Preview Review

Next Review

Burlington Coat Factory Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Exchange Bad Behavior
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLAHOMA -- Good morning Burlington, the place I thought where to shop happy; unfortunately, it's not. Today, I went to return, or in the right words, to exchange what I bought for my kids as Christmas gifts, as the size was little small. Anyway, we walked in and went to register 8. I gave the lady what we needed to be returned, and she looked over the receipt without looking in the bag, as I asked her if she wants to check; she said no. "Ok," I replied. "When we are done, we will come back to you;" she said any register.

Now the adventure began when we came to register 7. Of course, you could tell that the cashier had no good behavior at all, but I had to exchange what I needed to exchange and leave. I showed her the receipt and told her that these are the clothes we purchased on the receipt. She brought the bag and looked over the tags that we have. She consult the next cashier, as the price did not match the receipt, and I told her it was purchased from here; then without her responding to me, she just looked at me.

She went to the superman/security guard. I am not sure what the conversation was all about, as I waited for ten minutes, and when she came back, she said that the jeans was not purchased from this store. I told her "Ma'am, it's from here," and she kept insisting that it was not from here, after she told me before that the price not matching the receipt. She said if I wanted to look over the recorded video from the security guard, and I said yes.

On her way, she told the superman/security (the one who sits by the door), that I said I don't believe what she said! I looked at her and replied, "I did not say that; don't reword my words." The superman yelled at me for something I did not say. I told him not to yell at me, and the cashier said that I wanted to look over the recorded video; he said no.

I replied "Why? I have the right." And he said "No, because I don't want to, and it is not purchased from here." He accused me of lying about the jeans being not purchased from this store; he told me that it was purchased from a different store, and the cashier said that the price did not match the receipt, but the serial number of the jeans showed up on her computer.

I looked at him and said "You know what, I will get the jacket, and I assure you that the jeans were purchased from this store. If the cashier was here, she will tell. I went back to the cashier and the jacket dropped on the floor by the cashier's side. She took it and returned it to the other table, and I told her I need this jacket and she said that I dropped it. I looked at her and said to myself, "What kind of people this Burlington store is hiring?"

The people are very unprofessional and very demanding in their behaviors toward customers. They need more supervision and training, and the superman they had there is very rude. The superman does not respect people; he thinks, with his muscles, he can be rude and people will get scared of him. The workers do not communicate well with each other, or with their customers.

Below is the location of the store and the name of the cashier I can't remember the name of the muscle superman/security. Am going to post the jeans, the tags and the serial number of the receipt. I hope there will be action taking toward the unacceptable behavior.

Replies
Advertisement
Online Purchase/Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have shopped at their stores. This was my first online purchase. It is nothing but fraud. I am unable to get anyone from customer to respond to me by emails or phone calls. Unable because it does not exist. When you make an online purchase, you must create an account in order to get a tracking number, and therefore, proof of your purchase. My only proof is that they charged me for my purchase within 2 hours. It shows on my credit card. Despite having contacted them 7 times by emails over 7 days, I never get any response. I am only told in an automated email that someone will get back to me within 48 hours. They never do.

You cannot create an account because their site doesn't allow you to. Despite following their online attempt to do so, you will be told that "the site isn't able to do this at this time". In 7 days, it has not changed. You will never be able to reach anyone at their only number they give you at their site. I have called during different times, 8 am - 8 pm, M-F. No one will ever speak to you or tell you how long you have to wait, just an automated response that puts you on hold because "we are experiencing very high call volumes at this time". I have waited over 40 mins. It is nothing but fraud. I have contacted my credit card company for the fraudulent charge.

Replies
Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WAYNE, NEW JERSEY -- Horrible customer service and not helpful at all. Rob you of money.

Replies
Poor Customer Service & Relations
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

PORTLAND, OREGON -- I bought some cute Carter boots for my daughter, but upon getting home and putting them on her, to see how they worked with the outfits I bought them for, the zipper was separating below, so I decided I would return them and pick out some other boots. I pulled into the lot, and got my daughter out of her car seat when she then kicked off her shoes. I already had the diaper bag, my purse, and her and didn't have room to carry the shoes, so I placed them in the bag and carried her to a cart.

Immediately in the store, I get in line to replace my items. The man at the counter asks for my return and I hand him the bag. He takes the boots out and asks for my receipt, which I then got out of my purse. It checks out and he gives me a refund. I then head back to the shoe department to find another pair of boots. However, they are low in supply and there aren't any that will fit my daughter, so we leave.

The next morning I remember the shoes are in the bag. I return to the store and speak the manager, **, to ask him for my daughter's pink Nike sandals in the lost and found. He informs me that there aren't any in the lost and found but that he will personally find out what happened to the shoes. He asks me who handled the return and asked the cashier where they placed the boots and the bag they were in. The cashier states the bag was placed on the counter, even though I saw it thrown onto the floor after he handled the refund.

I ask the manager if it is possible they threw the shoes away, and he flat out denies it, "No way, we don't throw bags away." He suggests that may be they thought my daughters shoes were shoes they were selling. I told him that "Burlington doesn't sell pink Nike sandals, and besides they weren't brand spanking new, I bought them last month." He asked me what time we were in the store, I told him from 6:30 to 7:15 pm.

He said, "Well, our camera guy will be in in the morning, and I will have him review the cameras. It is possible a customer stole the shoes off the counter." I said, "I highly doubt someone would steal used shoes from a store, especially right off the counter by the register." But he assures me they will find out what happened to my daughters shoes. He double checked to make sure he had my correct number and I confirmed it for him. He said, "I will call you once my camera guy reviews the tape." I felt like he was just trying to get rid of me. But regardless I gave him the benefit, and I waited... and waited... and finally I called him.

And guess what, after finding out who I was, the person answering the phone said, "** wanted to know if you would like to leave a message since he can't talk at the moment." No thanks, it's apparent he isn't too good at answering calls, returning calls, or customer service for that matter. So, I think I have had enough of Burlington's increasingly poor customer service, regardless of the prices of their products. It's a shame, I used to work at this store and we used to provide excellent customer service.

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Experience With Layaway
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- I used the layaway at this store for the first time and when I picked up my layaway, I had to return a few of the items, and when I did I was told that I could not get my money back, and that they would have to give me a store credit on one of their gift cards. I ask why and was told that it was their policy. I let the manager know that I was never told that I would not be able to get my money back when I put the layaway on. Her response was they don't have to tell me because it is posted in the store and on the receipt.

I let her know that I spent my money in there when I put the layaway on, but now I choose to not spend my money in there and wanted it put back on my card, and who was she to tell me how I have to spend my money! If you go into the store and buy something and you need to bring it back you get your money back. Why is that any different than putting it on layaway and paying to get it out and not be able to get your money back if you need to bring anything back. It is my money and I feel that they don't have a right to tell my how I have to spend it. They need to change the policy!!! I will not shop there again.

Just going to call it a lost and not give them any of my business again. I purchased a jacket from there last year and only wore it a few times before it ripped in the back and around the buttons it was ripping. I can't wear it now and can't take it back because I don't have the receipt for it. And when I got the layaway out, I had put some jewelry on layaway and when I got it home, the bracelet broke taking it off my arm and the two chains I got broke before I could even wear them broke. I will not be shopping this store again.

Replies
Cashier Gave Me Gift Card Without Balance
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WARREN, MICHIGAN -- I returned maternity pants without a receipt, after they asked for all my info, the cashier gave me store credit. After a month I tried to buy clothes with the store card, and they told me that the card was unknown, and I have to call customer service. I called customer service, they said they were going to investigate and called the store, and they were going to call me in 48 hours after that. They never called back.

I called them after 3 days, they said that the case was closed. I asked if they called the store manager, they said they did. I asked who did they talk with, they didn't give me an answer (maybe because they didn't even called). On top of that they called me dishonest. I told them the cashier is swapping cards and she is getting all the credit, that they should investigate their employees. Beware!

Replies
Very Poor Management
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DUBLIN, CALIFORNIA -- As a customer, now a former customer, I had the worst experience ever at the BCF in Dublin California. The cashiers all at the front were very friendly except for one. This employee had me wait in line for a few minutes cause she was doing something, knowing I was there in line with a arm full of clothes. She didn't even say sorry for the wait - that was just plain rude. I shop there all the time with my family. When I mentioned about the wait, she gave me an attitude.

I will not stand for this at all. I asked for the store manager she replied they were busy. I will never go shopping in that location again with that employee working there. And yes I got her name from her name badge on her shirt. Anyone in the Dublin area I would be careful. Not a cashier I would want helping me and my family.

Replies
Very Bad Customer Service Ordering online With the Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I am very disappointed with this company online service. On Dec.14.2013 I order my grandson a kid chair for a Christmas gift. I received a email saying that I will receive it after Christmas and I was fine with that. Then Jan. 4. 2014 came so I email them and the company reply that my order is being process. So Jan. 10. 2014 I email again the company reply order being process. So I email them again and they reply late that day that my order cannot be filled - they don't have the product, they will refund my money. This was my 2 year old grandson Christmas Gift.

If I would have known this in a timely manner I would gotten him something else... I want customers to know that when you order from this company there's no phone number to reach anyone and no tracking number for your order. They have PISS POOR SERVICE AND COMPANY. I will never order from them again.

Replies
Advertisement
Would Not Return My Call to Resolve Issue
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLAHOMA -- I ordered a car seat with an extra base. The base did not have the same name as what we ordered. We ordered a Snugride 35 we got a Snugride Classic Connect 30/35 LX. This is a Graco item and per Graco they are one and the same. I just want to know how I'm supposed to know they are one and the same, if the name has been changed then someone should update it on the website. I also had contacted them via email to check mailing status and I never got a response back. This was my first and last time ordering from them.

Replies
Sale Clerk and Store Manager Very Rude, unprofessional. Also the Main Office Had the Same Attitude. Will Never Shop There Again.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

STERLING HEIGHTS, MICHIGAN -- Went to the store to return an item that was purchased in April with tag still attached, never been worn, and had my receipt. Cashier refused to give me a full refund because the item is on sale now, and it is passed thirty days. Talked to the store manager which also refuse to do so. I did point out to the manager that they have the same item on the flower still with the same amount that I paid for mine. Manager and cashier had the worse attitude, unprofessional, rude, worse customer service you can imagine.

Today I called the main office trying to solve this problem. The main office customer service had even worse attitude!! Will never shop there again and going to tell all family and friends not to do so. Burlington Coat Factory, you need to set your customer service straight, no customer no business. And shame on you for cheating the consumer.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Burlington Coat Factory Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 20 ratings and
46 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Burlington Coat Factory
1830 Route 130
Burlington, NJ 08016
609-387-7800 (ph)
www.burlingtoncoatfactory.com
Product/Services Related Resources
Compare Clothing Stores