Preview Review

Next Review

CareMore Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Totally Unresponsive
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- Despite Caremore's response in the previous entry where the company states, "Communication with our members helps us know if our members feel unhappy about services rendered" you can bet you will receive no communication from Caremore until out of frustration you call them when there is a problem. The last two times my doctor has called in a prescription I find out from the pharmacy it "has been delayed by your insurance company". Does Caremore contact me to tell me it's been delayed? Why it's been delayed? What they are doing to resolve whatever the problem is? When it will be resolved so I can received my medication? NO!!!

You end up having to call them, you get a "gatekeeper" who has no idea what the problem is, and has no authority to make a decision or solve the problem! You are repeatedly asked to wait on "hold" while the gatekeeper calls 4 different people and still the matter isn't resolved.

In the end you have to raise hell with this second rate outfit. Also, when a visit to an emergency room and an X-ray revealed a growth on one of my lungs, Caremore referred me to a "doctor" who not only WAS NOT A BOARD CERTIFIED PULMONOLOGIST, she WASN'T EVEN A MEDICAL DOCTOR but rather a nurse practitioner.

I was sent for a biopsy and although she had received the results I was told they wouldn't provide me with the results until my appointment 10 days later. I guess I was supposed to worry if I had lung cancer for another week and a half. Once again I had to raise hell with them and demand the result NOW to get it. There are better choices out there - run from this cut-rate, unresponsive, outfit as fast as you can. This outfit needs to change its name from Care "more" to Couldn't Care "less."

Company Response 04/19/2016:

We apologize you didn't have a good experience with CareMore and we would like to learn more. Please contact us at 800-499-2793 at your earliest convenience. We look forward to resolving this for you.

CareMore

Replies
Advertisement
Caremore Could Care Less
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- I've been a member of Caremore since January 2015. My first visit, blood was drawn to check my lipids. Later I found a PCP and had my first visit. She was nice, prescribed my one medication. The End. This year I waited to hear from the office that it was time for my yearly check-up. Silence. Finally, I called the office and asked if she (the doctor) was still my PCP. Reception told me she didn't know, that I should call Caremore. I did. Finally got an appointment to see the PCP. Waited. Waited. Got in. Waited. This is nothing new to anybody on Medicare. You spend lots of time waiting.

What I wasn't expecting was that the doctor just sat and talked with me. She didn't even listen to my heart. She had me give a bunch of blood and told me to get a mammogram and a bone scan. The mammogram people called me to set up an appointment but told me that I had to contact the doctor to get authorization for the bone scan. I asked, "It's now my job to get the right paperwork for the bone scan?" The answer was yes. It's my job to call the PCP's office to get permission for the test the doctor ordered. I declined. Oh. The blood tests show that I have too many red blood cells and they are all too large.

I waited for my PCP to contact me, but she doesn't care enough to look at the results of my blood tests. Quest Diagnostics hold all my previous tests as well, and the PCP could have seen that in 2014 I showed the same results. Too many red blood cells and they're all too large. These people don't care about the patient at all. They get paid a certain amount of money every month from Medicare to manage our health. Essentially, they are being paid to do NOTHING.

I left Senior Dimensions Medicare Advantage Plan to go with Caremore, but the level of care I received from Senior Dimensions was by far superior to the lack of care I received from Caremore. Don't even think about using Caremore if you plan to survive another year.

Update 06/13/2016:

If I could, I would lower my rating.

Since I wrote the review, I had an urgent need for medical help because my condition has been hanging on for more than a month without being resolved. Yesterday, I left a voice message on the doctor's service, begging for help. It is now more than 24 hours later and I've had no call back. In an effort to do SOMETHING, I called Caremore and changed PCPs. I have an appointment with the new doctor in 3 days.

The fact that I'm stuck with Caremore until the Fall when I can jump ship to another Medicare Advantage Plan, really galls, but that's the way it works. After I'm safely out of their clutches, I will file an official complaint with Medicare.

Company Response 05/24/2016:

Hi,

We apologize you didn't have a great experience with CareMore and we'd like an opportunity to learn more about what occurred. Please contact us at 888-499-2793 for immediate assistance.

CareMore

Company Response 06/24/2016:

Hi Reluctantexan,

We take your health very seriously and would like to assist you immediately. Please email us at ContactUs@CareMore.com with your name & phone number, and we will assign a Case Manager to assist you directly.

CareMore

Replies
Very Poor Member Services
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- I am VERY dissatisfied with the quality of CareMore service and here is why: When I originally signed up, I chose a PCP based on gender, ratings, proximity and that she was listed on the CM website as taking new patients. When I called her office for an appt. I was told, that she was not taking new patients. I then called CM Member Services, they found me another PCP that was supposed to be taking new patients. When I called her office, they said she does not take CM patients at all.

I then found a doc on the CM website that said she was taking new patients, I phoned her office and they said she was taking new CM patients, we set an appt for the next day. They then told me I had to call CM Member Services immediately and get this Doc on my record as my PCP or they would cancel my appt. I then called CM Member Services, to notify them of my change.

According to CM database this doc did not show up on the CM database as open for new patients. The CM representative called the office directly to confirm her status and after a half hour wait on the phone, she returned to me saying she was attempting to get it straightened out in time for my appt.

I spent most of the morning dealing with trying to get a doctor appointment for an urgent matter thinking that CM had my back. I was shocked at how dysfunctional their system is and I now have no trust level. After years of great Kaiser Permanente care, it frightens me that CareMore is CareLess.

Company Response 05/24/2016:

Hi,

We're sorry about what your experience with CareMore. Please contact us at your earliest convenience so we can resolve this for you.

CareMore
888-499-2793

Replies
Service Provided
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- I have not had issues with the services provided at the CareMore center. When I call the member services department they are always pleasant. Every time I've called them they are very knowledgeable and helpful. With CareMore it does take a little bit more work on the patient's side. I have not had any issues getting things approved that I need.

Yes they are new to the Richmond VA area. So it is going to take time to get established and iron out the wrinkles. So far I've not heard about a single issues with CareMore from my doctors. For those whose are complaining I believe they don't like the changes because in they feel as though CareMore may be taking money out of their pocket.

CareMore's philosophy is all about having healthier patients. Yes it does save CareMore money, but at the same time it is saving patients' money. I am inclined to believe that patients (people in general) do not like change. Patients are used to having everything done for them.

CareMore is different and they place more of the responsibility of the patients' health back on the patients to be more proactive in taking care of themselves. In many cases patients are responsible for things that are going wrong with their body. But not in all cases.

Replies
Advertisement
The Worst Health Care Supplement Ever!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- Horrible to deal with no matter which dept. you contact. My mother has a primary care physician listed on her membership card who has never seen her or does not know of her. It appears all medical intervention is done by inexperienced nurse practitioners who tell you not to call or visit your mother.

She needs to figure out things on her own! Try telling a 90-year-old that you have been forbidden to call or visit her! Not addressing current medical issues or medication requirements. The world's worst communication if at all! Not responsive to patient or family members. Good at lip service but nothing else. Signing up with Caremore will be a guaranteed death sentence for the patient. Look elsewhere, appears to be nothing more than another government rip-off.

Company Response 04/20/2016:

We're constantly striving to ensure the satisfaction of each member, and it seems we fell short of that goal in this situation. Please contact us at 800-499-2793 at your earliest convenience.

CareMore

Replies
The Highway to Death
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- This particular office is so incompetent it's not even funny. The doctors there killed my sister who was 41. (This is not fact but my opinion and belief.) My mother went to go see her Dr today and at the end of her appointment she was given a prescription for an increase in medication. She looked at the prescription and told the Dr that the name on the scrip was not her. (There are 2 patients in that office with the same last name.) The dr looked at her in shock. So he went and got the proper chart and wrote the correct prescription, so she thought.

She later got a call from the office stating the dr wanted to speak to her. The dr then gets on the phone and tells her that he wrote her the wrong prescription and will call it into the pharmacy. I highly recommend anyone to stay away from Caremore. In this town it's referred to as care less.

Company Response 04/19/2016:

It is very important to us to try and improve the situation when there has been a misunderstanding or dissatisfaction with CareMore. Please contact us at 800-499-2793.

Replies
A representative misrepresented me.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- A employee gave a inaccurate opinion of me to a caseworker at a hospital... I recently quit them... horrible treatment. CareMore could not care less.

Company Response 04/19/2016:

We'd like to learn more about how we could have improved your experience with us. Please contact us at 800-499-2793 at your earliest convenience.

Company Response 04/19/2016:

We're constantly striving to ensure the satisfaction of each member, and it seems we fell short of that goal in this situation. Please contact us at 800-499-2793 at your earliest convenience.

CareMore

Replies
Great Experience With CareMore
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

LA MIRADA, CALIFORNIA -- From my experience with CareMore has been nothing but great. I have never had any problems whatsoever with this company. I certainly do not understand why people gave this company so many bad reviews. I have been in the hospital twice now and the care I got was terrific and the CareMore doctor came to see me every day and did everything he could to make my stay good. Once out of the hospital, I also was able to see the CareMore staff whenever I wanted. I just love this supplemental insurance.

Replies
Advertisement
Caremore Medicare Insurance Is Extremely Lacking and Other Reviews Here Are Spot On.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- I was amazed when I read all the reviews here for CareMore. None of them were from the state of VA because this is the 1st year it has been offered in this state. That being said, the reviewers all said exactly what I have found in my first three months with the plan.

I have several health problems and see 3-4 different specialists and my PCP quite often. Suffering from 4 health issues the plan looked like it was tailored to my needs. I met with a sales representative before choosing CareMore (in Va it's disguised as Anthem Health Keepers because Wellpoint bought Anthem as well) and the cost savings looked great compared to any other plan out there.

Well I have found why it looked too good to be true. They have a very limited amount of inexperienced providers who are doctors, specialists and others. I had to change rheumatologist because my regular rheumy was not with the plan. There were only 2 that accepted the plan.

So the one that was chosen for me, knew nothing about the disease as she was just out of school. At the same time she insisted I be seen every 2 months rather than 3 months that is typical for my problem. I was also told that there would be several caregivers at the CareMore centers to provide free services. I wanted to get help from the nutritionist there. Except they do not have one as I was told they did when signing up.

Then there is the problem of DMEs. (durable medical equipment) I had no problem in this dept. with other insurance carriers until I joined CareMore. Before everything worked like clockwork. Now with very few providers, I'm having a very hard time getting my supplies. I lost out on 2 months of catheters and was told my doc would have to do a referral every month for this DME. The 2 months I missed came out of my pocket. Also my cpap supplies have to be done through referral every month by my docs and before they were shipped in 3 month supplies with just 1 doc referral at the start.

Several of the docs including my PCP are not happy with all the red tape this has caused. They have even expressed this to me verbally. I have been on the phone more than 20 hours (in the 1st 3 months being insured) with several CareMore employees. Talking to assoc. at the centers, member services and my personal sales representative trying to straighten out all the problems I and my docs and their staff have been having. In one instance I'm being stalled on getting referred because the only 2 ID (infectious disease) docs will not see me as one is not accepting new patients the other cannot or will not deal with a complex case as I have.

To sum up the situation (I have left out many thing to keep this short enough to read) if people from different states are all complaining about similar problems you can bet there is some credence to them. It's definitely company policies that create all this misery to those that made a very bad choice to go with CareMore. I will not stay with them past this year no matter the cost to find another health insurance provider.

Final analysis is that the staff, and people hired by CareMore will kill you with kindness to your face to fool you into believing that CareMore cares. When in reality their goal is to keep their cost down no matter the cost to the patient or their health. I wouldn't be surprised to see a class action suit in the future.

Company Response 04/19/2016:

Communication with our members helps us know if our members feel unhappy about services rendered.

This helps us set up an improvement plan for the future. Our goal is to give high quality service to all of our members. If you have any other questions, suggestions, or concerns, please contact Member Services at 800-499-2793.

CareMore

Replies
Horrible Health Care Plan
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- Caremore is the worst healthcare plan I've ever been on. I'm on the Medicare supplement program and it is truly terrible and totally misrepresented. The doctors are incompetent and will not refill prescriptions. I have switched primary doctors so far so many times it's making me sick... literally. I'm a basket case from dealing with these people. Their operators are either rude or give the wrong information. The care is unacceptable, totally.

The sales people are slick and promise you anything and what you actually get is nothing, not even an exercise benefit. Medicare should really look into these people as well as the fair trade commission, as it is grossly misrepresented. It's Medicare fraud.

Company Response 09/28/2015:

Communication with our members helps us know if our members feel unhappy about services rendered.

This helps us set up an improvement plan for the future. Our goal is to give high quality service to all of our members. If you have any other questions, suggestions, or concerns, please contact Member Services at 800-499-2793 or email us at RFA@CareMore.com

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

CareMore Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 12 ratings and
12 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
CareMore
12900 Park Plaza Drive, Suite#150, MS-6150
Cerritos, CA 90703
800-499-2793 (ph)
www.caremore.com
Compare Health Insurance Companies