge on Thursday but between 3 and 5 pm. I told them that my wife and I get off work at 5 and I can'€™t risk taking time off from work in this economy. She said that they can put it in the notes to deliver after 5 for next available delivery date. I explained that it'€™s already in the notes from the day we purchased it. She said she is sorry but that'€™s all she can do. Now frustrated, I told her to call me when they can deliver it at the time when I am able to be home.

Now I am writing this so others know in detail that Best Buy did not handle this extremely bad, but they can'€™t deliver the refrigerator that is at the store, who knows when LG makes our refrigerator, sends it to Best Buy, and when they will be able to deliver it to us. All the while we are daily at the gas station buying ice or throwing away stuff that has gone bad, spending money on eating out and making payments on a refrigerator that we don'€™t have.

Here are a few of solutions that they could do: I work in the industry where if a manufacturer does not deliver on the promised date they lose money and every missed deadline is a % lost. Should be the same here, LG should be taking the hit not us and not Best Buy. It should be at least 20-25% discount after 2 missed delivery dates.

If fridge the customer bought is on backorder, have a stand by temporary new or clean used refrigerator that a customer can chose to use while waiting. It should be ready for delivery on original delivery date for free or for a small deposit. No gaps for clients to be without a refrigerator.

Why can'€™t BB delivery work 12 to 7 or something around that time instead of 8-5? With so many people unemployed I am sure there would be people happy to work this delivery schedule. They can also divide shifts between trucks where some trucks do 8-5 and others do 2-9 deliveries.

Replies
Never Shop From This Horrible Rude Store
By -

DULUTH, GEORGIA -- I went into Best Buy to purchase a home computer on 5-18-09. I found the computer I was interested in, and when the salesman came over to help me, and informed me of the price, I asked him about the price of the monitors, and he told me they were $139.00. I told him that I really needed a new monitor too, but couldn't afford one at this time, and that I could barely afford the computer. He then proceeds to tell me that if I purchase this computer, I need to have some Microsoft office product for it work, and that costs $150.00.

I asked him "If I don't buy this extra product will I have access to email or media player?" And he tells me that I would not, because Microsoft doesn't download any of that on their computers anymore, and you need this product to be able to do anything. I live on a fixed income, so I couldn't afford the extra $150.00, so I did not buy the computer and left the store.

Later that same day, coworkers of mine informed me that I did NOT need this extra product to have access to those things, so I went back to the store and bought the computer. My coworkers were right, I did not need that extra $150.00 product, I have had access to those things without it. The salesperson was just trying to get me to purchase things I did not need.

Three weeks later the computer stops working... I call Best Buy, and tell them about it, and that I have a receipt, and they refuse to help me. They tell me it is over 14 days and there is nothing that they can do, and then they tell me it is under manufacturer warranty, and I can take it to Geek Squad and they can send it away to fix it. I go into the store, and while I am there I find out there was a promotion running when I bought my computer that I could have also gotten the monitor for an additional $26.00, and no one told me, not even after I asked about the monitor prices and said I couldn't afford the extra $139.00.

Then Geek Squad tells me that they can send my computer away, and it will take about a month for me to get it back. The guy also tells me that they will probably replace my hard drive, and I will lose everything on my computer. I told him the problem was with the DVD/CD Writer and not with the hard drive, so why would they replace it, and he said they almost always do. He wanted me to sign some part of the form saying I refused hard drive backup, and when I asked him what it meant that I refused hard drive back up, he said, "Just sign the
form."

I was so upset about not having a computer for a month, and the way I was treated, that I told him to just give me my computer back. I then called corporate customer service, and they treated me just as rudely. They basically said, "There is nothing we can do to help you. It is over 14 days, and you need to just send it away to get fixed." It was three weeks, not three months since I bought this computer, and the service was HORRIBLE. I will never buy another piece of merchandise from this company. My family also said they are going to stop shopping at Best Buy too after this, because they have had some problems in the past.

Replies
Online Fraudulent Practices
By -

I made a purchase for a friend who does not have a computer. She provided me with her CC number and that was the card which was to be charged. At this point in the transaction all appeared to be normal. While this purchase was being made, my friend and I were actually on the phone so that all the information could be correctly entered.

Just before finalizing this purchase, she said, the only concern she had was that she would not be at home when the item was delivered. I asked her did she want me to provide my address so she could go about her business without worrying about that. No problem, so I directed that her purchase made on her Credit Card be shipped to my address.

Up to this point, everything looked great. The product arrived very quickly. My friend was happy and all seemed good, until I looked at my credit card statement and found that purchase had been made on MY CREDIT CARD! Now here is the mystery: I had never made a purchase at Best Buy using my credit card online. I had never used my email address with Best Buy, and I had never used my mailing address with Best Buy either for online or in store transactions!

Did you see what I just said? How then did Best Buy obtain my credit card number when it was not ever provided at any point during this particular purchase? I found that both frightening and fraudulent! Of course I immediately wrote to Best Buy and sent them a registered, return receipt letter explaining the situation. I did get the receipt back, showing they received my letter, in February. My letter was addressed to: Best Buy Corporate Campus. Attn: Customer Care/Privacy. 7601 Penn Ave. South, Richfield, MN 55423-3645. Signed by an agent. Initials of J. M. Received on 3-2-09

By now I no longer expect to hear from Best Buy and of course I have been staying on top of my CC account. And my dear friend who was as upset over the incident as I was, had a check for me the very next day. It does not answer the question: How did Best Buy get my credit card number when they did not have it based on that order. They did not have my email address. They did not have my mailing address. They did have my friend's name, credit card number, her address where her cc account send their statement (this is required, always, for online purchases).

I need a satisfactory answer to this as it is a breach of privacy. Not to mention, that I will never make another purchase from Best Buy even if they were the only store having the product I wanted or needed. I would sooner do without! I would like someone at Best Buy, preferably the CEO or whoever is the top person of this company. Thanks for the opportunity to tell this story, as other potential customers need to be made aware of their less than honorable business practices. Buyer beware at Best Buy!

Replies
Advertisement
The Customer Is Lying... That's Our Motto
By -

DOVER, DELAWARE -- I just bought a Macbook. Got home, next day looking through my apps for the iworks I purchased with the computer. Nowhere to be found. Called the local store I purchased it in to ask how to find it. Guess what... It's not on the computer. Ohhh. The employee asked if I paid for it to be installed. No. The salesman (Apple guy) told me they would install it with the optimization. Guess what, they didn't and to boot they didn't bother to give me the software back.

Long story short when I talked to the store employee he told me to "check my car, maybe it fell out of my bag..." In addition, they check their stock and it isn't there and oh the girl who rang me up over 24 hours ago remembers giving it to me???

I didn't get the software and didn't question it because they said they were going to install it. So, throughout my conversations with the employee, the manager and even customer service it became clear that there philosophy is that the customer is lying and trying get something for free. But, "not in my case." Although, I should have checked to make sure it was there before I left the store. I was told I signed a paper saying it was there.

Here's the thing, I wasn't told what the form was for, to look to see if all was there or given a copy of the paper I signed. In the end, that are "willing" to install the software for me If I drive an hour to the store, wait another 2 hours to get it installed and drive another hour home. They couldn't send it in the mail because "things get lost." No - what came out was that people "say the didn't get what we sent." Give me a break... Send it so it has to be signed for or better yet if FedEx and UPS are so bad send it return receipt.

All in all "they are doing me a favor" by believing what I say and are willing to install it. All I can say is Best Buy's new slogan should be - "We automatically think our customers are lying." Great customer service! But you know what they say... Those who expect that others lie and steal and cheat are the ones who are lying, stealing and cheating. Retail 101.

I understand that there are people who try to "pull" one over. However, this whole thing could have left a much better taste in my mouth had they approached it with an attitude of respect for the customer. They should train their employees in such a manner. Had this been the case, the issue could have been resolved within the store. Obviously something happened to the software. Mistakes happen. Coming to a resolution before being put on hold 3 times, and 3 phone calls would have been much nicer.

At this point, I am just disgusted. Before this I had a good view of Best Buy with no problems encountered. My father in law just bought a camera that I recommended he get and to get it at Best Buy. My boyfriend was planning on buying all his TV's for his rental houses - about 28! Not now.

Replies
Best Buy Service Plan Is A Scam
By -

You are so RIGHT!!! I purchased a new IPOD for $250 plus $60 for a Product Service Plan from the Mansfield, TX Best Buy on February 10, 2007 to give to my wife on Valentine's Day. As luck would have it, 369 days after the purchase, she began to have trouble with the USB connection, which would only work if you hold it in exactly the right position while it synchronizes and charges.

We brought the IPOD back to the Mansfield, TX location and spoke with **. ** informed us that contrary to what the salesman originally indicated, the Service Plan does not provide for immediate replacement or repair, but that the IPOD must be returned to Apple for exchange; a process which typically takes 5 business days.

I explained to ** that this was in direct conflict with that which was clearly explained at the time of sale. I further informed ** of the story told by the salesman where the battery in his wife's IPOD went dead twice during the PSP period and that Best Buy had replaced the unit with one from inventory at the time of each claim, at no charge.

** indicated that this was not true and further explained that the 3-year Service Plan would expire upon my surrender of the IPOD and would not continue if the refurbished replacement happened to experience a failure during the remaining 2 years. He said that if I wanted protection on the replacement, which was refurbished, I would have to purchase another 3-year plan.

** informed me that he is the service manager and did not report to anyone else in the store. I took my concern to the cashier and requested the presence of the manager. I was told that there were several store managers, but that Mr. ** was the regional manager.

When I requested to speak with **, I was intercepted by another manager who asked me to repeat the entire sequence of events. She then informed me that ** is not the regional manager, but simply a store manager. parenthetically speaking. I have never experienced such disorganization, misinformation and apparent fraud at Fry's.

** demonstrated little interest in helping us rectify the situation. Evidently he had more important things on his mind. We left the store frustrated and determined to make this problem known throughout the DFW and Internet community as well as to Best Buy Corporate in Minneapolis.

Since then I have found thousands of similar complaints about Best Buy on the internet. In addition, I have discussed the ills of the Best Buy Service Plan with several customers inside that and two other store locations in the DFW Metroplex and found that many were not likely to purchase such a seemingly worthless and fraudulent plan.

Surprisingly, for a company whose sales are already lagging from the elastic demand of electronics, whose stock price has plummeted by almost 50%, with industry competitors filing bankruptcy and closing stores, I would expect the retail staff at Best Buy to try a little harder to please their customer base.

Replies
Fool Me Once, Shame On You. Fool Me Twice...
By -

CONCORD, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- It seems that I never have anything but bad luck when purchasing any items over $100 with Best Buy. Don't get me wrong, generally, they have fair prices and a good selection of items in stock but unless you can walk in, grab whatever you want and walk out it just isn't worth doing business with them.

I attempted to purchase a Sony PS3, Blu-Ray movie and a couple of accessories from the Concord New Hampshire store last night. It was the last one they had in stock (lucky me, I thought!) and it was on the shelf. I grabbed my items and headed for the check-out line. The one register that was open had a person in line so the young lady over at the Customer Service counter called me over. Great! Now that's what you call service. Or not.

As the cashier was scanning my items I explained that I had three methods of payment that I would like to use and asked if that was OK. She said, "Yes, that would be fine." I had two gift cards, a Visa and an AMEX. I explained that the Visa had $50 balance remaining and that I would like $140 taken from the AMEX card. The rest of the balance would be paid using my credit card. The cashier takes the Visa and uses the $50 then she grabs the AMEX and proceeds to ring the remaining balance, roughly $380, onto the AMEX!

Now, I was looking her in the eye when I told her how I wanted to pay for everything and I know she acknowledged the words that came out of my mouth so I can only assume (dangerous word, assume) that it was a mistake. But here is the real problem; she proceeds to call the Operations Manager over to void the sale, in theory, to run the cards correctly, and then finds out that since they were gift cards it's going to take up to a week for the funds to be returned to my accounts!

This, of course, was after waiting 30 minutes while she tried to redo the transaction. So now my money is in limbo for a week and I have nothing to show for it except for an extreme dislike of Best Buy. Did I mention that these were meant to be gifts? For a party happening this week? No? I must have forgotten.

This is not the first bad experience I've had with them. Every time I attempt to purchase something other than a DVD or CD from Best Buy I end up getting scammed, lied to or short changed like last night. I've said it before, and I have only myself to blame for not sticking with it but I will not be purchasing anything else from Best Buy again. I strongly urge everyone else that reads this to do the same.

There are (or were) better stores out there that actually care about the lost art form called Customer Service. Tweeter and Circuit City as well as any number of smaller electronics stores. Tweeter is gone and Circuit City is going under. It's time Best Buy felt the consequences of their actions. I urge all of you to stop spending your hard-earned money there. It's the only way they will learn that treating customers with total disregard is a poor business plan.

Replies
Are You Serious?
By -

LONGMONT, COLORADO -- Best Buy for me has generally been a wonderful company to buy from. The deals that I've found there have been better than most places and sometimes I'll find a salesperson that even manages to impress me. On this glorious occasion, I regret to inform my3cents readers that I was treated with a great deal of respect at one store and disrespect at another.

My story begins at store 211 which is in Denver on Colorado Blvd and Mexico. My family and I were looking for a computer and my buddy lives near there so we looked around for roughly 2 1/2 hours. Mind you, the store is located 54 miles away from us, but it's close to my buddy so whenever we are in town to visit, we stop by that store and almost always buy something. After much looking and asking questions, we settled on purchasing an ASUS X83Vm.

The salesperson (James) was great. He did everything to inform me about who, what, when, where, why and how. He said he had 4 left and the cost was 794. We bought it, paid 699 plus tax (was it lower than the posted clearance sign?), went to dinner and drove back to Longmont. When we arrived home, I unpacked the laptop and noticed it was a different color than the one at the store. We looked at it, compared the model number on the box and noticed that in 24point, you could clearly see X83V and about 5 inches underneath that, you could see X83Vb-x1 in roughly 6 point font. It was obviously an easy to make mistake.

So, I packed it up and since it was 11 pm, waited until the next day to drive 3 miles to our local Best Buy. I explained to the salesperson what had happened and he only had 1 in stock and it was a display model but the price was 899 and not 794. So, since I need it by Monday and I'm not willing to drive another 54 miles to get the boxed version, this one will do.

When I went to pay for it, the associate informs me that the difference between 699 and 899 would be charged and I politely informed her that it was 794 at the original store and I offered to pay the difference. She gets an Asst. Manager who tells me that each store sets their own prices on clearance and I explain that all I want to do is exchange it and pay the price difference. They are getting a new in box item (not used - sticker broken) and I am getting a display model with no box and parts in an envelope.

What more could I ask for? He tells me that he cannot accept the boxed item without charging me the 15% restocking fee for an open box item and his store shouldn't have to "eat it". Furthermore, he would be willing to discount the display 10% but since the store has $899 "into the computer", he would need approval. I ask him to call the store manager and notice that "Jen" is a store manager but he doesn't call her, he calls "Mark" who is a store manager as well. I proceed to tell the same story to Mark, ** and the sales associate.

I explain that I am even willing to pay the difference AND I need a DVD player and just bought it a few seconds before I started this conversation with **. He tells me that unfortunately, this is one of those occasions when the Store Manager has to tell the customer to go back to the original store because ** is correct in stating that the store has $899 into the laptop as he trusts he looked into it. So... I restate what he told me. He wants me to drive 54 miles, in the snow, after work and exchange it at the store because this store paid $899 for the laptop and this store doesn't honor pricing set by other stores, correct?

Are you serious? He tells me that unfortunately, this is one of those times when he has to send a customer to the original store as they are the ones that created the error. OK, I get the box, my DVD player, go to work and at 7:45 pm, drive to store 211. I arrive at 9:15 pm and explain what happened to **, a store manager. He apologizes for everything, discounts the 794 by $25 for the drive down there and asks if I need anything else. Talk about GREAT service!

I got home, opened it up and have to tell you, it was worth every penny. I don't care about the horrible and atrocious service at this Best Buy - Store 211 made it all up. If I every have to buy anything (I always do) I'll drive the extra 20 miles to the nearest Best Buy. Kudos to Store 211 and Up yours to the Longmont store.

Replies
Advertisement
Online Purchase Hits Your Credit Card, But Does Not Guarantee Merchandise Will Be There
By -

CHEEKTOWAGA, NEW YORK -- I stopped at a Best Buy store in a snowstorm yesterday afternoon to buy two Flip videos for primary Christmas gifts. They didn't have the model, but assured me three other stores did. I followed the "no unnecessary travel ban" and went home. When I called the other store this morning, they said they had both models I needed but couldn't reserve it. I would have to order online and come pick up. I did just that. I waited for the first confirmation email and the second confirmation email as instructed.

I checked my bank website and saw my credit card had been charged for the full amount for both cameras. I was being extra careful because our street had not yet been plowed and I knew it was going to be a hassle to get out. It was. The mall parking lot was gridlock, so between my street and those problems the 15 minute trip took an hour. None of these things are the fault of Best Buy, but the rest of what happened is inexcusable.

The clerk brought out only one camera and casually told me they didn't have the other one. But I had a verbal confirmation, two email confirmations and my credit card was charged for both cameras. I asked to speak to the manager.. and things went quickly downhill.

No, they could not guarantee when "Best Buy Online" would credit my account with the $170+ for the item that never existed. They could ask another store to hold one... but couldn't guarantee they would have it when I got there. The "manager" had no name tag and was apparently born without a last name, for she refused to provide it or any explanation. I got plenty of "what do you want me to do, I can't sell you something that not there" and "I can't control what Best Buy Online does."

So here I sit, less than 48 hours from leaving on my Christmas trip with my account short $173 dollars, no promise of when I'll get it back (the money was taken from my account within a minute of my pressing SEND earlier). I came home to discover that sometime while I was circling the parking loot, the local store apparently sent an email saying the item was not available.

But it still gets better. There was also an email receipt saying I picked up both items and yet another email receipt saying I returned one. So they have created a paper trail in direct contradiction to my experience. They have my money for an indefinite period of time. I have no gift (and reduced funds with which to buy another)... and I wasted almost three valuable, frustrating hours.

My guess is that the local store sold my item out from under me, sent a quick email afterwards banking that I wasn't already on my way (although the local email had no mechanism for crediting my account)... and set a paper trail behind it to make it look like I had simply returned the item. This level of management and oversight draws the entire process into question. Don't take a chance with their extremely flawed process. Not only are there clear issues with the technology and inventory flow, but their "managers" are trained only in smirking.

Replies
Best Buy Doesn't Sell What It Puts On Sale
By -

DANBURY, CONNECTICUT -- My family and I went to the Best Buy in Danbury, CT to purchase a TV. I believe that Best Buy has unfair, anti-consumer practices which they exhibited that night, because they displayed and advertised a sale price on the TV we chose to buy, yet would not sell it to us, order it, nor give us a raincheck. Further they insisted on continuing to display the TV at the sale price despite the fact, that in reality, it was not for sale, and would not be for sale in the foreseeable future.

Here's what happened: We chose a Panasonic 42” plasma TV advertised for sale at $899.00. A salesman named Pete helped us make the decision by telling us that the TV was normally $1300, so it was a good deal. There was nothing in the advertising that said it was in limited quantity or on sale for a limited period of time.

Pete went in the back to get the TV, but came back to us and said there were none in stock, but he could order it. We said OK. He worked on the computer for a few minutes and then told us that he could not order it… He didn't know when or if they would be coming in. We told him we wouldn't mind ordering it and waiting, and he again told us that he could not, would not order it. We asked for a rain check. He said he could not issue one.

We asked why a TV would be displayed for sale with a sales price, when in fact, it wasn't really for sale? He insisted it was for sale, but when we asked him to sell it to us, he said he could not… It wasn't available. Then he told us that it was available online and we could order it that way. He allowed us to use the computer at the counter to do so. However, after I entered all the information into the online form and went to place the order, it was refused, saying that the TV was unavailable.

I explained what happened to Pete. His response was he couldn't do anything about it. I suggested that the sales price be removed from the TV on display and a sign posted on it saying “not available.” He said it was for sale, I asked him again to sell it to us and he said he could not. He told us to go to customer service if we wanted to complain.

We went to customer service and spoke to Tracey. I explained what happened and she said Pete was right, we could not buy the TV or order it as it was not available. Then she said she would make an exception and offered us a rain check because she said that three TVs were coming into the main warehouse and we would be alerted when one was available (but she didn't know what stores would be receiving them).

She said the rain check would guarantee the price but not the product. I said that made no sense, but we agreed to accept the rain check anyway. Then she changed her mind or couldn't do it (I don't know which), and suddenly rescinded her offer of giving us a rain check.

I asked her why Best Buy would display and advertise an item that was not really for sale. She said because it was an “active” item. I asked her how it could be an “active” item if they couldn't/wouldn't sell it, order it, or rain check it for their advertised price. She said that all their products were displayed, even if they weren't available, and further, she wasn't the manufacturer.

I told her that I understood that she wasn't the manufacturer but asked her it was an “active” item if I can't buy it, order it, get a rain check, or even be told that it will be available in the future. She just kept repeating that it was an active item, there was nothing she could do and if we continued to talk to her about this, she was going to walk away, so we left the store.

Her remark about walking away was surprising to me because although I was persistent in trying to make sense of their policy, I was at no time disrespectful or inappropriate. My remarks and questions were focused solely on not being able to buy the TV that was advertised. Best Buy is misleading its customers with low sales prices on items that they will not sell, order, rain check or even know if the item will ever be in stock again or; if so, at what price. Don't believe their ads... They can advertise at any price if they're not really going to sell what they advertise.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Best Buy Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 77 ratings and
430 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Best Buy
7601 Penn Ave. South
Richfield, MN 55423
1-800-369-5050 (ph)
www.bestbuy.com
cr@bestbuy.com
Product/Services
Compare Superstores