Preview Review

Next Review

Carrentals.com Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Not Recommended
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BUFFFALO, NEW YORK -- I had a confirmed reservation with CarRentals.com. (Enterprise Confirmation Code: **) with Enterprise, a company I have used before. On the way to pick up the car I received a call from the Enterprise location. Enterprise called me when I was in route to pick up the car to say "I don't know why you got a reservation, we do not have any cars. Here is a number to call." Thanks for leaving me stranded at the airport. I contacted CarRentals.com and got a generic reply.

Here it is: "CarRentals.com would like to thank you for emailing us with your comments. We continue to strive to meet or exceed our customers' travel expectations and if one of our affiliates does not fulfill their obligation to you, then we appreciate being made aware of their shortcomings. You had a confirmed reservation. There are times due to unforeseen circumstances, such as another renter not returning a vehicle or when unexpected damages occur to the vehicle, which cause the vendor to be unable to provide you a vehicle.

If you were able to obtain a vehicle from another source, you can contact their Customer Service Department to seek reimbursement if the charges were more than originally booked. Of course, any options added at the rental counter would still be at your cost. Contrary to the poor impression this experience has left with you, this is certainly not representative of the high quality of service we strive to give our customers."

A few days after I received a call from Charles the manager at Enterprise. He was apologetic and offered to comp a few days rental. Well, I do not need another rental car. I sent Charles an email asking for a gift card for the difference between the two rentals (about $30.00) and to this day I have not heard back. I thought this very reasonable for the inconvenience. Certainly I would not recommend either of these companies.

I would never use CarRentals.com again. The rates may appear to be good but that isn't the way it turned out. It was a waste of time and an inconvenience. And to Charles at Enterprise...you got my phone number...you have my email. I am still waiting to hear back!

Replies
Advertisement
Run Away as Fast as You Can!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I Googled for car rentals near LAX. One of the first that popped up was CarRentals.com. Looked legit with all the major companies listed. Booked a rental with the lowest priced one - Economy Car rentals. Never heard of it, but whatever. Done deal.

Got into L.A., but plans changed and had to cut my three day stay short. No worries, I'll just return the rental and get refunded. Wrong!!! Economy Car rentals didn't want anything to do with the refund - "call CarRentals.com," I was told, "and they'll refund you." I had to insist to get a receipt which stated that I returned the vehicle early... A little unnerving.

Sent an email to CarRentals.com explaining the situation and requesting a refund, and here's what I got instead: "Unfortunately, you had a prepaid rental which could not be cancelled, changed or refunded. You agreed to these terms at the time you purchased it. As such, there is no refund for early return. Sorry."

Maybe I misunderstood the terms when placing my order. I know I misunderstood the part that says I am not dealing with the actual rental company, but a middleman (Maybe it didn't say that anywhere?). A middleman that does not want to give up a penny they have received from you! I've never heard of such terms with a car rental!

I honestly thought I would be dealing with the actual rental company. Just like you do when you buy an airplane ticket from CheapOair or Orbitz or something. You can call the airline and deal with them. Well, not here. WHY did Economy Car Rentals not tell me this when I went to return the car??? I would have kept it for the duration and let my son use it.

Never, never, never, never again! This goes for both of these dishonest, pathetic, Fly-By-Night companies. These guys haven't even HEARD the word "customer service"! Don't try to save $5/day like I did, go directly with a reputable company. Don't get ripped off! Take your money and RUN away from these highwaymen!!

Replies
Went Way Beyond My Expectations to Resolve a Scam With a Car Rental Company
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

WASHINGTON -- I have used Carrentals.com twice before, booking cars in Atlanta and Orlando. I received excellent prices to the point where I was nervous about bait and switch, but both went smoothly. Granted this is more on the rental company, and I've wondered, 'well what can CarRentals.com do if they DO try to rip me off?

Well on a trip to LA I found out. My flight delayed, I looked up the location of the company I booked via CarRentals.com. First thing that came up was a review saying I was charged 5 times as much as my original reservation. As I ran through the airport expecting the worse, I made it just 5 minutes late and was told my rental - which I reserved via CarRentals for about $60 for the weekend - would actually be 89 a day before all the add-ons as if that mattered. After a bit of a battle I left and thinking of the previous review I read, decided to avoid the agency across the way thinking they may be in on it (turns out they do in fact share the same parent company).

I ended up at Alamo where I paid an additional 210 over my original agreement - only slightly less than the amount I refused to pay from the original location. To wrap up this long story, while my complaints to the rental company went unanswered, CarRentals.com was incredibly helpful and responsive, a few times even contacting me when I had given up on hope of this being resolved. Finally, 4 months later I was shocked to receive a reimbursement for the difference in cost from the rental agency!

I'm still amazed they were able and willing to pursue this to the end; I've heard so many horror stories about rental companies that it seemed hopeless: really I was venting with no expectation of getting my money back. Given some of the negative reviews, I can only guess that perhaps they have realized their clout and are now wielding it to keep rental agencies responsible and their clients satisfied? After all, they can really hurt a company's web presence if they want to. I'll certainly use them and recommend them again.

Replies
E-Z Car Rentals
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I was so excited to find a car for three days with such a phenomenal price with unlimited miles. Get to the counter and first I notice a sign that said "We will deduct $200.00 from your account if you use a credit or debit card. No refund will be issued until car is returned then allow up to 10 days for refund." Deep breathe... Too late to not rent the car but ok... I hand the agent my trusted printed out confirmation and before even looking she asked... "Are you flying in," I say no. "Where are you traveling?" North Carolina. She says "Ok we have to charge you per mileage." I said no my reservations say unlimited mileage.

She said "Well if you flew in that would be true but since you are local we have to charge you. I can add that in for you?" Wait... No why doesn't it say that on my reservations??? "Well you have to look down at the very bottom and it says that." I look all over my trusted confirmation and nowhere on the sheet does it say that. "It must be on the terms and condition page." I walk away totally disappointed and pray that my car will make the trip. I cancelled my reservation once I got home and then I see... "You may be charged for cancelling on the same day"... What the what??? I immediately cancelled the reservation I booked for July. This is pure foolishness.

"Thank you for booking at CarRentals.com. Below are the details of your reservation. When you arrive at the E-Z RENT-A-CAR pick-up location, use the confirmation code. Questions about your reservation? Call E-Z RENT-A-Car customer service 404-761-4999.

Your Confirmation Code. Reservation Details. Nissan Versa (or equivalent Compact). Unlimited mileage. Air Conditioning. Automatic. Pick-up. Friday May 20th, 2016, 10:00 AM. ATLANTA - Hartsfield International Airport (ATL). Atlanta International Airport 6000 North Terminal Parkway Atlanta, GA 30320. Drop-off. Monday May 23rd, 2016, 10:00 AM. Atlanta - Hartsfield International Airport (ATL). Atlanta International Airport 6000 North Terminal Parkway Atlanta, GA 30320."

Replies
Advertisement
Website Info Inaccurate
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I just rented a car from CaRentals.com. I fly into Orlando frequently and decided to check out the prices at CaRentals.com. I found a good price for a car that was listed as being at the airport. (I checked this against other off site rentals that I've used, and they were all listed with their off-airport address.) So I went ahead and booked an Ace rental car (location MCO airport, Orlando, it said), and the Confirmation came back with an off airport address.

It's a non-refundable reservation, so I arrive in Orlando at night with a three hour drive east ahead of me, and I have to wait for a shuttle to take me west to pick up the car. Wouldn't have rented from them if I knew that. My advise: do your own research before committing to a purchase from this company. For me, I'll go back to the businesses that have never steered me wrong. I won't be using CaRentals.com again.

Replies
Unsavory Policies and Misleading Advertisement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- Do not rent from this company. I have rented many a car and never have been lied to such as this. I purchased ahead which I never do and this is why. I booked through them. They were a few dollars cheaper than Enterprise and other companies. Well the reservation was for a Yaris or like Yaris type car, unlimited miles and automatic. Well I get to the EZ rental car place and I was informed that because I am local that I don't get what made me book in the first place, the unlimited miles. Instead I am told that I get 150 miles and then I will be charged .60 per mile, which defeats the purpose of me renting. I wanted unlimited like it stated on the face of the reservation.

I called CarRentals.com and no answer. I sent an email, no response. And of course it states no refunds, cancellations, or whatever else so I am not hopeful that I will get my $50 back. I think if it states unlimited mileage why should I have to dig in the terms and condition to find out that with this company's unlimited really isn't unlimited?

I looked at the insurance information and what items I needed at the counter. Not once did I think I need to look at the mileage as in it was posted next the price as unlimited. No restrictions notated, etc. So don't use this company or EZ Rental as they mislead their patrons and offer no assistance. VERY UPSET. RIPPED OFF. UNSAVORY COMPANY POLICY. DON'T RENT THROUGH THEM.

Replies
STAY AWAY.. Hidden Fees, No Changes
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- One price is advertised but the hidden charges of facility fees and taxes will DOUBLE YOUR RATE. I also needed to make a change. That is NOT ALLOWED. I am out my $25 even though Customer Support said they would see about changing the date since my flight date changed. When I complained, they claimed they would check on it for me if I would give them the new date of the flight, etc. ABSOLUTELY NO RESPONSE when I provided this for them. The NO CHANGE is not disclosed until AFTER you pay for it. Book directly with the car company or someone reputable. I only needed the car for 4 hours!

Replies
Poor Service and No One to Talk To!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DENVER, COLORADO -- Scheduled a car to be rented and picked up at Denver International Airport. Everything was entered correctly and looked good. When the confirmation came via email, it scheduled the pickup in Lakewood, CO (about 25 miles away from the airport). There is no phone number to contact on ANY of their information. Customer Service has a email address, but it was worthless.

Then I saw where this company belonged to - Expedia. Call Expedia and they were marathon worthless, they gave me a number for Avis Rental. Too bad I was renting from Hertz. I finally got a hold of a nice agent from Hertz who got me out of the reservation for a cost of $50.00. This company needs to be out of business. If only I could find a telephone number or legal address to this company.

Replies
Advertisement
CarRentals.com Provides No Customer Support
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I made a reservation through CarRentals.com to pickup at the Cleveland Airport Avis counter on May 4, 2016. When arriving at the Avis counter, the agent said I did not have a reservation, so I called the Avis customer support number on my reservation. I was then told my reservation was for somewhere in Canada.

I asked Avis if they could give me a substitute for the same price, but they said they did not have any cars like I had reserved and I would have to talk to CarRentals.com for any compensation for the booking error. When I contacted CarRentals.com, I did get an initial response apologizing for the error and asking me to send in my final bill so they could look at some compensation.

After I sent in my bill, which was nearly three times the cost of my reservation, the customer support agent basically blamed me for the error and said they owed me no compensation. When I responded asking why they came to this conclusion, I never received any more response from CarRentals.com.

If you will notice, on their website, there are no phone numbers that a customer can talk real-time to them and no information regarding their actual physical address. Bottom line, they pretend to provide customer support, but the customer basically has no rights and it is very hard to track this company down as they provide nothing for a customer to contact them in an emergency, just a customer support e-mail address that they will not answer if the customer has a problem that CarRentals.com chooses not to answer.

Replies
Online Car Rental Ripoff
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I get a great PREPAY deal online through CarRentals.com. I picked up my car as planned. Great service at Economy, MCO, Orlando. The catch is that all Economy had was the reservation. I was charged a second time by Economy. They had no record of my prepay purchase and have never heard of that option.

I got home to find no way to access my reservation through CarRentals.com. I had no receipt for the prepay, just a charge on my credit card. Economy rental was glad to help me resolve the problem but needed proof I prepaid because they do not offer that service. So please contact them when I have proof. So my end result is to file a fraud complaint with my credit card. Please be aware of ripoff.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Carrentals.com Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 61 ratings and
68 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Carrentals.com
111 Town Square Place, PO Box 26
Jersey City, NJ 07310-1755
201-204-9940 (ph)
www.carrentals.com
Compare Car Rental Companies