Bill Me Later - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 29 ratings and
79 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Deceptive Advertising - Bait and Switch
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MANCHESTER, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- I have had two bad experiences with Bill Me Later and hope to never do business with a company like this again. They are clearly a corrupt organization who uses deceptive advertising and Bait and Switch tactics to lure their customers in and then screw them out of as many fees and as much interest as they can.

I don't want to go into much detail because I have written so many complaint letters on the internet, my fingers are sore, but rest assured, this company, WebBank, is deceptive and corrupt. They even tried to claim that it was Tiger Direct who should have honored the deferred interest financing. How ridiculous is that! More appropriate is "Bilk Me Later".

     
Replies
Bill Me Later..And Later...And Later
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I will add to the reviews of Bill Me Later and their lack of Customer Service and their commitment to steal from their customers. I had moved from an address 2 years from the time I was contacted by their "collection" department. I had made a purchase 6 months prior...they were "supposedly" sending me statements, which I never received b/c I had not lived at the address for 2 years. I find it very hard to believe that they made any timely attempt to contact me. My purchase was through EBAY/PAYPAL, who in their right mind would think that if you purchased something and you had all your correct info in it that they wouldn't fix theirs or even that they HAD the correct info the entire time. But instead they waited until I had accumulated $40 in int. & $54 in late fees to "try" to find me.. REALLY.... THAT'S THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE THEY HAD TO OFFER... Thank you "Screw Me Later" I have closed my account and I am going to hit EVERY review I can to make sure everyone knows what POOR business practices they offer.

Thank you...

     
Replies
Awesome to Use
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

I have been using Bill Me Later and I have had no problems, They have not added any unwanted fees to my account or anything, this is a legitimate credit worthy account for you just be sure and read the small print and yes you can pay by credit card but you have to specify electronic billing or by mail billing had a problem with that in the beginning but was corrected promptly upon my inquiry about that, It is not a scam read every contract for credit slowly and thoroughly, I am not a dissatisfied customer of Bill Me Later and I do not take kindly to scams or anyone who tries and scam anyone so believe me when I say they are legit.

     
Replies
Will Wait and See
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

VANCOUVER, WASHINGTON -- It looks like they have pulled a bait and switch with me. I opened up a bill me later account with the midset that I would only use it for one purchase at a time and would only use the six months same as cash option. Basically, like my own personal layaway.

It was no problem with the first item, a ukulele, which I paid off in full around two months after I purchased it. The day I paid off the Ukulele, I also purchased a pair of shoes, ON SIX MONTHS SAME AS CASH FINANCING. You can most likely tell what the issue is. I hadn't looked at the account for two months and my wife said we got something in the mail about pay my bill or be sent to collections. I called and they stated that the item was not a promotional item and that instead of owing 89.96 I owed $ 156.00 due to late fees. Of course the first person I talked with was happy to take off the last financing charge if I paid in full.

Nope, asked for a supervisor, which I did get. She stated that the item would be put up for review which is currently in the works. I told her I would call her next Wednesday to see what they found out. If they jack me around, I will probably get some fees waived, pay it in full, and then ask for a written copy of the dispute, hang up the phone and call the attorney general for my state to be added to the list of people against Bill me later. I will also cancel my PayPal account. No use in dealing with anyone associated with Billmelater.

     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Bill Me Later never sent me an invoice for the amount I owed them. Months later, when I finally did receive one, there were 2 months worth of late fees on there. I called them, and the operator I spoke with told me the late fees would be waived if I paid the amount owed. I did. Now three months later, they are sending me invoices saying I owe late fees for not paying the late fees. I have tried communicating with them via email, since I don't trust them on the phone, and every response I get is from a no reply email address. They call me constantly, my stance hasn't changed. How can you charge someone late fees for a bill not sent? I am turning this over to my states attorney general.

     
Replies
Bill Me Later Does Not Honor Promotional Financing Offered Online on Website
By -

TIMONIUM MARYLAND -- I made a purchase on adorama.com over the required amount of $500 to get No Payments for 6 months through Bill Me Later, where I've had an account for a couple of years. Bill Me Later refused to honor the promotional financing offered, instead putting my purchase through as a standard purchase. After promising to 'investigate" they did not resolve my complaint nor allow me to speak to a supervisor, insisting no 'managers' are available, and I would get a phone call which has not happened. Instead of No Payments for 6 months Bill Me Later put my purchase through as a standard purchase at a staggering 25.99% interest rate -- a classic Bait and Switch technique. They claim since I checked out using Bill Me Later through PayPal I was not entitled to the terms on the Bill Me Later website. Of course, there is not mention of that anywhere when I checked out using Bill Me Later. I will have to balance transfer this amount onto a reputable credit card company after having closed my Bill Me Later account. These people provide no customer service and will not help you after they have deceived you. There is currently a class action suit pending. It appears Bill Me Later is a subjective term and customers should be warned, "We'll bill you when we feel like it and you can't do anything about it."

     
Replies
Bill Me Later Late Fees
By -

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- Complaint Description:
In August of 2009, I made the required payment to my account. then at the end of August 2009, I set up automatic payments through my bank, which made my next payment. It was received a couple days early so the computer did not include it for the next month, September. I made my October payment at the end of September, November payment at end of October, Etc... Since it was done automatically I was unaware of the late fees that were being attached. I called on December 29 2009 and was told to send a letter in to their fax, 443-921-1996. I did so and received no reply. Called again on 1/16/10, was told same thing. Faxed again, no reply. 1/26/10 spoke with Debbie, refunded 1 late fee, refused rest, I asked for a manager, was told no and hung up on.

Called back and was transferred to Matt Benson, Supervisor in collections, He made another refund of 1 late payment, but refused rest, and would not let me speak to his supervisor. Called back again and left message for Supervisor to call me. Christine called me back and informed me there was nothing she could do. Refused to give me next supervisors number but said she was Gia and I left message for her to call and she never did. Christine acknowledged fax was received. I sent one on 12/29/09, 1/16/10, 1/26/10.

Called again on 2/2/10 and left message for Supervisor Seth to call, no response. My account is paid in full minus late fees/finance charges for late fees, and they have received a payment for every month without fail, even early, but they refuse to correct this and sent me a bill for $109.92. I called today and was told nothing could be done, refused to give me a supervisor and was told to make another Written request to remove the fees they charged me du to their acknowledged mistake.

     
Replies
Bill You? Heck, We Won't Even Give You Credit!
By -

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- I have been a BML customer since May 2007. My first purchase was about $400. I promptly paid it off before my deferred payments ran out. Since then, I've increased the amount of my purchase and then paid off my balance in full before the deferred payment timeline ran out. My largest and most recent approved purchase was in the $1200 range. All went fine, and I recently was happy to pay it all off, before my deferred payment timeframe ran out.

Wanting to pick up an anniversary gift for my hubby, and still anticipating my tax refund, I used my BML account on a purchase at newegg.com. The total purchase was just below $500. I was declined. I was really taken aback. I then put the purchase back through for a bit less than $400 and was again declined.

Bill Me Later has the right to decline a transaction for any reason, and I understand that. But this is TERRIBLE service. They are making money hand over fist, as they should be, but not treating their customers with respect or valuing their business. There's no reward for being a repeat customer, and in the past they have said on their site and through customer service that they review your BML history in relation to every credit decision. Well, not in my case.

While I can't prove it, I have a feeling that I have been declined simply because, over the past 2 years of being a client, they've not made a dime from me on interest. Asking Bill Me Later yields only this reply: You tried to purchase something too expensive, lower your purchase amount. Or: It's the economy. Neither of which make sense if, indeed, your overall relationship with BML is taken into account and is positive.

Customer Service will not help, mo matter how nice (or angry) you become by their inability answer even basic questions. You will only get boilerplate responses and form email replies. And if you call, don't be surprised if you hear what sounds like a party going on in the call center.

Based upon my experience - I would advise against using Bill Me Later. Use your credit card or debit card, get points and know exactly your credit limit and how the rules work. Let your credit card company report your good behavior to the credit bureaus, as Bill Me Later won't do that for you - and they really don't care about service. The poor service alone makes the extra few months to pay something off completely not worth it.

     
Replies
Bill Me Later = Bill Me Forever
By -

SPRINGFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS -- Bill Me Later (i.e. I4 or "Idiots 4ever") may be one of the worst-run organizations since the Soviet bloc collapsed. Here is my saga with this Citi, Chase, CIT, I4, etc.-backed loanshark.

I bought a GPS from OfficeMax on 11/26/2006 and opened up a Bill Me Later account at that point. Product was $229.99, $241.99 after MA tax/shipping.

I returned the item and OfficeMax (a great company) immediately issued a credit for the full amount ($241.99), including shipping and tax. Outstanding service on their part.

OfficeMax told Bill Me Later about this credit to my account, but Bill Me Later decided to start adding late fees. This is despite the fact that the only product I ever bought on their service was returned for a full refund.

Yet the Bill Me Later braintrust could not resist billing me late payments and interest ON late payments and interest. I called and asked what purchase I was late on paying and they went "Well, Sir, I's thinks this a problem." Could we speak some regular English, please? Anyhow, a rep took off everything and brought it down to a $0 balance (as required by the credit agreement).

So I got another bill with ANOTHER late fee and interest after this was supposedly fixed. I called a rep and was told that the notes showed I was correct and this should be fixed. So the rep again took off the charges and offered to close the account.

Yet ANOTHER bill arrived with MORE charges. I finally asked to talk to a supervisor who again took off all the charges. She said that this would be the end of the matter and apologized.

SO, now, over a year later, Bill Me Later has once again aced its SATs by putting me into collection with Penncro and Associates. I almost laughed when I called Penncro and found out that Bill Me Later was after me for $120 or so. The Penncro person asked for proof of the return and I had OfficeMax fax it right over (they seem to be the only ones who cared about the customer).

The Penncro rep also suggested that I deal with Bill Me Later directly. Fair enough. So I called them up and Bill Me Later's work-release staff told me that there was nothing they could do because the account was charged-off. I talked to a supervisor who said the same thing. She didn't know where her boss was at the moment, so I couldn't go any higher. I said "So you initiated the collection but you can't stop it?". They said yes and agreed that I didn't owe anything. But they didn't offer to contact Penncro and said that they had no access to my account. They told me to contact Penncro again... just circles and runarounds.

I checked my credit report and there is an inquiry from Penncro a few months ago. Great. Now the remedial reading staff at Bill Me Later is going to affect my credit score too.

These Bill Me Later fools wouldn't talk to me about my account? Yet they send a collection agency after me without being able to review my account? They had a collection agency call me at home, so I called up their entire Executive Board at their private office lines and left voicemails. If you call me at home, expect the same in return if you are in the wrong. Oh, the internet is a wonderful thing.

I have an attorney who says that I'm on rock-solid ground. I have documentation that cannot be disputed. I will do whatever it takes to get this straightened out and to ensure that everyone knows how Bill Me Later has misbehaved. It's always good to know the producer of a major network news magazine.

Bill Me Later promised to fix my account three times and all three were lies. Now they are trying to collect based on an order that was returned. The merchant is on my side! I gave the Nobel laureates at Bill Me Later so many chances to resolve this... they only have themselves to blame.

I have spent so much time on this that could be spent on other things. Now I see that I may be paying higher interest rates due to their credit inquiry. How do you spell L-I-A-B-L-E? Maybe I come across as harsh, but what did I do wrong? I ordered something, followed the return policy (which the merchant gladly honored), got a credit, and moved on with my life. Maybe I should have sent a babysitter over there to keep an eye on my account. You can't mess with people's credit and expect them to take it sitting down. They should send me a $500 for the trouble.

If you think that this is as big of a scam as I do, give their CFO a call at (443) 921-1900 x. 1922

     
Replies
Not Bill Me Later Run Through Your Checking Anyway
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have had satisfactory use of Bill Me Later in past. My balance was paid in full. Attempted to use at Christmas and payment was run through my bank account instead. Attempted again and once again ran straight through my account. I called customer help and my only advice was to send package back and attempt to again use Bill Me Later. I don't think so. If I wanted to run the payment through my account I would have done so and not chose the Bill Me Later tab. Closing my account with Bill Me Later because it's just not worth the mix up.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >