Betrolli

1 reviews & complaints.

Bertolli Frozen home Entrees, Good!
Posted by on
Ordinarily, we don't cook much at home. We're on the go, with work, online transactions, running the boy back and forth to daycare between two high octane occupations. Tonight, I was saddled with "KP" duty, and reached into the freezer and dragged out a BERTOLLI (frozen) Chicken Florentine and Farfalle frozen bag dinner for two.

I must say I was skeptical at best. The net weight didn't seem particularly impressive, though the photo on the bag did. I emptied the contents, as directed, into the non-stick skillet but seemed "underwhelmed" with the ingredients. The photo of the product on the back looked impressive, so I was hopeful. The chicken amounts were spartan.

I heated it per directions, simple enough on my stainless, high-end gas range, hoping for the best, but doubting to impress. We were actually surprised.

The product is described as a "dinner for two," which I would say is accruate. And at about 3 bucks and change per portion, that is a fair amount. The real surprise is that the Chicken Florentine and Farfalle was really pretty good. I'm not going to say it tops what you get at a high-end italian restaurant. But I will say, on a night you don't have time to prepare a decent meal for yourself, and your super-model wife on a week-night basis, this product is way above average.

The pasta, cooked to directions was supple, yet retained shape and consistency. The sauce, sort of "alfredo" was rich and buttery. Throw in the slight amount of chicken bits - which could have been more robust, and the eye appealing spinach and you have a really good "take it home - and make it in a bag" entree.

I've yet to try the other varieties. But, considering the convenience, price and flavor, as a Trusted Advisor for this website, I'd have to recommend this Bertolli frozen entree as a "thumbs up" product!

(tr)
     
Read 45 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
glc on 10/16/2006:
Pirate: I've seen these in my local supermarket, but hesitated buying, because I thought (as you say) the chicken would be a very small portion. So,I'll try it (as you say it is good)...and add my own chicken.
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
Yep, not a bad deal, I'm hear to advise, I say "OK"
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
(here)
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
I've been wanting to try these meals, as well. Thanks for the review, PwP!
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
Good review pirate!
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
Did you cook the chicken till it was done?
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
(spinach) Nice desciptive review once I got through all of the personal parts of it. Do we need to know about your stove, appearance of your wife, occupations? I think not. Chicken sprinkles?
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
Guess they don't serve fare like this at your homeless shelter, eh zork?
spiderman2 on 10/16/2006:
While you cooked dinner for you and your super-model wife (I thought they didn't eat?) on your stainless steel high end gas range, what did you kid eat or was this between running him back and forth to daycare?
Is this for real?
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
I was describing my our busy lifestyle, not a minute by minute account. He's strictly a PB&J man. Yep, it's for real.
Slimjim on 10/16/2006:
Glad you made sure you mentioned the hot wife and kick-butt stove cause we all see how important that was to this chicken dish tale. A guy who seems to eat nothing but frozen chicken dinners and lives on a gripe site has a "high end" stove and super model wife? Two high octane careers and he won't buy soda from a machine cause it's 3 cents more and argues over a $20 watch battery? You're right ZZ, outside of living off what's in the freezer, this whole fiction yarn is some attempt to look important to a bunch or people he doesn't even know. You need help pirate.
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
Yeah? Then why don't you help out by performing a disappearing act, troll!
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
Hey pirate, sometimes it's too easy, isn't it?
Slimjim on 10/16/2006:
Stew, what exactly is the point of making this story up that we should be impressed with?
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
A rare error for me Sir pirate, but I do know how to spell SPINACH! Tell all of M3C about your obsession with Lloyd's frozen BBQ pork in a BUCKET okay, Mr. 5 star diner?
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
I wanted to try the Eddie's pizza somebody was talking about yesterday but my store doesn't have them. Maybe somebody if we get Albertson's :P
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
Z and slumjum, any dining, fine or not that I may enjoy, has to be far and away above your sparrow on a stick - okay hobos?
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
I beg to differ my friend. Perhaps you and the Misses may try spending more time in the kitchen and with the young lad. Less time on here is always good for a "jet-setter" like you.
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
Sorry, but I've been requested to write here on a weekly basis.
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
Liar!
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
Hey amaniR! I carefully picked out your comment from among the mudslinging. What is Eddie's pizza?
DebtorBasher on 10/16/2006:
On a weekly basis...or on a weakly basis? (Sorry boss, but you made me say it)...I was actually getting into that review thinking it's something I'd like to try...but I don't have a super model wife or a stainless steel stove...do you think they will still allow me to try it Pirate??? Let me know what you think because I do value your advise.
DebtorBasher on 10/16/2006:
Advice!
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
LOL, DB!! I, for reasons unknown, also do not have a supermodel wife, or, a stainless steel stove. Maybe 'cause I'm a woman and am married to man, cooking with a used gas stove. Hmmmmm...does that make me less perfect? I think you or I should try it, when it's on sale, of course.
Anonymous on 10/16/2006:
emt c thanks for seeing me! :) It was on a review about pizza (might have been Pirate's I will have to look back) but somebody said Eddie's frozen pizza from Albertson's is very good and tastes just like New York Pizza. I looked for it but no joy, I will have to stick to Mama Lucia's frozen pizza. Dang this one horse town! :P
Slimjim on 10/17/2006:
Pirate, what is this now, the third news breaking review you've done here on frozen fowl dinners? Why not mix it up a little with you and Cindy Crawford maybe doing a piece on Steak-ums for a change. I hear they only grill up well on white high end gas ranges though.
tander on 10/17/2006:
I'll have to try that on my high end electric stove and my uniformed man standing by for support..*LMAO*
tander on 10/17/2006:
Pirate you should write for a magazine or newspaper, your very good!!
Anonymous on 10/17/2006:
Someone is trying to steal your post pwp....................
Short Cuts, Pre-Made, Frozen, ... but Delicious! clip this post email this post what is this?see most clipped and recent clippings
Posted by shaun (My Page) on Wed, Jun 14, 06 at 8:43Sherry's thread on getting kicked off the CF made me wonder about this! I know I've been on that roller coaster ride of life and I've made pre-made food purchases that I doubt I would have ever tried had I not been short on time or interest and was pleasantly surprised! A couple of items I've tried in the past 2 weeks is Country Crock Maccaroni and Cheese AND the Country Crock Mashed Potatoes. Holy Paula Deane! I've never had better macc n cheese in my life. I swear. And the potatoes, they were creamy and just delicious! Talk about easy? They're already cooked, just heat and serve. Oh and I bought a package of Publix Chicken Gravy (just add a cup of cold water and heat to boiling then simmer) ..... I sliced up a rotisseried chicken and put it on soft bread, heated up those Mashed Potatoes and smothered it all with chicken gravy. Better than any diner food you've ever had. (that is, if you like diner food - I know I do!) You know what else is very good? Bertolli Frozen Meals. It comes in a bag and all you do is heat it up in a skillet and it's quite good too! So what have you bought and made lately that is ever so good and no one would ever guess you hadn't made it with all fresh ingredients in your own kitchen? http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/cooking/msg0608432322440.html?30
Anonymous on 10/17/2006:
I would have to concur tander but only if YOU'RE the proofreader!
Anonymous on 10/17/2006:
That's funny, coming from Zork!
Slimjim on 10/17/2006:
It sounds like you couldn't wait to get the kid and Kristie Brinkley out of the house so you could have a little private time with those buttery and supple noodles. I guess the curtains had to be closed once al dente was reached.
Anonymous on 10/17/2006:
Slim, are you sure that you don't mean Kristy Allie? Nonstick Skillet, pirate? Impressive!
Slimjim on 10/17/2006:
The Fat Actress version Kristie. How do we know this super model is a lady? Fabio has a very high octane career you know.
Anonymous on 10/17/2006:
*high octane laughter* Remember when ol' Fabs ran into that bird (parrot?) on the amusement ride?
Slimjim on 10/17/2006:
Yeah, Fab's kind have been making a comeback lately. I would have thought those token appearances would have at least fetched enough for the Pirate's to be able to throw a steak on their black high end charcoal Weber once in a while- and feed their kid too. BTW, we're both screwing her name up. It's Kirstie.
Anonymous on 10/18/2006:
You're right.
Anonymous on 10/19/2006:
Slim, you're obviously a closet queen. Zork, you're a pathetic toadie.
Slimjim on 10/19/2006:
And your obviously someone who made up a laughable life around a boring tale of frozen chicken to impress a bunch of strangers so they'll put you on their trusted lists. Pathetic isn't even strong enough.
Anonymous on 10/20/2006:
What is pathetic is you can't discern the difference between "you're" and "your," jughead.
Slimjim on 10/20/2006:
Hmm, a super model wife, getting late, kid's asleep, what would any sane pirate be doing? Correcting typos on my3cents of course.
Anonymous on 10/20/2006:
Fixing your errors is a fulltime job.
Slimjim on 10/20/2006:
So that's your high octane career? What's hers, being the magazine cover in your bathroom?
Anonymous on 10/25/2006:
You might be surprised.
Anonymous on 10/27/2006:
I like the Bertoli's Bacon Cheeseburger!
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >