Preview Review

Next Review

Bob's Discount Furniture Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Great Experience With Salespeople and Manager. Delivery/customer Service Was a Nightmare!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPRINGFIELD, PENNSYLVANIA -- I bought a sofa and loveseat from Bob's on 5/26/15, with confirmed delivery on 5/30/15 between 12:15 and 4:15pm. Delivery driver came and called my cell, but never rang the doorbell! I missed the call, and called RIGHT BACK. Twice with no answer and left a voicemail! On the second call, looking out the window, I see the truck driving away from my building... as I am on the phone calling him/her back!

I called customer service for help to get the driver to not leave the complex. "Shaun," a female representative, agreed that it was "very unprofessional" to leave without ringing the doorbell and ASSURED me that a "go-back" was entered into the system. She further stated that "there was no reason for the driver not to return on that same day to complete the delivery." About 10 minutes after, I logged on to myBobs.com to track the delivery status only to discover that it read "delivered on 5/30/15 at 3:09p." No way! Especially since I made the calls to the driver at 3:05p and 3:06p.

I called customer service again to inquire about the delivery status. A male representative - "Greg" - in his most-scripted tone apologized for the inconvenience before informing me that there was no way the driver could return today since he/she had already been released. An all-day wait on a beautiful Saturday, for nothing. I love the sofa and loveseat but this is unacceptable. Refund please. Bob's, do better! - an extremely irritated customer.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

STOUGHTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- Great initial service. Sales person knowledgeable and helpful and showroom spectacular!!! Unfortunately service downhill after purchase of merchandise. Upon delivery bed rails were mismatched and foot board lacquer peeling. Called and solution was for me to pay for the WRONG bed rails to be delivered back to them and in turn they send me the correct ones. Told it would take 5 days for redelivery. 5th day came, no delivery. Told they forgot to put them on the truck and that they changed my delivery date for that Friday. Asked why no one called customer service, had no response. Claimed I could get compensation for my disservice after I received my bed rails. Great. :)

When merchandise received called for compensation. Told they would give me a $50, yes $50 gift card to their store! Why would I want a gift card to a store that I just had poor service with?! Customer service agent had no answer. Agent was confused about their financing bank and how I would be credited my money. Unable to give me any confirmation that the $50 would be taken off of my account in lieu of sending me a gift card. I will NEVER buy anything from Bob's again. How is a $50 gift card compensating someone who spent almost $4000 in your establishment?! Ridiculous.

Replies
Don't Waste Your Money at This Store
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PARAMUS, NEW JERSEY -- I purchased an armchair the other day from Bob's Discount in Paramus. What a horrible product. First, I had to assemble, which in itself was not a concern since chairs are usually easy enough to work with. But in this case the instructions were very difficult to read and after 2 grueling hours we were still unable to attach the arms and legs securely. It was clear that the wood pieces were warped.

Meanwhile, we had only purchased this because the store gave us a credit for another item we returned that had issues. And the reason we were given a credit, actually only a partial credit, and not a refund, was because they claim that the first product we bought could only be eligible for refund if we responded within 7 days (we weren't made aware of that). Do yourself a favor and stay away from Bob's Discount.

Replies
Goof Proof Warranty is a Scam and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH PLAINFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- Purchased a kitchen table and chairs in 2011. I had a stain on the table and called in for service under the Goof Proof service plan. I was told when I purchased the table that ALL issues were covered and since it was a kitchen table it would be best to get it. I called in for service recently and was told since I cleaned the KITCHEN table with water and a mild dish soap they could not honor the claim and the warranty was now void. I asked if not water what was I to clean a kitchen table with.

I was advised it was not an approved cleaner. Bottom line you get what you pay for. The quality is sub-par at best and their practices for getting you to purchase their Goof Proof plan are deceptive. STAY AWAY from BOB's Discount Furniture!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Customer Service and Delivery
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FAIRFAX, NEW YORK -- I would give them less than a 1 star if I could. I requested breakfast with Bob's with guaranteed delivery by 9 am. They overbooked this service and then received a delivery time of 9:20 which continues to be pushed back to 10:34, and most likely will be pushed back later. In speaking with multiple customer service representatives, they were all unhelpful. They agreed that I did sign up for the guaranteed morning delivery but could not change that or compensate me for this error on their part. There is a large disconnect between the routing department and the company.

Also, they would only compensate you once, so if you have two different issues (your furniture delivered was not in good condition and they messed up your delivery). As a customer service company I believe they should correct those issues which they have not correctly delivered as promised. Also, the routing route only started at 8 (when the breakfast with Bobs starts at 6) thus their process of being on time and honoring those who signed up for an earlier time is not satisfied. This is the last time I will ever be ordering from Bob's. If you are looking for a reliable delivery and furniture I would recommend you to go to a different store.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service. Not Worth the Discount. Do Not Shop Here.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RIVERHEAD, NEW YORK -- I purchased a mattress and when I wanted just to exchange it, I was told I had to wait 30 days. Then when I finally was able to do so, I was told I had to return to the store, in order to do this, where the salesman kept insisting I try multiple other mattresses. Then they assured me that the mattress would be delivered between 6:30 a.m. and 9:30 a.m., since my husband and I work. When I got a recorded voicemail with a different time and called the store, the manager told me they can't make that promise even though their salesman was the one who said it. Spend the extra money and go somewhere else.

Replies
Mislead by Sales Rep With Buying Goof Proof
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SOUTHINGTON, CONNECTICUT -- I recently purchased a 6-piece sectional from Bob's in light brown suede. My fiance and I were hesitant with buying suede because we have a 2 yr old. We voiced our concern to the sales representative and he then introduced goof proof. After telling us all about goof proof we thought 'hey we can't go wrong.' The sales representative even gave examples like if our son took a crayon, pen or marker and drew all over the couch it would be covered or if his cup leaked and left a stain.

So we said 'well you can't go wrong. let's do it.' So we purchased the sectional which we found out was not in stock until the following month and we spent the extra $99 for goof proof... The couch ended up being delivered in almost 3 different deliveries they had kept saying that certain pieces were still not in... My fiance was frustrated at that point and we should have taken that as a sign to just cancel the whole order.

So about 2 months after have the couch one day my son gets his hands on a black marker and scribbles all over our storage ottoman and the wedge console to the couch.. My fiance was upset at the time and I wasn't so much. I was like 'hey I will just call goof proof. that's what we brought it for right...' It was a weekend and goof proof was closed so I used the cleaner that was given to us at Bob's which after scrubbing for quite a while got most of the marker out.

So a few days later I called goof proof. I was on the phone for about 20 minutes before anyone assisted me. I told the representative that I needed to file a claim. He asked what happened and what was damaged. I told him which pieces they were and that it had marker and pen and my son had drawn on the couch. The representative then tells me how many marks are on each piece. I thought he was joking but nope they want you to count each mark dots and all. After counting each mark line and dot on each piece he put me on a brief hold. Only to tell me when he returned that it was not covered due to marks greater than 6 inches and being excessive in markage.

I was speechless. I asked him why wasn't it covered, he said because it didn't happen at one time. I was like "were you here when it happened?" - "no.." I told him the pamphlet says it covers marker and pen. He then says "yes if it's an accident", how is a two year old scribbling on a couch not an accident. He said "it's more like if you sit down with a pen in your pocket or something and you mark the couch." When asked what does excessive mean he told me "because you said there are about 20 marks on the ottoman." I said "we'll yes but only because I counted dots."

I mean really I told them they were full of crap and said some other not so great words and then hung up on them. I knew it was too good to be true.. I will never buy that crap again. What a waste of money.. Don't buy goof proof no matter how good it sounds. That Bob's sales representative is full of crap.

Company Response 06/07/2013:

I'd be glad to see what we can do to help out. Please send your contact info to BobCares@MyBobs.com and I'll be in touch. Thanks, Eric.

Replies
Poor Quality Furniture and Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WAYNE, NEW JERSEY -- I went into the store and was helped by a representative name Mitch, he was truly a genuine guy, though he insisted several times that I purchase the delivery and setup for $100. I decided that I would pick it up at the Secaucus warehouse and put it up myself and save that extra $100. Mitch said that the table would be ready to be picked up in 2 weeks. At the warehouse, the guys loaded the set in my truck and told me to sign on this paper for having picked up the table. I signed.

After one week of bringing home the table, I had the time to put it together. On opening the box I realized that some pieces were black and others were brown. Also the paint on the top of the table was smudged. I called customer service. The representative said that she would have to send a technician out to my house to verify my complaint. This took another week for the tech to come to my house.

When he came, he was expecting to see the table mounted up. Since it was in the box, he refused to open the box to see the problems. I opened the box for him. He called customer service and made a report that the table has to be replaced. The representative asked to speak with me, she said that the table is in back order until May 09, delivery would be May 10. I asked for a refund because I could not wait that long. She said that they couldn't refund me because it has been more that 24 hours since I picked up the furniture.

She said that I was supposed to open the boxes in the warehouse and make sure all is well before taking it home. I told her that would have been impossible, how was I supposed to repack a table and 6 chairs back in the boxes to bring it home and bring it up to the second floor.

I had no choice but to wait to May 10. In the meantime, I went back to the store in Wayne, to verify that the table was indeed all black. As usual I was bombarded by a representative to help me. The rep's name is Arif, after telling him the issue at hand, he said that is what you will get for not paying for delivery and that this should teach me a lesson to always pay for delivery and service plans, whatever I buy. I asked him if I was wrong to pick it up myself and save $100. He said yes I get what I don't pay for. I asked him if he would pay for something that he could do himself and he said that it is better to pay.

I have no idea how a person working at a furniture store could afford all these service plans out there. The table in question was creating a problem, I had no space to walk around. I called up and asked them to come pick it up while I wait for the new one. The representative sent for it and also had the brown pieces replaced. On May 10, the guys brought the table, they refused to bring up the new table since their paperwork was saying that they have to pick up the old table and brown pieces before giving me the new table.

I have to say that I would never buy as much as a button at this store. Apart from the attitude from Arif, the customer service does not note the complaints on the account as is should. Please do not waste your time going to this store.

Replies
Advertisement
Quality and Service Sucks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MONMOUTH JUNCTION, NJ, NEW JERSEY -- My fiance and I went to Bob's Furniture Store in Monmouth Junction, NJ. We were looking for bedroom furniture, consisting of a dresser and wooded bed frame, a mattress, a box spring and perhaps a computer desk and chair on 3/9/12. We were helped by the office manager, **, which she was able to find the furniture pieces to our liking. We specifically told customer service there, that we will have the bedroom furniture, mattress and box spring to be delivered on 3/16/12, while the computer desk and chair to be delivered at a later date. We needed time to have that specific room prepared for that computer desk and chair.

We received the items as promised on 3/16/12, but they also delivered the computer chair in that delivery against our instructions. Since we were so concerned about the bedroom furniture, we made sure those items were in working order before the delivery men left. Everything was fine with the bedroom furniture. Since the room was not ready for the computer chair and desk, we left the computer chair in our living room for the time being.

My fiance did notice about a week later that the black computer chair was defective. There was chipping on the front arms of the chair, a hairline crack in the back of the left arm, and the arm sawed off and sub standardly screwed in, which caused it not to be flushed with the back part of the chair. Since this chair was black, it was hard to see the defectiveness of the product. I called customer service to cancel the computer desk. If the chair is in this quality then, the desk will probably be in the same type of quality. My fiance then called customer service, and since we did not call within the three day window, they could not give us a refund.

A tech person must come out to determine that it is defective for us to receive any store credit. Two weeks later the tech came and told us that it is defective, but the arms can be replaced. We did not want it. What is the sense to have a computer chair without the desk? So we had a schedule a delivery man to pick up the chair on 4/11/12 to get the credit. While this was all going on, we advised customer service that we had a comfort issue with the mattress. We tried the Bobby Bear Euro top mattress in the store, and it felt fine, but unfortunately, it did not translate well in our home. I would wake up in utter back pain ever night for the first week.

Customer service advise us to call on the thirty first day to get an exchange. Since this would require another tech to come in to determine the defectiveness of the mattress probably in two weeks, we asked customer service to pick up the mattress. They said they can do it, but the delivery men must call them to get confirmation. They did, and speaking with a customer service, I was told to call the store to order a new mattress. I called later that afternoon, and was told by ** at the store that they do not have the mattress. I then called around 8:30 and they finally gave me credit for the mattress and chair.

Unfortunately, since I return the item, I must pay $39.95 delivery charge for the new mattress then the difference of the new mattress in the amount of $110.00. Being that it was late and I was tired from a long day at work, I put it on my credit card. I decided to speak with **, the sales representative that helped picked out the new mattress, the following morning due to all the aggravation that I went through. I wanted something for the inconvenience. He told me some bull that the price is already a discounted rate and Bob's does not give any refund. ** was boasting that the Bob's provides great quality at a great price.

He was saying that Bob's Furniture is the best and urged me to buy their stock, since they are going to expand down South. ** claims to be the disciple of Bob's. I was ready to hear in his next sentence, that Bob's will be parting the Red Sea next week for everyone to see. Please, **, stop the bs. Bob's is a store with horrible service and crappy furniture. I will never get anything at Bob's again.

Replies
Horrible Delivery Service
By -

FLUSHING, NEW YORK -- I purchased 3 rooms of furniture from Bob's Discount Furniture. The sales person was nice and patient. I was told all of my furniture would be available for my set delivery date which was early September. When the day came for delivery, the delivery men complained about the fact that they would have to go up some stairs and stated that they never do deliveries with stairs. I called the customer service right way and was told that this was not the case.

Furthermore when they began to open the packages of furniture there was significant damage to the products as well as part of my order was missing. It was one thing after another. I refused the whole order and rescheduled a redelivery for the following week. The next week comes..... This time the guys were nice, but still 2 items not loaded for delivery again. I was not told it was on back order. How long am I supposed to go without a bed already? And my queen sleeper sofa not available either. So again I had to schedule another redelivery for these items.

The third delivery was a complete mess. The delivery team came. Both rude and extremely nasty. When I told them they had to go around the back, they didn't like that, but it was not going to fit around the front. So then they get to the back both start complaining in Spanish that there was too much furniture and that it would be too much trouble before they even began to bring the sofa through the door. I moved furniture out of that was just to give them room so the could bring the sofa in. Then as they attempted to bring the sofa in that bent my screen on my storm door. When I told them to stop and call their supervisor immediately, that really pissed them off.

They then put the sofa on the dirt, the protective cover ripped and hanging halfway off. I told them I didn't want it any longer since it was dirty and bugs were starting to crawl on it. And then they walked back to their truck, so I called Bob's customer service to complain. On top of it all they drove away with my bed rails and never put my bed together. They complained that I was rude. The only thing I did was complain that they were damaging my property. I guess that was the wrong move.

Now I have a fourth delivery attempt scheduled. How many times do they need to get this right. I have had enough already. Bob's delivery guys are rude, lazy, and destructive! If they don't get it right this time I am going to take them to small claims court for damages and breach of contract. I wish I would have read the reviews for Bob's beforehand. If I had I would have never done business with them. Too many people complain about their customer service, delivery service, and the fact that they don't honor their goof proof insurance, which I purchased. I guess I will find out about that later.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bob's Discount Furniture Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 113 ratings and
218 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bob's Discount Furniture
428 Tolland Tpke.
Manchester, CT 06040
800-569-1284 (ph)
860-645-4056 (fax)
www.mybobs.com
Compare Furniture Stores