Preview Review

Next Review

Burlington Coat Factory Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WAYNE, NEW JERSEY -- Horrible customer service and not helpful at all. Rob you of money.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Store to Ever Place an Order With
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHATTANOOGA, TENNESSEE -- I placed an order online and in a three week period, only received a few of the items. I called their customer service number and sent an email multiple times inquiring on the rest of my order. After a month and a half, I finally received an email just stating that they no longer had those items in stock. I don't understand why you would sell something online that you do not have. And why you would not bother to respond to the customer to at least give them information.

Replies
Bad Experience With Layaway
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- I used the layaway at this store for the first time and when I picked up my layaway, I had to return a few of the items, and when I did I was told that I could not get my money back, and that they would have to give me a store credit on one of their gift cards. I ask why and was told that it was their policy. I let the manager know that I was never told that I would not be able to get my money back when I put the layaway on. Her response was they don't have to tell me because it is posted in the store and on the receipt.

I let her know that I spent my money in there when I put the layaway on, but now I choose to not spend my money in there and wanted it put back on my card, and who was she to tell me how I have to spend my money! If you go into the store and buy something and you need to bring it back you get your money back. Why is that any different than putting it on layaway and paying to get it out and not be able to get your money back if you need to bring anything back. It is my money and I feel that they don't have a right to tell my how I have to spend it. They need to change the policy!!! I will not shop there again.

Just going to call it a lost and not give them any of my business again. I purchased a jacket from there last year and only wore it a few times before it ripped in the back and around the buttons it was ripping. I can't wear it now and can't take it back because I don't have the receipt for it. And when I got the layaway out, I had put some jewelry on layaway and when I got it home, the bracelet broke taking it off my arm and the two chains I got broke before I could even wear them broke. I will not be shopping this store again.

Replies
Talk about service at Burlington if you feel lucky hitting Powerball
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- Customer Service was so Rude. Enough about this store's customer service. This store has to come down eventually because of all this nonsense service. Experience: I bought a coat and showed them coupon on my phone. Cashier (boy) demanded that they can accept only paper version. Acceptable to me (prevents store fraud by their own employee in some cases). I asked if I can bring the coat and paper coupon back for price adjustment and I was told that I can do that.

Cashier asked another employee (seemed to me like store manager) about the same and I got the same answer that I can do price adjustment during my next visit. Either way no big deal, they can just process return and rerun the transaction using coupon.

I went the next day and customer service (rude/dirty) lady/girl said I have to find it on the floor and then do another transaction. I requested that I was told that I could do price adjustment by the cashier (boy) who was also present at that time at another register but again I was declined service. I asked another (nice) cashier who was behind that rude girl cashier about the matter. She informed the rude (girl) cashier that she could simply process the return and re-run the transaction using coupon.

Rude cashier snatched the coat from nicer cashier and said its store policy (as if she owns the store) that she cannot even allow the same coat to be returned to customer and I have to find a new coat from the store. What a waste of time encouraged by self made store policy.

Am I Going back over there? Never. The environment because of such employees makes experience make worse. Buying is never fun in such an environment and spending hundreds on coats from Burlington seems wasted. Store: 1563 Franklin Mills Circle, Philadelphia, PA Date: 11/05/2012 Time: Around 7:30pm.

Replies
Advertisement
Debit card purchase: charged twice
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA -- On April 1st, I purchased a few baby items from BCF. The items, with tax, totaled $11.90. I thought I had made a terrific purchase, as I had bought other baby items for my son's baby at other stores, where the prices did not seem as fair. LITTLE DID I KNOW! When I went to purchase the items, using my debit card, I put my PIN number in, and the clerk stated that it "did not go through" and would I put the card PIN through again. That did not seem unreasonable, and I made sure that my purchase was only listed one time, for $11.90 on my receipt. After I got home, I went online to my bank account to look over purchase activities.

The $11.90 showed up, and was debited, twice. I went back to BCF on April 2nd in the late afternoon. I had already spoken by phone with the stores manager of that day, who advised me that I would need to bring in my receipt and proof of the double-debit on my bank record, and that the info. would have to be faxed to the corporate headquarters! I had never heard of such a thing, having had stores such as Petco accidentally charge twice for a purchase, and they readily corrected their error at their stores.

So in order to get back my $11.90, I drove all the way to the BCF, incurring the cost of gasoline (due to driving distance from my home) as well as my own time, which I also value. After giving my receipt and banking record page to an associate at BCF, I was told that they would need to make copies and fax the information to their headquarters. I was then told that the associate would call me to let me know when the headquarters answered their fax.

WELL... here we are on April 4th, and no phone call on the 2nd or the 3rd, and I finally called this associate this morning. She "explained" that there were circuit problems through the store organization, and that she would check into the situation and call me back. She also said to keep checking my bank account to see if the error had been taken care of, and my money refunded. Well, it is now 4:31 P.M., and: a. No phone call back from the associate, or anyone at the store; b. No reversal of the extra set of charges on my account.

Am I to assume that when a mistake is made by an employee, the computerized cash register system, or whatever, that I need to just "swallow" the extra set of charges, thereby costing me $23.80 instead of $11.90?
I am furious. I realize that other customers have had far worse experiences, but I think I have give them ample time to respond and take care of this. I welcome anyone thoughts on this. Thank you.

Replies
Refusal to purchase
By -

EDMONDS, WASHINGTON -- I only get out without my kids to shop about four times a year. Yesterday I had one of these opportunities. One of the items I wished to purchase was a toddler dress. I found it on a rack with other items that looked to be on a sales type rack in the back of the toddler clothes section. When I went to the cashier she had a hard time ringing that item up because the bottoms that come with that dress where missing. I told her that was OK I assumed that was why it was the only one left in the jumble of other clothes on the rack I found it on. She called a sales representative from the kids department who then looked for the bottoms. I was in a hurry and said that's fine I'll pay for it as it is.

She said she couldn't do that. The sales representative came without the bottoms. The manager was called and after waiting all that time she said that she could not sell me the dress as it was. The reason was that they couldn't separate the outfit. I said there were no bottoms with it and the sales representative couldn't find it either. The manager said that she couldn't sell me the dress for full price. I said I'd pay less for it then. The manager then said that she couldn't do that either because if I returned the dress I would get more money back for the dress than I paid since in their system it would show I had paid full price. I was not happy.

They had wasted at least 15 min. of my time while I was in a hurry and in the end the best they could do was ask for my phone number and call me if they found the bottoms! I can't believe that a store would not let me purchase something they had on their racks to purchase. I can't believe they would choose to lose money by me not purchasing an item they had for sale!

Plus I can't believe they would call me a thief in that they assumed I would be dishonest and return the dress to gain a few bucks! Plus I still don't see why they wouldn't have just sold it and put a note on the sales receipt. I have normally been very happy with Burlington Coat Factory but this put a real stink on them for me.

Replies
Do not appreciate employees
By -

OHIO -- I have worked for Burlington Coat Factory for the past 9 years. I used to love my job and enjoyed going to work everyday. I traveled to numerous locations and helped with grand opening and remodeling. For the past 3 years, I would say this company just abuses its employees and the management staff at store levels. They say they care, but they don't! They work you all year around and around the holiday season, your forbidden to request off... as if though you can't make plans to go out of town!

There's nothing fun and exciting about working for this company anymore. You're underpaid, while the company keeps on hiring these vice president and president and sr this and assistant that.. to the company it's all bull! What they need to do is increase the wages of their and hire more staffing and along with that, they need to stop cutting employees hours! It seems as if though, nothing but Big shot come to stores and ask why a billion and 1 questions... and all I want to say is; "Are you really kidding me, we have no help?"

Replies
Burlington Coat Factory A USA Sweat Shop
By -

Burlington Coat factory buys what they call buy outs. Which is merchandise other companies no longer want. Say Macys orders a certain coat and they no longer want anymore or they see its out of style, they then stop the order. With all the extra merchandise the vendors offer them a very cheap price so Burlington buys it. Its really out of style stuff.

In addition how there is no employee union is based on how they treat their employees. They will not start one (employees) for they will get fired. Burlington coat has hired many from Macys and Kholes (presidents and vice presidents only) which also treat there workers horribly. There raises are the bottom of the barrel. 10 or 15 cent a hour raise (no raises 2009). They had let go all there full time employees only to get part timers so they don't have to pay for vacations, sick, etc. They don't care about any employees and over work every single one of them. A modern day sweat shop.

Ask anyone who works at one. Believe me they will do anything possible not to have a union as they know and will continue to treat there employees under the worst conditions. Their quality of clothes have gone down since a company called bains bought them. A company who will run it to the ground and then sell it.

Replies
Advertisement
Incompetence of Employees
By -

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- First Contact: On 2/12/2005 went to Burlington Coat Factory and ordered 3 pieces of furniture.1. Vikki Convertible Crib by C&T, 2. C&T 5-Drawer Chest, 3. C&T Changing Table. ** was the sales person who assisted me on 2/12/2005. The computers were down so ** had to hand write the purchase order. ** walked me up front to put down a deposit (as Burlington does not allow you to pay in full for special orders). ** failed to get the deposit amount that I intended to put down. She assumed it was the standard 25%. I wanted to put $800.00 cash down.

So they took the payment of $800.00 and kept the purchase order, as 25% down which was only $294.55 leaving the balance owed as $879.65. I questioned this and ** attempted to dismiss this because she did not want to rewrite the purchase order. So I asked for the manager and they had a gentleman by the name of ** come and correct the purchase order by scratching out the balance and deposit sections and rewriting the new amounts and signing off on them.

Second Contact: In March the 3 pieces of furniture that I order had gone on sale. I called the store and spoke with ** who said that the sale did not count for special orders€. So I asked ** the name of the Manager and when that person would be in. ** gave me the information. That following Friday night I came into the store and spoke with **. ** had the already everything prepared for me and gave me the sale price. So I asked for a copy of the receipt that she had with the sale information on it.

Third Contact: I called Baby Depot on Friday April 15th just out of curiosity to check on my order. I spoke with ** who advised that the furniture was in. So I said great and I got off of the phone. A few minuets later I called the store back and spoke with ** again just to ask her about transportation of the furniture, I told her that we have a Ford Explorer and wanted to know if that would be big enough because I was not sure if the furniture was reassembled or not. ** said that the chest and the changing table was already assembled and that we would need a bigger truck for that but the crib was not and we could probably fit that in to our Explorer.

Fourth Contact: On May 1, 2005 my husband, **, and his friend went to pick up the furniture. Upon arrival ** walked into the desk paid the new remaining balance of $256.80. They got the chest and the changing table into the truck went back in to get the crib and the gentleman said that they could not find the crib. So ** waited 45 minutes while the sales people looked for it. While waiting ** had walked in from lunch and the gentleman asked ** about the crib and she immediately stated that she was already aware of the situation and was looking into it. She then told ** that there was nothing they could do besides call him later. So ** left.

Fifth Contact: When I got home on Sunday May 1, 2005 evening at 5:45 PM we had not been contacted as of yet. They close at 6:00 PM. So I called the store and asked for ** the Manager of Baby Depot. The guy who answered stated that she was outside at the moment. I said thank you I will hold. He said okay and placed me on hold. ** finally got onto the phone and she immediately started off by apologizing. She said what happened is that another woman who was ordering the same furniture with the same last name was in the store and was very intimidating to the sales person. So the sales person gave her my crib.

She said that she was not in the night that it happened!!! ** stated that she has already contacted other stores to see if they might have the crib and they did not. So now they have to reorder the crib, which could take 10-16 weeks!!! Granted I due in 6 weeks!!! So what they will do in the meantime is give us the floor model that we can come and get! So naturally any parent to be€ concern would be safety? The question of safety with the floor model is that people shake, press, and pretty much do anything to cribs to check for sturdiness. The next point with safety is germs. There have been a lot of people who have touched the floor model.

** said that that is all they can do until they get the crib in. She said once they get the crib in she will have it delivered and assemble for us on top of offering 10 % off our next purchase in there store. Which is laughable because there will be no next purchase in their store from me! I am registered with them and I will soon be undoing. So we ended on that note and left it up to me if we want the floor model or not.

Sixth Contact: May 2, 2005 I called the store and asked for ** the store manager. It was ** who answered the phone and so I asked him for the name of the District Manager as well as the phone number to the corporate office. ** stated that they currently did not have a District Manager and gave me that name of their Regional Manager who is ** and she is in Chicago. He then gave me the phone number to the corporate office, which is 609-387-7800. ** asked that I wait to call until he speaks with ** to see about calling other stores.

I tried to explain to ** that ** has already tried to call the other stores and ** cut me off not even wanting to hear about the conversation that ** and I had. So I said okay but I am still going to call corporate along with contacting the BBB.

Seventh Contact: I called the corporate office and left a voicemail for Dave the VP of the Baby Department. Eighth Contact: May 2, 2005 ** called me at work around 11:30 to update me on what was happening. ** stated that he got in contact with ** the District Manager for the Baby Depot Department. ** stated that ** was getting in contact with the Buyers to get in contact with the manufacturers to see when the next shipment would be in.

Ninth Contact: May 2, 2005 ** called me at work at 12:20 PM and stated that my option from Dave is that the next shipment would be in at the end of May and that if I deliver early he will have the Maintenance lady wipe down the floor model crib and give it to us as a loaner until the new one arrives and that they will give us 20% off of the crib. I told ** that I did not want the floor model and that 20% off was laughable because that they gave my crib away to another person because they were intimidating! I told him that I have left a message with Dave the VP and I will await his call and deal with him.

Tenth Contact: May 3, 2005 I called the corporate office at 609-387-7800 and spoke with **, Dave Stater assistant. She put through with Dave. Dave started off by apologizing and blaming it on a human mistake. He then got right into the situation and stated that he will not overnight the crib via FedEx as he has done this in the past with Cribs and they usually end up cracked. He said that they are better off being ground shipped.

So he offered 20 % off of the crib when it arrived which will not be until the end of May and an instore gift certificate. I told Dave that 20% is not acceptable and that I do not want an instore GC, as I do not plan on ever shopping at their store again. I then stated that I am not sure if he is a parent or not but as any first time parent you want to be as prepared as possible and this was causing me not to be prepared.

I told him that I want 40% off of the crib and he said he couldn€™t do 40% off. I then asked him if any stores have another crib that matches my furniture set. He knew the crib I was speaking of and he had ** on the line with us and asked her to look into that for me. He said they would look into that and call me back. Eleventh Contact: May 3, 2005 ** called and left me a voicemail at my work # stating that she has info regarding the other crib and to call her back.

Twelfth Contact: May 3, 2005 I called ** back and she stated that the Dublin store has the other crib in and the name of it is Madison€ and they have placed it on hold. However it is $100.00 more than the crib that I purchased and they would like to extend the offer of 20% off so I would owe them the balance of the new crib versus the crib that I ordered.

I told her my intention was not to buy that crib. I just want that crib as a loaner crib until the crib that I ordered has come in. I also stated that I initially looked at that crib and did not like the look of it as well as the other crib so I did not want that crib for keeps. She said that her and Dave misunderstood me and she is not authorized to offer that. She said she would talk to Dave and call me back.

Thirteenth Contact: May 3, 2005 I got a voicemail from ** on behalf of Dave. ** stated that the final offer is 30% off of my crib when in comes in and the floor model as a loaner, which they will wipe down. Fourteenth Contact: May 3, 2005 I called ** back and informed her to tell Dave that ** offer was not acceptable and that the next contact would be from my lawyer. She said she would relay the message. So at this point I have acquired legal representation, filed a claim with the Attorney Generals Office, Filed a claim with the BBB, Called the news media, channel ABC 6 and FOX 28 to speak with a consumer reporter who reports on situations such as this.

I have posted feedback on two consumer websites to inform other people. I also have informed my OB who stated that they would never go to Burlington as they have had issues with them in the past. My OB stated that this is good info as their office comes into contact with pregnant women day in and day out and she will spread the word.

Fiftteenth Contact: May 3, 2005 ** and Dave were on the line and Dave thought that I might have misinterpreted ** offer. They want to offer 30% off and a new out of the box loaner crib that might not match my set. I said I do not care, I do not want a floor model and I would accept this. So Dave said that he would contact Tony who would be in contact with me.

Sixteenth Contact: May 3, 2005 ** called me and said that I will need to come back into the store for the credit and that the manager can deliver the loaner crib tomorrow and wanted to know what time was good for me. I said I planned on coming into the store to revoke my registry tonight so I can get the refund then.

We then talked about the delivery of the loaner crib and I stated that I had an appt. in the morning at 9:45 AM and Tony said it could be anytime in the afternoon and I just said name a time I can be there. Tony said that I could also get it if I wanted tonight when I go to the store. I said that is fine I asked if there would be someone there to load it into my car and he said yes.

Seventeenth Contact: May 3, 2005 I arrived at the Dublin store and there was nobody in the Baby Depot department so my mother and I walked up to the service desk and asked for the manager on duty. They called a gentleman named ** who came to the front and asked us to pull our car around so they could load the crib. I told ** that I wanted my baby registry deleted, he said okay we will do that. ** then went outside and got another man who was smoking out front to help with the 30% refund. I did not get this persons name. He went behind the counter, got out some paper work and asked me to sign a receipt in order to get the refund.

Before signing I asked the amount which was around $64.00. I immediately questioned the refund amount as I had pre-calculated the amount I should have received before entering the store. He tried to state that I only paid $209.99 for the crib. I paid a sale price of $269.99, which with tax should be $86.46. He said that this was what was in the email from Tony and that was all he was allowed to offer.

I said forget it I will contact Dave back in the morning and started to raise my voice so that all customers in the front new my situation and said I still expect the loaner crib and I do not accept the refund. Another person came and loaded the loaner crib and off I went with another trip wasted.

Eighteenth Contact: May 4, 2005 I called ** extension, as I am tired of dealing with incompetent people. I spoke to ** his assistant who advised that I need to speak with **. I then got ** assistant who was very nice and informative. FINALLY a person who understood the situation and she asked me to send all information via email. Please note that I checked online today and my name has not been removed from the registry! We will see how the saga pans out!

Replies
Very Bad Customer Service Ordering online With the Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I am very disappointed with this company online service. On Dec.14.2013 I order my grandson a kid chair for a Christmas gift. I received a email saying that I will receive it after Christmas and I was fine with that. Then Jan. 4. 2014 came so I email them and the company reply that my order is being process. So Jan. 10. 2014 I email again the company reply order being process. So I email them again and they reply late that day that my order cannot be filled - they don't have the product, they will refund my money. This was my 2 year old grandson Christmas Gift.

If I would have known this in a timely manner I would gotten him something else... I want customers to know that when you order from this company there's no phone number to reach anyone and no tracking number for your order. They have PISS POOR SERVICE AND COMPANY. I will never order from them again.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Burlington Coat Factory Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 22 ratings and
48 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Burlington Coat Factory
1830 Route 130
Burlington, NJ 08016
609-387-7800 (ph)
www.burlingtoncoatfactory.com
Product/Services
Compare Clothing Stores