[X]

Burlington Coat Factory - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 14 ratings and
40 reviews & complaints.
www.burlingtoncoatfactory.com

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Failed to deliver product yet refuses to refund money
Posted by on
APPLE VALLEY, MINNESOTA -- On October 22, 2005, I purchased a baby gate from Burlington Coat Factory. When I got the gate home, it didn’t fit the space for which it was intended. The next day I brought the gate and my receipt back to the store for a refund. I was told the store does not offer refunds for returned merchandise, only in-store credit. Their policy was not clearly posted. I was very upset and asked to talk with a manager. The manager asked me condescendingly, “Didn't you measure the space before purchasing the gate?”. He said they did not have the ability to issue a refund and repeatedly referred to their no refund policy. I told him their policy is not clearly posted and is most certainly not customer friendly.
The store did not have a gate that fit my needs in stock nevertheless, as an attempt to make a bad situation better, I begrudgingly agreed to special order a gate. They applied the money I had paid for the returned gate to the special order gate and I was told I would receive a call in eight to ten weeks. I never received a call.
On June 5, 2006, I called the store and spoke with the assistant manager. I explained the circumstances, gave him the invoice details and requested a refund. He agreed failure to deliver the product was unacceptable and he would immediately issue a refund. He said I should expect to receive documentation in the mail. I never received documentation or a refund.
On September 5, 2006, I spoke with the store manager on the phone. He said his assistant manager would call me back. I never received a call back.
On September 5, 2006 I filed a complaint with the attorney general. I received a response from Burlington Coat Factory's Vice President of Customer Relations dated September 22, 2006, stating I am not entitled to a refund because they issued a gift card and I am only entitled to in-store credit. (I assume when I returned the original gate and had the balance applied toward the special order, their internal accounting deemed the transaction as issuing a gift card).
On October 2, 2006, I went into the store to talk with the manager face-to-face. He said he would refund the money but ultimately did not. He told me he could not issue a refund but only offer in-store credit. I told him no. I’m going to the newspapers – they failed to deliver the product and now refuse to return my money. He said he needs to talk to corporate… then he said he needs to talk to the assistant manager to ensure a refund wasn't already issued… then he said corporate needs to issue a check in 14 days to refund and the excuses went on and on. In the end he said he would call corporate the next morning and promised to call me back the same day.

On October 3, 2006, I received a voice message from the store manager. He said he spoke with corporate and they are going to “look into it”. He said I should expect to receive correspondence from them (corporate) either in the mail or by phone. No commitment to time frame or to outcome was made – it was an obvious brush-off.

The following are excerpts taken from your Code of Business Conduct and Code of Ethics written on August 5, 2004:

At Burlington Coat Factory Warehouse Corporation (the “Company”), integrity is our core value, and our good name is our most valued asset. We are committed to uncompromising integrity in all our dealings with each other, our customers, trading partners and members of the public.

Making Ethical Decisions

When faced with a decision, ask yourself these questions about the choice you are considering:
How does this decision affect others (customers, suppliers, partners, stockholders, competitors, the community, other employees, or you)?
How does the decision look to others? An innocent action can result in the appearance of wrongdoing, or create an unintended sense of obligation between parties.
How would you feel if this decision were made public? Could the decision be honestly explained and defended?
Have the implications of this decision been fully explored, or would additional advice be helpful?

I can say with confidence, this code was not applied to my situation. The dollar amount in question is not a large amount – a mere pittance to a National company, yet the company seems willing to sacrifice their own code of ethics, customer base and reputation to keep it.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

spiderman2 on 2006-10-04:
Burlington has their return policy all over the cash register area. I learned to never buy anything from them I was not positive that I wanted or would fit. They did lose a lot of my baby-product business because of this.

spiderman2 on 2006-10-04:
Strangley enough, just today I saw an advertisement for BCF that says they will now be giving cash refunds.
rhondam718732 on 2006-10-04:
I'm wth ya Spdier...Burlington has always been a no cash-refund store until last month when they posted signs they were now offering them. Every store I've been in had the no cash-refund posted everywhere - on registers, the doors, by customer service and on the receipt.
Noneill on 2006-10-05:
BCF in Fredericksburg had the old policy of no-cash refunds posted on a large wall next to the check out. Now that policy has change (Thank God, it was so archaic). But just yesterday I purchased a toddler halloween costume and asked for a gift receipt. The gal hit a couple buttons on the register and said "Oops, I think I can't get it now. I hit the wrong button." So the manager comes over and she explains. Manager says "Nope. Can't get one now." Unbelievable!!!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Worst Shipping Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ONLINE -- I have ordered from Burlington on several occasions but I think their prices on girls clothes is spectacular! But if you are in a rush to receive the clothes - then I would suggest you not order ONLINE. I received an email from January 24, 2014 saying my order had been shipped and it would take 5-8 business days. Today is February 10, 2014! This is not the first time I have experienced this issue with Burlington but it is definitely the last!
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Honest and Helpful Staff
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
FAIRFIELD, ALABAMA -- I walked out without my watches and day later I remembered. They helped me find my purchase and help me with a smile.

The honesty of the store personal was a good sight for me. I got all the help I needed with no wait. Thank you to the team at the Fairfield, Alabama store.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
The Doesn't fit.....so Why Should I Have to Wear It?
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LAFAYETTE, LOUISIANA -- The box says one size but, that's not what was in the box. I tried to return it but, because its after thirty days its gone on sale. I understand that but my receipt tells you what I paid. I should be able to get what I paid. It's clearly the wrong box:)
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

CU on 2013-07-03:
What is the return policy stated on your receipt?
FoDaddy19 on 2013-07-04:
I think it's reasonable to expect the consumer to at least try it on within 30 days. If you bought it at the store you could've easily have tried it on before you bought it. If you bought it online, then it's your responsibility to try it on when it gets to you.
andbran on 2013-07-04:
here is their return policyReturn Policy - For Items Purchased In Our Local Stores

An original receipt dated within 30 days of purchase is required for all returns/exchanges in our stores
Merchandise must be new and in unused condition
Refunds will be issued in the original form of payment. Returns from a check purchase will be sent a mail check within seven (7) days. Debit cards using a PIN will receive cash
Merchandise returned from a completed layaway and receipted returns accepted after 30 days will receive a gift card
Non-receipted returns, accompanied by a photo ID (driver’s license, state issued non-driver ID, passport, or military ID) and returns after 60 days will receive a gift card for the lowest selling price
All returns are subject to system verification and/or approval
Items bought in our local stores cannot be returned to our Webstore fulfillment center.
andbran on 2013-07-04:
according to their website it does say the receipt is only good for 30 days. then it goes out of their system. you could try selling it on Craigslist.
ILOVEMYSON on 2013-07-04:
I remember when they didn't even let you return stuff at all..I think they only let you get an exchange if that..I'm not sure why people buy things and then never try them on or never use them or at least check it over just in case something could be damaged or wrong..
Close commentsAdd reply
Good Customer Service
Posted by on
CRESTWOOD, ILLINOIS -- I went to the Burlington in Crestwood Il. Now I know a lot of people complain about the bad. I would like to say something nice the cashier lady was so nice. She always smiles and I love when I go in there she always has something funny to say. I found out she was leaving. Good luck girl.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Skye on 2011-12-12:
Too bad there weren't more people like you!

Thanks for the review.
Close commentsAdd reply
You Are A Rude Cashier!
Posted by on
NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I just had the most horrible experience at the Burlington Coat Factory on 23rd St and 6th Ave in NYC. I was waiting in line to be checked out. There was only one cashier for a while and then another came on. After about 10 mins, the new cashier must have called me, but I didn't hear her, because the other cashier said "What did you fall asleep? Next customer!" I was a little annoyed by this but ignored her and went to the open cashier. While being rung up by a nice cashier, the heard the other one say "Jesus Christ... Actin' like I'm going to take the card. Where am I going to run to?" to the woman she was checking out. Then, she stated it again when the woman apologized. I was about 6 stations down and heard the cashier's rant clearly. I could not believe what I heard. To be that rude, taking the Lord's name in vain, AND repeating it again. WOW - she has nerve. After I was done, I walked down and looked at her name tag. It said [snip].

Well, [she] obviously hates her job and should not be in customer service. I'm in the hospitality industry and if any of my associates said even half that, they would be terminated on the spot!

I know plenty of people who are out of work that would love to have her job... and would smile while doing it.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

MDSasquatch on 2010-12-03:
Haven't been to a Burlington since that lady got bit by a rattle snake in one of their winter coats; glad to see I am not missing anything.
momsey on 2010-12-03:
Say WHAT, MDS???

This cashier sounds like a real winner! You really should let a manager know what you heard. Nothing will be done if no one says anything!
Close commentsAdd reply
Burlington Coat Factory Returns
Posted by on
I ordered a jacket from the Burlington Coat Factory a few days ago. I got the jacket fairly quickly, but it is way too big. I wanted to exchange the jacket for a smaller size, so I went online to Customer Return section. I entered my name, email address, phone #, the order #, and the reason for the return, submitted it, and got an error. EVERY TIME I try to submit this I get an error. There is no customer service number I can call for returns, it seems you can only do them online.

Unless I am missing something (I hope). This website is not customer friendly! Its ridiculous!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

goduke on 2010-08-24:
I found this number:

609-387-7800 x 71998

Hopefully it works and you don't wake up Stew's grandmother!
SaMoore on 2010-08-24:
+10 goduke. Good luck OP.
Close commentsAdd reply
Online service
Posted by on
I ordered product from BABY DEPOT REGISTRY for Baby Shower. The first time I place the order I called to make sure it would be shipped to correct address. The person I talked to said the person that is on the registry has the address blocked out, but will be shipped to her. I followed through with my order. The shipping address was mine at the end of the submit order. So I called and the only way to change this was to cancel the order and reorder. So I did this, making sure the correct address was there. It was.
After shipping, I received email stating UPS deliver date and shipping address again as mine, not the name on the registry. I called a number of times. Burlington Coat Factory refuses to fix this, I have to refuse the order, have it go back to them, they will not ship it to correct address and I will get refund when it is sent back to them. I will NEVER use their online service again and will be sure to spread the word to others and my niece who was registered with them. As I live in Vermont, and she lives in RI, her shipping address is where it should have gone, and I paid extra for quick shipping time. They do not want to work this out at all, and I caution anyone who is doing any online business with them and want gifts sent to other address than billing address.

Lynne
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

skelly39 on 2009-07-20:
Who put the address in wrong to begin with? Or did it prefill with your address? Either way, if it's already shipped, they aren't going to give you your money back when the product is out the door. Just wait for the refund and be more careful next time.
Close commentsAdd reply
One Day Late - Can't Refund My Credit Card - Only Store Credit
Posted by on
AURORA, COLORADO -- Okay, so I was one day late according to their return policy, but I even asked if I could speak to the manager to return the $17 (big deal) shoes I had bought on May 23. The manager came up and said it was beyond his control - he almost seemed happy that it was and they could not refund my money to my credit card but had to give me a store credit of course.

I quit shopping at Burlington Coat Factory years ago because I didn't like their return policy - only store credit no matter what. And rarely do I even like returning things - it's too much trouble. Then they made a big push to advertise their generous 30-day return policy so I decided to give them another chance. And a few weeks earlier I bought about $100 worth of clothes and returned to shop some more.

What happened to customer service? Why can't the store manager have the power to give me credit on my credit card?

Plus when I was shopping there a few weeks ago, I couldn't believe what a mess the store was. Nothing was sized, things were thrown on the floor, nothing at all was in the right place. I actually felt bad for the staff and figured they were extremely short staffed. So, Burlington, I'll be back to buy something with my $17 card. But after that, I'll stay away forever this time.

There is a big push in corporate America to be more customer service oriented - especially in these tough economic times. I guess you still don't need to be customer service oriented.
     
Read 13 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

MSCANTBEWRONG on 2009-06-24:
Their return policy is their return policy. If they make an exception because you're one day over the stated policy terms, then why not make an exception for someone who is 2 days, 1 week, 1 month late.
Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
Ask any pregnant woman if being even one day late is a big deal
skelly39 on 2009-06-25:
How come you waited 31 days to return shoes? You didn't know you didn't like them or that they didn't fit for 31 days? I'm with the others. Why should you be an exception to the rule?
Amazed. on 2012-09-15:
"Why can't the store manager have the power to give me credit on my credit card?"

It is company policy not that person's choice on if you receive your money back. If it is programmed into the computer, a manager may NOT override it.

There are a lot of rude customers out there...sounds like you are one.

belle on 2013-09-05:
I TOTALLY AGREE STORE IS A DISASTER.. MANAGEMENT DOES NOT CARE ABOUT STAFF AT ALL.. I AM A NEW HIRE THERE BUT I AM JUST HOLDING ON TO THIS JOB TILL I HAVE ANOTHER OFFER AND SOMETHING BETTER ...
MSCANTBEWRONG on 2009-06-24:
LOL little!
Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
If you were there a few weeks ago, why didn't you return them then?
You received a store credit. Seems fair.
Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
BA, Rob
madconsumer on 2009-06-24:
report back what you say when your employer pays you 1 day late.
jktshff1 on 2009-06-24:
What they all said. I don't know of a company that allows for ignorance in their return policies .
Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
That is not my point. As a business owner, I have the luxury of treating my customers so that their shopping experience is a good one. Sometimes bending the rules makes a much better experience for them. Whether they are right or wrong. But perhaps old fashion customer service is not important and sticking to strict rules is. As I can see from these thoughtful comments.
Buddy01 on 2009-06-25:
You have a point if your situation was isolated. Unfortunately, every retail store has plenty of customers who think they should be an exception to the rules. Therefore, a line has to be drawn somewhere.
yoke on 2009-06-25:
you knew about the 30 day return policy and agreed to it when you bought the shoes. Why should they make an exception for you and not everyone else?

How many stores do you own that you have the luxury of allowing customers to return their items any time they want?
Close commentsAdd reply
Rude Store Manager
Posted by on
LIVE OAK, TEXAS -- It is obvious from other reviews I have read on the Internet that Burlington Coat Factory does not care about their customers. The Burlington Coat Factory in Live Oak Texas has the same store policy of not only installing malfunctioning Anti Theft alarms that do go off for no just cause and an uncaring store manager who may harass customers unfairly and unnecessarily because of this defective system. I had this happen to me at a WalMart BUT a store employee apologized to me about this and said to me it should not have happened.

Apparently WalMart cares about its customers much more than Burlington Coat Factory!!!
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

GenuineNerd on 2008-11-29:
At any store, it is a good idea to keep your receipt in view until you walk past the security devices, in case your purchases did not get properly deactivated. This has happened to me most recently at a Giant Eagle supermarket, after I bought a couple of DVD's. The cashier forgot to deactivate the security tag. And it has happened to me more than once at Wal-Mart. I'd rather show the greeter or guard the receipt than put up a big fuss.
Anonymous on 2008-11-29:
Are you carrying a concealed weapon? I know that will set some of those off.
yoke on 2008-11-29:
A few months ago my daughter and I were shopping at Hollister. We bought a couple of things. We left the store no problem. When we tried to enter American Eagle an alarm went off. It was a sensor from an item we bought at Hollister. The girl at AE called ahead to Hollister to let them know we were coming back. The reason we did not hear the alarm leaving Hollister is the music is so LOUD!
Anonymous on 2008-11-29:
C2O, that would only happen in Texas...oh, nevermind, this was in Texas!

"Apparently WalMart cares about its customers much more than Burlington Coat Factory!!!" ...LOL, too funny!!
jktshff1 on 2008-11-29:
Tell ya what, once I have paid for and the "title" has changed hands, wo be the guy that stops me for an alarm going off when I exit. That is not my problem, it's the cashier's.
I had that happen when I shopped wallyworld, guy said I needed to stop and let him check me out. Not going to happen, told him call the cops and see who gets the short end of that stick. He went away. I will not stop for the store alarm going off if I have paid for and have a receipt..ain't got the time, that's their problem, not mine.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >