Preview Review

Next Review

Best Western Hotels Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Unprofessionalism
By -

INDEPENDENCE, MISSOURI -- Had reservations for a 2-bedded smoking room on 11/10/07. Booked the reservation in April. I booked rooms for 8 weekends in the fall for myself and booked also for a friend. At check-in, was given a room with 1 bed and a sofa bed. Management claimed they had informed Best Western International (toll-free reservations center) on 9/16/07 that they were oversold on 2-bedded smoking rooms and had to change my room type. Best Western Int'l has NO record of any such call. My friend also had his rooms switched to 1 bed w/ sofa bed and was also never informed.

I then received a call on 11/11/07 from the hotel stating that my remaining reservations have been cancelled, due to the "incident" on 11/10. My friend received a call on 11/12/07 from the hotel informing him they were going to cancel his remaining reservations because that he has cancelled some of his previously. We book these rooms early to get a favorable rate, and then cancel the ones we don't need once we have firmed up our schedule.

We have the right to cancel the rooms until 4 pm date-of-arrival. The hotel stated that it's too hard for them to get an accurate count if we cancel our rooms. I have been in the hotel industry for almost 20 years, and cancellations are a part of the business. You have the right to cancel a reservation by the time specified unless otherwise informed.

It is outrageous that they would take it upon themselves to cancel reservations because they don't like the fact that prior reservations have been cancelled. Beware! If you're a frequent traveler to the Kansas City, MO/KS area, it's probably best to find a hotel where you can be more assured of having a room held for you, and that it is the correct room type.

Replies
Advertisement
Full Charge at Cancellation
By -

, AUSTRIA -- My complaint is against the Best Western Hotel Erzherzog Rainer. 1040 Vienna, Wiedner Hauptstr 27-29, Austria. T (+43-1-) 501 11 0; F (+43-1-) 501 11 350. On July 27th 2007 I booked one single room for six nights, for September 23rd, 2007. I did it online, through the site BOOKING.COM. At the time of my booking the web-site clearly stated that cancellations prior to two days before the booking date would be free of charge. It was also stated that my credit card would not be charged, and the full amount would only be paid in my arrival at the hotel.

However, as I booked it, for some unknown reason, the date came for August 23rd 2007 and not for September 2007. I then contacted the hotel to change the date (to September) or to cancel my reservation. They said that the hotel was fully booked for September and they charged my credit card for the FULL AMOUNT of six nights, which was 391€. That was when I saw that, at the booking confirmation, a very different cancellation policy was stated: "Cancellation policy: Please note, if cancelled or modified, the total price of the reservation will be charged."

My comment: The hotel placed this crazy "cancellation with full payment" policy only AFTER the booking confirmation. Think with me, what is the point of having this cancellation policy if the full amount is charged anyway? If the hotel wanted to be fair, they should NOT cancel my reservation, so I would be charged BUT the room would be booked and available.

The way they did, I was charged AND the room was canceled. Of course, the hotel booked this room to somebody else and made a cool double profit on my expenses. Is it fair? Is it honest? Then the Hotel offered to me a one-night voucher (written "depending on availability") after charging me for six nights. This is an insult ridiculous and an insult for my intelligence. I wrote emails to BOOKING.COM, the Hotel Erzherzog Rainer and to the Tourism Service Government Agency in Vienna, Austria.

Replies
Very Bad Service
By -

HUBBARD, OHIO -- My mother and I were traveling through Penn. to Ohio. Halfway through Penn. we pulled into a cafe to log on to the net and find a hotel. We came up with Best Western Penn Ohio Inn & Suites which was right in Ohio. The website said that the hotel allowed pets. Arrived at the hotel and checked in. Then entered through a side door with our mini daschund because it was more convenient.

The next morning my mother noticed an extra 20 dollar charge on our bill. I wondered why, or how they charged us for that when they didn't even know we had a pet. I noticed that all of the halls had security cameras. I went to the desk clerk to ask about the charges. She then accused me of "SNEAKING" in a pet. First of all, how am I sneaking in a pet if the website says they allow pets? Second why are they using cameras for spying on guests when they are supposed to be for security? When I asked the clerk about this she LAUGHED at me.

Is it common practice for Best Western to randomly charge people without notifying them? Would it have been so hard for them to confront me about it instead of flat out accusing me of SNEAKING??? Why did she have to be so rude? Why falsely advertise that you allow pets when all your are going to do is treat the guests that bring them like common criminals?

I am irate at the treatment we received here. This is not what customer service should be like. It seems though that more and more hotels feel they can treat their customers however they please, as long as they are making a buck. I can assure you though I will never grace the halls of a Best Western ever again.

Replies
Poor Treatment by Management
By -

MOBERLY, MISSISSIPPI -- I have family that lives in Higbee, Missouri and for several years a large group of my family goes down and gets rooms at Best Western in Moberly, Missouri. This is an annual trip we make on our way down to Lake of the Ozarks for our vacation. On July 27th 2007 we planned our stay and as always allowed the kids to swim in the pool while we visited and monitored them from the patio area. We were well aware the pool closed at 10:00 pm and had no problems having our kids get out so the manager could lock the gates, again a regular routine for us for many years.

In the past stays we have always remained sitting at the tables in the patio area and continued our visit. NOT THIS YEAR, the night manager told us we all had to go to our rooms, she was unprofessional and downright rude. We decided to go sit by our vehicles and continue our visit as we did not want to try to pile into one small room, thought it could be disturbing to other customers in rooms surrounding ours. Well she came by with the security officer and told us we HAD TO GO TO OUR ROOMS.

Now while we were out by our vehicles I notice other customers carrying their lawn chairs and heading behind a garage that was sitting in the field. I spoke to them and they too said they were being sent to their rooms and thought it was crazy the way they were being treated. I have never stayed at a hotel were I had been treated like such a criminal or a prisoner at a lock down.

I am going to recommend my family stay next door at the HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS from this day forward. I will no longer recommend this place to any of my family or friend who also like to go to visit my brother in Missouri. I hope they realize the impact of customers they probably lost that night from poor management treatment. We have a large family event (wedding) coming up in June of 2008 down in Missouri and I will start telling people now to go to Holiday Inn and avoid the Best Western.

Replies
Advertisement
Flooded Room and Rude Employees
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CARPINTERIA, CALIFORNIA -- I arrived at our hotel and checked in. They gave me a room that was already occupied. There was a couple lying in bed watching TV. They gave us another room on the first floor and at 2:30 am the second floor bathroom flooded. Water was entering through the light fixtures and running down the walls flooding the carpet. The next day maintenance brought in large noisy fans to dry out the mess. They would not give us another room. Our key cards had to be changed 3 times. Someone in the room next to us was playing the violin after midnight and to finish it off, the front desk employees were rude as if I was disturbing them. I will not recommend them to anyone.

Replies
Worst Hotel Stay Ever!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MCGEE, MISSISSIPPI -- I stopped there on my way to a larger town due to bad weather and it was close to the interstate. BAD MISTAKE. As with many motels/hotels now-a-days, the staff can't speak good English (SONIL INC is the owner), but that was not that big of a deal. After I got to sleep I was woken about 11 pm with the sounds of slamming doors and kids screaming and running up and down the hallway.

I finally called the front desk and complained with no luck. I was woken two more times and I continued to report this without ANY help at all. The night clerk was totally a waste of time, said there was nothing he could do, if I would have been running up and down the hallways they would have kicked me out. Therefore at 12 pm (midnight) I packed up and went downstairs and checked out and drove in the blinding rain for over an hour to where I got another room and finally got to bed at 2 am. I am complaining to their corp office. I WILL NEVER stay there or any other BEST WESTERN EVER AGAIN!!!

Replies
Bedbugs!
By -

My husband spent two nights at this hotel. Once for a one day layover and the other for 6 hours prior to boarding a plane to return home. On the 6 hour stay to catch some sleep he was eaten alive by bugs and returned home with 80% of his body covered with bites. He has been to the doc who confirmed bed bugs.

I contacted the hotel to advise and when I received a call back was patronized, and treated as though this complaint was frivolous. I was advised that they had a very strict policy, that they checked the room and that if I was really persistent they would return his room for the night but that was because they were being nice, not because he was eaten alive which still hasn't happened, by the way.

I was advised that perhaps it was the hotel he stayed at the other ten nights. I attempted to explain that in those 10 days he was not bitten once and arrived at this hotel without any bites. I was advised that bites can come out 14 days after a person has been bitten and I must be mistaken!!!

I was asked several times whether or not I was happy to be called back and if calling me back to advise the room was checked was satisfying enough... There was no concern, no compassion and definitely did not care that this complaint had come in. We travel numerous times a year and the majority of those are to third world countries, where we have never come across bedbugs or attitudes such as the one I dealt with. Don't go!!! Best Western won't deal with your complaints!!!

Replies
Horrible Customer Service
By -

WENATCHEE, WASHINGTON -- Our softball team has been staying at the Best Western Chieftain for the last 16 years. EVERY YEAR for 16 years. Ten - 12 rooms for 2 nights. This year we arrive and are told that we are not allowed to have any type of can beverage, plastic bottle beverage of any kind out by the pool. We are playing softball and relax by the pool between games.....now we can't drink Gatorade, or have a cold beer in a can. We are all for NO GLASS by the pool. But to tell us we can't even have Gatorade or plastic water bottles is INSANE!

We will never stay at that hotel again, and will never recommend the Best Western Chieftian Inn in Wenatchee, WA. On top of that the two employees didn't care that we were taking ten rooms of business away and stated it had always been the policy... I have been going there for 16 years and it has NEVER been the policy.

Replies
Advertisement
Dirty Room
By -

BEND, OREGON -- My wife and I stayed at the Best Western in Bend, Oregon. They refused to change the sheets even after we left a note. We contacted the front desk additionally and requested that they change the sheets on the bed. They would not change the sheets. They would not relocate us to a comparable room. They wouldn't even give me clean sheets that I offered to put on myself! We checked out at 6:54 PM and they did not credit us for the room and the manager still has yet to contact me regarding the situation even though I was told she would do so. We did find a FANTASTIC room at the AMERITEL Inn and highly recommend it! Fantastic room and wonderful staff!

Replies
Dirty Rooms
By -

MADRAS, OREGON -- My wife and I decided to go away for a week so a friend suggested you should try the casino at warm springs. So we did. We made our bookings at the Best Western Madras Inn. First night was OK, but from then on things got worst.

Our sheets were dirty. The bathroom smelled of pee. There was no toilet paper put in after a roll was finished. We told the front desk clerk but she did not seem interested so I ask to talk to the owners but they were out of town. All she could do was give us another room but to our disgust it was the same except this time the sheets and top blanket had dirty dog hairs on them so that was it. We just left never to return. If you decide to book in the motel make sure all is to your liking and everything is cleaned.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Best Western Hotels Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 8 ratings and
60 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Best Western Hotels
20400 N. 29th Ave.
Phoenix, AZ 85080
602-957-4200 (ph)
623-780-6858 (fax)
www.bestwestern.com
Compare Hotels/Motels