Preview Review

Next Review

Bob's Discount Furniture Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor service and finding knowledgeable sales person
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEST SPRINGFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS -- First time shopping at Bob's. Looking to buy bedroom set, dining room and TV stand. Started looking at bedrooms. Noticed that many didn't have slide rails on drawers. These were the less expensive ones. Salesperson came up to me and asked if I needed help. Explained to him that I wanted a bedroom set and that I wanted slides on the drawers. He looked at me and said the ones with the slides are the cheaper ones. Then why are they about $400 to $500 more than the other ones? He also said it all depends how rough you are with the furniture as how long it will last.

I asked him where the dining rooms are, he told me downstairs and walked away. I went downstairs to look at the sets and was there for over half an hour with no assistance. After waiting for a while, I left. Bob's need to train his sales personnel better so they know what they are selling and customer service. They just lost a $3000 sale. If they continue on this path they will be closing stores not opening them!

Replies
Advertisement
Bob's Is A Real Pain
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH PLAINFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- STAY AWAY from this big fat liars!! We bought a recliner leather sofa on a Saturday, got the delivery the following Wednesday and by Friday we couldn't stand the back pain. So, we went back to the store to arrange the return. The staff stated we needed to call their customer service, so we did. We were told we could return this crap for a store refund only. So we are stuck with this terrible company. Not only we lost our money to this scammers, but now we have to settle for a low quality piece of furniture. Don't make the same mistake. Take your money somewhere else and DO NOT BUY FROM BOB'S!!!

Replies
Horrible Quality and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW BRITAIN, CONNECTICUT -- I purchased a vanity desk in August 2013 for $300. The desk had a jewelry box built in and a lid that opened to the top. By January 2014, the lid became so nonaligned that the lid would not close. In attempting to close the lid, the left hinge broke through the desk. I called to report a warranty claim on February 3, 2014 and was told that they would replace the desk since the desk would not be serviceable. I was instructed to submit photos, and did so the same day.

After no response, I followed up to my warranty claim on March 15, 2014. The customer service representative dialed in an account manager as well and they "reviewed the photos." They told me that it appeared to be accidental damage and would therefore not be covered. I asked how a nonaligned desk could be accidental damage. As I live alone, I know the desk did not experience anything beyond the normal wear and tear.

I requested they send someone to investigate further as it would be immediately apparent that this was in fact caused by a manufacturer's defect and not accidental damage. They refused. After 5 minutes of arguing, it became apparent that they had no intention to remedy the situation. Now I am stuck with a $300 piece of trash that I have no use for. I am appalled by the lack of responsibility and customer service provided by Bob's. I will never shop there again.

Replies
Goof Proof Is A Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SOUTHINGTON, CONNECTICUT -- I purchased a Section in 2009. At the time I had 2 children and 2 dogs I specifically asked what the Goof Plan covered to make sure it would covered my lifestyle. After 4 years of having the couch I went to submit a claim on the couch. It has a stain and a tear. They denied the claim due to it being from a PET. I specifically asked the salesman at the time of purchase "is pet damage covered." I was informed "yes it is, don't worry." The stain was denied due to it being accumulated stains. I have two kids, everything accumulates in a week or less.

I contacted Bob's right away and asked them to stand by their product. They told me there was nothing they could do. If I was interested in purchasing a new unit they would be happy to assist me! I am very disappointed in Bob's for lying in the beginning to make a sale and then in the end for not sticking by their warranty. I will not purchase from them again.

Replies
Advertisement
Don't Buy From Bobs
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- On, Sunday, December 15, 2013. My husband and I went to the Secaucus store to purchase a bed for our 7 and 4 year old sons and a mattress for our 14 year old son. Total spend $1000.00. BIG mistake. First they delivered everything but the hardware. I called customer care and spoke to Autumn, she was no help. Then I spoke to Michael and he was able to have my order for Friday December 20, however when they came they came with no bed, truck empty. Now children have to sleep on the floor for five days.

When I asked to speak to a supervisor I was told it well take 2 days for them to get back at me. So I ask for a refund that will take 5-7 days really. Worst of the worst. As a matter of fact, I am on the phone with Customer Care. A coworker overhears me and she had the same issues.

I paid in full. You have my money but I have no bed. Now it's Friday and I still have no bed. I called again and spoke to Karen, a manager (that was what I was told). The outcome of this phone call was that Monday December 23, 2013 I will have my bed. So guess what. This will be 3rd time I am taking off work due to the company negligence. I never thought I would be going through this 5 days before Christmas. They DO NOT CARE FOR THEIR CUSTOMERS.

Replies
Bob's Discount Furniture Is No Good!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CARLE PLACE, NEW YORK -- BUYER BEWARE! I bought a couch a year and a half ago, and purchased goof proof coverage, as I was told it would cover any wear and tear, or issues with the furniture, by the salesman. Well I had some fading on the couch, and thought okay goof proof will cover this.

I called Bob's, and was told nothing could be done!!! I spoke to Dori, Elizabeth, and John, and was told, they could not do anything for me, as the coverage does not cover fading. I paid almost $2,000 dollars for the couch including the goof proof, and was told "Nope, can't help you." The last phone conversation I had was with John, who offered me a $600 dollar store credit to buy a new couch at Bob's, which I feel is not satisfactory, as there is no couch at Bob's that cost $600 dollars, I would have to pay extra money to buy a new couch. Really???

That's the exact reason, I purchased goof proof to save myself from this predicament a year and a half later. I told John this would not work for me, let me speak to someone higher. He tells me "I will have Sean, our District Manager call you." Well that was 2 month ago, I have not heard from Sean, or any other person from Bob's.

I never write reviews on anything, but I am young professional with my first apartment, and I don't want this to happen to anyone else. I am highly disappointed. Please buy from reputable companies, who understand customer service and customer satisfaction. Bob's does not care one iota about their customers!!! Bob's Discount Furniture is horrible, BUYER BEWARE!!!

Replies
Furniture and Customer Service Suck!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBRIDGE, NEW JERSEY -- So I had ordered a furniture set from Bob's, the first two tables had damage. They told me they could fix the damage. I made them bring me tables till one was good. The third table was finally OK. The couch after 18 months started to peel, the leather on the back rests comes off at the seams. They sent a "technician" out to look at it. He takes pictures with a cell phone and says they will get back to me. No one calls! We call and they say it is from animals. Then they say we have to call goof proof. They tell us that it is a manufacturing defect and that is not covered under the goof proof insurance.

We then go to the store with pictures we took ourselves. The manager in the store says that is a defect and calls a manager. They tell us to take photos and send them in to their service department and they will review and call us back in 48-72 hours. 5 days and no calls. We call them only to find out they have not looked at the photos yet. They review the photos while we are on hold and then tell us that it is normal wear and tear and nothing can be done about it. They then tell me that I should seek an outside repair company to fix it out of MY pocket.

Replies
Bought a New Bed Paid in Full Cash
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

POUGHKEEPSIE, NEW YORK -- I purchased a new king size Bob-O-Pedic mattress and box spring in April 2013 along with the goof proof mattress cover. I have had to return the mattress twice already due to sinking and sagging in the mattress already after I spend almost $2000.00. I also had to return the mattress and protector once because the protector failed after I paid $100 for that.

Now I had to call Bob's again to file a claim again for the mattress because it is sagging once again. When we sit on the bed it sinks down to the box spring. I am so disappointed with the experiences of this mattress. Now I have to wait to have an inspector come check the bed to see if it qualifies as defective again and then wait for a new mattress if they approve it. At this point, I am so disappointed. I rather just have them take the bed back and give me my money back until I can find one from another company that I will enjoy. I would never recommend Bob's to anyone I know again.

Replies
Advertisement
Mattress Sagging, Don't Stand Behind Their Product.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SECAUCUS, NEW JERSEY -- In March of 2012 I purchased a bedroom set and King Firm mattress. My husband and I noticed that the mattress has been sagging and we are both waking up with aches and pains every morning. We had gone away on vacation for 4 nights and we noticed that when we woke up every morning, we didn't have aches or pains. So I put a call in to customer service explaining to them the situation. They scheduled someone to come out and check the mattress. Waste of time!!! I was told that the sag had to be at least 1 1/2" and mine was only 1".

Well after stating my case some more, she spoke to her manager and said if I pay an additional $200.00 I can go back to the store and pick another mattress and pay the difference. I don't mind paying the difference, that is only fair, but to ask me to pay an additional $200.00 for a mattress that was horrible, is definitely unfair. Of course I ranted and raved about how Bob's does not stand behind their product.

So we hung up with nothing resolved and I am stuck with this mattress. I wish I could say spend a little more and go somewhere else but this mattress cost me $1000.00. And that was just the mattress because it was a platform bed. I do wish I would have read the reviews before I purchased anything from Bob's. Never again! I will spread the word to family and friends not to purchase from Bob's. I feel this company does not stand behind their product.

Replies
Dissatisfied... Frustrate... Disappointed... And So On.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBRIDGE, NEW JERSEY -- I purchase a kitchen table with 6 chairs at Bob's furniture in Woodbridge NJ. I bought a protective cover for the table and the chairs not from the store. Three months after, I noticed that the table was peeling, even with the protector cover on.

I called Bob's and they sent someone to look. He came late, looked at it, called the company with my phone, gave me the phone to speak with a representative and he ran out of my house. I thought that was weird. Now, I know why. The representative said "Sorry you're not covered because it's a water stain." WHAT??? It's a kitchen table, spills always happen on kitchen tables especially if you have kids! The table should have had a waterproof sealer and it didn't. Don't buy anything in Bob's furniture. Everything in this store has poor quality, I've learned my lesson.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bob's Discount Furniture Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 99 ratings and
204 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bob's Discount Furniture
428 Tolland Tpke.
Manchester, CT 06040
800-569-1284 (ph)
860-645-4056 (fax)
www.mybobs.com
Compare Furniture Stores