BugMeNot.com

1 reviews & complaints.

Free Website Log-ins
Posted by on
I just mentioned this on a review and figured many don't know of this place. If you come across a website that requires registration to view pages, you can go to www.bugmenot.com and enter the site that wants you to register. Many times, you can find working pre-existing email,user and password combinations that users have submitted. It's a nice option since any email account used in these cases are generally spammed and sold 40 times over.

This way it protects your active accounts and you won't have to create a throwaway just to see a webpage.
     
Read 44 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Sparticus on 2007-08-07:
Nice tip... Thanks!
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
Great review & thanks for the info!
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
V.H.
MRM on 2007-08-07:
Great tip, Slim!
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
Good resource, thanks. Kind of like a Warez for the good guys.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
Yeah, great tip and information Slim!
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
Sites like this bug the crap out of me. It's lying and I hate liars. It's stealing and I hate thieves. Sites that require registration do so in order to provide free content. You see this is the offer – the user provides the site owners with the requested info and the site owners provide the users content for free. When you give bogus info obtained from sites like bugmenot.com then you are not being honest or fulfilling your part of the agreement and I for one consider it stealing. Maybe this OP has no problem with dishonesty and theft but I do. This review nauseated me. I voted it 'Not Helpful' and if the ADMINS have one ounce of dignity they would not promote dishonesty and thievery by allowing this review to remain on this site.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
"very helpful" Slim.
Cannot wait to try it out!
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
Gee Stew, if that is indeed your real name, as long as we are speaking of honesty lets see how honest you are.

What is your real name?
Where do you live?
Are you a man or a woman?
Is this the only “nic” you have on here and if not please name all the rest.
How much do you weight?
Do you really love PWP?
Are you a liberal?
Sparticus on 2007-08-07:
You have a valid point Stew, but for every legit site out there trying to make a living, there are 10 spam sites that take our information and resell it without our permission.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
Spart, Stew hasn't had a point sense Sue dumped him!
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
Stew, think your wrong on this one. I hate giving anybody my email address. When I do and don't know them I use a Hotmail or Yahoo address. Like Spart says I am sick of these "info" sites selling my info over and over to every list company on Earth. Most of these sites will provide minimal reasons for a login, like a newspaper site. They just want your info so they can send you junk email and/or sell your info to others.
Slimjim on 2007-08-07:
Thanks everyone. Stew, are you sniffing the Clorox again? Is it honest to take my email and sell it to every list under the sun? I'm afraid you will not be getting your advice clicked as "helpful" here, but I'm sure you are used to that by now.
abobo on 2007-08-07:
Voted helpful.

Spam is a huge internet traffic issue, as something like 30% of all available bandwidth is wasted due to spam. Anything you can due to discourage spammers is welcome, and therefore helpful.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
Sparticus and superbowl – I respect your opinions but I simply can't agree. So by that logic if I think Chase is cheating it's customers in some nefarious way then that would be just cause to go knock over a Bank of America. In essence that's what your saying. Steal content from honest providers under false pretenses because of the perceive actions of others in the same industry. Sorry, but I just don't get it.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
Slim, what Stewart is suffering from is an acute case of SOUR GRAPES! Had he known about it he would have posted it on every site like this and G-talk!
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
You know this could be a really good topic for discussion but oh no we can never discuss things rationally or intelligently like adults can we?

Yeah, zzrokk it's sour grapes you nailed it.

yeah slim I'm drinking bleach how did you ever guess...

Yeah lidman I'm in love with PwP do want pictures...

Now lets get in the customary mention of keel, wedges, andre, indies and tartar sauce. * Some obscure or silly reference gives me a high five*

Back to business as usual.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
Aw Stewart, don't get mad. Most of us here have figured out your M.O. Okay? You say things that you don't mean to get a response then cry foul as if WE are picking on YOU.
Just a hunch but I think that your botched LOBOTOMY is beginning to show around here.
shawnp80 on 2007-08-07:
Slim, good post. Don't let Stew lessen the value of it. If you were a newbie he would say how very helpful this review was. Thanks Slim!
Slimjim on 2007-08-07:
LOL, no worries shawn and thanks, I don't let stew do anything I don't want him to. I think ZZ pretty much summed it up.
shawnp80 on 2007-08-07:
Stew, you should change your name to StewTheStarHO.
DebtorBasher on 2007-08-07:
Thanks Slim...One more reason everyone loves Slim! Oh..and Pirate thanks you too...he just won't admit.
DebtorBasher on 2007-08-07:
I see another star about to be added to Slim...ya see Stew, this is the way it's done!
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
Oh Stew, here we go with the drama queen stuff again. Just show everybody how honest you really are and answer my questions.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
You can check up on a web site if they blast you with spam once you give them your info before you give it to them by going to http://www.siteadvisor.com. They provide info on sites that spam, hide malware and adware etc.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
Okay, for the sake of argument assume I published my daily journal online. Trust me (click stew then click trust) my journal is a fascinating glimpse into the inner workings of a mentally unstable mind and IAW zzrokk the result of a failed lobotomy. Anyway so then people want to read my journal and I say sure but it’s going to cost you five bucks. If somebody knowingly gave me a hot check or a counterfeit five dollar bill wouldn’t that be wrong? Okay, so what if I wanted your E-MAIL and zip code instead of five dollars. If you give me bogus information how’s that any different? It’s my content and I set the price. If you knowingly commit fraud in order to get something of value then how is that not stealing.. Aside from all the Stew bashing and name calling can somebody offer up a legitimate argument?
Ponie on 2007-08-07:
Whatsa matter, Stew? Put your pantyhose on backward this morning, or inside out? I've heard that's real crunch time. 'Something of value?' Only IYHO.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
Stew, my thoughts are that we are sick of giving web sites our info only to be hammered with spam and have our info sold to the highest bidders. I think a great solution would be if web sites offered guest accounts. You could login using a guest account and see if it's for you or not. If you don't like what you see you can leave and never be bothered by the site again. If you want the site to have your info then you could give it to them.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
If you wanted my email and zip code what is it you intend to do with it?

Are you going to commit fraud by using my email and zip to sell, or get my SS# just what gives them the right to ask in the first place?

How do I know its there content, what assurance do I have from you?

So it sounds like you’re saying any criminal can ask for anything but we as honest people can’t do anything to protect ourselves?

Your point is pointless.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
Superbowl – So skip the content they offer and don’t register. Its your choice. I do not like registering and for the most part I'll skip sites that require registration because of what you posted... I understand the game. That being said it doesn't justify fraud against legitimate companies. The companies who do not compromise your info without your knowledge invest in resources in order to create and provide content obviously deemed valuable by the user and all they ask in return is for legitimate information. It’s bartering. I'll beat the drum again – if you provide false information then you are committing fraud in every sense of the word.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
Lidman

1. Who knows but probably in some fashion use it to make money.

2. I can ask anything... it's up to you to decide if what I offer is worth what I'm asking for.

3. You don't. None.

4. Who's talking about criminals? I don't assume that every website offering content in exchange for your information is criminal. Yes you can protect yourself - You can choose not to register and move on to the next web site.

5. I'm trying to make some valid points and if you feel like they're pointless then that's your opinion. Reasonable people can agree to disagree.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
I guess that excludes you eh, Stewuarto?
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
Stew, good points, that is why I would like to see guest account logins. Then sites like BugMeNot.com would not be needed? Why should I have to login just to read a newspaper web site? What purpose does it serve besides ad tracking? A newspaper site can use session cookies to do that. You are right using false credentials is not very honest, but the web sites have done it to themselves.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
"Why should I have to login just to read a newspaper web site? "

Why do you have to pay a fee if you're late with a credit card payment? Its just the owning body's terms and conditions for using their product.

I think registering is silly but it's not my or your call...it's the owner of the contents right to decided the terms and conditions for making their content available. It's your right not to agree. Like I said I avoid most those sites or view it via google cache? Now is that ethical? Hmmmmm... Tough call. Probably not.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
I had to go ahead and vote this 'very helpful' because it generated some good discussion.
Slimjim on 2007-08-07:
Stew, what is really the difference if one uses a throw away email he/she personally generated or someone else's. The spam it's about to get isn't going to be read anyway. Here's a question, we all know you have a "few" personalities here. Are you saying they were registered with emails you either care about or even check? I bet half of them have been deactivated for inactivity. Would I get a bounce back from awspie@aol.com?
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
awspie@aol.com, how the heck would I know? I never created an account with that EMAIL address.

There's a difference between telling the truth and lying, you do know that don't you?
Slimjim on 2007-08-07:
Yes I do stew. Here's an example- Say someone posts this, "I had to go ahead and vote this 'very helpful' because it generated some good discussion", but the helpful votes counter doesn't increase. Was at 9 long before, still at 9 long since. Hmmmmmm, that's a hard one to explain.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
The guy is a total fraud as WE suspected months ago. What is your take, Slim?
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
slim - Well I did click 'Very Helpful' but I guess since I voted it 'Not Helpful' as described in my first comment then the subsequent helpful vote didn't count. See, I was truthful - I did vote it 'Very Helpful'. If the admins want to clear my 'Not Helpful' vote I'd be glad to vote it helpful. Because I'm a man of my word and of the people.

Once again slim your petty accusations are shown to be baseless.
Slimjim on 2007-08-07:
My take is this guy needs to get out of the freakin house ZZ.
Anonymous on 2007-08-07:
The Country? As in the good ol' U S of A!
Nohandle on 2007-08-07:
Very Helpful Slim, thanks. I intend on using it. I made the mistake once of giving my email address (nothing else) to read an article I found of interest. Nice welcoming professional website, no disclosure of sharing my address and so on. I had never received any spam on my primary email account and when the crap started there was no doubt where it originated from.
Slimjim on 2007-08-07:
Thanks NH. Looks like I'll have to give stewie one. I voted this first Not helpful and then helpful just to see what would happen. Alas, it would not give me the tick.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >