Preview Review

Next Review

CareMore Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Bad Experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTA CLARA, CALIFORNIA -- I wish I had seen rating on this site. For some reason, Medicare gives Caremore the rating of 4.5/5. So I joined them in 2017. BIG mistake. I had changed 4 primary care doctors, none of them is competent. I have sore on my tongue and lips for month. They cannot find a solution for me. They did not even know what kind of specialist to refer me to.

The dentist office they have contract with are the worst ones. The office I went to was Northern Dental. I had to pay for my CT scan for implant. Their price is too expensive. I would like to get a second opinion. So I asked for the CT scan which I paid for. They refused to give it to me. I asked to talk to the manager. They told me she is busy and gave me a phone number to call. I called six times. They told me she will call me back. She never did. I went to the office again. Again they told me she is with a patient.

As far as I know, she is not even a dentist. I waited for over 20 minutes. Then they told me she is not there. I gave up. A few month later, I had a severe tooth ache, I tried to make an appointment. They told me the office does not want to see me anymore!!! I called the Caremore customer service. They agreed to assign me to a different dental office. But it won't take effect until next month. I told them I could not wait.

Finally they agree to let me go to Western dental. That office was a disaster. Very unorganized. The dentist did not care. They let me wait for 45 minutes, while the dentist and then a group of people was joking around in the hallway. Finally I got a dentist around 5:30, Took him only 20 minutes to extract the tooth. I was charged a lot of money. Then I read the review of the office. They got the worst rating. Most people did not want to go back after first visit.

Northern dental also did a crown for me. I fell off after 3 years, Which I read online, it said that it should last at least 5 years. I had one done twenty years earlier, it was still good. So I want to go back to Northern dental asking them to fix it. Again they refused to take me. I had to file complain to dentist association and Better Business Bureau. Finally he agree to fix the crown on condition that I withdrew my complaint with BBB. I need to find a new dentist for my regular care. With two worst experience I looked at all the ratings of Caremore contracted dentist, and found that the best rating their dentist was 1.5/5.

Bad experience with getting reimburse of oversea treatment. I hurt my ankle in China. I called them and got approval for getting treatment there. I will get reimbursement when I came back with the receipts, which I did. I just called got a call from the reimbursement department. They told me they only cover the emergency room expense. But they do not cover the medication to treat the injury!!! I asked them what use is it to have examination without paying for treatment. I was told that it is their policy. Can't you imagine such ridiculous policy?

Company Response 01/22/2018:

We would like to extend our sincerest apology with regards to your experience with CareMore. It is very important to us to try and improve the situation when there has been a misunderstanding or dissatisfaction with CareMore. Please contact us at (800) 499-2793 so that we may assist you directly.

Replies
Advertisement
Greatest Insurance I Have Ever Had.
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- I had a bad year with my left foot. I have Osteomyolitis. Last summer I had 7 operations on the same foot with little improvement. On 11/01/17, I moved to CareMore for medical treatment of my foot. My previous doctors wanted to amputate my foot. I refused. Instead, CareMore treated it with excellent wound care nurses and medications. It is now April, 2018, and not only have I not lost my foot but I am back walking again! They saved my foot and my life.

Then today, I received a letter from CareMore stating that my insulin would continue to be covered at the $0 copay for the rest of the year because of the "Donut Hole"- a Medicare Coverage gap. I don't know of any other insurance company doing this. I sincerely hope you have started a trend that other insurance companies will have to live up to. God Bless you CareMore for saving my foot, my life and now my insulin. If you are looking for a great insurance plan with Medicare, CareMore is the one!

Replies
Worst Experience With Doctors Ever.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- I made the mistake of joining this Medicare Advantage after moving from Michigan to Tucson. I took the advice of a co-worker who loved CareMore... big mistake. My primary never looked at a file, just jotted down notes on a legal pad. Had no idea what meds I was on or what my issues were from a previous visit. I requested another Dr. and ended up with a young OBGYN... I am 70 yrs. old. REALLY???

Took me 6 mos. To get a capable Ortho Dr. to help me with a stress fracture of my knee. Sent a written complaint to their headquarters and their response from the Dr. Was a complete lie. Their specialty Breathe group couldn't figure out if I had COPD or Asthma... wrong meds made my breathing even worse. This has been a year from Hell. If you value your health... do NOT enroll with CareMore! They are a nightmare!

Company Response 11/06/2017:

It is very important to us to try and improve the situation when there has been a misunderstanding or dissatisfaction with CareMore. Please contact us at Member Services at (800) 499-2793 or ContactUs@CareMore.com so that we may learn more about your situation and assist you directly.

Replies
Careless, the Worst Healthcare Plan You Could Ever Choose!!!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- After being talked into this plan, I was unable to find a doctor. Every doctor they signed me up for was no longer taking patients. For months I tried to get an appointment but my primary care physicians would not see me. They wouldn't even put me on a list to someday see them. Half way through the year and endless complaints I was just informed there are no available doctors. I should use their urgent care. Which is a fee and urgent care does not deal with chronic conditions.

If you wish to die, choose this plan. Expect to waste your time with incompetent people, red tape and frustration. Hopefully you are a healthy person and can wait till next year because this year we don't have doctors. Do not recommend this plan to anyone. It is the worst.

Company Response 11/06/2017:

We would like to extend our sincerest apology in regards to your less than pleasant experience with CareMore. Please contact us at (800) 499-2793 or e-mail us at ContactUs@caremore.com so that we may learn more about your situation and assist you directly.

Replies
Advertisement
This HMO Should Be Called "CareLess" the Worst
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- If I could give zero stars for this totally corrupt, incompetent, and useless company I would, so reluctantly will give it one star. I have received nothing but packets of information and even a bill from them, although I have not even used one of their services. Talking on the phone is like talking to some ** from India. I will just do without insurance. Don't need their **.

Replies
Doctor and NP Are Liers.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- Doctor and NP are liars. They lied to my aunt and stuck her in a nursing home. She, myself and my son were told that she had to go for five days to have antibiotic delivered by IV. Guess what. They had the IV removed at the hospital. And now she is on oral antibiotics. And they won't discharge her. They trapped her. Don't trust your senior loved one to Caremore.

Company Response 11/06/2017:

It is very important to us to try and improve the situation when there has been a misunderstanding or dissatisfaction with CareMore. Please contact us at Member Services at (800) 499-2793 or e-mail us at ContactUs@caremore.com so that we may learn more about your situation and assist you directly.

Replies
Caremore Medicare Insurance Is Extremely Lacking and Other Reviews Here Are Spot On.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- I was amazed when I read all the reviews here for CareMore. None of them were from the state of VA because this is the 1st year it has been offered in this state. That being said, the reviewers all said exactly what I have found in my first three months with the plan.

I have several health problems and see 3-4 different specialists and my PCP quite often. Suffering from 4 health issues the plan looked like it was tailored to my needs. I met with a sales representative before choosing CareMore (in Va it's disguised as Anthem Health Keepers because Wellpoint bought Anthem as well) and the cost savings looked great compared to any other plan out there.

Well I have found why it looked too good to be true. They have a very limited amount of inexperienced providers who are doctors, specialists and others. I had to change rheumatologist because my regular rheumy was not with the plan. There were only 2 that accepted the plan.

So the one that was chosen for me, knew nothing about the disease as she was just out of school. At the same time she insisted I be seen every 2 months rather than 3 months that is typical for my problem. I was also told that there would be several caregivers at the CareMore centers to provide free services. I wanted to get help from the nutritionist there. Except they do not have one as I was told they did when signing up.

Then there is the problem of DMEs. (durable medical equipment) I had no problem in this dept. with other insurance carriers until I joined CareMore. Before everything worked like clockwork. Now with very few providers, I'm having a very hard time getting my supplies. I lost out on 2 months of catheters and was told my doc would have to do a referral every month for this DME. The 2 months I missed came out of my pocket. Also my cpap supplies have to be done through referral every month by my docs and before they were shipped in 3 month supplies with just 1 doc referral at the start.

Several of the docs including my PCP are not happy with all the red tape this has caused. They have even expressed this to me verbally. I have been on the phone more than 20 hours (in the 1st 3 months being insured) with several CareMore employees. Talking to assoc. at the centers, member services and my personal sales representative trying to straighten out all the problems I and my docs and their staff have been having. In one instance I'm being stalled on getting referred because the only 2 ID (infectious disease) docs will not see me as one is not accepting new patients the other cannot or will not deal with a complex case as I have.

To sum up the situation (I have left out many thing to keep this short enough to read) if people from different states are all complaining about similar problems you can bet there is some credence to them. It's definitely company policies that create all this misery to those that made a very bad choice to go with CareMore. I will not stay with them past this year no matter the cost to find another health insurance provider.

Final analysis is that the staff, and people hired by CareMore will kill you with kindness to your face to fool you into believing that CareMore cares. When in reality their goal is to keep their cost down no matter the cost to the patient or their health. I wouldn't be surprised to see a class action suit in the future.

Company Response 04/19/2016:

Communication with our members helps us know if our members feel unhappy about services rendered.

This helps us set up an improvement plan for the future. Our goal is to give high quality service to all of our members. If you have any other questions, suggestions, or concerns, please contact Member Services at 800-499-2793.

CareMore

Replies
Totally Unresponsive
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- Despite Caremore's response in the previous entry where the company states, "Communication with our members helps us know if our members feel unhappy about services rendered" you can bet you will receive no communication from Caremore until out of frustration you call them when there is a problem. The last two times my doctor has called in a prescription I find out from the pharmacy it "has been delayed by your insurance company". Does Caremore contact me to tell me it's been delayed? Why it's been delayed? What they are doing to resolve whatever the problem is? When it will be resolved so I can received my medication? NO!!!

You end up having to call them, you get a "gatekeeper" who has no idea what the problem is, and has no authority to make a decision or solve the problem! You are repeatedly asked to wait on "hold" while the gatekeeper calls 4 different people and still the matter isn't resolved.

In the end you have to raise hell with this second rate outfit. Also, when a visit to an emergency room and an X-ray revealed a growth on one of my lungs, Caremore referred me to a "doctor" who not only WAS NOT A BOARD CERTIFIED PULMONOLOGIST, she WASN'T EVEN A MEDICAL DOCTOR but rather a nurse practitioner.

I was sent for a biopsy and although she had received the results I was told they wouldn't provide me with the results until my appointment 10 days later. I guess I was supposed to worry if I had lung cancer for another week and a half. Once again I had to raise hell with them and demand the result NOW to get it. There are better choices out there - run from this cut-rate, unresponsive, outfit as fast as you can. This outfit needs to change its name from Care "more" to Couldn't Care "less."

Company Response 04/19/2016:

We apologize you didn't have a good experience with CareMore and we would like to learn more. Please contact us at 800-499-2793 at your earliest convenience. We look forward to resolving this for you.

CareMore

Replies
Advertisement
Caremore Could Care Less
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- I've been a member of Caremore since January 2015. My first visit, blood was drawn to check my lipids. Later I found a PCP and had my first visit. She was nice, prescribed my one medication. The End. This year I waited to hear from the office that it was time for my yearly check-up. Silence. Finally, I called the office and asked if she (the doctor) was still my PCP. Reception told me she didn't know, that I should call Caremore. I did. Finally got an appointment to see the PCP. Waited. Waited. Got in. Waited. This is nothing new to anybody on Medicare. You spend lots of time waiting.

What I wasn't expecting was that the doctor just sat and talked with me. She didn't even listen to my heart. She had me give a bunch of blood and told me to get a mammogram and a bone scan. The mammogram people called me to set up an appointment but told me that I had to contact the doctor to get authorization for the bone scan. I asked, "It's now my job to get the right paperwork for the bone scan?" The answer was yes. It's my job to call the PCP's office to get permission for the test the doctor ordered. I declined. Oh. The blood tests show that I have too many red blood cells and they are all too large.

I waited for my PCP to contact me, but she doesn't care enough to look at the results of my blood tests. Quest Diagnostics hold all my previous tests as well, and the PCP could have seen that in 2014 I showed the same results. Too many red blood cells and they're all too large. These people don't care about the patient at all. They get paid a certain amount of money every month from Medicare to manage our health. Essentially, they are being paid to do NOTHING.

I left Senior Dimensions Medicare Advantage Plan to go with Caremore, but the level of care I received from Senior Dimensions was by far superior to the lack of care I received from Caremore. Don't even think about using Caremore if you plan to survive another year.

Update 06/13/2016:

If I could, I would lower my rating.

Since I wrote the review, I had an urgent need for medical help because my condition has been hanging on for more than a month without being resolved. Yesterday, I left a voice message on the doctor's service, begging for help. It is now more than 24 hours later and I've had no call back. In an effort to do SOMETHING, I called Caremore and changed PCPs. I have an appointment with the new doctor in 3 days.

The fact that I'm stuck with Caremore until the Fall when I can jump ship to another Medicare Advantage Plan, really galls, but that's the way it works. After I'm safely out of their clutches, I will file an official complaint with Medicare.

Company Response 05/24/2016:

Hi,

We apologize you didn't have a great experience with CareMore and we'd like an opportunity to learn more about what occurred. Please contact us at 888-499-2793 for immediate assistance.

CareMore

Company Response 06/24/2016:

Hi Reluctantexan,

We take your health very seriously and would like to assist you immediately. Please email us at ContactUs@CareMore.com with your name & phone number, and we will assign a Case Manager to assist you directly.

CareMore

Replies
Very Poor Member Services
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- I am VERY dissatisfied with the quality of CareMore service and here is why: When I originally signed up, I chose a PCP based on gender, ratings, proximity and that she was listed on the CM website as taking new patients. When I called her office for an appt. I was told, that she was not taking new patients. I then called CM Member Services, they found me another PCP that was supposed to be taking new patients. When I called her office, they said she does not take CM patients at all.

I then found a doc on the CM website that said she was taking new patients, I phoned her office and they said she was taking new CM patients, we set an appt for the next day. They then told me I had to call CM Member Services immediately and get this Doc on my record as my PCP or they would cancel my appt. I then called CM Member Services, to notify them of my change.

According to CM database this doc did not show up on the CM database as open for new patients. The CM representative called the office directly to confirm her status and after a half hour wait on the phone, she returned to me saying she was attempting to get it straightened out in time for my appt.

I spent most of the morning dealing with trying to get a doctor appointment for an urgent matter thinking that CM had my back. I was shocked at how dysfunctional their system is and I now have no trust level. After years of great Kaiser Permanente care, it frightens me that CareMore is CareLess.

Company Response 05/24/2016:

Hi,

We're sorry about what your experience with CareMore. Please contact us at your earliest convenience so we can resolve this for you.

CareMore
888-499-2793

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

CareMore Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 20 ratings and
20 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
CareMore
12900 Park Plaza Drive, Suite#150, MS-6150
Cerritos, CA 90703
800-499-2793 (ph)
www.caremore.com
Compare Health Insurance Companies