Best Buy - Page 5

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 100 ratings and
458 reviews & complaints.
www.bestbuy.com
cr@bestbuy.com

Product/Service Menu >

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Played like Puppets for Television Exchange
By -

DULUTH, MINNESOTA -- On May 22nd our TV was picked up by Precision Electronics through a protection service with Best Buy. This was the third time they had tried to fix our TV and this time they had to take it to their store. They told us that it could take up to two weeks before they brought it back. On June 4th we had not heard anything from Best Buy or Precision Electronics so I called Precision Electronics and was told by Kris that she had only contacted the parts place at the end of the previous week and should would call them again that day. The next day my husband called Precision Electronics and he was told by Kris that she had just called the parts place the previous day (the day that I had called). That Thursday, on June 7th, Kris from Precision Electronics contacted us and told us that they were unable to repair the TV and that Best Buy would be doing a buy back, or an exchange. The same day, at 9:34 am, Cindy from Best Buy called and left a message on our machine telling us that we had been approved for the exchange and to wait 24-48 hour and contact our local Best Buy store. Monday morning, June 11th at 10:22 am my husband called the Best Buy 888# and was told that the number had been sent to the Best Buy store's tool kit and we could go ahead and drive up there to exchange our TV. We drove 75 miles to Precision Electronics, picked up our old TV and then brought it to the Best Buy store where we were told to go home because they hadn't received any approval for the exchange. We asked that they call the people we had talked to and it is my belief that no one at the Duluth Best Buy store made any effort to contact or obtain any useful information from anyone, they just repeatedly told us to go home despite the fact that my husband had taken the day off of work and we had driven 75 miles for the specific purpose of making the exchange. We left the Best Buy store and I called customer care where I spoke with Liz. Liz was very helpful and contacted the repair place where she got a verbal approval for the exchange, at which point she contacted the Duluth Best Buy store where she spoke with Eric. Eric told her that he would go ahead and let us exchange the TV and put the paperwork through tomorrow (June 12th). Eric had even told Liz that he would let the person who was coming in to work after him what was going on in case we didn't make it back to the store before the end of his shift, which was at 6:00 p.m. The time at this point was 3:45 p.m. At this time we were in Superior but drove back into Duluth and up to Best Buy because it was shorter than going home and coming back the next day. When we entered the store we asked to speak to Eric. Instead of Eric, a Tom came out and told my husband "I told you that you weren't getting a TV today." I tried explaining to this Tom that I had contacted Liz with customer care and she had worked it out so that we wouldn't' have to make two trips (we had our 4 week old daughter and our 5 year old daughter with us) since we were told to go up thereby Best Buy to begin with. After going and sitting behind a screen for the better part of ½ hour and pretending to look for some number (which I had tried explaining to him wasn't there) he proceeded to call my husband a liar about Best Buy ever contacting us and said the only call logged was the one that my husband had made at 2:30 that afternoon. I once again tried explaining to him that when I spoke to Liz, she had gotten verbal approval from the repair company for the exchange and had talked to an Eric who had approved the exchange and agreed to put off the paperwork until the next day. Tom then told me that Eric never approved any such thing and he had been standing right next to him during the phone call, yet only a few minutes before he claimed to know nothing about any phone call. By now I no longer trusted Tom and felt he was lying to us and playing games for some reason and I asked him who his manager was. He responded, "the 800#). I then used my cell phone to once again call the 888# to contact customer care. Liz had already left but I spoke to someone else who read Liz's notes right off the screen and they were exactly what I had been trying to tell Tom. I handed my phone to Tom so that they could repeat to Tom what I had told him several times already. Tom proceeded to argue with customer care and smirked as he handed my phone back to me. By this time my 4 week old was getting fussy and we had been in the Best Buy store for the better part of 5 hours. The person on the phone (who's name I did not get unfortunately) said he would have to speak with his supervisor and get back to me. My 5 year old had started climbing on boxes and my 4 week old was screaming because she was hungry so out of respect for the other customers in the store (certainly not the employees as most of them clearly had no respect for us with the exception of one girl working behind the customer service counter that checked on us several times and asked if she could get us water or anything while we were waiting) we took our daughters to sit in the van while we waited for the phone call. When the call did come we were told that Tom had the authority to make the exchange but for some reason would not. Twice in one day we were told we could exchange the TV we paid $2100 for and were jerked around when we arrived in the store. Three weeks we have been without a TV. When we tried to resolve a conflict we were treated like low life lying scum. I have never been so disappointed or disgusted with anything in my life. We drove 75 miles home (gas is $3.11/gallon where we live) and will have to wait for a phone call from someone who seems to be on a power trip and is rude and condescending towards formally good customers. If we are lucky the next time we are told we can make the exchange it will actually happen and we won't be the brunt of Best Buy's sick joke. I will never shop at Best Buy again and I plan on telling everyone our story so that they know to shop elsewhere.

     
Replies
Is this company Scaming us? You be the Judge!
By -

It appears Best Buy has a GREAT SCAM going on (only one can believe after reading other stories online, that they have not been investigated).

My daughter purchased a Compaq-Presario Notebook with Intel Celeron M Processor 440-C509NR online on 2/18/07, (this item could only be purchased online) for a grand total of $465.20. She called me to tell me that she received a confirmation email that the order was received. I then went online to check my checking account and sure enough, within 5 minutes after she had placed the order, the money was placed on hold and would be withdrawn from my account on the next business day (Tuesday 2/20/07 since Monday was a holiday).

The next day, my daughter calls me hysterical asking me if the money was in the account etc. She received a "CANCELLATION NOTICE" (notice was dated 2/19/07, 22 hours AFTER the order was placed and a ORDER CONFIRMATION was received!)

I then went online again and confirmed that there was a $465.20 difference being held against my account and that the money would be withdrawn on the next banking day.

She then called the customer service # and was told that there was nothing that they could do. The order was CANCELLED. She asked to speak to a supervisor and they said she would have to wait 5-6 days (what kind of an answer is that? Do all supervisors go on a Supervisor Vacation in the same week?)

She then called me and I then called Best Buy's Customer Service Department. The girl told me that she could not talk to me since I was not one who purchased the item. I explained that the money was being withdrawn from my account so she better talk to me. I then got my daughter on her cell phone and told her what was going on and said that I needed the phone number that the order was placed under as well as me possibly needing her to allow them to talk to me about the matter. The girl said that it was probably a problem with the card since we used it jointly and she did not enter the proper information in.

I then told her that she had used my card several times before online through Best Buy as well as in the store with no problem before. Also, that my daughter has used her card that she has jointly with her fiancé the same way with no problem.

I was told that I could not get the laptop that we ordered since it was sold out (note that this item was on sale for $100 off the ORIGINAL PRICE and over $100 LESS than other stores). The only thing that she could do was sent it to the Credit Department to get me a credit on my card (I would only EXPECT that to happen since I WAS NOT going to get the laptop that was ordered!).

I then told her that I would be reporting this to the BBB as well as News Stations (ABC, NBC, CBS etc) that I believed that this was a "SCAM".

She told me that she was documenting what I said and would give me a case # and the credit department would give me a credit once they do their normal processing procedures.

I then called the Corporate Headquarters (Best Buy Co., Inc., Corporate Headquarters, P.O. Box 9312, Minneapolis, MN 55440-9312, Phone #
612-291-1000). After speaking to the receptionist and telling her what my plans were to report this issue, she sent me to the corporate customer service rep and after approximately 10 min on hold, she asked me what the problem was. I then explained it and was told there was nothing she could do other than send me back to the main customer service complaint department, since she cannot look up the information on her system. She also told me not to take no for and answer and ask to speak to a supervisor (which I explained my daughter and I both tried that to no avail).

She proceeded to forward me BACK to where I already spoke to. Another 5-10 min go by and a rep who told me that before he let me speak with a supervisor, that may be he could assist me with the problem. I explained what had happened. He said he could not see why it was cancelled but the only thing that could be done at this point was to get a "Comparable" laptop.

I told him that was what we would be willing to do since my daughter NEEDED to replace the one we bought a few years ago from them since it wasn't working properly (Geek Squad is another issue and just as an FYI DO NOT BUY ANY EXTENDED WARRANTIES FROM THEM GEEK SQUAD DOES NOTHING TO REPAIR THE PROBLEMS AND HOLDS YOUR COMPUTER AS RANSOM FOR MONTHS ON END AND IT COMES BACK IN WORSE SHAPE THAN WHEN IT WENT IN!!!)

He proceeded to tell me the next compatible one was for $100 more. I then said would you want to pay $100 more for something someone told you that you SHOULD HAVE HAD for $100 LESS? To which I received no answer. He told me there was nothing that could be done since the computer we ordered was now given to someone else and the item was "SOLD OUT", and no more could be purchased at the sale price.

I then said I wanted the supervisor and INCISTED to speak to one.

The Supervisor named "Chris" then said he could not understand WHY the order was CANCELED but would forward the issue to the Solution Team and that I should receive a response within 24 Hours. I would be credited the $465.20 back to my account, but would have to wait for a reason.

The answer in my opinion...."Called BAIT AND SWITCH!!" Other companies have done this same thing before and were finally investigated and brought down with heavy fines and jail sentences for the scam!

Just a few weeks ago, they had a laptop on sale in the store for $300+ but only 5 were in each store. The manager's came out and said that there were lines around the door before 5am (well before they opened) of people looking to get the laptop.

The same day, we tried looking online for a laptop that was comparable to that same price, but they were all sold out online, but you could buy one for $500 or more!

Again, this company should be investigated. Reminder, anyone who has a complaint against this company should do exactly what I am planning to do REPORT THEM TO THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU as well as YOUR LOCAL NEWS STATIONS and NEWSPAPER COMPANIES. These places LOVE TO EAT THESE PLACES UP AND SPIT THEM OUT.

     
Replies
Service Nightmares
By -

SOUTH SETAUKET, NEW YORK -- What the heck has happened to Best Buy?! In the last year I have had so many problems with their customer service and tech support. I always buy their stupid service plans on items I buy there and the few times in the past that I needed to use them they were great. Items were fixed or replaced quickly. Well that is not how it works any longer. Below are just the 2 most recent problems I've had.

My computer monitor kept turning off every few seconds and I discovered that the RCA jacks on the front of the computer didn't work. The hard drive was also starting to roar loudly and the CD tray wouldn't open. I took it into Best Buys along with my paperwork and they said it would be 2 weeks and not to leave the monitor since it sounds like a problem with the computer and if I leave the monitor I will be charged if they look at it and nothing is wrong with it.

Well 2 weeks go by and I call to check on things only to be told they haven't looked at it yet. I called again the next week and they say there is nothing wrong with the CD tray and the hard drive is shot but they haven't check the jacks yet. Call again in a week and am told that there is nothing wrong with the hard drive and they still haven't checked the jacks. The next week I finally just went up to the store and sure enough the CD tray will not open but the hard drive isn't roaring. As for the jacks, well they will have to send it out and that can take another month. I told them to forget the jacks and just replace the CD drive and give me my computer. They said they would have to send it out for that as well. Now mind you, if I buy a new drive they will install it while I wait. I ask for a manager and after refusing to leave without seeing one he comes. He finally tells them to just replace the CD now while I wait.

So I got my computer still with RCA jacks that don't work. I take the computer home and hook everything up and surprise…the monitor kept turning off every few seconds! I unhook everything take the monitor back to the store and get the nice response that they will have to send it out and it will take about a month! Hello Mr. Manager again. Finally he tells them to give me a new monitor. Well you guessed it they do not have that one and I just couldn't take it any more and accepted the one they offered that while it works, I am not happy with and is inferior to the one I had.

That was a few months ago and now I am battling for them to honor a replacement for a broken cell phone. I bought 2 cell phones last June and I wasn't going to take out the service plans on them but instead get insurance directly from Verizon. I need immediate replacement if something goes wrong. Well the cute little salesman said that they provide that right in the store and would even handle all the tech stuff for transferring everything over to the new phone. Yep I bit and bought plans for both phones.

Well one of them stopped working. I took it along with the paperwork to Best Buys and they said I had to go to customer service. Customer service informed me that they changed their policy and no longer replace them in the store. After a few arguments they did admit that yes when I purchased them that was the policy but it isn't now. I gave up left the store and went to the Verizon store. They looked at the phone and said yep it's busted but they couldn't help me since I didn't purchase it there, I called Best Buys Service number only to be told to call back the next day as they couldn't help me right now. Called the next day, was transferred and then disconnected. Called again and was told that I had to contact Verizon and download the latest software. Can't do that if the phone is broken. Told the guy I had Verizon already look at the phone and they said it is broken. After arguing this point back and forth and being told I would be charged a fee if I didn't do that I strongly demanded a supervisor. The supervisor said she was sorry and that she would order a new phone be sent right away. It would of course take 2 to 10 days. I stressed that I couldn't wait that long but finally gave up. Next I get an email from the company they ordered the phone from saying the order was on hold. I called the company and they said it was on hold because that phone was not available. They could not give me any further information. Called Best Buys again and the supervisor would not return my calls. I actually cried on the phone to get another supervisor who told me that I would have to wait for the other super to call me back in a week. I still haven't heard from her.

At this point I was so pissed I hung-up and looked up the Corporate info for Best Buys. I called and was transferred to…you guessed it…customer service and was told the same thing. I called back and this time asked to file a complaint about CS and not to be transferred to them. I was transferred to the complaint department and gave them an ear full asking them just what the heck has happened to their customer service. I told them about all the problems I have had over the year and while sympathetic they could only file the complaint and not help resolve the phone issue. .

So today I am going to Verizon to buy a new phone and getting a six pack to drown my frustrations!

     
Replies
liability claim
By -

COLMA, CALIFORNIA -- Feb. 6, 2006
To Whom It May Concern:
Subject: Liability Claim against Best Buy Inc.
I purchased a home theater installation deluxe package, sku # 7071848, ROS order # 351345634 on November 9, 2005 from the Best Buy store # 873 located at 200 Colma Blvd. Colma, Calif. 94015, for the sum of $699.99.This was part of a $9,000.00 purchase. It was stated to me, this equipment would be installed by a licensed, and insured professional, in accordance with state regulations and by an ironclad workmanship warranty as stated in their Home Theater Installation FAQs.
During this installation of the equipment, the installer preformed the work unprofessionally, and in an unsafe manner. By cutting out a section of sheet rock from the wall using an electrical circular saw with the blade set to deep, before finding out what is inside the wall, and where the 2 x 4 studs are located. After cutting out several small pieces of sheet rock to find out where the studs are located. He cut through the electrical wiring in the wall and received an electrical shock that rendered him momentarily unconscious. He was unable to complete the installation at this time and had his helper make temporary repairs to the electrical wiring. When repaired and the power restored, the lights started to flicker again and at times go dim in several other rooms. Smoke alarms and other appliances were going on and off or tried to start at this time. You could smell a burned electrical odor threw out the house. I was able to find the burned out items by this odor than rechecked then using the electrical meter to confirm this.
After several failed attempts to correct this problem, I told the installer I would have to leave the circuit breaker off in order to prevent any further damage. I ran extension cords to the rooms without lighting until he could contact an electrical contractor on Monday to make proper repairs. The next day I borrowed an electrical tester, tested the wiring, circuits, and fuses, and found the spliced wiring was not making proper connection. I used jumper wires with clips and attached them to his splices in order to make a better electrical contact to the connection, I phoned the installer to let him know I had found the problem and what I had done. I told him that many items in the house had failed do to the power surges and low voltage conditions caused by his repairs.
Returning five days later, attempts made by the installer again failed to correct this electrical problem. This led to more items and equipment burning out than before. Here is a parcel list, a cordless phone, the third surge protector for a computer, two 21 in. color VCR combo TVs. A garage door opener, a solid-state clock, and an am/fm clock radio, a duel tape deck w/ am / fm radio w/ 5-band graphic equalizer, a wireless IR remote extender along with two dozen low energy light bulbs. Three motion sensing light switches, etc, and now a computer that will not operate correctly. The costs of damages and repairs have not been total or evaluated so far.
Finally, the installer called in an outside electrical contractor to check out the electrical and the damaged wiring. The electrician then asked if they wanted him to repair the cut wires. He was informed by the installer they would take care of the repairs them self. The electrician give the proper wires to the installer, which was not used and instructed him how to make the proper repairs. The repairs made are illegal, unsafe, and will not pass the California electrical building codes. This substandard and unacceptable workmanship can cause damage to life and property if left uncorrected. The electrical contractor the installer called in witnesses this. The installer stated to me he had filled a damage report with their insurance company and their supervisor named Ben, would contact me shortly. He also was to call a computer technician in after he attempted to fix the computer. He did replaced two burned out surge protectors and the store replaced one and gave me credit on another one. This was the last time I had heard from any one else. I called the installer twice and left two messages each time asking when my home theater system will be working and what is happening about the claim for the damages? I also had a friend call and left a message. I than had to call their service dept. @ 1-888-Best Buy to get the third installer out five weeks later, in order to finish up the original installation and get all the components working. This has been one ongoing disaster after another. The completion on Jan. 26, 2006 was 71 days after purchasing the equipment, extended warranties and service contracts from the Best Buy Store in Colma, California.
To this day, I have not had a reply in regarding the damages incurred. I contacted Best Buy Store again on Jan. 18, 2006. After several fail attempts to contact their installer in order to find out who the insurance obligor is, I talked to a very rude and obnoxious store manager. He informed me after he contacted his superiors by phone, that they claim no liability in this matter. The store will not help, the job is complete as far as they are concerned and these problems are my reasonability and I could contact 1-888- Best Buy. With that statement made, he gave me an unpleasant and discussing look, turned his back on me, and walked a way. I think the store managers and installers need to re-read the published installation, service information, and policies of Best Buy Inc.
After several failed attempts to get in contact with the insurance co. using the 1-888 Best Buy number and Customer Service. I am now requesting your assistance in acquiring the names, phone numbers, address, and all necessary information on the insurance obligors in this matter. You may forward this letter to the correct dept; that can help. This information is needed for the purpose in following up on this liability claim report. I can be contacted by E-mail: (dcresta@netzero.net), Phone: # 650-589-4436. Alternatively, mail: @ 119 Sherwood Way, South San Francisco, CA, 94080.
I am demanding Best Buy to replace the burned out items, repair the cut wiring properly to meet the electrical codes promptly before I have to turn this matter over for prosecution and compensation. Best Buy continues to refuse to take responsibility for damages and repairs in this matter. This has been dragging on long enough now. During this time, I have been lied to, misled, insulted, and inconvenienced with incredible hardships unjustly caused by the inexperience and unreliable installers, Best Buy's Store Managers, along with their unscrupulous business practices, and a lack of an unprofessional attitudes and courteousness that is demonstrated toward their customers. I feel they have fraudulently misled and lied to me, refusing to take reasonability and liability for their installer's workmanship, and not enforcing and adhering to the published literature describing the type and quality of their home theater system installations.
From a unfairly treated customer,
Mr. David J. Cresta

     
Replies
Best Buy has awful business practices
By -

STOCKTON, CALIFORNIA -- I am disabled and on a fixed low income so when I finally had managed to afford a brand spanking new energy efficient sooper hooty washer and dryer set I thought I had died and gone to heaven. Only problem was they didn't have it directly in their personal stock but it was "going to arrive to them in just 2 days". Well heck I am not unreasonable and I could wait the couple days for them to get it to me, besides the shipping day way the middle of the week. In 2 days I called to check on when they would deliver it- it wasn't in, the factory was lagging. Was told to call back the next day- same, and call back the next day- same and for 2 weeks after that at which point they offered me a $100 refund once they were delivered. It was ANOTHER week after that before they were finally delivered. They are awesome and I love them (the set that is) but that is NOT the end of the story. My tv died 2 days after buying this washer dryer set and I decided to try to afford another around the beginning of the next month.

So I had to deal with the holidays but I called in to see how to get my $100 refund. They said just bring in your receipt and you can have cash or store credit- your choice. So about a week later I go shopping for Tv's and count on this $100 to go with what I had to afford a tv. Saw something at Circuit City that I wanted..and could afford TWO of no less. I trot over to BB and ask for my refund intending to shop them just to be fair and if they had a comparable deal then I would use the $100 at BB. They told me after I had to track someone down and wait for them to not be busy anymore that I could not use my points which were posted but I hadn't gotten the paperwork for yet. They tell me (after the girl has an extensive conversation with another girl behind the counter about irritation with their employer and what they might do about it and what they think about it and what their moms and neighbors think about it that they cannot give me the cash they said they would because I had come in past the 30 day mark (remember it took 3 weeks to deliver it and I couldn't get the refund until it was delivered- I was one day over the 30 days). At this point I am throwing a polite adult fit right in the front of the store where customers are coming in and in a voice that carried (mine does naturally anyway- especially when I am riled) was discussing how this would never work and I was told I could have cash, and how LONG it took to get the washers to me and so on. Finally they say maybe I can get a deal on a tv where I could also use the $100 besides in an attempt to draw me away from the door and the entering customers. They end up telling me I can have $150 off any tv there. Well I am kind of backed into a corner to buy a tv there as I was counting on that money to afford a tv and if I buy a tv there using the $150 off I can well afford to buy the second tv at Circuit City- I can have a tv for the family room AND my bedroom. Well I choose a tv and after 4 employees consulted about my choice with each other for a prolonged period, one brightly comes up with the idea that they should check to see if it is in stock, one scurries to a computer some distance away then they tell me the same "it's not in our warehouse but it will be here in only a couple days". I am not falling for that again. So I choose another model that they say they have 6 of at my request to check availability- about 2 hours after I started- they bring it to the front all boxed up and load it into my waiting minivan.

I am no fan of Circuit City but when I walked in at least there was someone there to assist me within a minute who knew straight off when I said I was interested in that particular model that they didn't have any in their personal stock but would special order it to come in if I wanted it and it would be there in a week or less. At no time did a salesperson have to leave my side to consult with someone else or to run to check a computer. They had their heads together. They made it SO EASY to just spend that ol money with all the info one wanted or needed as soon as it was wanted or needed. I was out of there in less than 10 minutes and they had made their sale.

But that is not even the end.

I get the tv home and unwrapped and on my entertainment center. It is then I notice it has a ding in the top front in the middle and the front is covered with smudges and dirt. This tv has been out of the box before obviously and was repackaged to make it look new and not even well. I am debating about whether to take it back. Maybe this is why they are having a sale on this model because they have 6 with imperfections they want to get rid of and are just failing to tell people they are not really "new new" more like vaguely new. I am afraid that I might get one that looks perfect but that will have something mechanical wrong with it. At least this one works.

I am going to use my reward points on one trip when I get them, I am sure I can find something there that I can use and then I am going to wash my hands of BB and never ever shop there ever again. My extended family (which is extensive) will also never shop there again. I have never been through such a nightmare.

Paula

Stockton, Ca

     
Replies
Ipod Product Replacement Plan- Total junk
-

GREENSBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- Best Buy offers Product Replacement Plans that, while you are fumbling for your cards and cash, sound wonderful because they use the selling line 'you can get a new one for FREE if you have ANY trouble with this product'. This is a total lie.

I went to turn in my iPod Touch (with the receipt from when I purchased the unit), which had a faulty volume button that would turn all the way up if it was bumped just right, and after having my ear drums blown out of my skull, I would have to fumble for the device to access the touch screen in order to turn it down. When I took it to Best Buy to have it replaced (as stated in their replacement plan), they were supposed to have a Geek Squad member check it out and see if it would qualify. A customer service representative (bear in mind, blue shirts, not Geek Squad in any way, shape or form), came to the desk, listened to my complaint about the device, took one look at it, and tossed it back to me. She then proceeded to remove two dollars from the cash drawer, handed them to me, and told me this was a 'refund' on the plan.

Refund? I didn't ask for a refund. I asked for them to repair/replace my iPod like they said they would. She quickly walked away, and no one else would come to talk to me for 5 minutes. The next person that wandered up to that was wearing a blue shirt as well, and asked if I had been helped. I said I kind of had- in which they immediately told me to leave because they were closing the store (at 8 pm... which we all know was a lie). I left in a huff because I was so angry. When I dug up the formal paperwork on the plan, I read that in fact I was covered. Taking it back to the store, I was again told that they couldn't help me and that apparently, my coverage ran out at midnight that day. Once again, they told me to leave because there was 'nothing they could do'.

So, again angry, I called their quality desk at the corporate number. Surely enough, I was correct (again... you can tell this is annoying by this point...). The man that answered (a quality associate) told me to go to the next nearest store (in Winston Salem) and try to get them to replace it. But thanks to the amount of time I had by this point (35 minutes until all stores closed at 10 pm) this was impossible.

Thanks to the slackers at Best Buy, I got jipped out of $50 on a $300 unit replacement plan. I've spent well over $4000 at this store ALONE. You think they would consider the value of their customers more. Apparently, the average citizen is not considered at Best Buy #155- Greensboro.

To preserve your sanity, do not purchase ANYTHING from these people.

They've lost all of my business from here on out.

     
Replies
Best Buy are Crooks and I'm no thief
By -

Here's a story I hope most people can not relate to. My son went to the Rancho Cucamonga Best Buy this morning to buy a computer. He bought a desk top computer and walked out the door, only to get home, open the box and find it damaged. I witnessed this. I told my son to package it up and return it to the store. He returned to the store and was told the computer he was trying to return was not the computer that they had sold him, not 20 minutes ago. That the computer being returned has the wrong packaging labels and he is trying to return an old computer. This is fraud by Best Buy. They sold a computer to him and now will not except any responsibility for what was in the package. My son bought the computer in good faith and Best Buy clearly is trying to pull a fast one. The General Manager stated there is nothing he can do for my son and asked him to leave the store. He did offer his name and said he would get back to him. This is unacceptable. The General Manager basically said my son is a thief. I immediately called the store to complain and was told by the General Manager not to come down to the store or I would be arrested and removed. Needless to say I went right down. I wanted to return the monitor which was still in the box. I didn't want to open that box and be stuck with a bogus monitor. I asked to speak to the General Manager and told him right away to” never tell me not to come down to his store” I advised him I was bringing back the monitor that was still boxed and didn't want to open it being afraid I may be duped again. He was less than concerned. I asked for the name of his boss and the corporate office. After holding for 26 minutes a customer service person advised me that “This happens all the time at Best Buy” and it's up to the General Manager of the store to decide how to handle. Basically “Buyer Beware”. Best Buy doesn't care and it's up to you as the consumer to prove you're not a crook. My son is out the money for the computer and with no options. We can only hope the General Manager will make this wrong a right. If not, it will be my pleasure to let everyone I come in contact with to know this story. I believe the hard working people of Rancho Cucamonga would like to know the policies of Best Buy. Followed up on next day with the General Manager he explained that he is standing behind his employees and policies, he will do nothing to compensate us. Called Best Buy Corporate office the Customer Relations representative stated they stand behind the General Manager and nothing will be done. Have a nice day. I will be going down to file with Small Claims on Monday. I will do everything in my power to get justice. What ever it takes, it's the principal. We are not thieves. Best Buy may be a billion dollar company, but I'm one consumer that won't be scared off by a Goliath.

     
Replies
Charge for antenna
By -

My complaint begins with the radio and antenna installation I had at the Plattsburgh NY store. My daughter bought the radio for her fathers birthday in July. Soon afterward the reception would go in and out especially when it rained. We went back to the store and spoke to the installation person and he said it could be a pinched wire. Since it was installed at the store I thought they should be the one to repair it or put in another antenna. The service person then informed me I would have to buy a new antenna and pay for installation if I could not find my receipt. I told him he should be able to find installation after a certain date (birthday) with purchase of radio. He looked for it and said he couldn't find it in his computer. I finally gave up. The reception finally got to the point where we wouldn't use the $400 radio and the $188 charge for the service at all because of no reception.( it wasn't even two years old). We made a few other trips to the store to find out if there was another answer ( total of 8 trips in all at $4.00 a gallon for gas, in all to date) with another tech. I asked if there was another antenna that we could use and he said that was the only antenna available, so I didn't have an option if we wanted to use the expensive radio. I was told the same thing over again. Finally I got fed up and went again and asked for the Mgr he said that he would take care of the installation and there wouldn't be a charge. I brought the car in and the tech looked at it and said that the antenna case on the top of the car was cracked and water leaked into the inside where the chips were and it was all rusted. He said he had never seen one like this and I said it probably was defected when it was purchased. (since everything comes from China). He said he would install a new antenna and I should not be charged for it. When I got a call that the car was done he informed me that he spoke to the Mgr and he said I would have to pay for the antenna but not the installation since installation is guaranteed and there wouldn't have been a charge any way. Needless to say I was enraged after all I had been through to get this mess straighten out. When I got to the store I asked to see the Mgr. I was fit to be tied as I had made arrangements to have the car picked up as there wasn't supposed to be a charge. The Mgr informed me that (against the technicians recommendation as he has installed other antenna's with different problems and customers weren't charged and they was an unusual situation) I would have to pay for a new antenna. I told him that the store should stand behind the product that they sell, that I had no other alternative but to have this antenna if I was to use the radio that I purchased there. He was very defensive and not very obligating and we were standing in the middle of the store argueing (very unprofessional). He wasn't offering any other alternative other than to uninstall the antenna. I told him this was fine if there was another antenna that I could use with this radio. He said and the tech confirmed, that this was the only antenna that they have and the only one that would work with my radio. The Mgr came on very defensive, didn't know how to diffuse an upset customer, very unprofessional in his attitude and almost to the point of being rude. He then asked what I wanted, I said I should not have to pay for a defected product that your store carries and you should back your product. I would get better refund and adjustment service for a return at Walmart. He argued with me for about 15 to 20 minutes till I was at my wits end. (This is good customer care, I DON'T THINK So!! I guess customer satisfaction is not in their motto). Finally he said again what do you want. I said then if you won't back your product, I have no other alternative but to keep this antenna the least you could do is give me a discount. He then asked like what. I told him at least half off. By then it was the principle of the situation rather than the monetary value, I wasn't looking for anything just what was right from a good customers point of view (my family has spend thousands of dollars in purchases in this store). I thought the reputation of a store was up most with customer satisfaction with sales and service. If he had offered an 20 or 30% discount I probable would have taken it as a sign of good faith but I was really fed up after almost 1/2 hour him on this topic. I don't think I was being unreasonable to ask a store to back their product when there is no other alternative. I really do hope this gets to the District Manager, as I was told by the Mgr the he owned this store (ha! ha!) and there was no one else I could speak to as I had requested this at the beginning of our conversation. I had worked retail for 10 years and learned how to diffuse an angry or upset person and this definitely was not in the book.

     
Replies
Customer No-Service
By -

The following is an email I sent to Best Buy, not that I expect to hear back from them.

I just visited your store at the River City Marketplace in Jacksonville FL. As I was selecting the item I wanted to purchase (tax software)the sales clerk was very nice and attentive. No problems, so far so good. When I went to the front to checkout, all the registers were closed off and I had to go to customer service to checkout, once again no problem. As I stood at customer service there was only one customer at the counter being helped. There were two other associates behind the counter, one that was carrying on a lengthy conversation with what appeared to be a vendor and another young man that said he couldn't ring me up but he'd get someone. A few seconds later he came out and said he was on the phone and the clerk just walked off. All this time the other associate was just chatting it up, I don't know what they were talking about but it shouldn't matter while there is a paying customer waiting. The associate that was helping the other customer could see I was getting irritated and he interrupted the gabfest going on and asked the other female associate to help me. By this time I was already aggravated and this associate did nothing to make things better, all she had to do was the slightest bit apologetic but instead she was indifferent and seemed as I was an inconvenience to her. Then when she did scan the item it rang up a different price than the posted amount. When I asked her about the different price she said "you got to pay tax". As if I didn't know I had to pay tax, I probably pay more taxes in a year than she makes in a year. I told her I understood that but the item rang up wrong, she looked at me and rolled her eyes as if to say that's not my problem. At this point I was done, I told her to cancel the transaction, I didn't need her attitude any longer, then she said "have a nice day" with a sarcastic tone in my perception. As I left the store I asked the gentleman at the door if there was a comment card or a way to file a complaint. He seemed genuinely concerned and wanted to help but I was beyond help at this point and I do regret not giving him a chance to make things right. I am in retail and I have to say if my customers were treated the way I was by my associates serious disciplinary action would be in order. I know you get plenty of complaint emails and this will probably be deleted and forgotten about. Being in retail myself I understand this is not the kind of comment you want to share with the CEO, but it meant enough to me to share my bad experience with you. I believe it will be a long time before Best Buy gets any more of my business.

     
Replies
Sorry Management And Employees
By -

WINSTON SALEM, NORTH CAROLINA -- Well I had the worst experience with Best Buy in Winston-Salem store # 158. Husband went there to get a battery for his celluar which has a service plan with Best Buy and it was like a nightmare. He went in on Sunday the 1-30-2011 at opening at 11am and spent over a hour and a half in this location cause nobody knew what they was doing. He run from Geek Squad to celluar dept. the whole time and never got his battery ordered for him like covered on his plan. Instead he had to ask someone else if they had a battery there to fit his phone and they did so he had to pay 53.86 fora battery that should have been free to him if the employees at the celluar phone dept. valued their customers but they didn't this day. So I called and spoke to a manager on this same day and they said I will look into it and call you back.

Well they did call back but left me a voice mail saying that my husband should have never went though all that and that he would refund us for the battery he bought or order us a new one either way and he would call back on Monday to see what I wanted to do. Well to make a long story short he never called me back I called the manager on Wednesday the 2-3-2011 and spoke to them and I let them know I just wanted a refund and he said OK I have your receipt in my car I will go get it and I said well he paid with a debit card he said well it will have to be a cash refund and I will put it in the mail for you.

Well today is Monday the 7th of Feb and haven't received a refund yet called again to store spoke to manager said they would look to see what had been done and call me back but never clled back. I took it upon myself and call consumer relations for Best Buy the lady their ended up hanging up on me so I filed a report with Better Business Bureau so I will see what happens now. This store needs new managers in it and I also have saved the recorded message from the manager about the refund in my phone. I will not go back to this store again. I have been run around the block for over a week and no refund been given yet. If you have had problems at this store and dealt with the same manager I did then I know you are going though a lot of mess too. I hope the BBB calls this company and I am not letting this go until I get my refund I was promised. The employees at this location are not friendly either in person or over phone so if you want good business don't go here to Best Buy in winston-salem.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >