Preview Review

Next Review

Care Credit Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Care Credit, GE Money
By -

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- I to have had issues with Care Credit (GE Money). This is my second time with Care Credit & they have not changed their business practices at all. My payment is due on the 22th of the month. I just received my bill for March on April 3, 2010. April 5,2010, I receive a nasty call from one of their people, who doesn't speak English, demanding payment over the phone.

I explained to her when I received the bill. They are very good at not sending out statements on time & then contacting you, getting nasty. BY THE WAY, CARE CREDIT (GENERAL ELECTRIC) CONTRACTS ALL THEIR JOBS TO PEOPLE IN INDIA. How many families has General Electric caused to lose their jobs & homes to people in India????

Replies
Advertisement
They Won't Even Kiss You
By -

When one of our service dogs broke his leg, the vet's office staff introduced us to Care Credit, which at the time seemed like a life saver to us. We found out later that Care Credit is part of GE Money Bank, as is the WalMart credit card. GE Money Bank charges as much as an amazing 51%.

Yes, that's FIFTY-ONE PER CENT! After obtaining a loan from our credit union to pay off Care Credit's usurious interest, and the manager of our branch contacted GE Money Bank for the pay off. After Care Credit was paid off, we got a notice there was $60 still due. The wife sent the final payment this morning. Not only do they not kiss you, they don't use Vaseline, either. Vets are now refusing to accept Care Credit any longer.

Replies
Shabby Treatment Of Seniors
By -

This is just to let all around know how awful the treatment of our elderly is. They were pushed to take out this card to pay for treatment that was important for their wellness. But seniors don't always understand how things are. I was alarmed when I saw a charge on my Mothers card statement of $159.00 finance charges. Then late fees of 39.00 had been added two different times. I called to ask about them and was informed, the bill had to be paid within a certain amount of time or the finance charge was added. I asked if they would undo this since she did not know and had taken a fall and broken a collar bone. Answer--no way.

It was on the contract and they couldn't change it. Asked them to remove the late fee since she had been hospitalized and couldn't help being late by one day. They would one but not the other. I then got another card and paid off this card because I don't want her doing business with people who have no honor in them or their business. We just received another bill for an added late fee.

They claim that the payoff did not reach them on time. I was assured it would. So called again and asked them to remove it since she owed them no money and the payoff was dated for the due date. Answer no way-took one off and can do no more. Anything else-and the brat hung up on me. What an excellent way to do business. If you owe these people money, pay them off as quick as you can, they will bleed you for every nickel they can get. How pathetic.

Replies
Beware of Care Credit
By -

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- Please be advised that Care Credit/GE Money Bank is the absolute worst in customer service & allocations of payments. I have 2 outstanding loans with the above therefore I must call in every month and reallocate my funds to move between the 2 accounts. Each and every month I receive my statement the outstanding balances NEVER reflect the actual amount of payments I have paid. In addition each and every month I am forced to spend at least an hour on the phone trying to fix their mistakes.

As I sit on hold at this very moment, this is my 3rd call today. Both "service" reps that I have spoken with have failed to help me. One even put me on hold and never returned. Once when I was lucky enough to get a supervisor on the phone to help me, she took it a step further and said that I could contact her each month for my reallocations, only to find out that they cannot transfer calls to anyone in any dept.

I was promised a call back from her and after waiting, I called back in and was told the employees are not allowed to make outgoing calls. This company is trying to say that $400.00 of my money cannot be accounted for. I am filing a complaint with the BBB and as soon as I can hopefully get somebody to properly adjust my balances, I am doing a balance transfer to get this horrible company gone from my life forever. Even if tempted... DO NOT open an account with this company. You will regret it greatly! I certainly do!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Legal references for CareCredit fraud-fight back!
By -

MASON, OHIO -- To Whom It May Concern: The purpose of this letter is to file a formal notification of complaint alleging numerous violations of the Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 U.S.C. 1601) on the part of CareCredit, in that CareCredit, aka GE Capital Cons Cardco aka GE Capital Consumer Card Company.

GE Capital Consumer Card Co. is a "creditor" by definition of 15 U.S.C. 1601-§103-f (Consumer Credit Protection Act) and therefore falls under the federal jurisdiction of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC). GE Capital Consumer Card Co. has knowingly and illegally: Made a promotional offer of "interest-free" or "deferred interest" which, by its actions as enumerated below, it had or has no intentions of fulfilling, said offer falling within the definition of Section 226.2 of CCPA.

Levied late fees and finance charges when payments were actually received - and deducted from my bank account - PRIOR to the due date. Charged illegal and exorbitant "account security" fees without any form of legal disclosure or explanation as to what those charges may be, constituting a "surcharge" under sections 103 and section 167 of the Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 U.S.C. 1601), hereinafter referred to as CCPA.

Has instituted retroactive "terms and conditions" without proper notification, in violation of § 226.7 of the CCPA. Has provided such "terms and conditions" in a format that appears to be a third- or fourth-generation unreadable photocopy consisting of print so small and faded as to be illegible, in violation of § 226.5.

Has made it virtually impossible for customers (clients) to contact them in a timely manner by failing and/or refusing to answer telephone calls for periods of up to 7.5 hours (by placing the customer on hold for such lengths of time) and by failing and/or refusing to provide any means on its web site of contacting CareCredit by email or any other means than an unanswered telephone line. Has acted to quash any meaningful payment inquiries by refusing to provide requested information to the bank upon which payments were drawn, in addition to failing to provide telephone-answering staff as alleged above.

DETAILS: Application for the above-referenced account was made under a "promotional offer" (Exhibit A - promotional offer), which provided for no interest if the account was paid in full within 48 months. This agreement was for the issuance of a "medical credit card" issued by GE Capital Consumer Card Co, 5300 Kings Island Drive, Mason, OH 45050, to cover dental (oral surgery) expenses in excess of that which were to be paid by the payee's dental insurance. The debt agreed upon was to be $1,500.00.

The first payment was due September 4, 2004 (Exhibit B - statement of payment due). Payment was received via electronic funds transfer on September 2, 3004 and was deducted from the payee's bank account prior to 2 pm the following business day, September 3, 2004 (Exhibit C - email from USBank, formerly and aka Firstar Bank). The minimum payment on the above account is $45 per month.

The defendant states that "payment is due by 5 pm on the due date" to "avoid additional finance charges." Payment was received and cleared well before that time. Electronic funds transfer payments through USBank is guaranteed to arrive on the date specificied. This form of payment was chosen specifically to ensure timely receipt of payment, since US Postal Service delivery to and from payee's address is often very unreliable. In four years, I have had no problem with electronic funds transfers reaching their destination late.

The payee then received on Sept. 13, 2004 a "late notice" (which bore no postmark and was, in fact, bulk mailed - Exhibits D-1 and D-2 - envelope and late payment notice) claiming that no payment had been received, when in fact, it had. In addition, the payee was informed that a late fee of $35.00 and an "account security fee" of $23.25 had been charged additionally.

In a document received Sept. 13, 2004, after the contract was entered into, labelled "Account Security Debt Cancellation Agreement" (Exhibit E), there is no mention whatsoever of any "account security fee". Payee contends that this "account security fee" constitutes a hidden and therefore unlawful interest or finance charge, in violation of federal law.

On that date, Sept. 13, 2004, payee attempted to call the phone number provided (1-800-333-1071) and was informed by a voice recording that "due to a high volume of calls" there would be "a lengthy wait time". Payee kept the line open and was on hold for 3 hours 47 minutes before finally giving up, unable to speak to single human being during that time. Additionally, the payee contacted the bank (Exhibit F - email) to notify them of the allegation by GE Capital Cons Cardo that no payment had been received, even though existing bank records clearly documented otherwise.

USBank aka Firstar Bank responded to the payee on Sept. 14. 2004 (Exhibit G - email) that it was investigating the matter, then followed up with another communication - also Sept. 14, 2004 (Exhibit H - email) that "GE Capital Cons Cardco will not discuss customer accounts with third parties" and suggested that the payee call 1-800-333-1071 - the same phone number which GE Capital Cons Cardo will not answer. An additional payment of $55.00 was made by the payee and received September 17, 2004 and deducted from the payee's bank account on Sept. 18, 2004 for the payment of $45.00 due October 4, 2004.

No statement was received for a November payment, due Nov. 4, 2004; however electronic payment was made and received Sept. 29, 2004 in the amount of $100.00 (Exhibit I - details of USBank transaction printout), even though the payment due was $45.00. For the December payment, due Dec. 4, 2004, an electronic funds transfer in the amount of $100.00 was scheduled to be received Nov. 18, 2004, though the amount due was $45.00.

On November 12, 2004, payee received a statement from GE Capital Cons Cardco (Exhibit G - statement) claiming no payment was received for October and that a late fee of $35.00 had been assessed, as well as a "finance charge" of $106.64 and an "account security fee" of $22.38. The payee was also informed that the "promotional offer" had expired on an unstated expiration date, in violation of the agreement made and the promotional offer (Exhibit A).

Also on November 12, 2004, the payee again attempted to call both toll-free numbers provided and was informed by a recorded message that "due to a large volume of calls" there would be a "long wait time." After 2 hours and 17 minutes, the payee again gave up, and on November 13, 2004, sent this document with a certified letter to the defendant.

In summary, payee has so far paid $400 on a $1,500.00 debt and is informed the balance is $1,563.13. All payments have been made and received before the due date. The payee asks for full restitution of the unlawful and exorbitant fees in the amount of $463.13 charged by GE Capital Cons Cardco, as well as all attorney fees and costs pursuant to this matter, and for full reinstatement of the "promotional offer" terms which were, and are, part and parcel of the agreement between the payee and GE Capital Cons Cardco.

The payee hereby notifies you, under the requirements of the Consumer Credit Protection Act. [15 U.S.C. 1601], that the aforesaid charges of $463.13 are contested for the reasons outlined above and that no such charges will be paid in the future. Payments will be made to repay the original amount of $1500, as contracted, in the time length necessary to avoid interest fees, per your "promotional offer." It is my intent to file legal action - as a class action suit if possible - and to seek full restitution and double damages as provided for in the Consumer Credit Protection Act. [15 U.S.C. 1601].

Replies
Applying for Care Credit "What A Hassle" for Dental Work, Applying For Care Credit For Pets "Easy as 1-2-3" ????
By -

NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE -- Well okay I am 25 years old female with 2 toddlers 4 and 3 years old, and fiancee who is 29. I myself have no dental insurance what so ever and have always taken care care of my teeth... then I find out 2 in 2009 I have 7 abscessed teeth and was in the bed for over 4 months because NOT ONE dentist would work with me on payments and I was denied by Care Credit...

I don't have the best credit but I have never had 1 credit card in my life. And the only way I finally got help is because my family had to apply in there name and then I had to have 2 signers on the card... I could have died from this abscessed teeth. NO JOKE IT WILL KILL YOU IF IT GETS IN YOUR BLOOD STREAM. BUT THE COMPANY DON'T CARE???? WHY???

OKAY ALSO in 2008 my dog was run over and we rushed her to vet and was going over the pro and cons of what to do and there was hope for 1yr old boxer baby at first, until they found out we was denied CARE CREDIT AND THEY LOOKED AT US AND SAID "SORRY WOULD YOU LIKE TO WATCH OR GO AHEAD AND SAY YOUR GOODBYES WITH A SHOT IN THE HAND TO PUT HER TO SLEEP..."

This was as soon as they came in the room to tell us we wasn't approves... COME ON... WHAT HAS THIS WORLD COME TO!! THEN I READ WHERE A MAN WHO JUST SERVED 5 YEARS IN PENITENTIARY GOT APPROVED FOR CARE CREDIT WITH NO JOB OR ANYTHING??? I DON'T GET IT!

Replies
Maybe people should pay their bills?
By -

I read all these complaints about Care Credit and they all seem to have one thing in common. The people complaining don't seem to want to pay their bills! I have used Care Credit for may things from doctors to hospitals to veterinarians. I have never had an issue at all with them. I recently let my son use my card to pay a hospital bill. He was 3 days late on one payment and was charged a late fee.

I called them and explained everything to them and that I was allowing my son to pay it and they refunded the late fee to him. He then paid it off without incident. They are one of the easiest to deal with that I have ever used. I guess my advice to avoid problems is to PAY YOUR BILLS!

Replies
Outrageous APR!!!!! 87+% Unbelievable!!!!!!
By -

ORLANDO FLORIDA -- These credit cards are offered and often recommended by dental offices and doctor's offices. That DOES NOT make them safe!!! I hope that any legitimate physician who cares about their business and patients immediately remove any of their propaganda from their waiting areas!!! They are even ENDORSED by all of these companies!!! http://www.carecredit.com/endorsements.html

I took one out when my endodontist recommended it b/c it was interest free for so many months. Indeed, yes, it was. Then I checked my bill. Here is what it said... If the balance is not paid within the promotional period your APR will default to the percentage on page 3... (go to page 3) APR... 87%!!!!!!!!!!!! Buyer beware... Buyer be AWARE!!!!

Let's just say it WILL be paid off before that happens, but if I had not checked that page 3 info, or if I had continued to simply make the 'recommended payment' (a payment that WILL NOT have you paid off by the end of the promotional period) via the website, I would not have known. It was just luck that I checked that paper bill this month. I would have had to pay 87% on $311. That gets mighty huge, mighty fast. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE use wisely!!!!!

I want everyone to highlight their interest rate and have all endorsing medical practices drop their endorsement. Hopefully less people will be taking out credit cards in the future. To me, the only thing that will save the credit card companies IS govt intervention. Unless I know that everyone is following the SAME rules in the credit industry I have no reason to trust any of them, and neither do you. Of course, we shouldn't be trusting everyone now should we? A simple cap would be nice. 87%!?!?! Yeesh!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Service!
By -

I have had CareCredit for years and we have always paid more than the minimum amount. Sometime we would pay two or three different payments in a month and thought we were paying it off. Come to find out that due to their HUGE APR (50%) we were not paying down the balance at all, but just the finance charges!

At the end of the year we were looking at our statement and began to wonder why our balance wasn't going down. I called them and was informed my account was closed due to "continuous late payments". I proceeded to tell them that we paid multiple times per month so we were early and not late. We were informed that if ANY payment is past the due date (regardless of how many you may have made the month before) it is considered late and your account can be closed for that. So now it's a matter of getting the money together to pay this off and get rid of it once and for all. GE has most definitely left a bad taste in my mouth after this experience.

Replies
Complaint
By -

We thought we were making advance payments on out account. During the last 12 mos, we paid in $5000. More than the min amount due. Sometimes we would send in a payment 3 or 4 days after due date but paying so much in advance we did not feel we were late. Care Credit charged us $159802.00 in finance & $200 in late charge because we "FAILED TO PAY THE MINIMUM AMOUNT WHEN DUE". Please do not take advantage of their interest free plan. They will find some way to charge you the interest. I think they are a bunch of crooks!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Care Credit Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.8 out of 5, based on 6 ratings and
37 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Care Credit
Synchrony Financial, PO Box 960061
Orlando, FL 32896-0061
800-677-0718 (ph)
www.carecredit.com
Compare Banks