Budget Truck Rental

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
32 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Unsafe trucks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DENVER, COLORADO -- In September 2013, we rented a 26 foot truck from Budget to move our household from Estes Park, CO to Tampa, FL. The representative who checked the truck out to us was very helpful, but the truck we were given was not in any condition to travel the almost 2000 miles we had to go. We did not make 100 miles when the brake buzzer would not turn off. We were stranded in a Walmart parking lot for a couple hours while a mechanic sent by Budget attempted to fix the problem. Then he said to try it, so we got back on the highway and the speedometer and lights no longer worked. We pulled over and proceeded to wait another 3 hours while he and another mechanic he called tried multiple things, each of which apparently just led to more problems. At 8:30pm, we were told to check into a hotel which Budget would pay for and that a moving crew would come the next morning to move all of our things from that truck to another truck. We had stopped at about 1:30 pm on a Thursday. The movers and next truck showed up at 11 the next morning and moved all of our things. We started again at 2:30pm, so we lost an entire day on a massive trip. In addition, Budget did not cover one of our hotel rooms in a very expensive hotel. Not sure if they really expected me, my husband, my two adult brothers, and my nephew to all share king-sized beds - which is all the hotel had left - or what?

We drove until 11:30 on Friday to try and make up a bit of time and then left at 8:00 the next morning. We stopped at 11:30 to get gas and truck #2 would not start again. Another mechanic showed up after more than an hour wait (we were in the middle of nowhere in Oklahoma by this time) and after about an hour, he said the truck was a total piece of garbage. In fact, while on the phone with Budget, he was asked if he had test-driven the truck. His answer was that he would drive that truck across the parking lot! So once again, we spent from 11:30am to 9:30pm in a truck stop parking lot waiting for another truck and moving crew.

We left again at 9:30pm on Saturday and had to drive 28 hours straight in order to arrive Sunday evening in Tampa, because both of my brothers had to work Monday morning. We had two drivers for each vehicle (the truck and our car), two dogs, and one 7-year-old. It was dangerous and ridiculous. We were exhausted before we even got back on the road and had already been up for more than 14 hours.

We returned the truck to a dealer in Tampa on Fowler or Fletcher Ave (can't remember) and he helped up to have a perfect ending to our horrendous Budget experience. It was pouring when we left my brother's house, so we stopped at the truck stop gas station just before we got on I-75 where there was an awning and we could easily pull the huge truck in and out. It was about 12 miles from there to the return location. The personnel checked us in having a full tank, but another $45 charge showed up on our credit card without notice and when I called, they claimed the tank was not full. Nice scam.

This is not even the full story of all the insanity we endured, but there is too much to include here. Suffice to say, many of our things were damaged by being thrown into different trucks and we had intentionally put kitchen boxes with glassware, etc. ON TOP of boxes of books, but the movers certainly did not. We sent a letter requesting that Budget expunge our bill and also cover the three different hotels we had to stay in which were either very expensive or one which was very cheap but DISGUSTING (at the truck stop) and that they cover the gas. We felt that was a MINIMAL request, given the torture we had to endure because they did not furnish us with a reliable truck for a journey of almost 2000 miles. They, of course, refused. After many angry calls, etc,, they finally agreed to reduce our bill by 2/3 and not cover any other expenses. Their justification for collecting 1/3 of their cost was - GET THIS - "we were able to make our destination in the third truck." !!!!!!!

WE HATE BUDGET AND WILL NEVER, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES, GIVE THEM ANOTHER CENT EVER. As there are not a lot of choices for a trip like ours however, we recommend that anyone needing to go a long distance at least get a personal assurance from the owner of the franchise where the truck is issued that the truck is is excellent condition and that it is a newer model at least, in order to minimize the possibility of a disaster such as we experienced.

     
Replies
Budget Truck Rentals Review
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEMPE, ARIZONA -- I reserved at 10 foot moving truck for local use last Saturday at 9 am. My friends said they'd meet me at my house at 9:30 to help for the day.

When I arrived to pick up the truck, the door was open but the office was closed. i.e. someone must have forgot to lock the door the night before and didn't arrive to work the next day. I called several times in the morning and there was no answer. At 11 am I called another dealer and told them what happened. They put me on hold for 10 minutes and I finally hung up. I called the corporate office in New Jersey. They said they'd try to locate a truck for me. They also said they spoke with my dealer. The dealer supposedly said he offered me a 16' truck because a 10 foot truck was not available. That wasn't true. Even today, there is no answer at that dealer's location. Today is Monday afternoon.

During the weekend, when I called corporate, they said they'd compensate me for my expenses and time. I paid my friends a $100 each because we wasted most of the day. Plus I treated them to lunch.

I called corporate today. Paula was the most pleasant representative I spoke with so far, but she made Budget's policy very clear. When you make a reservation, you're not reserving a truck! You're merely reserving the rate. There is no guarantee that you'll have a truck when you arrive. However if you don't show up to pick up a truck, they charge you $50.

Paula said they don't guarantee a time and they don't guarantee availability. Over 2 days later, they still haven't found a truck. Ironically there were a dozen trucks at their dealer's location - but no one managing the store.

Paula told me Budget could not compensate me for losses because a truck was not available because they are a 'self serve' moving company. I asked if they would provide me with a free truck for a day ($30 value). She said, 'that's not going to happen.'. At that point I asked if Budget is concerned with their online reputation and bad reviews. Paula was very pleasant. She said Budget doesn't care at all. She said, 'Go ahead and say whatever you want about us. Have a nice day.' I wished her well and got off the phone.

Budget has offices all over the world. I believe that each office is independently owned and it's a franchise but I haven't researched that. They really don't care and don't feel that consumers can affect their profits when they tell the world about how Budget operates.

This is valuable information for potential Budget independent dealers and for people needing a moving truck.

I recommend that you always rent the truck first and give your friends the heads up that you might have a truck. Once you have a truck then invite them over to help you move.

I spoke with 3 or 4 Budget employees at corporate so far. Paula seemed to be the most knowledgeable. Everyone else was clueless with an 'I don't care' attitude. No one apologized. No one said they're sorry. No one said they understood. And no one cared, - especially the company. The employees were just following company policy. Even on this site, as of today, with over 150 complaints and a 1 star rating, Budget hasn't responded to any of the complaints. They don't care.

After writing this review I called corporate one more time to confirm their correct address. I told them I was online writing reviews about their company and wanted to make sure I was complaining about the right company. She said, 'oh OK, a huh, no problem, thanks for calling.'

Here's budget's corporate headquarters. She said they have offices in Canada too.

Avis Budget Car Rental, LLC
6 Sylvan Way
Parsippany, NJ 07054 U.S.

     
Replies
False Quotes, Poor Customer Service from Budget Truck Rental
By -

When reserving my truck, the agent quoted me a rate of $176 for a 3 day rental, plus an $18/day youthful driver surcharge, plus tax, for a total of $230 plus tax for my rental. Because my drop-off location was closed on the drop-off day, the rental was extended for an extra day with no extra charge. I specifically asked if I would be charged an additional $18 for the extra day, and the agent said no. I also asked if there was the potential that I would be given a truck larger that 10', and the agent said no, I would receive a 10' truck. It was important for me to know what size truck I would be driving, since I needed this information to establish coverage on the Budget truck with my insurance agent. The rate I was quoted, combined with the guarantee of a 10' truck, were the deciding factors in my choosing Budget over another rental agency.

When I picked up my truck, I was surprised to find a 16' truck waiting for me. I was also surprised to see that my bill included 4 days of the $18/day surcharge, not 3 days like I was quoted, along with a $3/day "Cost Recovery Fee" that had never been mentioned.

Upon arriving at my new apartment complex, I parked the truck in the visitors section while filling out paperwork with the landlord. After finishing the paperwork about 15 minutes later, I went to move the truck to a new parking spot within the complex. The truck had very little power behind it this time and I had a great deal of trouble negotiating the parking lot of the hilly apartment complex, but the engine trouble didn't appear until I was already stuck blocking the entrance to the complex with a truck 6' longer that I had been expecting to drive. I was finally able to get the truck into a parking spot, though not without a great deal of trouble and inconvenience. Later we determined that the truck was experiencing vapor lock, and was driveable again given sufficient time to cool down, though the temperature gauge never rose beyond its midpoint. The truck vapor locked again after I gave it a final fill-up before dropping it off; luckily I was already close enough to the drop-off location that I was able to make it.

Following this experience, I called customer service to complain. The agent eventually offered to refund 5% of the $176 rental cost for the inconvenience of the truck's performance. Though I feel like I deserve more than an $8.80 refund for this, I accepted because the agent angrily insisted that this would be the only offer, and that she didn't even have to give me the 5% discount. The customer service agent did nothing to address my other issues. The extra $18 was not refunded, even though I specifically asked about it upon making the reservation. The agent stated that the "Cost Recovery Fee" was particular to the individual dealers, and the central office did not include this in its quotes. First of all, it would not be difficult for Budget to keep tabs on the fees of its dealers, so that this price could be included in the quote once pick-up and drop-off points are established. Furthermore, if Budget was unable to quote what this hidden fee would be, Budget should have at least warned me that some dealers will charge an extra fee, and that I should contact the dealer with any questions concerning this. The customer service agent made no apology for this surprise on my bill. The agent also told me that Budget does not make guarantees about the size of its trucks. Clearly some of Budget's reservation agents think you do. Throughout the phone call, the customer service agent kept saying that I had already received a good deal--a 20% discount had been applied when I made the reservation, and I got the truck for 4 days at the cost of 3 (sort of). However, because of all the extra fees I had to pay Budget, I could have gotten a better deal with another rental agency. Additionally, because the other agency was up-front about their fees and the uncertainty of truck size, I could have made better arrangements. Instead, the lies I was told by Budget led to added frustration in this move.

Overall, my experience with Budget has been very bad. The dealers with whom I spoke when I picked up and dropped off the truck were very friendly, helpful, and apologetic, but everyone else was disappointing. The reservation agent lied to me. The customer service agent was unfriendly, talked over me, and angrily told me that no managers would accept calls and that this would be the final resoltion to my issue. I find it hard to imagine that Budget gets many repeat customers with this kind of business practice.

     
Replies
The Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GOFFSTOWN, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- I reserved a Budget truck in July 2014 for a move from New Hampshire to Florida. While making the reservation over the phone with a customer service rep... I was informed of the special rate they had at the time in preparation of the fall season. Happy at the time that I got such a great rate on my truck rental. My move is scheduled to take place at the end of November 2014.

Well 3 months later.... the bastards at Budget begin to show how much they suck. I decided to go and physically see the truck about 2 weeks before my 1900 mile move to get an idea of the cab size since I am bringing my two dogs along.

I go to the dealer where I was told would have my truck rental information only to find out that the dealer is no longer in business with Budget. Hahaha... are you kidding me? So of course. .I immediately call the corporate customer service line to find out what's going on....

Seriously these people booked this reservation for me 3 months earlier knowing that the dealer was no longer there... what kind of company does business like that?

When I attempted to change the pickup location to one that is actually in business. They wouldn't honor the original quote. Now that's just crummy and shady. And yes... you can guess that nobody gave a crap about me or my problem.

Now because we are in November and everyone seems to go south at that time.. my price doubled! Even with a prior 3 month reservation. I call that the doubling down budget douche move.

I can't express enough how much this screws my moving expenses and these people could care less. First they book me with a dealer who is no longer there and then when I am desperate to find a rental two weeks before my move they won't honor their original price quote.

I wouldn't rent a truck from these people.. ever and I hope this review reaches others before they attempt to do business with a bunch of scam artists. Go to Uhaul and pay the extra price. Because sometimes cheaper isn't always better.

     
Replies
Reserved Truck Not Available, Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NATIONWIDE, OHIO -- I made my reservation early in the week, and scheduled two days off from work to move from the state of Ohio, to Indiana. I went to the location, Pep-Boys, in Mansfield Ohio at 1:00 in the afternoon to pick up my truck, only to be told that I was the THIRD customer of the day to NOT receive their truck! No trucks were delivered, I was told. I called the customer service number and much to my surprise, NO ONE at YOUR company could explain how this happened. I was transferred to another associate who explained to me that they would have to have someone call me back with an alternate pick up. Guess what happened? They called me back and said that there was a shop in Galion Ohio, but wait, they couldn't tell me IF that shop was open or IF they even HAD A TRUCK! The recommendation to me from your associate: Why don't you wait until Tuesday to move? What a novel idea! It's almost as if your company assumed I was moving balloons or something ridiculously LIGHT that I needed no help moving at all. I normally work 80 hour work weeks, and my family graciously scheduled time off to help me as well. All in vain.

Well now, let me see. I think the FIRST thing you could do would be to determine just how this happened. Maybe your trucks were stolen. Maybe your driver just decided, "hey, I don't feel like going to work today". You know where I would start? I would begin by contacting the customers who had reservations and explaining just how this could happen. Preferably, BEFORE they arrive to pick up their truck.

Additionally, I was appalled that customer service suggested I drive another 30 minutes out of my way to check on another location THAT MAY OR MAY NOT HAVE A TRUCK, AND MAY NOT BE OPEN!!!!!

Now, I'm not entirely sure just what kind of a company you are running here, but what I can assure you is that IF I WERE to rent from your company again (Which is not looking very promising) I would expect MORE than a free rental.

I was at least hoping that you would make sure that a truck would be delivered as soon as possible to the Mansfield location. Ideally, I would have liked it delivered to my residence to make up for the time delay. Unfortunately, I am UNABLE TO MOVE AT ALL now because I can't take any more time off.

     
Replies
Worst customer service ever!
By -

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- I rented a Budget truck to move from Dayton, OH to Tampa, FL. I flew to Dayton to get the truck I reserved, and took a cab to the business. When I showed up, the man working there was surprised to see me because he didn't have any reservations. Luckily he had a truck, if you could call it that, and eventually found the reservation. I examined the truck, and told him the gas tank was not completely full. He told me to just return it the way it was. Should have known that would be trouble. While loading the truck, I went to open the passenger door, and learned at that time the passenger mirror was taped on. The mirror flapped the whole trip. The truck had no cruise control, the tires were out of balance, and it pulled significantly to the right. Made for a long trip. When I got to Tampa and finished with the truck, I went to return it. It was about 6 in the evening, but the business had already closed. I parked the truck there since I had a ride at that time, but didn't see a drop box so I decided to return in the morning to finish the transaction. I got a call at 730 am complaining that the truck was parked in their lot. I told them I would be there as quick as I could, and was pushed over and over for a time. I did get there and drop the keys off about a half hour later. The gas gauge was as it had been when I picked it up. I contacted customer care, interesting name for it at Budget, and was treated very rudely by the operator there as well. Eventually I saw the futility of it, and just hung up. Later, I was charged a $10 drop off fee, and $43 top off fee. I am fighting these fees, and will challenge them with the credit card company as well if they do nit reverse them. I will not deal with Budget/Avis/Advantage rental agencies again. They have no clue about customer service!

     
Replies
Unsafe Equipment and Poor Service
By -

On Monday, July 18, 2005, I rented a 16' truck and car carrier #361659 at Allen Tire & Battery in New Britain, CT, and returned both items Friday, July 22, 2005, at All Safe Mini Stor It in Waukesha, WI. Our total bill was $1,429.53 (Customer Reference # 0042400009023) paid by credit card. We are extremely unhappy with the condition of the car carrier we received.

We arrived at Allen Tire & Battery on Monday and spoke with William Zenboi. In order to rent us the truck we were looking for, he needed to close that particular truck rental in the system. This told us that it was not inspected after the previous rental and before ours. He also rented us the only car carrier he had on property. Upon arriving at our Storage Unit with the truck and car carrier, we noticed that the strap that is placed around the front driver side tire was rotten three-fourths of the way through.

At 5:55 A.M. on Tuesday, July 19, , my fiancé and I began our long drive from New Britain, CT to Waukesha, WI. Within four minutes of merging onto I-84W in Hartford, CT, the passenger-side front tire of the car carrier blew out. In the emergency lane of the highway, I dialed Budget's Roadside Assistance and spoke with Aaron who informed me that he would return my call as soon as he was able to locate a service to change our tire. After a half hour, Aaron did return our call and told me that service was located and would be at our location within the hour. We waited patiently for one hour and 15 minutes for a service technician to help us while rush-hour traffic continued to build. As frustration set in, I dialed Budget Roadside Assistance a second time and spoke with Jay who placed me on hold for 10 minutes. When he came back on the line, he informed me that the service technician had gotten stuck in traffic and would be there within 20 minutes. After 30 minutes, my fiancé called Roadside Assistance yet again and also spoke with Jay who informed us that the service technician should be there “any minute.” We questioned Jay about the location of the service technician, and he informed us that the technician was coming from East Hartford – only 10 minutes from our location. As we began to tell Jay that sitting on the side of a MAJOR highway in a MAJOR city for two and one-half hours is unacceptable, the service gentleman pulled up behind us. When we questioned him about the amount of time it took him to reach us, he informed us that he was not stuck in traffic but had only received the call 10 minutes prior to his arrival.

Upon changing our blown-out tire, the service technician informed us that the tire – along with at least two of the other three tires – had severe rot damage. Unfortunately, he only had one tire with him to replace the blown-out one.

It is unacceptable that we were both lied to and had to wait in the emergency lane of a MAJOR highway in a MAJOR city during very dangerous rush hour traffic for two and one half hours. It is also unacceptable that we were given a car carrier with tires in that condition. According to the Budget Truck Web site:

"Budget Strives For A Well-Maintained Fleet:
Budget Truck Rental prides itself on its established safety and inspection process. Before any rental, Budget Truck rental locations are expected to complete a full 10-point inspection of the truck, which includes checking for the proper fluids, tire pressures and other necessary elements for a smooth rental."

It also needs to be mentioned that upon return of the truck and car carrier, we informed the gentleman at All Safe Mini Stor It in Waukesha, WI, that the car carrier's tires and straps were in need of attention before the next rental. He acknowledged our comment with an “uh-huh.”

This is only the beginning of a list of issues that we had with Budget Truck Rental.

On Wednesday, June 29, 2005, we rented the first of two 16' trucks and car carriers at Southern Transfer Service in Orlando, FL, and returned the truck and car carrier #108755 on Thursday, July 7, 2005, at Allen Tire & Battery in New Britain, CT. Our total bill for our first trip was $840.35 (Customer Reference #1707116502430) paid by Discover credit card. Upon returning to our house to pack up the truck, we found we were unable to disconnect the car carrier from the truck. We phoned Roadside Assistance and waited two hours for a technician to arrive. He informed us that all he had to do was stand on the bumper of the truck and “bounce the car carrier off the ball,” which could have been explained to us on the telephone.

Upon attempting to reserve a second truck and car carrier in Connecticut, we called Budget Reservations at 10 A.M. on Sunday, July 17. We were informed that there was one location that had both the 16' truck and car carrier. We were told we could pick them up at 2 P.M. and that this location closed at 6 P.M. Upon our arrival at Storage USA Rocky Hill in Rocky Hill, CT, we were told that they had only received the truck reservation information ten minutes prior to our arrival, that our reservation was for pickup at 2:30 P.M., and that the location closed at 3 P.M. We were also told that they only had a 15' truck and no car carrier. The gentleman at Storage USA Rocky Hill phoned the District Office to inquire about the reservation. After several minutes, he handed the phone to my fiancé who was told there were no other open locations, that it was our fault for making the reservation on a Sunday afternoon, and that if we desired we could take the truck currently available at that location and pick up a car carrier at another location the next morning. We explained to the woman on the phone that this was not acceptable. We were told the equipment was available; therefore, it was not our fault for making the reservation on a Sunday. We also explained that because we were told our reservation was made, we went ahead and made arrangements to pack that afternoon and leave the following morning. This had now caused us to lose an entire day and a half. We asked what she could offer us for the trouble, and she informed my fiancé that we were not “at the negotiating stage yet.” This is not an acceptable way to treat a customer that is going to spend over $1,500 on your equipment.

In the end, we canceled the reservation and waited until the following morning to return to another location, Allen Tire & Battery in New Britain, CT, because we had dealt with the gentleman earlier and he had informed us he could offer us a better deal.

I would also like to mention that on the Budget Truck Rental web site and on the reservation system printed papers it says that Budget Truck Rental rents 16' trucks; however, on my receipts and on various posters hung throughout Budget Truck Rental facilities, it states that the trucks are 15'. If I have reserved a 16' truck, I expect to receive a 16' truck – not 15'.

As outlined in this note, I am extremely disappointed with our experiences with Budget Truck Rental – both the equipment and Budget associates. Upon our arrival at our final destination in Waukesha, WI, we phoned customer service and spoke with Tammy who informed us she could only offer a 10% refund on the car carrier based on Budget's guidelines. When we stated this was not acceptable, she had us speak with Sean, her supervisor, who informed us he could only offer a 20% refund on the car carrier. When I told him that this was also unacceptable, he informed me that was all he could do. He said he would make a note in our file that the customer declined his offer and proceeded to give me Budget Truck Rental's Executive Offices address to which I wrote a three-page letter - dated August 2, 2005 - with the information just described here.

To resolve my complaints, I requested a refund of the cost of the second car carrier, a total of $344.50 ($325 for the car carrier and $19.50 for the 6% tax), based on the fact that the equipment was in such a state of disrepair as to jeopardize the safety of my fiancé and myself, along with other drivers on state and federal highways. Also, I feel I am entitled to an additional refund of 10% of the total bill for both trips ($2,269.88), which is $226.99, as compensation for our inconvenience, wasted personal time, excessive cell phone usage, and the numerous misleading statements made by their associates.

I enclosed all receipts and paperwork from both truck and car carrier rentals and photos of the rot-ridden tires and straps. I requested return information by September 1, 2005 before filing a complaint with and seeking help from the Federal Trade Commission Bureau of Consumer Protection, Connecticut and Florida Departments of Consumer Protection, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, and the Better Business Bureau.

On Wednesday, August 24, 2005 at approximately 5 p.m., I received a phone call from J.P. (Employee ID # 57681) at Budget Truck Rental (Phone # 800-462-8343). He informed me that he was unable to give me any information even though I had written the letter and all the charges were placed on my credit card. He would only speak with my fiancé because his name was on the truck rental reservation information. Unfortunately, my fiancé was not home from work at that time but did attempt to return J. P.'s phone call 15 minutes later. We were told J. P. had already left the office. On Thursday, August 25, my fiancé called J. P. during his lunch hour. J.P. explained to him that he was the Case Manager handling our case and had come to a settlement amount of $167.50. When we informed him that this amount was considerably less than we requested and felt we deserved, he stated that was all he could do. When we asked for his supervisor, he said he was the last person we could possibly deal with - no one was above him. We informed him that we felt we deserved a better offer and would proceed to file our complaints with the above mentioned organizations. As a courtesy gesture towards Budget Truck Rental, my fiancé placed one more phone call to J. P. during his lunch hour on Friday, August 26 to be sure that was the best they could offer. J. P. again stated that was all he could do.

     
Replies
TRIP from HELL and all due to Budget
By -

TRIP FROM HELL and all due to Budget!

I reserved a 16' truck and tow dolly to used to move from Denver, CO to Seattle, WA. My dad flew into town and we picked up the truck on 12/5/10. They didn't have a tow dolly, so they gave us a tow trailer instead, which was fine with us. We put my car on the trailer and left Denver 12/6 A.M. About 200 miles into the trip, the gauges on the truck stopped working. Couldn't tell how fast we were going, how much gas we had, or anything else. But the truck seemed to run okay other than that so we kept going until we could find a gas station, where we pulled over, got some gas, and tried to restart the truck, and it wouldn't start. It didn't even try to turn over. So I called the Roadside Assistance number and was on hold for at least 30 mins. before someone answered. I told the woman our situation and said we needed help so she told us she would have dispatch call us back with info. We waited almost an hour, and no call from dispatch. We were blocking a gas pump, stuck in a snowstorm with no heat, and my dad was on crutches due to a knee problem. So I called the Roadside Assistance number AGAIN, and was on hold AGAIN for at least 30 mins. and rather than wait for dispatch to call me back, I told the person on the phone that I was not going to hang until I had info on what was going to happen. She came back on and said a tow truck would be there within 30 mins. Tow truck came and tried to give us a jump start and it wouldn't start, so the tow truck driver called Roadside Assistance and HE had to wait at least 30 minutes on hold before someone answered and he finally got permission to tow our Budget truck and trailer to a place that would fix it. It was about 4:45 P.M. by that time so we were stranded in Rawlins, Wyoming that night. Got a call the next morning that the truck had been fixed so we went to pick it up and the man at the repair shop asked us about payment and we said "Well, we figure that will be Budget's responsibility." So then HE called Customer Service and was on hold for 45 mins. and was getting transferred to this person and that person before he finally got authorization for payment from Budget. So we think we're good to go, walk outside to hop in the truck and noticed that one of the wheels on the towing trailer was bent/askew and it was unable to be towed. Not sure how that happened; we honestly think the tow truck driver may have done it while backing it into the service facility because it was fine the day prior to that when we were driving. The service facility told us they wouldn't be able to get parts to fix it so I AGAIN called Roadside Assistance and was AGAIN on hold for 30-45 minutes before someone came on to help me. We were told dispatch would call back with a directive, and AGAIN - no call from dispatch in an hour. So I called Roadside Assistance AGAIN, on hold AGAIN for 30-45 mins. and tell them I'll hold while they're figuring out what we can do because dispatch had never called back. She finally came back on the line and told us we would have to drive to Laramie (100 miles back the way we came from) or Casper (120 miles north one way and completely out of our way because we were heading west) to pick up a new trailer. I told her there was no way we were going to drive that far out of our way to pick up a new trailer because we had already been inconvenienced an entire day because the truck had broken down and now we were expected to drive way out of our way to get a new one. HORRIBLE customer service. If anything, a new one should have been brought to us. Then I suggested we go pick up a U-Haul trailer because there was a U-Haul rental company in town and asked if Budget would pay for that and she transferred me to a Customer Service representative who said "I don't know why she transferred you to me because all I can do is tell you that you're breaking your lease agreement if you get a U-Haul trailer." She LITERALLY said that. So I hung up from her, called Roadside Assistance BACK to get "authorization" to just drop the trailer where it had broken down, was on hold for 45 minutes AGAIN, was told dispatch would call me (and they never did), so AGAIN I called, was on hold AGAIN for 30 minutes and FINALLY got authorization to just leave the trailer where it was and was told Budget would go pick it up. My dad drove the Budget Rental Truck the rest of the way and I followed him in my car the ENTIRE way to Seattle - almost 1,100 miles. But to be honest with you, I was just happy to be rid of that trailer and be done with customer service and get out of Wyoming. I will NEVER rent from Budget again and I am going to go on all the review websites and give Budget a scathing review. My move to Seattle was the trip from hell and it was all due to Budget. Never again. I wish I had read the reviews before renting from them and now I've learned my lesson.

     
Replies
The Worst Treatment I Have Ever Experienced
By -

EULESS, TX -- I set up a truck rental last Friday August 6th, 2010. I was told by the employee Stephanie when I rented the truck on Friday morning that I could leave my car at the Budget Facility overnight and that the truck had to be back at the facility by 8:00 am the next morning otherwise there would be another day rate charge. She told me that her manager would be opening the facility at 8:00 am the next morning but that he was sometimes late.

I had the truck there at 8:15 the next morning -- Saturday, August 7 but the gates were locked. I waited. As I had just moved there were many things I had to do. At about 8:30 I called the corporate number and spoke to a woman who suggested I drop the keys in the box and, seeing that my car was locked in the facility, I should call a cab. She had no name or number for the manager. At 8:45 a car pulled up and the driver reiterated that the facility should have been open at 8:00. He was a repeat customer and didn't know why it wasn't open. He also told me to park the truck and put the keys in the box. I told him that my car was parked inside the facility. He was on first name terms with the manager -- he said this man 'David' was the owner or manager. He called a number from his mobile phone and after a brief conversation then told me that the person was on his way.

When David got there he opened the gates. I asked him if this was Budget way of treating their customers -- telling them to bring back the truck at 8:00 am but not bothering to open the gates until after 9:00am. He told me he didn't have to take any sh_t from me and that if I didn't like it, I could talk to the corporate office. Then he told me this lie: "The girl who was supposed to open the facility had car troubles and she had called him to tell him she couldn't be there at 8:00 am." I told him to process my papers and that I couldn't believe a national rental company would act so unprofessionally. He was very rude.

Then he checked the fuel and said that the tank wasn't full. I told him that when Stephanie and I had checked the fuel gauge on the morning when I rented the truck it did not go all the way to the 'F' mark. When I asked her about this she told me that fuel gauges on these bigger trucks were often not accurate. I had actually filled the truck just before returning it. The manager said I would have to wait and then drive with him to the has station. Needless to say I left.

I am shocked at the treatment I received from this company. There was total disregard for me as a customer. I was made to waste an hour of my time. I was lied to and the truck's fuel gauge was faulty. Plus I found out from their corporate office that he had charged me $49.00 to fill the truck up anyway, this borders on criminal intent. I will not only never do business with this company again, I will attempt to dissuade everybody I know from doing business with this company. I'm sure one bad apple won't harm Budget's reputation but I would give this facility a miss.

     
Replies
Worst Company Ever. Do Not Trust Them
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

430 FRANKLIN VILLAGE DRIVE, FRANKLIN, MASSACHUSETTS -- Twice we made a reservation with this company for a 24 feet truck, twice had the worse customer service ever. On June 27, 2013, I made a reservation over the phone with the service center, even provided them with my credit card information. With confirmation number handy went to pick up truck. I was informed at that location by a very unprofessional person that he was not advised by "Service Center" of this reservation. Also, he said he has not had a truck that size for months.

On July 2, 2013, decided to give them a second chance, this time after reservation, I called the Franklin, MA location to make sure this time they had the truck. Actually I called twice to confirm the availability and make sure my 45 minutes' drive was not going to be in vain this time. Everything was fine until I arrived to pick up truck. Once there I was informed that they had not 24 feet for me, even though there was one parked right outside. Try to rationalize with the guy that I needed the truck to no avail.

My only advice to the rest of you hard working people is to never ever trust them. I am sure I am not ever going back there for anything and if anyone asks me for reference it is not going to be a good one for sure.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >