Preview Review

Next Review

Bob's Discount Furniture Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Bob's Is A Real Pain
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH PLAINFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- STAY AWAY from this big fat liars!! We bought a recliner leather sofa on a Saturday, got the delivery the following Wednesday and by Friday we couldn't stand the back pain. So, we went back to the store to arrange the return. The staff stated we needed to call their customer service, so we did. We were told we could return this crap for a store refund only. So we are stuck with this terrible company. Not only we lost our money to this scammers, but now we have to settle for a low quality piece of furniture. Don't make the same mistake. Take your money somewhere else and DO NOT BUY FROM BOB'S!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Quality and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW BRITAIN, CONNECTICUT -- I purchased a vanity desk in August 2013 for $300. The desk had a jewelry box built in and a lid that opened to the top. By January 2014, the lid became so nonaligned that the lid would not close. In attempting to close the lid, the left hinge broke through the desk. I called to report a warranty claim on February 3, 2014 and was told that they would replace the desk since the desk would not be serviceable. I was instructed to submit photos, and did so the same day.

After no response, I followed up to my warranty claim on March 15, 2014. The customer service representative dialed in an account manager as well and they "reviewed the photos." They told me that it appeared to be accidental damage and would therefore not be covered. I asked how a nonaligned desk could be accidental damage. As I live alone, I know the desk did not experience anything beyond the normal wear and tear.

I requested they send someone to investigate further as it would be immediately apparent that this was in fact caused by a manufacturer's defect and not accidental damage. They refused. After 5 minutes of arguing, it became apparent that they had no intention to remedy the situation. Now I am stuck with a $300 piece of trash that I have no use for. I am appalled by the lack of responsibility and customer service provided by Bob's. I will never shop there again.

Replies
Goof Proof Is A Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SOUTHINGTON, CONNECTICUT -- I purchased a Section in 2009. At the time I had 2 children and 2 dogs I specifically asked what the Goof Plan covered to make sure it would covered my lifestyle. After 4 years of having the couch I went to submit a claim on the couch. It has a stain and a tear. They denied the claim due to it being from a PET. I specifically asked the salesman at the time of purchase "is pet damage covered." I was informed "yes it is, don't worry." The stain was denied due to it being accumulated stains. I have two kids, everything accumulates in a week or less.

I contacted Bob's right away and asked them to stand by their product. They told me there was nothing they could do. If I was interested in purchasing a new unit they would be happy to assist me! I am very disappointed in Bob's for lying in the beginning to make a sale and then in the end for not sticking by their warranty. I will not purchase from them again.

Replies
Don't Buy From Bobs
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- On, Sunday, December 15, 2013. My husband and I went to the Secaucus store to purchase a bed for our 7 and 4 year old sons and a mattress for our 14 year old son. Total spend $1000.00. BIG mistake. First they delivered everything but the hardware. I called customer care and spoke to Autumn, she was no help. Then I spoke to Michael and he was able to have my order for Friday December 20, however when they came they came with no bed, truck empty. Now children have to sleep on the floor for five days.

When I asked to speak to a supervisor I was told it well take 2 days for them to get back at me. So I ask for a refund that will take 5-7 days really. Worst of the worst. As a matter of fact, I am on the phone with Customer Care. A coworker overhears me and she had the same issues.

I paid in full. You have my money but I have no bed. Now it's Friday and I still have no bed. I called again and spoke to Karen, a manager (that was what I was told). The outcome of this phone call was that Monday December 23, 2013 I will have my bed. So guess what. This will be 3rd time I am taking off work due to the company negligence. I never thought I would be going through this 5 days before Christmas. They DO NOT CARE FOR THEIR CUSTOMERS.

Replies
Advertisement
Bob's Discount Furniture Is No Good!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CARLE PLACE, NEW YORK -- BUYER BEWARE! I bought a couch a year and a half ago, and purchased goof proof coverage, as I was told it would cover any wear and tear, or issues with the furniture, by the salesman. Well I had some fading on the couch, and thought okay goof proof will cover this.

I called Bob's, and was told nothing could be done!!! I spoke to Dori, Elizabeth, and John, and was told, they could not do anything for me, as the coverage does not cover fading. I paid almost $2,000 dollars for the couch including the goof proof, and was told "Nope, can't help you." The last phone conversation I had was with John, who offered me a $600 dollar store credit to buy a new couch at Bob's, which I feel is not satisfactory, as there is no couch at Bob's that cost $600 dollars, I would have to pay extra money to buy a new couch. Really???

That's the exact reason, I purchased goof proof to save myself from this predicament a year and a half later. I told John this would not work for me, let me speak to someone higher. He tells me "I will have Sean, our District Manager call you." Well that was 2 month ago, I have not heard from Sean, or any other person from Bob's.

I never write reviews on anything, but I am young professional with my first apartment, and I don't want this to happen to anyone else. I am highly disappointed. Please buy from reputable companies, who understand customer service and customer satisfaction. Bob's does not care one iota about their customers!!! Bob's Discount Furniture is horrible, BUYER BEWARE!!!

Replies
Furniture and Customer Service Suck!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBRIDGE, NEW JERSEY -- So I had ordered a furniture set from Bob's, the first two tables had damage. They told me they could fix the damage. I made them bring me tables till one was good. The third table was finally OK. The couch after 18 months started to peel, the leather on the back rests comes off at the seams. They sent a "technician" out to look at it. He takes pictures with a cell phone and says they will get back to me. No one calls! We call and they say it is from animals. Then they say we have to call goof proof. They tell us that it is a manufacturing defect and that is not covered under the goof proof insurance.

We then go to the store with pictures we took ourselves. The manager in the store says that is a defect and calls a manager. They tell us to take photos and send them in to their service department and they will review and call us back in 48-72 hours. 5 days and no calls. We call them only to find out they have not looked at the photos yet. They review the photos while we are on hold and then tell us that it is normal wear and tear and nothing can be done about it. They then tell me that I should seek an outside repair company to fix it out of MY pocket.

Replies
Bought a New Bed Paid in Full Cash
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

POUGHKEEPSIE, NEW YORK -- I purchased a new king size Bob-O-Pedic mattress and box spring in April 2013 along with the goof proof mattress cover. I have had to return the mattress twice already due to sinking and sagging in the mattress already after I spend almost $2000.00. I also had to return the mattress and protector once because the protector failed after I paid $100 for that.

Now I had to call Bob's again to file a claim again for the mattress because it is sagging once again. When we sit on the bed it sinks down to the box spring. I am so disappointed with the experiences of this mattress. Now I have to wait to have an inspector come check the bed to see if it qualifies as defective again and then wait for a new mattress if they approve it. At this point, I am so disappointed. I rather just have them take the bed back and give me my money back until I can find one from another company that I will enjoy. I would never recommend Bob's to anyone I know again.

Replies
Mislead by Sales Rep With Buying Goof Proof
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SOUTHINGTON, CONNECTICUT -- I recently purchased a 6-piece sectional from Bob's in light brown suede. My fiance and I were hesitant with buying suede because we have a 2 yr old. We voiced our concern to the sales representative and he then introduced goof proof. After telling us all about goof proof we thought 'hey we can't go wrong.' The sales representative even gave examples like if our son took a crayon, pen or marker and drew all over the couch it would be covered or if his cup leaked and left a stain.

So we said 'well you can't go wrong. let's do it.' So we purchased the sectional which we found out was not in stock until the following month and we spent the extra $99 for goof proof... The couch ended up being delivered in almost 3 different deliveries they had kept saying that certain pieces were still not in... My fiance was frustrated at that point and we should have taken that as a sign to just cancel the whole order.

So about 2 months after have the couch one day my son gets his hands on a black marker and scribbles all over our storage ottoman and the wedge console to the couch.. My fiance was upset at the time and I wasn't so much. I was like 'hey I will just call goof proof. that's what we brought it for right...' It was a weekend and goof proof was closed so I used the cleaner that was given to us at Bob's which after scrubbing for quite a while got most of the marker out.

So a few days later I called goof proof. I was on the phone for about 20 minutes before anyone assisted me. I told the representative that I needed to file a claim. He asked what happened and what was damaged. I told him which pieces they were and that it had marker and pen and my son had drawn on the couch. The representative then tells me how many marks are on each piece. I thought he was joking but nope they want you to count each mark dots and all. After counting each mark line and dot on each piece he put me on a brief hold. Only to tell me when he returned that it was not covered due to marks greater than 6 inches and being excessive in markage.

I was speechless. I asked him why wasn't it covered, he said because it didn't happen at one time. I was like "were you here when it happened?" - "no.." I told him the pamphlet says it covers marker and pen. He then says "yes if it's an accident", how is a two year old scribbling on a couch not an accident. He said "it's more like if you sit down with a pen in your pocket or something and you mark the couch." When asked what does excessive mean he told me "because you said there are about 20 marks on the ottoman." I said "we'll yes but only because I counted dots."

I mean really I told them they were full of crap and said some other not so great words and then hung up on them. I knew it was too good to be true.. I will never buy that crap again. What a waste of money.. Don't buy goof proof no matter how good it sounds. That Bob's sales representative is full of crap.

Company Response 06/07/2013:

I'd be glad to see what we can do to help out. Please send your contact info to BobCares@MyBobs.com and I'll be in touch. Thanks, Eric.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Quality Furniture and Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WAYNE, NEW JERSEY -- I went into the store and was helped by a representative name Mitch, he was truly a genuine guy, though he insisted several times that I purchase the delivery and setup for $100. I decided that I would pick it up at the Secaucus warehouse and put it up myself and save that extra $100. Mitch said that the table would be ready to be picked up in 2 weeks. At the warehouse, the guys loaded the set in my truck and told me to sign on this paper for having picked up the table. I signed.

After one week of bringing home the table, I had the time to put it together. On opening the box I realized that some pieces were black and others were brown. Also the paint on the top of the table was smudged. I called customer service. The representative said that she would have to send a technician out to my house to verify my complaint. This took another week for the tech to come to my house.

When he came, he was expecting to see the table mounted up. Since it was in the box, he refused to open the box to see the problems. I opened the box for him. He called customer service and made a report that the table has to be replaced. The representative asked to speak with me, she said that the table is in back order until May 09, delivery would be May 10. I asked for a refund because I could not wait that long. She said that they couldn't refund me because it has been more that 24 hours since I picked up the furniture.

She said that I was supposed to open the boxes in the warehouse and make sure all is well before taking it home. I told her that would have been impossible, how was I supposed to repack a table and 6 chairs back in the boxes to bring it home and bring it up to the second floor.

I had no choice but to wait to May 10. In the meantime, I went back to the store in Wayne, to verify that the table was indeed all black. As usual I was bombarded by a representative to help me. The rep's name is Arif, after telling him the issue at hand, he said that is what you will get for not paying for delivery and that this should teach me a lesson to always pay for delivery and service plans, whatever I buy. I asked him if I was wrong to pick it up myself and save $100. He said yes I get what I don't pay for. I asked him if he would pay for something that he could do himself and he said that it is better to pay.

I have no idea how a person working at a furniture store could afford all these service plans out there. The table in question was creating a problem, I had no space to walk around. I called up and asked them to come pick it up while I wait for the new one. The representative sent for it and also had the brown pieces replaced. On May 10, the guys brought the table, they refused to bring up the new table since their paperwork was saying that they have to pick up the old table and brown pieces before giving me the new table.

I have to say that I would never buy as much as a button at this store. Apart from the attitude from Arif, the customer service does not note the complaints on the account as is should. Please do not waste your time going to this store.

Replies
Quality and Service Sucks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MONMOUTH JUNCTION, NJ, NEW JERSEY -- My fiance and I went to Bob's Furniture Store in Monmouth Junction, NJ. We were looking for bedroom furniture, consisting of a dresser and wooded bed frame, a mattress, a box spring and perhaps a computer desk and chair on 3/9/12. We were helped by the office manager, **, which she was able to find the furniture pieces to our liking. We specifically told customer service there, that we will have the bedroom furniture, mattress and box spring to be delivered on 3/16/12, while the computer desk and chair to be delivered at a later date. We needed time to have that specific room prepared for that computer desk and chair.

We received the items as promised on 3/16/12, but they also delivered the computer chair in that delivery against our instructions. Since we were so concerned about the bedroom furniture, we made sure those items were in working order before the delivery men left. Everything was fine with the bedroom furniture. Since the room was not ready for the computer chair and desk, we left the computer chair in our living room for the time being.

My fiance did notice about a week later that the black computer chair was defective. There was chipping on the front arms of the chair, a hairline crack in the back of the left arm, and the arm sawed off and sub standardly screwed in, which caused it not to be flushed with the back part of the chair. Since this chair was black, it was hard to see the defectiveness of the product. I called customer service to cancel the computer desk. If the chair is in this quality then, the desk will probably be in the same type of quality. My fiance then called customer service, and since we did not call within the three day window, they could not give us a refund.

A tech person must come out to determine that it is defective for us to receive any store credit. Two weeks later the tech came and told us that it is defective, but the arms can be replaced. We did not want it. What is the sense to have a computer chair without the desk? So we had a schedule a delivery man to pick up the chair on 4/11/12 to get the credit. While this was all going on, we advised customer service that we had a comfort issue with the mattress. We tried the Bobby Bear Euro top mattress in the store, and it felt fine, but unfortunately, it did not translate well in our home. I would wake up in utter back pain ever night for the first week.

Customer service advise us to call on the thirty first day to get an exchange. Since this would require another tech to come in to determine the defectiveness of the mattress probably in two weeks, we asked customer service to pick up the mattress. They said they can do it, but the delivery men must call them to get confirmation. They did, and speaking with a customer service, I was told to call the store to order a new mattress. I called later that afternoon, and was told by ** at the store that they do not have the mattress. I then called around 8:30 and they finally gave me credit for the mattress and chair.

Unfortunately, since I return the item, I must pay $39.95 delivery charge for the new mattress then the difference of the new mattress in the amount of $110.00. Being that it was late and I was tired from a long day at work, I put it on my credit card. I decided to speak with **, the sales representative that helped picked out the new mattress, the following morning due to all the aggravation that I went through. I wanted something for the inconvenience. He told me some bull that the price is already a discounted rate and Bob's does not give any refund. ** was boasting that the Bob's provides great quality at a great price.

He was saying that Bob's Furniture is the best and urged me to buy their stock, since they are going to expand down South. ** claims to be the disciple of Bob's. I was ready to hear in his next sentence, that Bob's will be parting the Red Sea next week for everyone to see. Please, **, stop the bs. Bob's is a store with horrible service and crappy furniture. I will never get anything at Bob's again.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bob's Discount Furniture Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 100 ratings and
205 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bob's Discount Furniture
428 Tolland Tpke.
Manchester, CT 06040
800-569-1284 (ph)
860-645-4056 (fax)
www.mybobs.com
Compare Furniture Stores