[X]
Feedburner count

Black Widow Inc


2 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Black Widow Inc - Terrible Customer Service Experience
Posted by Stevcoll on 05/28/2007
SAINT CHARLES, ILLINOIS -- Phone Call 5/27/07 10:45am, Memorial Day

I Received a phone call from Black Widow Inc "President" at phone number 800-975-0358 x710. I called the number back a few minutes later and got the "Customer Service Manager." I called the extension I was given and I believe it was the same person. The phone call started off alright as he asked me what had happened, and offered me a refund for the scooter. He said it was contingent upon me stating the issue as "resolved" on the complaint sites. I agreed to this but then he started making threats and ranting about the complaints sites:

1. I told him I had contacted the BBB and his response was "they don't mean anything- they are just a website.."
2. He threatened to post on websites with my full name and address and that I was a fraudulent consumer.
3. He told me all of the complaints before mine on the complaints sites were all created by his competition and that he could tell who they were "by their IP addresses"...
4. He ranted about the complaints sites yet stated that they "actually create business for us".
5. Several times I reminded him that he was with customer service and how could he talk to a customer the way he was. He continually talked down to me like I was some kind of idiot.

In general he was very argumentative and threatening towards me. I was extremely puzzled that he would call to resolve the situation and instead go on a huge rant. I tried several times to get off the phone peacefully but every time I tried he would just start threatening me again. Eventually I just hung up on him because I wasn't getting anywhere. I'm extremely disgusted with the way I have been treated by Black Widow Inc.

     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-28:
His threats are nothing but hot air. For example how could he possibly get the IP address of a poster in a forum not operated by them. I'd consider that hacking if he's actually able to do it. Which I seriously doubt.

But what about your refund? I'll bet even if you agreed to his absurd terms you'd never get your money back.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-28:
The "President" of Black Widow Inc sounds like a complete a$$. Tell him to kiss off then sue him for your money back. If he is stupid enough to post your info on the Internet you could sue him for everything he has. He does not have nor can he get your IP address, he is an idiot and a liar.
Posted by JenniferLBW on 2007-05-28:
The complaint in question raised great concern in our support department shortly after we were notified of its creation. The supposed customer a "Mr. Steve Collmann" has made many claims of "Dishonest Practices and Poor Quality Products" towards our products and company. He explains the supposed problems he had been having with his scooter and conversations he has made with us. When we attempted to contact Mr. Steve Collmann we were unable to locate any orders under that name. We then attempted to retrieve any information from him that could be attached to an order but we were unsuccessful. Then a "Mr. Steve Collmann" called our toll free number with a blocked number on Tuesday the 17th of May ranting about his complaints he then hung up after we asked for either his order number or zip-code on his order. Based on "Mr. Steve Collmann's" absence in our order system, his inability to prove any legit order information on numerous occasions and his claims of missing/broken parts that do not match any description to any product we sell leads us to believe that the "Mr. Steve Collmann" is nothing more then a jealous competitor. We have put many competitors out of business over the years and will continue to do so. Our competition are excellent at creating intricately fabricated claims and stories to lure back there straying customers and they will always deny any wrongdoing. Its unfortunate for anyone to believe the fraudulent slander because ironically it represents nothing but the excellent quality and service we offer as our competitors have no choice but to resort to slander; one of the lowest forms of flattery. He also claims to have spoke to a representative today the memorial holiday via telephone which even further proves his fraudulent claims as the phone lines are closed the entire day. I am replying to the fraudulent slander from my personal PC. We will be glad to challenge any competition. We will be glad to challenge any claims of "Dishonest Practices" or "Poor Quality Products". The thousands of customers who are satisfied owners of our product can speak for us.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-29:
I would expect that those who post on this forum to be at least 100% honest in their comments. Someone here is lying.

Complaintsboard.com has identical postings. Either that forum is continuing to copy this one or something fishy is going on.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-29:
Something here stinks. Pirate what's your take on all this?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-29:
Hope I was not duped by Stevcoll. Will keep an open mind about it but this post is getting quite an odor attached to it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-30:
I received the following email, copied below, from Steve Collman, return address is stevetest@***.com. The reason I respond here is that I have no desire to reveal my email address to you or anyone else unless I so choose to do so.

Notice that Mr. Collman refers to 'this guy at the company' has posted his name and other information. The company respondent has a female name JenniferLBW, which is also shown as Jennifer Layman at ComplaintsBoard. Also there the OP name is first Collman and then the follow up is Coleman.

Now, whatever your actual name is, if you feel you have a valid claim then by all means pursue it. However, I feel you have not been libeled just because your name and some 'false statements' have been posted.

'I saw that you posted on the Black Widow Inc Scooter Scam post that I made. I'm quite frustrated because I'm not a competitor but just a customer and was ripped off by Black Widow... I posted these messages on the complaints boards and now this guy at the company is posting false information saying my order "doesn't exist" and I'm his "competition". Not only that but of course he's using my entire name and making false statements (libel?)

I would be glad to provide you with some evidence to prove my order is real, I have the scooter here, the email confirmations, I even have a link that confirms my order through their yahoo store. I'm going to be talking to a lawyer tomorrow but it would be good to get the truth out
about this..'
Posted by stevcoll on 2007-05-30:
It's very sad and shocking that Black Widow Inc has decided to slander my name here instead of resolving the situation. Take a long look at their post and all the ridiculous lies they posted and then look at these pictures below. I think they will speak for themselves.

Black Widow Invoice:
http://img475.imageshack.us/img475/9917/scooter1nv1.jpg

Bank Statement showing purchase of money order:
http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/3677/scooter2bd9.jpg

Walmart Money Order Stub:
http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/2269/scoter3el1.jpg

Scooter I purchased:
http://img128.imageshack.us/img128/4652/scooter4dd3.jpg

Shipping Label from Black Widow:
http://img128.imageshack.us/img128/5086/scooter5ih2.jpg

Area where electrical wires were severed (fixed in pic..)
http://img128.imageshack.us/img128/9990/scooter6nq0.jpg

Bent bracket on scooter:
http://img371.imageshack.us/img371/7674/scooter7lm5.jpg

I think the evidence speaks for itself. Go ahead and look up the UPS tracking number (1Z 9Y8 0V3 72 4649 107 5). Whatever decision you come to at least learn from my lesson and NEVER buy with a money order but always use a credit card. That way you can get your money back when you are defrauded.
Posted by stevcoll on 2007-06-19:
Update: Still no resolution although I found out Black Widow Inc uses a Yahoo store-front. Yahoo would not do anything however and just said they are forwarding my complaint to Black Widow Inc (how helpful...)
Posted by Maxs135 on 2008-05-06:
Hi Steve. I feel your pain. My son and I went through the same thing beginning in early July '06. Junk right out of the box; hard to start; won't stay running; fender fell off; lousy brakes; tires worn out; loose, wobbly and (in my opinion) dangerous steering. Don't answer the phone and occasionally answer emails; promised parts that arrive months later!
Through persistance, BBB and working with VISA they finally gave me an RMA # and offered a full refund if I'd return it to them.
I spent $75 shipping the darn thing and they NEVER were at the shop and DHL shipping was unable to deliver.
They finally answered a final email and told me "Just keep the scooter, we are moving to a larger facility, thus causing the DHL hassle. We have no contest to your dispute." (2nd time over 4 months they pulled the 'moving to a larger facility' excuse.)
Finally got the refund over 4 months after ordering it (not $75 shipping though).
Piece of junk is still sitting in the garage and I'd take it to the dump if I could but my son is bugging me again to try and find someone to repair it.
Good Luck!
Close commentsAdd reply

Black Widow Inc - Scooter Scam!
Posted by Stevcoll on 05/22/2007
SAINT CHARLES, ILLINOIS -- So it's May 7th and I decide I want to buy a cool motorized vehicle. I end up going for a Black Widow Inc Gas-Powered Scooter (www.blackwidowinc.com). They offer a "certified refurbished" model which they claim is in 100% working condition.

Three days later I receive the scooter and open it up. To my disappointment the scooter had all of these issues:

* Missing hardware to hold on the seat
* Missing hardware to hold on the gas tank
* Broken Hardware holding the chain in place (so chain just falls off)
* Severed Electrical Wires (so the cutoff switch would NOT work)
* Generally in Poor condition and very beat up (Hardly "certified refurbished")

I quickly email Black Widow Inc and tell them I have a broken scooter. I ask for a replacement that doesn't have broken parts. Nearly a week later, Black Widow Inc replies and tell me the damage "happened during shipping". I could hardly believe their BS.

Arguing with them went nowhere and they even had the arrogance to tell me to "have a mechanic fix the problems". And to make things even worse they removed the line on their website saying "100% working condition" under the refurbished scooters!

I would AVOID this company at all costs after the way they treated me. Dishonestly and Poorly. They are offering 10% off for COD orders. I was stupid enough to go for this and now I don't have a way to get my money back.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-22:
I have voted your review most helpful because it is just another example of why a person should NEVER buy anything off the Internet. Sorry about your loss..
Posted by rhondam718732 on 2007-05-22:
Buying a book or clothing is one thing... buying a scooter...that was risky. I would stay on them though. Aren't they responsible for the shipping process?
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-22:
Lidman, I work on dozens of ecommerce sites all day. Every company I work with and for are outstanding. It's like anything else the bad guys are only 20% of the Internet but they cause harm to the 80% that are honest and doing a good job. Buying on the Internet can be a good thing but people "must" check out who they are dealing with. An example would be an airline that offers Internet only discount air fares. You save money and the only way to save that money is by using the airlines web site.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-05-22:
Superbowl, OK I agree you can check them out to a cretin extent and some may be OK but I will not give them my information on the Internet it is NOT safe.

What do you do for a living and why do you live in LA? lol
Posted by stevcoll on 2007-05-28:
Phone Call 5/27/07 10:45am, Memorial Day

I Received a phone call from Black Widow Inc "President" at phone number 800-975-0358 x710. I called the number back a few minutes later and got the "Customer Service Manager." I called the extension I was given and I believe it was the same person. The phone call started off alright as he asked me what had happened, and offered me a refund for the scooter. He said it was contingent upon me stating the issue as "resolved" on the complaint sites. I agreed to this but then he started making threats and ranting about the complaints sites:

1. I told him I had contacted the BBB and his response was "they don't mean anything- they are just a website.."
2. He threatened to post on websites with my full name and address and that I was a fraudulent consumer.
3. He told me all of the complaints before mine on the complaints sites were all created by his competition and that he could tell who they were "by their IP addresses"...
4. He ranted about the complaints sites yet stated that they "actually create business for us".
5. Several times I reminded him that he was with customer service and how could he talk to a customer the way he was. He continually talked down to me like I was some kind of idiot.

In general he was very argumentative and threatening towards me. I was extremely puzzled that he would call to resolve the situation and instead go on a huge rant. I tried several times to get off the phone peacefully but every time I tried he would just start threatening me again. Eventually I just hung up on him because I wasn't getting anywhere. I'm extremely disgusted with the way I have been treated by Black Widow Inc.
Posted by JenniferLBW on 2007-05-28:
The complaint in question raised great concern in our support department shortly after we were notified of its creation. The supposed customer a "Mr. Steve Collmann" has made many claims of "Dishonest Practices and Poor Quality Products" towards our products and company. He explains the supposed problems he had been having with his scooter and conversations he has made with us. When we attempted to contact Mr. Steve Collmann we were unable to locate any orders under that name. We then attempted to retrieve any information from him that could be attached to an order but we were unsuccessful. Then a "Mr. Steve Collmann" called our toll free number with a blocked number on Tuesday the 17th of May ranting about his complaints he then hung up after we asked for either his order number or zip-code on his order. Based on "Mr. Steve Collmann's" absence in our order system, his inability to prove any legit order information on numerous occasions and his claims of missing/broken parts that do not match any description to any product we sell leads us to believe that the "Mr. Steve Collmann" is nothing more then a jealous competitor. We have put many competitors out of business over the years and will continue to do so. Our competition are excellent at creating intricately fabricated claims and stories to lure back there straying customers and they will always deny any wrongdoing. Its unfortunate for anyone to believe the fraudulent slander because ironically it represents nothing but the excellent quality and service we offer as our competitors have no choice but to resort to slander; one of the lowest forms of flattery. He also claims to have spoke to a representative today the memorial holiday via telephone which even further proves his fraudulent claims as the phone lines are closed the entire day. I am replying to the fraudulent slander from my personal PC. We will be glad to challenge any competition. We will be glad to challenge any claims of "Dishonest Practices" or "Poor Quality Products". The thousands of customers who are satisfied owners of our product can speak for us.
Posted by stevcoll on 2007-05-30:
It's very sad and shocking that Black Widow Inc has decided to slander my name here instead of resolving the situation. Take a long look at their post and all the ridiculous lies they posted and then look at these pictures below. I think they will speak for themselves.

Black Widow Invoice:
http://img475.imageshack.us/img475/9917/scooter1nv1.jpg

Bank Statement showing purchase of money order:
http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/3677/scooter2bd9.jpg

Walmart Money Order Stub:
http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/2269/scoter3el1.jpg

Scooter I purchased:
http://img128.imageshack.us/img128/4652/scooter4dd3.jpg

Shipping Label from Black Widow:
http://img128.imageshack.us/img128/5086/scooter5ih2.jpg

Area where electrical wires were severed (fixed in pic..)
http://img128.imageshack.us/img128/9990/scooter6nq0.jpg

Bent bracket on scooter:
http://img371.imageshack.us/img371/7674/scooter7lm5.jpg

I think the evidence speaks for itself. Go ahead and look up the UPS tracking number (1Z 9Y8 0V3 72 4649 107 5). Whatever decision you come to at least learn from my lesson and NEVER buy with a money order but always use a credit card. That way you can get your money back when you are defrauded.
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >