Preview Review

Next Review

Carrentals.com Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Not Recommended
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BUFFFALO, NEW YORK -- I had a confirmed reservation with CarRentals.com. (Enterprise Confirmation Code: **) with Enterprise, a company I have used before. On the way to pick up the car I received a call from the Enterprise location. Enterprise called me when I was in route to pick up the car to say "I don't know why you got a reservation, we do not have any cars. Here is a number to call." Thanks for leaving me stranded at the airport. I contacted CarRentals.com and got a generic reply.

Here it is: "CarRentals.com would like to thank you for emailing us with your comments. We continue to strive to meet or exceed our customers' travel expectations and if one of our affiliates does not fulfill their obligation to you, then we appreciate being made aware of their shortcomings. You had a confirmed reservation. There are times due to unforeseen circumstances, such as another renter not returning a vehicle or when unexpected damages occur to the vehicle, which cause the vendor to be unable to provide you a vehicle.

If you were able to obtain a vehicle from another source, you can contact their Customer Service Department to seek reimbursement if the charges were more than originally booked. Of course, any options added at the rental counter would still be at your cost. Contrary to the poor impression this experience has left with you, this is certainly not representative of the high quality of service we strive to give our customers."

A few days after I received a call from Charles the manager at Enterprise. He was apologetic and offered to comp a few days rental. Well, I do not need another rental car. I sent Charles an email asking for a gift card for the difference between the two rentals (about $30.00) and to this day I have not heard back. I thought this very reasonable for the inconvenience. Certainly I would not recommend either of these companies.

I would never use CarRentals.com again. The rates may appear to be good but that isn't the way it turned out. It was a waste of time and an inconvenience. And to Charles at Enterprise...you got my phone number...you have my email. I am still waiting to hear back!

Replies
Advertisement
Scam Artist - Stealing Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I must say... They are probably the greatest scam artists ever... I can only hope that karma really exists. I reserved a car online for a trip a few weeks in advance through carrentals.com. It was advertised that a credit card was needed to reserve the car but it would not be ran until I picked it up. Few days later they charged my card. "Ok, that's fine. I will just pay for it now," I thought.

Get to my destination and Payless Car Rental (who I will also never shop with again) says that they do not take payments from carrentals.com, only reservations. So I need to pay again. Also, the amount for the exact reservation I ordered was over DOUBLE when I got there. They claim that additional taxes prices may vary. The taxes costs more than the car itself. I was stranded. Tried to contact carrentals.com by phone... They make that almost impossible to find a phone number. They said I would have to file a complaint through email. I ruined my entire first day of my trip and spent the next few days stressed over money.

A few days later I tried again and they said that the money would be reimbursed when I dropped off the car. It wasn't. I chose to let my bank deal with it. 3 months later... bank says they can't get the money back. I spent the most time I have ever spent online trying to get a PHONE number to call carrentals.com. They definitely want to avoid people's calls. Got a guy and he says that the car was reported still not picked up. And that I should email them. I want to explode. These people have figured out a way to steal your money and hope that you get so tired of the chase to get it back that you simply give up. I want a lawsuit.

Replies
Went Way Beyond My Expectations to Resolve a Scam With a Car Rental Company
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

WASHINGTON -- I have used Carrentals.com twice before, booking cars in Atlanta and Orlando. I received excellent prices to the point where I was nervous about bait and switch, but both went smoothly. Granted this is more on the rental company, and I've wondered, 'well what can CarRentals.com do if they DO try to rip me off?

Well on a trip to LA I found out. My flight delayed, I looked up the location of the company I booked via CarRentals.com. First thing that came up was a review saying I was charged 5 times as much as my original reservation. As I ran through the airport expecting the worse, I made it just 5 minutes late and was told my rental - which I reserved via CarRentals for about $60 for the weekend - would actually be 89 a day before all the add-ons as if that mattered. After a bit of a battle I left and thinking of the previous review I read, decided to avoid the agency across the way thinking they may be in on it (turns out they do in fact share the same parent company).

I ended up at Alamo where I paid an additional 210 over my original agreement - only slightly less than the amount I refused to pay from the original location. To wrap up this long story, while my complaints to the rental company went unanswered, CarRentals.com was incredibly helpful and responsive, a few times even contacting me when I had given up on hope of this being resolved. Finally, 4 months later I was shocked to receive a reimbursement for the difference in cost from the rental agency!

I'm still amazed they were able and willing to pursue this to the end; I've heard so many horror stories about rental companies that it seemed hopeless: really I was venting with no expectation of getting my money back. Given some of the negative reviews, I can only guess that perhaps they have realized their clout and are now wielding it to keep rental agencies responsible and their clients satisfied? After all, they can really hurt a company's web presence if they want to. I'll certainly use them and recommend them again.

Replies
E-Z Car Rentals
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I was so excited to find a car for three days with such a phenomenal price with unlimited miles. Get to the counter and first I notice a sign that said "We will deduct $200.00 from your account if you use a credit or debit card. No refund will be issued until car is returned then allow up to 10 days for refund." Deep breathe... Too late to not rent the car but ok... I hand the agent my trusted printed out confirmation and before even looking she asked... "Are you flying in," I say no. "Where are you traveling?" North Carolina. She says "Ok we have to charge you per mileage." I said no my reservations say unlimited mileage.

She said "Well if you flew in that would be true but since you are local we have to charge you. I can add that in for you?" Wait... No why doesn't it say that on my reservations??? "Well you have to look down at the very bottom and it says that." I look all over my trusted confirmation and nowhere on the sheet does it say that. "It must be on the terms and condition page." I walk away totally disappointed and pray that my car will make the trip. I cancelled my reservation once I got home and then I see... "You may be charged for cancelling on the same day"... What the what??? I immediately cancelled the reservation I booked for July. This is pure foolishness.

"Thank you for booking at CarRentals.com. Below are the details of your reservation. When you arrive at the E-Z RENT-A-CAR pick-up location, use the confirmation code. Questions about your reservation? Call E-Z RENT-A-Car customer service 404-761-4999.

Your Confirmation Code. Reservation Details. Nissan Versa (or equivalent Compact). Unlimited mileage. Air Conditioning. Automatic. Pick-up. Friday May 20th, 2016, 10:00 AM. ATLANTA - Hartsfield International Airport (ATL). Atlanta International Airport 6000 North Terminal Parkway Atlanta, GA 30320. Drop-off. Monday May 23rd, 2016, 10:00 AM. Atlanta - Hartsfield International Airport (ATL). Atlanta International Airport 6000 North Terminal Parkway Atlanta, GA 30320."

Replies
Advertisement
Run Away as Fast as You Can!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I Googled for car rentals near LAX. One of the first that popped up was CarRentals.com. Looked legit with all the major companies listed. Booked a rental with the lowest priced one - Economy Car rentals. Never heard of it, but whatever. Done deal.

Got into L.A., but plans changed and had to cut my three day stay short. No worries, I'll just return the rental and get refunded. Wrong!!! Economy Car rentals didn't want anything to do with the refund - "call CarRentals.com," I was told, "and they'll refund you." I had to insist to get a receipt which stated that I returned the vehicle early... A little unnerving.

Sent an email to CarRentals.com explaining the situation and requesting a refund, and here's what I got instead: "Unfortunately, you had a prepaid rental which could not be cancelled, changed or refunded. You agreed to these terms at the time you purchased it. As such, there is no refund for early return. Sorry."

Maybe I misunderstood the terms when placing my order. I know I misunderstood the part that says I am not dealing with the actual rental company, but a middleman (Maybe it didn't say that anywhere?). A middleman that does not want to give up a penny they have received from you! I've never heard of such terms with a car rental!

I honestly thought I would be dealing with the actual rental company. Just like you do when you buy an airplane ticket from CheapOair or Orbitz or something. You can call the airline and deal with them. Well, not here. WHY did Economy Car Rentals not tell me this when I went to return the car??? I would have kept it for the duration and let my son use it.

Never, never, never, never again! This goes for both of these dishonest, pathetic, Fly-By-Night companies. These guys haven't even HEARD the word "customer service"! Don't try to save $5/day like I did, go directly with a reputable company. Don't get ripped off! Take your money and RUN away from these highwaymen!!

Replies
Website Info Inaccurate
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I just rented a car from CaRentals.com. I fly into Orlando frequently and decided to check out the prices at CaRentals.com. I found a good price for a car that was listed as being at the airport. (I checked this against other off site rentals that I've used, and they were all listed with their off-airport address.) So I went ahead and booked an Ace rental car (location MCO airport, Orlando, it said), and the Confirmation came back with an off airport address.

It's a non-refundable reservation, so I arrive in Orlando at night with a three hour drive east ahead of me, and I have to wait for a shuttle to take me west to pick up the car. Wouldn't have rented from them if I knew that. My advise: do your own research before committing to a purchase from this company. For me, I'll go back to the businesses that have never steered me wrong. I won't be using CaRentals.com again.

Replies
CarRentals.com Provides No Customer Support
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I made a reservation through CarRentals.com to pickup at the Cleveland Airport Avis counter on May 4, 2016. When arriving at the Avis counter, the agent said I did not have a reservation, so I called the Avis customer support number on my reservation. I was then told my reservation was for somewhere in Canada.

I asked Avis if they could give me a substitute for the same price, but they said they did not have any cars like I had reserved and I would have to talk to CarRentals.com for any compensation for the booking error. When I contacted CarRentals.com, I did get an initial response apologizing for the error and asking me to send in my final bill so they could look at some compensation.

After I sent in my bill, which was nearly three times the cost of my reservation, the customer support agent basically blamed me for the error and said they owed me no compensation. When I responded asking why they came to this conclusion, I never received any more response from CarRentals.com.

If you will notice, on their website, there are no phone numbers that a customer can talk real-time to them and no information regarding their actual physical address. Bottom line, they pretend to provide customer support, but the customer basically has no rights and it is very hard to track this company down as they provide nothing for a customer to contact them in an emergency, just a customer support e-mail address that they will not answer if the customer has a problem that CarRentals.com chooses not to answer.

Replies
Online Car Rental Ripoff
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I get a great PREPAY deal online through CarRentals.com. I picked up my car as planned. Great service at Economy, MCO, Orlando. The catch is that all Economy had was the reservation. I was charged a second time by Economy. They had no record of my prepay purchase and have never heard of that option.

I got home to find no way to access my reservation through CarRentals.com. I had no receipt for the prepay, just a charge on my credit card. Economy rental was glad to help me resolve the problem but needed proof I prepaid because they do not offer that service. So please contact them when I have proof. So my end result is to file a fraud complaint with my credit card. Please be aware of ripoff.

Replies
Advertisement
Not Recommended. Rubbish Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

UK -- We traveled from London to Spain (Malaga airport). We went to collect the car from a company called Goldcar. Despite the fact that we had booked the car through Carrentals.com and paid their insurance, they told us that we needed to leave £1200 deposit. We did not agree. So the only option was to cancel the booking with Carrentals and book directly with Gold Car.

In the booking contract Carrentals' website says that the cancellation on the same collection day is possible. We have to pay a £30 administration fee. So we tried to cancel the contract using the website. They do not give you the option. The calls had to be made to Germany, but our mobile phone would not work in Spain. I tried for 2 hours, using all the buttons in the website, in case I had missed one of them. There was no way I could cancel it.

So we had to stick to a double booking and pay both contracts. I ended up paying a fortune for the car rental. When we came back, I sent them a few emails, with only one answer asking for more details, which I answered. They did not respond. That was 2 weeks ago. Please, do not book a car through them. You will throw you money away.

Replies
Scam!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CARSON CITY, NEVADA -- I booked a car through this website with Advantage Car rental. This was my first experience with Carrentals.com and with Advantage. When reviewing the confirmation it became clear that the car rental lot was not at the airport and required a bus ride. Had that been clear on the reservation page I would not have booked the car. As I was arriving at 9:00 at night in an area I was unfamiliar with I chose to cancel the reservation and get a car from a company at the airport. Carrentals.com promptly advised me that since I had prepaid for the car, my reservation was non-refundable. No amount of discussion would sway them.

Consequently in my attempt to save a little money I have paid for two rental cars. The language advising the customer that the reservation cannot be cancelled is in small greyed out type at the bottom of the page that no one would ever see as no one would be looking for this because no reputable car rental agency has a "no cancellation" policy. This is a scam. Don't rent from them.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Carrentals.com Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 58 ratings and
65 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Carrentals.com
111 Town Square Place, PO Box 26
Jersey City, NJ 07310-1755
201-204-9940 (ph)
www.carrentals.com
Compare Car Rental Companies