Burger Claim

1 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Lukewarm, not real bad or real good
Posted by on
GRAND MOUND, WASHINGTON -- This is a hard review to write, as the Burger Claim is not bad enough for a complaint or good enough for a compliment. The Burger Claim is a new burger joint on the property of the Great Wolf Lodge & Caisson in Grand Mound, WA. Their decor is cute, but they should do a better job on the food. I had the bacon mushroom burger, and the burger itself was good, fresh ground beef, applewoood smoked bacon and portabello mushroom, along with pickle, onion and lettuce. Now, one of the reasons I quit going to Wendy's was their hot beef patties on buns fresh out of the fridge. Burger Claim prides themselves on their 'Wheat Montana' buns, rolls, etc. The buns are served at room temperature, and don't bring a whole lot to the party. I had the so-called beer battered onion rings, and was sorely disappointed. Two dollars and ninety-nine cents for four rings! They were about an inch wide, and were greasy. The breading was the same cornmeal-based breading everyone else uses. You bite and you have a red-hot piece of onion hanging on you chin. If they cut the onion rings in half, and gave eight pieces instead of four, it would have seemed worth more. I couldn't tell if there was beer in the batter or not. Crystal had chicken strips, and said they were okay, but the julienne fries were greasy. The food is served in gold pans, which is an authentic touch. So, to sum up: 1. Toast the buns. 2. Change oil in frypots. 3. Make the onion rings seem like a better deal than $3 for four rings. 4. Find out the old A&W beer batter recipe and use it instead of cornmeal. The coffee was great, and the breakfast menu looks real good.
     
Read 12 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
GenuineNerd on 09/19/2010:
Maybe the owners of Burger Claim should look up the old Kenny King's (former sit-down restaurant chain/Kentucky Fried Chicken franchisee from Cleveland, OH) onion ring batter recipe. Kenny King's onion rings were to die for...very crispy, seasoned beer-type batter. When Kenny King's closed the last of their sit-down restaurants in the mid-1990's, there hasn't been any battered onion rings that even compared to Kenny King's. The recipe should be somewhere...maybe it's a closely guarded secret, like a lot of restaurant recipes.
DebtorBasher on 09/19/2010:
I've never heard of Burger Claim...I guess they are not around these parts. But, it does't sound like we're missing much though. Thanks for the review!
Venice09 on 09/20/2010:
The burger sounds pretty good but the fries and rings would be too greasy for me. I don't remember the last time I had good onion rings, but I love them when they're made right.

Nice review! I really want a hamburger.
Starlord on 09/20/2010:
When I was a kid, we had an A&W root beer stand near us. They made beer battered onion rings that should have been served in heaven. It was nothing like cornmeal, but the beer batter formed a substance sort of like a light bread that made almost an inch shell around the onion. Oh, man, was it good.
Anonymous on 09/20/2010:
If I'm going to eat onion rings, they have to be beer battered. Those are my absolute favorite.

Has anyone been to Five Guys Burgers & Fries? I tried it the last time I went home. The fries are great and so are the burgers. They give you so many fries though, that it would be imposible to eat even the small order. But, that way you can order them for at least 2 people and save. Seriously they would probably serve 3-4! Starlord, I think the closest one to you is in Renton, WA. If you're ever up there, check it out.
Starlord on 09/20/2010:
Singsing, thanks for the tip, will have to get to Renton to give it a try. I'm not like the guy on TV who was addicted to cheeseburgers, but I do appreciate a good burger.
Venice09 on 09/20/2010:
You're killing me, Star. I haven't had a hamburger, fries or onion rings in a long time. I remember beer battered onion rings and they are the best. I am really craving a cheeseburger deluxe with a side of rings.
Anonymous on 09/20/2010:
Venice, everything in moderation, that's for sure! Whenever I want to remind myself why I shouldn't eat at these places too often, I look up the calorie counts. I have to plan ahead if I want to eat something that high in calories. But, sometimes you just need a fix!
Venice09 on 09/21/2010:
Sing, I agree about eating in moderation and planning ahead, but the reason I haven't had a hamburger in so long is this:

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/10/04/health/04meat.html?_r=3&partner=rss&emc=rss

I haven't had any ground beef since I read that article. Not just because I don't want to get sick, but mostly due to what could possibly be in the beef. I just can't get it out of my head.
Anonymous on 09/21/2010:
That's pretty bad, Venice. I have never liked the idea of those pre-formed frozen patties and wouldn't eat them. I rarely eat at fast food places either, but mostly because I know it's unhealthy. There are still ways to make hamburgers, especially at home. My brother buys a cheaper cut of meat and grinds it at home. It tastes great!

We have a home-grown place in WA called Burgerville. I think it's only in SW Washington. They use only sustainble products--a lot of healthy, local products, including the beef. www.oregoncountrybeef.com This is my usual place when I'm home and need a good burger/fries fix. Five Guys follows similar guidelines. They use only fresh ground beef. I'm pretty selective about where I eat fast food--because I don't do it very often.

I'm thinking that those pre-formed patties that are frozen are probably the worst thing to buy. People buy them either because they think it's easier or because it's cheap. Maybe both! Of course, we can also get sick on a number of other things too (chicken coming to mind).
Venice09 on 09/21/2010:
With so many foods making people sick, it's easy to become paranoid, so I try not to dwell on it. But when I read about those by-products in the ground beef, it really freaked me out. I am thinking about buying a grinder but haven't looked at any yet. I really miss hamburgers and meatloaf. I also have to find out from the butchers at my supermarket if they grind the meat in the store and if anything is added to it. I usually shop at night when the butchers are gone, so I have to make a point of going in during the day. I don't think I'll ever be able to eat a fast food burger again. I don't trust the frozen ones either. There are a couple Five Guys in the area but not really close.

I am very careful with the food I buy and prepare at home. I haven't made anyone sick so far.
GenuineNerd on 09/29/2010:
I love Five Guys...however, don't fill up on the peanuts before your burger is ready.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >