Preview Review

Next Review

Care Credit Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
To Care Credit Pets Are More Important Than The [Humans]
By -

CAPE CORAL, FLORIDA -- Hi, my name is **. 33yrs Male, Florida. I have worked since Age 14. Recently I needed a Root Canal. Cost: $1900. In this economy I just do not have it. All in all I need braces... badly & I've never had a cavity until I turned 30yrs old. Anyway, due to my financial status right now I could only afford to get the tooth pulled for $245. I am currently on unemployment and my fiancee works 2 jobs to keep it all together for now.

With her 3 kids and our 1 yr old girl together we're just making it. At the end of 2008 she applied for CARE CREDIT for the kids and was turned down. NOTE: She holds 2 JOBS & is a HOMEOWNER by Private Lender who doesn't report to credit agencies. I myself who has a better Credit Score than she does 662+... 700+ at other credit reporting agencies, was turned down by Care Credit. Therefore resulting in an extraction instead of a root canal saving my rear right bicuspid. YOU WILL NOT BELIEVE THIS!!!

What they don't know is... My fiancee is a Veterinarian Tech who deals with applying with CARE CREDIT on a regular basis. She told me, recently a man came into the Vet's Office with his dog who needed a $300 job done. My fiancee applied for CARE CREDIT for him there in the office and they gave him a $4000. Credit Limit.

THE REASON WHY SHE APPLIED FOR CARE CREDIT: The man stated to her that "He had no money what so ever." "Because he just got out of PRISON serving a 5 YEAR TERM & he didn't have a job at all?" I have credit. I pay my credit cards on time. I've NEVER been arrested for anything!! SO TELL ME... CARE CREDIT... HOW MUCH ARE YOU GETTING FROM THE GOVERNMENT FOR DELINQUENT ACCOUNTS.

FROM PEOPLE YOU KNOW WILL NEVER PAY 1 PAYMENT. I'm not one to point fingers but someone needs to investigate CARE CREDIT's FRAUDULENT ACTS against the American Taxpayer. BERNIE MADOFF WITH MY TEETH. This is one reason why America is in the hole we're in.. RIGHT NOW!

Replies
Advertisement
Complaint
By -

VIRGINIA -- I had Lasik surgery in October of 2006. I set up a financing plan through the doctors office with Care Credit (GE Money). The plan was set up for 48 months at 9.9% financing. In May of 2007 my husband had dental surgery in which I placed the balance of that surgery onto the Care Credit card. My husband's parent were going to pay the balance off immediately so I only set that plan up for 18 months, 0% interest.

In June of 2007 they sent in a payment for the exact amount of the surgery. Well, in December of 2008 I received my Care Credit that had $1,067 of additional finance charges tacked on. Apparently when my in-laws sent in the payment for the dental surgery Care Credit applied that to my Lasik surgery which ended the 48 month financing plan and switched over to 18, 0%.

Therefore, since I did not pay off the balance in 18 months the finance charges were accessed. I have been on the phone with Care Credit many times and they have refused to work with me. I have offered to pay the balance in full before the finance charges were accessed. They refused. If I had known they could allocate the payments wherever they please I would not have used the card to begin with for my husbands dental plan. I don't think that it is fair that I should have to pay over $1,000 worth of charges. Any advice would be helpful. Thank you.

***UPDATE*** I received a response from Care Credit/GE via the OTS (fair crediting organization) that they were refunding all of the finance charges that I had to pay ($1,067.67) because they should have never changed my finance plan to begin with because the medical facility never contacted them in writing to do so. The OTS contacted Care Credit/GE Money and I promptly received an appropriate response. Never give up when credit card companies are trying to hassle you.

Replies
Change in billing cycle without notice
By -

*UPDATE* I called again to day and informed the company that I had filed complaints with the MD and TX Attorney General's Offices, with the FTC, with the OFS and with online complaint websites. They moved my due day back to what it was before. Thank you all for your sugestions! Please be aware that CareCredit/GE Money Bank has changed their Billing Cycle from a 25 day cycle to a 23 day cycle.

This is a copy of the complaint sent to the Attorney Generals Office of Maryland and Texas: I have had this Credit Card for 11 months (1st payment made on 11/30/2007 and paid early every month since). The due date has always been on the 1st-3rd of the month (almost always the 2nd). My payments are $98.00 but I always pay $100.00 online. My last payment was on 09/19/2008 for the Oct. due date online. At that time it was stated that my next due date would be 10/02/2008.

I always check every bill I have 3 times a month on line to make sure the accounts are OK. When I checked today, 10/23/2008 it stated that my due date was now 10/30/2008. I called (called on 10/23/2008 @ 12:05pm)to ask why this was and was told that a form was sent out with the statements stating that the company was going from a 25 day cycle to a 23 day cycle and that I was informed via my mailed Sept. statement.

When I told the young lady that I don't get mailed statements, I have them emailed to me, she stated the there was a pop up on the site, too and it was to late to complain about it. I told her that there was no pop ups on the Account Page(I check the site 3 times a month). I also told her that his would mean that I would be making *2* payments for Oct. to which she stated, that she was sorry I was upset but that this is how it was now. This really doesn't seem right. If they can change the cycles so arbitrarily, what is to stop them from making it a 15 or 20 day cycle? From forcing us to pay them 2,3,4 times in a month to keep our credit from being damaged?

I requested that my billing cycle be returned to the 25 day billing cycle, that the 2nd Oct. payment be returned to my bank account OR that the payment be used for the next months payment. I don't really expect that anything will get done, but really wished to let others that use this CC know of the billing cycle change so that they aren't hit with a late fee and based interest rate.

Replies
Don't Use Care Credit To Finance Your Dental Work
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

UTAH -- This little 80 year old lady in Michigan used Care Credit for $8000 in dental work that she had to have done. Her monthly payments were about $141 each month and she paid Care Credit $300 per month and did not missed one payment and the term was for 24 months. The lady has eyesight issues and missed see that her term was for 24 months and at the end of the 24 months she was required to pay the balance of $1700 off. She kept paying the $300 a month thinking that she was paying off her loan ahead of schedule.

She called Care Credit because her monthly statement went for $1700 to $5,800 and they told her that she was being accessed a $5,038 interest fee because she didn't pay her balance within the 24 month time frame. She offered to pay the $1700 balance and Care credit refused to accept her offer and told her she was to pay the $5800.

The little 80 year old lady on a fixed income had to take the $5800 out of her savings to pay off Care Credit and stop the interest from building up. I know this because I do this ladies accounting. I wouldn't use Care Credit if they were the last company on earth. PERIOD! Beware!

Replies
Advertisement
Never Applied for Credit. How Could I When I Wasn't There?
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HENDERSON, NEVADA -- My son had a toothache. I was working so his mom took him. I am the insured policy holder. Apparently my insurance wasn't going to cover what needed to be done, but the work was completed but didn't really know the reason why it was until a few weeks down the road. When I received a bulk envelope. With the itemized services that now I owed through this credit card plan.

The amount of credit owed was $742.00. Reading the entirety of all that was enclosed, I was shocked that this plan of payments had everything on the negative side. The $742.00 was easy to pay off with little added on to the balance. That was only available to a consumer if the bill was satisfied within 3 months. If you needed to for longer than this, then you were actually penalized with extremely high interest and if late paying a hefty late fee.. Basically you could never get ahead of paying this bill off.

So knowing I didn't apply for this credit. How could I? I wasn't even there. His mom came home with no contract stating anything. In fact she came only with a palm size receipt. Stating service was rendered. I immediately contacted this company and after realizing. The only language the rep's were programmed to say was "You pay okay". I requested a copy of the signed credit line I apparently applied for. They said "no problem it would be mailed out the following day." I never received anything except invoice statements months after month. Never could they send this.

Then I was sent a payment payoff offer. The $742.00 original amount was now close to $1100.00. Their offer was $450.00. Unbelievable! I said I had no problem paying for my son's bill. But I still needed the contract paperwork. Then I would send the funds to them.

The next person I was contacted by was a law firm. These guys are more like the Mafia the names they call you. The numerous calls to my work home anytime of the day night. I said the same thing to them that I stated to the creditor. No payment until I get a copy of the contract that I applied, agreed and signed. I fear that my paycheck might be garnished. The attorney said if I paid a one time payment of $650.00 it would be satisfied in full. Then I get seek restitution to get my funds back. This is frustrating and unfair.

Company Response 07/18/2012:

** To expedite your case, please ensure to provide Reference code DM 071812_m3c_vegas715**

I'm sorry you're experiencing problems with your account. We'd like to help. Please email me at gecapitalcares@ge.com and provide your name and phone number so we can call you directly to assist.

For your security, please do not include your account number in your email.

Regards,
Nicole
GE Capital

Replies
CareCredit Is a Scam.
By -

LOUISVILLE, KENTUCKY -- Every month CareCredit seems to find one excuse after another to put a late charge of $29 or say the payment was reversed. I have ALWAYS had trouble with CareCredit. This last time the payment was due on the 22nd. On the 19th I paid much more than the minimum, which I ALWAYS do. It came out of my checking account on the 22nd but wasn't posted till the 23rd. Therefore, I was charged a $29 late fee. When I called to complain, Eric told me that he was sorry but they would go by the date it was posted and it was too bad, but there was nothing they would do about it. But they would report it to the credit bureau that I was 1 day late.

This has happened more than once. I now have an attorney that is writing them a letter. I have paid $352 and still have a balance of $461 on a $500 credit!! No matter when I make the payment they are rarely credited on time PLUS they say that there have been "Payment Reversals". I still can't figure out why. I have called my bank and they have no idea. I have ALWAYS had the money in the bank when the payments were made. The routing and account numbers have all been correct. I think CareCredit is a scam.

I was in the dental office a few months ago and a patient was looking at the CareCredit brochure. The office was full of patients. I told her what a scam they were and she would never get them paid off. She put the brochure back as well as did others. Anytime I see people thinking about it, I tell them all about CareCredit and none of it is positive. I have also complained to LA Weightloss about them.

Replies
Care Credit refused release the funds to our office
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KENSINGTON, MARYLAND -- My practice is a Target of an account review by CareCredit for over three months. CareCredit refused to disclose anything regarding the nature of the review, but has been withholding the funds from my practice since June 2013, affecting our cash flow. It's in the contract and CareCredit can/has the legal authority to do this, but this is an example of the predatory behavior so often practiced by insurance companies.

To make the matter worse, I was told by Carecredit yesterday (9/16/13) that they can withhold the funds up to a year. Every dentist I told was shocked by this, and so was the Academy of General Dentistry and Better Business Bureau. This can happen to any practices that work with Carecredit. Whether it's in the contract or not this type of treatment should never happen without an justifiable explanation or cause. This is NOT the kind of treatment we healthcare professionals deserve!

Replies
I Highly Recommend Care Credit for Honest People
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

I've used Care Credit twice so far. I paid the monthly payments online with 100% success. I was charged no interest because I adhered to the agreements. There were two instances where I needed to speak with someone on the phone. Both were great experiences with nice, well-spoken people.

The first person happily took off the extra optional insurance charge for me. The second person was very kind when I explained I had made a payment late due to a death in the family and she assured me everything would be fine with the account, which it was. I am now ready to borrow again for my family's eye care. If you are honest and responsible, this company is tried and true and just right for you!

Replies
Advertisement
Predatory Lending
By -

I took out a loan for a medical procedure a year ago. I feel ** for not researching this company more'. Basically I was told I had a zero interest loan for 12 months that ended September of 2011 (this month). I went to pay my account in full, and not only did they charge me a late fee saying I was late (I paid on the actual due date). They said the promotion ended a few weeks ago (end of August), and because I failed to pay it in full they tacked on 1500 dollars of back interest onto my account that I am now apparently responsible for!

What happened to "zero interest, and then interest starts when the promotion date has ended", and what happened to the promotion ending this month? I tried calling them and explaining my situation, and they were more than nasty to me. I am now going to be looking for a class action lawsuit, and to hire an attorney for these greedy people! Talk about predatory lending.

Oh and by the way, when I explained that the economy has hurt us in the past year (my husband was laid off last month), and how we couldn't afford to pay the back interest (not to mention the sky high interest that will be building on the back interest). The supervisor says "oh please Ma'am, the economy has been the same for 3 years". How insensitive can someone be?!

Replies
Worst Company Ever
By -

EL PASEO, TEXAS -- This is the WORST company I have EVER had to have the misfortune of working with. My little kitten broke her leg and I used the Care Credit as financing. They kept tagging me with late fees of $40 even though my payments were sent ON TIME and received (I send through online bill pay from my bank, it wasn't even a personal check).

I called and they said it was an error and it would be corrected. But it never was. When I called back they said, "Sorry Ma'am we don't see that anywhere here in are note. Too bad; we can't do anything about it." I paid above the minimum and paid off the whole thing in full when the promotional period was up. I even called to ask what my payoff amount was and they told me the WRONG AMOUNT... so now I am getting tagged with interest.

It is a low down dirty skeaming company and should not be trusted at all. The customer service are the nastiest people and they do not try to help you at all. DO NOT GET CARE CREDIT!!!!!!!!! DON'T DO IT. Try any other credit card... DO NOT DO NOT GET THIS ONE!!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Care Credit Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 18 ratings and
49 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Care Credit
Synchrony Financial, PO Box 960061
Orlando, FL 32896-0061
800-677-0718 (ph)
www.carecredit.com
Compare Banks