Preview Review

Next Review

Carrentals.com Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Not Recommended
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BUFFFALO, NEW YORK -- I had a confirmed reservation with CarRentals.com. (Enterprise Confirmation Code: **) with Enterprise, a company I have used before. On the way to pick up the car I received a call from the Enterprise location. Enterprise called me when I was in route to pick up the car to say "I don't know why you got a reservation, we do not have any cars. Here is a number to call." Thanks for leaving me stranded at the airport. I contacted CarRentals.com and got a generic reply.

Here it is: "CarRentals.com would like to thank you for emailing us with your comments. We continue to strive to meet or exceed our customers' travel expectations and if one of our affiliates does not fulfill their obligation to you, then we appreciate being made aware of their shortcomings. You had a confirmed reservation. There are times due to unforeseen circumstances, such as another renter not returning a vehicle or when unexpected damages occur to the vehicle, which cause the vendor to be unable to provide you a vehicle.

If you were able to obtain a vehicle from another source, you can contact their Customer Service Department to seek reimbursement if the charges were more than originally booked. Of course, any options added at the rental counter would still be at your cost. Contrary to the poor impression this experience has left with you, this is certainly not representative of the high quality of service we strive to give our customers."

A few days after I received a call from Charles the manager at Enterprise. He was apologetic and offered to comp a few days rental. Well, I do not need another rental car. I sent Charles an email asking for a gift card for the difference between the two rentals (about $30.00) and to this day I have not heard back. I thought this very reasonable for the inconvenience. Certainly I would not recommend either of these companies.

I would never use CarRentals.com again. The rates may appear to be good but that isn't the way it turned out. It was a waste of time and an inconvenience. And to Charles at Enterprise...you got my phone number...you have my email. I am still waiting to hear back!

Replies
Advertisement
Run Away as Fast as You Can!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I Googled for car rentals near LAX. One of the first that popped up was CarRentals.com. Looked legit with all the major companies listed. Booked a rental with the lowest priced one - Economy Car rentals. Never heard of it, but whatever. Done deal.

Got into L.A., but plans changed and had to cut my three day stay short. No worries, I'll just return the rental and get refunded. Wrong!!! Economy Car rentals didn't want anything to do with the refund - "call CarRentals.com," I was told, "and they'll refund you." I had to insist to get a receipt which stated that I returned the vehicle early... A little unnerving.

Sent an email to CarRentals.com explaining the situation and requesting a refund, and here's what I got instead: "Unfortunately, you had a prepaid rental which could not be cancelled, changed or refunded. You agreed to these terms at the time you purchased it. As such, there is no refund for early return. Sorry."

Maybe I misunderstood the terms when placing my order. I know I misunderstood the part that says I am not dealing with the actual rental company, but a middleman (Maybe it didn't say that anywhere?). A middleman that does not want to give up a penny they have received from you! I've never heard of such terms with a car rental!

I honestly thought I would be dealing with the actual rental company. Just like you do when you buy an airplane ticket from CheapOair or Orbitz or something. You can call the airline and deal with them. Well, not here. WHY did Economy Car Rentals not tell me this when I went to return the car??? I would have kept it for the duration and let my son use it.

Never, never, never, never again! This goes for both of these dishonest, pathetic, Fly-By-Night companies. These guys haven't even HEARD the word "customer service"! Don't try to save $5/day like I did, go directly with a reputable company. Don't get ripped off! Take your money and RUN away from these highwaymen!!

Replies
Went Way Beyond My Expectations to Resolve a Scam With a Car Rental Company
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

WASHINGTON -- I have used Carrentals.com twice before, booking cars in Atlanta and Orlando. I received excellent prices to the point where I was nervous about bait and switch, but both went smoothly. Granted this is more on the rental company, and I've wondered, 'well what can CarRentals.com do if they DO try to rip me off?

Well on a trip to LA I found out. My flight delayed, I looked up the location of the company I booked via CarRentals.com. First thing that came up was a review saying I was charged 5 times as much as my original reservation. As I ran through the airport expecting the worse, I made it just 5 minutes late and was told my rental - which I reserved via CarRentals for about $60 for the weekend - would actually be 89 a day before all the add-ons as if that mattered. After a bit of a battle I left and thinking of the previous review I read, decided to avoid the agency across the way thinking they may be in on it (turns out they do in fact share the same parent company).

I ended up at Alamo where I paid an additional 210 over my original agreement - only slightly less than the amount I refused to pay from the original location. To wrap up this long story, while my complaints to the rental company went unanswered, CarRentals.com was incredibly helpful and responsive, a few times even contacting me when I had given up on hope of this being resolved. Finally, 4 months later I was shocked to receive a reimbursement for the difference in cost from the rental agency!

I'm still amazed they were able and willing to pursue this to the end; I've heard so many horror stories about rental companies that it seemed hopeless: really I was venting with no expectation of getting my money back. Given some of the negative reviews, I can only guess that perhaps they have realized their clout and are now wielding it to keep rental agencies responsible and their clients satisfied? After all, they can really hurt a company's web presence if they want to. I'll certainly use them and recommend them again.

Replies
E-Z Car Rentals
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I was so excited to find a car for three days with such a phenomenal price with unlimited miles. Get to the counter and first I notice a sign that said "We will deduct $200.00 from your account if you use a credit or debit card. No refund will be issued until car is returned then allow up to 10 days for refund." Deep breathe... Too late to not rent the car but ok... I hand the agent my trusted printed out confirmation and before even looking she asked... "Are you flying in," I say no. "Where are you traveling?" North Carolina. She says "Ok we have to charge you per mileage." I said no my reservations say unlimited mileage.

She said "Well if you flew in that would be true but since you are local we have to charge you. I can add that in for you?" Wait... No why doesn't it say that on my reservations??? "Well you have to look down at the very bottom and it says that." I look all over my trusted confirmation and nowhere on the sheet does it say that. "It must be on the terms and condition page." I walk away totally disappointed and pray that my car will make the trip. I cancelled my reservation once I got home and then I see... "You may be charged for cancelling on the same day"... What the what??? I immediately cancelled the reservation I booked for July. This is pure foolishness.

"Thank you for booking at CarRentals.com. Below are the details of your reservation. When you arrive at the E-Z RENT-A-CAR pick-up location, use the confirmation code. Questions about your reservation? Call E-Z RENT-A-Car customer service 404-761-4999.

Your Confirmation Code. Reservation Details. Nissan Versa (or equivalent Compact). Unlimited mileage. Air Conditioning. Automatic. Pick-up. Friday May 20th, 2016, 10:00 AM. ATLANTA - Hartsfield International Airport (ATL). Atlanta International Airport 6000 North Terminal Parkway Atlanta, GA 30320. Drop-off. Monday May 23rd, 2016, 10:00 AM. Atlanta - Hartsfield International Airport (ATL). Atlanta International Airport 6000 North Terminal Parkway Atlanta, GA 30320."

Replies
Advertisement
Website Info Inaccurate
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I just rented a car from CaRentals.com. I fly into Orlando frequently and decided to check out the prices at CaRentals.com. I found a good price for a car that was listed as being at the airport. (I checked this against other off site rentals that I've used, and they were all listed with their off-airport address.) So I went ahead and booked an Ace rental car (location MCO airport, Orlando, it said), and the Confirmation came back with an off airport address.

It's a non-refundable reservation, so I arrive in Orlando at night with a three hour drive east ahead of me, and I have to wait for a shuttle to take me west to pick up the car. Wouldn't have rented from them if I knew that. My advise: do your own research before committing to a purchase from this company. For me, I'll go back to the businesses that have never steered me wrong. I won't be using CaRentals.com again.

Replies
Don't Rent From CarRentals.com.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I canceled a reservation within the time frame allowed... The reservation did not complete as expected and I didn't receive a confirmation notice. Unfortunately I was on the road in Europe and had difficulty checking my email to see whether it eventually came through. Only to find that it did not cancel and I did not receive a refund for my prepaid rental. I contacted support only to be told that it was beyond the time that I could cancel. Making it difficult to cancel within the allowed time frame is a bait and switch technique to rip off customers. In the past I was extremely happy with CarRentals.com, but no longer.

Replies
Scam You with Deceptive Pickup Location for Your Vehicle
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA -- I booked a HERTZ rental car through CARRENTALS.COM for pickup at Panama City Beaches Airport (ECP). What happened was they deceptively lie when you are making the reservation about where your car will be, then they leave no phone # ANYWHERE to contact them. Only AFTER you make your non-refundable reservation do they tell you that your car needs to be picked up 23 miles from the airport and that you will have no transportation to go pick up your vehicle. Then they refuse to help you after stealing your money. BEWARE. Avoid CarRentals.com at all costs or be sorry like we were.

Replies
Car Rental
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BANGKOK -- Booked a 7 seat SUV to pick up at the airport on my arrival to Bangkok. The website said book now as this vehicle was popular. I did this and entered all my details and credit card. On arrival to Bangkok I went to rental counter and signed all documents as requested and was shown to my car. A 5 seater sedan was the car they had for me. So now how do I get my family to fit 5 seats when we need 7? Disgraceful car rental company and they did nothing to assist, resolve the problem. They also continued to advertise the 7 seat car for the same period as being available.

My advice is to keep well away from this company and use the more reputable companies. They totally stuffed up the start of our family holiday and caused us to remain in Bangkok for 2 days to enable us to book another car to go on our trip. The worst rental experience I have had.

Replies
Advertisement
NOT Recommended
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- Secured a rental car from carrentals.com. ACE Rental was the company that we went with. Reserved a Fiat "or similar" and when we arrived, they never carried Fiats but stated they had a comparable type, a Nissan Versa. This vehicle had manual doors, manual windows (did not even know they made cars with manual roll down windows anymore!) and manual side mirrors. This was hardly an "or similar" vehicle. In addition, the company was not even open during the hour we needed to return the car to make our flight, but they did offer us the option to drop off the car at a parking service lot for an additional cost!

Being very dissatisfied with the rental, I contacted carrentals.com and expressed my concerns, and they could care less. Did not offer any type of concession and made excuses as to the "or similar" vehicle type. The response was less than customer friendly and said next time, choose a different vendor. End of discussion! I do not recommend reserving a vehicle through carrentals.com or with ACE car rental as their selection of cars is less than appealing and not as advertised. Do not be fooled with the lowest cost of renting a car, because in the end, I feel like I still got ripped off and paid way too much for this thing they call a vehicle!

Replies
Unsavory Policies and Misleading Advertisement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- Do not rent from this company. I have rented many a car and never have been lied to such as this. I purchased ahead which I never do and this is why. I booked through them. They were a few dollars cheaper than Enterprise and other companies. Well the reservation was for a Yaris or like Yaris type car, unlimited miles and automatic. Well I get to the EZ rental car place and I was informed that because I am local that I don't get what made me book in the first place, the unlimited miles. Instead I am told that I get 150 miles and then I will be charged .60 per mile, which defeats the purpose of me renting. I wanted unlimited like it stated on the face of the reservation.

I called CarRentals.com and no answer. I sent an email, no response. And of course it states no refunds, cancellations, or whatever else so I am not hopeful that I will get my $50 back. I think if it states unlimited mileage why should I have to dig in the terms and condition to find out that with this company's unlimited really isn't unlimited?

I looked at the insurance information and what items I needed at the counter. Not once did I think I need to look at the mileage as in it was posted next the price as unlimited. No restrictions notated, etc. So don't use this company or EZ Rental as they mislead their patrons and offer no assistance. VERY UPSET. RIPPED OFF. UNSAVORY COMPANY POLICY. DON'T RENT THROUGH THEM.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Carrentals.com Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 65 ratings and
72 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Carrentals.com
111 Town Square Place, PO Box 26
Jersey City, NJ 07310-1755
201-204-9940 (ph)
www.carrentals.com
Compare Car Rental Companies