Capital One - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 49 ratings and
179 reviews & complaints.


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Beware of their scam...
Posted by on
I had a "no fee" card from Capital One, which to me (and any other consumer I would think...)means that there is no annual fee to carry their card. I contacted Capital One for a payoff balance and was given the amount. I informed them that I would be paying off the account and to cancel the account immediately. I was advised to put that in writing when I paid off the account and I did so. Next I get a statement in the mail from Capital One showing my payment in full and a new charge of an "annual fee" ($25) added to the account. Mind you, I had a "no fee" card and had already notified them both IN WRITING and verbally that I wished the account to be closed. I contacted customer service regarding this charge and was told that it was a "mistake" on their part and that the account was indeed closed. I was told to "ignore" the charge. The next month I received another statement from Capital One - still showing the "annual fee" charge PLUS a LATE FEE of $25. By now, I am getting a little steamed - this is really poor customer service!! Again, I contacted customer service and was told that I did owe the "annual fee" as well as the late charge. I informed the person on the other end that I had cancelled the account 2 months ago and had a copy of the letter to prove it (thank goodness I keep these things). I was asked to fax it to Capital One which I immediately did. The next month I received still another statement - yep - you guessed it: still another late fee on top of it all. Fast forward a few months - (with me calling AND faxing after each statement and getting the usual run around) and the account - which was paid off and closed - is upward of $250.00. Capital One then proceeded to turn me over to collections. I got a call from a collection agency - and the woman was most friendly. I went through the entire story with her and she asked that I mail her all my paperwork - and she would get back with me. I did so and about 2 months later, she called me. She had reviewed my paperwork and said I was definitely in the right and also mentioned that she "had seen Capital One do this to other customers." (whoo-hoo - vindicated!!) She said she would see what she could do and get back with me soon. I waited 3 more weeks and when I didn't hear from her, I tried to call her myself. I was informed that that particular person was "no longer working on my account" and someone else had taken over. I couldn't believe it - I was going to have to start all over again!!!! However, I never did get another call from a collection agency - I DID get another statement from Capital One - WITH A ZERO BALANCE!! What happened - I don't know but as long as the account was cleared, I was glad. This whole incident took almost a year to clear up - and it wasn't even my doing. I will NEVER EVER do business with Capital One again and I have told everyone I know about this incident to let them know that Capital One tries to scam people. PS - I recently got a solicitation from Capital One (can you believe the nerve??)credit card - which I promptly sent right back to them in their very own postage paid envelope, mind you - telling them I would NEVER EVER do business with their company and to remove me from all of their mailing lists. Knowing Capital One, they will probably ignore my request...

     
Replies
Credit Rating & non-notification of judgment attained
Posted by on
RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- . Dear Consumers,

This letter is to inform you of the back-door actions of Capital One Financial Services. I will start with the background of the story.
With the bills mounting, I sought the help of a consumer credit counseling agency. With six revolving accounts, they helped out a lot. I started the plan in December of 2001, and have made every payment early. It worked great, the letters stopped arriving, no more phone calls at dinner time, and the financial companies were sending receipts for payments made including Capital One. In fact, I received a letter, which was a receipt, from Capital One dated March 4th 2002, stating that they received my payment on February 28th and attached a payment coupon for the next month’s payment. Then, on April 3rd 2002, I received another letter dated March 25th 2002, that Capital One has obtained a judgment against me in Richmond General District Court for the amount owed. Not once was I notified that they were taking me to court, nor did I receive a summons from the court requesting my presence for a case against me.
I contacted the counseling agency, who after a day’s research, stated that there was nothing they could do, so I turned directly to Capital One. I finally reached the recovery specialist assigned to my account, who will remain as M. Baker, and she stated that they were prepared to offer a settlement or I would face garnishment. The settlement offer was for $750.00, out of a $1036.00 balance. After further discussion, she advised that she could set-up an installment plan as to which I would be required to pay approximately $330.00 per month, for the next three months. She gave me until April 15th to make a decision. After arranging to make the $750.00 payment, through the aid of my family, I contacted M. Baker to advise her that I would be able to make the settlement. At that time I asked how it would be reported to the Credit Bureaus. She stated that it would show as settled, but still at the current R9 rating.
After considering the situation, I have contacted my attorney, in an attempt to correct my credit bureau standings. I am not, in any way, disputing the amount owed, but the rating reflected. I know that financial institutions have the ability to “amend” credit ratings as they see fit, and this is my purpose for this letter. I am requesting my attorney to seek at a minimum, an R5 credit rating, so that my credit rating will not be hankered by this wrongdoing for the next seven years. I am hoping that no one else will be lured into the trap that Capital One sets for it’s customers.
There are many avenues out there that they used to manipulate their customers and even though I am not at liberty to discuss them because I am a previous employee, but here’s how you can gauge your “worthiness” to your credit card company. Call them and request to close your account. If they don’t make an offer to keep your account, i.e. lowering interest rates, yearly fee, etc., then they don’t think very highly of you. I can guarantee that if you recently opened an account and you call with a request to close it, 9 times out of 10, they will not make any offers to keep you as a customer.
If you have any advice, comments, or concerns, please feel free to e-mail me at any time at the e-mail address stated below.

mailto:scrtdrvr@peoplepc.com

To help keep me as a potential future customer, I would like the following:

Restore the credit rating on this account to a 5 rating, and cease and desist on all contact, with exception of proof in writing that the adjustments have been made to both my credit report and Elaina McGraw's (secondary cardholder) as well, in return for full settlement payment by the 30th of April 2002, as you requested.

At the very least I would like a response from your company regarding this incident. Thank you for your time.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Fraud Going On Within Capital One??
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
RICHMOND, OHIO -- I received a phone call from Capital one, asking if I had applied for a credit card- I told them "No"- They informed me that someone HAD applied for a card, using MY information and they suspected that it was fraud- thus the call. They gave me the phone numbers of three credit reporting agencies to call- telling me to inform them that someone had applied for a credit card, fraudulently, in my name. They explained that this COULD hurt my credit. They then assured me that they would take care of the matter and no card would be sent to me.

Today, I received a letter for Capital One congratulating me on becoming a Capital One Credit card member with a $5,000 credit line- my card will arrive in a week or so. They gave a number that I could call- NO reference number- nothing.
When I called (and I was on the phone for close to an hour and a half) ALL they wanted was my social security number!! Saying THAT was the ONLY way they could look up the card. Of course they had my name, phone number and address- but just HAD to have my social security number?? Certainly I didn't give it to them- I think they are crooks.

My husband DOES have a Capital One credit card and has had for years- After all this today, he cancelled his card. Also- we could barely understand ANYONE we talked to- Do they NOT hire Americans anymore??
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible Company
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
VIRGINIA -- Once again I am on hold with Capital One. This time I am at 31 minutes and counting. I changed insurance companies 3 months ago, but they won't reevaluate my escrow to lower my payments. I have had only bad experiences with Capital One. When I needed help making my payments during the financial crisis, they asked me if making a higher payment would help me out. When I tried to make up the difference by being on a payment plan, the took 10 days to process my final payment that they required me to send by mail. Then they accessed $1200.00 in late fees. Horrible, predatory company. Please don't do business with them. They are very large and once they have you, they will take advantage of you at every turn.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Account "In Restriction"
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
DENVER, COLORADO -- I received a Capital One cc and all was well for years with them. I paid more than my minimum balance due, causing my credit limit to rise. In 2012, I was laid off and for 2 years, still managed to pay at the very least my minimum payment. Then, in 2014 for 3 months, I couldn't pay anything as my unemployment ran out and I wasn't working any temp jobs. When I began working again in july 2014 I began to pay my bill down by paying $50.00 twice a month. Finally, in October of 2014, I called "customer service" to ask when the restriction would be removed. Since the representative didn't know she had to get her supervisor who told me it was permanent and all I could do was close the account and apply for another one with them!!! When I asked them why they did not contact me to tell me so, he stated "we just don't do that". Do not use capital one, they are the most useless overcharging, ignorant scam artists I have ever dealt with!!!!!!!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible Bad Frustrating.
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
TUCSON, ARIZONA --
I have 2 other Capital One accounts that are in fine working order, I applied for another to help with Christmas costs, and just got done with about 12 rounds of chemo and bone grafting, I live alone and have no one to help me get around or even to the toilet. [Capital One locked] the card the first time I try to use it. I call them, they ask me security question I answer, and explain the need for the transaction, SHE TELLS ME that it is perfectly fine to use it now and restriction is removed and to go ahead and use my card.... Second time I try it does same thing, I call them and now they need me to fax this and that blah blah blah and I am like sir, I can barely get to the bathroom and they are about to cancel my electric, like I need this card for some help, and trust me I can say with 100% certainty that they don't give a [snip] about their customers!!!
     
Replies
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
I have had an account with Chevy Chase/Capital One for over 10yrs. I have never had an overdraft until a few weeks ago. I was charged $35 for the overdraft. I spoke to someone at the bank and was given back half but that wasn't good enough so I called customer service and was told I would not be able to receive the full amount back. I will be closing my account tomorrow, also you need to keep a minimum of $300 for free checking which I usually do. I used some of that money but replaced it 3 days later and was charged the $8.95 and that's why my account over drafted. They obviously aren't worried about keeping customers!!!
     
Replies
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty Star
After 15 Years of Banking With Capital One, I Paid Off My Card & They Lowered My Available Credit Line
Posted by on
Rating: 3/51
RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- I've had a Capital One credit card since at least the mid-90s with at least $5500 credit limit (raised over time to about $7000.) I've run it up & paid it off several times. Capital One has also been my primary bank, where I have 2 checking accounts, for the last couple of years. I recently borrowed some money & paid the card off because the interest rate was much higher than my other cards. No sooner than I had done so than my credit limit was reduced to $500, even though I'm making much more & owe less unsecured debt than when I first got the card. Calls resulted in no satisfaction, just the reading of trite vague "codes" & "gobbledygook" with little meaning. I'd like to give Capital One a chance to reconsider or "level with me."

Absent that, I plan to exit the Capital One system for life in favor of my credit union & encourage anyone else who's had a similar experience with Capital One cards to join me.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Capital One Changed My 7.9% Fixed Rate CC to Variable 17.9%
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
On 7/5/13 I called Capital One to explore if I could reduce my 7.9% fixed interest rate credit card only to learn my Capital One credit card interest rate had been changed to a variable interest rate of 17.9% without my consent. I have held my Capital One credit card since 2003 and have great credit.

When I asked why I had never been notified, and that I never consented to a change in terms, I was told Capital One "mailed" me a letter notifying me of the change. When I shared I never received this information, Alex (the account supervisor) stated Capital One reserves the right at any time to modify the terms of a written contract.

I am very concerned with this arbitrary practice and have decided to no longer use my Capital One credit card. While I do not like posting negative comments online, I do believe it necessary to educate others so they are fully aware of organizational practices prior to signing contracts.

If you have a Capital One credit card, please call customer service and inquire about your current interest rate. If you too have had your interest rate modified without your consent, discontinue using the card immediately. Do not cancel the card as it may negatively impact your credit history depending on how long you have held the card. Given the length of my history with the card, I cannot cancel the card, but Capital One will no longer receive my business through my use of the card.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Avoid Capital One and Affiliates at All Costs
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
COLUMBUS, OHIO -- After being charged outrageous interest for an extended period, and despite many calls and letters to to GM card (formerly HSBC - Now Capital One) I have not been unable to speak with anyone who actually seems like a human being. It almost seems the customers service agents are "numb" to dealing with irate customers, which is a really bad sign. I was never late, never missed a payment, they just arbitrarily decided to raise my interest rate to 29.9% and bury the opt out notice in fine print on the back of one of the last pages of a monthly statement. So now I'm trying to pay this off completely and they won't even give me a straight answer as to the amount so they can keep me "on the hook" and charge more fees. They've closed my account and lowered the credit limit to within a few dollars what was owed so any interest automatically gets them an over limit fee.

Note they also "trolled" their system and found a Best Buy card I had and cut the credit line by 85%. So I called to pay that one off too - same evasive methods.

Unscrupulous, unethical, and evasive. Any consumer should avoid them at all costs.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >