Burlington Coat Factory

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 17 ratings and
43 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- I was in the Burlington Coat Factory store located on Orange Blossom Trail in Orlando, Florida yesterday, store number 322, at 8204 S. Orange Blossom Trail, and encountered several issues that I feel need to be brought to someone's attention.

I was there to sign up and complete the baby registry for the birth of our first baby at the end of May. After filling out all of the proper information at the self-service baby registry I followed the directions on my printout in order to receive the price gun, so that I could begin adding gifts to the registry. And since no one was in the general area, I decided to go to the Customer Service desk in order to be helped.

I stood for 15-20 minutes at the Customer Service desk before I was told that I had to make the line to the cashier desk which happened to also be the Customer Service desk and is not clearly defined as such. And not only did I stand there for a while before being told this information, I was told rudely by an employee that was just walking by, not even by the "Customer Service Representative/ Cashier". After speaking with the “Customer Service Representative/ Cashier" an "all call" was made for an employee, **, that there were customers in need of assistance in the baby registry area, and they needed assistance.

My wife and I then went back to the baby registry area immediately and waited for **. Not only did he not show up at all, we waited for 20 minutes before an employee to even remember, or notice, that we were still waiting for this employee. The other employee said that he would find ** and let him know that we were still there but he still never came. Another 10 minutes go by before another employee walked by and noticed we have been waiting for a long time in the same area and asked if she could help us with anything, we told her that we were waiting for ** to come and help us and give us the scan gun in order to add gifts to our registry.

Supposedly this employee knew how to handle this so she located the scan gun and "programmed” it in order for us to be able to scan gifts into our registry. The first five items I scanned did not even register, the scan gun kept saying it was a bad scan and did not accept the barcode that I was trying to add to our registry, I had this error even after I scanned any barcodes that were shown.

After much wasted time in waiting and faulty equipment my wife and I decided that it was time to go, as we were walking to the front of the store we walked by an employee and happened to look at the name tag and guess what it said, of course, Jesus, he was walking around the store and re-arranging items to make them look more appealing, and not helping guests that have been waiting for him since finishing the baby registry form.

Before we left the store I requested that a manager come and speak to me and had to wait another 15 minutes before one was even located. The manager came to speak to me and never gave his name, he only had his name tag and it did not show that he was actually the manager at this Burlington Coat Factory. I told him about the issues that I encountered at the store and was told that ** was a decent employee and is usually pretty helpful, and that he would look into the issues that we encountered during our trip to Burlington Coat Factory during one of the happiest times in our lives.

I cannot believe that Customer Service has gone this far to the waste side and that people are working "just to earn a paycheck". I also want to point out that many of the display items, in fact almost all of the display items, are covered in dust, stained, and just plain nasty looking, as if they haven't been cleaned in quite some time, some of the clothes were discolored as well but nowhere near as bad as the equipment.

I would never recommend anyone to shop at Burlington Coat Factory, especially the store on Orange Blossom Trail in Orlando, and most of all I am going to tell everyone that I know to never try to do the baby registry because of all of the recalled equipment due to child safety, dirty and stained equipment, a major lack of customer service and customer satisfaction, along with the inability to satisfy their customers. Although my wife, my unborn baby, and I will be brushed aside, I will make sure that everyone I know knows the issues that we faced and the lack of care that we were shown on this visit on January 22, 2013.

     
Replies
Poor Customer Service & Relations
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

PORTLAND, OREGON -- I bought some cute Carter boots for my daughter, but upon getting home and putting them on her, to see how they worked with the outfits I bought them for, the zipper was separating below, so I decided I would return them and pick out some other boots. I pulled into the lot, and got my daughter out of her car seat when she then kicked off her shoes. I already had the diaper bag, my purse, and her and didn't have room to carry the shoes, so I placed them in the bag and carried her to a cart.

Immediately in the store, I get in line to replace my items. The man at the counter asks for my return and I hand him the bag. He takes the boots out and asks for my receipt, which I then got out of my purse. It checks out and he gives me a refund. I then head back to the shoe department to find another pair of boots. However, they are low in supply and there aren't any that will fit my daughter, so we leave.

The next morning I remember the shoes are in the bag. I return to the store and speak the manager, **, to ask him for my daughter's pink Nike sandals in the lost and found. He informs me that there aren't any in the lost and found but that he will personally find out what happened to the shoes. He asks me who handled the return and asked the cashier where they placed the boots and the bag they were in. The cashier states the bag was placed on the counter, even though I saw it thrown onto the floor after he handled the refund.

I ask the manager if it is possible they threw the shoes away, and he flat out denies it, "No way, we don't throw bags away." He suggests that may be they thought my daughters shoes were shoes they were selling. I told him that "Burlington doesn't sell pink Nike sandals, and besides they weren't brand spanking new, I bought them last month." He asked me what time we were in the store, I told him from 6:30 to 7:15 pm. He said, "Well, our camera guy will be in in the morning, and I will have him review the cameras.

It is possible a customer stole the shoes off the counter." I said, "I highly doubt someone would steal used shoes from a store, especially right off the counter by the register." But he assures me they will find out what happened to my daughters shoes. He double checked to make sure he had my correct number and I confirmed it for him. He said, "I will call you once my camera guy reviews the tape." I felt like he was just trying to get rid of me. But regardless I gave him the benefit, and I waited... and waited... and finally I called him.

And guess what, after finding out who I was, the person answering the phone said, "** wanted to know if you would like to leave a message since he can't talk at the moment." No thanks, it's apparent he isn't too good at answering calls, returning calls, or customer service for that matter. So, I think I have had enough of Burlington's increasingly poor customer service, regardless of the prices of their products. It's a shame, I used to work at this store and we used to provide excellent customer service.

     
Replies
Incompetence of Employees
By -

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- First Contact: On 2/12/2005 went to Burlington Coat Factory and ordered 3 pieces of furniture.1. Vikki Convertible Crib by C&T, 2. C&T 5-Drawer Chest, 3. C&T Changing Table. ** was the sales person who assisted me on 2/12/2005. The computers were down so ** had to hand write the purchase order. ** walked me up front to put down a deposit (as Burlington does not allow you to pay in full for special orders). ** failed to get the deposit amount that I intended to put down. She assumed it was the standard 25%. I wanted to put $800.00 cash down.

So they took the payment of $800.00 and kept the purchase order, as 25% down which was only $294.55 leaving the balance owed as $879.65. I questioned this and ** attempted to dismiss this because she did not want to rewrite the purchase order. So I asked for the manager and they had a gentleman by the name of ** come and correct the purchase order by scratching out the balance and deposit sections and rewriting the new amounts and signing off on them.

Second Contact: In March the 3 pieces of furniture that I order had gone on sale. I called the store and spoke with ** who said that the sale did not count for special orders€. So I asked ** the name of the Manager and when that person would be in. ** gave me the information. That following Friday night I came into the store and spoke with **. ** had the already everything prepared for me and gave me the sale price. So I asked for a copy of the receipt that she had with the sale information on it.

Third Contact: I called Baby Depot on Friday April 15th just out of curiosity to check on my order. I spoke with ** who advised that the furniture was in. So I said great and I got off of the phone. A few minuets later I called the store back and spoke with ** again just to ask her about transportation of the furniture, I told her that we have a Ford Explorer and wanted to know if that would be big enough because I was not sure if the furniture was reassembled or not. ** said that the chest and the changing table was already assembled and that we would need a bigger truck for that but the crib was not and we could probably fit that in to our Explorer.

Fourth Contact: On May 1, 2005 my husband, **, and his friend went to pick up the furniture. Upon arrival ** walked into the desk paid the new remaining balance of $256.80. They got the chest and the changing table into the truck went back in to get the crib and the gentleman said that they could not find the crib. So ** waited 45 minutes while the sales people looked for it. While waiting ** had walked in from lunch and the gentleman asked ** about the crib and she immediately stated that she was already aware of the situation and was looking into it. She then told ** that there was nothing they could do besides call him later. So ** left.

Fifth Contact: When I got home on Sunday May 1, 2005 evening at 5:45 PM we had not been contacted as of yet. They close at 6:00 PM. So I called the store and asked for ** the Manager of Baby Depot. The guy who answered stated that she was outside at the moment. I said thank you I will hold. He said okay and placed me on hold. ** finally got onto the phone and she immediately started off by apologizing. She said what happened is that another woman who was ordering the same furniture with the same last name was in the store and was very intimidating to the sales person. So the sales person gave her my crib.

She said that she was not in the night that it happened!!! ** stated that she has already contacted other stores to see if they might have the crib and they did not. So now they have to reorder the crib, which could take 10-16 weeks!!! Granted I due in 6 weeks!!! So what they will do in the meantime is give us the floor model that we can come and get! So naturally any parent to be€ concern would be safety? The question of safety with the floor model is that people shake, press, and pretty much do anything to cribs to check for sturdiness. The next point with safety is germs. There have been a lot of people who have touched the floor model.

** said that that is all they can do until they get the crib in. She said once they get the crib in she will have it delivered and assemble for us on top of offering 10 % off our next purchase in there store. Which is laughable because there will be no next purchase in their store from me! I am registered with them and I will soon be undoing. So we ended on that note and left it up to me if we want the floor model or not.

Sixth Contact: May 2, 2005 I called the store and asked for ** the store manager. It was ** who answered the phone and so I asked him for the name of the District Manager as well as the phone number to the corporate office. ** stated that they currently did not have a District Manager and gave me that name of their Regional Manager who is ** and she is in Chicago. He then gave me the phone number to the corporate office, which is 609-387-7800. ** asked that I wait to call until he speaks with ** to see about calling other stores.

I tried to explain to ** that ** has already tried to call the other stores and ** cut me off not even wanting to hear about the conversation that ** and I had. So I said okay but I am still going to call corporate along with contacting the BBB.

Seventh Contact: I called the corporate office and left a voicemail for Dave the VP of the Baby Department. Eighth Contact: May 2, 2005 ** called me at work around 11:30 to update me on what was happening. ** stated that he got in contact with ** the District Manager for the Baby Depot Department. ** stated that ** was getting in contact with the Buyers to get in contact with the manufacturers to see when the next shipment would be in.

Ninth Contact: May 2, 2005 ** called me at work at 12:20 PM and stated that my option from Dave is that the next shipment would be in at the end of May and that if I deliver early he will have the Maintenance lady wipe down the floor model crib and give it to us as a loaner until the new one arrives and that they will give us 20% off of the crib. I told ** that I did not want the floor model and that 20% off was laughable because that they gave my crib away to another person because they were intimidating! I told him that I have left a message with Dave the VP and I will await his call and deal with him.

Tenth Contact: May 3, 2005 I called the corporate office at 609-387-7800 and spoke with **, Dave Stater assistant. She put through with Dave. Dave started off by apologizing and blaming it on a human mistake. He then got right into the situation and stated that he will not overnight the crib via FedEx as he has done this in the past with Cribs and they usually end up cracked. He said that they are better off being ground shipped.

So he offered 20 % off of the crib when it arrived which will not be until the end of May and an instore gift certificate. I told Dave that 20% is not acceptable and that I do not want an instore GC, as I do not plan on ever shopping at their store again. I then stated that I am not sure if he is a parent or not but as any first time parent you want to be as prepared as possible and this was causing me not to be prepared.

I told him that I want 40% off of the crib and he said he couldn€™t do 40% off. I then asked him if any stores have another crib that matches my furniture set. He knew the crib I was speaking of and he had ** on the line with us and asked her to look into that for me. He said they would look into that and call me back. Eleventh Contact: May 3, 2005 ** called and left me a voicemail at my work # stating that she has info regarding the other crib and to call her back.

Twelfth Contact: May 3, 2005 I called ** back and she stated that the Dublin store has the other crib in and the name of it is Madison€ and they have placed it on hold. However it is $100.00 more than the crib that I purchased and they would like to extend the offer of 20% off so I would owe them the balance of the new crib versus the crib that I ordered.

I told her my intention was not to buy that crib. I just want that crib as a loaner crib until the crib that I ordered has come in. I also stated that I initially looked at that crib and did not like the look of it as well as the other crib so I did not want that crib for keeps. She said that her and Dave misunderstood me and she is not authorized to offer that. She said she would talk to Dave and call me back.

Thirteenth Contact: May 3, 2005 I got a voicemail from ** on behalf of Dave. ** stated that the final offer is 30% off of my crib when in comes in and the floor model as a loaner, which they will wipe down. Fourteenth Contact: May 3, 2005 I called ** back and informed her to tell Dave that ** offer was not acceptable and that the next contact would be from my lawyer. She said she would relay the message. So at this point I have acquired legal representation, filed a claim with the Attorney Generals Office, Filed a claim with the BBB, Called the news media, channel ABC 6 and FOX 28 to speak with a consumer reporter who reports on situations such as this.

I have posted feedback on two consumer websites to inform other people. I also have informed my OB who stated that they would never go to Burlington as they have had issues with them in the past. My OB stated that this is good info as their office comes into contact with pregnant women day in and day out and she will spread the word.

Fiftteenth Contact: May 3, 2005 ** and Dave were on the line and Dave thought that I might have misinterpreted ** offer. They want to offer 30% off and a new out of the box loaner crib that might not match my set. I said I do not care, I do not want a floor model and I would accept this. So Dave said that he would contact Tony who would be in contact with me.

Sixteenth Contact: May 3, 2005 ** called me and said that I will need to come back into the store for the credit and that the manager can deliver the loaner crib tomorrow and wanted to know what time was good for me. I said I planned on coming into the store to revoke my registry tonight so I can get the refund then.

We then talked about the delivery of the loaner crib and I stated that I had an appt. in the morning at 9:45 AM and Tony said it could be anytime in the afternoon and I just said name a time I can be there. Tony said that I could also get it if I wanted tonight when I go to the store. I said that is fine I asked if there would be someone there to load it into my car and he said yes.

Seventeenth Contact: May 3, 2005 I arrived at the Dublin store and there was nobody in the Baby Depot department so my mother and I walked up to the service desk and asked for the manager on duty. They called a gentleman named ** who came to the front and asked us to pull our car around so they could load the crib. I told ** that I wanted my baby registry deleted, he said okay we will do that. ** then went outside and got another man who was smoking out front to help with the 30% refund. I did not get this persons name. He went behind the counter, got out some paper work and asked me to sign a receipt in order to get the refund.

Before signing I asked the amount which was around $64.00. I immediately questioned the refund amount as I had pre-calculated the amount I should have received before entering the store. He tried to state that I only paid $209.99 for the crib. I paid a sale price of $269.99, which with tax should be $86.46. He said that this was what was in the email from Tony and that was all he was allowed to offer.

I said forget it I will contact Dave back in the morning and started to raise my voice so that all customers in the front new my situation and said I still expect the loaner crib and I do not accept the refund. Another person came and loaded the loaner crib and off I went with another trip wasted.

Eighteenth Contact: May 4, 2005 I called ** extension, as I am tired of dealing with incompetent people. I spoke to ** his assistant who advised that I need to speak with **. I then got ** assistant who was very nice and informative. FINALLY a person who understood the situation and she asked me to send all information via email. Please note that I checked online today and my name has not been removed from the registry! We will see how the saga pans out!

     
Replies
Bad Experience With Layaway
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- I used the layaway at this store for the first time and when I picked up my layaway, I had to return a few of the items, and when I did I was told that I could not get my money back, and that they would have to give me a store credit on one of their gift cards. I ask why and was told that it was their policy. I let the manager know that I was never told that I would not be able to get my money back when I put the layaway on. Her response was they don't have to tell me because it is posted in the store and on the receipt.

I let her know that I spent my money in there when I put the layaway on, but now I choose to not spend my money in there and wanted it put back on my card, and who was she to tell me how I have to spend my money! If you go into the store and buy something and you need to bring it back you get your money back. Why is that any different than putting it on layaway and paying to get it out and not be able to get your money back if you need to bring anything back. It is my money and I feel that they don't have a right to tell my how I have to spend it. They need to change the policy!!! I will not shop there again.

Just going to call it a lost and not give them any of my business again. I purchased a jacket from there last year and only wore it a few times before it ripped in the back and around the buttons it was ripping. I can't wear it now and can't take it back because I don't have the receipt for it. And when I got the layaway out, I had put some jewelry on layaway and when I got it home, the bracelet broke taking it off my arm and the two chains I got broke before I could even wear them broke. I will not be shopping this store again.

     
Replies
Talk about service at Burlington if you feel lucky hitting Powerball
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- Customer Service was so Rude. Enough about this store's customer service. This store has to come down eventually because of all this nonsense service. Experience: I bought a coat and showed them coupon on my phone. Cashier (boy) demanded that they can accept only paper version. Acceptable to me (prevents store fraud by their own employee in some cases). I asked if I can bring the coat and paper coupon back for price adjustment and I was told that I can do that.

Cashier asked another employee (seemed to me like store manager) about the same and I got the same answer that I can do price adjustment during my next visit. Either way no big deal, they can just process return and rerun the transaction using coupon.

I went the next day and customer service (rude/dirty) lady/girl said I have to find it on the floor and then do another transaction. I requested that I was told that I could do price adjustment by the cashier (boy) who was also present at that time at another register but again I was declined service. I asked another (nice) cashier who was behind that rude girl cashier about the matter. She informed the rude (girl) cashier that she could simply process the return and re-run the transaction using coupon.

Rude cashier snatched the coat from nicer cashier and said its store policy (as if she owns the store) that she cannot even allow the same coat to be returned to customer and I have to find a new coat from the store. What a waste of time encouraged by self made store policy.

Am I Going back over there? Never. The environment because of such employees makes experience make worse. Buying is never fun in such an environment and spending hundreds on coats from Burlington seems wasted. Store: 1563 Franklin Mills Circle, Philadelphia, PA Date: 11/05/2012 Time: Around 7:30pm

     
Replies
Debit card purchase: charged twice
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA -- On April 1st, I purchased a few baby items from BCF. The items, with tax, totaled $11.90. I thought I had made a terrific purchase, as I had bought other baby items for my son's baby at other stores, where the prices did not seem as fair. LITTLE DID I KNOW! When I went to purchase the items, using my debit card, I put my PIN number in, and the clerk stated that it "did not go through" and would I put the card PIN through again. That did not seem unreasonable, and I made sure that my purchase was only listed one time, for $11.90 on my receipt. After I got home, I went online to my bank account to look over purchase activities.

The $11.90 showed up, and was debited, twice. I went back to BCF on April 2nd in the late afternoon. I had already spoken by phone with the stores manager of that day, who advised me that I would need to bring in my receipt and proof of the double-debit on my bank record, and that the info. would have to be faxed to the corporate headquarters! I had never heard of such a thing, having had stores such as Petco accidentally charge twice for a purchase, and they readily corrected their error at their stores.

So in order to get back my $11.90, I drove all the way to the BCF, incurring the cost of gasoline (due to driving distance from my home) as well as my own time, which I also value. After giving my receipt and banking record page to an associate at BCF, I was told that they would need to make copies and fax the information to their headquarters. I was then told that the associate would call me to let me know when the headquarters answered their fax.

WELL... here we are on April 4th, and no phone call on the 2nd or the 3rd, and I finally called this associate this morning. She "explained" that there were circuit problems through the store organization, and that she would check into the situation and call me back. She also said to keep checking my bank account to see if the error had been taken care of, and my money refunded. Well, it is now 4:31 P.M., and: a. No phone call back from the associate, or anyone at the store; b. No reversal of the extra set of charges on my account.

Am I to assume that when a mistake is made by an employee, the computerized cash register system, or whatever, that I need to just "swallow" the extra set of charges, thereby costing me $23.80 instead of $11.90?
I am furious. I realize that other customers have had far worse experiences, but I think I have give them ample time to respond and take care of this. I welcome anyone thoughts on this. Thank you.

     
Replies
Cashier Gave Me Gift Card Without Balance
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WARREN, MICHIGAN -- I returned maternity pants without a receipt, after they asked for all my info, the cashier gave me store credit. After a month I tried to buy clothes with the store card, and they told me that the card was unknown, and I have to call customer service. I called customer service, they said they were going to investigate and called the store, and they were going to call me in 48 hours after that. They never called back, I called them after 3 days, they said that the case was closed, I asked if they called the store manager, they said they did, I asked who did they talk with, they didn't give me an answer (maybe because they didn't even called). On top of that they called me dishonest. I told them the cashier is swapping cards and she is getting all the credit, that they should investigate their employees.
Beware!

     
Replies
Very Poor Management
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DUBLIN, CALIFORNIA -- As a customer, now a former customer, I had the worst experience ever at the BCF in Dublin California. The cashiers all at the front were very friendly except for one. This employee had me wait in line for a few minutes cause she was doing something, knowing I was there in line with a arm full of clothes. She didn't even say sorry for the wait - that was just plain rude. I shop there all the time with my family. When I mentioned about the wait, she gave me an attitude.

I will not stand for this at all. I asked for the store manager she replied they were busy. I will never go shopping in that location again with that employee working there. And yes I got her name from her name badge on her shirt. Anyone in the Dublin area I would be careful. Not a cashier I would want helping me and my family.

     
Replies
Very Bad Customer Service Ordering online With the Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I am very disappointed with this company online service. On Dec.14.2013 I order my grandson a kid chair for a Christmas gift. I received a email saying that I will receive it after Christmas and I was fine with that. Then Jan. 4. 2014 came so I email them and the company reply that my order is being process. So Jan. 10. 2014 I email again the company reply order being process. So I email them again and they reply late that day that my order cannot be filled - they don't have the product, they will refund my money. This was my 2 year old grandson Christmas Gift.

If I would have known this in a timely manner I would gotten him something else... I want customers to know that when you order from this company there's no phone number to reach anyone and no tracking number for your order. They have PISS POOR SERVICE AND COMPANY. I will never order from them again.

     
Replies
Would Not Return My Call to Resolve Issue
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLAHOMA -- I ordered a car seat with an extra base. The base did not have the same name as what we ordered. We ordered a Snugride 35 we got a Snugride Classic Connect 30/35 LX. This is a Graco item and per Graco they are one and the same. I just want to know how I'm supposed to know they are one and the same, if the name has been changed then someone should update it on the website. I also had contacted them via email to check mailing status and I never got a response back. This was my first and last time ordering from them.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >