Best Buy - Page 5

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 100 ratings and
458 reviews & complaints.
www.bestbuy.com
cr@bestbuy.com


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Some Help For Shopping At Best Buy
Posted by on
First off I'd like to apologize for my bad grammar spelling and lack of punctuation. I don’t want you all to think I'm unintelligent or anything of the like I'm just choosing not to spell check myself. Any way I work at Best Buy as a customer service rep and sales I have been reading the complaints and reviews on this site for the past few days. Now while my employment began only a year ago I'd like to address some of the complaints you have and hopefully clear the air. First id like you all to know that I do not consider anyone’s complaint or concern invalid also I realize that this post in no way going to make up for your frustration or monetary losses. With that said allow me to provide you with the following information. 1St I would like to address return policy. I’ve been working in retail a long time and shopping in retail even longer. No a return policy is not set in stone and yes exceptions can be made on occasion however the policy exists to prevent fraud and to help keep our prices low. When a store returns something 1 of 2 things happen it is either sent back to the manufacturer or resold.

As far as Best Buy is concerned reselling it costs us anywhere from 10 to 50 % of our profit depending on the item or if we send it to the manufacture we are either refunded our purchase price or nothing at all. We receive nothing if a product is returned defective and truly is not. When exceptions are made to this return policy whatever it may be. An out of date return or a no receipt return or what have you the company takes a hit and if we take so many hits then we have to raise prices. Now I understand that when a store will not make an exception in your case you feel upset mad pissed and what have you but the policy is there and the truth is most stores are going to stick buy it. I know some stores have different return times such as 90 or thirty days and some stores have restocking policies and some stores don’t but the fact is most retailers are not going to make exceptions. The exception is Wal-mart. Wal-mart will pretty much return anything receipt or not if you make a big enough stink but Best Buy is not Wal-mart. I have read a lot of Best Buy doesn’t stand behind its product, we do that’s why we have a return policy if something is wrong with your product you have a month to bring it back to a store for a refund or exchange now that said there are always exceptions. The exceptions everyone here complains about are the 14 day return on some items and the restocking fee.

Now the 14 day return and restocking fee are on items that the return policy is typically abused on. Cameras I've seen it where someone will by a camera use it for a special event and return the camera a few days later the restocking fee and 14 day return is to try to prevent that. And I know your probably saying well mr. Best buy employee why do I have to suffer I would never abuse the return policy and the answer is simple everyone suffers because of the few ignorant people out there. I mean you don’t go to a cop and say I shouldn’t need a license to carry a gun I'm never going to murder anyone. It’s the same situation there are a handful of jerks who have done this witch has caused us to put the rules into effect. Now I know there are other situations where you don’t believe a restocking fee should be charged. One is I just opened the box to see what it looked like. Well my answer to this is that no matter why you opened the box it was still opened and we still have to sell it as an open camera why should we lose money because you don’t like a camera I mean isn’t that why websites like this exist so you can find out about something beforehand and Best Buy and other retailers have cameras on display so you can see how they work and what not.

I have also seen managers make plenty of exceptions to the return policy most of the time we wave the restocking fee if you are getting another camera or laptop also there is no restocking fee if the item is unopened I don’t know what there policy’s where 2 years ago but I can tell you that’s how it has been the entire year I've been working there if you get a gift and you know it’s from Best Buy don open it and then return it but don’t be upset when you bring back an open camera and find out there’s a restocking fee I don’t know how other Best Buys do it but at ours we have 15% restocking fee stickers on ever camera we sell. As far as not standing by our products that’s why we offer our service plans and I can hear the simultaneous groans as you all read this. But listen some things like CD players and video game machines are replacements and others such as 80 GB iPods, cameras and laptops are service. How they are supposed to work and what the sales person is supposed to tell you is that if you get a replacement plan you are supposed to go through the 800 number to receive a replacement if you come to the store the only thing we are allowed to do is get you the same thing a lot of the times if you go through the 800 number you get a gift card for the value that you paid. For example if you where to buy a 360 pro about a year ago you would have paid 400 and gotten no games now its 350 and 2 games.

So say you buy the 400 dollar system from Best Buy and you buy the 2 year replacement plan. A year goes by system craps out on you come back to the store the new price is in place and the new system bundle is out this is now a different product at store level if we had the 400 dollar no game one then we could do the exchange for you if not then you go through the 800 number. However this is a benefit to you because now they will send you a 400 dollar plus tax gift card because we don’t carry the other version of the pro anymore you come get the new pro and now have 50 extra dollars to buy what you would like and that’s how it’s supposed to go a replacement plan entitles you to that same item if that same item is not in stock you receive a gift card for the amount paid plus tax less the replacement plan price. Now the replacement plan does not cover physical damage this means pretty much any damage to the product period. If you buy an iPod and the screen cracks that is considered damage however if you buy an iPod and the wheel stops responding or the battery goes out and won't charge that is valid to give you a replacement.

The reason being physical damage is not our fault its yours you could take the most perfect care of something then for whatever reason the screen cracks or a hinge breaks off or whatever but there is no manufacturers defect that will cause physical damage. The replacement plan is there in case something that can happen along the lines of normal usage happens outside of the return period or manufactures warranty most manufactures warranty will cover parts and labor from anywhere from 90 days to a year sometimes parts or labor are covered longer than the other however if you drop a camera and the screen cracks. Cannon, Nikon, Kodak aren’t going to give you a replacement for free they will charge you for the screen we offer our replacement and service plans so you don’t have to deal with the manufacture.

Now while the replacement plans offer a more rapid solution the service plans are different a service plan will provide coverage on a product for anywhere between 2 and 4 years and some items have the option of ADH or accidental damage from handling which will cover the screen or any other type of physical damage the one item that seems to be complained about most on this site are laptops. Laptops and computers in general are very in-depth when it comes to things like warranties and what not on the first level there’s our return policy which is 14 days, restocking fee if opened and is not defective, past that you have the manufactures warranty witch is 1 year parts and labor which is pretty standard across the board then one more step above that is our service plan witch ill go into detail a little later.

Now after the 14 days our obligation to you is over by law we do not have to do anything for you the return policy is stated on the back of every receipt and posted on a giant billboard in every store now I can understand problems happen delays happen stuff happens and if you are maybe a few days out of return policy and you politely ask to speak to a manager because like it or not the person you speak to first is most likely on the bottom of the totem pole then politely explain your situation and it’s a valid reason they will most likely make an exception any more than a month out and the probably won’t but the excuses I forgot I didn’t have time I live far away are not very good there is no job where you work 7 days a week which means that within that 14 day return policy you had at least 2 opportunity to return to the store like I said stuff happens most managers get that and if your civil and polite and calm most won’t mind about being a few days late but at this point you must realize we are now making an exception which is something I see customers taking for granted allot legally one day past return policy we can turn you away and not help you one bit and you as harsh as it sounds can’t do a thing about it when we make an exception we are going above what we have to accommodate you and you should be grateful that we are doing so a store credit on items outside return policy is a pretty good offer an exchange for something big outside return policy is a good offer a store credit for something without a recite is a damn good deal.

As far as laptops are concerned once open unless something is wrong then expect to pay that 15% also any physical alterations not made by an authorized service center automatically voids your manufactures warranty I don’t care how much you know computers if you remove the bottom panel to instill more ram you’ve just voided your warranty.

Toshiba, Sony, Acer/Gateway all of them are looking to save as much money as possible and fixing a laptop you may have broke is not in there companies best interest. Like the guy who rearranged his keys that is not allowed technically nobody had to do any work on your laptop at all. If you do decide to get our service plan then I'm sorry but it has to be sent out desktops can be fixed in stores but laptops for the first year at least have to be sent to service for repair and this may take a while if you need a new battery then we have to order it from the manufacture which takes time if you need a keyboard replaced we have to order it the major parts for laptops almost always have to be ordered and all we ask is for you to be patient now to everyone who has been told they were going to get a phone call and have not I apologize that is completely that stores fault and no one else’s I feel after reading most of these complaints you may have felt better if you got the calls you where supposed to get and for this I make no excuses a service plan will repair any hardware problem I.E. Hard drive failure mother board blow out and the like they do not cover physical damage or software issues if you change a setting that messes up your computer or if you download a virus that was your mistake not ours so all I ask is for patience if you purchase our plans most turnaround time is 2 weeks sometimes it takes longer depending on the problem.

If you don’t purchase our service plan then after 14 days you must deal with the manufacturer however we can help we will handle the shipping charges we will tell them what’s wrong we will deal with them for you but once we decide what’s wrong based on what you tell us and what we can see we send it out from there it is the manufacture who we are waiting on we act as the middle men in these cases you don’t have to go through us but then you have to deal with them and deal with the shipping and receiving and other hassles and we cannot give you updates unless they give us updates when we receive the laptop back from them we call you or are supposed to call you. On TVs anything over 26 inches is supposed to be in home repair otherwise you bring it in again I apologize for people who did not contact you in a timely matter as far as repairs not being done I apologize for that as well I have no excuse for them I've seen similar things happen at my Best Buy but I've also seen my manager make it right whether it be lowering price of a new TV or whatever.

When you send something to service and it is approved for an exchange or junk out or whatever term the store uses this entitles you to a replacement comparable to the original but not to exceed the original price if you want a different product for example you bought a dip and now want an LCD you must pay the difference its just crazy for you to think we are going to give you stuff for free just because you bought or service plan. Now as far as the other types of returns we see. For one there’s the out of date which I already discussed 2 there’s the no receipt this was my first holiday season with Best Buy and my store is being pretty lenient as long as an item is under 50 bucks and sealed without a except we will give you store credit the reason for not allowing no rapt returns at all witch is how it is normally is because of theft if we allowed no receipt returns anyone could steal then walk out walk back in and return that item and we’d be out the money we have several systems in place to keep track of receipts we can always look up a receipt if it was bought with a credit card also we offer reward zone which will link any purchase you make to your phone number witch again will allow us to look it up the reward zone is also now free whereas it used to be 9.99 Also if you have a specific day and can remember what register you where rang out on we may be able to find the receipt but we need proof of purchase to do a return it’s that simple a lot of places have the same requirements also when we do let you do a no receipt return do not complain about the amount if you paid a different amount and expect that back then hold on to your receipts a no receipt return will issue you a credit in the amount of that items lowest price in the last 30 days there is no override to this no manager on any level can override this there is no option in the computer to do so and it will always be store credit we will never issue cash for a no receipt return.

The third type of return is the no packaging return the return policy states we need all original packaging and materials to do a return we sold it to you with a box you need to return the box I know those plastic cases are a pain in the butt to open but all you need is scissors or a box knife and then they open very easily if you cut around the product you get a nice cut. If you want to exchange a product for the same thing it’s very easy to swap them out with us keeping the new box in the place of the one you threw out again if we sold it to you it needs to come back. I read complaints about people not receiving manuals and other stuff.

But this is from people not returning them and then getting upset when we won’t do the return. Now the other complaints are about bad customer service not making exceptions is one thing but there is no reason any manager sales associate or customer service rep should ever talk down to you or rudely and I sincerely apologize for that. Open CD's movies and video games may only be exchanged for the same thing unfortunately because of pirates and bootleggers we have been forced to stop allowing returns on these items if you buy a CD and open it you may get another copy of that CD if we do not have any more we may issue you a refund or store credit my only advice here is make sure the computer software your buying will run on your computer make sure the DVD you are buying is correct and in the right format I.E. HD, Blu-ray widescreen full screen and what have you and parents the letter on the front and back of the game your buying will tell you what kind of content is in there if you don’t read the warnings and buy your 12 year old grand theft auto do not get mad at me that he heard the word f**k.

As far as Best Buy running scams and again I only began my employment about a year ago there is no training or anything like that that teaches us how to "scam you" or "rip you off" stuff happens sometimes it’s our fault sometimes managers are retarded and I again apologize if you get a stupid associate or manager but a handful of employees at random stores should not constitute hatred for a whole company I mean there’s a Mcdonalds in my town that is constantly getting my order wrong but do I hate every Mcdonalds no. When a credit card or check is declined it is not Best Buys fault or decision if a decline happens call the bank find out why sometimes strange spending habits send up red flags in your bank like if you hardly write checks and one day write a bunch do not get mad if the clerk has to call for authorization the wait time again is not his or her fault the place we call to get the number we need is a third party it’s not owned by Best Buy.

Coupons have specific dates and items they work on please read the fine print I hate it when customers get mad at me because they can’t get 10% off because they didn’t read that the coupons don’t work on iPods. Nobody and I repeat nobody is on commission high pressure sales are not what the company as a whole wants yes like any business we want to make money we try to sell you what you need not push unneeded things onto you the exception to this is at the check out the cashiers will offer you replacement plans and magazines and credit cards it’s my belief that no means no ill ask once if the customer says no I leave it be the higher ups tell us "overcome the objection" they don’t listen when I tell them no isn’t an objection it’s an answer so I do apologize for these cashiers but I ask you please be patient with them I don’t know about other stores but he supervisor for my store yells at us when we don’t "overcome the objection" and after speaking with my fellow cashiers they hate asking as much as you hate hearing so again I ask please be patient with them.

Price matching is my next subject. When it comes to price matching we are supposed to match any price that any locale competitor has or are own website the "secret" website referred to in one of the posts is actually only supposed to be used to check out in store prices we are supposed to match the national websites prices unless the price is stated as online only furthermore we do not match online only stores such as eBay, Amazon, New egg or another store without a locale physical store. If we do match prices it must be within 30 days some TVs have 60 other items have 14 the item we are matching unless it’s from us must be in stock and must be the same.

We only match locale stores I read a post about Fry’s and us not matching them I don’t know about other states but here there’s only one fries and its over 50 miles away from our store which is not locale but I have seen us match them even though they are not to make a customer happy I've seen us return stuff without a receipt to make customers happy I've seen us rearrange our entire DVD section to make customers happy I've seen us give 300 dollars off to make customers happy I've seen restocking fees waved for certain situations I've seen returns on empty DVD cases happen where a customer bought a DVD it was empty and we gave them a new one you show me any other store that would believe a DVD case was empty when you bought it I have read a lot of complaints that say I will never shop at Best Buy again or Best Buy doesn’t care about its customers I don’t believe this is true I can see how our unwillingness to budge could be seen as uncaring and I've also read a lot of complaints that are valid and if I was in charge and dealing with them I would have handled it differently just remember that most managers can do even store managers is simply discount items or issue gift cards cash back is not really an option as corporate checks this kind of thing but like I said I've seen us knock 25 50 bucks off a laptop cause someone had to make an unnecessary trip to the store or gift cards issued because of our screw up the fact of the matter is we can’t make everyone happy it’s just not possible I hope this has helped even a little bit again I apologize for the behavior of other Best Buy employees being rude no matter the situation should never be tolerated if I was a manager I would write people up if I found out they were being rude I know I probably haven’t touched on all the problems people have with Best Buy but I'm willing to discuss them and would love to receive e-mails my e-mail address is horriblesanity@aim.Com I only ask a few things if you are going to e-mail me:

1. I am only a customer service rep in one store I'm at the very bottom of the totem poll I have to authority to make any decisions about anything I will listen to any complaint anyone has and I will tell you the truth that other people may not want to tell you but that is all
2. I will tell you the truth if you have a question about a policy if I do not know the answer I will ask my hire ups and find out for you
3.Please no spam or nonconstructive complaints such as Best Buy sucks or this store in this place sucks if you have a complaint I will review it and give you what I think is the best course of action that will get you the results you desire if possible.
4. Do not ask me how to beat the system I will not give away company secrets that allow you to rip us off

in closing I would just like to say I hope this helps even a few of you make a decision about shopping at Best Buy if I have missed anything just write me and I will let you know what the deal is

again my e-mail is horriblesanity@aim.Com
     
Replies
The Name Should be Worst Buy - Stay Away!!
Posted by on
AURORA, ILLINOIS -- In February 2005 I contracted with Best Buy Carpets to install carpet and Mahogany flooring.

During the initial visit their store we chose the type of mahogany. We made it clear that we wanted brown and not red wood color. At that time we also chose to have in-home finish rather than pre-finish and we were assured us that the color and quality of the in-home finish would match the chosen sample. Carpet was chosen at the same time.

Due to the extensive work that would take place in our home during the five day period, my pregnant wife and 18 month old arranged leave the premises for the week that Best Buy was to do the work.

The day before my departure on a business trip scheduled for that week, their project manager visited our home for a pre-work walk through to ensure that our preparation for the install were complete and to review the job. This was schedule to take place on Thursday, March 17th. He arrived at our home and we reviewed the work that was completed in preparation for your install team. He commented that the preparation was acceptable. He also reviewed the following work that your team would complete as part of the job:

• Wood would arrive at our home on Friday, March 18th, three days prior to start of work to ensure that it had a chance to equilibrate to the ambient conditions so to not cause expansion/contraction after install.
• All vents including cold air returns, our stairway, and counter tops would be covered in plastic to minimize clean up.
• Installation would commence on Monday and be completed by Friday.
• I provided he and the store with all contact information while I was traveling and my email address so they could contact me in case of any issues

On Friday I was at our home expecting the delivery of the wood. At 3:00 PM, when the delivery had not been made I contacted the store. They informed me that the delivery was delayed and that they would deliver the wood on Saturday. On Saturday evening my sister visited our residence at 9:00 PM and she informed me that the wood was still not delivered. On Monday I contacted the store and was assured that the wood would be delivered that day and that it would not extend the install schedule. I commented that I was concerned that they mentioned the importance of the 3 day period in which the wood would need to equilibrate in my home and was told me that that was less of an issue than previously mentioned.

My sister visited our home on Monday evening and told me that the wood had not been delivered. On Tuesday I was informed by the store and my sister that the wood was delivered and the work had begun. Of course by this point I was very concerned about the job.

I returned from my trip on Friday, the scheduled completion date for the project to find the following:
• The color of the floor was not what was agreed to and in fact it was red.
• The wood flooring was installed but still required the third coat of polyurethane.
• The carpeting was not installed.
• The air vents installed did not have dampers.
• The plastic over the countertops, vents (including the cold air return vent) and stairway were never installed and as a result the entire house was covered in red dust. The only plastic installed was what I installed prior to my departure.

I left a message at 11:50 PM on Friday, March 25th instructing them that their work was unacceptable and to cease work on your job.

On Saturday, March 26th I contacted them to inform her that I wanted to have a discussion about the flooring at your store. I arrived at 10:00 AM and the manager agreed that the flooring color was wrong and was red rather than the color specified. At that time I reviewed with the manager the importance of color as it was intended to be a match for our cabinets, wood trim and other colors in our home. As an apology for the inconvenience she offered to have a granite countertop installed on our island in our kitchen. I told her that I was not interested.

She noted that they had a hard time getting the exact wood that we had specified for our job. She blamed the issue on the wood supplier who could not get the wood that we had specified. Unfortunately she chose not to mention this to me on the days leading up to the start of our job, nor did she mention this during the week of the job. We were later told by the project manager, that she took it upon herself to choose another wood to be installed at our home, knowing that it would not be a match.

I informed her that we were not interested in keeping this wood and that she needed to find the wood that we had originally specified or an acceptable alternative. When she agreed to remedy the issue to our satisfaction I approved the install of the carpet. Over the next three months I was at their store on six different occasions to pick up wood samples. During the third visit in April, the manager informed us that the wood that we originally chose was not going to be an option as the supplier could not guarantee that they could get the wood.

In June the manager agreed to have another sample of wood for pick up at their store. I contacted her on Friday, June 24th to ask if the samples that she had requested were at the store and ready for pick-up. She said that they were there and that I could stop by in the morning to pick them up. When I arrived at the store at 11:50 AM with my two week old son and my 22 month old daughter the samples were not there. The clerk contacted the manager and she informed him that they were in fact not ready.

At this point I made the decision not to work with the manager or anyone else but the owner as it was clear that they could not provide the resolution to our issue. Throughout the previous three months the manager was unresponsive and left it to my wife or me to contact her for status updates. Her level of professionalism and customer service was abysmal. I contacted the owner to give you one last chance to remedy the situation before I handed this issue over to my attorney.

That evening the owner visited my home to discussion the situation and a potential solution. I showed and explained that since the install, the flooring had contracted (as expected when the proper equilibration time was not met) and there were now gaps of between 1/16” and 1/8” in approximately 30% of the joints. I informed the manager that the wood color was completely different and that there were numerous faults in the floor from the choice of poor quality wood.

After looking at our flooring he offered to have a stain “expert” come in and do three swatches and we could choose from one of those that closely resembled what we had originally specified, he noted that the gaps would be fixed and the faults in the wood repaired to our satisfaction. Two weeks later the stain person arrived and completed the three swatches. Although none of the swatches were a perfect match of the original floor sample, we chose the sample that was the closest match. On Wednesday, July 20th my wife contacted the store to inform them of the color swatch and schedule the job. Once again we arranged to leave our home for a week as we did not want to have a six week old and my 23 month old daughter in the house during the work that was to start on Wednesday, August 3rd.

Similar to the first install attempt, the project manager visited our home on Tuesday, August 2nd to review the work that was to be completed. I reviewed the punch list of items with him:

• Flooring was to be sanded and stained to the new color.
• All gaps between boards were to be filled and the loose boards were to be secured.
• The various faults in the floor from poor quality wood needed to be filled and repaired.
• Non closable vents were to be replaced with new vents with dampers.
• The same finish varnish was to be used.
• All vents were to be properly covered in plastic.

He informed me that all of these issues would be completed to our satisfaction.

On Wednesday, August 3rd my family left for our one week vacation with a return date of Tuesday, August 9th. I communicated with the project manager one time on Thursday to ensure that things were progressing as planned and he informed me that they were, but no work was done on Thursday. On Wednesday my father visited our home to make sure that the work was underway. He placed a large note on the countertop that read “Please Replace the Vents with Closeable Vents.” to ensure that this detail was not forgotten.

Upon our arrival we were very surprised to see the following:
• The vents were not replaced.
• The color of the floor was not acceptable, as variations in color are present.
• 80% of the floor had swirl and scratch marks.
• 50% of the flooring had high gloss polyurethane, and 50% of the flooring had matte finish polyurethane.
• The other faults in the floor were still present.
• All of the walls in the rooms were covered in red dust.

My wife and I were extremely frustrated with the lack of attention and poor quality work that Best Buy Carpets had now done for a second time. On Wednesday, August 10th at 1:21 PM I was contacted by the project manager to ask my impression of the work. I informed him of my extreme disappointment and he informed me that he noticed the same problems that I noted when he visited our home on Saturday, August 6th. He also mentioned that he had a conversation with the owner where he informed the owner of the same issues He said that you had offered to have your team come in again in another attempt to remedy the issues and that the job would take two days maximum. I told him that I needed to have some discussions and that I was probably not in favor of this approach as I had already given them ample opportunities as required by Illinois State Law to remedy the issue.

Because of our extreme dissatisfaction Best Buy's work, we have made the decision to have another company replace the flooring. My advice. Stay Away from Best Buy Carpets!!!!!
     
Replies
Played like Puppets for Television Exchange
Posted by on
DULUTH, MINNESOTA -- On May 22nd our TV was picked up by Precision Electronics through a protection service with Best Buy. This was the third time they had tried to fix our TV and this time they had to take it to their store. They told us that it could take up to two weeks before they brought it back. On June 4th we had not heard anything from Best Buy or Precision Electronics so I called Precision Electronics and was told by Kris that she had only contacted the parts place at the end of the previous week and should would call them again that day. The next day my husband called Precision Electronics and he was told by Kris that she had just called the parts place the previous day (the day that I had called). That Thursday, on June 7th, Kris from Precision Electronics contacted us and told us that they were unable to repair the TV and that Best Buy would be doing a buy back, or an exchange. The same day, at 9:34 am, Cindy from Best Buy called and left a message on our machine telling us that we had been approved for the exchange and to wait 24-48 hour and contact our local Best Buy store. Monday morning, June 11th at 10:22 am my husband called the Best Buy 888# and was told that the number had been sent to the Best Buy store’s tool kit and we could go ahead and drive up there to exchange our TV. We drove 75 miles to Precision Electronics, picked up our old TV and then brought it to the Best Buy store where we were told to go home because they hadn’t received any approval for the exchange. We asked that they call the people we had talked to and it is my belief that no one at the Duluth Best Buy store made any effort to contact or obtain any useful information from anyone, they just repeatedly told us to go home despite the fact that my husband had taken the day off of work and we had driven 75 miles for the specific purpose of making the exchange. We left the Best Buy store and I called customer care where I spoke with Liz. Liz was very helpful and contacted the repair place where she got a verbal approval for the exchange, at which point she contacted the Duluth Best Buy store where she spoke with Eric. Eric told her that he would go ahead and let us exchange the TV and put the paperwork through tomorrow (June 12th). Eric had even told Liz that he would let the person who was coming in to work after him what was going on in case we didn’t make it back to the store before the end of his shift, which was at 6:00 p.m. The time at this point was 3:45 p.m. At this time we were in Superior but drove back into Duluth and up to Best Buy because it was shorter than going home and coming back the next day. When we entered the store we asked to speak to Eric. Instead of Eric, a Tom came out and told my husband “I told you that you weren’t getting a TV today.” I tried explaining to this Tom that I had contacted Liz with customer care and she had worked it out so that we wouldn’t’ have to make two trips (we had our 4 week old daughter and our 5 year old daughter with us) since we were told to go up thereby Best Buy to begin with. After going and sitting behind a screen for the better part of ½ hour and pretending to look for some number (which I had tried explaining to him wasn’t there) he proceeded to call my husband a liar about Best Buy ever contacting us and said the only call logged was the one that my husband had made at 2:30 that afternoon. I once again tried explaining to him that when I spoke to Liz, she had gotten verbal approval from the repair company for the exchange and had talked to an Eric who had approved the exchange and agreed to put off the paperwork until the next day. Tom then told me that Eric never approved any such thing and he had been standing right next to him during the phone call, yet only a few minutes before he claimed to know nothing about any phone call. By now I no longer trusted Tom and felt he was lying to us and playing games for some reason and I asked him who his manager was. He responded, “the 800#). I then used my cell phone to once again call the 888# to contact customer care. Liz had already left but I spoke to someone else who read Liz’s notes right off the screen and they were exactly what I had been trying to tell Tom. I handed my phone to Tom so that they could repeat to Tom what I had told him several times already. Tom proceeded to argue with customer care and smirked as he handed my phone back to me. By this time my 4 week old was getting fussy and we had been in the Best Buy store for the better part of 5 hours. The person on the phone (who’s name I did not get unfortunately) said he would have to speak with his supervisor and get back to me. My 5 year old had started climbing on boxes and my 4 week old was screaming because she was hungry so out of respect for the other customers in the store (certainly not the employees as most of them clearly had no respect for us with the exception of one girl working behind the customer service counter that checked on us several times and asked if she could get us water or anything while we were waiting) we took our daughters to sit in the van while we waited for the phone call. When the call did come we were told that Tom had the authority to make the exchange but for some reason would not. Twice in one day we were told we could exchange the TV we paid $2100 for and were jerked around when we arrived in the store. Three weeks we have been without a TV. When we tried to resolve a conflict we were treated like low life lying scum. I have never been so disappointed or disgusted with anything in my life. We drove 75 miles home (gas is $3.11/gallon where we live) and will have to wait for a phone call from someone who seems to be on a power trip and is rude and condescending towards formally good customers. If we are lucky the next time we are told we can make the exchange it will actually happen and we won’t be the brunt of Best Buy’s sick joke. I will never shop at Best Buy again and I plan on telling everyone our story so that they know to shop elsewhere.
     
Replies
Is this company Scaming us? You be the Judge!
Posted by on
It appears Best Buy has a GREAT SCAM going on (only one can believe after reading other stories online, that they have not been investigated).

My daughter purchased a Compaq-Presario Notebook with Intel Celeron M Processor 440-C509NR online on 2/18/07, (this item could only be purchased online) for a grand total of $465.20. She called me to tell me that she received a confirmation email that the order was received. I then went online to check my checking account and sure enough, within 5 minutes after she had placed the order, the money was placed on hold and would be withdrawn from my account on the next business day (Tuesday 2/20/07 since Monday was a holiday).

The next day, my daughter calls me hysterical asking me if the money was in the account etc. She received a "CANCELLATION NOTICE" (notice was dated 2/19/07, 22 hours AFTER the order was placed and a ORDER CONFIRMATION was received!)

I then went online again and confirmed that there was a $465.20 difference being held against my account and that the money would be withdrawn on the next banking day.

She then called the customer service # and was told that there was nothing that they could do. The order was CANCELLED. She asked to speak to a supervisor and they said she would have to wait 5-6 days (what kind of an answer is that? Do all supervisors go on a Supervisor Vacation in the same week?)

She then called me and I then called Best Buy's Customer Service Department. The girl told me that she could not talk to me since I was not one who purchased the item. I explained that the money was being withdrawn from my account so she better talk to me. I then got my daughter on her cell phone and told her what was going on and said that I needed the phone number that the order was placed under as well as me possibly needing her to allow them to talk to me about the matter. The girl said that it was probably a problem with the card since we used it jointly and she did not enter the proper information in.

I then told her that she had used my card several times before online through Best Buy as well as in the store with no problem before. Also, that my daughter has used her card that she has jointly with her fiancé the same way with no problem.

I was told that I could not get the laptop that we ordered since it was sold out (note that this item was on sale for $100 off the ORIGINAL PRICE and over $100 LESS than other stores). The only thing that she could do was sent it to the Credit Department to get me a credit on my card (I would only EXPECT that to happen since I WAS NOT going to get the laptop that was ordered!).

I then told her that I would be reporting this to the BBB as well as News Stations (ABC, NBC, CBS etc) that I believed that this was a "SCAM".

She told me that she was documenting what I said and would give me a case # and the credit department would give me a credit once they do their normal processing procedures.

I then called the Corporate Headquarters (Best Buy Co., Inc., Corporate Headquarters, P.O. Box 9312, Minneapolis, MN 55440-9312, Phone #
612-291-1000). After speaking to the receptionist and telling her what my plans were to report this issue, she sent me to the corporate customer service rep and after approximately 10 min on hold, she asked me what the problem was. I then explained it and was told there was nothing she could do other than send me back to the main customer service complaint department, since she cannot look up the information on her system. She also told me not to take no for and answer and ask to speak to a supervisor (which I explained my daughter and I both tried that to no avail).

She proceeded to forward me BACK to where I already spoke to. Another 5-10 min go by and a rep who told me that before he let me speak with a supervisor, that may be he could assist me with the problem. I explained what had happened. He said he could not see why it was cancelled but the only thing that could be done at this point was to get a "Comparable" laptop.

I told him that was what we would be willing to do since my daughter NEEDED to replace the one we bought a few years ago from them since it wasn’t working properly (Geek Squad is another issue and just as an FYI DO NOT BUY ANY EXTENDED WARRANTIES FROM THEM GEEK SQUAD DOES NOTHING TO REPAIR THE PROBLEMS AND HOLDS YOUR COMPUTER AS RANSOM FOR MONTHS ON END AND IT COMES BACK IN WORSE SHAPE THAN WHEN IT WENT IN!!!)

He proceeded to tell me the next compatible one was for $100 more. I then said would you want to pay $100 more for something someone told you that you SHOULD HAVE HAD for $100 LESS? To which I received no answer. He told me there was nothing that could be done since the computer we ordered was now given to someone else and the item was "SOLD OUT", and no more could be purchased at the sale price.

I then said I wanted the supervisor and INCISTED to speak to one.

The Supervisor named "Chris" then said he could not understand WHY the order was CANCELED but would forward the issue to the Solution Team and that I should receive a response within 24 Hours. I would be credited the $465.20 back to my account, but would have to wait for a reason.

The answer in my opinion...."Called BAIT AND SWITCH!!" Other companies have done this same thing before and were finally investigated and brought down with heavy fines and jail sentences for the scam!

Just a few weeks ago, they had a laptop on sale in the store for $300+ but only 5 were in each store. The manager's came out and said that there were lines around the door before 5am (well before they opened) of people looking to get the laptop.

The same day, we tried looking online for a laptop that was comparable to that same price, but they were all sold out online, but you could buy one for $500 or more!

Again, this company should be investigated. Reminder, anyone who has a complaint against this company should do exactly what I am planning to do REPORT THEM TO THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU as well as YOUR LOCAL NEWS STATIONS and NEWSPAPER COMPANIES. These places LOVE TO EAT THESE PLACES UP AND SPIT THEM OUT….
     
Replies
Service Nightmares
Posted by on
SOUTH SETAUKET, NEW YORK -- What the heck has happened to Best Buy?! In the last year I have had so many problems with their customer service and tech support. I always buy their stupid service plans on items I buy there and the few times in the past that I needed to use them they were great. Items were fixed or replaced quickly. Well that is not how it works any longer. Below are just the 2 most recent problems I’ve had.

My computer monitor kept turning off every few seconds and I discovered that the RCA jacks on the front of the computer didn't work. The hard drive was also starting to roar loudly and the CD tray wouldn't open. I took it into Best Buys along with my paperwork and they said it would be 2 weeks and not to leave the monitor since it sounds like a problem with the computer and if I leave the monitor I will be charged if they look at it and nothing is wrong with it.

Well 2 weeks go by and I call to check on things only to be told they haven’t looked at it yet. I called again the next week and they say there is nothing wrong with the CD tray and the hard drive is shot but they haven't check the jacks yet. Call again in a week and am told that there is nothing wrong with the hard drive and they still haven't checked the jacks. The next week I finally just went up to the store and sure enough the CD tray will not open but the hard drive isn't roaring. As for the jacks, well they will have to send it out and that can take another month. I told them to forget the jacks and just replace the CD drive and give me my computer. They said they would have to send it out for that as well. Now mind you, if I buy a new drive they will install it while I wait. I ask for a manager and after refusing to leave without seeing one he comes. He finally tells them to just replace the CD now while I wait.

So I got my computer still with RCA jacks that don’t work. I take the computer home and hook everything up and surprise…the monitor kept turning off every few seconds! I unhook everything take the monitor back to the store and get the nice response that they will have to send it out and it will take about a month! Hello Mr. Manager again. Finally he tells them to give me a new monitor. Well you guessed it they do not have that one and I just couldn’t take it any more and accepted the one they offered that while it works, I am not happy with and is inferior to the one I had.

That was a few months ago and now I am battling for them to honor a replacement for a broken cell phone. I bought 2 cell phones last June and I wasn’t going to take out the service plans on them but instead get insurance directly from Verizon. I need immediate replacement if something goes wrong. Well the cute little salesman said that they provide that right in the store and would even handle all the tech stuff for transferring everything over to the new phone. Yep I bit and bought plans for both phones.

Well one of them stopped working. I took it along with the paperwork to Best Buys and they said I had to go to customer service. Customer service informed me that they changed their policy and no longer replace them in the store. After a few arguments they did admit that yes when I purchased them that was the policy but it isn’t now. I gave up left the store and went to the Verizon store. They looked at the phone and said yep it’s busted but they couldn’t help me since I didn’t purchase it there, I called Best Buys Service number only to be told to call back the next day as they couldn’t help me right now. Called the next day, was transferred and then disconnected. Called again and was told that I had to contact Verizon and download the latest software. Can’t do that if the phone is broken. Told the guy I had Verizon already look at the phone and they said it is broken. After arguing this point back and forth and being told I would be charged a fee if I didn’t do that I strongly demanded a supervisor. The supervisor said she was sorry and that she would order a new phone be sent right away. It would of course take 2 to 10 days. I stressed that I couldn’t wait that long but finally gave up. Next I get an email from the company they ordered the phone from saying the order was on hold. I called the company and they said it was on hold because that phone was not available. They could not give me any further information. Called Best Buys again and the supervisor would not return my calls. I actually cried on the phone to get another supervisor who told me that I would have to wait for the other super to call me back in a week. I still haven't heard from her.

At this point I was so pissed I hung-up and looked up the Corporate info for Best Buys. I called and was transferred to…you guessed it…customer service and was told the same thing. I called back and this time asked to file a complaint about CS and not to be transferred to them. I was transferred to the complaint department and gave them an ear full asking them just what the heck has happened to their customer service. I told them about all the problems I have had over the year and while sympathetic they could only file the complaint and not help resolve the phone issue. .

So today I am going to Verizon to buy a new phone and getting a six pack to drown my frustrations!
     
Replies
liability claim
Posted by on
COLMA, CALIFORNIA -- Feb. 6, 2006
To Whom It May Concern:
Subject: Liability Claim against Best Buy Inc.
I purchased a home theater installation deluxe package, sku # 7071848, ROS order # 351345634 on November 9, 2005 from the Best Buy store # 873 located at 200 Colma Blvd. Colma, Calif. 94015, for the sum of $699.99.This was part of a $9,000.00 purchase. It was stated to me, this equipment would be installed by a licensed, and insured professional, in accordance with state regulations and by an ironclad workmanship warranty as stated in their Home Theater Installation FAQs.
During this installation of the equipment, the installer preformed the work unprofessionally, and in an unsafe manner. By cutting out a section of sheet rock from the wall using an electrical circular saw with the blade set to deep, before finding out what is inside the wall, and where the 2 x 4 studs are located. After cutting out several small pieces of sheet rock to find out where the studs are located. He cut through the electrical wiring in the wall and received an electrical shock that rendered him momentarily unconscious. He was unable to complete the installation at this time and had his helper make temporary repairs to the electrical wiring. When repaired and the power restored, the lights started to flicker again and at times go dim in several other rooms. Smoke alarms and other appliances were going on and off or tried to start at this time. You could smell a burned electrical odor threw out the house. I was able to find the burned out items by this odor than rechecked then using the electrical meter to confirm this.
After several failed attempts to correct this problem, I told the installer I would have to leave the circuit breaker off in order to prevent any further damage. I ran extension cords to the rooms without lighting until he could contact an electrical contractor on Monday to make proper repairs. The next day I borrowed an electrical tester, tested the wiring, circuits, and fuses, and found the spliced wiring was not making proper connection. I used jumper wires with clips and attached them to his splices in order to make a better electrical contact to the connection, I phoned the installer to let him know I had found the problem and what I had done. I told him that many items in the house had failed do to the power surges and low voltage conditions caused by his repairs.
Returning five days later, attempts made by the installer again failed to correct this electrical problem. This led to more items and equipment burning out than before. Here is a parcel list, a cordless phone, the third surge protector for a computer, two 21 in. color VCR combo TVs. A garage door opener, a solid-state clock, and an am/fm clock radio, a duel tape deck w/ am / fm radio w/ 5-band graphic equalizer, a wireless IR remote extender along with two dozen low energy light bulbs. Three motion sensing light switches, etc, and now a computer that will not operate correctly. The costs of damages and repairs have not been total or evaluated so far.
Finally, the installer called in an outside electrical contractor to check out the electrical and the damaged wiring. The electrician then asked if they wanted him to repair the cut wires. He was informed by the installer they would take care of the repairs them self. The electrician give the proper wires to the installer, which was not used and instructed him how to make the proper repairs. The repairs made are illegal, unsafe, and will not pass the California electrical building codes. This substandard and unacceptable workmanship can cause damage to life and property if left uncorrected. The electrical contractor the installer called in witnesses this. The installer stated to me he had filled a damage report with their insurance company and their supervisor named Ben, would contact me shortly. He also was to call a computer technician in after he attempted to fix the computer. He did replaced two burned out surge protectors and the store replaced one and gave me credit on another one. This was the last time I had heard from any one else. I called the installer twice and left two messages each time asking when my home theater system will be working and what is happening about the claim for the damages? I also had a friend call and left a message. I than had to call their service dept. @ 1-888-Best Buy to get the third installer out five weeks later, in order to finish up the original installation and get all the components working. This has been one ongoing disaster after another. The completion on Jan. 26, 2006 was 71 days after purchasing the equipment, extended warranties and service contracts from the Best Buy Store in Colma, California.
To this day, I have not had a reply in regarding the damages incurred. I contacted Best Buy Store again on Jan. 18, 2006. After several fail attempts to contact their installer in order to find out who the insurance obligor is, I talked to a very rude and obnoxious store manager. He informed me after he contacted his superiors by phone, that they claim no liability in this matter. The store will not help, the job is complete as far as they are concerned and these problems are my reasonability and I could contact 1-888- Best Buy. With that statement made, he gave me an unpleasant and discussing look, turned his back on me, and walked a way. I think the store managers and installers need to re-read the published installation, service information, and policies of Best Buy Inc.
After several failed attempts to get in contact with the insurance co. using the 1-888 Best Buy number and Customer Service. I am now requesting your assistance in acquiring the names, phone numbers, address, and all necessary information on the insurance obligors in this matter. You may forward this letter to the correct dept; that can help. This information is needed for the purpose in following up on this liability claim report. I can be contacted by E-mail: (dcresta@netzero.net), Phone: # 650-589-4436. Alternatively, mail: @ 119 Sherwood Way, South San Francisco, CA, 94080.
I am demanding Best Buy to replace the burned out items, repair the cut wiring properly to meet the electrical codes promptly before I have to turn this matter over for prosecution and compensation. Best Buy continues to refuse to take responsibility for damages and repairs in this matter. This has been dragging on long enough now. During this time, I have been lied to, misled, insulted, and inconvenienced with incredible hardships unjustly caused by the inexperience and unreliable installers, Best Buy’s Store Managers, along with their unscrupulous business practices, and a lack of an unprofessional attitudes and courteousness that is demonstrated toward their customers. I feel they have fraudulently misled and lied to me, refusing to take reasonability and liability for their installer’s workmanship, and not enforcing and adhering to the published literature describing the type and quality of their home theater system installations.
From a unfairly treated customer,
Mr. David J. Cresta


     
Replies
Best Buy has awful business practices
Posted by on
STOCKTON, CALIFORNIA -- I am disabled and on a fixed low income so when I finally had managed to afford a brand spanking new energy efficient sooper hooty washer and dryer set I thought I had died and gone to heaven. Only problem was they didn’t have it directly in their personal stock but it was “going to arrive to them in just 2 days”. Well heck I am not unreasonable and I could wait the couple days for them to get it to me, besides the shipping day way the middle of the week. In 2 days I called to check on when they would deliver it- it wasn’t in, the factory was lagging. Was told to call back the next day- same, and call back the next day- same and for 2 weeks after that at which point they offered me a $100 refund once they were delivered. It was ANOTHER week after that before they were finally delivered. They are awesome and I love them (the set that is) but that is NOT the end of the story. My tv died 2 days after buying this washer dryer set and I decided to try to afford another around the beginning of the next month.



So I had to deal with the holidays but I called in to see how to get my $100 refund. They said just bring in your receipt and you can have cash or store credit- your choice. So about a week later I go shopping for Tv’s and count on this $100 to go with what I had to afford a tv. Saw something at Circuit City that I wanted..and could afford TWO of no less. I trot over to BB and ask for my refund intending to shop them just to be fair and if they had a comparable deal then I would use the $100 at BB. They told me after I had to track someone down and wait for them to not be busy anymore that I could not use my points which were posted but I hadn’t gotten the paperwork for yet. They tell me (after the girl has an extensive conversation with another girl behind the counter about irritation with their employer and what they might do about it and what they think about it and what their moms and neighbors think about it that they cannot give me the cash they said they would because I had come in past the 30 day mark (remember it took 3 weeks to deliver it and I couldn’t get the refund until it was delivered- I was one day over the 30 days). At this point I am throwing a polite adult fit right in the front of the store where customers are coming in and in a voice that carried (mine does naturally anyway- especially when I am riled) was discussing how this would never work and I was told I could have cash, and how LONG it took to get the washers to me and so on. Finally they say maybe I can get a deal on a tv where I could also use the $100 besides in an attempt to draw me away from the door and the entering customers. They end up telling me I can have $150 off any tv there. Well I am kind of backed into a corner to buy a tv there as I was counting on that money to afford a tv and if I buy a tv there using the $150 off I can well afford to buy the second tv at Circuit City- I can have a tv for the family room AND my bedroom. Well I choose a tv and after 4 employees consulted about my choice with each other for a prolonged period, one brightly comes up with the idea that they should check to see if it is in stock, one scurries to a computer some distance away then they tell me the same “it’s not in our warehouse but it will be here in only a couple days”. I am not falling for that again. So I choose another model that they say they have 6 of at my request to check availability- about 2 hours after I started- they bring it to the front all boxed up and load it into my waiting minivan.



I am no fan of Circuit City but when I walked in at least there was someone there to assist me within a minute who knew straight off when I said I was interested in that particular model that they didn’t have any in their personal stock but would special order it to come in if I wanted it and it would be there in a week or less. At no time did a salesperson have to leave my side to consult with someone else or to run to check a computer. They had their heads together. They made it SO EASY to just spend that ol money with all the info one wanted or needed as soon as it was wanted or needed. I was out of there in less than 10 minutes and they had made their sale.

But that is not even the end.



I get the tv home and unwrapped and on my entertainment center. It is then I notice it has a ding in the top front in the middle and the front is covered with smudges and dirt. This tv has been out of the box before obviously and was repackaged to make it look new and not even well. I am debating about whether to take it back. Maybe this is why they are having a sale on this model because they have 6 with imperfections they want to get rid of and are just failing to tell people they are not really “new new” more like vaguely new. I am afraid that I might get one that looks perfect but that will have something mechanical wrong with it. At least this one works.



I am going to use my reward points on one trip when I get them, I am sure I can find something there that I can use and then I am going to wash my hands of BB and never ever shop there ever again. My extended family (which is extensive) will also never shop there again. I have never been through such a nightmare.



Paula

Stockton, Ca
     
Replies
Ipod Product Replacement Plan- Total junk
Posted on
GREENSBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- Best Buy offers Product Replacement Plans that, while you are fumbling for your cards and cash, sound wonderful because they use the selling line 'you can get a new one for FREE if you have ANY trouble with this product'. This is a total lie.

I went to turn in my iPod Touch (with the receipt from when I purchased the unit), which had a faulty volume button that would turn all the way up if it was bumped just right, and after having my ear drums blown out of my skull, I would have to fumble for the device to access the touch screen in order to turn it down. When I took it to Best Buy to have it replaced (as stated in their replacement plan), they were supposed to have a Geek Squad member check it out and see if it would qualify. A customer service representative (bear in mind, blue shirts, not Geek Squad in any way, shape or form), came to the desk, listened to my complaint about the device, took one look at it, and tossed it back to me. She then proceeded to remove two dollars from the cash drawer, handed them to me, and told me this was a 'refund' on the plan.

Refund? I didn't ask for a refund. I asked for them to repair/replace my iPod like they said they would. She quickly walked away, and no one else would come to talk to me for 5 minutes. The next person that wandered up to that was wearing a blue shirt as well, and asked if I had been helped. I said I kind of had- in which they immediately told me to leave because they were closing the store (at 8 pm... which we all know was a lie). I left in a huff because I was so angry. When I dug up the formal paperwork on the plan, I read that in fact I was covered. Taking it back to the store, I was again told that they couldn't help me and that apparently, my coverage ran out at midnight that day. Once again, they told me to leave because there was 'nothing they could do'.

So, again angry, I called their quality desk at the corporate number. Surely enough, I was correct (again... you can tell this is annoying by this point...). The man that answered (a quality associate) told me to go to the next nearest store (in Winston Salem) and try to get them to replace it. But thanks to the amount of time I had by this point (35 minutes until all stores closed at 10 pm) this was impossible.

Thanks to the slackers at Best Buy, I got jipped out of $50 on a $300 unit replacement plan. I've spent well over $4000 at this store ALONE. You think they would consider the value of their customers more. Apparently, the average citizen is not considered at Best Buy #155- Greensboro.

To preserve your sanity, do not purchase ANYTHING from these people.

They've lost all of my business from here on out.
     
Replies
Best Buy are Crooks and I'm no thief
Posted by on
Here’s a story I hope most people can not relate to. My son went to the Rancho Cucamonga Best Buy this morning to buy a computer. He bought a desk top computer and walked out the door, only to get home, open the box and find it damaged. I witnessed this. I told my son to package it up and return it to the store. He returned to the store and was told the computer he was trying to return was not the computer that they had sold him, not 20 minutes ago. That the computer being returned has the wrong packaging labels and he is trying to return an old computer. This is fraud by Best Buy. They sold a computer to him and now will not except any responsibility for what was in the package. My son bought the computer in good faith and Best Buy clearly is trying to pull a fast one. The General Manager stated there is nothing he can do for my son and asked him to leave the store. He did offer his name and said he would get back to him. This is unacceptable. The General Manager basically said my son is a thief. I immediately called the store to complain and was told by the General Manager not to come down to the store or I would be arrested and removed. Needless to say I went right down. I wanted to return the monitor which was still in the box. I didn’t want to open that box and be stuck with a bogus monitor. I asked to speak to the General Manager and told him right away to” never tell me not to come down to his store” I advised him I was bringing back the monitor that was still boxed and didn’t want to open it being afraid I may be duped again. He was less than concerned. I asked for the name of his boss and the corporate office. After holding for 26 minutes a customer service person advised me that “This happens all the time at Best Buy” and it’s up to the General Manager of the store to decide how to handle. Basically “Buyer Beware”. Best Buy doesn’t care and it’s up to you as the consumer to prove you’re not a crook. My son is out the money for the computer and with no options. We can only hope the General Manager will make this wrong a right. If not, it will be my pleasure to let everyone I come in contact with to know this story. I believe the hard working people of Rancho Cucamonga would like to know the policies of Best Buy. Followed up on next day with the General Manager he explained that he is standing behind his employees and policies, he will do nothing to compensate us. Called Best Buy Corporate office the Customer Relations representative stated they stand behind the General Manager and nothing will be done. Have a nice day. I will be going down to file with Small Claims on Monday. I will do everything in my power to get justice. What ever it takes, it’s the principal. We are not thieves. Best Buy may be a billion dollar company, but I’m one consumer that won’t be scared off by a Goliath.
     
Replies
Charge for antenna
Posted by on
My complaint begins with the radio and antenna installation I had at the Plattsburgh NY store. My daughter bought the radio for her fathers birthday in July. Soon afterward the reception would go in and out especially when it rained. We went back to the store and spoke to the installation person and he said it could be a pinched wire. Since it was installed at the store I thought they should be the one to repair it or put in another antenna. The service person then informed me I would have to buy a new antenna and pay for installation if I could not find my receipt. I told him he should be able to find installation after a certain date (birthday) with purchase of radio. He looked for it and said he couldn't find it in his computer. I finally gave up. The reception finally got to the point where we wouldn't use the $400 radio and the $188 charge for the service at all because of no reception.( it wasn't even two years old). We made a few other trips to the store to find out if there was another answer ( total of 8 trips in all at $4.00 a gallon for gas, in all to date) with another tech. I asked if there was another antenna that we could use and he said that was the only antenna available, so I didn't have an option if we wanted to use the expensive radio. I was told the same thing over again. Finally I got fed up and went again and asked for the Mgr he said that he would take care of the installation and there wouldn't be a charge. I brought the car in and the tech looked at it and said that the antenna case on the top of the car was cracked and water leaked into the inside where the chips were and it was all rusted. He said he had never seen one like this and I said it probably was defected when it was purchased. (since everything comes from China). He said he would install a new antenna and I should not be charged for it. When I got a call that the car was done he informed me that he spoke to the Mgr and he said I would have to pay for the antenna but not the installation since installation is guaranteed and there wouldn't have been a charge any way. Needless to say I was enraged after all I had been through to get this mess straighten out. When I got to the store I asked to see the Mgr. I was fit to be tied as I had made arrangements to have the car picked up as there wasn't supposed to be a charge. The Mgr informed me that (against the technicians recommendation as he has installed other antenna's with different problems and customers weren't charged and they was an unusual situation) I would have to pay for a new antenna. I told him that the store should stand behind the product that they sell, that I had no other alternative but to have this antenna if I was to use the radio that I purchased there. He was very defensive and not very obligating and we were standing in the middle of the store argueing (very unprofessional). He wasn't offering any other alternative other than to uninstall the antenna. I told him this was fine if there was another antenna that I could use with this radio. He said and the tech confirmed, that this was the only antenna that they have and the only one that would work with my radio. The Mgr came on very defensive, didn't know how to diffuse an upset customer, very unprofessional in his attitude and almost to the point of being rude. He then asked what I wanted, I said I should not have to pay for a defected product that your store carries and you should back your product. I would get better refund and adjustment service for a return at Walmart. He argued with me for about 15 to 20 minutes till I was at my wits end. (This is good customer care, I DON'T THINK So!! I guess customer satisfaction is not in their motto). Finally he said again what do you want. I said then if you won't back your product, I have no other alternative but to keep this antenna the least you could do is give me a discount. He then asked like what. I told him at least half off. By then it was the principle of the situation rather than the monetary value, I wasn't looking for anything just what was right from a good customers point of view (my family has spend thousands of dollars in purchases in this store). I thought the reputation of a store was up most with customer satisfaction with sales and service. If he had offered an 20 or 30% discount I probable would have taken it as a sign of good faith but I was really fed up after almost 1/2 hour him on this topic. I don't think I was being unreasonable to ask a store to back their product when there is no other alternative. I really do hope this gets to the District Manager, as I was told by the Mgr the he owned this store (ha! ha!) and there was no one else I could speak to as I had requested this at the beginning of our conversation. I had worked retail for 10 years and learned how to diffuse an angry or upset person and this definitely was not in the book.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >