Bridgewater Autobody

1 reviews & complaints.

Incompetent and Fraudulent
Posted by on
BRIDGEWATER, NEW JERSEY -- After receiving a fair estimate from the insurance adjuster for $1,600 to fix a minor fender bender, I brought my car to Bridgewater Auto Body. . I was told by Allen at Bridgewater Auto Body that they could fix the fender for $1600 and he asked that I wait for the check from the Insurance company. When I received the check from the insurance company, Alan asked that I endorse the check over to them and leave it with the car. He promised to call when the job was done.

Three weeks later, I called to follow-up on progress, Allen advised that in the course of repairing the fender, they broke the door handle and stopped working on the vehicle because the insurance company would not authorize further payment to fix the handle. I told Allen that the insurance company was not liable to pay for collateral damage to my car that was not caused by the accident. Moreover, I emphasized that the door handle was in perfect working order when I dropped the car off and expected it to be returned in the same condition.. Allen became belligerent and uncooperative stating “someone has to pay for it or you will get it back with a broken handle”. I then asked to speak to the owner Glenn Morrello, and was told he was not in. When I asked to have the owner call me back, I was told that “Glen does not want to speak with you”. Allen also stated that I would have to pay for the charges of approximately $150 to $300 to fix the door handle. When I refused, he said that my other alternative was to demand that the insurance company pay for a rental car. In this way, Allen reasoned “ he would have leverage in negotiating the extra payment from the insurance carrier” since the cost of the rental car would exceed the cost of the handle repair. I did not like the sound of this, but needed a car that week to get to work so I asked the insurance company to provide the car until the handle was fixed. They were happy to do so, but only for three days. After I returned the rental, I called Allen who stated that “the insurance company is still taking a hard stance and would not pay”. As a result, they had not fixed the door handle. I was told to either pay for the damages caused by them or pick up the car with the broken handle and fix it a my expense. Finally, I called the owner Glenn Morrello. Glenn was familiar with my situation and supported Allen’s position that I would need to pay for the collateral damages while the car was under their care.

I have filed a complaint with the NJ Better Business Bureau as well as the with the NJ Division of Consumer affairs. At the very least, I can do my part in preventing this establishment from committing what amounts to at a minimum, Insurance Fraud STAY AWAY AND ADVISE YOUR FRIENDS TO DO THE SAME!

UPDATE: 2/19/09:
Filing a complaint with BBB of NJ was not received well by Allan. He left me a message on 2/16/09 demanding that I pick up my car immediately or face storage charges of 40 dollars a day. In addition, Allen expalined that the car was not drivable and I would need to pay for a tow to get it home. I returned Allen's call on 2/17/10 and politely told him that I would pick up my car as long as they put it back into drivable condition and left the broken door handle in the car. Allen replied that they had the car apart and did not intend to work on it unless I pay for the door handle that they broke while taking off the door. This is after I paid $1600 to have them repair my car and subsequent to them receiving an additional check from the insurance company to pay for blending in the paint from the fender. Allan also reminded me that I signed a waiver stating they are not responsible for loss/damage to the vehicle or articles within". I had previously replied to this threat noting that the statement is not enforeable in court and amounts to standard boilerplate language. Aside from poor customer service and incompetent work, I will no longer listen to their attempts to extort money from me by holding my car hostage. This case will be documented and forwarded to the state's attorney general's office for review.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
skelly39 on 02/05/2010:
Did you endorse the check before they started repairs? You should have held onto it until they were done. Then you would have had leverage over them. I would sue.
BEJ on 02/05/2010:
Lawsuit here. You mistake was endorsing the check over to them before you were satidfied with the work.
Skye on 02/05/2010:
Take them to court. You are entitled to have your car returned in the same condition you gave it to them in.
Anonymous on 02/05/2010:
Make sure that your insurance company is aware of all that has transpired. They have the ability to say to them 'make this right or no further business from us'. This is exactly what small claim court was made for.
Anonymous on 02/05/2010:
Wow what a bunch of *ssholes at that body shop. I would have been FURIOUS if they did that to my car and told ME to pay for it??? I would have been over to that body shop in 3.5 seconds and saying a few choice words. I would call your insurance company and let them know the situation. TELL them they were trying to commit fraud by making you pruposely rent a car to try to get them to pay for the damanges done by the shop's negligence. By doing this, the insurance company may investigate and decide to take proper action....If the insurance company recommends their insurers to take their car to this shop, they may tell threaten this owner to remove them from there recomendation list, causing the owner to lose business with this insurance company. This may convince the owner to cough up the dough and fix the handle at his expence. This is a good review. Seems like the shop is run by a bunch of scumbags.
Matt67 on 05/01/2010:
I had a similar problem with Bridgewater Auto Body 2 years ago when I brought my Buick Regal in for repair. They literally spent 25 minutes
reviewing the condition of the car to assure that there were no pre-existing scratches or malfunctions that they would be blamed for ( Except for the dent..the car was in pristine condition) When I picked the car up the dent was fixed, but as I backed out of the shop, I saw deep gouges in the side window glass and was horrified. They, of course, denied responsibility saying the scrtches were there even after their tedious pre-repair inspection.
I complained to the insurance Co. but never took further action. Clearly not honorable people!
mike1985 on 05/28/2010:
Please DO NOT EVER give the body shop the insurance check before the work is completed, then they have no motivation to get the job done timely and or correctly because they have already been paid. trust me I am an insurance adjuster and I see this happen far to often. I always tell my clients the payment is your leverage with the body shop PAY THEM WHEN YOU ARE COMPLETLY SATISFIED WITH THE FINISHED PRODUCT. if the shop is demanding payment upfront go elseware.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >