Century Motors of South Florida

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
7 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
BUYER BEWARE - Frank is Unprofessional, Egotistical, and has no regard for customer service/respect.
Posted by on
POMPANO BEACH, FLORIDA -- I drove for four hours to get to the dealership AFTER calling them BEFORE I LEFT giving them plenty of time to prepare the vehicle for showing it to me. I get there, look over the vehicle for some time, then I get to the engine. I open up the air cleaner and there is a huge mouse nest that filled the air filter/cleaner compartment with a two-inch hole through the air filter. No windshield washer fluid in the reservoir, also, so I couldn't test that if I wanted to. I refused to turn on the engine to test the vehicle not wanting that garbage from the air filter compartment to get sucked up into the engine. These things are a lack of attention to detail and are so simple to fix. Taking the 10 minutes BEFORE the customer gets there to fix stuff like that would leave a "better taste in the customer's mouth" making them feel better about spending thousands of dollars at their dealership.
The man, Matt (Frank's nephew), who showed me the vehicle was very nice, professional, and sympathetic with me and apologized to me for the inconvenience. We go and talk with Frank about it and blows it all off like it's no big deal - "Don't worry, the engine will just burn the stuff up" were his words. Ya, I don't think so. If I were to go plant a rat's nest in the air cleaner compartment of his vehicle he would be throwing a fit. He said that they would take care of it. My point is that they had plenty of time to prepare the truck for viewing and this presentation of the vehicle was absolutely unprofessional for a dealer asking MORE than retail book for the truck.

The particular truck I looked at was also involved in an accident. He has in his advertisement on eBay that it has never had an accident. Ebay provides an "autocheck" that revealed the accident on record. Frank told me that his Carfax says no accident on record. He said, "you get what you pay for" regarding that he pays for Carfax. I told him that it looks like he is getting ripped off by Carfax because they are not revealing the full details of the car. Oh boy, he didn't like that - you could see his blood boiling. You see, when it comes to Frank, he can dish it out, but as soon as you call him on his BS, he goes ballistic. Very unprofessional and someone who is very unpleasant to deal with.

Frank is extremely arrogant, egotistical, and full of himself. He has no care in the world for inconveniencing a customer. He demands excellent condition retail or more than retail for his cars when they are not in excellent condition. He says that they buy their vehicles for higher prices. Please don't be fooled by that typical auto salesperson jargon. If they purchased their vehicles for near retail and tried to sell them for a little higher they wouldn't be in business!
BUYER BEWARE!!! Take the time to find a different vehicle from someone else and buy it from them!!!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 2011-08-13:
As you said, buyer beware. Partcularly if you're responding to an ad for a costly item like a vehicle on e-bay or Craigslist, etc. At least you saved some other consumer a trip by posting your review.
jack on 2013-09-02:
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, I will move on to another seller. I was looking at a 7 yr. old cargo van they are advertising with only 46K miles on it. (owned by a little old lady I assume)
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Beware of Hidden Mechanical Problems
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
POMPANO BEACH, FLORIDA -- On March 14, 2014, I flew to Fort Lauderdale and met with the manager, Austin. I was looking for a 97 or 98 Lincoln Mark with low miles that was in excellent condition. At the time, this particular car, was the second highest priced similar model listed on any of the major used car sites. I was willing to pay top dollar to receive a low mileage vehicle in excellent shape. Upon arriving, I was told the vehicle was being washed and readied for sale. After inspection, I noticed that the rear window seal was wavy from sun damage and that the defroster/ heater did not operate correctly. I was told the defroster issue just needed to warm up and the seal would cost about $200 to repair. I agreed to reduce my offer by $100. I purchased the vehicle and brought it back to Jacksonville. Since then, I have determined the window seal is not available and $800 to repair. The defroster needed a new blend door actuator and was $700 (5 hours labor just to dissemble dash); The air conditioner /compressor was completely shot and needed to be replaced, $800. The brake calipers were rusted ( one did not operate and one later seized) and the rotors warped, $ 850. The plug wire harness and boots were completely corroded and needed to be replaced, $250. Additional services including transmission service, radiator service and oil, $225. All total over $3600. I recognize I purchased an old car in "As Is " condition and was prepared to spend some money on servicing it. However, the most disappointing part about all of this is that Century took active steps to conceal some of these issues, some with safety implications, at the time of sale.

Obviously these issues would have had an impact on the value and price of the vehicle. For example, the window seal and defroster issues are apparently common to this vehicle model and well known in the industry. Instead, I was specifically told these were minor issues and even quoted a price of $200. Also, the AC compressor showed evidence of being recently charged, which allowed it to blow cold air for a couple of days during the purchase period. Upon inspection however, the old compressor had green dye stains all over it, where it had been leaking for some time and obviously known to your maintenance people. Similarly, and most shocking, the brakes had new pads installed over corroded calipers and warped rotors, again concealing the true nature of the condition of the vehicle. These are all common examples of used car tricks expected from shoddy fly-by-night operators. I expected more. Not only because I specifically was purchasing a low mileage "cream puff" but because Century advertises its company as a dealer that emphasizes customer service and "fully serviced vehicles." Moreover, the owner claims to be President of the trade association. Not a good example for the industry.

Needless to say, this experience has left me very disappointed and dissatisfied with Century Motors aka Floridacars1.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Great Service Does Still Exist
Posted by on
POMPANO, FLORIDA -- Hello all! Just wanted to drop a quick note to share a great recent experience with everyone. I was shopping very hard for a Jeep Wrangler Sahara recently. It was a gift for my son so it had to be just right, had to look a certain way. You know what I mean. Well after an exhausting local search that didn't result in what I was looking for I went on-line. I found exactly what I was looking for but I live in Michigan and it was located at Century Motors in South Florida! Now I can't go flying willy nilly around the country looking at vehicles and buying one without seeing it in person scared me pretty good I will admit. After reviewing the many well taken photos and excellent description I read the accompanying story of Century Motors and it's owners Frank and Gina. I decided to give them a call and spoke with Frank. It didn't take me long to get a good feeling about doing business with these folks and it was the best car purchase decision I ever made. Frank and his staff handled the shipping and everything and treated me as if they were taking care of a life long customer that lived next door. Everything went flawless and when I received the vehicle I swear It was even BETTER than the pictures I had already conjured up in my head. There was a small problen with the blinkers and when I called to make Frank aware he immediately put me in touch with his head mechanic Greg. Greg shipped me what he believed I needed to correct the issue and followed up with a call several days later to see if I was happy. The part he sent corrected the issue and everyone was so friendly and helpful from the first hello to this writing that I would not hesitate to buy a car from these folks again. I will probably go out of my way to do business with them again. Thank You! everyone at Century Motors. Keep up the great work!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 2012-01-21:
This is certainly an improvement over the previous 5 complaints about Century Motors of South Florida and the BBB 'F' rating! Glad to see it.
richie on 2012-04-26:
I don't buy it,freeks run this place , the truth is non existent, poorverbal paint and body descrition, no responsibility for misleading info on car after internet purchase, tied to blame shipper, on and on and on, lie lie lie lie lie. don't do it
Close commentsAdd reply
Buyer Beware of this Company
Posted by on
POMPANO BEACH, FLORIDA -- After receiving this vehicle it was all to apparent that this Vehicle was in fact involved in a M. V.A. Front collision of sorts that did not show up on the vehicle history report provided through Ebay.
After inspecting this vehicle many problems have surfaced... I find it VERY HARD TO BELIEVE that this Dealer did not pick up on...
After market parts installed. No Holes or bracket to mount Front
License Plate which is required in the State of Connecticut being that
it is in fact an after market bumper, screws not anchored down properly
under hood for after market fender which was installed, screws missing
also under hood, After market Radiator, Right Headlamp pointing up in
the air, Rear Window Defroster not working, serpentine belt is shaving
After bringing certain things to their attention, They tell
me after the fact that the only things that were done to the vehicle
was a new window motor and a new Alternator which was NEVER DISCLOSED
when buying the Vehicle... Not to mention the Two different Color Paints on the Vehicle from the Front Driver's door to the front bumper.
Something as I told you warned me not to purchase the Vehicle from them... I wonder if it was the "F" Rating that they received from the
"BBB" down there.

BBB Reliability Report for
Century Motors of South FloridaBBB Rating F


Ratings Explanation BBB issues Reliability Reports on all businesses, whether or not they are BBB accredited. If a business is a BBB Accredited Business, it is stated in this report.


Is this report helpful? Yes | No
Find out more about this business:
BBB Accreditation
BBB Rating
Business Contact and Profile
Additional Locations and Phone Numbers
Licensing
Customer Complaint History
Government Actions
Advertising Review
Industry Tips
BBB Copyright and Reporting Policy
Feedback



Back to top
BBB Accreditation
This business is not a BBB Accredited Business.


Back to top
BBB Rating
Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of F on a scale from A+ to F.
Reasons for this rating include:
Failure to respond to 4 complaints filed against business.
Click here for an explanation of BBB Ratings



Back to top
Business Contact and Profile
Name: Century Motors of South Florida
Phone: (954) 785-0369
Address: 4701 N Dixie Hwy

Pompano Beach, FL 33064
Original Business Start Date: November 1993
Principal: Mr. Frank Fuzy, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Frank Fuzy, President - (954) 785-0369
Type of Business: New Car Dealers, Used Car Dealers
BBB Accreditation: This company is not a BBB Accredited business.


Back to top
Additional Locations and Phone Numbers
Additional Addresses
4669 North Dixie Highway
Pompano Beach, FL 33064




Back to top
Licensing
This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfuly do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.


Back to top
Customer Complaint History
When considering complaint information, please take into account the company's size and volume of transactions, and understand that the nature of complaints and a firm's responses to them are often more important than the number of complaints.
BBB processed a total of 6 complaints about this company in the last 36 months, our standard reporting period. Of the total of 6 complaints closed in 36 months, 5 were closed in the last year.
These complaints concerned :
+ 2 regarding Advertising Issues
2 - None of the Above - Advertising Complaint Issue

+ 1 regarding Refund or Exchange Issues
1 - None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

+ 3 regarding Sales Practice Issues
2 - None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue
1 - Sales presentation misrepresented the product


These complaints were closed as:
+ 2 Administratively Closed
2 - BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

- 4 No Response
4 - Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

P.S. This Dealer has FAILED to respond to the BBB on the complaint that I had filed with them.
EVERYONE BEWARE !
"DECEPTIVE PRACTICES" This vehicle was not as he lead it to be on Ebay


     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 2010-10-31:
Buying a vehicle on Ebay is usually a wholesale type deal. I bought one locally which was was over book value, but I was able to go look at it and it had many aftermarket improvements.

I wouldn't buy off Ebay unless I could go look at the car. I tried myself about 5 times, and in each case the car was not what I expected from the ad. I gave up.
d0ct0rg on 2010-11-01:
Had previously purchased Two vehicles from Ebay Site w/o physically being able to go down there to inspect them with NO problems... Guess I lucked out... But don't see how this individual has a good rating through Ebay and has such a bad rating Through BBB... Honesty goes a long way... I would NEVER Recommend this Dealer to anyone, especially in the Fire Department... Something told me not to buy from this person.
Strongly recommend that anyone who is considering to buy a vehicle off of the internet, to check out the dealership and/or person through the Better Business Bureau BBB and make your decision through what you find out from the REALIABLE source NOT THROUGH EBAY!
Anonymous on 2010-11-01:
Ebay has buyer protection. If I were you, I would file a complaint with Ebay. You will more than likely be able to return the car and get your money back.
werelucky on 2010-11-01:
I think you get a better value of just setting your money on fire than buying a used vehicle without seeing, test driving it, and having you mechanic inspecting it. At least this way you know your money is gone and you will have no more aggravation.
d0ct0rg on 2010-11-02:
That is where the Seller got me... He assumed that I did not have a PayPal account because I told him I was paying for it in Full with a Credit Card Check... To make a long story short Credit Card Company refused to Pay Check, I assured him that I had a PayPal account and was going to process it through PayPal he refused to put it back up on Ebay and process transaction for $1.00 so I could pay through PayPal/Ebay
Ebay item number #400141460615
d0ct0rg on 2010-11-02:
This guy needs to become a politician, because every time his mouth opens.. he Lies to you.
Close commentsAdd reply
LEMON - These are the people that give used car sales a bad rep
Posted by on
I was sold a LEMON by Frank and Gina of Century Motors of S. Fla. They were perfectly sweet until the payment came through from my bank. The impression I have walked away with is that ONCE THEY HAVE YOUR MONEY THEY ARE DONE WITH YOU!!! I am not exaggerating when I say that the car starting acting crazy THE MOMENT I drove off the lot. I called Frank’s cell phone immediately to let him know that the transmission has issues. He told me to bring in in the next day. They supposedly were going to have it fixed. It took calling every day for a week before I could finally get the car back. Every time I called (several times a day) I was told that they would get back with me. They do not call back. These people seem to have an aversion to dialing. When I finally got it back the transmission was still all jacked. I finally took the car to the Volkswagen Dealership and was told that the transmission was completely shot and needed to be replaced. From day one I had issues and they acted totally unconcerned. I asked for a refund and was told by Frank that he would get back to me. Which of course he did not. Every time he said that he would call me back was a lie. The impression I have walked away with is that ONCE THEY HAVE YOUR MONEY THEY ARE DONE WITH YOU!!!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 2011-10-05:
Used car purchases are a real gamble, unless you have the car checked out by an independendent mechanic, you have reason to trust the dealer, or the car comes with a very good warranty.

I don't know that you were sold a lemon so much as you were sold a car with major mechanical damage.

Hopefully your experience will serve as a warning to others.
Close commentsAdd reply
Buyer Beware Of These Tactics
Posted by on
FLORIDA -- April of '06 I inquired to this dealer, century motors of s. Florida, about a car that didn't sell at auction. The dealer told me what he wanted and after I asked all the right questions about the car, he said it was in showroom condition, when I asked about the disclaimer at the end of his ad, he said don't worry about that, I guarantee that you'll love the car. He then said we won't go through eBay, that will save money. What did I know, this was my first internet purchase, the seller knew this. When the car was delivered, it had a bad differential, leaking, rotting top, poorly repaired accident damage, broken lights, and other lesser problems. For months the dealer denied any thing was wrong, when I tried to use his money back quarantee, he and his wife changed the terms twice and finally said I had no guarantee because I didn't call the instant I got the car, instead of 8 hours later.He never returned a phone call or email. The dealer finally said that the rear end may have been damaged because the transport company chained it down too tight!!!!Bottom line, don't buy a car that has a disclaimer, or if the seller doesn't want to use eBay. Go see the car, remember these guys are car salesmen, remember the jokes. I lost over $2000 to this guy.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
poppapia on 2007-04-02:
Did you communicate via email or telephone? If it was via email, and you saved your messages that depicted the car was in very good condition, then you have a small claims action, although it will have to be in his jurisdiction.
Anonymous on 2007-04-02:
But he may have to sue in FL. Disney World does the same, if you want to sue them you have to do in their neighborhood.
any name on 2008-02-27:
Century Motors is a used car dealership that has been in business for 25 years. They have a fabulous eBay feedback rating (over 1400!!), are a top 250 power seller and have been personally invited by eBay to participate in the exclusive eCommerce forums. They take their eBay sales and private sales very seriously.


They comply with all of the eBay rules of selling and strive for complete customer satisfaction on EVERY purchase. The owners have been involved with NIADA and FIADA for over 20 years. Frank Fuzy, was elected the Florida Quality Dealer for 2006 and was nominated for the 2006 National Quality Dealer in the used car industry. They are in the process of building a 1.5 million dollar dealership in Deerfield Beach, Florida. They offer a 24 hour money back guarantee on all their vehicles and strongly encourage ALL their customers to check out the vehicles they want to purchase personally and by a professional. I would strongly urge anyone interested in purchasing from Century Motors of South Florida to review the excellent history and superior track record of satisfied customers. All of Century Motors terms and conditions are clearly stated on-line and in all paperwork that all vehicle are sold "AS IS". The person that wrote the opinion on this web site purchased an extremely low price vehicle ($2,000.00) and obviously expected a brand new vehicle!!
any name on 2008-02-27:
Century Motors is a used car dealership that has been in business for 25 years. They have a fabulous eBay feedback rating (over 1400!!), are a top 250 power seller and have been personally invited by eBay to participate in the exclusive eCommerce forums. They take their eBay sales and private sales very seriously. They comply with all of the eBay rules of selling and strive for complete customer satisfaction on EVERY purchase. The owners have been involved with NIADA and FIADA for over 20 years. Frank Fuzy, was elected the Florida Quality Dealer for 2006 and was nominated for the 2006 National Quality Dealer in the used car industry. They are in the process of building a 1.5 million dollar dealership in Deerfield Beach, Florida. They offer a 24 hour money back guarantee on all their vehicles and strongly encourage ALL their customers to check out the vehicles they want to purchase personally and by a professional. I would strongly urge anyone interested in purchasing from Century Motors of South Florida to review the excellent history and superior track record of satisfied customers. All of Century Motors terms and conditions are clearly stated on-line and in all paperwork that all vehicle are sold "AS IS". The person that wrote the opinion on this web site purchased an extremely low price vehicle ($2,000.00) and obviously expected a brand new vehicle!!
Fastro on 2008-10-30:
So gave Frank a 500.00 deposit on a 2003 Dodge Van asked all the questions about it 1st question was the paint any good he said "Like Brand New" so I buy a plane ticket from CT to Fla. Frank picks me up at airport and as soon as we pull into his place I could see that the paint on the van was bad and just waxed over to look good I know cars have been in the business 28 yrs...So I said the paint is peeling and burned through in spots he says I will have my painter "FIX" it in about a half hour it will be all set. Look for a $10,000.00 2003 van I want good paint not some Half A*^ Touch up so I tell him no Thanks I look around his lot to see if anything was appealing to no avail so I said I would just go back home so he calls me a cab 40 bucks later I am at the airport and head home. So I get home and send him an e mail to say send me my 500.00 deposit back no reply send, another no reply so I go through Pay Pal and they say no tangible goods so I call him puts me on hold for ever so I hang up end of story NOT WHAT I WOULD CALL GOOD BUSINESS .. I have been in business for 18yrs and would never TAKE any-ones money unless they got something in return...
evie58 on 2011-05-19:
This Dealership may still Roll back the Odomiter just to mack a sell
richie on 2012-04-26:
Do not buy a car from these people. lie,lie,lie,lie, the truth is not in them!It amazes me how someone can have a strong company and not have the truth in them. If you want to be lied to and never get any satisfaction on a purchase from these people help your self. consider yourself warned, they are jerks!
Close commentsAdd reply
Avoid Century Motors of South Florida and Frank Fuzy
Posted by on
POMPANO BEACH, FLORIDA -- Was sold a 2003 Chevy S10 that was assured only had 59,000 miles and mechanically excellent. "Don't worry, you'll love it" After 2 weeks and 800 miles engine blew and upon engine pull revealed extensive rework had been done and "59,000" motor was not in any way reality with engine having had recent bottom end work and milling on top end to end of tolerance.

Now the upsetting...this man is reminiscent of the car sales profession of years past. No return calls or communication, any communication established is dealing with a grade school grammar and spelling with no discussion, just claims from Mr. Fuzy that everyone is a liar. This man is absolutely dishonest to the core and avoid his business!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Buyer beware! Buyer Beware ! Buyer Beware as this fraudulent business cost me over $4,000.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
werelucky on 2010-12-24:
Never trust used car dealers. Have all vehicles inspected by your mechanic before buying.
saj80 on 2010-12-24:
Salespeople aren't mechanics. While I don't trust them, I also understand that they probably don't know much about the mechanical aspects of a vehicle. Let me guess: no Carfax, no independent inspection, yet this is the salesman's fault?
trmn8r on 2010-12-25:
Buying a used car is a real gamble. You can't expect the salesman to know everything about the condition of the vehicle, whether he tells you or not. For example, his guess may be as good as yours, looking at the outside of the engine, if it has had major work done to it.

I'm very sorry this happened to you, but I don't see evidence the dealer treated you inappropriately of has responsibility.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >