Preview Review

Next Review

Castle, The Window People

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
2.1 out of 5, based on 27 ratings and
32 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Castle, The Window People
109 Gaither Dr.
Mt Laurel, NJ 08054
800-360-4400 (ph)
www.castlewindows.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
PROFESSIONAL
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

MY -- I am retired from a sales position, so I know bull when I see it. Let me say that the salesperson that showed up, right on time, was very knowledgeable and curious. He wiped his feet and asked if he needed to remove his shoes!!! I told him no need but this shows he is considerate. I will keep this short. Not pushy at all, answered all my questions, but what I was impressed with the most was when he shared the price of the job. I told him that I thought it was slightly more than we wanted to spend, and that we were getting 4 estimates and he was first. He said that I should get multiple estimates to see what other companies offer.

After sitting with him another half hour, the next thing I knew I was writing a check for $1,500, the deposit!! Moral of all this is if you set up multiple estimates and the first company out is Castle, and Craig is the sales rep, he will show the risk that you will take in not doing business with Castle! Plus he got me $1400 off the price!!! I have had minor issues with my screens on the double hungs and they were out to fix them in 2 days!! Overall, I would definitely recommend Castle Windows to anyone!! Best windows, pricing, and warranty in the industry!!! No sub-contractors, and if all of their sales reps are like Craig you're in great hands!!!

Replies
Advertisement
By Far the Most Positive Experience Ever With a Company.
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

GLASTONBURY, CONNECTICUT -- From the first introduction to Castle Windows, having the sales representative come to my home, I was thoroughly impressed with his knowledge as well as the quality of the product. Since I live in a condominium, there are many hurdles to overcome prior to installation.

I can honestly say that the people at Castle were (with few exceptions) responsive whenever I had questions, and with keeping me and the condo management company 'in the loop'. Once given the green light, and the installation took place, I can honestly say that I could find zero fault with any aspect of the delivery, install, and clean-up. The men who did the work were all very efficient, well-trained, courteous and took great pride in their work. I would not hesitate to recommend Castle Windows. They are a class act.

Replies
Windows Installed and a Siding Glass Door
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

NEW JERSEY -- The salesperson was very friendly and informative. We have your windows and door for over 25 year with no problem. The installers who put my window in were on time. Very friendly, took their time, did a great job and when they left my house was spotless. I give them a two thumbs up.

Replies
Bad Bad and Bad
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

N.J. -- Order placed 10/8/2015. Measured window and door 11/2/2015. Re-measured 11/31/2015. Came to install window 12/17/2015 - had door but didn't bring, oh yeah window wrong size and no grates in window and raining. Door had been in for 3-4 weeks. 1/26/2016 talked to service manager he checked window and found window had no grates so ordered again. Called Castle on 2-2-2106 to find out what's going on and found out window was ordered again and expect delivery the Castle on 2/26/2016. So I guess I'll have door and window maybe this year.

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Bad and Bad
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Surprise... Kevin from Castle Windows Customer Care called today and managed to get an appointment scheduled to finish my installation on May 7th instead of end of month or next month. Seemed to really try to resolve door issues once and for all. Hope this will finish my 7 month install. Wish I had him to contact a long time ago. 5-2-16.

Replies
Bad Bad and Bad
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Surprise... Kevin from Castle Windows Customer Care called today and managed to get an appointment scheduled to finish my installation on May 7th instead of end of month or next month. Seemed to really try to resolve door issues once and for all. Hope this will finish my 7 month install. Wish I had him to contact a long time ago. 5-2-16.

Replies
Bad, Bad and Bad
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ELKTON, MARYLAND -- Still trying to get job finished 10-8-15 order continuing problems on initial order. Now being told June 4th to get door knob and lock we ordered installed. Only available in my area 9-1 and 1-5 on Tuesdays and Thursdays but not when ask about dates I was available. DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY. All sounds good but bad scheduling and delivery!!! Going on 8 months for a proper job for 1 window and 1 door, just imagine if I had whole house done!!!

Replies
Amazingly Frustrating!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MT LAUREL, NEW JERSEY -- First, let me say that I've worked in the Construction Industry all my life…most currently as a Project Manager so I'm not a naive person who knows nothing about windows or their installation. I'm at a point in my life where it benefits me to have other people do work for me that in the past I would have done myself. I'm also the type of person who never seems to have the time nor desire to give product or company reviews but this time I felt compelled to let others know about my experience.

We had a large window that we wanted to replace in the front of our home. It's approximately 10' wide by 4' high. I requested an in home sales consultation from Castle Windows, “The Window People” located at 109 Gaither Dr., Unit 309, Mt Laurel, NJ 08054 and 17 Brenneman Circle, Suite A, Mechanicsburg, PA 17050. A Castle Window sales consultant came to our home (15 minutes late) on October 3, 2015 after postponing his originally scheduled appointment from the day before. We decided to go with Castle Windows to have a replacement window unit installed.

The sales consultant said the replacement unit would be installed in approximately 6 weeks but that he'd try to expedite it and have it installed in 5 weeks. I gave the sales consultant a check for $700 as a down payment. He didn't have the contract forms that he needed but said if I didn't mind he'd mail me one in a couple of days and if I'd just complete the form where indicated and put it back in the mail we'd be good to go. After the first week of not receiving this contract as promised and no contact whatsoever from their joke of a salesman, I called Castle Windows to ask what was going on.

Let me just say that Castle Windows' offices/customer service turned out to be as big of a circus as the clown they sent to my home. Customer service reps on several occasions said they'd have a manager call me but the calls never came. After about a week of chasing Castle Windows to try to give them my business (now two weeks had gone by and my order's still not in Castle Windows' “system”) I get a call from **, Castle's Sales Consultant. He said he'd hand deliver the contract and we'd get this straightened out. He never showed up…no call, no anything…he just never showed.

I chased Castle and ** the sales representative some more to try to give them my business. Finally, after about three weeks after the original sales consultation in my home on October 3, 2015, I get a call from a Castle Window representative who sets an appointment with me in a few days for one of their men to come to my home to measure for the window unit. The day of this appointment I get a call that the appointment would have to be rescheduled for the next day (seeing a pattern here? Initial sales consultation was rescheduled and now measurement appointment was too).

We came home later that same day to find a contract form filled out by ** lying on our breezeway. As I started to review the contract I noticed that my name was spelled wrong. After all the calls you'd think they'd be able to spell my last name correctly…especially since they had my check in their possession for the last three weeks! Oh well, I was still willing to continue with the transaction if nothing else pops up…and then it does…at the end of the contract I see a fill in the blank of “Estimated Installation Date”. ** has handwritten in this field “January, 2016”!! The last time I looked at a calendar January is not 5-6 weeks past Oct. 3rd.

By that point, Castle Windows had wasted enough of my time. My confidence in them was shattered… I mean, if I have to chase a company like this just to get a signed contract with them to get them started, what will I go through to get the window installed?? And I can't imagine the hassle I'd be put through if I had to contact them with a warranty issue!! No thanks Castle! I cancelled my check and called Castle Windows to tell them not to bother sending their measurement guy. They proceeded to tell me that I'd have to follow some cancellation procedure and they'd have one of their managers call me.

I said I don't have to do anything… I have no signed contract with Castle Windows and I've cancelled the down payment check. They said they were sorry for the inconvenience and a Castle Window manager would be calling me…you guessed it…no one ever called! Moral of my story is don't waste your time with Castle Windows. Home Depot will install a better quality window with a warranty that's as good as or better than Castle Windows'. My take on Castle Windows is that they strive for sales quantity and score poorly in customer satisfaction.

It became obvious to me that there's a disconnect in their system that causes poor communication between their sales people and their main offices. If Castle Windows' intercommunication is poor think how you'll pull your hair out trying to communicate with them…I know… I've lived it…it's VERY frustrating! The only thing Castle Windows “The Window People” did for me was to cost me a month of my time and the $10 I had to pay to cancel my down payment check. Buyer beware…steer clear of Castle Windows…they can't keep up with their ambitions.

Replies
Advertisement
Happy With Purchase
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

PARAMOUS, NEW JERSEY -- I called Castle Windows after seeing one of their fliers in my local newspaper. They were the 3rd company that I had come to my house for an estimate. I was looking to replace all of the windows in my home but was shopping for the best price and of course, the right product. The total was 18 windows. The sales representative was on time, answered all my questions, and told me about the company's lifetime guarantee. When it came to price it was a little high. But he mentioned that if I signed the contract that day he could save me a lot of money.

He gave me the new price and the difference was nearly $3,000. Not to mention that it was over $5,000 cheaper than any of the other companies. Me and my wife discussed it. We liked the window and the guarantee, so we decided to go with them. That same night my wife was Goggling Castle and found this website. I read the reviews and got scared. We almost cancelled the entire order, but my wife made a good point. People don't go online to write positive reviews, but they certainly write a review if they are unhappy in any way. And considering a company of this size and all the business they do, theirs bound to be some unhappy customers.

We also read a lot of positive reviews on this website and others so we decided to keep our contract. A few weeks later the installers showed up on time with two trucks and 6 guys! They worked from 9 am until dark. After that they cleaned everything up and to my astonishment were completely finished in just one day. The windows look great and I can notice that my central air unit is not kicking on nearly as often as before. The house is definitely cooler and considering we live on a busy street, even quieter. So despite the negative reviews, this company so far has lived up to everything they claimed.

Yes, the original price was a little high, but by signing the contract the first night we saved a lot of money. And the final price was way below what we ever expected. They also asked for only 1/3 down opposed to 1/2 like the other companies. This made me more confident that I didn't have to pay the balance until all of the work was completed. As long as the windows stand the test of time like I expect them to, I will be asking Castle to do my shore house as well.

Replies
They Do Not Fix Their Mistakes
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEWINGTON, CONNECTICUT -- I had Castle Windows install two exterior doors and new shutters on the front of the house. The first annoyance was that they did not tell me until the end of the day of the door installation that the shutters were back ordered and would not be installed until several weeks later. Also, they did not bring along an additional lock set that was supposed to be installed on the back door so that all of the exterior doors had the same key.

They were expecting me to pay the whole bill and I had to force them to back out the cost of the shutters and lock set. The doors were installed about 6 weeks after the initial order. You would think that they could have told me that there was a back order issue sometime during those weeks. There was no back order issue with the lock set. They just neglected to order it at all. Luckily it was specified in the contract, as I had to point out to them.

I did not discover the second problem until I attempted to paint the trim and found that they used unpaintable silicone caulk! Who in their right mind caulks trim with unpaintable caulk? When I called them to fix the problem, they basically told me to take a hike. They told me that I could use an oil based primer and it would work over silicone. Google it. There is NOTHING that sticks to silicone caulk. Everything peels right off once it dries. Now I am stuck with scraping off the old caulk before I can paint. Castle Windows does not fix their mistakes. Don't make the mistake of using them. Find someone with some integrity.

If you should unwisely choose to use this company, make absolutely sure that everything is spelled out explicitly in writing in the contract. If it is not in the contract, they will weasel out of it. Even if it is in the contract and not perfectly clear, they will try to weasel out if it. And to top it all off, I keep on getting calls from their sales people trying to sell me more stuff. I tell them that I will never do business with them again and to take me off their list, but the calls keep coming. Good luck! You'll need it if you use these people.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >