Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 43 ratings and
50 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
111 Town Square Place, PO Box 26
Jersey City, NJ 07310-1755
201-204-9940 (ph)
Compare Car Rental Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Avoid at all costs
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BELLINGHAM, WASHINGTON -- I wish I could give zero stars, as this was just a terrible experience. It all started with the reservation. I reserved my car through to get a good deal. The process was a bit much, but I've had worse. As I was completing the reservation, I distinctly read that this location may accept debit cards. (hint: this comes up later.)

I selected Enterprise as I'm familiar with them so I could rent a car and take a trip to Wisconsin for a business meeting while we were on vacation in Chicago for the holidays. I arrived at Enterprise to pick up my car only to find out that they would not take my debit card. Yes, I am well aware their site says, "may". If they won't take a debit card, it should be "will not." I could have brought one if I had known, but I prefer to not carry as I only use my credit card in emergencies.

Enterprise lied TWICE about trying to contact me about not accepting debit cards for people who live out of state, first saying they tried to call me and left a message, but then admitted they did not have my full phone number (even though I gave it) and then admitted they really did not. Then they lied about emailing me about the credit card issue.

So now I have to wait for an hour while my wife bundles up our two kids and drives back to bring my card. And I'm late... Thanks. This was all avoidable. If they could not contact me - admit it. If there was an issue, so some empathy. They did neither. I'll use Enterprise again, but not this location. You shouldn't either.

So I contact to let them know about the issue. I wasn't happy, but having worked from companies like this I know it's good to hear if there is a problem that can be solved, especially since it was that I used for the reservation. Mind you, I asked for nothing. This was just an, "I'm not happy at all, but you should be aware of this" type email.

With all due respect? Here was my final comment to "I would like to thank you for the response, however ill conceived your last response may be. It was illuminating. Many online companies pride themselves on customer service. I know it can be difficult sometimes receiving emails from angry customers.

I recall that I used to feel that way sometimes. I wanted to send a quick one or two sentence response to an angry customer in an effort to one-up their frustrated response. It's akin to dropping the mic and saying, "BAM! I'm out!" In reality you provide additional fodder, do nothing to solve the customer's initial problem and instead steel their resolve to make their experience known to others.

It used to be said that, on average, a satisfied customer will tell 3 people while an unsatisfied customer will tell 7. Unfortunately, social media popped up and transformed that. But enough of this back and forth. I stand by my original complaint, as well as my second. I'll just add this to the online reviews and no longer use your service. Merry Christmas." I will NEVER use this company again. Don't hide. Don't be snide. Do your job.

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We booked a car through because they had the best rate. When we brought the contract to the counter for the rental, we were told we couldn't rent the car because we didn't have a valid drivers license OUTSIDE the USA or Canada.

Unfortunately, we didn't read the fine print. But there is no indication on the website that this is an issue. They even quote in US dollars. We found it very misleading. We realized this was a mistake on our part, and would have been glad to make amendments to the contract, even for extra $, but told us there was nothing they could do for us. So they had our money and we had nothing! We will NEVER use them again.

Scam Artist- Stealing money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I must say....They are probably the greatest scam artists ever... I can only hope that karma really exists.
I reserved a car online for a trip a few weeks in advance through It was advertised that a credit card was needed to reserve the car but it would not be ran until I picked it up. Few days later.... they charged my card....."Ok, that's fine. I will just pay for it now", I thought.
Get to my destination and Payless Car Rental (who I will also never shop with again) says that they do not take payments from, only reservations. So I need to pay again. Also, the amount for the exact reservation I ordered was over DOUBLE when I got there. They claim that additional taxes prices may vary. The taxes costs more than the car itself. I was stranded. Tried to contact by phone.... They make that almost impossible to find a phone number. They said I would have to file a complaint through email. I ruined my entire first day of my trip and spent the next few days stressed over money.
A few days later I tried again and they said that the money would be reimbursed when I dropped off the car. It wasn't. I chose to let my bank deal with it.
3 months says they can't get the money back. I spent the most time I have ever spent online trying to get a PHONE number to call . They definitely want to avoid peoples calls. Got a guy and he says that the car was reported still not picked up. and that I should email them. I want to explode.
These people have figured out a way to steal your money and hope that you get so tired of the chase to get it back that you simply give up. I want a lawsuit

Misleading Quotes! Rude People! Avoid
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIX, PENNSYLVANIA -- I've rented cars many times before but never with I reserved a car using for a week-long trip to Arizona. My quote from - rate and estimated taxes/charges - was about $176. I knew I would purchase insurance from the car rental company (Payless) and would therefore end up paying more than that.

Once we arrived in Phoenix, we opted to pre-fill our gas tank ($53.47) and a slight upgrade ($9/day for a total of $63). Insurance charges came to $181.93. So our extra, optional charges, came to $298.40. However, we ended up paying a total of $659.46... still significantly more than's estimate of $176 + optional additional charges of $298.40 = $474.40.

When I filled out the survey and wrote my negative impressions of and experience with their company, I received snarky emails from **, suggesting that perhaps I had returned my vehicle late (I had not) and describing how they can't possibly foresee all the charges... um, isn't that your job?

If you rent with, just know that whatever your "estimate" is, you will likely be paying significantly more than that. As I said, I've rented cars many times before and have never had an estimate that was so far off the mark. Next time, I'll take my business elsewhere.

Scam, Do Not Deal With
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WHO KNOWS -- All conducted online. Rented a car from a major airport to be returned to same. Rate offered was reasonable (not great). Credit card info requested (I presumed to hold reservation). Receive confirmation email stating that it was pre-paid and non-refundable. This was never mentioned prior to the confirmation email. There is no phone number for customer service, only an email address. This is an absolute scam and I am surprised the BBB has not shut them down yet. I will be filing a complaint and hope those who have been ripped off like me, will do the same. Avoid these crooks like the plague!

Went Way Beyond My Expectations to Resolve a Scam With a Car Rental Company
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

WASHINGTON -- I have used Car twice before, booking cars in Atlanta and Orlando. I received excellent prices to the point where I was nervous about bait and switch, but both went smoothly. Granted this is more on the rental company, and I've wondered, 'well what can do if they DO try to rip me off?

Well on a trip to LA I found out. My flight delayed, I looked up the location of the company I booked via First thing that came up was a review saying 'I was charged 5 times as much as my original reservation'. As I ran through the airport expecting the worse, I made it just 5 minutes late and was told my rental - which I reserved via CarRentals for about $60 for the weekend - would actually be 89 a day! before all the add ons, as if that mattered. After a bit of a battle I left and, thinking of the previous review I read, decided to avoid the agency across the way thinking they may be in on it. (turns out they do in fact share the same parent company).

I ended up at Alamo where I paid an additional 210 over my original agreement - only slightly less than the amount I refused to pay from the original location.

To wrap up this long story, while my complaints to the rental company went unanswered, was incredibly helpful and responsive, a few times even contacting me when I had given up on hope of this being resolved. Finally 4 months later I was shocked to receive a reimbursement for the difference in cost from the rental agency!

I'm still amazed they were able and willing to pursue this to the end; I've heard so many horror stories about rental companies that it seemed hopeless: really I was venting with no expectation of getting my money back.

Given some of the negative reviews, I can only guess that perhaps they have realized their clout and are now wielding it to keep rental agencies responsible and their clients satisfied? After all they can really hurt a company's web presence if they want to.

I'll certainly use them and recommend them again.

Not Recommended
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BUFFFALO, NEW YORK -- I had a confirmed reservation with (Enterprise Confirmation Code: 1900040886) with Enterprise a company I have used before. On the way to pick up the car I received a call from the Enterprise location.
Enterprise called me when I was in route to pick up the car to say "I don't know why you got a reservation we do not have any cars. Here is a number to call".
Thanks for leaving me stranded at the airport.
I contacted and got a generic reply: Here it is:

" would like to thank you for emailing us with your comments. We continue to strive to meet or exceed our customers travel expectations and if one of our affiliates does not fulfill their obligation to you, then we appreciate being made aware of their shortcomings.

You had a confirmed reservation. There are times due to unforeseen circumstances, such as another renter not returning a vehicle or when unexpected damages occur to the vehicle, which cause the vendor to be unable to provide you a vehicle. If you were able to obtain a vehicle from another source, you can contact their Customer Service Department to seek reimbursement if the charges were more than originally booked. Of course, any options added at the rental counter would still be at your cost.

Contrary to the poor impression this experience has left with you, this is certainly not representative of the high quality of service we strive to give our customers. "

A few days after I received a call from Charles the manager at Enterprise. He was apologetic and offered to comp a few days rental. Well, I do not need another rental car.
I sent Charles an email asking for a gift card for the difference between the two rentals(about $30.00) and to this day I have not heard back. I thought this very reasonable for the inconvenience.
Certainly I would not recommend either of these companies. I would never use again the rates my appear to be good but that isn't the way it turned out. It was a waste of time and an inconvenience.
And to Charles at got my phone have my email. I am still waiting to hear back!

Replies is a scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

UNKNOWN -- With the help of, Advantage Rent a Car attempted to charge us in advance for a car rental reservation, and when we rejected this hidden arrangement, they pretended that we could not cancel, and that we had agreed to be robbed. Yet, five hours later they offered to cancel for $50 fee.

My credit card company has assured me they will never receive a single cent from me. I have reported them to and will dispute any charges from them with my last breath. They are the lowest of the low, and I refer not to price. Do not use or any of their products. They will try to steal from you.

Go Elsewhere
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INDIANA -- I made a reservation online with Car When I realized that I needed to upgrade my vehicle, I was given a very hard time b/c they claimed I agreed not to cancel my reservation. I made the same agreement on another online car reservation site and when I needed to cancel, I simply paid a cancellation fee and had no issues. does not have a phone number where you can call and talk to a person to discuss the issues. They only have email and they hide behind the email to be rude, abrupt and unhelpful.

They wanted me to pay a cancellation fee and then upgrade my reservation. I was trying to get a better vehicle and pay more money, but was going to be charged a fee for it and then if I did that, I was not given an option as to with whom I could rent my vehicle. This is a serious lack of customer care or customer service and I will definitely not use them in the future for any car rentals.

Don't use
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I booked a car through Don't do this. Ever. I was duped into buying car insurance that wasn't even useful. It was $65 for a day's worth of insurance, which is very high. I had to buy car insurance again when I went and picked up the car. The reason why I was duped is because the site automatically charges you car insurance unless you untick boxes and the boxes aren't easy to find. I cannot believe I fell for this stupid trick. I feel silly, but also ripped off. I think this is totally unethical behavior and I will not be using again. I encourage you to do the same.

Top of Page | Next Page >