Preview Review

Next Review

Carrentals.com Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Not Recommended
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BUFFFALO, NEW YORK -- I had a confirmed reservation with CarRentals.com. (Enterprise Confirmation Code: **) with Enterprise, a company I have used before. On the way to pick up the car I received a call from the Enterprise location. Enterprise called me when I was in route to pick up the car to say "I don't know why you got a reservation, we do not have any cars. Here is a number to call." Thanks for leaving me stranded at the airport. I contacted CarRentals.com and got a generic reply.

Here it is: "CarRentals.com would like to thank you for emailing us with your comments. We continue to strive to meet or exceed our customers' travel expectations and if one of our affiliates does not fulfill their obligation to you, then we appreciate being made aware of their shortcomings. You had a confirmed reservation. There are times due to unforeseen circumstances, such as another renter not returning a vehicle or when unexpected damages occur to the vehicle, which cause the vendor to be unable to provide you a vehicle.

If you were able to obtain a vehicle from another source, you can contact their Customer Service Department to seek reimbursement if the charges were more than originally booked. Of course, any options added at the rental counter would still be at your cost. Contrary to the poor impression this experience has left with you, this is certainly not representative of the high quality of service we strive to give our customers."

A few days after I received a call from Charles the manager at Enterprise. He was apologetic and offered to comp a few days rental. Well, I do not need another rental car. I sent Charles an email asking for a gift card for the difference between the two rentals (about $30.00) and to this day I have not heard back. I thought this very reasonable for the inconvenience. Certainly I would not recommend either of these companies.

I would never use CarRentals.com again. The rates may appear to be good but that isn't the way it turned out. It was a waste of time and an inconvenience. And to Charles at Enterprise...you got my phone number...you have my email. I am still waiting to hear back!

Replies
Advertisement
Scam Artist - Stealing Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I must say... They are probably the greatest scam artists ever... I can only hope that karma really exists. I reserved a car online for a trip a few weeks in advance through carrentals.com. It was advertised that a credit card was needed to reserve the car but it would not be ran until I picked it up. Few days later they charged my card. "Ok, that's fine. I will just pay for it now," I thought.

Get to my destination and Payless Car Rental (who I will also never shop with again) says that they do not take payments from carrentals.com, only reservations. So I need to pay again. Also, the amount for the exact reservation I ordered was over DOUBLE when I got there. They claim that additional taxes prices may vary. The taxes costs more than the car itself. I was stranded. Tried to contact carrentals.com by phone... They make that almost impossible to find a phone number. They said I would have to file a complaint through email. I ruined my entire first day of my trip and spent the next few days stressed over money.

A few days later I tried again and they said that the money would be reimbursed when I dropped off the car. It wasn't. I chose to let my bank deal with it. 3 months later... bank says they can't get the money back. I spent the most time I have ever spent online trying to get a PHONE number to call carrentals.com. They definitely want to avoid people's calls. Got a guy and he says that the car was reported still not picked up. And that I should email them. I want to explode. These people have figured out a way to steal your money and hope that you get so tired of the chase to get it back that you simply give up. I want a lawsuit.

Replies
Went Way Beyond My Expectations to Resolve a Scam With a Car Rental Company
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

WASHINGTON -- I have used Carrentals.com twice before, booking cars in Atlanta and Orlando. I received excellent prices to the point where I was nervous about bait and switch, but both went smoothly. Granted this is more on the rental company, and I've wondered, 'well what can CarRentals.com do if they DO try to rip me off?

Well on a trip to LA I found out. My flight delayed, I looked up the location of the company I booked via CarRentals.com. First thing that came up was a review saying I was charged 5 times as much as my original reservation. As I ran through the airport expecting the worse, I made it just 5 minutes late and was told my rental - which I reserved via CarRentals for about $60 for the weekend - would actually be 89 a day before all the add-ons as if that mattered. After a bit of a battle I left and thinking of the previous review I read, decided to avoid the agency across the way thinking they may be in on it (turns out they do in fact share the same parent company).

I ended up at Alamo where I paid an additional 210 over my original agreement - only slightly less than the amount I refused to pay from the original location. To wrap up this long story, while my complaints to the rental company went unanswered, CarRentals.com was incredibly helpful and responsive, a few times even contacting me when I had given up on hope of this being resolved. Finally, 4 months later I was shocked to receive a reimbursement for the difference in cost from the rental agency!

I'm still amazed they were able and willing to pursue this to the end; I've heard so many horror stories about rental companies that it seemed hopeless: really I was venting with no expectation of getting my money back. Given some of the negative reviews, I can only guess that perhaps they have realized their clout and are now wielding it to keep rental agencies responsible and their clients satisfied? After all, they can really hurt a company's web presence if they want to. I'll certainly use them and recommend them again.

Replies
Scam!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CARSON CITY, NEVADA -- I booked a car through this website with Advantage Car rental. This was my first experience with Carrentals.com and with Advantage. When reviewing the confirmation it became clear that the car rental lot was not at the airport and required a bus ride. Had that been clear on the reservation page I would not have booked the car. As I was arriving at 9:00 at night in an area I was unfamiliar with I chose to cancel the reservation and get a car from a company at the airport. Carrentals.com promptly advised me that since I had prepaid for the car, my reservation was non-refundable. No amount of discussion would sway them.

Consequently in my attempt to save a little money I have paid for two rental cars. The language advising the customer that the reservation cannot be cancelled is in small greyed out type at the bottom of the page that no one would ever see as no one would be looking for this because no reputable car rental agency has a "no cancellation" policy. This is a scam. Don't rent from them.

Replies
Advertisement
Website Info Inaccurate
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I just rented a car from CaRentals.com. I fly into Orlando frequently and decided to check out the prices at CaRentals.com. I found a good price for a car that was listed as being at the airport. (I checked this against other off site rentals that I've used, and they were all listed with their off-airport address.) So I went ahead and booked an Ace rental car (location MCO airport, Orlando, it said), and the Confirmation came back with an off airport address.

It's a non-refundable reservation, so I arrive in Orlando at night with a three hour drive east ahead of me, and I have to wait for a shuttle to take me west to pick up the car. Wouldn't have rented from them if I knew that. My advise: do your own research before committing to a purchase from this company. For me, I'll go back to the businesses that have never steered me wrong. I won't be using CaRentals.com again.

Replies
The Worst Car Rental Website in America
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY, NEW JERSEY -- Save yourself the aggravation and money and book with a reputable company. While you may feel safe that this company is affiliated with Expedia they will be of absolutely no help when things go wrong. I booked a minivan from the Tampa Airport. While I had several cheaper options to book a minivan which required that I take a shuttle from the airport to the car lot, I decided to spend the extra money for a car rental that was located within the airport. I was traveling with three small children so the additional money was well worth it to me.

On the options for rentals the vehicles that required a shuttle from the airport were labeled clearly on the main search page with "shuttle to car". I booked the vehicle labeled Tampa International Airport. This was a nonrefundable reservation that could not be modified. When I called the car rental place to ask about car seats the automated voice said we are only a quick shuttle ride from the airport.

When I emailed carrentals.com they told me that this information was on my confirmation page. However, once you have reached the confirmation page you cannot cancel or modify the reservation. The company was of absolutely no help and came across as rude over the emails. Avoid at all costs.

Replies
Thrifty car rental
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Browsing Expedia for car rental prices a week before a trip, I came across what seemed to be a reasonable rental for a 3 day Thrifty car rental at Jacksonville airport. After reserving a car, I got an email confirmation along with a note stating that, "You do not need to re-confirm your reservation with the rental agency or CarRentals.com." I also purchased and paid for collision insurance on their site. When arriving at the airport Thrifty booth, I was told that a car would not be available for at least 2 hours! We had a wedding rehearsal dinner to get to an hour away. So needless to say, this was unacceptable.

The agent shrugged it off as just one of those things and handed us a pamphlet to contact Thrifty at another time and for reimbursement. We were able to get a car from another agency, but for a larger car than we needed and at a much higher rate. I will not use Expedia, CarRentals.com, or Thrifty for any future car rental needs.

Replies
The Worst Experience Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This has to be the worst car rental experience I have ever had. The reservation was misleading. I did a search for a vehicle at the MCO airport, however, after making the reservation I realized that the system automatically directs you to find the cheapest price closest to your desired area. So, I ended up with a rental that wasn't even at the airport -- it was close to the airport. The customer service is horrible!!! I never spoke to a "live" person.

All of the customer service is e-mail only. I contacted them within 2 hours of making screwed up reservation, and they refused to issue a refund. I got my credit card involved and they could not get my money back either. $300 GONE!!!! The worst experience ever!!!! Worse than zero stars... more like negative 1,000 stars.

Replies
Advertisement
You Will Get A Car, But Not At The Price You Think
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LONDON, UK -- Carrentals.com uses fine print on a separate page, the kind you really have to look for, to understand the various charges that they are likely to charge you when you show up. They do the usual -- tell you the car comes with full coverage, but then mention you are liable for the first £1,000, and that the coverage doesn't include tires and glass. I'm used that one. The new one they got me on is that I rented the car in London to travel to France. While this is completely normal in Europe and foreseeable, as it's less than 3 hours drive away on the Euro tunnel, the surcharge was basically the same as the price of the entire rental.

Bottom line: a rental fee of £100 per day for a standard car, instead of the £50 I was expecting. After I complained customer service explained I should have let them know in advance, as stated in the fine print. But conveniently, the reservation form does not ask whether the car will be driven to any other country, and the fine print appears in a separate page. This is essentially a bait-and-switch scam. Mind you, if you don't need anything extra you might be ok, but they make their money on the unsuspecting. Hopeful they will fold soon.

Replies
Absolutely Terrible Experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DUBLIN -- This has been the worst customer service experience I've ever had. A simple issue with a refund required has led to over a dozen emails and numerous phone calls. The service offered by Carrentals.com has been absolutely appalling. They have made no serious attempts to help and have no communication within their office. I would strongly recommend using any other company than this one. Their practices are misleading and unhelpful. I have asked numerous times for an address to lodge a complaint with and have received no response, instead a vague attempt to address the issue. I can't stress enough how strongly I would recommend not using this company.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Carrentals.com Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 51 ratings and
58 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Carrentals.com
111 Town Square Place, PO Box 26
Jersey City, NJ 07310-1755
201-204-9940 (ph)
www.carrentals.com
Compare Car Rental Companies