Preview Review

Next Review

Burlington Coat Factory Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Exchange Bad Behavior
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLAHOMA -- Good morning Burlington, the place I thought where to shop happy; unfortunately, it's not. Today, I went to return, or in the right words, to exchange what I bought for my kids as Christmas gifts, as the size was little small. Anyway, we walked in and went to register 8. I gave the lady what we needed to be returned, and she looked over the receipt without looking in the bag, as I asked her if she wants to check; she said no. "Ok," I replied. "When we are done, we will come back to you;" she said any register.

Now the adventure began when we came to register 7. Of course, you could tell that the cashier had no good behavior at all, but I had to exchange what I needed to exchange and leave. I showed her the receipt and told her that these are the clothes we purchased on the receipt. She brought the bag and looked over the tags that we have. She consult the next cashier, as the price did not match the receipt, and I told her it was purchased from here; then without her responding to me, she just looked at me.

She went to the superman/security guard. I am not sure what the conversation was all about, as I waited for ten minutes, and when she came back, she said that the jeans was not purchased from this store. I told her "Ma'am, it's from here," and she kept insisting that it was not from here, after she told me before that the price not matching the receipt. She said if I wanted to look over the recorded video from the security guard, and I said yes.

On her way, she told the superman/security (the one who sits by the door), that I said I don't believe what she said! I looked at her and replied, "I did not say that; don't reword my words." The superman yelled at me for something I did not say. I told him not to yell at me, and the cashier said that I wanted to look over the recorded video; he said no.

I replied "Why? I have the right." And he said "No, because I don't want to, and it is not purchased from here." He accused me of lying about the jeans being not purchased from this store; he told me that it was purchased from a different store, and the cashier said that the price did not match the receipt, but the serial number of the jeans showed up on her computer.

I looked at him and said "You know what, I will get the jacket, and I assure you that the jeans were purchased from this store. If the cashier was here, she will tell. I went back to the cashier and the jacket dropped on the floor by the cashier's side. She took it and returned it to the other table, and I told her I need this jacket and she said that I dropped it. I looked at her and said to myself, "What kind of people this Burlington store is hiring?"

The people are very unprofessional and very demanding in their behaviors toward customers. They need more supervision and training, and the superman they had there is very rude. The superman does not respect people; he thinks, with his muscles, he can be rude and people will get scared of him. The workers do not communicate well with each other, or with their customers.

Below is the location of the store and the name of the cashier I can't remember the name of the muscle superman/security. Am going to post the jeans, the tags and the serial number of the receipt. I hope there will be action taking toward the unacceptable behavior.

Replies
Advertisement
Online Purchase/Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have shopped at their stores. This was my first online purchase. It is nothing but fraud. I am unable to get anyone from customer to respond to me by emails or phone calls. Unable because it does not exist. When you make an online purchase, you must create an account in order to get a tracking number, and therefore, proof of your purchase. My only proof is that they charged me for my purchase within 2 hours. It shows on my credit card. Despite having contacted them 7 times by emails over 7 days, I never get any response. I am only told in an automated email that someone will get back to me within 48 hours. They never do.

You cannot create an account because their site doesn't allow you to. Despite following their online attempt to do so, you will be told that "the site isn't able to do this at this time". In 7 days, it has not changed. You will never be able to reach anyone at their only number they give you at their site. I have called during different times, 8 am - 8 pm, M-F. No one will ever speak to you or tell you how long you have to wait, just an automated response that puts you on hold because "we are experiencing very high call volumes at this time". I have waited over 40 mins. It is nothing but fraud. I have contacted my credit card company for the fraudulent charge.

Replies
Her name was Lucy the Salesperson
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- Me experience today at Burlington was just fantastic and wonderful due to a saleslady named "Lillie" who works in the ladies department and the coat department. She was just great and such an asset to the store and sooo very helpful. I just love her and was just lucky to have someone so helpful. I got such a beautiful coat thanks to her.
Thanks so much Lillie for your help.

Replies
Cashier Gave Me Gift Card Without Balance
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WARREN, MICHIGAN -- I returned maternity pants without a receipt, after they asked for all my info, the cashier gave me store credit. After a month I tried to buy clothes with the store card, and they told me that the card was unknown, and I have to call customer service. I called customer service, they said they were going to investigate and called the store, and they were going to call me in 48 hours after that. They never called back.

I called them after 3 days, they said that the case was closed. I asked if they called the store manager, they said they did. I asked who did they talk with, they didn't give me an answer (maybe because they didn't even called). On top of that they called me dishonest. I told them the cashier is swapping cards and she is getting all the credit, that they should investigate their employees. Beware!

Replies
Advertisement
Very Poor Management
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DUBLIN, CALIFORNIA -- As a customer, now a former customer, I had the worst experience ever at the BCF in Dublin California. The cashiers all at the front were very friendly except for one. This employee had me wait in line for a few minutes cause she was doing something, knowing I was there in line with a arm full of clothes. She didn't even say sorry for the wait - that was just plain rude. I shop there all the time with my family. When I mentioned about the wait, she gave me an attitude.

I will not stand for this at all. I asked for the store manager she replied they were busy. I will never go shopping in that location again with that employee working there. And yes I got her name from her name badge on her shirt. Anyone in the Dublin area I would be careful. Not a cashier I would want helping me and my family.

Replies
Very Bad Customer Service Ordering online With the Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I am very disappointed with this company online service. On Dec.14.2013 I order my grandson a kid chair for a Christmas gift. I received a email saying that I will receive it after Christmas and I was fine with that. Then Jan. 4. 2014 came so I email them and the company reply that my order is being process. So Jan. 10. 2014 I email again the company reply order being process. So I email them again and they reply late that day that my order cannot be filled - they don't have the product, they will refund my money. This was my 2 year old grandson Christmas Gift.

If I would have known this in a timely manner I would gotten him something else... I want customers to know that when you order from this company there's no phone number to reach anyone and no tracking number for your order. They have PISS POOR SERVICE AND COMPANY. I will never order from them again.

Replies
Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- I was in the Burlington Coat Factory store located on Orange Blossom Trail in Orlando, Florida yesterday, store number 322, at 8204 S. Orange Blossom Trail, and encountered several issues that I feel need to be brought to someone's attention.

I was there to sign up and complete the baby registry for the birth of our first baby at the end of May. After filling out all of the proper information at the self-service baby registry I followed the directions on my printout in order to receive the price gun, so that I could begin adding gifts to the registry. And since no one was in the general area, I decided to go to the Customer Service desk in order to be helped.

I stood for 15-20 minutes at the Customer Service desk before I was told that I had to make the line to the cashier desk which happened to also be the Customer Service desk and is not clearly defined as such. And not only did I stand there for a while before being told this information, I was told rudely by an employee that was just walking by, not even by the "Customer Service Representative/ Cashier". After speaking with the “Customer Service Representative/ Cashier" an "all call" was made for an employee, **, that there were customers in need of assistance in the baby registry area, and they needed assistance.

My wife and I then went back to the baby registry area immediately and waited for **. Not only did he not show up at all, we waited for 20 minutes before an employee to even remember, or notice, that we were still waiting for this employee. The other employee said that he would find ** and let him know that we were still there but he still never came. Another 10 minutes go by before another employee walked by and noticed we have been waiting for a long time in the same area and asked if she could help us with anything, we told her that we were waiting for ** to come and help us and give us the scan gun in order to add gifts to our registry.

Supposedly this employee knew how to handle this so she located the scan gun and "programmed” it in order for us to be able to scan gifts into our registry. The first five items I scanned did not even register, the scan gun kept saying it was a bad scan and did not accept the barcode that I was trying to add to our registry, I had this error even after I scanned any barcodes that were shown.

After much wasted time in waiting and faulty equipment my wife and I decided that it was time to go, as we were walking to the front of the store we walked by an employee and happened to look at the name tag and guess what it said, of course, **, he was walking around the store and re-arranging items to make them look more appealing, and not helping guests that have been waiting for him since finishing the baby registry form.

Before we left the store I requested that a manager come and speak to me and had to wait another 15 minutes before one was even located. The manager came to speak to me and never gave his name, he only had his name tag and it did not show that he was actually the manager at this Burlington Coat Factory. I told him about the issues that I encountered at the store and was told that ** was a decent employee and is usually pretty helpful, and that he would look into the issues that we encountered during our trip to Burlington Coat Factory during one of the happiest times in our lives.

I cannot believe that Customer Service has gone this far to the waste side and that people are working "just to earn a paycheck". I also want to point out that many of the display items, in fact almost all of the display items, are covered in dust, stained, and just plain nasty looking, as if they haven't been cleaned in quite some time, some of the clothes were discolored as well but nowhere near as bad as the equipment.

I would never recommend anyone to shop at Burlington Coat Factory, especially the store on Orange Blossom Trail in Orlando, and most of all I am going to tell everyone that I know to never try to do the baby registry because of all of the recalled equipment due to child safety, dirty and stained equipment, a major lack of customer service and customer satisfaction, along with the inability to satisfy their customers. Although my wife, my unborn baby, and I will be brushed aside, I will make sure that everyone I know knows the issues that we faced and the lack of care that we were shown on this visit on January 22, 2013.

Replies
Poor Customer Service & Relations
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

PORTLAND, OREGON -- I bought some cute Carter boots for my daughter, but upon getting home and putting them on her, to see how they worked with the outfits I bought them for, the zipper was separating below, so I decided I would return them and pick out some other boots. I pulled into the lot, and got my daughter out of her car seat when she then kicked off her shoes. I already had the diaper bag, my purse, and her and didn't have room to carry the shoes, so I placed them in the bag and carried her to a cart.

Immediately in the store, I get in line to replace my items. The man at the counter asks for my return and I hand him the bag. He takes the boots out and asks for my receipt, which I then got out of my purse. It checks out and he gives me a refund. I then head back to the shoe department to find another pair of boots. However, they are low in supply and there aren't any that will fit my daughter, so we leave.

The next morning I remember the shoes are in the bag. I return to the store and speak the manager, **, to ask him for my daughter's pink Nike sandals in the lost and found. He informs me that there aren't any in the lost and found but that he will personally find out what happened to the shoes. He asks me who handled the return and asked the cashier where they placed the boots and the bag they were in. The cashier states the bag was placed on the counter, even though I saw it thrown onto the floor after he handled the refund.

I ask the manager if it is possible they threw the shoes away, and he flat out denies it, "No way, we don't throw bags away." He suggests that may be they thought my daughters shoes were shoes they were selling. I told him that "Burlington doesn't sell pink Nike sandals, and besides they weren't brand spanking new, I bought them last month." He asked me what time we were in the store, I told him from 6:30 to 7:15 pm.

He said, "Well, our camera guy will be in in the morning, and I will have him review the cameras. It is possible a customer stole the shoes off the counter." I said, "I highly doubt someone would steal used shoes from a store, especially right off the counter by the register." But he assures me they will find out what happened to my daughters shoes. He double checked to make sure he had my correct number and I confirmed it for him. He said, "I will call you once my camera guy reviews the tape." I felt like he was just trying to get rid of me. But regardless I gave him the benefit, and I waited... and waited... and finally I called him.

And guess what, after finding out who I was, the person answering the phone said, "** wanted to know if you would like to leave a message since he can't talk at the moment." No thanks, it's apparent he isn't too good at answering calls, returning calls, or customer service for that matter. So, I think I have had enough of Burlington's increasingly poor customer service, regardless of the prices of their products. It's a shame, I used to work at this store and we used to provide excellent customer service.

Replies
Advertisement
Burlington Coat Factory Orange Blossom Trail Orlando
By -

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- On October 28th I went to the above store to return a coat I purchased. I went to the CUSTOMER SERVICE Desk and got in line behind another customer who was in the process of returning an item. I waited a moment and two other women got in line behind me. Before the first woman was finished, the other two women in line behind me stepped to the side of me.

I could tell they were together and thought they were waiting for their friend to get finished with her transaction. When the clerk finished with the return, the other women stepped in front of me and started pulling items out of their bag to return. I stated, "Excuse me, I believe I was next in line?" I was told by the Clerk "Oh no, they are together". She never asked if I minded that she take them ahead of me since they were together. I would have agreed and the issue would have resolved itself. I waited for them to get finished... I was put off over the Clerk's obvious dismissive attitude towards me. I expressed to the Clerk I did not appreciate what she had done.

She again told me they were together (they came to the store in the same car???). I asked the Clerk to speak to a supervisor as I thought she had been extremely rude to me. She made a very curt reply that I could not make out and called for her supervisor. I told him what had occurred and he said he would take care of me. I could hear the Clerk making issue in the background. I told the supervisor that I did not feel this was right and I wanted the names of the parties involved and contact information for BCF so I could lodge a complaint. The Clerk turned and started yelling at me. At this point her supervisor is trying to get her to stop. She gets louder and louder.

She takes her name tag off and hurls it at me. I told her to back off and get out of the conversation as did the supervisor. It continued. I again told her to just back off. It continued. I told her to shut up. I was not dealing with her. She continued to the point her supervisor had to stand between us to keep her off of me. Had he not done so I am sure she would have hit me! Her supervisor and I walked toward the front of the store. I told her supervisor I wanted to speak to his supervisor. He said he would get him (meanwhile the clerk is still out of control assisting other customers between rants). Nobody has asked her to step away from the "CUSTOMER SERVICE" desk!

The store supervisor appears. At this point this is playing out in front of the WHOLE store. I told him I could not believe anyone could condone such activity. He told me that he had just walked up and could not take sides as to what happened and that he would have to review the "tapes" himself (even though the supervisor was present through the majority of what happened) and even though the Clerk was still wailing away in the background.

He said he could not give me any names as that was against the law and for their protection (meanwhile the psycho clerk has access to all of my information). He did provide me with a card which he wrote his first name on along with the general customer service phone number. I told him I felt like I was not being taken seriously and that nothing would be done.

The unemployment rate in Orlando is extremely high. It is beyond my comprehension BCF can't find more stable employees and if not, I would suggest that CLEARLY this employee SHOULD NOT be allowed near a customer. I expect an immediate response and can't imagine that I would not get one. My observation is the supervisor should be promoted to store manager and the clerk and store manager fired! The Supervisor is the only party that expressed his deep regrets for what had occurred.

Replies
Treated Like A Thief
By -

CONCORD, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- My 14 year old son entered the store in Concord NH to purchase an MP4 player. He had the cash in his pocket. He was tailed as soon as he approached the product simply because of his age. Undaunted, he continued to shop trying to ignore that the manager had been immediately paged as soon as he went near the high end products and was now following him throughout the store glaring at him angrily. Naturally, at 14 this made him a bit nervous. He decided it was best to finish up his shopping. When he headed for the registers, he was approached by the assistant manager and told to leave.

Being rather shy, he did as he was told, but was followed still, all the way out the door. When he picked up his scooter to leave, he was yelled at by the manager to stop riding in front of the store; he wasn't. At this point he lost his patience and insisted he would be informing his parents of what had happened.

He did inform me and I told him unfortunately his age was going to cause suspicion, as unfair as this might be, and he was best advised to leave larger purchases for a day when I was with him. I promised to take him to purchase the item myself. Again my son entered the store, this time slightly ahead of me and my husband, the manager was again immediately paged to follow my son. Who, by the way, has no criminal record, nor has he ever been a behavior problem, anywhere! The child has never even chewed gum in class! I decided it was best to avoid a confrontation by simply letting it be known he was with his parents.

Again we picked up the item, again the manager and the assistant manager approached him, or rather me this time. Amazingly they admitted to having asked him to leave because he had acted suspiciously by looking at the higher priced items in the store. I informed them this was not a crime and that he had money to make his purchase in his pocket. A rather rude response followed and, as a former retail manager, I explained to him that I understood his reason for suspicion, however, the better way to handle it was to watch from his security room, or follow him discreetly, whereupon he would have seen my son pay for the item, not steal it.

He then informed me that my son was acting suspiciously and harassing the customers. I said if my son was being rude I was happy to hear his report, as this was unacceptable behavior and would be punished, he had no report. I asked for specifics, he could give me none. I asked if he'd videotaped it on his security cameras, he said that was private. I asked if he could tell me what was on the videotape, again he said that was private. I asked if he'd reported my son's behavior to the police and if so what was the claim. He had none.

“So, in other words my son came in, looked at a product he wanted to buy, decided to buy it, and was thrown out because you assumed he wasn't going to pay for it, and now you want to harass me when I bring him in to buy the item with parental assistance.” I asked for his district manager's name and phone number, I was told it was private. I reminded him that I had been in retail management for many years and knew contacting his DM was not a private issue.

He gave me a phone number that turned out to be false. I managed to contact the DM anyway. I was told by the DM that the situation would be investigated. Three weeks later I have yet to hear back from him. I am appalled. My son took his business elsewhere and so have I. I sincerely hope anyone who cares for children's rights will follow suit.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Burlington Coat Factory Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 21 ratings and
47 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Burlington Coat Factory
1830 Route 130
Burlington, NJ 08016
609-387-7800 (ph)
www.burlingtoncoatfactory.com
Product/Services Related Resources
Compare Clothing Stores