Preview Review

Next Review

Bob's Discount Furniture Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Great Experience With Salespeople and Manager. Delivery/customer Service Was a Nightmare!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPRINGFIELD, PENNSYLVANIA -- I bought a sofa and loveseat from Bob's on 5/26/15, with confirmed delivery on 5/30/15 between 12:15 and 4:15pm. Delivery driver came and called my cell, but never rang the doorbell! I missed the call, and called RIGHT BACK. Twice with no answer and left a voicemail! On the second call, looking out the window, I see the truck driving away from my building... as I am on the phone calling him/her back!

I called customer service for help to get the driver to not leave the complex. "Shaun," a female representative, agreed that it was "very unprofessional" to leave without ringing the doorbell and ASSURED me that a "go-back" was entered into the system. She further stated that "there was no reason for the driver not to return on that same day to complete the delivery." About 10 minutes after, I logged on to myBobs.com to track the delivery status only to discover that it read "delivered on 5/30/15 at 3:09p." No way! Especially since I made the calls to the driver at 3:05p and 3:06p.

I called customer service again to inquire about the delivery status. A male representative - "Greg" - in his most-scripted tone apologized for the inconvenience before informing me that there was no way the driver could return today since he/she had already been released. An all-day wait on a beautiful Saturday, for nothing. I love the sofa and loveseat but this is unacceptable. Refund please. Bob's, do better! - an extremely irritated customer.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Customer Service, Goof Proof Insurance Is BS
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBRIDGE, NEW JERSEY -- I have never left a review in my life but I am so angry I decided I just had to. Our couch ripped from our children wrestling and fooling around. We called the goof proof insurance and they told us it wasn't covered under the insurance. Children fooling around on the couch is misuse of the couch! The whole reason I got the insurance is because I have 4 young children! I guess my 3 sons and 3 year old daughter should sit on the couch and not move, that's really realistic!!! Don't bother buying anything from Bob's and if you do don't get the insurance! A really angry mom.

Replies
Broken Dresser Handle
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WARWICK, RI -- Customer care my rear end. I've been trying to get a replacement handle from Bob's since Aug 2015 (which I've already paid for). After speaking to numerous customer care reps and sending photos of the part I need, I still do not have the correct part. They've sent me 2 incorrect parts though. Bravo, Bob's, bravo. Total incompetence. Look... spend a little more and buy elsewhere.

Replies
Damaged Merchandise
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBRIDGE, NEW JERSEY -- Would not recommend anyone shopping from this company. We are currently on our 3rd attempt to get our dining room table it has been damaged every time. If we take a discounted price and keep one of the damaged items it voids the protection plan on all items. Would give them negative stars if it were an option.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible products, Poor Customer Service, Goof-Proof a Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MANCHESTER, CONNECTICUT -- I bought a complete living room set for my home, I bought a sofa, two chairs and a three piece table set. When I first received the tables they were delivered damaged. The coffee table came dented and there were screws sticking out of the legs of the side tables. The screws actually scratched up my floor. It took them 3 months for me to get tables, and the only reason we got tables was because we had to go in and reorder new tables. The originals were on back order and they told me it could be another 2 months before I got the tables, but they sold them to us anyway.

Now less than two years later, the sofa I bought is falling apart. The couch has sunken in and collapsed and the arm is broken. There are no young children in my home and it was not abused. When you touch the right arm of the couch you can hear the wood cracking. The cushions can not be sat on because they are sunken in. It is almost like the foam or whatever is inside is decomposing. There are springs sticking out of the cushions as well. We no longer can sit on the couch.

I bought the goof proof and was told at purchase that is covers everything. They will repair it or replace the furniture if it can not be replaced. I went to Bob's stores and told them what was happening, and that I had goof proof. They told me it only covers small rips and stains, which is not what the salespeople tell you. They sell the goof proof as the ultimate additional coverage. The salesmen told me that it is additional manufacturer coverage, as well as it covers all additional stains and damage caused by anyone even pets and kids. So they told me that I should call Bob's.

I called them today and they told me that goof proof does not cover the quality and that Bob's only gives a one year warranty. There was nothing they were going to do. The couch is collapsing from poor quality and there is nothing I can do. They sent a Bob's technician to my home anyway, and the tech guy walked in and told us that this couch is crap, he has been on many calls about this couch and couches similar to it. I called Bob's and they said they can't help us that the warranty is up, call goof proof. They even told me what to say to get Guardian (Goof Proof Company) to come.

The guy came two months after my initial call, and the guy was at my home for 5 minutes, and also told me that this couch is garbage. He took pictures of the collapsed arm, and the cushions. He then told us "Good luck getting something done, Guardian will only cover small stains and burns and not manufacturer's defects." So essentially we are out of luck, we now have to buy another couch to replace the one I bought 1 1/2 years ago.

I was planning on buying a dining room and bedroom set from Bob's. Thank goodness that the couch fell apart and Bob's poor quality was shown to me before I dropped another 2500 at Bob's. I will go someplace else where I might spend more initially, but will not have to drop more money every 1 1/2 years to replace the cheap garbage I already bought. Update: As predicted, Goof proof will not do anything for my couch, and I am currently shopping for another couch. Bob's furniture is made to last 1 year, just to get past the manufacturer warranty. DO NOT BUY FROM BOB'S, and if you do DO NOT BUY THE GOOF PROOF, it is completely useless.

Company Response 08/07/2013:

I'd like to help. Please email me at BobCares@MyBobs.com with the name, address and phone number associated with your account.
Thanks, Eric.

Replies
Mislead by Sales Rep With Buying Goof Proof
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SOUTHINGTON, CONNECTICUT -- I recently purchased a 6-piece sectional from Bob's in light brown suede. My fiance and I were hesitant with buying suede because we have a 2 yr old. We voiced our concern to the sales representative and he then introduced goof proof. After telling us all about goof proof we thought 'hey we can't go wrong.' The sales representative even gave examples like if our son took a crayon, pen or marker and drew all over the couch it would be covered or if his cup leaked and left a stain.

So we said 'well you can't go wrong. let's do it.' So we purchased the sectional which we found out was not in stock until the following month and we spent the extra $99 for goof proof... The couch ended up being delivered in almost 3 different deliveries they had kept saying that certain pieces were still not in... My fiance was frustrated at that point and we should have taken that as a sign to just cancel the whole order.

So about 2 months after have the couch one day my son gets his hands on a black marker and scribbles all over our storage ottoman and the wedge console to the couch.. My fiance was upset at the time and I wasn't so much. I was like 'hey I will just call goof proof. that's what we brought it for right...' It was a weekend and goof proof was closed so I used the cleaner that was given to us at Bob's which after scrubbing for quite a while got most of the marker out.

So a few days later I called goof proof. I was on the phone for about 20 minutes before anyone assisted me. I told the representative that I needed to file a claim. He asked what happened and what was damaged. I told him which pieces they were and that it had marker and pen and my son had drawn on the couch. The representative then tells me how many marks are on each piece. I thought he was joking but nope they want you to count each mark dots and all. After counting each mark line and dot on each piece he put me on a brief hold. Only to tell me when he returned that it was not covered due to marks greater than 6 inches and being excessive in markage.

I was speechless. I asked him why wasn't it covered, he said because it didn't happen at one time. I was like "were you here when it happened?" - "no.." I told him the pamphlet says it covers marker and pen. He then says "yes if it's an accident", how is a two year old scribbling on a couch not an accident. He said "it's more like if you sit down with a pen in your pocket or something and you mark the couch." When asked what does excessive mean he told me "because you said there are about 20 marks on the ottoman." I said "we'll yes but only because I counted dots."

I mean really I told them they were full of crap and said some other not so great words and then hung up on them. I knew it was too good to be true.. I will never buy that crap again. What a waste of money.. Don't buy goof proof no matter how good it sounds. That Bob's sales representative is full of crap.

Company Response 06/07/2013:

I'd be glad to see what we can do to help out. Please send your contact info to BobCares@MyBobs.com and I'll be in touch. Thanks, Eric.

Replies
Customer Service Sucks
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- My apt had been painted so I was still in the process organizing my living room when my sofa was delivered. I subsequently noticed that there was a small damaged spot on the back of the sofa behind the pillow (the nap was missing). I phoned customer service and was referred to the Goof Proof Protection plan that I had purchased. When I called them I was told by their representative that the coverage doesn't start until the one year warranty has expired and that I should call customer service again. And that Bob's is always trying to get out of honoring their warranty.

I phoned Bob's again and was told that since I hadn't reported the defect within the 3-day period there was nothing that they could do to remedy the situation. The representative also implied that I should create a story about accidental damage to get it covered by the Goof Proof plan. When I told her I wasn't comfortable lying about this she told me that there was nothing that they could do for me. Unfortunately this is a lesson learned. I will not be a repeat customer.

Company Response 06/07/2013:

That doesn't sound right to me. I'd be happy to help. Please send your order info to BobCares@MyBobs.com and I'll be in touch. Thanks, Eric.

Replies
Terrible Service and Products - Don't shop here!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SOUTH PORTLAND, MAINE -- My wife and I purchased a very expensive couch with recliners on all three partitions, made of all leather. We purchased a coffee table, a bed, the so-call box spring and a bed. The first queen size bed that we had was literally two feet longer than the mattress and box spring. I spent literally four hours trying to speak with customer service and never once got through to a human being. Eventually I got fed-up and went back to the store who told me that nothing was wrong and it's the way it was made. I argued and finally they agreed to send a replacement out.

We had the same issue on the replacement frame. We went around again on this, but this time I was smart enough to go directly to the store. We spent more money for a different model, which thankfully, did fit better. Within the first three weeks of having the bed and frame, the frame gave way and broke at the bottom, as they make the entire edge support with pressboard and don't use screws long enough to even hold it on. The mattress already has impressions from our bodies after a bit more than a year and the box spring is basically a cardboard box (if you buy it, check for yourself).

We replaced ours today with a Sleep Number bed and it was well worth the upgrade for $1600. The middle partition on our couch broke within three weeks and we can't even recline it anymore. We didn't bother trying to get this fixed as it isn't even worth the hassle. The coffee table... yes, this too is junk. Within just a few days the wood started breaking simply from pressing against it. It isn't made of real wood, but just holey pressboard all over.

In total I believe we spent just over $3000, and to be honest, I wish we had spent the extra $2000 for quality products elsewhere. We advise all of our friends and family to avoid shopping here, and if you are reading this too, you have been warned, stay away! You can't even say you get what you pay for, because in my opinion, the products are not even worth what they charge. Happy shopping!

Company Response 06/11/2013:

I'm sorry to hear your purchase isn't holding up as expected. If you still have this merchandise I'm sure we can address these issues for you. Please email me at BobCares@MyBobs.com and I'll be in touch. Thanks, Eric.

Replies
Advertisement
"Goof Proof" Is Not Worth the Paper It Is Written On
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

Good proof is not what was stated to me. I will try to summarize my experience with Bob's and with the "goof proof" warranty that they sell through Guardian and Guardsman (formerly). We all know that we get what we pay for and that Bob's furniture is cheap but you figure the goof proof will save you when you need it. Not so in my case.

We bought 2 bedroom sets from Bob's in mid 2010 and a sofa love seat combo in 2009. All of the furniture now needs repair so we called Bob's. The 2010 purchased items are under warranty from Guardian and the 2009 sofas are under Guardsman warranty. In fairness to Guardsman, they have not yet acted on the claim and may very well agree to do the repairs (I will update this if they do).

Bob's sent a person out to look at the furniture. He tried to glue a piece of veneer back on the bed but it didn't work and now looks worse than when he started. We were told that nothing is under manufacturers warranty so we would have to deal with Guardian and Guardsmen. A few days later, Guardian called to let us know that the glides on the bureau and the peeling veneer were "normal wear and tear" and "didn't happen in one single incident" so nothing is covered. I specifically asked the salesperson about normal wear and tear when I bought from Bob's and was told that it was covered (they even showed me in writing where it was). Now there's a new story.

I noticed Bob's Facebook page showing an ** to email so I did. ** told me that they could replace the glides for $10 each and they wouldn't charge me labor costs. They would also try to re-glue the veneer. Not really what I expected but by this time it was all I could get so I asked him to order them. I soon got an email back stating they don't sell them anymore. I'll never trust Bob's store again but I'm glad I learned this now because we are just starting to search for another bedroom and a living room set. I would have given them 1 star but the mattresses we bought are still good. Our sectional from Macy's is still in great condition so perhaps we will start there.

Replies
Good Proof Warranty - No Gimmick Nonsense
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I bought a couch set a little over a year ago in Nov 2012. I was informed of the Goof Proof plan that would send someone over to fix any accidental stain or damage. In addition, the Goof Proof plus will have Bob's furniture or the insurance company replace the furniture one time with free delivery. I informed the agent I was leaving to another state and I was told that coverage is for anywhere within the USA.

It is not May of 2014 and I had a spill on the couch which was never cleaned as I was told it would be. I cleaned it myself with Bob's cleaning agent. My couch now has an accidental rip in it as well as scratches. I was told by the company that it is normal wear and tear and not accidental. A different agent said it should be covered by the insurance company but the insurance company claimed that it is a manufacturer's defect. Finally I report this to the Better Business Bureau and I get an email from ** stating that they issued me an in house credit towards another couch which will be delivered for free.

Later she says she was unaware that I was outside their delivery zone and that I have to pay for the shipment or they can refund the cost of the Goof Proof. Basically, Bob's sells you an extended warranty and when you need something replaced, they go back on their word and attempt to refund you the cost of the Goof Proof only. As of now, they have not fixed my issue and it has been a little over 2 weeks since I complained.

Stay away from Bob's furniture as they are full of gimmicks. So much for the phony slogan "No phony Gimmicks! Just pure value." This should have caused me to throw up a red flag and proceed with caution because Bob's warns you against stores with phony gimmicks and they claim not to have any. Then what are talking furniture, catchy little jingles and animated figure heads if not pretty obvious gimmicks? In addition, Bob's biggest gimmick is saying he has no gimmick while he saturates you with gimmicks.

As the saying goes, "if it seems too good to be true then it probably is too good to be true." Listen to Bob himself, or the animated version of him, and look out for phony gimmicks.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bob's Discount Furniture Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 94 ratings and
199 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bob's Discount Furniture
428 Tolland Tpke.
Manchester, CT 06040
800-569-1284 (ph)
860-645-4056 (fax)
www.mybobs.com
Compare Furniture Stores