Preview Review

Next Review

Bob's Discount Furniture Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Customer Service, Goof Proof Insurance Is BS
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBRIDGE, NEW JERSEY -- I have never left a review in my life but I am so angry I decided I just had to. Our couch ripped from our children wrestling and fooling around. We called the goof proof insurance and they told us it wasn't covered under the insurance. Children fooling around on the couch is misuse of the couch! The whole reason I got the insurance is because I have 4 young children! I guess my 3 sons and 3 year old daughter should sit on the couch and not move, that's really realistic!!! Don't bother buying anything from Bob's and if you do don't get the insurance! A really angry mom.

Replies
Advertisement
Never Ever Again
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MILFORD, CONNECTICUT -- Had two joey tables delivered twice, they arrived damaged twice. They delivered 3 pieces out of 5 of a bedroom set on the 1st delivery. Waited 3 weeks for the other 2 major pieces and they delivered them to the wrong address. Customer service is absolutely horrible. You have to start from scratch every time you talk to someone 'cause they have no idea, or don't want to know, what has gone on so far. They will send you from person to person. They are extremely unaccommodating.

Now they want us to wait another month for the other 2 bedroom pieces. They refuse to go back today to the wrong delivery address and deliver them to the correct address. Nothing like what BOB + THAT LADY in the commercials would have you believe. It's like dealing with the used car business of the 70's. They pass you from person to person. They are, again, nothing like the characters you see in the commercial. Even if I have to pay more I will never buy from them again. How much is a crying wife worth to you???

Replies
Terrible products, Poor Customer Service, Goof-Proof a Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MANCHESTER, CONNECTICUT -- I bought a complete living room set for my home, I bought a sofa, two chairs and a three piece table set. When I first received the tables they were delivered damaged. The coffee table came dented and there were screws sticking out of the legs of the side tables. The screws actually scratched up my floor. It took them 3 months for me to get tables, and the only reason we got tables was because we had to go in and reorder new tables. The originals were on back order and they told me it could be another 2 months before I got the tables, but they sold them to us anyway.

Now less than two years later, the sofa I bought is falling apart. The couch has sunken in and collapsed and the arm is broken. There are no young children in my home and it was not abused. When you touch the right arm of the couch you can hear the wood cracking. The cushions can not be sat on because they are sunken in. It is almost like the foam or whatever is inside is decomposing. There are springs sticking out of the cushions as well. We no longer can sit on the couch.

I bought the goof proof and was told at purchase that is covers everything. They will repair it or replace the furniture if it can not be replaced. I went to Bob's stores and told them what was happening, and that I had goof proof. They told me it only covers small rips and stains, which is not what the salespeople tell you. They sell the goof proof as the ultimate additional coverage. The salesmen told me that it is additional manufacturer coverage, as well as it covers all additional stains and damage caused by anyone even pets and kids. So they told me that I should call Bob's.

I called them today and they told me that goof proof does not cover the quality and that Bob's only gives a one year warranty. There was nothing they were going to do. The couch is collapsing from poor quality and there is nothing I can do. They sent a Bob's technician to my home anyway, and the tech guy walked in and told us that this couch is crap, he has been on many calls about this couch and couches similar to it. I called Bob's and they said they can't help us that the warranty is up, call goof proof. They even told me what to say to get Guardian (Goof Proof Company) to come.

The guy came two months after my initial call, and the guy was at my home for 5 minutes, and also told me that this couch is garbage. He took pictures of the collapsed arm, and the cushions. He then told us "Good luck getting something done, Guardian will only cover small stains and burns and not manufacturer's defects." So essentially we are out of luck, we now have to buy another couch to replace the one I bought 1 1/2 years ago.

I was planning on buying a dining room and bedroom set from Bob's. Thank goodness that the couch fell apart and Bob's poor quality was shown to me before I dropped another 2500 at Bob's. I will go someplace else where I might spend more initially, but will not have to drop more money every 1 1/2 years to replace the cheap garbage I already bought. Update: As predicted, Goof proof will not do anything for my couch, and I am currently shopping for another couch. Bob's furniture is made to last 1 year, just to get past the manufacturer warranty. DO NOT BUY FROM BOB'S, and if you do DO NOT BUY THE GOOF PROOF, it is completely useless.

Company Response 08/07/2013:

I'd like to help. Please email me at BobCares@MyBobs.com with the name, address and phone number associated with your account.
Thanks, Eric.

Replies
One Thing After Another After Another
By -

WORCESTER, MASSACHUSETTS -- On March 15th, 2008 I got married. The very next day, my new wife & I went to Bob's Discount Furniture for our first big purchase as a newly married couple. After meeting with a salesperson we rummaged around the selection of the beds & decided upon a "Bob-O-Pedic" adjustable bed. We tried both the plus & firm mattresses & bought the firm. The only issue was that it was back ordered & wouldn't be in until the first week of April 2008.

We got a call soon after with the news that one was available & would be delivered that week. When I spoke with the store I reminded them that they needed to call my cell phone & not the home number when the delivery people were on their way. These instructions were outlined on the invoice. A couple days later I just happened to be passing my home from a work errand to find the Bob's delivery truck at my house. (Why didn't they call me?) No matter, I was there & all was OK. I let them in. They took the old mattress & installed the new. They reminded me that it'd take a few hours for the mattress to soften up as it was cold that day.

That night we slept in our new bed. Or at least my wife did. I could not relax on the mattress. It seemed a lot firmer than the one in the showroom. I gave it a couple more days & after getting little sleep & a sore back we went back to Bob's to exchange it for a plush version as well as the non adjustable as neither of us used that feature. So April 10 of '08 we went back to Bob's & did the exchange. I tried & retried the plush & firm & decided that the plush was best. JUST in case, we went with a dual that has a plush & firm half.

They said, however, the king size was back ordered to May 20th. So we decided to wait for the new one to arrive & just keep the queen automatic until then. By this time I had started sleeping on the floor on a roll up spare mattress. Fast forward to May 13th 2008. I called customer service to see if the new king size was still going to be available on the 20th. She said "Oh we have those!" I said, "when were you going to call me to deliver it". Basically since I was in there the 20th, they were going to wait.

So I (again) double checked that they delivery people would do the one hour call ahead to my cell number & she read back the number I'd originally given. The next day, on the 14th of May, I got an automated call from "**" about a scheduled pickup on May 15th between 2:09 PM & 5:09 PM on my cell phone. "Yay" I thought, "they remembered!" No they didn't. On May 15th, 2008 I got a call from my neighbor saying that there was a Bob's Furniture truck at my house with people & mattress walking around. This was 2:11 pm. Since I work 15 minutes from home I left work & headed there. When I got there @ 2:28PM & the truck was gone.

I went inside & on my answering machine was a call from the Bob's delivery people telling me they were almost at my house. There was also a call from the Bob's warehouse saying that I'd need to reschedule. I called customer service was told that once the truck leave an address, it can't go back because it has other deliveries to make on time. When I pressed, she said she'd try to get the truck to go back since by this time it was only about 20 minutes away. When she got back she told me that the truck was already back at the depot & was done for the day.

I then asked her why I didn't get a call on my cellphone as was outlined in the instructions. She told me that that phone number wasn't anywhere on the invoice. "Then how is it Bob's called me yesterday at that number?" She didn't answer. So I spoke with her manager. She was even less helpful. I was more upset that they didn't call my cell than missing the delivery. But she promised that they'd be back tomorrow (May 16th) with the bed & would "absolutely" call my cell phone.

May 16th, 2008 12:25PM. I was at lunch with some co-workers & I thought, "I'll call the house just in case". I called & wouldn't you know, there was a message from the Bob's guys saying that they'd be at my house by 1PM. I left the restaurant early & got to my house at 12:58 and waited. And waited. And waited. At 1:30 I called customer service about the delivery time because for some reason the on-line customer tracking didn't work. The lady said they they had two more deliveries before mine & should be there soon. I waited until 1:45PM & I had to get back to work.

I left a post-it on my door saying that I waited until that time & to call my cell. I was half-way back when someone called from Bob's saying that they were at my house waiting for me. I asked why they were so late, "deliveries, you know?" No apology. But that's OK. I called my boss as I headed back to the house. I was pulling up then they were unloading. My new, $1400.00 mattresses were on the ground. I thought since they were in plastic, I'd be OK, right?

They brought them in & were struck dumb as they say the still un-retrieved queensize bed that they were supposed to pick up. So they left my new mattresses outside (did I mention it was starting to rain?) & brought the old mattress into the truck. They put the king size on the floor & I inquired about something, "Where's the frame?" So they called the depot & I heard over the Nextel that it was still on back order & then it was that I never ordered one with the bed. That part is true. I looked at the invoice & there was no frame there. However, one wasn't offered either. So my new bed is on the floor. Later that afternoon my wife calls, "This mattress is filthy!"

Indeed, there was wet grass stains & leaves & mud on the ends of the mattress, "probably from where they dropped it in the yard" I said. I was so elated to finally have the new bed I didn't even think to look at the mattress. But there were holes torn into the plastic letting them get in that condition. My wife called customer service about this & they basically did the same thing with me. Didn't listen, didn't really seem interested in helping, "we can get another mattress our there on Tuesday but there will be a delivery charge." My wife felt that unacceptable & felt that we shouldn't be responsible for a delivery charge for an abused item.

They told her that "they'd look into it & they'd call back". They did, a couple of hours later but all they did was move the delivery to Monday, but they'd only bring the delivery down to 50%. I personally don't think we should be responsible for the mis-handling of their delivery people. I also felt that their delivery persons weren't professional. One spent most of his time on his cell phone arguing with someone & quite frankly didn't fill me with confidence in my purchase.

The customer service people were an entirely different story. They were more interested in getting off the phone than actually helping us. They wouldn't listen & had the habit of talking over my wife. At one point told her to "calm down" when she started getting angry. In the future, I think I'll spend the extra money on a company who actually appreciates their customers. I myself work in the services field & I'd be looking for a new job if something like this happened. We'll never shop Bob's ever again.

Replies
Advertisement
Great Experience With Salespeople and Manager. Delivery/customer Service Was a Nightmare!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPRINGFIELD, PENNSYLVANIA -- I bought a sofa and loveseat from Bob's on 5/26/15, with confirmed delivery on 5/30/15 between 12:15 and 4:15pm. Delivery driver came and called my cell, but never rang the doorbell! I missed the call, and called RIGHT BACK. Twice with no answer and left a voicemail! On the second call, looking out the window, I see the truck driving away from my building... as I am on the phone calling him/her back!

I called customer service for help to get the driver to not leave the complex. "Shaun," a female representative, agreed that it was "very unprofessional" to leave without ringing the doorbell and ASSURED me that a "go-back" was entered into the system. She further stated that "there was no reason for the driver not to return on that same day to complete the delivery." About 10 minutes after, I logged on to myBobs.com to track the delivery status only to discover that it read "delivered on 5/30/15 at 3:09p." No way! Especially since I made the calls to the driver at 3:05p and 3:06p.

I called customer service again to inquire about the delivery status. A male representative - "Greg" - in his most-scripted tone apologized for the inconvenience before informing me that there was no way the driver could return today since he/she had already been released. An all-day wait on a beautiful Saturday, for nothing. I love the sofa and loveseat but this is unacceptable. Refund please. Bob's, do better! - an extremely irritated customer.

Replies
Poor Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

STOUGHTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- Great initial service. Sales person knowledgeable and helpful and showroom spectacular!!! Unfortunately service downhill after purchase of merchandise. Upon delivery bed rails were mismatched and foot board lacquer peeling. Called and solution was for me to pay for the WRONG bed rails to be delivered back to them and in turn they send me the correct ones. Told it would take 5 days for redelivery. 5th day came, no delivery. Told they forgot to put them on the truck and that they changed my delivery date for that Friday. Asked why no one called customer service, had no response. Claimed I could get compensation for my disservice after I received my bed rails. Great. :)

When merchandise received called for compensation. Told they would give me a $50, yes $50 gift card to their store! Why would I want a gift card to a store that I just had poor service with?! Customer service agent had no answer. Agent was confused about their financing bank and how I would be credited my money. Unable to give me any confirmation that the $50 would be taken off of my account in lieu of sending me a gift card. I will NEVER buy anything from Bob's again. How is a $50 gift card compensating someone who spent almost $4000 in your establishment?! Ridiculous.

Replies
Don't Waste Your Money at This Store
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PARAMUS, NEW JERSEY -- I purchased an armchair the other day from Bob's Discount in Paramus. What a horrible product. First, I had to assemble, which in itself was not a concern since chairs are usually easy enough to work with. But in this case the instructions were very difficult to read and after 2 grueling hours we were still unable to attach the arms and legs securely. It was clear that the wood pieces were warped.

Meanwhile, we had only purchased this because the store gave us a credit for another item we returned that had issues. And the reason we were given a credit, actually only a partial credit, and not a refund, was because they claim that the first product we bought could only be eligible for refund if we responded within 7 days (we weren't made aware of that). Do yourself a favor and stay away from Bob's Discount.

Replies
Goof Proof Warranty is a Scam and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH PLAINFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- Purchased a kitchen table and chairs in 2011. I had a stain on the table and called in for service under the Goof Proof service plan. I was told when I purchased the table that ALL issues were covered and since it was a kitchen table it would be best to get it. I called in for service recently and was told since I cleaned the KITCHEN table with water and a mild dish soap they could not honor the claim and the warranty was now void. I asked if not water what was I to clean a kitchen table with.

I was advised it was not an approved cleaner. Bottom line you get what you pay for. The quality is sub-par at best and their practices for getting you to purchase their Goof Proof plan are deceptive. STAY AWAY from BOB's Discount Furniture!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Customer Service and Delivery
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FAIRFAX, NEW YORK -- I would give them less than a 1 star if I could. I requested breakfast with Bob's with guaranteed delivery by 9 am. They overbooked this service and then received a delivery time of 9:20 which continues to be pushed back to 10:34, and most likely will be pushed back later. In speaking with multiple customer service representatives, they were all unhelpful. They agreed that I did sign up for the guaranteed morning delivery but could not change that or compensate me for this error on their part. There is a large disconnect between the routing department and the company.

Also, they would only compensate you once, so if you have two different issues (your furniture delivered was not in good condition and they messed up your delivery). As a customer service company I believe they should correct those issues which they have not correctly delivered as promised. Also, the routing route only started at 8 (when the breakfast with Bobs starts at 6) thus their process of being on time and honoring those who signed up for an earlier time is not satisfied. This is the last time I will ever be ordering from Bob's. If you are looking for a reliable delivery and furniture I would recommend you to go to a different store.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service. Not Worth the Discount. Do Not Shop Here.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RIVERHEAD, NEW YORK -- I purchased a mattress and when I wanted just to exchange it, I was told I had to wait 30 days. Then when I finally was able to do so, I was told I had to return to the store, in order to do this, where the salesman kept insisting I try multiple other mattresses. Then they assured me that the mattress would be delivered between 6:30 a.m. and 9:30 a.m., since my husband and I work. When I got a recorded voicemail with a different time and called the store, the manager told me they can't make that promise even though their salesman was the one who said it. Spend the extra money and go somewhere else.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bob's Discount Furniture Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 99 ratings and
204 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bob's Discount Furniture
428 Tolland Tpke.
Manchester, CT 06040
800-569-1284 (ph)
860-645-4056 (fax)
www.mybobs.com
Compare Furniture Stores