Preview Review

Next Review

Bob's Discount Furniture Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Goof Proof Warranty is a Scam and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH PLAINFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- Purchased a kitchen table and chairs in 2011. I had a stain on the table and called in for service under the Goof Proof service plan. I was told when I purchased the table that ALL issues were covered and since it was a kitchen table it would be best to get it. I called in for service recently and was told since I cleaned the KITCHEN table with water and a mild dish soap they could not honor the claim and the warranty was now void. I asked if not water what was I to clean a kitchen table with.

I was advised it was not an approved cleaner. Bottom line you get what you pay for. The quality is sub-par at best and their practices for getting you to purchase their Goof Proof plan are deceptive. STAY AWAY from BOB's Discount Furniture!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Customer Service and Delivery
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FAIRFAX, NEW YORK -- I would give them less than a 1 star if I could. I requested breakfast with Bob's with guaranteed delivery by 9 am. They overbooked this service and then received a delivery time of 9:20 which continues to be pushed back to 10:34, and most likely will be pushed back later. In speaking with multiple customer service representatives, they were all unhelpful. They agreed that I did sign up for the guaranteed morning delivery but could not change that or compensate me for this error on their part. There is a large disconnect between the routing department and the company.

Also, they would only compensate you once, so if you have two different issues (your furniture delivered was not in good condition and they messed up your delivery). As a customer service company I believe they should correct those issues which they have not correctly delivered as promised. Also, the routing route only started at 8 (when the breakfast with Bobs starts at 6) thus their process of being on time and honoring those who signed up for an earlier time is not satisfied. This is the last time I will ever be ordering from Bob's. If you are looking for a reliable delivery and furniture I would recommend you to go to a different store.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service. Not Worth the Discount. Do Not Shop Here.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RIVERHEAD, NEW YORK -- I purchased a mattress and when I wanted just to exchange it, I was told I had to wait 30 days. Then when I finally was able to do so, I was told I had to return to the store, in order to do this, where the salesman kept insisting I try multiple other mattresses. Then they assured me that the mattress would be delivered between 6:30 a.m. and 9:30 a.m., since my husband and I work. When I got a recorded voicemail with a different time and called the store, the manager told me they can't make that promise even though their salesman was the one who said it. Spend the extra money and go somewhere else.

Replies
Poor service and finding knowledgeable sales person
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEST SPRINGFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS -- First time shopping at Bob's. Looking to buy bedroom set, dining room and TV stand. Started looking at bedrooms. Noticed that many didn't have slide rails on drawers. These were the less expensive ones. Salesperson came up to me and asked if I needed help. Explained to him that I wanted a bedroom set and that I wanted slides on the drawers. He looked at me and said the ones with the slides are the cheaper ones. Then why are they about $400 to $500 more than the other ones? He also said it all depends how rough you are with the furniture as how long it will last.

I asked him where the dining rooms are, he told me downstairs and walked away. I went downstairs to look at the sets and was there for over half an hour with no assistance. After waiting for a while, I left. Bob's need to train his sales personnel better so they know what they are selling and customer service. They just lost a $3000 sale. If they continue on this path they will be closing stores not opening them!

Replies
Advertisement
Bob's Is A Real Pain
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH PLAINFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- STAY AWAY from this big fat liars!! We bought a recliner leather sofa on a Saturday, got the delivery the following Wednesday and by Friday we couldn't stand the back pain. So, we went back to the store to arrange the return. The staff stated we needed to call their customer service, so we did. We were told we could return this crap for a store refund only. So we are stuck with this terrible company. Not only we lost our money to this scammers, but now we have to settle for a low quality piece of furniture. Don't make the same mistake. Take your money somewhere else and DO NOT BUY FROM BOB'S!!!

Replies
Horrible Quality and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW BRITAIN, CONNECTICUT -- I purchased a vanity desk in August 2013 for $300. The desk had a jewelry box built in and a lid that opened to the top. By January 2014, the lid became so nonaligned that the lid would not close. In attempting to close the lid, the left hinge broke through the desk. I called to report a warranty claim on February 3, 2014 and was told that they would replace the desk since the desk would not be serviceable. I was instructed to submit photos, and did so the same day.

After no response, I followed up to my warranty claim on March 15, 2014. The customer service representative dialed in an account manager as well and they "reviewed the photos." They told me that it appeared to be accidental damage and would therefore not be covered. I asked how a nonaligned desk could be accidental damage. As I live alone, I know the desk did not experience anything beyond the normal wear and tear.

I requested they send someone to investigate further as it would be immediately apparent that this was in fact caused by a manufacturer's defect and not accidental damage. They refused. After 5 minutes of arguing, it became apparent that they had no intention to remedy the situation. Now I am stuck with a $300 piece of trash that I have no use for. I am appalled by the lack of responsibility and customer service provided by Bob's. I will never shop there again.

Replies
Goof Proof Is A Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SOUTHINGTON, CONNECTICUT -- I purchased a Section in 2009. At the time I had 2 children and 2 dogs I specifically asked what the Goof Plan covered to make sure it would covered my lifestyle. After 4 years of having the couch I went to submit a claim on the couch. It has a stain and a tear. They denied the claim due to it being from a PET. I specifically asked the salesman at the time of purchase "is pet damage covered." I was informed "yes it is, don't worry." The stain was denied due to it being accumulated stains. I have two kids, everything accumulates in a week or less.

I contacted Bob's right away and asked them to stand by their product. They told me there was nothing they could do. If I was interested in purchasing a new unit they would be happy to assist me! I am very disappointed in Bob's for lying in the beginning to make a sale and then in the end for not sticking by their warranty. I will not purchase from them again.

Replies
Mislead by Sales Rep With Buying Goof Proof
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SOUTHINGTON, CONNECTICUT -- I recently purchased a 6-piece sectional from Bob's in light brown suede. My fiance and I were hesitant with buying suede because we have a 2 yr old. We voiced our concern to the sales representative and he then introduced goof proof. After telling us all about goof proof we thought 'hey we can't go wrong.' The sales representative even gave examples like if our son took a crayon, pen or marker and drew all over the couch it would be covered or if his cup leaked and left a stain.

So we said 'well you can't go wrong. let's do it.' So we purchased the sectional which we found out was not in stock until the following month and we spent the extra $99 for goof proof... The couch ended up being delivered in almost 3 different deliveries they had kept saying that certain pieces were still not in... My fiance was frustrated at that point and we should have taken that as a sign to just cancel the whole order.

So about 2 months after have the couch one day my son gets his hands on a black marker and scribbles all over our storage ottoman and the wedge console to the couch.. My fiance was upset at the time and I wasn't so much. I was like 'hey I will just call goof proof. that's what we brought it for right...' It was a weekend and goof proof was closed so I used the cleaner that was given to us at Bob's which after scrubbing for quite a while got most of the marker out.

So a few days later I called goof proof. I was on the phone for about 20 minutes before anyone assisted me. I told the representative that I needed to file a claim. He asked what happened and what was damaged. I told him which pieces they were and that it had marker and pen and my son had drawn on the couch. The representative then tells me how many marks are on each piece. I thought he was joking but nope they want you to count each mark dots and all. After counting each mark line and dot on each piece he put me on a brief hold. Only to tell me when he returned that it was not covered due to marks greater than 6 inches and being excessive in markage.

I was speechless. I asked him why wasn't it covered, he said because it didn't happen at one time. I was like "were you here when it happened?" - "no.." I told him the pamphlet says it covers marker and pen. He then says "yes if it's an accident", how is a two year old scribbling on a couch not an accident. He said "it's more like if you sit down with a pen in your pocket or something and you mark the couch." When asked what does excessive mean he told me "because you said there are about 20 marks on the ottoman." I said "we'll yes but only because I counted dots."

I mean really I told them they were full of crap and said some other not so great words and then hung up on them. I knew it was too good to be true.. I will never buy that crap again. What a waste of money.. Don't buy goof proof no matter how good it sounds. That Bob's sales representative is full of crap.

Company Response 06/07/2013:

I'd be glad to see what we can do to help out. Please send your contact info to BobCares@MyBobs.com and I'll be in touch. Thanks, Eric.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Quality Furniture and Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WAYNE, NEW JERSEY -- I went into the store and was helped by a representative name Mitch, he was truly a genuine guy, though he insisted several times that I purchase the delivery and setup for $100. I decided that I would pick it up at the Secaucus warehouse and put it up myself and save that extra $100. Mitch said that the table would be ready to be picked up in 2 weeks. At the warehouse, the guys loaded the set in my truck and told me to sign on this paper for having picked up the table. I signed.

After one week of bringing home the table, I had the time to put it together. On opening the box I realized that some pieces were black and others were brown. Also the paint on the top of the table was smudged. I called customer service. The representative said that she would have to send a technician out to my house to verify my complaint. This took another week for the tech to come to my house.

When he came, he was expecting to see the table mounted up. Since it was in the box, he refused to open the box to see the problems. I opened the box for him. He called customer service and made a report that the table has to be replaced. The representative asked to speak with me, she said that the table is in back order until May 09, delivery would be May 10. I asked for a refund because I could not wait that long. She said that they couldn't refund me because it has been more that 24 hours since I picked up the furniture.

She said that I was supposed to open the boxes in the warehouse and make sure all is well before taking it home. I told her that would have been impossible, how was I supposed to repack a table and 6 chairs back in the boxes to bring it home and bring it up to the second floor.

I had no choice but to wait to May 10. In the meantime, I went back to the store in Wayne, to verify that the table was indeed all black. As usual I was bombarded by a representative to help me. The rep's name is Arif, after telling him the issue at hand, he said that is what you will get for not paying for delivery and that this should teach me a lesson to always pay for delivery and service plans, whatever I buy. I asked him if I was wrong to pick it up myself and save $100. He said yes I get what I don't pay for. I asked him if he would pay for something that he could do himself and he said that it is better to pay.

I have no idea how a person working at a furniture store could afford all these service plans out there. The table in question was creating a problem, I had no space to walk around. I called up and asked them to come pick it up while I wait for the new one. The representative sent for it and also had the brown pieces replaced. On May 10, the guys brought the table, they refused to bring up the new table since their paperwork was saying that they have to pick up the old table and brown pieces before giving me the new table.

I have to say that I would never buy as much as a button at this store. Apart from the attitude from Arif, the customer service does not note the complaints on the account as is should. Please do not waste your time going to this store.

Replies
Quality and Service Sucks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MONMOUTH JUNCTION, NJ, NEW JERSEY -- My fiance and I went to Bob's Furniture Store in Monmouth Junction, NJ. We were looking for bedroom furniture, consisting of a dresser and wooded bed frame, a mattress, a box spring and perhaps a computer desk and chair on 3/9/12. We were helped by the office manager, **, which she was able to find the furniture pieces to our liking. We specifically told customer service there, that we will have the bedroom furniture, mattress and box spring to be delivered on 3/16/12, while the computer desk and chair to be delivered at a later date. We needed time to have that specific room prepared for that computer desk and chair.

We received the items as promised on 3/16/12, but they also delivered the computer chair in that delivery against our instructions. Since we were so concerned about the bedroom furniture, we made sure those items were in working order before the delivery men left. Everything was fine with the bedroom furniture. Since the room was not ready for the computer chair and desk, we left the computer chair in our living room for the time being.

My fiance did notice about a week later that the black computer chair was defective. There was chipping on the front arms of the chair, a hairline crack in the back of the left arm, and the arm sawed off and sub standardly screwed in, which caused it not to be flushed with the back part of the chair. Since this chair was black, it was hard to see the defectiveness of the product. I called customer service to cancel the computer desk. If the chair is in this quality then, the desk will probably be in the same type of quality. My fiance then called customer service, and since we did not call within the three day window, they could not give us a refund.

A tech person must come out to determine that it is defective for us to receive any store credit. Two weeks later the tech came and told us that it is defective, but the arms can be replaced. We did not want it. What is the sense to have a computer chair without the desk? So we had a schedule a delivery man to pick up the chair on 4/11/12 to get the credit. While this was all going on, we advised customer service that we had a comfort issue with the mattress. We tried the Bobby Bear Euro top mattress in the store, and it felt fine, but unfortunately, it did not translate well in our home. I would wake up in utter back pain ever night for the first week.

Customer service advise us to call on the thirty first day to get an exchange. Since this would require another tech to come in to determine the defectiveness of the mattress probably in two weeks, we asked customer service to pick up the mattress. They said they can do it, but the delivery men must call them to get confirmation. They did, and speaking with a customer service, I was told to call the store to order a new mattress. I called later that afternoon, and was told by ** at the store that they do not have the mattress. I then called around 8:30 and they finally gave me credit for the mattress and chair.

Unfortunately, since I return the item, I must pay $39.95 delivery charge for the new mattress then the difference of the new mattress in the amount of $110.00. Being that it was late and I was tired from a long day at work, I put it on my credit card. I decided to speak with **, the sales representative that helped picked out the new mattress, the following morning due to all the aggravation that I went through. I wanted something for the inconvenience. He told me some bull that the price is already a discounted rate and Bob's does not give any refund. ** was boasting that the Bob's provides great quality at a great price.

He was saying that Bob's Furniture is the best and urged me to buy their stock, since they are going to expand down South. ** claims to be the disciple of Bob's. I was ready to hear in his next sentence, that Bob's will be parting the Red Sea next week for everyone to see. Please, **, stop the bs. Bob's is a store with horrible service and crappy furniture. I will never get anything at Bob's again.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bob's Discount Furniture Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 106 ratings and
211 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bob's Discount Furniture
428 Tolland Tpke.
Manchester, CT 06040
800-569-1284 (ph)
860-645-4056 (fax)
www.mybobs.com
Compare Furniture Stores