Captain D's

1 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Not another tartar sauce review?
Posted on
FARMINGTON, NEW MEXICO -- My wife and I decided to eat at Captain D's for lunch. I hadn't eaten there but once before, and it was so many years ago, I couldn't quite remember too much about the visit. As soon as we received our food...I was instantly reminded of why I prefer Long John Silver's when trying to sate my appetite for chicken planks and hush puppies.

I ordered the chicken combo plate, and my wife ordered the fish plate. Her fish was soggy and greasy. As for my plate, well, Captain D's prepares their chicken planks more along the lines of Church's Chicken, as opposed to Long John Silver's. Which is okay if I was in the mood for a bucket of chicken, biscuits, and mashed potatoes & gravy. But that wasn't what I came for. The hushpuppies had some sort of coleslaw or chopped onion in the batter. Again, not my cup of tea.

The finishing touches towards ensuring we shall NEVER dine there again, was the tartar sauce, if you could call it that. It resembled something more of a whipped mayonnaise. Not even remotely close to tartar sauce. After being told that is just the way they make it, I was forced to drown everything in ketchup.

The fries were actually surprisingly good. But that alone, isn't enough to stand on one leg and entice my continued patronage.
     
Read 18 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 06/12/2011:
Tartar sauce is where I draw the line.
Anonymous on 06/12/2011:
Ever make your own tartar sauce?
madconsumer on 06/12/2011:
I like Captain D's when am in that kind of mood. I try not eating there more than 2 times a year. I find their foods greasy.
Anonymous on 06/12/2011:
No. But if I did, I would try and emulate Long John Silver's recipe.
Anonymous on 06/12/2011:
Here's LJS recipe DIRM
http://www.docstoc.com/docs/11314472/Long-John-Silvers-Tartar-Sauce---RECIPE
Nohandle on 06/12/2011:
I love tarter sauce and would you believe I found 4 recipes last week on line. When I was growing up ours always had capers and that was about all I remembered other than the mayonnaise, so I just looked for those recipes with capers included.

It is delicious with fresh fried shrimp, not that frozen pre-breaded excuse for shrimp. Strange I could remember how to coat and fry the shrimp but still don't have a real clue about the tartar sauce. I should have paid more attention.
Mrs. V on 06/12/2011:
As odd as it sounds, I kind of like McDs tartar sauce the best.
Anonymous on 06/12/2011:
I like the tartar sauce especially on the bigmac.
Anonymous on 06/12/2011:
That's "special sauce". As in two all-beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions on a sesame seed bun.
Nohandle on 06/12/2011:
I thought the special sauce on McDonalds was a variation of Thousand Island Dressing. What do I know, but I always liked it. I don't have much FF anymore. It doesn't agree with my system but was good while it lasted.
trmn8r on 06/12/2011:
I had Captain D's back around 1997. I may develop a hankering in another 14 years, but as of the moment the mood hasn't struck me. This review doesn't lead me to think I've mistakenly left it off my "to-do" list.
Anonymous on 06/12/2011:
I also really enjoy the Thousand Island secret sauce on the Big Mac's. Mmmmmmmm:)
Anonymous on 06/12/2011:
My mistake. I'm not sure why I thought it was tartar sauce. My apologies
Anonymous on 06/12/2011:
Apology accepted with prejudice.
Anonymous on 06/12/2011:
Ashley> Probably because the texture and consistency is very similar between the two.
Anonymous on 06/12/2011:
Thanks pirate, for excepting my apology.
Anonymous on 06/12/2011:
You're almost welcome Eileen.
Alain on 06/12/2011:
I'm not a fish fan, but if their hush puppies weren't excellent, I'm not going there. And the description here was not for top of the line hush puppies. Good review!
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >