Preview Review

Next Review

Burlington Coat Factory Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Refusal to purchase
By -

EDMONDS, WASHINGTON -- I only get out without my kids to shop about four times a year. Yesterday I had one of these opportunities. One of the items I wished to purchase was a toddler dress. I found it on a rack with other items that looked to be on a sales type rack in the back of the toddler clothes section. When I went to the cashier she had a hard time ringing that item up because the bottoms that come with that dress where missing. I told her that was OK I assumed that was why it was the only one left in the jumble of other clothes on the rack I found it on. She called a sales representative from the kids department who then looked for the bottoms. I was in a hurry and said that's fine I'll pay for it as it is.

She said she couldn't do that. The sales representative came without the bottoms. The manager was called and after waiting all that time she said that she could not sell me the dress as it was. The reason was that they couldn't separate the outfit. I said there were no bottoms with it and the sales representative couldn't find it either. The manager said that she couldn't sell me the dress for full price. I said I'd pay less for it then. The manager then said that she couldn't do that either because if I returned the dress I would get more money back for the dress than I paid since in their system it would show I had paid full price. I was not happy.

They had wasted at least 15 min. of my time while I was in a hurry and in the end the best they could do was ask for my phone number and call me if they found the bottoms! I can't believe that a store would not let me purchase something they had on their racks to purchase. I can't believe they would choose to lose money by me not purchasing an item they had for sale!

Plus I can't believe they would call me a thief in that they assumed I would be dishonest and return the dress to gain a few bucks! Plus I still don't see why they wouldn't have just sold it and put a note on the sales receipt. I have normally been very happy with Burlington Coat Factory but this put a real stink on them for me.

Replies
Advertisement
Do not appreciate employees
By -

OHIO -- I have worked for Burlington Coat Factory for the past 9 years. I used to love my job and enjoyed going to work everyday. I traveled to numerous locations and helped with grand opening and remodeling. For the past 3 years, I would say this company just abuses its employees and the management staff at store levels. They say they care, but they don't! They work you all year around and around the holiday season, your forbidden to request off... as if though you can't make plans to go out of town!

There's nothing fun and exciting about working for this company anymore. You're underpaid, while the company keeps on hiring these vice president and president and sr this and assistant that.. to the company it's all bull! What they need to do is increase the wages of their and hire more staffing and along with that, they need to stop cutting employees hours! It seems as if though, nothing but Big shot come to stores and ask why a billion and 1 questions... and all I want to say is; "Are you really kidding me, we have no help?"

Replies
Burlington Coat Factory A USA Sweat Shop
By -

Burlington Coat factory buys what they call buy outs. Which is merchandise other companies no longer want. Say Macys orders a certain coat and they no longer want anymore or they see its out of style, they then stop the order. With all the extra merchandise the vendors offer them a very cheap price so Burlington buys it. Its really out of style stuff.

In addition how there is no employee union is based on how they treat their employees. They will not start one (employees) for they will get fired. Burlington coat has hired many from Macys and Kholes (presidents and vice presidents only) which also treat there workers horribly. There raises are the bottom of the barrel. 10 or 15 cent a hour raise (no raises 2009). They had let go all there full time employees only to get part timers so they don't have to pay for vacations, sick, etc. They don't care about any employees and over work every single one of them. A modern day sweat shop.

Ask anyone who works at one. Believe me they will do anything possible not to have a union as they know and will continue to treat there employees under the worst conditions. Their quality of clothes have gone down since a company called bains bought them. A company who will run it to the ground and then sell it.

Replies
Incompetence of Employees
By -

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- First Contact: On 2/12/2005 went to Burlington Coat Factory and ordered 3 pieces of furniture.1. Vikki Convertible Crib by C&T, 2. C&T 5-Drawer Chest, 3. C&T Changing Table. ** was the sales person who assisted me on 2/12/2005. The computers were down so ** had to hand write the purchase order. ** walked me up front to put down a deposit (as Burlington does not allow you to pay in full for special orders). ** failed to get the deposit amount that I intended to put down. She assumed it was the standard 25%. I wanted to put $800.00 cash down.

So they took the payment of $800.00 and kept the purchase order, as 25% down which was only $294.55 leaving the balance owed as $879.65. I questioned this and ** attempted to dismiss this because she did not want to rewrite the purchase order. So I asked for the manager and they had a gentleman by the name of ** come and correct the purchase order by scratching out the balance and deposit sections and rewriting the new amounts and signing off on them.

Second Contact: In March the 3 pieces of furniture that I order had gone on sale. I called the store and spoke with ** who said that the sale did not count for special orders€. So I asked ** the name of the Manager and when that person would be in. ** gave me the information. That following Friday night I came into the store and spoke with **. ** had the already everything prepared for me and gave me the sale price. So I asked for a copy of the receipt that she had with the sale information on it.

Third Contact: I called Baby Depot on Friday April 15th just out of curiosity to check on my order. I spoke with ** who advised that the furniture was in. So I said great and I got off of the phone. A few minuets later I called the store back and spoke with ** again just to ask her about transportation of the furniture, I told her that we have a Ford Explorer and wanted to know if that would be big enough because I was not sure if the furniture was reassembled or not. ** said that the chest and the changing table was already assembled and that we would need a bigger truck for that but the crib was not and we could probably fit that in to our Explorer.

Fourth Contact: On May 1, 2005 my husband, **, and his friend went to pick up the furniture. Upon arrival ** walked into the desk paid the new remaining balance of $256.80. They got the chest and the changing table into the truck went back in to get the crib and the gentleman said that they could not find the crib. So ** waited 45 minutes while the sales people looked for it. While waiting ** had walked in from lunch and the gentleman asked ** about the crib and she immediately stated that she was already aware of the situation and was looking into it. She then told ** that there was nothing they could do besides call him later. So ** left.

Fifth Contact: When I got home on Sunday May 1, 2005 evening at 5:45 PM we had not been contacted as of yet. They close at 6:00 PM. So I called the store and asked for ** the Manager of Baby Depot. The guy who answered stated that she was outside at the moment. I said thank you I will hold. He said okay and placed me on hold. ** finally got onto the phone and she immediately started off by apologizing. She said what happened is that another woman who was ordering the same furniture with the same last name was in the store and was very intimidating to the sales person. So the sales person gave her my crib.

She said that she was not in the night that it happened!!! ** stated that she has already contacted other stores to see if they might have the crib and they did not. So now they have to reorder the crib, which could take 10-16 weeks!!! Granted I due in 6 weeks!!! So what they will do in the meantime is give us the floor model that we can come and get! So naturally any parent to be€ concern would be safety? The question of safety with the floor model is that people shake, press, and pretty much do anything to cribs to check for sturdiness. The next point with safety is germs. There have been a lot of people who have touched the floor model.

** said that that is all they can do until they get the crib in. She said once they get the crib in she will have it delivered and assemble for us on top of offering 10 % off our next purchase in there store. Which is laughable because there will be no next purchase in their store from me! I am registered with them and I will soon be undoing. So we ended on that note and left it up to me if we want the floor model or not.

Sixth Contact: May 2, 2005 I called the store and asked for ** the store manager. It was ** who answered the phone and so I asked him for the name of the District Manager as well as the phone number to the corporate office. ** stated that they currently did not have a District Manager and gave me that name of their Regional Manager who is ** and she is in Chicago. He then gave me the phone number to the corporate office, which is 609-387-7800. ** asked that I wait to call until he speaks with ** to see about calling other stores.

I tried to explain to ** that ** has already tried to call the other stores and ** cut me off not even wanting to hear about the conversation that ** and I had. So I said okay but I am still going to call corporate along with contacting the BBB.

Seventh Contact: I called the corporate office and left a voicemail for Dave the VP of the Baby Department. Eighth Contact: May 2, 2005 ** called me at work around 11:30 to update me on what was happening. ** stated that he got in contact with ** the District Manager for the Baby Depot Department. ** stated that ** was getting in contact with the Buyers to get in contact with the manufacturers to see when the next shipment would be in.

Ninth Contact: May 2, 2005 ** called me at work at 12:20 PM and stated that my option from Dave is that the next shipment would be in at the end of May and that if I deliver early he will have the Maintenance lady wipe down the floor model crib and give it to us as a loaner until the new one arrives and that they will give us 20% off of the crib. I told ** that I did not want the floor model and that 20% off was laughable because that they gave my crib away to another person because they were intimidating! I told him that I have left a message with Dave the VP and I will await his call and deal with him.

Tenth Contact: May 3, 2005 I called the corporate office at 609-387-7800 and spoke with **, Dave Stater assistant. She put through with Dave. Dave started off by apologizing and blaming it on a human mistake. He then got right into the situation and stated that he will not overnight the crib via FedEx as he has done this in the past with Cribs and they usually end up cracked. He said that they are better off being ground shipped.

So he offered 20 % off of the crib when it arrived which will not be until the end of May and an instore gift certificate. I told Dave that 20% is not acceptable and that I do not want an instore GC, as I do not plan on ever shopping at their store again. I then stated that I am not sure if he is a parent or not but as any first time parent you want to be as prepared as possible and this was causing me not to be prepared.

I told him that I want 40% off of the crib and he said he couldn€™t do 40% off. I then asked him if any stores have another crib that matches my furniture set. He knew the crib I was speaking of and he had ** on the line with us and asked her to look into that for me. He said they would look into that and call me back. Eleventh Contact: May 3, 2005 ** called and left me a voicemail at my work # stating that she has info regarding the other crib and to call her back.

Twelfth Contact: May 3, 2005 I called ** back and she stated that the Dublin store has the other crib in and the name of it is Madison€ and they have placed it on hold. However it is $100.00 more than the crib that I purchased and they would like to extend the offer of 20% off so I would owe them the balance of the new crib versus the crib that I ordered.

I told her my intention was not to buy that crib. I just want that crib as a loaner crib until the crib that I ordered has come in. I also stated that I initially looked at that crib and did not like the look of it as well as the other crib so I did not want that crib for keeps. She said that her and Dave misunderstood me and she is not authorized to offer that. She said she would talk to Dave and call me back.

Thirteenth Contact: May 3, 2005 I got a voicemail from ** on behalf of Dave. ** stated that the final offer is 30% off of my crib when in comes in and the floor model as a loaner, which they will wipe down. Fourteenth Contact: May 3, 2005 I called ** back and informed her to tell Dave that ** offer was not acceptable and that the next contact would be from my lawyer. She said she would relay the message. So at this point I have acquired legal representation, filed a claim with the Attorney Generals Office, Filed a claim with the BBB, Called the news media, channel ABC 6 and FOX 28 to speak with a consumer reporter who reports on situations such as this.

I have posted feedback on two consumer websites to inform other people. I also have informed my OB who stated that they would never go to Burlington as they have had issues with them in the past. My OB stated that this is good info as their office comes into contact with pregnant women day in and day out and she will spread the word.

Fiftteenth Contact: May 3, 2005 ** and Dave were on the line and Dave thought that I might have misinterpreted ** offer. They want to offer 30% off and a new out of the box loaner crib that might not match my set. I said I do not care, I do not want a floor model and I would accept this. So Dave said that he would contact Tony who would be in contact with me.

Sixteenth Contact: May 3, 2005 ** called me and said that I will need to come back into the store for the credit and that the manager can deliver the loaner crib tomorrow and wanted to know what time was good for me. I said I planned on coming into the store to revoke my registry tonight so I can get the refund then.

We then talked about the delivery of the loaner crib and I stated that I had an appt. in the morning at 9:45 AM and Tony said it could be anytime in the afternoon and I just said name a time I can be there. Tony said that I could also get it if I wanted tonight when I go to the store. I said that is fine I asked if there would be someone there to load it into my car and he said yes.

Seventeenth Contact: May 3, 2005 I arrived at the Dublin store and there was nobody in the Baby Depot department so my mother and I walked up to the service desk and asked for the manager on duty. They called a gentleman named ** who came to the front and asked us to pull our car around so they could load the crib. I told ** that I wanted my baby registry deleted, he said okay we will do that. ** then went outside and got another man who was smoking out front to help with the 30% refund. I did not get this persons name. He went behind the counter, got out some paper work and asked me to sign a receipt in order to get the refund.

Before signing I asked the amount which was around $64.00. I immediately questioned the refund amount as I had pre-calculated the amount I should have received before entering the store. He tried to state that I only paid $209.99 for the crib. I paid a sale price of $269.99, which with tax should be $86.46. He said that this was what was in the email from Tony and that was all he was allowed to offer.

I said forget it I will contact Dave back in the morning and started to raise my voice so that all customers in the front new my situation and said I still expect the loaner crib and I do not accept the refund. Another person came and loaded the loaner crib and off I went with another trip wasted.

Eighteenth Contact: May 4, 2005 I called ** extension, as I am tired of dealing with incompetent people. I spoke to ** his assistant who advised that I need to speak with **. I then got ** assistant who was very nice and informative. FINALLY a person who understood the situation and she asked me to send all information via email. Please note that I checked online today and my name has not been removed from the registry! We will see how the saga pans out!

Replies
Advertisement
Avoid!!! They Do Not Believe in Customer Service Whatsoever!
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

KIRKWOOD, MISSOURI -- Wanted to make a somewhat large PURCHASE from them. Kirkwood store manager was rude and unwilling to help. They act like they don't want to make any sales? Why are they in business then? I'm very confused by their attitude.

I went to another one of their stores and explained the situation to another manager. Within a few minutes, she was on it and made the sale. It was simple. Not hard. I let the main office know the situation... that the Kirkwood store did a horrible job, but the other store did a great job. Even the main office never responded to my e-mails. This company does not believe in Customer Service, and evidently does not believe in rewarding their good employees. Avoid at all costs. **Give your time and money to a company that cares about their customers!!!

Replies
I Purchased Bad Merchandise and Could Not Return It With a Receipt.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARIETTA, GEORGIA -- I purchased $100 of merchandise from BCF, which one item was a sweater for $19.99. I wore it about 3 or 4 times, and it began to bead up a lot. $20 is a lot of money, to pay for something and you wear it a couple of times and it looks like you have had it for ages.

I took the sweater back before my receipt expired and I could not even get a store credit. That's really bad, and the manager was very rude. I will never again shop at this store, ever again. Take your money to Kohl's or Ross, I know you will get good quality merchandise. At least you can exchange it if it tears up.

Replies
Cannot return the item which is worn once
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FREMONT, CALIFORNIA -- I got an expensive dress for my daughter, she wore it just once and it has the small yarn bubbles everywhere. When I tried to return it with the receipt next day, they said it is worn.. I asked is this the dress worth the money I put? The guy was very rude and said he cannot take it.. After few days my husband went to return it without the receipt. They took it back and gave half of the money I paid for it, saying that the current rate of the dress is that much... They just try to rob you when they get a chance. I stopped visiting Burlington.. Target, Walmart, Kohls are much better.

Replies
Consumers Beware - Debit Card Purchase Double Charged
By -

HUNTSVILLE, ALABAMA -- On Dec 20, 2011 I made a purchase of 50.72 at Burlington coat Factory and my debit card transaction was "supposedly" not being accepted even after I had entered my pin. The cashier tried the transaction again, and still the same results. She then got the manager and same results. She asked that I now (4th attempt) to try selecting credit card vice debit and the transaction went through. I asked if the charge might have been made and was told that it had NOT because no receipt printed.

Today, I called my credit card company and sure enough, I was charged TWICE (SO FAR) for that purchase. Now I am thinking back on the many times that I have had similar experiences and might have been charged twice. Consumers Beware. I have not YET returned to Burlington to take care of this issue, but intend to soonest.

Replies
Advertisement
An Absolutely WONDERFUL Experience!!!
By -

STURTEVANT, WISCONSIN -- If you are looking for a motorhome, travel trailer, tent trailer - or any RV, definitely give Burlington RV a look. From the first time we set foot in the dealership, looking through the lot, making the deal, to the delivery of the motor home we purchased and beyond, we have been treated with the utmost respect and kindness. Jim ** was the salesman who took us through the whole process and was, and still is, extremely pleasant to talk to and deal with.

We continue to go to the dealership for RV supplies/parts and the people there go out of their way to help and are always so kind and respectful. You can tell the people there really care about their customers. They have a HUGE selection of all types of RV's in everyone's price range and their parts and supplies department has reasonable prices and a wide variety of products.

It has been almost 2-1/2 years since we purchased our RV from Burlington RV and when we made the purchase, the AC was not working. Jim promised that they would take care of it/make the repair. We waited almost a year after we made the purchase to take it to the shop for the repair and even a year later, Jim was there to help us out. I HIGHLY recommend Burlington RV. They are in no way like the typical auto/rv dealership. Extremely nice people and you can tell they really enjoy where they work - it shows in the way they treat their customers.

Replies
You Are A Rude Cashier!
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I just had the most horrible experience at the Burlington Coat Factory on 23rd St and 6th Ave in NYC. I was waiting in line to be checked out. There was only one cashier for a while and then another came on. After about 10 mins, the new cashier must have called me, but I didn't hear her, because the other cashier said "What did you fall asleep? Next customer!" I was a little annoyed by this but ignored her and went to the open cashier.

While being rung up by a nice cashier, the heard the other one say "Jesus Christ... Actin' like I'm going to take the card. Where am I going to run to?" to the woman she was checking out. Then, she stated it again when the woman apologized. I was about 6 stations down and heard the cashier's rant clearly. I could not believe what I heard. To be that rude, taking the Lord's name in vain, AND repeating it again. WOW - she has nerve. After I was done, I walked down and looked at her name tag. It said **.

Well, [she] obviously hates her job and should not be in customer service. I'm in the hospitality industry and if any of my associates said even half that, they would be terminated on the spot! I know plenty of people who are out of work that would love to have her job... and would smile while doing it.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Burlington Coat Factory Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 19 ratings and
45 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Burlington Coat Factory
1830 Route 130
Burlington, NJ 08016
609-387-7800 (ph)
www.burlingtoncoatfactory.com
Product/Services
Compare Clothing Stores