Preview Review

Next Review

Bob's Discount Furniture Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Never Sign Up for Bob's Goof Proof Protection Plan
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PARAMUS, NEW JERSEY -- Never sign up for Bob's Discount Furniture protection plan. When I bought my dining table the salesperson told me, “Anything happen to your furniture it will be covered.” One of my dining table chair leg broke and when I call them they said that “it is not covered” as breaking of chair leg is not an accident. It is completely fraud. This protection is complete waste of money. No matter whatever is the cause of damage of your furniture "Guardian" (Protection plan agency) will tell you that it is not accident so you are not covered. Never sign up for protection plan. It is completely fraud.

Replies
Advertisement
Great Experience With Salespeople and Manager. Delivery/customer Service Was a Nightmare!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPRINGFIELD, PENNSYLVANIA -- I bought a sofa and loveseat from Bob's on 5/26/15, with confirmed delivery on 5/30/15 between 12:15 and 4:15pm. Delivery driver came and called my cell, but never rang the doorbell! I missed the call, and called RIGHT BACK. Twice with no answer and left a voicemail! On the second call, looking out the window, I see the truck driving away from my building... as I am on the phone calling him/her back!

I called customer service for help to get the driver to not leave the complex. "Shaun," a female representative, agreed that it was "very unprofessional" to leave without ringing the doorbell and ASSURED me that a "go-back" was entered into the system. She further stated that "there was no reason for the driver not to return on that same day to complete the delivery." About 10 minutes after, I logged on to myBobs.com to track the delivery status only to discover that it read "delivered on 5/30/15 at 3:09p." No way! Especially since I made the calls to the driver at 3:05p and 3:06p.

I called customer service again to inquire about the delivery status. A male representative - "Greg" - in his most-scripted tone apologized for the inconvenience before informing me that there was no way the driver could return today since he/she had already been released. An all-day wait on a beautiful Saturday, for nothing. I love the sofa and loveseat but this is unacceptable. Refund please. Bob's, do better! - an extremely irritated customer.

Replies
Broken Dresser Handle
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WARWICK, RI -- Customer care my rear end. I've been trying to get a replacement handle from Bob's since Aug 2015 (which I've already paid for). After speaking to numerous customer care reps and sending photos of the part I need, I still do not have the correct part. They've sent me 2 incorrect parts though. Bravo, Bob's, bravo. Total incompetence. Look... spend a little more and buy elsewhere.

Replies
Damaged Merchandise
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBRIDGE, NEW JERSEY -- Would not recommend anyone shopping from this company. We are currently on our 3rd attempt to get our dining room table it has been damaged every time. If we take a discounted price and keep one of the damaged items it voids the protection plan on all items. Would give them negative stars if it were an option.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible products, Poor Customer Service, Goof-Proof a Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MANCHESTER, CONNECTICUT -- I bought a complete living room set for my home, I bought a sofa, two chairs and a three piece table set. When I first received the tables they were delivered damaged. The coffee table came dented and there were screws sticking out of the legs of the side tables. The screws actually scratched up my floor. It took them 3 months for me to get tables, and the only reason we got tables was because we had to go in and reorder new tables. The originals were on back order and they told me it could be another 2 months before I got the tables, but they sold them to us anyway.

Now less than two years later, the sofa I bought is falling apart. The couch has sunken in and collapsed and the arm is broken. There are no young children in my home and it was not abused. When you touch the right arm of the couch you can hear the wood cracking. The cushions can not be sat on because they are sunken in. It is almost like the foam or whatever is inside is decomposing. There are springs sticking out of the cushions as well. We no longer can sit on the couch.

I bought the goof proof and was told at purchase that is covers everything. They will repair it or replace the furniture if it can not be replaced. I went to Bob's stores and told them what was happening, and that I had goof proof. They told me it only covers small rips and stains, which is not what the salespeople tell you. They sell the goof proof as the ultimate additional coverage. The salesmen told me that it is additional manufacturer coverage, as well as it covers all additional stains and damage caused by anyone even pets and kids. So they told me that I should call Bob's.

I called them today and they told me that goof proof does not cover the quality and that Bob's only gives a one year warranty. There was nothing they were going to do. The couch is collapsing from poor quality and there is nothing I can do. They sent a Bob's technician to my home anyway, and the tech guy walked in and told us that this couch is crap, he has been on many calls about this couch and couches similar to it. I called Bob's and they said they can't help us that the warranty is up, call goof proof. They even told me what to say to get Guardian (Goof Proof Company) to come.

The guy came two months after my initial call, and the guy was at my home for 5 minutes, and also told me that this couch is garbage. He took pictures of the collapsed arm, and the cushions. He then told us "Good luck getting something done, Guardian will only cover small stains and burns and not manufacturer's defects." So essentially we are out of luck, we now have to buy another couch to replace the one I bought 1 1/2 years ago.

I was planning on buying a dining room and bedroom set from Bob's. Thank goodness that the couch fell apart and Bob's poor quality was shown to me before I dropped another 2500 at Bob's. I will go someplace else where I might spend more initially, but will not have to drop more money every 1 1/2 years to replace the cheap garbage I already bought. Update: As predicted, Goof proof will not do anything for my couch, and I am currently shopping for another couch. Bob's furniture is made to last 1 year, just to get past the manufacturer warranty. DO NOT BUY FROM BOB'S, and if you do DO NOT BUY THE GOOF PROOF, it is completely useless.

Company Response 08/07/2013:

I'd like to help. Please email me at BobCares@MyBobs.com with the name, address and phone number associated with your account.
Thanks, Eric.

Replies
Mislead by Sales Rep With Buying Goof Proof
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SOUTHINGTON, CONNECTICUT -- I recently purchased a 6-piece sectional from Bob's in light brown suede. My fiance and I were hesitant with buying suede because we have a 2 yr old. We voiced our concern to the sales representative and he then introduced goof proof. After telling us all about goof proof we thought 'hey we can't go wrong.' The sales representative even gave examples like if our son took a crayon, pen or marker and drew all over the couch it would be covered or if his cup leaked and left a stain.

So we said 'well you can't go wrong. let's do it.' So we purchased the sectional which we found out was not in stock until the following month and we spent the extra $99 for goof proof... The couch ended up being delivered in almost 3 different deliveries they had kept saying that certain pieces were still not in... My fiance was frustrated at that point and we should have taken that as a sign to just cancel the whole order.

So about 2 months after have the couch one day my son gets his hands on a black marker and scribbles all over our storage ottoman and the wedge console to the couch.. My fiance was upset at the time and I wasn't so much. I was like 'hey I will just call goof proof. that's what we brought it for right...' It was a weekend and goof proof was closed so I used the cleaner that was given to us at Bob's which after scrubbing for quite a while got most of the marker out.

So a few days later I called goof proof. I was on the phone for about 20 minutes before anyone assisted me. I told the representative that I needed to file a claim. He asked what happened and what was damaged. I told him which pieces they were and that it had marker and pen and my son had drawn on the couch. The representative then tells me how many marks are on each piece. I thought he was joking but nope they want you to count each mark dots and all. After counting each mark line and dot on each piece he put me on a brief hold. Only to tell me when he returned that it was not covered due to marks greater than 6 inches and being excessive in markage.

I was speechless. I asked him why wasn't it covered, he said because it didn't happen at one time. I was like "were you here when it happened?" - "no.." I told him the pamphlet says it covers marker and pen. He then says "yes if it's an accident", how is a two year old scribbling on a couch not an accident. He said "it's more like if you sit down with a pen in your pocket or something and you mark the couch." When asked what does excessive mean he told me "because you said there are about 20 marks on the ottoman." I said "we'll yes but only because I counted dots."

I mean really I told them they were full of crap and said some other not so great words and then hung up on them. I knew it was too good to be true.. I will never buy that crap again. What a waste of money.. Don't buy goof proof no matter how good it sounds. That Bob's sales representative is full of crap.

Company Response 06/07/2013:

I'd be glad to see what we can do to help out. Please send your contact info to BobCares@MyBobs.com and I'll be in touch. Thanks, Eric.

Replies
Customer Service Sucks
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- My apt had been painted so I was still in the process organizing my living room when my sofa was delivered. I subsequently noticed that there was a small damaged spot on the back of the sofa behind the pillow (the nap was missing). I phoned customer service and was referred to the Goof Proof Protection plan that I had purchased. When I called them I was told by their representative that the coverage doesn't start until the one year warranty has expired and that I should call customer service again. And that Bob's is always trying to get out of honoring their warranty.

I phoned Bob's again and was told that since I hadn't reported the defect within the 3-day period there was nothing that they could do to remedy the situation. The representative also implied that I should create a story about accidental damage to get it covered by the Goof Proof plan. When I told her I wasn't comfortable lying about this she told me that there was nothing that they could do for me. Unfortunately this is a lesson learned. I will not be a repeat customer.

Company Response 06/07/2013:

That doesn't sound right to me. I'd be happy to help. Please send your order info to BobCares@MyBobs.com and I'll be in touch. Thanks, Eric.

Replies
Terrible Service and Products - Don't shop here!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SOUTH PORTLAND, MAINE -- My wife and I purchased a very expensive couch with recliners on all three partitions, made of all leather. We purchased a coffee table, a bed, the so-call box spring and a bed. The first queen size bed that we had was literally two feet longer than the mattress and box spring. I spent literally four hours trying to speak with customer service and never once got through to a human being. Eventually I got fed-up and went back to the store who told me that nothing was wrong and it's the way it was made. I argued and finally they agreed to send a replacement out.

We had the same issue on the replacement frame. We went around again on this, but this time I was smart enough to go directly to the store. We spent more money for a different model, which thankfully, did fit better. Within the first three weeks of having the bed and frame, the frame gave way and broke at the bottom, as they make the entire edge support with pressboard and don't use screws long enough to even hold it on. The mattress already has impressions from our bodies after a bit more than a year and the box spring is basically a cardboard box (if you buy it, check for yourself).

We replaced ours today with a Sleep Number bed and it was well worth the upgrade for $1600. The middle partition on our couch broke within three weeks and we can't even recline it anymore. We didn't bother trying to get this fixed as it isn't even worth the hassle. The coffee table... yes, this too is junk. Within just a few days the wood started breaking simply from pressing against it. It isn't made of real wood, but just holey pressboard all over.

In total I believe we spent just over $3000, and to be honest, I wish we had spent the extra $2000 for quality products elsewhere. We advise all of our friends and family to avoid shopping here, and if you are reading this too, you have been warned, stay away! You can't even say you get what you pay for, because in my opinion, the products are not even worth what they charge. Happy shopping!

Company Response 06/11/2013:

I'm sorry to hear your purchase isn't holding up as expected. If you still have this merchandise I'm sure we can address these issues for you. Please email me at BobCares@MyBobs.com and I'll be in touch. Thanks, Eric.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible, Don't Buy From Them
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTHEAST PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- The sales person was great. Unfortunately, it was downhill from there. The living room set I bought was a special order, so I waited a month, which was fine. They finally set up delivery for my sofa, loveseat, and ottoman. They brought the right sofa, but the other pieces were the wrong color. Stuff happens, I know, so I was willing to give it another chance. While they were there, the delivery people got customer service on the phone and customer service agreed to deliver 2 days later after 3:00.

The next day I got a robocall saying they would be there between 11-3. I called to remind them that they said they'd come after 3:00, but was told they couldn't make any guarantees about delivery times. I got a little fussy so the customer service person said she would try to find a good delivery time for me and put me on hold for 32 minutes. She came back and said it would have to be the next weekend. The next weekend I had to be out of my town but my husband kindly agreed to put off going to his brother's to wait for the furniture. They brought the loveseat, but not the ottoman.

When I got back in town I called customer service. The prompts and such are very convoluted and I could never get anyone on the phone, so I finally went into the store and talked to a manager. Over the next month I talked to 3 different managers, one of whom called me "sweetie" and one who thanked me for being such a "lady" for not freaking out over the fact I had to talk to 3 different managers to get any response whatsoever.

Finally, manager #3 managed to get the thing reordered and delivery was set up, They came today without calling first and brought the wrong color ottoman. I will be receiving my refund via check within 10-14 days. Or so I hope. They'll probably send the wrong amount sometime next month... Moral of the story, don't shop at Bob's. The free ice cream just isn't worth it.

Replies
Warranty and Goof Proof a Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BELLINGHAM, MASSACHUSETTS -- Bought two sofas and big chair three years ago. Was talked into getting extended warranty and Goof Proof for all items since we had dogs. Was told all damage to couches would be covered with purchasing these extended warranties and the fabric goof proofing. So the other day when cleaning the couch we noticed a stain from one of the dogs licking it and also a coil popped up through the cushions. Also noticed that the couch had lost its firmness and everything was sagging. We called Bob's and they sent a service man out.

The man opened up the back of the couch and stuffed more padding in and said he would have to contact the shop to order the part to repair the wire that had broken and popped up tearing couch. Once he was finished he asked to borrow my phone and call the shop. He packed up all his stuff and then called. After a few minutes he handed me the phone and said they wanted to talk to me. They asked me a few questions that took about 3 min. Long enough for the service tech to put his stuff in his car and leave.

Then the woman on the other line says that the issue with the wires was not covered. I asked how that could be since we bought the extended warranty. She said this was a manufacturers defect and since my couch model was no longer being made they were not going to be able to find a part. And even if they did they wouldn't be covering it because it wasn't covered under the warranty. I asked what did I buy the extension for then and they had no answer.

I then asked as far as the stain goes and they referred me to Goof Proof. We contacted them and they said since we couldn't tell them exactly when the "accident" occurred that they would not cover it. An accumulation of dog licks was not covered. Bob's and all the policies they try to sell are a joke. I would have been better off if I jumped on the couch and snapped the frame and called it an accident. Honest people get swindled with the sales pitch of "don't worry whatever your dogs do is covered". A big load of crap. Will never buy from Bob's again. And to think they charged us over $300 to cover the 4 pieces and none of it is covered. Bob's = Scam!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bob's Discount Furniture Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 96 ratings and
201 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bob's Discount Furniture
428 Tolland Tpke.
Manchester, CT 06040
800-569-1284 (ph)
860-645-4056 (fax)
www.mybobs.com
Compare Furniture Stores