Black & Decker Power Tools

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
2.0 out of 5, based on 2 ratings and
5 reviews & complaints.
www.blackanddecker.com

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Black and Decker Dragster - More Time Adjusting Than Sanding
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
TOWSON, MARYLAND -- I purchased new the Black and Decker Dragster, 3x21" belt sander to remove old paint from the stairs to my deck. The belt required constant adjusting to keep the belt on track. I spent more time trying to keep the belt from hitting the edges of the sander than I did sanding. If the belt is not kept on track, the sander eats (destroys) the belts. I went through 10 belts trying to sand the steps to my deck! Not sure what the function of the bag is. I did not get any sawdust in the bag. Since the bag port is not a standard size (it is not even round) it cannot be hooked up to a vacuum.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Black and Decker products? Be Careful Consumers!
Posted by on
Two weeks ago I purchased a Black and Decker product from my local CVS store in California. Brand-new, out of the box it wouldn't work. I felt reassured that at least it had a two year warranty, and was a "name brand". I was shocked when I phoned the Black and Decker service center in Texas, and they told me that since the item had been manufactured three years earlier, and had been discontinued by Black and Decker, they could not honor the warranty for repair or replacement. I informed the service-center manager [snip] that it was not legal for Black and Decker to claim "no responsibility", and not honor their warranty just because they discontinued the item, particularly because I had just purchased it two weeks prior (& had my receipt). She then gave me a local Black and Decker service-center phone number in California, where the representative ("Dave") informed me that because the item was discontinued by Black and Decker, "I was out of luck", and there was nothing they could do.

Beware consumers! Black and Decker is setting new precedents in skirting their legal responsibilities regarding honoring their product-warranties. It seems that since the volume of complaints are so high regarding Black and Decker products, not much attention is being paid to this negligence on Black and Decker's part, (and who has the time and money to bring a "breach of warranty" case to court, for a $50. item?)

After this experience I will never again have confidence in the Black and Decker name, and I urge you to consider researching consumer-complaints about this company's service, before purchasing Black and Decker products.

Tom Whitaker, Encinitas California
     
Read 14 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Skye on 2010-06-07:
Do you think CVS would have done a refund for you?
tnchuck100 on 2010-06-07:
"Brand names" are meaningless today. They have all been sold to corporations that are hard to determine who they actually are.

From a legal standpoint they are obligated to honor the warranty. But forcing them to do so through the courts is an expensive, time consuming proposition. They are banking on the fact you will not push the issue and just go away.
GenuineNerd on 2010-06-07:
Is this a small appliance or a power tool? I know that years ago, Black & Decker took over General Electric's small appliance divisions...most likely things have changed since then...I'm starting to see GE-brand small appliances again at Walmart and other stores. Perhaps this defective item was made by an unknown Chinese company that bought the rights to use the Black & Decker name. I do agree about the fact that "brand names are meaningless today". Companies that you never heard of would buy the rights to a brand name and attach it to cheap Chinese-made products. That is a problem, especially if the brand name had a reputation for high quality in the past. Bell & Howell and Polaroid are other examples of products that had their reputations cheapened by selling their name to other companies. Considering that the product was defective out of the box, maybe CVS should have refunded your money.
Weedwhacked on 2010-06-07:
"I informed the service-center manager Anita Phillips that it was not legal for Black and Decker to claim "no responsibility", and not honor their warranty just because they discontinued the item, particularly because I had just purchased it two weeks prior (& had my receipt)."

Where did you get your legal advice when you informed of this? If it was true you wouldn't have any reason to write this complaint as they would have honored the warranty. Did they?
PepperElf on 2010-06-07:
I agree, I would say don't assume a warranty is in place unless you actually read it.

Though you should also remove the employee's full name
Skye on 2010-06-07:
Please note: This is a forum for consumer reviews on companies and their products and services. Please do not post personal reviews regarding individuals, or post names of individuals within your review.

*Posted from My3cents rules and regulations*
Anonymous on 2010-06-07:
What a hose job. Yeah, I'd try to take it back to CVS for a refund.

I'm going to lodge a complaint against AT&T since every so ofter they toss a book on my doorstep full of people's names, addresses and phone numbers. Don't they realize how dangerous that is. *rolls eyes*
Venice09 on 2010-06-07:
Since you just bought it and have the receipt, I don't understand why you didn't return it to the store instead of contacting the manufacturer. Maybe you can exchange it for another one that will actually work. That would be a lot quicker than waiting for some resolution from the company. Either way, I do think B&D should stand behind its products. They should have offered you some kind of solution.
Skye on 2010-06-07:
You can roll your eyes all you want Stew, this is admins rules and their site.

Sheriffs Uncle on 2010-06-07:
Venice, I wondered the same thing. If you can return a working product within 30 days, why not one that isn't working?
Venice09 on 2010-06-07:
Sheriff, my first course of action is always to go back to the store. Just the thought of trying to contact a company makes me cringe. I don't know what CVS' return policy is, but certainly they must take back merchandise that doesn't work, especially within the return period and with a receipt. That's why I shop locally whenever possible.
Sheriffs Uncle on 2010-06-07:
I know when you buy from some online companies, your recourse from day one is the manufacturer, but I always though a retail store would take back a defective product within the return period.
Sheriffs Uncle on 2010-06-07:
Stew, your eyes will freeze that way if you don't quit it.
picklemetimbers on 2010-06-09:
Follow-Up... Thanks for sharing your comments Skye and Venice. I did (finally) get to CVS, and they were very gracious about giving me the option to return or exchange. However my intent in writing this was simply to warn other consumers about how Black and Decker handled the problem. I sincerely hope that big companies don't continue to be negligent in honoring warranties, and apathetic about customer-service. Yes, CVS did the right thing in this case, but the manufacturer of the faulty product was supposed to be responsible, and they refused to be. I worry that younger consumers are simply "accepting" sub-standard (or negligent) standards like the way Black and Decker handled this particular problem. When many consumers share information with each other, and then "vote with their wallets" by what they purchase, and who they purchase from,... then the quality companies will prosper, and the negligent companies will (eventually) lose their market-share. I really appreciate consumer sites like "my3cents.com" (and others) who make it possible for consumers to network and assist each other. Thanks! Tom
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Unsafe Tool Box Handles
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
My wife picked up my Black and Decker tool box and the handle broke causing the box to land onto her foot causing injury. I attempted to write Black and Decker my complaint on their web site complaint line but it fails to submit. I've tried it numerous time on two different computers. The handle, in my opinion, is not engineered properly to be safe. I have looked at new Black and Decker toolboxes only to find that I cannot trust the safety of them either. Therefore, I will not purchase another one of their tool box products.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
onlooker on 2013-07-29:
Please write to the manager of the store where you purchased the box, write to B and D headquarters - US Postal Service and then make a report to the CPSC website -
If the handle is really dangerous - you will be helping people out
Soaring Consumer on 2013-07-29:
I suggest filing a complaint with the Consumer Product Safety Commission. Multiple complaints about this issue might prompt a safety recall.
madconsumer on 2013-07-29:
is there a weight limit on what the tool box can carry?
John Nicholson on 2013-07-29:
Black and Decker apparently has no customer service to speak of. A couple of years ago I emailed them asking a simple question concerning the plastic case a drill they make comes in. No response. Tried again a week later. Still no response. I finally gave up and now will not buy B and D products. They lost my business because they are just too indifferent to customer questions.
Close commentsAdd reply
Spacemaker SDC740 Coffee Maker
Posted by on
DO NOT BUY THE BLACK & DECKER SPACE MAKER MODEL NUMBER SDC740 under cabinet coffee maker, it is JUNK. In mid December we replaced our third B&D coffee makers all of which we were very pleased with. This new one was different from the three previous ones. When I installed the new one and ran clear water through it for the first time the carafe cracked. I called the B&D warranty number and they said they would replace it, but they were out of stock, but as soon as they came in they would send me one. Two and a half months later we received the replacement. The first time I set it up and we turned it on to brew our coffee we ended up with a mess all over the counter, the new carafe’s base diameter is slightly smaller the warming tray base and will not push in the lever that allows the coffee to flow into the carafe and it over flows all over the drain board and into anything under it. Another problem we have with it is when you fill the container with water when you are setting it up the water will leak out around the container and all over the drain board.
As I said before we have owned three B&D under cabinet coffee makers and were very satisfied with them but the new style one is junk.

     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Inferior quality
Posted by on
BILLINGS, MONTANTA -- Black & Decker used to mean quality in home appliances and you could feel good about purchasing their products. This Quick N Easy food processor is garbage. Cheap, poorly manufactured plastic pieces and nobody gave any thought to the "convenient" spout which spews product all over the counter when you try to use it. Maybe if you had a container the size of the kitchen sink to catch whatever you're trying to shred...

The main problem, however, is the locking lid. Cheap, cheap, cheap! Fine for processing with the blade in the bowl, but the tiny plastic latch BROKE the first time I tried to shred mozzerella. No pressure on my part, mind you, just the pressure of the cheese upward SNAPPED that latch.

I've only owned this thing for 2 months. Really disappointed in Black & Decker. I have no doubt the motor will continue to run forever, but what good is it? The replacement part costs as much as the original appliance! Now I will spend considerably more on a different brand with better track record and customer service.

What happened to Black & Decker?
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2007-01-14:
Jelora, I think you hit the nail on the head "Cheap, cheap, cheap!" I don't know what else one could add.
Anonymous on 2007-01-14:
I've actually had very good luck with B&D products. I don't own a food processor, but, I will keep your review in mind. My trusty knife and cutting board never let me down, yet.
mike on 2013-07-25:
I had purchased a Black and Decker blender / food processor all in one with different tools and it broke very first day I used it the plastic part on the motor drive have broke and funny thing is I could not take the machine back to where ipurchased it from because they were out of business
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >