Preview Review

Next Review

Charter Communications Cable TV Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Billing errors/problems, services ordered not activated & sometimes rude/most of the time unhelpful phone reps
By -

WISCONSIN -- Based upon my own experiences these past 26 days I can state without hesitation that I would (NOT!) recommend Charter for any of their services whatsoever. Even if it is at a better rate than another competitor - it simply is not worth all of the hassles and major headaches. Keep this quote in mind while you read my review/complaint.

"Charter has been criticized for poor customer support and frequent billing consistency issues, causing the Better Business Bureau to post a warning to consumers about the company." -- http://en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Charter_Communications. Services I Have: Charter's "Biggest Cable Package" (which includes: High Speed Internet at 5Megs, Cable Biggest TV and Telephone) all for $151.99 for a 1 year promotion price including tax.

Duration I Have Had Services: 26 days. Number of Times Having to Call to Resolve Issues: At least 10 times. Not including the fact that I still have to call to have the audio cutting out resolved for my Cable TV service. Location: Iowa County, in Wisconsin. The small town that I live within does not have many options to choose from and unfortunately Charter is one of the very few. Sample of Problems:

  1. Channels that I was supposed to have were not activated. I had to call (which was a long process) and get them activated.

  2. I signed up for a bundle package deal and they instead charged me for my services unbundled and didn't sign me up for the promotion package that I ordered.

  3. Both bills I have received thus far have been wrong, misleading, and confusing.

  4. I was overcharged for my first bill.

  5. I had a representative say, "Thanks for calling Charter" and hang up on me when he didn't know the answer to my question. Which was... What are the 10 features included with my phone service?

  6. Phone call times to Charter when problems arise take anywhere from 30-90/105 minutes.

  7. Phone reps are not adequately knowledgeable to help with issues and as a consequence you may be transferred again and again after initially spending 30 mins or more on the phone with the first rep.

  8. Each time you call a rep will give you info that is different from the last time that you talked to a different rep. No consistency whatsoever.

  9. Online billing system did not reflect the right amount that I owed. It did not correspond to the paper bill nor to the amount I was told I owed when I called to pay my balance off by phone. Even after the 72 hr max wait period it takes to fresh the correct amount.

  10. My community channels do not come in via the Digital Receiver; however, if I have the cable hooked up directly to my TV without the digital receiver I can see those community channels but then I lose tons of my other channels.

  11. Audio cuts off on Cable TV and the only way to get it back on is to turn off the Digital Receiver and the TV and turn it back on again. *Please note that this is not an issue with my TV - it never does this when I play the Wii, Play Station's or DVD's/videos it only happens with Charter Cable.

Phone services work fine thus far, internet is fairly reliable [for ex. At 11:23 AM on Monday, October 22, 2007 my speed tested out as = 4754 down & 461 up] for 512 up/5Meg down services. Charter works fine connectivity wise when you add your Wii to the network. If I had other options I would change within a heartbeat. When I read the reviews about Charter online I was hoping against odds that Wisconsin would not have the same issues as elsewhere, but guess what, we have them too. Please consider other options rather than Charter you just might be glad you took my advice and stayed away. Good Luck on your search.

Replies
Advertisement
Charter Communication No-Shows (MULTIPLE) on Installation
By -

KILLEN, ALABAMA -- I am VERY UNSATISFIED with Charter Communications. So much so, that Charter Communications lost my business to the satellite carrier, Direct TV. The following relays my experience with Charter Communications:

Wednesday, August 8,2007: I placed my order via the telephone and an install time was scheduled for Thursday, August 9, 2007 between the hours of 1:00 PM and 5:00 PM. Thursday, August 9, 2007: I took a day off from work to be home during these hours. I called Charter at 4:50 PM because a technician had not showed up or called to let me know that he was coming for the install. Finally at 5:50 PM a technician came to the house. He told me that the install would take a few hours.

He seemed like he had had a long day and didn't want to deal with the install at that late time of day and I was due at a dinner in an hour so I suggested to him that if he promised he would come back first thing in the morning that it would be fine with me. He willingly agreed. Had I known that NO ONE would ever show up again to install my cable I would never have graciously made that offer. Friday, August 10, 2007: 10:00 AM and still no technician. I called Charter Communications. The rep tried to reach him or schedule another rep to complete my installation.

An appointment was rescheduled for later that day between 4:00 PM and 6:00 PM. No one showed up for that one or called either! Monday, August13, 2007: I called Charter Communications and let the Customer Service Representative know that once again, NO ONE had showed up for my appointment for install. The customer service rep was very nice and apologetic. They tried to schedule me for later that day but didn't have any openings. Since I had to go to work the next day and couldn't take off work AGAIN to wait for the cable company, a date of Wednesday, August 15th was selected.

Wednesday, August 15, 2007: NO ONE showed up between the hours of 8:00 AM and 12:00 PM. I didn't even bother to reschedule at this point. I did call to cancel the installation (as if someone would have shown up anyway – ha ha!) and got disconnected by different customer service representatives three times. I finally gave up calling to cancel - why was I so concerned about trying to be considerate to Charter Communications when Charter Communications has not cared to be considerate to me?

Friday, August 17, 2007: I called Bellsouth and ordered Direct TV. Great Customer Service Representative – great follow up. And the best part??? Friday, August 24, 2007: The Direct TV representative actually showed up on time (after calling first to let me know exactly when he would be there!) and installed my satellite TV.

I would NOT recommend Charter Communications to anyone in the Florence/Killen area. In fact, I have told my story multiple times to multiple people just to be told that others in this area have had equally bad experiences with Charter Communications (although no one I met had been “stood up” 4 times! – Everyone agreed that is a bit excessive!).

It would appear that since Charter is the only cable company that services this area (Florence is fortunate enough to also have Comcast to choose from) Charter feels like they can treat their customers and “potential” customers any way they want. I just wanted to let someone know that in doing so Charter Communications lost a customer and the revenue that would have been made from my family.

Replies
Disappointed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARYLAND HEIGHTS, MISSOURI -- I was billed for services I did not use. And when I called customer service they couldn't/wouldn't remove the charges. I even spoke to a manager, and she tried to explain there was nothing they could do about the charges. I'm very disappointed about the customer/Charter service!

Replies
From May 2013 Until Jan. 2014 I Complained to Charter About the Poor Audio on My TV Service.
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

ST LOUIS, MISSOURI -- A couple of weeks ago I woke up to no cable service. It took 24 hrs to get it fixed and a special service tech had to come out. ONLY then did I notice the audio problem had disappeared!!! Pitiful service. And they do not offer any kind of credit!

Replies
Advertisement
Poor HD Offerings
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

WHITTIER, CALIFORNIA -- I just got a new 60" HDTV. It's capable of 1080P, but in my area (Whittier, CA) the only HD DVR they offer is only capable of 1080I - so I can't get the picture quality that I paid for - that sucks.

Replies
Nothing may be certain except death, taxes, and Charter Cable TV problems
By -

Chapter 1: My deceased wife signed up for Charter service 7 years ago. She died in November of 2008. The service was in her name, but I kept paying the bills after she passed. I tried to change the service to my name and Charter would not do this unless I came to one of their offices, stood in line, and showed them her death certificate so I did this. The first “teller” who tried to help said the service could not be changed without her signature. I asked to speak with someone else and this second person took care of what needed to be done.

Chapter 2: I had a couple of service outages over the next few months culminating with a severe outage a few weeks ago. I was warned over the phone that if a technician was sent out and the problem was with interior cable I'd have to pay for the diagnosis even if I wasn't willing to pay Charter to fix it. I'm a network engineer and had already ruled this out. The Charter technician found two problems: (1) squirrels had chewed through the exterior Charter cable up by the telephone pole and (2) (unannounced to me) Charter had changed programming so the CATV converter boxes I have no longer worked. The problems were fixed.

Charter also issued a check to compensate for the loss of service time. The only problem is that the check was issued in my deceased wife's name even though the Charter account previously in her name had been closed. My bank won't allow me to cash or deposit the check since it is not in my name. I just spent 30 minutes on the phone with a Charter representative and she said they could not help me.

Both the person I spoke with and her supervisor effectively said it wasn't their responsibility. They suggested that I go back to the local Charter office with the check to see if they could do something. They didn't say whether or not I needed to bring a death certificate this time again. I plan to go back to the Charter office one last time with the check and the CATV converters in hand and cancel the service.

Replies
Charter Very Poor Customer Service
By -

SAINT LOUIS, MISSOURI -- In my entire life Charter has been the worst company I have ever dealt with. Their cable TV service is terrible. I have had techs to my house at least 20 times because I have been complaining about the tiling and picture cut offs for 3 years. Charter has checked my house wiring many many times and can never find a problem in my house yet they say there is no problem outside my house anywhere or along any 15 year old coaxial cable that runs hundreds of miles through Michigan. But every time I call and complain that the digital signal is tiling 8 times an hour they want to come into my house and blame it on my wiring.

Charter will never admit that it is because of their system and cable. Not only that their attitude is very plain. If you don't like our service than don't use it. Very POOR customer service. I have had some techs from Charter tell me the truth about their problems. The tech stated that "Our lines are old antiquated coaxial cable not good for digital signals. And Charter will not invest their money in replacing them". Charter will have 10 year contracts with each township to become the only cable service in your area so their attitude is "we are the only game in town so love it or leave it".

If you have Charter service and you are experiencing tiling (that is when the picture breaks off and comes back in little squares then you have tiling. And if you think Charter is going to fix that problem then you believe in the Easter Bunny. And if you do have problems that Charter will not correct then you must complain to the Missouri Attorney General's Office at 573-751-3321 where Charter is located. Also complain to the BBB in Missouri at 314-645-3300 or 314-584-6721. And here is a phone number that Charter will not give out and that goes to a ** at ** (Executive Escalation Mgr. in Simpsonville SC).

If you just call the normal Charter phone number you will go nowhere, believe me! Also file a complaint with your local township supervisor and let them know that Charter TV cable service is very poor. I am currently working with my township to get Charter out of my area because they refuse to fix the problem and I am paying over $100 a month for cable TV service.

Replies
Scammed Again!!! Don't buy into their advertising!!! Warning False Advertising!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALBERTVILLE, ALABAMA -- Here goes. I wrote a book on the nightmare services we get from Charter but erased it, you don't need to know the details. All you needs to know is this; Charter Communications, be it Franchise (tack on $5 a mo.) or not, is a racket. Once they get your commitment for 2 yrs. they will hang you out to dry. For example, After a dozen young men in and out of my parents room trying to get the digital receiver to work, they came to a conclusion, "It was the light bulbs in the ceiling fan above interfering and we would just have to live with it."

I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw him smacking the box to see if that might make it work! To this day this nice flat screen TV has a distorted picture because the leased equipment stinks even the replacement couldn't help. Then there is the botched cable work, one tech said quote "Needs to be replaced, it's interfering with air traffic control." Now we are stuck with 2 yrs of $155.00 monthly fees for 4 TV's with no cable boxes because a credit rating of 705 wasn't good enough to lease more than 1. And remember, that ONE box has never worked, not even when we "removed the ceiling light bulbs" and wrapped "aluminum foil" around only God knows what???

Watching TV isn't even worth it anymore. The best channel you can select from is PBS. So there you have it. My experience is proof and my word is as solid as a rock when I tell you that Charter Communications is a dirty scam and their FALSE advertising is nothing but pure lies. All they will do is offer the same old rhetoric bull we have gotten since they got a signature. Don't be like me and get stuck with nice TV's (earned by blood, sweat & tears) that will only pick up a few non digital, as of this yr, channels.

It is so not fair to our family who have worked so hard to earn enough money just so we may be able to enjoy off time with a television. God knows the average American can't afford to go out to see a movie anymore.

Replies
Advertisement
10 Months of Poor Service!
By -

SOUTH CAROLINA -- I have been communicating with Technical Support in Greenville, SC, and the technical support dept reached at the toll free number, for 10 months, and Customer Relations Specialists in St Louis for about a month. Every line and connector – and I mean every one, even the buried line - has been replaced at least twice! (Guess what - the problem is, as I said from the beginning, NOT AT MY HOUSE!)

I have many pages of ping tests showing packet loss, and high latency. I had a Tech Supervisor come to my house and run Charter diagnostics on MY computer for over an hour and see that there are problems on my line – that was I believe in Sept of 2010. It took months, but the technical department finally said that the problem is on node 4163, but I cannot get anyone in the line department to contact me. All I get from the line dept is second hand from a tech, or customer relations, "We can't find a problem."

**, I know you haven't found it yet, but since it is still there, KEEP LOOKING!! And then fix it! I have told everyone it is intermittent. Running an occasional line test is most likely NOT going to find the problem! My neighbor has the same problems, and a friend 2 miles away has the same as well. (All on node 4163!) My friend finally got tired of the techs coming to her house, tracking up and down her stairs and across her white carpet. Her husband told them after the 3rd or 4th visit that the problem was not in their house and that they were not allowed to come back inside their house. As far as we know, the line department never did anything.

Ten months of calls and emails and the problems are STILL not resolved!! I have had it!! I am tired of my phone, Internet and TV disconnecting or giving poor signal/reception. I am going on every forum I can find to blast this company as much as I possibly can. I am filing a formal complaint with the state Consumer Services in Columbia, SC on Monday. If there is ever an opportunity to go with another company I will be gone - even if it is double the price! Save yourself from poor service, aggravation and wasted time, and go with another company if one is available.

Replies
Absolute Worst Experiences of My Life They Lie over and over!
By -

Absolutely the worst. Nice customer service persons, I have talked with them over 8x and had the service less than 30 days. I am contacting the Public Utilities Commission with my complaints due to the misrepresentations and outright fraud of the people that do their marketing and customer service. After the first communication with one of the many people marketing Charter Communications Triple bundle, it has been an ongoing nightmare being told one lie after another.

Each time I ask how much per month, is my bill going to increase. And then the new billing arrives and I start over again with yet another person lying to me as to how much it is going to cost and what services I will get. Then the computers go down due to Charter Communication signal issues. All of this in less than 30 days of service. I may yet sign up for another service provider. I am now waiting for 2 different techs to show up.

BTW If you sign up for their phone service be aware, at least according to the last tech I talked to that you have to rent their modem or the phone will not work. @ $5 a month plus taxes. So you buy the 69.99 bundle plus you have $5 a month for the modem and where I am about $15 in taxes and fees. God help you if you go for digital TV where you pay another $25, $30 if you count the $5 monthly rental fee digital, as basic is only about 12 channels, none of which I watch yet due to the costs the 12 month deal is cheaper to have the 3x bundle locked in for a year then to have only 6 months at the discounted price for the phone and internet.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Charter Communications Cable TV Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 17 ratings and
53 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Charter Communications
12405 Powerscourt Drive
St. Louis, MO 63131
1-888-GetCharter (ph)
www.charter.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services