Preview Review

Next Review

Bob's Discount Furniture Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Good Proof Warranty - No Gimmick Nonsense
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I bought a couch set a little over a year ago in Nov 2012. I was informed of the Goof Proof plan that would send someone over to fix any accidental stain or damage. In addition, the Goof Proof plus will have Bob's furniture or the insurance company replace the furniture one time with free delivery. I informed the agent I was leaving to another state and I was told that coverage is for anywhere within the USA.

It is not May of 2014 and I had a spill on the couch which was never cleaned as I was told it would be. I cleaned it myself with Bob's cleaning agent. My couch now has an accidental rip in it as well as scratches. I was told by the company that it is normal wear and tear and not accidental. A different agent said it should be covered by the insurance company but the insurance company claimed that it is a manufacturer's defect. Finally I report this to the Better Business Bureau and I get an email from ** stating that they issued me an in house credit towards another couch which will be delivered for free.

Later she says she was unaware that I was outside their delivery zone and that I have to pay for the shipment or they can refund the cost of the Goof Proof. Basically, Bob's sells you an extended warranty and when you need something replaced, they go back on their word and attempt to refund you the cost of the Goof Proof only. As of now, they have not fixed my issue and it has been a little over 2 weeks since I complained.

Stay away from Bob's furniture as they are full of gimmicks. So much for the phony slogan "No phony Gimmicks! Just pure value." This should have caused me to throw up a red flag and proceed with caution because Bob's warns you against stores with phony gimmicks and they claim not to have any. Then what are talking furniture, catchy little jingles and animated figure heads if not pretty obvious gimmicks? In addition, Bob's biggest gimmick is saying he has no gimmick while he saturates you with gimmicks.

As the saying goes, "if it seems too good to be true then it probably is too good to be true." Listen to Bob himself, or the animated version of him, and look out for phony gimmicks.

Replies
Advertisement
Goof Proof Is Useless
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEST SPRINGFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS -- I purchased a leather sectional almost exactly two years ago. It never fit together properly, but we dealt with it. Now, the chaise part has a discoloration and two small tears. The middle section has a tear along a seam on the seat. We aren't sure how the rips happened, but they all appeared on the same day.

We called Bob's and they sent a technician to look at it. He said he couldn't fix it and it's not covered by the manufacturer. He said someone from the store would call us with next steps. Two weeks go by, no calls and the rips get worse. Finally I call and after sitting on hold for 45 minutes, I am told I need to speak to Guardian for the Goof Proof warranty we purchased. Another 30 minutes on hold and then, because we can't tell them exactly how it happened, they don't consider it accidental and won't cover it. Now I have a two-year-old, $2500 sofa that is garbage.

I will NEVER shop at Bob's again!!!! And I will tell everyone I know looking for furniture to stay far, far away. We were told that the Goof Proof warranty would cover everything when we bought it. Dog pees on it, it's covered! Your kid draws in it with marker. Covered! The padding goes on the arms. They will fix it! It rips and becomes useless? You bet! Don't believe it. It's a total load of crap and a total waste of money.

Replies
The Worst
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FAIRFAX, VIRGINIA -- I must say that the BOB's Discount Furniture at 13055A Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Greenbriar Shopping Center Fairfax, VA 22033, has the worst manager (**) and front desk staff (**) I have ever encountered. I purchased several thousand dollars of furniture on a Friday and returned on Sunday to make another purchased only to have my deliver date changed with no explanation but to say the computer system will not let the employees go back and make changes. (What they really meant, was, we gave your furniture to someone else and want to give you an excuse that we think sounds good).

Bottom line, the manager and front desk staff do not care once they get your money and do not care if you walk out upset. PLEASE, DO NOT BUY FURNITURE FROM BOB's. The furniture is too expensive, cheap-looking and the staff will give you the runaround. If the staff and managers do not care about customer service, you know they won't care once they get your money!!!

Replies
Online Purchase
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PORTLAND, MAINE -- When attempting to order a dresser online from the store website the system indicated that I lived outside the delivery area and there was no alternate option for me to select. The system stopped processing the order at this point. I called the store to speak with a customer service representative named Kim, who told me that they no longer accepted store deliveries. I asked how someone is supposed to receive products from them if they do not deliver to a physical address and will not accept client pickup at the store. This conversation had plenty of attitude that came with it from her.

When she finally listened to what I was saying about a delivery/pickup issue she said they would accept in-store pickup. Finally! She said she was transferring me to someone who could assist me with my order. I was sent to Debbie who when I began to explain what I was trying to do, immediately told me that I could not pick items up at the store... here we go again... I tried to explain the situation to her, and I must say with some frustration on my part at this point, and she hung up one me. Great Customer Service!!!

I called back to speak with the store manager, Steve, who was very polite and helpful. He had Joey contact me who has processed my order without any hassle or attitude, and an in-store pickup. The manager indicated the delivery policy had been an issue on multiple occasions today and they realized that they needed to address the staff on the matter. Their computer ordering system needs attention and their customer service people need some better training on how to work with customers.

Replies
Advertisement
Never Sign Up for Bob's Goof Proof Protection Plan
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PARAMUS, NEW JERSEY -- Never sign up for Bob's Discount Furniture protection plan. When I bought my dining table the salesperson told me, “Anything happen to your furniture it will be covered.” One of my dining table chair leg broke and when I call them they said that “it is not covered” as breaking of chair leg is not an accident. It is completely fraud. This protection is complete waste of money. No matter whatever is the cause of damage of your furniture "Guardian" (Protection plan agency) will tell you that it is not accident so you are not covered. Never sign up for protection plan. It is completely fraud.

Replies
Terrible Customer Service, Goof Proof Insurance Is BS
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBRIDGE, NEW JERSEY -- I have never left a review in my life but I am so angry I decided I just had to. Our couch ripped from our children wrestling and fooling around. We called the goof proof insurance and they told us it wasn't covered under the insurance. Children fooling around on the couch is misuse of the couch! The whole reason I got the insurance is because I have 4 young children! I guess my 3 sons and 3 year old daughter should sit on the couch and not move, that's really realistic!!! Don't bother buying anything from Bob's and if you do don't get the insurance! A really angry mom.

Replies
Terrible products, Poor Customer Service, Goof-Proof a Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MANCHESTER, CONNECTICUT -- I bought a complete living room set for my home, I bought a sofa, two chairs and a three piece table set. When I first received the tables they were delivered damaged. The coffee table came dented and there were screws sticking out of the legs of the side tables. The screws actually scratched up my floor. It took them 3 months for me to get tables, and the only reason we got tables was because we had to go in and reorder new tables. The originals were on back order and they told me it could be another 2 months before I got the tables, but they sold them to us anyway.

Now less than two years later, the sofa I bought is falling apart. The couch has sunken in and collapsed and the arm is broken. There are no young children in my home and it was not abused. When you touch the right arm of the couch you can hear the wood cracking. The cushions can not be sat on because they are sunken in. It is almost like the foam or whatever is inside is decomposing. There are springs sticking out of the cushions as well. We no longer can sit on the couch.

I bought the goof proof and was told at purchase that is covers everything. They will repair it or replace the furniture if it can not be replaced. I went to Bob's stores and told them what was happening, and that I had goof proof. They told me it only covers small rips and stains, which is not what the salespeople tell you. They sell the goof proof as the ultimate additional coverage. The salesmen told me that it is additional manufacturer coverage, as well as it covers all additional stains and damage caused by anyone even pets and kids. So they told me that I should call Bob's.

I called them today and they told me that goof proof does not cover the quality and that Bob's only gives a one year warranty. There was nothing they were going to do. The couch is collapsing from poor quality and there is nothing I can do. They sent a Bob's technician to my home anyway, and the tech guy walked in and told us that this couch is crap, he has been on many calls about this couch and couches similar to it. I called Bob's and they said they can't help us that the warranty is up, call goof proof. They even told me what to say to get Guardian (Goof Proof Company) to come.

The guy came two months after my initial call, and the guy was at my home for 5 minutes, and also told me that this couch is garbage. He took pictures of the collapsed arm, and the cushions. He then told us "Good luck getting something done, Guardian will only cover small stains and burns and not manufacturer's defects." So essentially we are out of luck, we now have to buy another couch to replace the one I bought 1 1/2 years ago.

I was planning on buying a dining room and bedroom set from Bob's. Thank goodness that the couch fell apart and Bob's poor quality was shown to me before I dropped another 2500 at Bob's. I will go someplace else where I might spend more initially, but will not have to drop more money every 1 1/2 years to replace the cheap garbage I already bought. Update: As predicted, Goof proof will not do anything for my couch, and I am currently shopping for another couch. Bob's furniture is made to last 1 year, just to get past the manufacturer warranty. DO NOT BUY FROM BOB'S, and if you do DO NOT BUY THE GOOF PROOF, it is completely useless.

Company Response 08/07/2013:

I'd like to help. Please email me at BobCares@MyBobs.com with the name, address and phone number associated with your account.
Thanks, Eric.

Replies
Poor Quality Furniture and Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WAYNE, NEW JERSEY -- I went into the store and was helped by a representative name Mitch, he was truly a genuine guy, though he insisted several times that I purchase the delivery and setup for $100. I decided that I would pick it up at the Secaucus warehouse and put it up myself and save that extra $100. Mitch said that the table would be ready to be picked up in 2 weeks. At the warehouse, the guys loaded the set in my truck and told me to sign on this paper for having picked up the table. I signed.

After one week of bringing home the table, I had the time to put it together. On opening the box I realized that some pieces were black and others were brown. Also the paint on the top of the table was smudged. I called customer service. The representative said that she would have to send a technician out to my house to verify my complaint. This took another week for the tech to come to my house.

When he came, he was expecting to see the table mounted up. Since it was in the box, he refused to open the box to see the problems. I opened the box for him. He called customer service and made a report that the table has to be replaced. The representative asked to speak with me, she said that the table is in back order until May 09, delivery would be May 10. I asked for a refund because I could not wait that long. She said that they couldn't refund me because it has been more that 24 hours since I picked up the furniture.

She said that I was supposed to open the boxes in the warehouse and make sure all is well before taking it home. I told her that would have been impossible, how was I supposed to repack a table and 6 chairs back in the boxes to bring it home and bring it up to the second floor.

I had no choice but to wait to May 10. In the meantime, I went back to the store in Wayne, to verify that the table was indeed all black. As usual I was bombarded by a representative to help me. The rep's name is Arif, after telling him the issue at hand, he said that is what you will get for not paying for delivery and that this should teach me a lesson to always pay for delivery and service plans, whatever I buy. I asked him if I was wrong to pick it up myself and save $100. He said yes I get what I don't pay for. I asked him if he would pay for something that he could do himself and he said that it is better to pay.

I have no idea how a person working at a furniture store could afford all these service plans out there. The table in question was creating a problem, I had no space to walk around. I called up and asked them to come pick it up while I wait for the new one. The representative sent for it and also had the brown pieces replaced. On May 10, the guys brought the table, they refused to bring up the new table since their paperwork was saying that they have to pick up the old table and brown pieces before giving me the new table.

I have to say that I would never buy as much as a button at this store. Apart from the attitude from Arif, the customer service does not note the complaints on the account as is should. Please do not waste your time going to this store.

Replies
Advertisement
One Thing After Another After Another
By -

WORCESTER, MASSACHUSETTS -- On March 15th, 2008 I got married. The very next day, my new wife & I went to Bob's Discount Furniture for our first big purchase as a newly married couple. After meeting with a salesperson we rummaged around the selection of the beds & decided upon a "Bob-O-Pedic" adjustable bed. We tried both the plus & firm mattresses & bought the firm. The only issue was that it was back ordered & wouldn't be in until the first week of April 2008.

We got a call soon after with the news that one was available & would be delivered that week. When I spoke with the store I reminded them that they needed to call my cell phone & not the home number when the delivery people were on their way. These instructions were outlined on the invoice. A couple days later I just happened to be passing my home from a work errand to find the Bob's delivery truck at my house. (Why didn't they call me?) No matter, I was there & all was OK. I let them in. They took the old mattress & installed the new. They reminded me that it'd take a few hours for the mattress to soften up as it was cold that day.

That night we slept in our new bed. Or at least my wife did. I could not relax on the mattress. It seemed a lot firmer than the one in the showroom. I gave it a couple more days & after getting little sleep & a sore back we went back to Bob's to exchange it for a plush version as well as the non adjustable as neither of us used that feature. So April 10 of '08 we went back to Bob's & did the exchange. I tried & retried the plush & firm & decided that the plush was best. JUST in case, we went with a dual that has a plush & firm half.

They said, however, the king size was back ordered to May 20th. So we decided to wait for the new one to arrive & just keep the queen automatic until then. By this time I had started sleeping on the floor on a roll up spare mattress. Fast forward to May 13th 2008. I called customer service to see if the new king size was still going to be available on the 20th. She said "Oh we have those!" I said, "when were you going to call me to deliver it". Basically since I was in there the 20th, they were going to wait.

So I (again) double checked that they delivery people would do the one hour call ahead to my cell number & she read back the number I'd originally given. The next day, on the 14th of May, I got an automated call from "**" about a scheduled pickup on May 15th between 2:09 PM & 5:09 PM on my cell phone. "Yay" I thought, "they remembered!" No they didn't. On May 15th, 2008 I got a call from my neighbor saying that there was a Bob's Furniture truck at my house with people & mattress walking around. This was 2:11 pm. Since I work 15 minutes from home I left work & headed there. When I got there @ 2:28PM & the truck was gone.

I went inside & on my answering machine was a call from the Bob's delivery people telling me they were almost at my house. There was also a call from the Bob's warehouse saying that I'd need to reschedule. I called customer service was told that once the truck leave an address, it can't go back because it has other deliveries to make on time. When I pressed, she said she'd try to get the truck to go back since by this time it was only about 20 minutes away. When she got back she told me that the truck was already back at the depot & was done for the day.

I then asked her why I didn't get a call on my cellphone as was outlined in the instructions. She told me that that phone number wasn't anywhere on the invoice. "Then how is it Bob's called me yesterday at that number?" She didn't answer. So I spoke with her manager. She was even less helpful. I was more upset that they didn't call my cell than missing the delivery. But she promised that they'd be back tomorrow (May 16th) with the bed & would "absolutely" call my cell phone.

May 16th, 2008 12:25PM. I was at lunch with some co-workers & I thought, "I'll call the house just in case". I called & wouldn't you know, there was a message from the Bob's guys saying that they'd be at my house by 1PM. I left the restaurant early & got to my house at 12:58 and waited. And waited. And waited. At 1:30 I called customer service about the delivery time because for some reason the on-line customer tracking didn't work. The lady said they they had two more deliveries before mine & should be there soon. I waited until 1:45PM & I had to get back to work.

I left a post-it on my door saying that I waited until that time & to call my cell. I was half-way back when someone called from Bob's saying that they were at my house waiting for me. I asked why they were so late, "deliveries, you know?" No apology. But that's OK. I called my boss as I headed back to the house. I was pulling up then they were unloading. My new, $1400.00 mattresses were on the ground. I thought since they were in plastic, I'd be OK, right?

They brought them in & were struck dumb as they say the still un-retrieved queensize bed that they were supposed to pick up. So they left my new mattresses outside (did I mention it was starting to rain?) & brought the old mattress into the truck. They put the king size on the floor & I inquired about something, "Where's the frame?" So they called the depot & I heard over the Nextel that it was still on back order & then it was that I never ordered one with the bed. That part is true. I looked at the invoice & there was no frame there. However, one wasn't offered either. So my new bed is on the floor. Later that afternoon my wife calls, "This mattress is filthy!"

Indeed, there was wet grass stains & leaves & mud on the ends of the mattress, "probably from where they dropped it in the yard" I said. I was so elated to finally have the new bed I didn't even think to look at the mattress. But there were holes torn into the plastic letting them get in that condition. My wife called customer service about this & they basically did the same thing with me. Didn't listen, didn't really seem interested in helping, "we can get another mattress our there on Tuesday but there will be a delivery charge." My wife felt that unacceptable & felt that we shouldn't be responsible for a delivery charge for an abused item.

They told her that "they'd look into it & they'd call back". They did, a couple of hours later but all they did was move the delivery to Monday, but they'd only bring the delivery down to 50%. I personally don't think we should be responsible for the mis-handling of their delivery people. I also felt that their delivery persons weren't professional. One spent most of his time on his cell phone arguing with someone & quite frankly didn't fill me with confidence in my purchase.

The customer service people were an entirely different story. They were more interested in getting off the phone than actually helping us. They wouldn't listen & had the habit of talking over my wife. At one point told her to "calm down" when she started getting angry. In the future, I think I'll spend the extra money on a company who actually appreciates their customers. I myself work in the services field & I'd be looking for a new job if something like this happened. We'll never shop Bob's ever again.

Replies
Great Experience With Salespeople and Manager. Delivery/customer Service Was a Nightmare!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPRINGFIELD, PENNSYLVANIA -- I bought a sofa and loveseat from Bob's on 5/26/15, with confirmed delivery on 5/30/15 between 12:15 and 4:15pm. Delivery driver came and called my cell, but never rang the doorbell! I missed the call, and called RIGHT BACK. Twice with no answer and left a voicemail! On the second call, looking out the window, I see the truck driving away from my building... as I am on the phone calling him/her back!

I called customer service for help to get the driver to not leave the complex. "Shaun," a female representative, agreed that it was "very unprofessional" to leave without ringing the doorbell and ASSURED me that a "go-back" was entered into the system. She further stated that "there was no reason for the driver not to return on that same day to complete the delivery." About 10 minutes after, I logged on to myBobs.com to track the delivery status only to discover that it read "delivered on 5/30/15 at 3:09p." No way! Especially since I made the calls to the driver at 3:05p and 3:06p.

I called customer service again to inquire about the delivery status. A male representative - "Greg" - in his most-scripted tone apologized for the inconvenience before informing me that there was no way the driver could return today since he/she had already been released. An all-day wait on a beautiful Saturday, for nothing. I love the sofa and loveseat but this is unacceptable. Refund please. Bob's, do better! - an extremely irritated customer.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bob's Discount Furniture Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 108 ratings and
213 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bob's Discount Furniture
428 Tolland Tpke.
Manchester, CT 06040
800-569-1284 (ph)
860-645-4056 (fax)
www.mybobs.com
Compare Furniture Stores