Preview Review

Next Review

Best Buy Consumer Reviews - Page 5

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Sorry Management and Employees
By -

WINSTON SALEM, NORTH CAROLINA -- Well I had the worst experience with Best Buy in Winston-Salem store # 158. Husband went there to get a battery for his cellular which has a service plan with Best Buy and it was like a nightmare. He went in on Sunday the 1-30-2011 at opening at 11am and spent over a hour and a half in this location cause nobody knew what they was doing. He run from Geek Squad to cellular dept. the whole time and never got his battery ordered for him like covered on his plan.

Instead he had to ask someone else if they had a battery there to fit his phone and they did so he had to pay 53.86 for a battery that should have been free to him if the employees at the cellular phone dept. valued their customers but they didn't this day. So I called and spoke to a manager on this same day and they said "I will look into it and call you back."

Well they did call back but left me a voice mail saying that my husband should have never went through all that and that he would refund us for the battery he bought or order us a new one either way and he would call back on Monday to see what I wanted to do. Well to make a long story short he never called me back. I called the manager on Wednesday the 2-3-2011 and spoke to them and I let them know I just wanted a refund and he said "OK I have your receipt in my car. I will go get it." And I said "well he paid with a debit card." He said "well it will have to be a cash refund and I will put it in the mail for you."

Well today is Monday the 7th of Feb and haven't received a refund yet called again to store spoke to manager said they would look to see what had been done and call me back but never called back. I took it upon myself and call consumer relations for Best Buy the lady there ended up hanging up on me so I filed a report with Better Business Bureau so I will see what happens now.

This store needs new managers in it and I also have saved the recorded message from the manager about the refund in my phone. I will not go back to this store again. I have been run around the block for over a week and no refund been given yet. If you have had problems at this store and dealt with the same manager I did then I know you are going through a lot of mess too. I hope the BBB calls this company and I am not letting this go until I get my refund I was promised. The employees at this location are not friendly either in person or over phone so if you want good business don't go here to Best Buy in Winston-Salem.

Replies
Advertisement
Communications and Customer Service Issues
By -

SARATOGA SPRINGS, NEW YORK -- I was at this (Best Buy) Saratoga Springs, NY on Jan. 23, 2011. Overall experience was okay. Was given the option to update my address and spent about 4 min. doing so with the cashier. Next visit Jan. 27, 2011 the WORST experience ever with Best Buy.

Was looking for an item and a sales person ask us promptly if we needed help but had no knowledge about anything in the area. I had a RZ CERT so I went to the customer kiosk. Surprise, Surprise it would not print. So pulled the RZ CERT on my phone and was going to have the cashier type in the string of numbers. Came to the cashier and found out my address was not update from the last visit and the cashier said she couldn't type in the numbers because she was the only cashier (BTW there was one other person behind us, a BEST BUY employee with a soda). She then refused and sent us over to Customer Service.

After waiting about 8 min. in line the Customer Service lady said she could not do this. You can only imagine how much I loved the fact that you don't give a flip about my time. The lady said because of privacy issues she could not pull our information up. We ask her to, please, type in the numbers and knew it would work. After all of that I went back to the cashier to inform her you can type in the numbers from a RZ CERT. Not to be mean but to help with knowledge, oh no, she would not have it. "I am the only cashier so I can't do that, she can print out the RZ CERT."

So basically it's not that she couldn't she WOULDN'T. This store has no training in Customer Service and I am absolutely appalled by the fact you don't care about my time and money so why should I give you my money. I expect an apology for this outrageous behaviour. Dissatisfied customer.

Was working on 01/27/2011 at 13:20 (ALL THREE): The person (female) working as the ONLY Cashier had some serious attitude issues. It was that she couldn't help us it was that she wouldn't; the person (female) working as the ONLY Customer Service was unsure of things she could take care of but did tried; the person (female, has 10 yr old grandchild) over by external Hard Drives tried to help but was unsure so asked but the answer she gave you didn't carry it so we spent 10 minutes for something she recommend but didn't have.

OVERALL you have some serious Communications and Customer Service Issues!!!

Replies
"Ooh I'm Scared"
By -

IRVING, TEXAS -- Recently on November 10th I was in your Irving, Tx location. I wanted to purchase a PS3 and ended up leaving without one due to the service I received by one of your managers (Bob). I was looking at my different options and found a bulk stack of PS3's including a HDMI cable, controller, and a remote control, attached with a rubber band. The sign placed on this item said "PS3 160gb 299.99". When I went to check out your cashier quoted me a much higher price.

The manager on duty (Bob) met me in the gaming dept. He verified the sign and told me that it didn't state that the other items were part of the price. I agreed with him and stated he needed to clarify it better so consumers wouldn't think it was all included for the 299.99 price. He then pointed to a sign 10 feet away from the floor stack and stated it was listed. This store had 4 different locations of PS3 bundles.

As a consumer how am I to know I have to look for one sign on a shelf to find out the price of an item stacked on the floor? I am a store manager and when I am purchasing a item, I look for the small print on the signs, due to dealing with customers that don't clearly read signs. This sign did not clarify what was or was not included. Nonetheless, I understood the pricing.

The problem that I really had is with the manager that assisted me, he had an extremely bad attitude, very defensive posture, and a condescending tone. He was very rude when it came to discussing the placements of the signs. I was floored and very turned off by his tone with me. I explained that I was going to call customer relations and report him, at which point he (Bob) pulled his clipboard up to his face and then replied "Ooh I'm scared."

I was stunned. I have never encounter such an unprofessional manager in my life. If you do not believe me, I'm sure you have video surveillance of my encounter with Bob. Immediately after this encounter, I got into my vehicle and I called your customer relations dept. and reported this manager (Bob). I have never called and complained about any service I have received before that day. My company would have fired me immediately if I ever abused any of our customers the way I have been.

Consequently, I have purchased a PS3 at Target for 299.99 which included a free controller and a 20.00 networking card. It has now been a week since I first placed a call to customer relations and I still have not received a follow up call from anyone within your company regarding this matter. Several weeks earlier I purchased 3 laptops from this same location. Does Best Buy Even Care? It appears that this will be my last purchase made by my family at any of your stores due to your blatant lack of concern regarding this matter.

Replies
Employment Experience
By -

SAINT JOSEPH, MISSOURI -- First of all I want this to get to the corporate office of Best Buy. I was hired as a seasonal employee. I have had an excellent employment record. I retired from the State of Missouri in 12/09 after 23 years of service and have been a supervisor, training new employees.

From the first day of training it was a total unorganized experience. I was hired as a cashier. I was not introduced to employees even though I was required to attend an employee meeting. During the meeting nothing was explained to me. One of the young cashiers was to train me which was fine. After 3-4 days I was introduced to the service desk manager. He stuck me on a register for several hours with no training on how to do most tasks such as giving customers their reward points, and the black tie plans. When other employees would see me struggling they would run over to assist me.

Then one day one of the supervisors, took me to a register to train me. The young girl that had been training me told me to ask the customers if they wanted their reward points and explain what it was, being free, etc. The supervisor told me not to do that but just ask for their phone number to see if they had reward zone and if not to sign them up. She also did not like that I was not used to using the keys on the left of the key board. She put me on a register and I followed her instructions and asked customers for their phone numbers.

Two customers wanted to know why and when I told them they said they did not want them due to not shopping at Best Buy that often. She said "I didn't hear you ask the one customer for his number." She basically called me a liar. When she saw me use keys at the top of the keyboard she would come over and move my hand to the side keys with customers present. This was humiliating. As I observed the other cashiers they asked customers if they wanted reward zone, yet told me I was wrong. I felt defeated and humiliated the few days I was there and their training was very hap-hazard, so I quit.

When I called the general manager Benny to tell him that I was not coming back he had me come in and sign a separation form for my pay. He did not once ask me why I was quitting, nor did he seem to care. In all the years that I have worked I do not believe I have ever been treated so negatively. They had no plan for training and everyone seemed to have their own way of doing things, and I was wrong no matter what I did. I am not a stupid person, but I felt that I deserved proper training in order to be a success at this job. I can guarantee that I will never shop at Best Buy.

Replies
Advertisement
Debit Card Declined????
By -

BLOOMFIELD HILLS, MICHIGAN -- August 28, 2010 - 20:25 pm. I walk into the Bloomfield Hills, Michigan Best Buy. Headed back to the movie section, per instructions from my spouse, to pick up a few movies to celebrate the Detroit Lions one and only one Win in the preseason game against the Cleveland Browns (Woopee!!!).

I get to the horror section, and am being spied from 3 different angles, presumably to see if I am shoplifting anything. When it is apparent there will be no action from this customer tonight, at least 4 sales dudes come up to me and ask me if I need assistance. I politely say "No, thanks, just looking", and each and every one give me the evil eye, as if to insinuate that truly I must be a shoplifting genius just waiting to strike.

Uncomfortable in my forced role-play as shoplifter-in-waiting, I grab three movies and head toward the check-out. I wait in line for a long time, as there was only one cashier on duty. The line got longer and longer as well, so there would be more audience for the charade about to begin. I walk up to the cashier at her prompt.

She asks me if I have a Best Buy Rewards Card, to which I reply 'No' (My Mistake #1). She asks me very politely if I would like to sign up for one. I said 'Sure, why not?' (My Mistake #2). She starts typing my info into the register, misspelling everything until I turn over my wallet with license. She gets all that typed in 5 minutes later, and the crowd is already fuming (at me, I guess). She has repeated my name aloud in front of the crowd at least a few times while she was typing it all in.

Then, I whip out my debit card to pay for these three movies. The keypad is sticky and I have to clear the pin number entry and try again. She reaches over and presses some button on the keypad and in two seconds declares as loud as the Detroit Lion's game referee 'DECLINED'. OK, so I am instantly humiliated and in disbelief because I know there is plenty of money in the account, so why is it declined? I say, "If you can hold on, I will run out to my car and get cash." She looks back at the crowd and says, "OK", and the crowd is fuming even louder.

I run out to my car, retrieve the money, and run back in, dropping twenties along the way in my frenzied attempt to not hold up the line anymore (Now that they all know my name thanks to fog-horn betty at the register). She is there gossiping about the evil me, first a presumed shoplifter, now a runaway purchaser. I hand her the cash, take my 3 movies and get the hell out of there.

Yet, still I am wondering, why was my card declined, or maybe she fabricated a lie for the amusement of the line people? I get home, call the bank and at first they don't have any record of a Best Buy transaction at all. Then the bank's customer service say's "Oh here it is. Your card was declined due to a wrong pin number entered."

Then I remember her reaching over the pin pad and it all makes sense. Why did she not have me try the card again, or run it as a credit? Why did she reach over and press the keys on the pin pad for me? And what was it that she pressed? Maybe the cancel button or cleared off a pin number or something? And why the continued repeating of my name for the consumption of the line people?

The next day I called the Best Buy store and whined to the head cashier guy and then the manager. My point of whining? Isn't there a policy to retry the card as a debit or credit? Especially when the customer is sure of the bank account amount??? This cashier was the judge, jury and executioner all in one. And the humiliated (yet totally innocent) customer slinks off feeling 2 millimeters high.

Replies
Best Buy: Floor Employee Too Stupid for Customer Service
By -

Best Buy location: Fairfax, Virginia, USA. Little River Turnpike and Frontier Drive. I go into Best Buy store for a GPS Garmin 255WT. They tell me after 10 minutes of simple questions: "This model works best out of all of them, and it's cost effective, and this and that and this and that, and also, the unit gets FREE map updates."

I go into the store for GPS questions after I bought, 2 days after. I go looking for a screen protector afterwards in there. There was a girl that helped me and said "This is one that is for everything. All phones, all devices." But, it was $20.00 or so with tax. I go looking up a Droid X and its screen size. A man in a wheelchair asks me what I need, and I say la la la, "I need a screen protector for this size and the Droid X one looks like it might work."

He say "OK I think the best option is to look it up on the computer like you are doing right now. I think the people over there can show you a good one." He goes somewhere else, the girl comes back at me, and says "Yeah this is the Droid X and yeah." Me, "Yeah but do you know the exact measurements?" Her "No." Me, "That's the problem." She leaves. I say "screw it" and go and compare phone screen sizes to my Garmin GPS.

I think OK, I'll just go to a tech store. I ask the front if they know where one is. They say "Whoa I think we have GPS ones specifically." Me, "Yeah, but cheap. I can't be spending $20.00, it's too much." He goes over to a movie stand and accidentally pushes a plastic sign over and it snaps and breaks a little bit. He asks the same girl, and she says "Yeah the one for $20.00 works just fine and we can do it for you for $9.00 extra." She said this a few times before even after I said "Here, look at this wallet" (I show my perfectly sealed red duck tape wallet without flaws, to her).

So after she says her stuff, the guy utters "Man I make $10.00 an hour so." I think nothing of it and say "Yeah I make $250 a day." The girl says "OK guys move it apart" or something. She actually thinks it matters. HAHA. So I say "So, yeah do you know of any place for tech stuff around here?" "Yeah Radioshack." "Oh right Radioshack." I leave. "Thanks!"

Best Buy is an extremely over credited and overrated company as a whole, and as individual. This is a strong bond that is sometimes unbreakable. They do not supply even a quarter of the things that actually work, or make sense that are either bigger bang for buck or warranty related. I'll give them 1 thing, at least some of the employees are very honest and say "Listen, this one gives you a better bang for buck, no loose ends. It gives you the screen size, it gives you this and that and the other."

But the sad fact is they are either making money for the company Hint Hint or they are totally stoned and know almost nothing about the product, or they are selling something that was meant to be used only in Europe and is being sold in the USA. This is in fact a very small list of things that people have complained about I am sure of that, the question is, will anything happen to change this to a positive output. I didn't know that they trained employees to boast about their pay check. They need to think about who they employ in the first place. If anyone is looking for me, Ask for Squire, AKA Irish Bloke 23.

Replies
Customer service/shoddy practice
By -

MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- Gateway laptop model # NV5378u. On Friday June 18, 2010, I bought a Gateway laptop model # NV5378u for $479.99 using my debit card at Best Buy located 1900 Evans Rd Melbourne FL, 32904. Monday June 21, 2010, I realized that the same laptop was available online for $429.99 and in store pick up was allowed. I returned to the store with my original receipt and a printout from the Best Buy website. I was being helped by two very nice customer service reps.

One of whose name is **. They were able to get the process started for me and I was told after some inquires on the customer service reps end that the adjustment should not be a problem as they do have the items in stock and in store pick up is allowed.

Here is where I became very disappointed with the store. ** needed a manager's override to finish processing the transaction. Tom **, (**'s manager) came over and was given a detailed explanation from Raphael as to what was being done and why. Mr. ** very flippantly flicked the printout back in Raphael's face, said, “It's an outlet item”, and walked away. Not once did Mr. ** address me as the customer to even try to explain what all this meant. He left Raphael to handle it. ** followed Mr. ** and tried to get an explanation from him as to why this transaction is not allowed.

After a few minutes of going back and forth with Mr. **, Raphael told me that Mr. ** would not allow him to process the transaction as the item is an outlet item which means it's refurbished. I was taken aback as there is nowhere in the Gateway laptop's description that says REFURBISHED.

I did some research on Bestbuy.com and I have attached some printouts for you to review. The first is the Gateway laptop, which I purchased, and you can see there is no indication of this item being refurbished. If the item was indeed a refurbished item, then I believe that this would fall under the category of “deceptive sales practices,” since by omission of this detail, a reasonable person would be led to believe that he/she was purchasing a brand new item.

The second is a printout of your refurbished laptops, which are clearly marked refurbished. To resolve the problem, I would like you to honor the adjustment and refund my $50.00. In addition, you should have some in store customer training for personnel regarding customer service. Also, to remind workers that the customers are the one who are keeping the company in business. I look forward to hearing from you and to a resolution of this problem. I will wait for 48 hrs for a response before seeking help from the stores Regional Manager and or the Better Business Bureau of South East Florida.

Replies
Contemptible Customer Service
By -

HOUSTON -- OK, last year we purchased an Insignia GPS device, and paid a bit over $100.00 dollars for it as it was on sale. Anyhow, I needed it for a trip to West Texas and I have not had much use for it since and it's been stored away and out of thought. So, a few weeks ago, I found that I was going to need it, and noticed that my online service was expired, so I went to the Best Buy website to try to renew my subscription.

The one year fee actually cost more than what I paid for the new unit and the 1 year subscription that came with it. I would be better off tossing my unit out, and purchasing a new unit for less money. However, I noticed that there was a 3 day subscription option for only about 5 dollars after tax, which is what I went with. I went through all the instructions, registering the unit's ID number and my credit card information for the 3 day subscription. Sounds simple enough, right? Anyhow, as I came to the end of the transaction, I got an error message stating: "Device renewal failed with error code 400201. Please contact customer support."

OK, so I called, and waited, and waited... Finally I was able to speak to a representative who informed me that their systems were down and I would not be able to get my subscription renewed until the following week. Well, this did not help, as I needed the service THAT day. I told the rep, "No thanks" and that it would be of no use to me the following week and left it at that. About a week later, as I was going over my checking balance, I noticed that I had been charged for the service anyhow.

So I called, and got no answer... I called again, same thing... Finally after several attempts, I got through, only to be transferred, and transferred again, and again, and again, and finally I was told to call a 1 800 number, which I did, only to have my call go unanswered again. At this point, I just said "Screw it, that 5 dollars was not worth this much trouble." Anyhow, I have some running around to do tomorrow, and will be needing the GPS again.

So, I went through the same thing as I did before... I went to the website, registered the number, added my credit card info, all the while thinking that they must have just been having problems that time I did this before. Well, lo and behold, at the end of the transaction, I got the exact same error message, and was told to call the 800 number again. So I called, and first thing I get is a recorded message telling me that my wait time will be more than 20 minutes! 20 MINUTES!!

So as I am typing this, I am actually on hold, waiting for the privilege of speaking to someone who can inform me if I will be able to have the GPS service that I need and paid for, or am I just going to be SOL again and charged for nothing.

This kind of treatment by Best Buy is beyond a joke. I spend my hard earned money there to buy one of their products, and I can't even PAY to have the service... I mean, I get to PAY, but I am not able to get anything for it.
And waiting for over 20 minutes on my cell phone (as I have no landline) just to rectify a situation involving 5 dollars is infuriating. You would think that Best Buy could afford to hire a couple more customer service reps to address the customers who keep them in business.

OK, as I was writing this, I got someone to answer, and they said that they would need to transfer me to the proper department. After almost 20 minutes of waiting I was speaking to the person supposedly able to help me, when I was abruptly cut off. OK, I've called back and I am on the phone with someone, however, I have just been told that it will take at least 3 days or more to rectify this situation. OK, I was just transferred once again, where I waited for 12 minutes, and was disconnected.

This is utterly useless. So, I called the local store and asked for a manager. After a brief wait on hold, I spoke to the manager on duty, and was given the options of coming to the store in person so they could look at my device to see if it is a hardware issue, and if they cannot repair it, then it would need to be sent off to be repaired.

When I asked if I could just have them exchange it out with one that they KNOW works, and try to resolve the problem on their own time instead of mine, they said "No," but I was welcome to purchase a new one. Next time, I will make sure to purchase my electronics from a more reputable store. Never again will I purchase a solitary thing from Best Buy and I am telling all my family and friends to avoid them as well. Thanks Best Buy... I'm sure you don't care, but you have lost a customer forever.

Replies
Advertisement
Nightmare Purchase
By -

LANCASTER, PENNSYLVANIA -- I originally purchased a Sony Bravia Television model KDL46W5100 on 12/3/09 at the Lancaster, PA Best Buy. The TV came as package with a Playstation 3 and a game and movie. The purchase just by itself was a nightmare, I called into the store earlier that day and was told they would put everything on hold for me, so I could pick everything up after work. When I arrived I went to the customer service desk and told them I had a TV package waiting for me, they looked at me like I was a ghost and said they had no idea what I was talking about.

Over an hour later of getting pushed to different employees and departments, I was told they did not have any more in stock, but then after complaining about the situation they "magically found one" and I was finally able to purchase the package. I received no apology from anyone for the delay, mix up or the complete waste of my time.

The TV worked great for a little more than two weeks and then started turning itself on and off every few minutes. So I called the Lancaster Best Buy after waiting through ten minutes of just listening to a phone ring waiting for someone to pick it up. The employee that answered (who I later realized completely lied to me just to get me off the phone) told me that my model TV was not in now, but that it would be in the next few days and I could exchange it then. So I waited for two days without being able to enjoy my recent purchase.

In the meantime I called the Black Tie protection plan I purchased with the TV and the representative I spoke with informed me this was very rare and he thought I was given a floor model. Which makes perfect sense due to them telling they were out and then magically finding one in the back. When I attempted to call back into Lancaster I again waited for over ten minutes before anyone decided they wanted to answer the phone, I informed the employee of the situation and he said they are back ordered on my model TV and have no idea when they would get more in.

Starting to get upset I asked to speak to a manager about the situation and I was transferred to the home theater section, which of course came with another very long wait!! When someone finally answered I asked again for a manager only to get put back on hold again. My timer on my phone was at almost thirty minutes by now!! I finally got a customer service manager named ** {removed per forum guidelines}. I say his name because his service and complete lack of help or respect for me or the situation have completely turned me off from ever going back to the Lancaster Best Buy again.

I admit I was upset when I finally got to him, but rightfully so, there is no reason someone should get the runaround trying to exchange a two-week old defective product. I told him the customer service in his store is horrible, and no one should have to wait that long to speak to someone and that I have been on the phone for almost half an hour now. ** gave no apology and simply said they are just too busy right now (It makes me wonder what kind of company he is hoping to run and model to his fellow employees when you have no time for customers, who kind of are the reason a retail store is even able to be in business).

I told ** my situation and he said that because there are no more TV's left I would have to wait for more to come in or just return it and there is nothing he can do right now. I told him that it's unacceptable to have a broken TV after two weeks and for you guys to not help is ridiculous, I should be receiving a comparable model to fix the situation. We went back and forth over the matter only for ** to tell me I was being "hostile" and to complain to 1-888-Best-Buy. I never once swore or threatened him so calling me hostile is a joke.

At this point I asked to speak the GM, however ** refused to transfer me or give me the full name of his GM only telling me he goes by **. I asked ** "what is your last name because I'm calling back in for your GM to tell him how you have treated me," he refused of course again and said that I needed to take my complaints to 1-888-Best-Buy and that the call was over.

I called 1-888-Best-Buy and lodged a complaint with the customer relations department. The representative called the store back (which must have taken her awhile to get someone to answer the phone there, because it was a very long wait until she got back to me). Once she finally got a hold of ** we were on a three way call where he offered me a lower model TV (** offered me a V-series and have the W-series) BUT he wanted me to pay $100 for the exchange.

I become very upset for two reasons. First off I told him that the TV he is offering me is lower end model than what I originally purchased. ** however, tried to lie and say it wasn't, before I told I'm on the Best Buy website right now and it says so right here. ** still being the non-helpful "manager" he is would not offer anything else or even a simple apology for the his actions towards me, trying to lie to me, or situation I was in. I told him I'm not looking to take advantage of the situation and get a higher model TV for free but I want something comparable.

He finally offered another series TV but wanted $300 for the difference stating he was giving me a deal. I told him "this was ridiculous, I didn't break the TV and I was given a defective product. Since you don't have any more of the same TV you should be taking care me of and fixing the situation instead trying to get me to pay even more money to fix your problem." ** didn't budge and basically said it was either buy the other TV, wait till a new one comes in, or just return it. ** said he would try to check stock with other stores to see what he could find and call me back in a couple minutes.

He called back and found nothing but would not replace the TV unless I put out more money. I realize there are differences in prices with different TV's however a customer should not be told you have to wait until who knows when to get a new replacement or shell out more money to fix the defective product we gave you and apparently don't even stand by. At this point any credibility ** had with me was completely out the window now, after him trying to lie to me and basically saying either return everything or wait for however long to get a new one.

I tried to call ** the next day only to again wait for someone to pick it up. After about ten minutes of just ringing I decided to call another location. I called the York, PA Best Buy and guess what, they picked right up right away. The associate was very helpful and transferred me to a manager right away. The manager I spoke to this time was ** {removed per forum guidelines} and he was one of the most helpful and friendliest managers I have ever met. After explaining the situation to him, he apologized repeatedly (something ** never once did, he just refused to help) and told me he would do whatever he could to fix the situation and take care of me.

** informed me the only model TV he had left in stock in the Bravia 5100 series was a Z-series the highest model they in that series. Instead of telling me I needed to pay a couple hundred dollars for the difference to exchange their defective product he instead said he would do everything for only $50. I was shocked at first because the customer care I received with ** had turned me had all but completely turned me off from Best Buy altogether. ** however just said he wanted to take care of me as a customer and fix the situation.

So long story short I was able to exchange the defective TV for a new one, and I was sure this one was not a floor model! The associates ** in customer service were extremely helpful and did the exchange with no problem. One of the other associates who I won't name asked me about the TV and what had happened, after telling him about ** {removed per forum guidelines}, he informed there have been a lot of complaints about him from other customers and fellow associates. This was a relief to me to know that I was not the only one, but also sad that more customers have been treated so poorly by **.

I live in Lancaster if you didn't guess, however I will only go to the York location which is out of the way, but at least I will be treated fairly and taken care of, I will never step foot in the Lancaster location again. The GM can thank him for losing my business as well as hurting their reputation. A company's best form of advertising is word of mouth and let me just say I have and will continue to tell everyone I know about how bad the service was at the Lancaster location and how rude and disrespectful ** {removed per forum guidelines} was.

The service I received in York however was amazing, especially the service from ** {removed per forum guidelines} and he kept from returning everything and never shopping at a Best Buy again. ** went above and beyond and for that I am extremely thankful.

Replies
Best Buy - Disgusting Customer Service
-

ELMHURST, NEW YORK -- Recently, I bought my daughter a new laptop, a Linksys router, and a Microsoft Office 2007 software because the salesman told me that the laptop had a 60-day trial for Microsoft Office. He did not tell me that we already had Microsoft Word installed, which is pretty much the same thing with less options. I did not need the advanced options because my daughter only needs a word processor and internet to use for college. So the salesman put everything in a bag and I didn't get a good look at the box for the Microsoft Office software until later on.

At home, I only took out the router to set it up with the laptop and I put the Microsoft Office software on the side without looking at the box. My daughter told me to return the software because she did not need it. I went to the store 3 days later (today) to return the router because my daughter was having problems with it and the disk that came with it was cracked, and the Microsoft Office software. To my surprise, they told me that they can't give me a refund for the Microsoft Office because they "believe that the package was opened". I did not even open the jewel-cased package, nor did I take anything out from it.

They supposed that I opened it and took the product key and tried to return it for a full refund. But that is not the case. The supervisor came and he did not help at all. All he kept saying was that the package was opened and I haven't even touched the software since I bought it. My daughter came with me to explain to them the situation and the supervisor kept saying that the "Law says no opened merchandise can be returned. Trust me I used to be a hacker and steal things too," and I told him to show me proof of that law, but all he could say was that I should look it up online.

I told him to explain to me how he can refund my router and not my software and how the crack came on the CD of the router. He couldn't even say a word besides please lower your voice or I'll have to call the cops. Instead, he calls the security to make me afraid.. Is he kidding me?! The security tries to escort me out of there but I refused and continued to argue with the supervisor. I began raising my voice because I was getting angry. The supervisor was laughing at the fact that I was pissed because I am spending $150 for no reason! He then said "OK here is your refund now have a good day."

Then the salesman I had last time, came by and I called for his attention. I told him to tell me if he saw the software opened when he put it into the bag. All he could say was, "well no, but this package looks like you opened it." THERE IS NO PROOF THAT I OPENED THE PACKAGE!! He didn't even see if the software was opened before he sold it to me!!! I am not a thief!! $150 for a product key is a bunch of BS! If I knew it would turn out like this I would have never bought it in the first place. I thought their policy was that we can return merchandise within a certain number of days. I guess their policy is messed up too!

I warn you all to make sure to check your merchandise before you walk out of BEST BUY.. Now I know how they are and how they treat their customers. I hope you all don't run into the same problem I have and I will never shop there again. Especially when the holidays are coming up. If there is anyone who can help, please contact me.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Best Buy Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 75 ratings and
428 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Best Buy
7601 Penn Ave. South
Richfield, MN 55423
1-800-369-5050 (ph)
www.bestbuy.com
cr@bestbuy.com
Product/Services
Compare Superstores